Panasonic Lumix DMC-GX7 Review

September 3, 2013 | Mark Goldstein | |

Your Comments

25 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Nick

Weird you left out any discussion about video useage. How is the autofocus? What about the bitrates compared to the GH3 which has 3 times the bitrate? I didn’t see any comparison shots at RAW with GH3 either.

Considering the GH3 was the flagship of panasonic your review failed on these benchmarks. Incomplete review at best.

2:44 pm - Tuesday, September 3, 2013

#2 Phofotan

Thanks for the review, but as always, you are shooting a µ4/3 camera at insane f stops! The optimum for a camera with a sensor this size is around 5.6~6.3. From there on, diffraction will limit sharpness severely. I see some pictures taken at f/11 or f/16, that is equivalent to f/22 or even f/32 on a full frame camera.

2:45 pm - Tuesday, September 3, 2013

#3 Kevin

Nice review but I agree it is incomplete.  Very surprised you did not talk about RAW quality at all, this was something I really wanted to know.

3:48 pm - Tuesday, September 3, 2013

#4 Morton D. Rich

The GX7 is not the first camera with both a tilting viewfinder & tilting rear screen.  I used a Minolta Dimage A1 for several years & now have a Konica Minolta Dimage A2.  I have taken prize-winning photos with both & found them tops for great images & ease of use.

3:56 pm - Tuesday, September 3, 2013

#5 Dave

One of the shortcomings of MFT cameras is predictive autofocus.  Since Oly and Panny have both been working on it for a while, it might be worth mentioning how each new camera fares against its predecessor.

4:37 pm - Tuesday, September 3, 2013

#6 Sal

Would like to have had your insight & input on the functionality of the wireless flash capability, a la Olympus. I understand that it’s the same system as Olympus but would like confirmation of that, does it work with Oly flashes, etc? Despite it being optical, it’s a really great, & often overlooked feature, of the Olympus range & would be a great addition to the GX7’s feature set also.

4:52 pm - Tuesday, September 3, 2013

#7 G.Fois

In the review we can read: “The top of the GX7 somewhat amazingly houses the tilting electronic viewfinder, a flash hotshoe, small stereo speakers” and “Underneath is a small microphone, with protruding metal eyelets on either side of the body for the supplied camera strap”. I get surprised to read “small stereo speakers” in a camera with a single microphone! And, of course, this will be the first stereo sound camera with Dolby system!!! But looking to the photos, I realize that probably you did a mistake.

7:40 pm - Tuesday, September 3, 2013

#8 larry

Good review.  Thanks. The review states the LCD screen rotates 45 degrees upward.  Fortunately that appears to be an error.

7:59 pm - Tuesday, September 3, 2013

#9 G.Fois

In my previous post I intended to say: “this will be the first stereo speakers camera with Dolby system!!!” to be well understood.
I think that GX7 demand an accurate review, as most posted here, because it’s a sophisticate camera for a sophisticate consumer.
I ever believed that optical image stabilization is better than in camera stabilization, so I understood the Panasonic choose. I get surprised to know that GX7 is equipped to operate in both systems! This gives broad possibilities with lenses! Kudos to Panasonic!!! Now I have a question:
- Did the onboard system correct axial vibration or even horizontal misalignments using OIS lenses?

8:16 pm - Tuesday, September 3, 2013

#10 Duncan

How is the EVF for glasses wearers?

11:15 pm - Tuesday, September 3, 2013

#11 Bryv

It seem that the image stabilisation does’t works on the video mode. If true, it is an important point to mention.

4:41 pm - Thursday, September 5, 2013

#12 Hans Benndorf

Seems to be a very interesting camera but I have to agree with some others that the review is a bit incomplete. No comment about RAW photo quality which many find very important (this is not just a beginners camera).  Just a few test shots alone is a bit thin on the ground. But I like what I see.

11:52 pm - Friday, September 6, 2013

#13 Rick

Will they have an all black model? I’d buy that.

11:57 pm - Saturday, September 7, 2013

#14 Rick

I one paragraph you say the camera has a magnesium alloy body and later an aluminium body. Which is it?

2:15 pm - Monday, September 9, 2013

#15 Best DSLR Camera

old design & uncomfortable

12:09 am - Saturday, September 14, 2013

#16 Mark

You can pick up an Olympus OM-D E-M5 for less money and I think it’s a better camera then the Panasonic too. Olympus images have better detail and who needs a tilting view finder?

9:33 am - Monday, September 16, 2013

#17 Tim

The Panasonic GH2 already has silent mode albeit at reduced resolutions. Is the GX7 in silent mode compromised as well?

7:14 pm - Thursday, September 26, 2013

#18 Jackie S

Thank you for this comprehensive review. I guess those here who know better and can do so, will let us see their works.
I handled this camera today [in store] and as you might expect this experience adds a critical dimension to one’s appreciation of the product. Probably one of the most exciting cameras that I have handled for a long time. Seriously considering adding this to my photographic arsenal. Well done Panasonic.

6:50 pm - Saturday, October 19, 2013

#19 earlyadopter

worth noting, the 14-42mm kit lens is such a bummer, only the pancake prime lens is worth it.

4:12 pm - Saturday, January 4, 2014

#20 JOSÉ FURTADO

I bought this câmera and am very happy with it. At first I didn’t give much importance to the tilting EVF (since the LCD monitor tilts as well). Then I realized that, when in its “normal” position, it “hides” the diopter adjustment lever protecting it from acidental displacement. It doesn’t sound a big deal but, at least for me, it made a big difference to have diopter adjustment allways OK.

3:24 am - Sunday, November 16, 2014

#21 CHAS GOLD

I have a new PANASONIC GX7 i own many rollies,leica and pentax 110 plus 18mm 24mm 50mm 70mm 20-40mm zoom all work well with the gx7 rollie 28mm 50mm 135mm superb photos taken with the gx7 .I was LOOKING FOR A CAMERA TO TAKE ALL MY 19 LENSES TOOK 3 MONTHS LOOKING AROUND AND AFTER SEEING WHAT WAS ON OFFER PURCHASED THE GX7 FOR £499 great price for a great camera well worth it

11:20 am - Monday, March 30, 2015

#22 Andrew Krysa

Actually you can go down to lower than 1/30 shutter speed in Manual movie mode if you select Manual Focus, the 1/30 limit is only in Auto Focus.  A couple of other reviews also mentioned this limit without mentioning the ability to go lower in MF and I was quite pleasantly surprised to find this out while experimenting with the camera before I bought it.

10:45 am - Thursday, April 16, 2015

#23 Bjorn Moback

I bought a Gx7 in March   last year, which means there is no valid guarantee . Today I was was going to use it, switched it on and just got the message “Turn on the camera again”. Well, I did that …. 100 times and still I get this message and the camera will not work.
Does anybody have en idea I what I should do?

4:29 pm - Saturday, June 13, 2015

#24 Geoff M.

Bjorn,

Did you purchase your camera in the UK?  If so it being out of guarantee is not a problem.  Any goods purchased must be “fit for purpose” (google “Sales of Goods Act”). 

Also, if you purchased the item by using a Credit Card then that Card Company may reimburse you (again this is UK Law).  Good luck.

4:30 pm - Friday, September 18, 2015

#25 BG Davis

I’ve enjoyed the GX7 for over a year, and found it great for both stills and video.  I’ve also made extensive use of the Ext Tele Conv feature to get more reach from the 300mm zoom.  At 8mp you get 1.4x additional, which works out to over 800mm equiv.  Very nice for wildlife and surfing shots.
One caveat: if you’re using ETC when shooting burst, the normally steady burst will be erratic.  Lots of hiccups and short pauses.  It’s not only distracting, you lose some frames of action.
If anyone knows of a firmware update to remedy this problem, please let me know.
I’ve just ordered the GX8 and I’m hoping that this has been fixed in that model.

1:21 am - Friday, February 12, 2016

Entry Tags

hd video, review, hd, 3 inch LCD, 1080p, test, jpeg, compact system camera, 16 megapixel, wi-fi, wireless, wifi, DSLR, micro four thirds, touchscreen, raw, tilting, touch, nfc, tilt, 5fps, evf, 60p, tiltable, electronic viewfinder, high definition, 50p, timelapse, touch-sensitive, dmc-gx7, gx7, panasonic gx7, Panasonic Lumix DMC-GX7 Review, stop motion, dmc gx7

Tracker Pixel for Entry