Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX5 Review

4.5
September 6, 2010 | Gavin Stoker |

Your Comments

76 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 andrew

Cost is now £353.24 at amazon (compared with £329.99 for LX3) - at thar price it is worth considering.

1:46 pm - Monday, September 6, 2010

#2 Bairq Naser

Great review, Gavin.
the camera is just amazing. hope the price falls for the holidays

2:42 pm - Monday, September 6, 2010

#3 Albert

High iso samples are terrible, smearing effects can be clearly seen and disturbing to my eye even at iso400…

3:05 pm - Monday, September 6, 2010

#4 falsafay

High iso labelling does not mean any thing; for point & shoot it may be misleading in most cases. Unless someone tested and compared with dslr or other models on the same league.

7:54 pm - Monday, September 6, 2010

#5 jafert

What an amazing camera; it’s worth every penny.

8:21 pm - Monday, September 6, 2010

#6 Mark

Looks really nice, and the low light performance should be good for a compact even with the noise at the high ISO levels. On my point and shoot I get that sort of effect starting at 1600 so it seems OK for a compact.

9:25 pm - Monday, September 6, 2010

#7 zebarnabe

I can’t stop to feel that S95 won this generation iteration of premium compacts :/

Well… price will get down ... and i hope panasonic stop the agressive noise reduction on the latest cameras… (or makes a firmware update to fix them)

9:54 pm - Monday, September 6, 2010

#8 Josh

Panasonics new processing engine is killing the IQ of their cameras.

9:59 pm - Monday, September 6, 2010

#9 luc

I loaded the raw files into Lightroom3, and they clean up very well, even the 3200 iso, all color noise is gone and remains a pleasing grain. Looks good.

10:43 pm - Monday, September 6, 2010

#10 Rafael

Most people were/are annoyed by the easy opening battery compartment (meaning that it sometimes opens up inadvertently) and by the easy spinning control wheel on the top of the LX3 (which meant finding it in odd places - like the never-used creative movie mode - after having put it away). Has this been fixed in this LX5 model? The other annoyance is/was the lens cap, but this was clearly not changed, hence my doubts.

11:56 pm - Monday, September 6, 2010

#11 Zigster

The high ISO shots of the Japanese dolls are amazing, I loaded them into PS5 Raw and they look great, way better than I get out of my Nikon D200 at ISO 1600!  This would be very useful for me, I have to take photos for the web at trade shows indoors, with terrible dim lighting.

I may have missed it, does it have stereo or mono mic on the video?  Also, anyone know what accessory flash options are available, I think Panasonic has one or two, but will others fit?

12:59 am - Tuesday, September 7, 2010

#12 Hans Benndorf

A loud BRAVO for Your much improved ‘Product Images’. Gives a
much better idea of the actual camera You are reviewing. Thanks.

4:02 am - Tuesday, September 7, 2010

#13 Andrew

LX5 is just about the most fun in a camera ever. With the focal range extending out to 90mm equivilent it removes the most serious flaw of the LX3.

Very high keeper rate. Only thing it doesn’t do well is focus fast and have narrow depth-of-field.

It is the camera I will carry everywhere even when I don’t want to pack the M9 or the 5D.

- battery door is better
- control wheel much better
- lens cap - replace with Ricoh (and a little plastic shaving)

6:19 am - Tuesday, September 7, 2010

#14 Walt

Thank you for this report and for the pictures demonstrating the good performance.
But: Among the video-samples is one (http://img.photographyblog.com/reviews/panasonic_lumix_dmc_lx5/sample_images/panasonic_lumix_dmc_lx5_01.mov)
which shows extremely strong banding during first seconds of the scene. Do you have any idea whether this is regular or what it comes from?

7:19 am - Thursday, September 9, 2010

#15 Jake

It’s basically an LX3 plus 30mm (35mm equivalent) of zoom.  But the price is too high for what it is.

11:43 pm - Friday, September 10, 2010

#16 bbt

The focus of the night shot is on the right side where it is really sharp.  It looks as good as daylight iso 80.

5:00 pm - Tuesday, September 14, 2010

#17 gerard

I was so hoping someone would make a comparison with the e-pl1. Sounds like they’re tailoring to the same crowd, at least i can’t make up my mind. Looks like iq suffers a bit in the lx5, compared to e-pl1. Any thoughts?

3:12 am - Friday, September 17, 2010

#18 Paul Andre Villeneuve

I have just purcased a Pan LX5 it is Superb an Excellent quality summicron lens with great feautures and control Bravo Panasonic

3:26 pm - Friday, September 17, 2010

#19 kwan

I have recently purchased and received a LX 5. However, the box wasn’t sealed (with the usual big sticker at the box opening), and there is no warranty card, but only the product registration card.

For the LX5 owners, do you include warranty card and is the box sealed when you received it? Also, was your camera clock preset to NY time (since JR.com sold the item to me).

Additionally, the len cap straps was missing. All these indicated to me that JR has sent a returned/refurbished item to me. What do you think?

Thank you

2:04 am - Monday, September 20, 2010

#20 Jos

My first comment wasn’t posted…mmm, not fair, but I say again PB should give an indication at least in the conclusion how the camera reviewed stacks up against the competetion! EVERYONE knows that the LX5’s biggest rivals are the S90 (now the S95), the G11 etc but there is no indication of how they stack up against each other in the IQ department?? the main rivals section doesn’t give any indication of how they compare (IQ especially), which is a shame, the main rivals section is merely a overview and a link to a full review, which most people don’t want to have to read to get an idea of how the camera’s compare…come on PB

12:42 pm - Wednesday, September 22, 2010

#21 Jack

kwan: I cannot quite remember if the box was sealed or not (though I have the feeling it was’nt), but it did definitely include the lens cap strap. However, it is easily overlooked! In fact, a couple of years ago when I bought an LX3 I managed to throw it in the bin by mistake (along with the rest of the packaging). Look for a small white plastic bag attached to the power cord.

8:35 am - Friday, September 24, 2010

#22 Jack

kwan: The clock was not set however…

8:38 am - Friday, September 24, 2010

#23 kwan

Jack: Thanks for your response. I talked to JR, they said they could refund me $35 for it mistakenly sent me an open box item. i am testing the camera this weekend and hoping to avoid the hassle of returning…. =/

4:41 pm - Friday, September 24, 2010

#24 PollMak

#3 - This camera is not for you.

#7 - If compact and simple point and shoot is more important that get a S95, but if more ‘DSLR like’ control and RAW images are important get a LX5. Oh yes don’t forget the zoom-able 720p, which kills the need for a Flip, and justifies the price.

#8 - Why? There is nothing wrong with processing engine. Mildly experienced photographers will know how to get the most out of this jem.

#9 - Most point and shoot people associate RAW with uncooked meat. This camera is wasted on them.

#10 - This camera is not for you.

#11 - Video is in Mono, but a decent video editing program like cyberlink power director 8, will greatly improve the sound options to your AVCHD 720p recordings. For the Shoe: Optical and digital view finders and various flash devices.

#15 - It’s like £15 more expensive than the LX3. If you do a little more googleing you will learn that there are so many more improvements to the LX3. Really!

#16 - and with the lens on f2.0, the lens stabilisation and shooting RAW, who needs a flash.

#17 - the e-pl1 is a fat ass compact. The LX5 is a gorgeous curvy compact and the s95 is the lean one with a pretty smile. The LX5 is more mature and experienced.

#18 - Cool camera hey! All we need now is some decent tutorials on YouTube, because this camera is so much more that just a point and shoot compact..and when did you last read and excellent technical manual?!!  ;-)

#19 - ...hmm NY time, could be a US version which is a good thing. 720p recording is caped to 29min for the EU models. Yanks have full card capacity recording for 720p. You can register on line for warranty. Personally I would ask for a replacement.

#20 - The only comparison for this class of camera is with the s95. The LX5 does point and shot well, but a lot more thought has gone into the design WRT traditional photography options. It’s like a baby DSLR. The S95 is a compact on steroids. 


I own this camera(more like it owns me lol) and it is great for high quality point and shooting pics but there are enough well designed features to satisfy DSLR photographers and the gadget freaks.

4:14 pm - Thursday, October 7, 2010

#25 Quick Art Frame

Cool camera! I’m looking into it to do some bird photography.

http://www.quickartframe.com for quality art frames.

6:54 pm - Thursday, October 7, 2010

#26 PollMak

#25 - I’m no expert on Ornithology, but would it not be better to get a DSLR for taking pics of birds. The LX5 only has a 90mm/x3.8 zoom . Unless the birds you’re referring to wear high heels. I which case the LX5 is indeed a excellent camera for taking pictures of Birds. No detail will be missed on the RAW setting. ;-o

9:15 pm - Thursday, October 7, 2010

#27 zebarnabe

PollMak, correct me if i’m wrong, but doen’t S95 has the same kind of manual controls you can find in a dSLR?

Surely, the small size doesn’t help on ergonomics (specially if one has big hands), but the ring on the lens sure helps on manual controls, albeit not dSLR’ish.

And yes, video wise, LX5 looks better featured…

10:04 am - Friday, October 8, 2010

#28 PollMak

#27 Because I own a LX5 I will naturally be bias towards the LX5.
While the s95 does have some DSLR like control futures, they really do not seem to be a well thought out as those on the LX5.

I have read photographers comments in other blogs that access to typical DSLR functions on the s95 are not as intuitive as on the LX5 and require access through the menu for some functionality.

For me the s95 looks like a Compact on steroids. The LX5 looks like a mini me DSLR.

The main reason “Photographers” would choose the LX5 over s95 because of RAW image taking options on a f2.0 LEICA lens in a classic retro styled body. The other features are just lovely to have.

The LX5 inspires and encourages you to learn more about the art of photography and is a better cross over camera before you decide to take photography seriously and by a decent DSLR.

If you are a casual photographer that just wants to take excellent images through a compact designed unit, then the s95 is the better option.

Neither camera is better, they both are excellent, they just have different strengthens.

11:54 am - Friday, October 8, 2010

#29 Jos

Have seen a few iso comparrisson photos from the LX5 and the S95 on a few websites and sorry but the S95 has better results IQ wise, less noise, better detail…

11:58 am - Friday, October 8, 2010

#30 Mary3948

Been trying to decide between the LX5 and S95. Saw this information on another site and it helped me decide the LX5 is the way to go:

IQ is going to be comparable; however there are some key differences:

1. Difference in the f-stop:
LX5: F2.0-3.3 Leica Summicron lens - faster lens
S95: F2.0-4.9 - slower lens

2. S95 is approximately $100 cheaper than the LX-5, but the LX-5 also has the brighter Leica lens and slightly larger sensor.

3. Battery life:
S95 is approximately 200 shots
LX5 is about 400 shots

4. Ergonomically
S95 - is overall flat, some have found this challenging to hold
LX5 - has a grip

5. Focal Length
S95 has slightly more zoom - 28mm-105mm
LX5 has slightly more wide angle - 24mm-90mm

6. Video
LX5 - able to zoom and AF while recording video
S95 - cannot zoom nor AF while recording video

7. Maximum Exposure
LX5 - longer maximum exposure (60 secs)
S95 - shorter maximum exposure (15 secs)

8. Top shutter speed
LX5 - faster - (1/4000)
S95 - slower - (1/1600)

12:08 pm - Friday, October 15, 2010

#31 Jos

Dear Mary3948, the specs you mention mean little when one sees the iso comparrisons between the S95 and the LX5 on Cameralabs’ website, the IQ of the LX5 is pretty poor compared to the S95, I was shocked, so the bigger sensor etc doesn’t mean much when one sees the results.

2:35 pm - Friday, October 15, 2010

#32 Geralt

Dear Jos, yes, the S95 may have marginally better image quality when compared with the LX5. However, this is only when you consider JPEG. It is well known and documented that the in camera JPEG engine is rather poor in the Panasonic. Mary, switch to RAW and you have a camera with image quality as good if not better than the S95. Shooting RAW is a must with the LX5. It’s well documented in most of the reputable reviews I have read….

9:12 pm - Saturday, October 16, 2010

#33 Jos

Dear Geralt, which reviews are those? Please share the websites as I have yet to see any mention of thecsuperior RAW output of the LX5…

11:55 pm - Saturday, October 16, 2010

#34 Jeff in Japan

If you look on the bottom of the camera you will see the words “Made in Japan”. The LX5 is one of the only digital point-and-shoots which is not made in China, Taiwan, or Thailand, and the extra cost is due to the fact that Japanese workers get paid quite a bit more than the sub-$200-per-month rate paid to other workers in Asia. The LX5 feels like a quality camera because it is a quality camera. I bought mine at Map Camera in Shinjuku, Tokyo, for 38000 yen, or approximately $300 at the current exchange rate. I bought the LX5 to replace my overweight and underused Nikon D300, which was the backup to my Leica film kit. So far I have no complaints about the LX5, it has been worth every yen I paid for it.

2:12 pm - Saturday, October 23, 2010

#35 Emerson

I have a slight hand shake from medication, so I am steering away from a super telephoto P&S.  I’m told that having a viewfinder helps for steadier shots when camera is tight against a solid cheek rather than held out.  Notwithstanding anti-shake technology, would the electronic viewfinder for the LX5 help with my hand shake issue?

6:34 pm - Saturday, October 23, 2010

#36 o2

Perhaps I’ve been unlucky but I’m on my second LX5 from Amazon. The first froze and produced blurred images and the second just produces strange smeary jpegs every so often.

Noise processing is very aggressive and even affects Raw files. By keeping the noise set to -2 in the various film modes things are better.
Intelligent Resolution doesn’t seem to be the problem and left to HIGH I seem to prevent much of the smearing.
The camera is capable of amazing results but some of the internal processing can leave you disillusioned.

Some improvements over my DLux4 but really not enough to justify an upgrade.
Nice camera hope they fix the processing.

12:36 pm - Thursday, October 28, 2010

#37 Al Campbell

One thing I’d like to see is more Info on and tests of accessories for the LX5?

10:06 am - Thursday, November 11, 2010

#38 James

Good review, but I don’t like the ISO test shots. The subject looks like a water color painting, or some kind of soft looking picture to begin with so it’s hard to see any ISO change until really high ISOs where image quality degradation is obvious. It should be the same picture (I prefer the text one) for all cameras so readers can compare easier (right now I have three tabs open comparing cameras, but it’s a bit hard to compare the ISO shots because text shows iSO change more than a water color looking thing does)

I still wish the LX5 had a bit more zoom and maybe a built in ND filter, but it’s a great camera anyhow. It’s hard to choose between these high end compacts and mirrorless system cameras.

8:43 am - Saturday, November 13, 2010

#39 Maria

I’ve only ever had a fuji finepix point and shoot but recently decided to go for something a bit better, with a few professional features. I purchased the lx5 and initially was delighted, until I loaded the images to my computer. The images are totally different than what is shown on the lcd. Now I know that I am only an amateur so maybe I am doing something silly. I have tried both jpeg and Raw - Raw I realise needs to be processed which I can do to some degree. But the difference between what is shown on the lcd and computer monitor is just too much. Please can someone help. I have even tried re-calibrating my monitor… but to no avail, it’s always been absolutely fine for my finepix. I just don’t know what to , but will have no choice but to return it if i can’t get it sorted. :(

5:36 pm - Saturday, November 13, 2010

#40 rudy myers

does anybody know what the megapixel count drops to the the digital zoom mode of the LX5 at 105mm?  would love to buy the Nikon P7000 but this has many issues at present and a fix is not in sight.  thanks

7:07 am - Thursday, December 9, 2010

#41 travelling dick

so with a lens of F2.0 - 3.3 is it advisable to buy filters for this camera?
I will be buying this camera with the intention to learn more and will be travelling around asia and the bright sun in the day is a concern for me.

1:16 am - Monday, December 13, 2010

#42 zebarnabe

travelling dick, (what a nickname *facepalm*)

Looking at specs:

Aperture:
2.0 - 3.3 / Multistage Iris Diaphragm F2.0 - 8 (W) / F3.3 - 8 (T)

F2.0 - 11 (W) / F3.3 - 18 (T) in movie recording

Also,

Shutter Speed:
Still: 60 - 1/4000 sec
Movie Mode : 1/30 - 1/20,000 sec (1/8 - 1/20,000 sec on MF operation on Creative Movie mode) / Starry Sky Mode : 15, 30, 60sec.

That means that it will close up to f/8 also 1/4000 shutter speed is pretty fast, so, you would have to get LOTS of light to need a filter

However if you want to ensure maximum blur of the background under bright light a ND Filter might be needed… also f/8 might suffer from diffraction…

If you’re thinking in take some movies it will close to f/11 (or more), so no worries…

But the biggest point is perhaps the fact that LX5 doesn’t have a filter thread… you would have to manually hold the filter over the lens…

12:25 pm - Monday, December 13, 2010

#43 travelling dick

thanks zeb. much appreciated.

7:08 pm - Monday, December 13, 2010

#44 London Photographer

ok, after this review I going to buy it. Thanks!

12:12 am - Tuesday, December 14, 2010

#45 zebarnabe

London Photographer,

You should just buy it because of this review… there are other good cameras out there… LX5 wide angle is excellent for landscape photography, but I would check S95 and G12 from Canon, you may find those better for your needs :/

11:18 am - Tuesday, December 14, 2010

#46 Motobiker

So… £400 is too much? does the fact that this very page has an ad from a rather well known international mail order company for this camera at £305.99, make it a more attractive prospect?

I would buy one… If I didn’t already own an LX3. I don’t consider it enough of a step change… I will reconsider in 2 years when the next LX appears. Or if disaster strikes and I manage to break my LX3. You can BET I would have this camera in my hands within 24hrs… even at your mythical £400 rrp. (its worth every penny)

7:39 am - Thursday, December 16, 2010

#47 hstjkt

Well, I did ever post and said that canon S95 is better in image quality, it’s still the same now. But I find out a very annoying thing in S95, it’s manual focusing system. S95 manual focusing system will reseted to auto focus everytime it is shuted off….. =.=”“
But in LX5 it set as the way u set it in DSLR camera, by pointer button. This is really convenient such I bought S95 for it’s manual focusing, but I need to set it everytime I want to use it, so annoying…. xP
I’m waiting, at least until my S95 is broken :P, to buy this LX newer version…..
Well, too much setting is very annoying….

4:17 am - Tuesday, December 28, 2010

#48 jack_of_all

had the s90 for a couple of months, now i have the lx5:
s90 pros - smaller size, really pocketable. maybe better jpegs
lx5 pros - 24mm wideangle, for me it was the reason i bought the lx5.
faster lens
better built
less fiddly
and simply, more of a camera

10:17 pm - Tuesday, December 28, 2010

#49 Jos

Unfortunately the high iso shots of the LX5 are poor compared to the S95, I’ve compared on a range of websites (compare shots from the review of the S95 and the LX5 from Phtographyblog’s reviews for instance) there is not one review where the LX5 matches the S95… I don’t own an S95 I have a Sony HX5V (which I’m very happy with), but in terms of high iso shots the canon G12, then nikon P7000, then S95, then the Samsung EX1 & then the LX5.

11:01 pm - Tuesday, December 28, 2010

#50 Burna Wilton

Just love the small LX5.
Need help in using the RAW plus J-peg setting.  It seems that I can only access the j-peg file when I download to Elements 8.  Any suggestions?  My husband shot some pics using the same setting and downloaded to his I-photo library.  And again it seems that only the j-pegs are available.

Any suggestions would be very helpful.
Burna Wilton

8:00 pm - Thursday, December 30, 2010

#51 Zipperhead

Can anyone tell me if the Lumix LX5 does decent iAuto photos? Since I’m kind of in the beginning stages of manual shooting; I currently do 70% of my shots in “idiot” mode and learning how to get a little more adventurous the other 30% of the time shooting.

Appreciate any info on the ” iAuto ” image quality of this camera.

9:17 pm - Tuesday, January 18, 2011

#52 Airfid

I used to be into photography when film was king.
mamiya (sp?) color printer, 10 lenses etc….
Gave it all up for years in favour of a fuji point
and shoot. Visited a local camera shop and asked
what they would recommend. They brought out the S95 and the LX5. I loved the size of the S95. The LX5 just felt better to me. The image quality is amazing. I also bought a digital incident light meter for those really tough subjects, or just to fool around with comparing to the onboard reflected meter. This camera has brought back the joy of photography for me. I’ts a pleasue to use
and small enough to travel with. highly recommended

5:38 am - Thursday, February 17, 2011

#53 Genie

Great review… many of my friends recommend LX5… anybody compared it with Olympus XZ-1?

12:39 pm - Sunday, June 19, 2011

#54 Genie

Thanks for the great review… was thinking of buying LX 5 for myself… anybody compared it with Olympus XZ-1?

12:42 pm - Sunday, June 19, 2011

#55 Faisal Karim

How do you compare the shots taken at night or indoor, say at parties etc, with that of s95…since it is said that s95 is the king of low light…So I was wondering how LX5 performs indoor in normal lighting? Any help would be much appreciated…Thanks.

4:53 am - Wednesday, June 22, 2011

#56 Susan

This info is very convincing:

IQ is going to be comparable; however there are some key differences:

1. Difference in the f-stop:
LX5: F2.0-3.3 Leica Summicron lens - faster lens
S95: F2.0-4.9 - slower lens

2. S95 is approximately $100 cheaper than the LX-5, but the LX-5 also has the brighter Leica lens and slightly larger sensor.

3. Battery life:
S95 is approximately 200 shots
LX5 is about 400 shots

4. Ergonomically
S95 - is overall flat, some have found this challenging to hold
LX5 - has a grip

5. Focal Length
S95 has slightly more zoom - 28mm-105mm
LX5 has slightly more wide angle - 24mm-90mm

6. Video
LX5 - able to zoom and AF while recording video
S95 - cannot zoom nor AF while recording video

7. Maximum Exposure
LX5 - longer maximum exposure (60 secs)
S95 - shorter maximum exposure (15 secs)

8. Top shutter speed
LX5 - faster - (1/4000)
S95 - slower - (1/1600)

9:35 pm - Tuesday, July 5, 2011

#57 Howard Worf

Bought one as a carry around on my last holiday - it’s excellent for what I want - coupled with DXO Pro (which I use for my DSLR RAW processing, and which has a module for the LX5) the results are just brilliant. It’s no K5, but it’s superb for what it is.

12:06 pm - Wednesday, July 20, 2011

#58 Jase

I’d just like to ask, how do you download/import the videos from the LX5? I have captured a lot of videos and they’re all stuck in my memory card. The PHOTOfunSTUDIO couldn’t get them, saying there’s an error with those files.

Thanks! :)

11:50 pm - Sunday, July 24, 2011

#59 Jim Read

Amazing!!! Do they every actually do any photography, the jog dial is ‘superfluous’.

Lets take street photography and moving from backlit to frontlit, being able to adjust the EV to avoid too dark or too light pics is easily overcome by using the dial as you turn.

Goodness gracious!!

12:02 am - Saturday, October 1, 2011

#60 Al Campbell

Hi Jim #59

What are you on about? which is the jog dial? and why is it superfluous? to what are you replying?

Goodness gracious!!

5:45 am - Saturday, October 1, 2011

#61 Jim Read

This is what I refer to: “and DSLR-like command/jog dial top right, which we found we rarely used, except for controlling the size of the AF area, and so comes across as slightly superfluous for day to day operation”.

It’s pointless doing a review if you know nothing about exposure.

9:41 am - Saturday, October 1, 2011

#62 Jim Read

I suppose I must explain one of the faults of exposure meters and especially in camera ones. They mostly take an average reading over the whole scene and for the most part get it wrong.

Two scenes 1/. you are walking along a street with the sun in front of you someone interesting walks towards you and you take a picture the person in the picture will be too dark, 2/. you are walking the other way with the sun behind you and someone interesting walk towards you and you take a picture the person will be too light.

Using the knowledge you have gained above; the next time you do it you use the jog dial to increase the exposure as you walk into the sun +1.1/3 EV works most of the time that 4 clicks of the dial, and as you walk with the sun behind you you decrease the exposure -1.1/3 EV.

The jog dial is clicked in to activate this all you have to do is remember where you are, once you get the hang of it it’s very easy. Some expertise and judgement based on experience is still needed.

It’s a great shame and detrimental to a great camera that the reviewer lacks this, he or she should alter their review to incorporate this simple and very necessary function

10:12 am - Saturday, October 1, 2011

#63 Peter

I have both the LX5 and the Canon S95.  While the Canon does produce good picture quality I consider the LX5 trumps it at both low and high ISO whether shot in Raw or JPG. Magnified to over 100% a 800 ISO image will resolve a single fence wire in a fence 1 Km away.  that’s pretty darm good!! The most deciding factor for me in preferring the LX5 is that it is VASTLY easier to handle and to make setting changes.  The S95 just seems fiddly and slightly too small for average male hands. While the s95 will go in a shirt pocket best the LX5 easily fits in a jacket pocket.  The LX5 seems to also handle mixed lighting better, getting more ‘pure’ colour looking pictures than the s95. I’ve given the S95 to my son and kept the LX5 to complement my Nikon D700s and lenses with a carry everywhere camera. The instant video on the LX5 is also superb to use.  Press the button and it records whatever you had the camera set up for.

5:15 am - Tuesday, October 11, 2011

#64 Zowie

Faster lenses make up for worse high ISO performance.  If you just look at high ISO performance of P&S cameras by itself, you’re not comparing apples to apples in terms of ultimate picture quality you can obtain.

7:47 pm - Friday, December 2, 2011

#65 Michael

Amazon.com had this as a Gold Box special on 12/2/2011 for $259. I happily snagged one at that price and can’t wait to start snapping some photos with it.

7:19 pm - Saturday, December 3, 2011

#66 HerWebHK

I also have a review on the following link:

http://www.herwebhk.com/2011/12/panasonic-lumix-dmc-lx5-review/

8:02 pm - Friday, December 16, 2011

#67 Jorge

Hey all.  First of all this is an excellent review.  I’ve had my LX5 for about a year and a half, and LOVE IT!  Now, can my D700 and Nikon lenses take better images in low light? I’d say the answer is yes.  But, this camera is lightweight, pocketable, and oh so sweet.
In mid-November I went to Puerto Rico to scout out locations for an upcoming wedding I’m shooting in san Juan this coming July (2012).  I only took my Lumix, NO DSLR!  The images are on my website under “colors of old san juan”.  I worked in Jpeg + raw which is how I always shoot.  Aperture mode, and I did take the Lumix viewfinder (as it’s so bright there I really needed that to see), as well as my Singh-Ray 77mm Filters that I use on my dSLR.  ALL my San Juan pics were shot with the Lumix.  The only time I took it off “A” mode was anytime I was indoors or when it was literally dark outside; at that point I switched to “IA” mode because it was fast and easy.  Yes, I lost the RAW capture, but these were basically “I was here” snaps.  My other images shot outdoors are being accepted by my brick and mortar agents, and by the online micro sites I sell LOTS of images through. Quite frankly that was my biggest fear: That I would come back with great images, but my agents, or micro-stock agencies would not accept them because they came from a small 10.1 mp camera.  Well I was very wrong. 
I’ve also posted MANY other LX5 images on my Flickr account here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/jorgemoro/

I will also add this little workhorse “seems” to be rather resilient.  I have used it (once) in a major snowstorm we had here on the east coast at the end of October and it functioned FLAWLESSLY, and still does.  Check out my website by clicking on my name (I presume), or my flickr for the images.  On Flickr, I list the details as to how/what i used to get the shot. 
Again:  FANTASTIC camera!!

8:37 pm - Wednesday, January 18, 2012

#68 Randall Hansen

I bite on this camera and gotta say I am really happy,i am selling my Canon G12 which cost more.

If it had a viewfinder it would be 5 stars easy!
If you can find one on sale Buy it!

1:13 am - Sunday, March 25, 2012

#69 Spyros

Thanks for the extended review. I have been an owner of this piece of art for two months and I really believe that it worths all its money.  :)

11:03 am - Wednesday, May 2, 2012

#70 Portable Ice Maker

I love photography and I van do anything to photograph willingly and freely.

7:36 am - Friday, August 17, 2012

#71 All Gold Everything

Photography is such an activity that is important to make our precious moments and past memorable. We capture a moment in our camera and make it the part of our memories.

9:06 am - Thursday, December 20, 2012

#72 emily66012

Hello Everyone.
I am Emily. I am also very like to photography and I have had a Panasonic for some years now, and it’s excellent. So I recommend it.

7:08 am - Thursday, January 17, 2013

#73 Oil Furnace Replacement

I am Emily. I am also very like to photography and I have had a Panasonic for some years now, and it’s excellent. So I recommend it.

7:09 am - Thursday, January 17, 2013

#74 Oil Furnace Replacement

Yes.
I know this is a classic dilemma, and the technical pros and cons are mostly well known. In my case, although I was strongly attracted by the superior low light performance of the sony, the relative pocketability of the two cameras was the decisive point.

7:12 am - Thursday, January 17, 2013

#75 Meffert

Can somebody recommend me a compact camara which has a 24 mm lens , is good for taking sharp photos at low light with people moving and has a kind of HDR function for complicated constrast situations?

1:19 am - Wednesday, October 29, 2014

#76 Jos

your choices are limited but the Sony RX100 mkII or III, Canon GX7, are your only P&S options, G1X MkII is quite big as is the LX100…

8:38 am - Wednesday, October 29, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, compact, wide-angle, 720p, hdmi, manual, RAW, lumix, panasonic, 10 megapixel, prosumer, 3.8x zoom, dmc-lx5, lx5, lx5 review, dmc lx5, Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX5 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry