Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ30 Review

5.0
April 3, 2012 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

117 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Yoco

I don`t like it. All samples are unsharp, noise is everywhere and all the pictures are to processed, there is too much smudginess too. And it is to expensive.

6:14 pm - Tuesday, April 3, 2012

#2 JD

Lovely camera but is a fixed lens 14 megapixel compact really worth north of £300?

6:23 pm - Tuesday, April 3, 2012

#3 Mad Hungarian

Ditto Yoco.

7:48 pm - Tuesday, April 3, 2012

#4 Frank Stanton

I wonder how much the optional AC charger adds to the price? That is usually included.

7:49 pm - Tuesday, April 3, 2012

#5 FJ

How is it this camera is getting such good reviews??? Ok, it’s way better than the previous model, but come on. It mainly has to be compared to it’s rivals!!

The reviewer says there’s virtually no noise at ISO 100; Is he blind? Or maybe it’s just the noise blocking all the noise…...

Blotchy, unsharp and faces and greens look like they’re waterpainted….terrible just terrible.
Even when not pixel peeping. The 25p video sample is just as terrible by the way: Choppy and artificial. Granted, the camera itself looks great.

Just hope someone wanting to buy this thing checks out the comment section.

The TZ-25 delivers MUCH better pictures. So does the Canon SX240HS(S260HS). Going to buy one of these two models next week.

8:29 pm - Tuesday, April 3, 2012

#6 Daniel

I don’t like it, too much noise.  It has to be compared to it’s rivals.  No good review at all.

9:32 pm - Tuesday, April 3, 2012

#7 JB

It is not a professional camera, but the above comments seem to want to compare it with such.  For me as an enthusiastic amateur, it has pretty much all of what I want.  In theory, I would take shots in RAW, which I can on my Canon 450D, but in reality, they are slow to load (top end Intel i7, 6GB RAM) and unusable for sending to friends or putting on web sites.

GPS: What on earth use is the number of shots? That is marketing data, not real life.  How many days will it last if I take say 10-15 shots two days a week?  I am sure it will not be a straight division of the numbers quoted.  If I took no photos for a fortnight, would it still have 175 shot capacity?  My phone barely lasts 3 hours using GPS, my DMC-FX30 does not have it but takes anything from a dozen to a few hundred pictures on a fully charged battery.  Can anyone give concrete facts?

10:05 pm - Tuesday, April 3, 2012

#8 tonyp17

It should compare well against last year’s models that you list as the Main Rivals.

Surely you need to reserve judgement until the 2012 cameras from Canon, Nikon, Fuji, Sony etc have been reviewed.

Can you give an indication when reviews of these new travel zooms cameras will be available please?

11:13 pm - Tuesday, April 3, 2012

#9 Arthur E Garcia

I’ve got tz10, tz20 and if tz30 is an improvement on the previous models, that’s good enough for me. I do not have to compare tz30 with other cameras since this one meets my requirements for a travel camera. All my photos from the Football World Cup in South Africa were all taken exclusively with my tz10 all very satisfying pics.I’ll be buying the tz30 its cheaper than when I bought my tz10

3:02 am - Wednesday, April 4, 2012

#10 felipe

Me gustaría saber; cuando se puntúa en la conclusión a todo tipo de cámaras, se tiene en cuenta al grupo a que pertenece? Quiero decir: Esta Pana es igual de buena que una reflex que cuesta 1200 euros y que tambien se califica como ” ESENCIAL “
salud

4:31 am - Wednesday, April 4, 2012

#11 JB

Well said felipe.  JD says fixed lens - but this is 40x fixed lens. An SLR usually gets boxed with a pathetic 3x zoom, and needs 2 or 3 zoom lenses to get the range of this (if indeed it can). Then you are talking £300 compared to £3000.

8:56 am - Wednesday, April 4, 2012

#12 Ben

Can´t understand “ESSENTIAL”. The picture quality is standard, not very impressive. Also realizing some black dots at ISO100 (see picture with sky).

9:23 am - Wednesday, April 4, 2012

#13 Me

The point is this camera have higher scores that it should. I thought I can trust this site. and I wonder. i saw some samples here exacly the same as other cameras. what that means? you took photos while ago with other cameras and only know bah whatever.

1:37 pm - Wednesday, April 4, 2012

#14 Philip Aucott

I think you are all missing the point, I’m a pro photographer when I go on holiday or it’s the kid’s birthday I don’t want to use shutter depreciations on that sort of thing nor do I want to lug my camera bag around with me.  What I do want is some thing light easy enough for my wife to use but also let’s me have some creative input.

This is ideal, right tools for the right job.

2:00 pm - Wednesday, April 4, 2012

#15 Jason Ooi

How can the spec doesn’t tell the range of F stops?

4:25 pm - Wednesday, April 4, 2012

#16 Canon 300

I personally love the Lumix series I have owned 2 of them and am planning to buy this one too!
I have a SLR camera but don’t carry it on me always. I like the Lumix, it is fast and sharp and pretty slim so that’s perfect 4 me!
Thanks for the review!

5:12 pm - Wednesday, April 4, 2012

#17 NoWayJose

Based on the samples you provided, I’d say that your rating for IQ is WAY too optimistic…

5:13 pm - Wednesday, April 4, 2012

#18 Phil

The image of the two people sat down is terrible - full of noise at ISO 100. I noticed the focal length was 336mm so I checked out a sample at 24mm f/4 and ISO 100…. just as bad!

I’m on the verge of replacing my ageing TZ7 and on the evidence of these samples it wont be for this.

9:46 am - Thursday, April 5, 2012

#19 CHFels

A few comments on the review:

1) as others are stating, image quality is not so hot; many iso 100 shots show smudging of detail by the NR processing, and even so there is speckling noise (black or darker-than-background dots all over the pictures).  We shouldn’t see these problems until iso 400.

2) The conclusion mentions a bump in megapixels from 12 to 14, but this is a mistake.  The TZ20 was already a 14mp camera, and a horrible performer because of it.  (Has there *ever* been a good 14mp sensor outside of a DSLR??)  The TZ30 has a *new* 14mp sensor, and I’m sure it beats the previous one, but that’s not saying much.  I hereby coin the phrase “the 14mp curse” - and this camera suffers from it.

3) Many of the pics look a bit soft, but that is fixable.  The colors however look drab, even in the sunny-day pictures.  That’s harder to fix; maybe leave the camera in Vivid mode?

The TZ25, with a 12mp sensor, seems to be the better camera.  Not perfect, but competitive with last year’s Canon and Sony super travel zooms.  Since Sony screwed up their line by moving to 18mp on the HX10v, I think Panasonic is going to sell a LOT of TZ25s, and even TZ30s (to those who don’t compare to the TZ25 and get seduced by the zoom and features/gimmicks).

2:36 pm - Thursday, April 5, 2012

#20 laith

A nice camera with the Price/Features but it lacks the manual focusing .

7:16 pm - Thursday, April 5, 2012

#21 andy clad

Ive owned some Panasonics in my time. But my canon 220HS is far better than this.
I like the Butler Wharf pic, but the guy sitting against the wood on the grass is very poor,
I agree with CHFels and others about not being suduced by the longer lens etc. The TZ25 IQ does look better when compared against this one.
Again, can we have a few more everyday pics at some of the higher iso settings to really see when noise starts to grab hold and then spoil a good shot.
Im a bit of a Fuji fan and still highly regard the quality of my old F80EXR. Used to use it all the time at Chessington etc (thats a theme park for you overseas guys). Im hoping that the next crop of Fuji can overcome last years dissapointment.
Maybe its time to start scoring the reviews out of 20. This would give a fairer account.

7:25 am - Friday, April 6, 2012

#22 andy clad

Following on from my earlier comment about showing the range of iso settings in an everyday pic.
This link shows the image quality when really stretched.
You probably wont include this, but have a look at the link. http://www.theverge.com/2011/12/6/2597183/fujifilm-x10-sample-pictures#2639950
Its not the best review, but gets it right with some of the sample pics.
If you do include this comment. Thank you :)

7:50 am - Friday, April 6, 2012

#23 Yoco

I like my present Canon SX 220 HS, but I think that a few years ago almost any dig. camera had better IQ than this new ones. Maybe CCD sensors were better, than also less pixels were there, and I am thinking that this new CMOS sensors still lacks vsv CCD in terms of IQ (at least on bright day light).

1:07 pm - Monday, April 9, 2012

#24 zebarnabe

I must agree with Yoco and andy clad, right now, the best bang for the buck is prolly the old SX 220 HS. And the sensor is a CMOS in case you are wondering, CCD might have a tiny bit less noise at base ISO, but as ISO increases it gets worse faster.

CHDK works on SX220 HS, so some very creative uses are possible.

They should have used FZ150 on this TZ30 camera, it is not that bad, but for the price…  :/

12:35 am - Monday, April 16, 2012

#25 wozza

i bought a tz30 for my wife we have owned many in the past even up $4000 just for a body,for what the tz30 is we can,t see whats wrong with it ,don,t expect to much from any of these small cameras and you wont be dissapointed

2:34 am - Thursday, April 19, 2012

#26 WOLFDOG

THESE PEOPLE MUST EXPECT THE ZS30 TO PERFORM LIKE A $5000 SLR CAMERA!! ARE THEY ALL CRAZY?? WHAT IS THIS WORLD COMING TO.THIS IS A GREAT CAMERA!! WHAT DO THEY EXPECT FOR $300????

3:52 am - Monday, May 7, 2012

#27 zebarnabe

WOLFDOG,

TZ30 is not a bad camera, just a bit over priced for what it is.

For $200 you can get a Canon SX220 HS, while it suffers from some acromatic aberrations, the sensor fares quite while against these new cameras, not justifying the extra cost.

That said, prices will go down with time…

5:23 am - Monday, May 7, 2012

#28 JB

zebarabe - are you for real?  Apples and pears!  14x compared to 20x. No GPS on the SX220. No AE bracketing.  You even say it “suffers from some acromatic aberrations”, though I guess you mean chromatic.

WOLFDOG - you have hit the nail on the head.  It is good value for what it provides.

6:08 pm - Monday, May 7, 2012

#29 Yoco

300$ is not a small money and for 350-400$ you can get real DSLR like Canon Rebel T3 / EOS 1100D :

http://www.pixmania.si/si/uk/9044923/art/canon/eos-1100d-ef-s-18-55mm-dc.html

it is just 50€ more than Lumix:

http://www.pixmania.si/si/uk/11744489/art/panasonic/lumix-dmc-tz30-white.html

Quality of the Canon IQ you can see here:

http://www.imaging-resource.com/IMCOMP/COMPS01.HTM

6:23 pm - Monday, May 7, 2012

#30 zebarnabe

I stand corrected, it is indeed chromatic aberrations I meant.

You can get RAW, all kinds of bracketing, time lapse and motion detection triggered by using CHDK on the Canon SX220 ... SX230 is identical with the GPS as an hump on the camera body.

Like I said TZ30 is not a bad camera, and it is indeed a good update over the TZ20, when compared with the Canon SX260 I consider TZ30 a better camera, but most of people would find some cheaper cameras more suitable. Likewise TZ25 might please most for what it offers for the set price.

By having bigger zoom ranges more issues are prone to appear on images taken, also aperture usually gets more limited, camera gets more expensive and focusing issues might arise. I find out that something with 10x to 15x with 10 to 12MP is usually more than enough for most. I say this because I still found store clerics stating that more resolution is always better.

Prices will go down anyway, but you might not have the time to wait for it.

Something to consider for the ones complaining about noise reduction is the settings that camera has regarding noise reduction, sharpness, contrast and brightness. In most cameras, you can reduce noise reduction strength and increase dynamic range by messing with those, thus having better images.

6:34 pm - Monday, May 7, 2012

#31 zebarnabe

It just caught my eye that this camera current price went down more than 120$ for US market since it’s release, a much more pleasing value for it.

Still costs the equivalent to 475$ in my country and more than 500$ equivalent in UK. US price looks great though.

So it might not be over priced for some, while being very over priced for other. That explains some of the comments and replies :/

6:42 pm - Monday, May 7, 2012

#32 zebarnabe

For the ones thinking in photography more seriously, a DSLR (or a mirrorless if size matters) makes more sense indeed, however, if the desired is something versatile that can withstand most of the situations without breaking the bank account a bridge camera or a travel zoom might be more suitable.

I’m an happy owner of a Lumix GH1, with the lens I have I payed 1700€ for it, quite a sum if you ask me and I can’t cover the zoom range of this travel zoom. Sure, I have better image quality, I can even crop to 50% having 560mm (FF equivalent) without much quality loss, I can even use my telescope as a massive telephoto lens and get more lens if money allows it.

If I get a new body I can use the older lens.

The camera is relatively small and light (I’ve done mountain hiking with it several times) ... but I payed a lot more, where in most of the occasions a bridge or a travel zoom would suffice. If it was now, I would have an hard time deciding if FZ150 would be more suitable.

When considering a camera, budget is very important, most of people can’t afford paying twice the camera body price in lens.

This the eternal conflict between bridge vs. DSLR opinions, the point is, one should get what is more suitable, even if it doesn’t achieve the best results possible.

8:20 pm - Monday, May 7, 2012

#33 JimB

#29 Yoco - BUT for the price, your budget SLR is not giving you the zoom lens.  You need to compare it to a much less capable pocket camera or add the cost of a zoom lens that comes somewhere close to what the Panasonic offers. Then you are many times the price (if indeed you can find such a lens). Otherwise you are, as others, comparing apples with pears.  The TZ30 does not pretend to be an SLR, so will posters please stop comparing it to one. For goodness, sake, this is a camera you can put in your pocket.
If that is not the sort of camera that interests you then why are you reading this article?
For the record, I currently have a Canon 400D SLR with a Tamron zoom lens of equivalent 28-300. I’ve also got a Panasonic FX-30 which is 28-100 zoom, but on its last legs. I’ve had two previous SLRs and half a dozen fixed lens cameras.  I had a Konica Minolta bridge camera.  So I have seen all sides. Each has benefits and drawbacks. The key benefit of the compact camera is that it is compact. It cannot get dust onto its sensor very easily.  It can take most of the pictures I could get with my SLR.  It is cheaper.  I can take it anywhere, but need a bag for the SLR, which is much heavier and much more bulky. It doesn’t have a viewfinder (which I love) or do RAW (but I don’t use that anyway, because it is such a lot of messing around).  If I absolutely had to choose one format over the other, it would be the compact. The outlay is less, so I can change it more frequently if I wish.
Were I a professional or semi professional, and happy to carry a trailer load of interchangeable lenses, then I might choose the SLR or a more recent mirrorless system cameras.

11:19 pm - Tuesday, May 8, 2012

#34 mrcoolweb

Come on it’s a point and shoot with a good lens good macro and when you get fed up with iA you have M where you can simple choose f setting and speed and play with the camera.

Not everyone wants to walk the streets with a canon or nikon.

12:19 am - Tuesday, May 15, 2012

#35 Ben

Wow - tough group. 

This is definitely NOT a SLR.  Good-tough to fit those in your pocket while you are traveling.  Speaking of traveling - many of us do for leisure.  Enter the GPS.  Love it so far.  Taking a nice shot of a waterfalls in Smoky Mountains and later going - Darn where was that? 

While we are talking about traveling - how about a simple switch between a really good - Intelligent mode to Landscape mode.  Or taking a picture of your spouse with the setting sun in the desert.  With this camera simple watch the screen as you turn the selector then select the graphic icon - DONE.

So nope, not a professional photographer = just a professional traveler that needs a great zoom, with good pics that fits in my pocket.

12:37 pm - Tuesday, May 15, 2012

#36 Trevor K

Bought a TZ30 at the airport after managing to drop my TZ10 off my boat the day before leaving on holiday. Got to say Im well impressed. Its a real improvement on the TZ10. I bought an Aquapac zoom lens camera case to go with it to stop me making the same mistake as before as they make the camera float. I also got some great images using this while snorkelling.
Definately recommend the TZ30.

2:50 pm - Wednesday, May 23, 2012

#37 FatDrunkAndStupid

Most of you defenders are missing the point.  Nobody expects this camera to produce DSLR quality pictures.  The criticism is more that the IQ is significantly worse than travel zooms most of us have owned in the recent past.  Yes it might have slightly more zoom and more bells and whistles, but image quality is the thing most people care about most.  And a lot of compact cameras, not just this latest Panasonic, have been going in the wrong direction on that front.  Sony Compacts are even worse.

3:10 am - Thursday, May 24, 2012

#38 shd

definitely better then last years model but cant beat canon powershot sx 260 hs in pure IQ.
but this one is filled with features.


http://travelzoomcamerablog.blogspot.in/

2:34 pm - Monday, May 28, 2012

#39 R.C.

For the people putting down others by claiming that they’re being unreasonable by “wanting” to get DSLR quality out of a compact camera, I feel sorry for you, because it’s apparent that you’ve drunk the Kool Aid. In other words, you’ve been brainwashed into thinking that because compacts can never match the quality of a DSLR, any image quality is acceptable. So if—according to your logic—a compact has tons of smearing, blotchinesss and noise, that’s perfectly acceptable because, “Hey, it’s not a DSLR!”

Having owned two DMC-LZs in the past, I can tell you that the image quality for the ZS20 is completely unacceptable for a camera of this price point and below average for what compacts delivered in the past. None of the shots from either the LZ2 or LZ6 I owned had the level of softness, splotchiness, and smudginess that I’m seeing with the ZS20, and those each cost me less than $200.

I am not saying that they produced *DSLR quality* images—not by a longshot. But there was virtually no softness up to ISO 100 and whatever splotchiness and smudginess you saw were limited, only in shadowy or poorly focused areas.

So if you are sitting there convinced that images from the ZS20 are perfectly acceptable, that tells me one of two things: you weren’t lucky enough to own lesser priced compacts from the past that performed well (like the Fujifilm f20/f30) or you’ve gotten so used to staring at images from the latest generation of compacts that you’ve accepted their far inferior images as the “new standard.”

3:22 am - Sunday, June 3, 2012

#40 CHFels

@ R.C.
I also think it’s a shame that image quality, when fully zoomed in on your monitor (1 pixel per pixel) has gone down for some of the small-sensor cams, especially those with 14 - 18mpx.  But let’s keep some perspective:  zoomed to equal image size on your monitor, the ZS20/TZ30 is NOT worse than your old LZ2 or LZ6, in fact it’s probably considerably better.  Especially at higher ISO.  My Lumix FZ18 was considered a good “super zoom” in 2007, but it produces massive chroma noise (yelow blobs mostly) and detail smearing at 400 and above - I try never to use 800, much less 1600.  A pic from the TZ30 at ISO800, displayed at the same size as a fully-zoomed FZ18 pic, will probably look cleaner and sharper.

8:08 am - Sunday, June 3, 2012

#41 lana castillo

Guys,i am planning to buy a compact cam but with so many to choose frm im getting all so confused. Im not a pro but with all this technical stuff about isos, apertures, whatever they mean its making my head dizzy. Im just looking for a long zoom cam i can use to take pictures when i travel that will give me great quality image both in daylight and nighttime. I also enjoy taking videos so im looking for a cam that has great video and sound quality too. All that in one digital compact camera. I need your expert advice. Thanks mwah!

1:23 am - Monday, June 4, 2012

#42 ElementElectronics

Thanks for the awesome review & helpful follow-up posts.

http://stores.ebay.com/ElementElectronics

10:22 pm - Monday, June 4, 2012

#43 Stuart Montgomerie

I’ve now had the TZ30 for about a month now, having previously had the Panasonic TZ7 (and my wife has been using Canon camera’s of a similar shape and size)- I think the TZ 30 is a huge improvement over these cameras for a number of reasons:
1/ The options to easily and quickly do manual settings - Because the monitor shows you a shot of what you will get with your manual settings versus the standard auto setting you can see if you are going to make a lighter or darker version of the standard photo – sometimes this improves things tremendously. I have been testing taking 3 photos per scene - one intelligent auto, one auto option (e.g. Scene, sports, night etc) and one manual pic and on average the manual option can improve about 33% of the photos I take - which really pleases me to improve on what I used to take in the point and shoot days. It’s a huge winner for me and so simple to use. The ability to set manual settings is really quick – I normally can do it in 5 to 10 secs which makes manual shooting really good most of the time, but if I need something super quick then the Intelligent auto is pretty good too – the taking of multiple pictures with different exposures also has improved some of my pics and is a worthwhile new feature.
2/ GPS – I’m really happy for the GPS option – to know where you take your photos is really helpful (Google Picasa is great for looking at where your pics were taken) – just make sure you update the positions of the satellites every month or it takes ages to get a fix. Also the GPS is not so strong in concrete high rise jungles – so if you take all your photos there then you could be disappointed.
3/ The zoom – 20x optical really makes a difference for bird and wildlife and sports shots and the intelligent doubling to 40x makes a minimal difference and the focusing speed is exceptional at this level – I happily have taken some superb pics at 40x (once I use the digital zoom to 80x it does get pretty pixellated) – I feel I now have a 40x zoom camera – which is big improvement over 10x with my previous Panasonic
4/ The panorama option – this makes really good panoramas with minimal effort – just stitching together automatically – I like the final product.
5/ Battery life has been pretty good with the GPS on all day – I took over 200 pics in one day (turn off the camera after you shoot a pic and then turn on for the next pic – this saves about 40% battery life as it’s the screen that hogs battery life) but I do recommend you have at least 1 spare battery for this camera – I have 2 as I could use the batteries I had from previous Panasonic.
So to sum up – my photos have improved markedly with this new camera – I still notice a Pansonic feel to the shots (much brighter greens) in relation to my wife’s Canon – which I personally like. I think this is a camera I will keep and use for a very long time!

5:00 am - Tuesday, June 5, 2012

#44 shd

@lana castillo

see since you want the zoom there are many options
the good ones are
canon sx 240/260 hs
panasonic tz 25/ ZS 15-in the USA
tz 30/zs 20 doesn’t have good Image quality so don’t consider

10:21 am - Tuesday, June 5, 2012

#45 zebarnabe

Stuart Montgomerie,
Thanks for sharing your own personal review of the camera. Truly a fair overview of what to expect :]

IMHO, Canon model is basically identical to this, even though I prefer the Canon one (and I say this while owning a Panasonic camera).

Around here the major difference is that the Canon model has better availability and price over the Panny model :/

10:46 am - Tuesday, June 5, 2012

#46 WOLFDOG

A PANASONIC ZS-19 WITH 20X Z00M AND 14.1MP IS AVAILABLE.IS THIS THE SAME CAMERA AS THE ZS-20 BUT WITHOUT THE GPS? ANY HELP ON THIS QUESTION WILL BE APPRECIATED.I BELIEVE I READ SOMEWHERE THAT THE 19 IS IDENTICAL TO THE 20 EXCEPT IT DOESN’T HAVE A GPS.

2:47 am - Friday, June 8, 2012

#47 WOLFDOG

IS THE ZS-19(NO GPS) IDENTICAL TO THE ZS-20 EXCEPT FOR THE GPS? CAN ANYONE ANSWER?

2:50 am - Friday, June 8, 2012

#48 shd

@WOLFDOG

u r right, ZS-19 does exist at least in USA(not sure about other markets)

and its identical to ZS-20 but without GPS

if your from USA, have a look at the below link
http://shop.panasonic.com/shop/model/DMC-ZS19K?t=specs

3:06 pm - Friday, June 8, 2012

#49 sakura

I’m quite a newbie when it comes to cameras, and I’ve been searching around going in stores asking about and I’ve been wanting a new camera for quite sometime now, especially for the coming summer as I shall be going to China and Vietnam so I was looking for a good camera for taking pictures and for some vlogging. A camera that would be good for scenery and capturing fast movement(optional) with a budget of £200-£300.

td;lr
It has come down to 3 cameras but I am definitely open to suggestions:
Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ30
Canon PowerShot SX240 HS
Sony Cybershot HX9V

After reading reviews on other sites I was going to choose the Lumix but after reading these comments I fear it is not worth the price?

I would really appreciate some advice thank you :)

5:10 pm - Friday, June 8, 2012

#50 shd

@sakura

hey, panny TZ-30 is a wonderful camera with manual modes such as PASM

its a good camera, but if your looking for pure IMAGE QUALITY(IQ)then this isnt a good choice
but it takes good videos
another disadvantage is its cost

canon powershot SX240 HS does fall in your price range(if you dont want the extended zoom try searching for the SX220 HS which will exactly fit in your budget)
SX240 HS takes wonderful pics
just compare the samples

I dont know much about sony HX20V but HX9V which is last years model is an awesome camera(availability will be an issue)

do a little research work, look at all the sample Images and videos, based on which you should take a decision

1:21 pm - Saturday, June 9, 2012

#51 Jose Kerginaldo de Paula

The world of compact cameras now splits before and after the panasonic tz30. Undoubtedly the best of the best. The rivals will have to reinvent themselves to reach the Panasonic lumix dmc TZ 30.E a better price than compact cameras below the competition.

10:35 pm - Monday, June 11, 2012

#52 Jose Kerginaldo de Paula

The world of compact splits before and after the Panasonic Lumix dmc ZS 20. The competition will have to reinvent themselves to reach this great little compact camera from Panasonic. Without doubt the best camera I’ve had throughout my life.

11:15 pm - Monday, June 11, 2012

#53 raya

I got this camera down to the many favorable reviews it had though sample images and comments here made me a bit nervous.

I don’t know about these sample images or if the cameras firmware has changed but the pictures I get are very sharp, even when cropped. Color is near perfect and the camera is very fast and responsive. It replaces my trusty Canon sx210 is, which in comparison looks blurry and washed out. Both have about the same noise levels

8:50 am - Tuesday, June 26, 2012

#54 JimB

Ah well, best of luck to all who have gone for this camera.  Thanks to all of the many and varied posters of comments.  After much pondering, I have gone for a Canon SX260 HS.  I am very happy with it. Some of the pictures are stunning.  It came down for me to image quality, and long exposure, and the Canon had a longer longest exposure.  None of the current offering do all I want, unless I could buy them all, and have a different one for each type of shot.

8:08 pm - Tuesday, June 26, 2012

#55 Raya

Yes there’s never a perfect camera that does everything you want. Plus, what everybody seems to forget is that *you* take the picture, the camera just records it, so give yourselves some credit. Just because a camera can record a quality image doesn’t mean it’s a good photograph!

The video on the Lumix tipped me in favour of this one as the Canon can’t compete the video options (up to full HD at 50 fps). I wanted a good still and video camera (cake and eat it :-))

It was close though :-)

7:55 am - Wednesday, June 27, 2012

#56 Ben

Update.  This is a good camera BUT I had some issues with being able to get a good, clear shot.  Problem for me was blurring.  Not sure what my problem was but I gave up and returned.  I got the new Sony 20x with GPS.  Great pictures, no blurring but a little slower on writing to storage.

1:20 pm - Wednesday, June 27, 2012

#57 JimB

#55 Raya - understood.  I don’t much use video, so that was not key for me.

2:32 pm - Wednesday, June 27, 2012

#58 Dyna

what the difference in Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ31

and is it better than Sony Cyber-Shot HX30V

please answer me i cant decide
im looking for best quality , and purity of picture

5:44 pm - Wednesday, June 27, 2012

#59 jose kerginaldo de paula

Dyna, please check wwww.snapsort.com and made a comparision between the Sony HX30V and Panasonic lumix dmc zs20(or tz 30) Good luck

12:51 am - Friday, June 29, 2012

#60 Ben

Dyan, for me the detail and colors of the Sony Cyber Shot at about a 10x zoom were far superior to the Pansonic.  This is based on side by side comparisons of pics taken of the same object (a Kentucky Bluebird).  It wasn’t even close.

1:05 am - Friday, June 29, 2012

#61 dariogemello

A photo of saturn shot with the Panasonic ZS20 - http://www.panoramio.com/photo/74339546

3:34 am - Wednesday, July 4, 2012

#62 Fabio

I trust photographyblog most of the time and when they say essential I try to get the camera, so far I wasn’t disappointed, this is an extraordinary camera, focus system is fast , precise and the touch screen makes everything even faster, changing focus point is so easy . Macro is absolutely outstanding, take a look at these examples
http://www.flickr.com/photos/53212405@N08/7539691290/in/photostream
http://www.flickr.com/photos/53212405@N08/7539689440/in/photostream/lightbox/

  Those are not lucky shots, it’s easy to get nice pictures with this camera, I had the Canon SX260 and I couldn’t like it, pictures are soft and focus is slower and less precise, it’s not a bad camera if you don’t compare , it takes better low light pictures than this one and may have other features that are more important to you.
  This Panny is sharp and fast if you use it in macro or at 40x zoom, but not evrything is perfect, the lens are too dark and low light performance is not the best, the LCD could be better and that play/record sliding key is very irritating, I hate it !
  HDR performance is very good, you can take pictures with the sun directly in front of you and appearing in the screen and the images are clear and full of details.
    Not many compact cameras produce images that accpets well enhancing in an image sotware, but this cameras jpegs accepts very easily sharpening and denoising, so even if it is a little noisy at 800 ISO it’s easy to reduce that in the computer.
    If you like macro it is a must , if you like to use the zoom and if low light is not a priority this is an excellent choice. I will have the opportunity of testing a Sony HX30 next week, I like Sony a lot and it seems to be a better package , if it had a touch screen and the flash in the body it would be perfect, but it seems that the perfect camera still don’t exist, maybe next year.

2:46 pm - Tuesday, July 10, 2012

#63 jose kerginaldo de paula

I fully agree with Fabio The photos are stunning and the price, the Panasonic zs20 worth every penny.

1:07 am - Wednesday, July 11, 2012

#64 Maesstro

Folks, no need to argue, this is p&s camera, its not a DSLR. Its a great traveler companion and more. But only if u dont need XXL prints. Images r sharp enough and colors r stunning. Check my latest shot with it:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/81213985@N04/7745573304/in/photostream

PS: And its very nice to have a full HD camera in your pocket.

1:16 pm - Thursday, August 9, 2012

#65 André

Hello, I presently have a Casio Exilim Ex-H30 but I’m not fully satisfied with it, so I’m thinking on buying a new camera and I’m interested in one of this three:

- Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ30EG-K ;
- Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX20V ;
- Canon PowerShot SX260 HS ;

I only want a camera that can be with me at all time in my travels but that can take excellent pictures so one day later I can remember the good times with quality. Sometimes the Casio can’t give me that, because I’m not an expert in photography and it can’t compensate my lack of knowledge on that area taking many times bad photos.

So, given what I’ve just said, do you think that one of three mentioned cameras would do the job better than the Casio or should I just stick with it and save money?

Thank you in advance for your replies.

3:35 pm - Friday, August 10, 2012

#66 jose kerginaldo de paula

I agree with Arthur E Garcia.Whv i need a camera raw, if i need need a software to edit, but most of us only are only enthusiasts and amateurs? And an optical zoom of only 3.6? And all it would buy nearly three zs20 Panny. And still has the touch screen ... Who wants a picture almost perfect buy a dslr $ 5,000 ... I am satisfied with my pannt zs20/TZ30, and that’s what matters to mim.Tudo for less than $ 300 ...

4:02 pm - Friday, August 10, 2012

#67 Maesstro

André, the best thing u can do is to compare cameras here:
http://www.dpreview.com/products/compare/cameras

And to read a lot of reviews.

I like Panasonic cuz its smaller than Sony, cheaper and it has some options that i need.
Good luck!

4:55 pm - Friday, August 10, 2012

#68 Fabio

To André

  Since i actually owned all of the three models you mentioned I feel very confortable to advise you.
  canon SX260 was a big disapointment to me, the body is very thin and probably that’s the reason why the lens are not good, it’s too soft and chromatic aberrations are everywhere, besides that , it’s not a fun camera if you compare to the ZS20 or the HX20,  it’s a joke that Cânon still uses stitch panorama, there’s a lot missing if you compare and battery life is very poor, it’s slow, focus are not good, macro sucks.
  I sold it and based on this review I got a ZS20 /TZ30, an excellent camera, very well made, fast, excellent focus, excellent macro, touch screen, BUT low light performance is not good, even with the special modes. I could live with that because I always carry with me a Fuji X10 that’s outstanding in low light , the real problem was handling, I hate the play/ shoot sliding key, but I also could live with that, I can’t live with the zoom control located around the shutter , very hard to get a grip, I needed to move my finger and use my nail to make ot work, that makes me stop, look at the camera and place my nail in the right place, a waste of time with a very fast camera.
  When the HX30v (same as HX20v only wifi) became available I ordered one and kept both tlhe Panasonic and the Sony for sometime.
  First thing I noticed was the LCD, much better in Sony, twice the resolution, I would like the touch screen but better resolution is very important to me, with the Pana Images were not that good on the LCD, only latter I could see the high quality in my IPad.
  Second is handling, also much better in Sony, there’s also less limitations when you use certain modes.
    Third, auto modes are almost perfect in Sony, never used auto before, with this one I’m confident it will set the right modes, that makes things much faster .
    Fourth , low light performance is very good , I’m really thinking about selling my x10, multi burst modes are very good.
    Fifth , macro mode. I was absolutely amazed with The Pana macro, but the new Sony was even better, mainly because you can zoom in about 4x while staying less than 1 inch from the subject, I’m shooting much smaller things with the Sony. The Pana also can zoom in a lot but only digital.
    Sixth, HDR modes. The Pana is excellent in HDR, but the Sony offers paint HDR and B/W HDR. The paint is a tone mapped HDR, amazing !  I know you can do that in the computer latter, but getting results seconds after taking the shot is priceless.
    I wish I had the Pana’s focus point mode and the touch screen, both have excellent lenses that are sharp and digital zoom is very good in both too.
    I Liked the Panasonic so much that I didn’t posted my opinion here after I got he new Sony, it’s a much cheaper camera and performs very well in good light, if money is a concern it’s a great choice if you can handle it well, I couldn’t . For me the new Sony is a more complete camera .

9:40 pm - Friday, August 10, 2012

#69 Catietwo

I’ve recently bought(after reading this review) and so far am very happy with this camera a vast improvement over my very old TZ3. However this review says the manual is supplied in printed format rather than as PDF on CD and indeed applauds that fact. I was very disappointed to find this is not the case it’s so time consuming to keep going to computer to find how things work. I am a very amateur photographer so really need printed for quick reference. Yes I could print all 197 pages but given the camera price I think Panasonic should have included one as standard. Anyone else peeved about this

10:00 pm - Friday, August 10, 2012

#70 Maesstro

Supplement: Sony - Panasonic:

Sensor size:
Sony - 1/2.3” (6.17 x 4.55 mm)
Panasonic - 1/2.33” (6.08 x 4.56 mm)

Focal length:
Sony - 25 – 500 mm
Panasonic - 24 – 480 mm

Dimensions:
Sony - 107 x 62 x 35 mm (4.21 x 2.44 x 1.38”)
Weight - 254g
Panasonic - 105 x 59 x 28 mm (4.13 x 2.32 x 1.1”)
Weight - 206g

2:59 pm - Saturday, August 11, 2012

#71 André

Ok, so from what i’ve understanded the sony is the best camera for me.

But now i’ve got another question, cause in my country the sony hx-20v is at the same price as a canon 1100D, that is 399,90€. Wich one do you recommend to me, given what i’ll use them for, that is travels, special ocasions like birthays, just things like that and never in a professional level that will require big prints or anything like that.

Thanks!

5:47 pm - Saturday, August 11, 2012

#72 Ben

I’ve had both the Panasonic and the Sony hx-30v.  The Sony’s ability to focus so fast is amazing. Some ask about why do you need a 20x optical zoom.  After a recent trip to Alaska watching both Kodiak bears and humpback whales, I understand why I needed a very small, compact camera with a quick focus and 20x zoom.

11:46 pm - Saturday, August 11, 2012

#73 Fabio

To André

  I work with phtoto equipment so I have the chance to test many equipments, I used the 1100D for over a month and it’s very simple but effective , finish is poor and it’s easy to see where Canon saved money,  image quality is good but my main concern was the LCD,  they probably found some old ones and decided to build a camera using it, it’s small and quality is very bad, resolution is 1/4 of that found in Sony’s. It’s a shame that Canon used such a bad LCD , but image quality is good , it’s fast and the big sensor gives you more quality in low light, movies are not good because focusing is slow in liveview mode, you can’t use the OVF for movies and the fast focusing system uses the mirror that’s locked in the up position, an alternative poor focusing system is used for movies, if you can focus manually image is very good, but that’s very hard.
    If you are going to shoot moving subjects in low light without flash , like parties, it’s a good choice, of course in order to get the most of it , extra lenses are necessary and it won’t fit in a pocket or small bag.
    Any top compact will give you much more flexibility, you can shoot   a bee in a flower and 2 seconds later an airplane 1000 feet away, no need to remove or replace lens cap or take it from a bag, fits in a pocket and can be used with one hand.
    There are a few things a top compact can’t do that the 1100D can , but there are much , much more things the compact can do and the 1100D can’t, at least not without spending a lot of money in lenses or time in post processing. Macro is one of the things this Panasonic and the Sony HX20V can do that a reflex demands a lot of effort and money to get close, I get better macro with both compacts in 5 minutes than I get in an hour of struggle with a Canon 5D with 100 mm macro lens, of course in a studio with plenty of time and the proper light you will get wonderfull results too, but for amateur purposes, is it worth the money and time spent ?
  The new top travel compacts will give you a 500 mm lens and the digital zoom up to 1000mm with very good quality.
    Muilti burst technology allows compact cameras to shoot ffrom 3 to 10 pictures and create a single picture that will overcome the low light limitatiions of small sensors or even create special effects like HDR, since there are no moving parts like mirrors, the burst rate is much higher than a simple DSLR and blur won’t happen even handheld in low light.
    My current camera bag contains a Sony HX30V and a Fuji X10, I used to carry a DSLR For those low light situations, but he x10 is much smaller and does the job very well, this Panasonic isn’t very good in low light but the Sony is very good, i’m using the Fuji much less now.
    Size is a very important thing and I got tired of carrying heavy bags, and not having he right lens for the moment, a reflex camera is also a big problem in many public places, security people consider a “professional” camera as a threat. I also consider bridge cameras not worth anymore , the new 20x zoom are more than enough even for moon shots, I have an excellent Sony HX200v collecting dust in a closet.
  image quality is very good in both , the Pana and the Sony, i don’t understand people that consider looking at 100%  more important than a great look in normal views, I always check my pictures in the new Retina Ipad that shows every detail and I’m very happy with both cameras images, if you are going to print giant size images even the Canon 1100d won’t do the trick.
  My opinion and what I do, a 20x zoom compact is a must, if you can afford later a top compact low light performer that has a flash hot shoe, or maybe a micro 4/3 with a small lens or a cheap DSLR for those low light moving objects situations and an extra bokeh that’s nice too. Hope that could help, good luck.

1:59 am - Sunday, August 12, 2012

#74 ben

Fablo - wow.  Spot on

2:02 am - Sunday, August 12, 2012

#75 André

Fabio,

Thank you very much for your answer, you clarified all of my doubts and now i’m sure that the sony is the best camera for me.

Once again, thanks for all your very simple answers that made me understood the most important in a camera for an amateur like me.

Kind Regards!

4:37 am - Sunday, August 12, 2012

#76 jose kerginaldo de paula

I agree with Arthur E Garcia.Whv i need a camera raw, if i need a software to edit, but most of us only are only enthusiasts and amateurs? And an optical zoom of only 3.6? And all it would buy nearly three Panasonic zs20 . And still has the touch screen ... Who wants a picture almost perfect buy a dslr $ 5,000 ... I am satisfied with my Panasonic zs20/TZ30, and that’s what matters to me.All for less than $ 300 ..

1:08 am - Monday, August 13, 2012

#77 Christopher Livingston

The camera takes brilliant pictures… I would suggest that the sample images were taken by someone not familiar with the ins and outs of the camera’s settings… it does have a slight learning curve.  That being said the TZ series has never properly addressed low light (in motion) situations.  With a tripod in darker moments great shots can be achieved.  For a point and shoot… it has my money.  I only wish I could manually focus for rare occasions.  But that would be for any little camera under 300(€$£).

2:17 pm - Friday, August 24, 2012

#78 Printing companies Contra Costa County

what is essential ??? pic quality is good but not so impressive .

11:30 am - Thursday, August 30, 2012

#79 Printing companies Contra Costa County

image quality is not so impressive . the camera is famous just because of the name of the company .

11:32 am - Thursday, August 30, 2012

#80 kev

I started with the tz6 which i found very good for a pocket camera then went to the 7 which took sone great photos as long as you dont expect large prints. Now Bought the tz30 which i find fantastic. You cannot compare these though to a fully fledged dslr. But for a pocket camera what more do you need. What they don’t say is that it has a 80x zoom. Have a look at my photobucket and there are a couple of test pics i did in macro and teli.I would say they are top notch but for a camera that you can carry around in your pocket and take really long shots of subjects or macro. It’s one hell of a camera. Without having to carry around a rucksack,multi lenses, filters, flashgun or guns,God knows what else i used to carry. Now its all in one pocket..pull out and shoot.


http://s282.photobucket.com/albums/kk277/kenjin005/Lunix tz30 test pics/

9:21 pm - Saturday, September 15, 2012

#81 kev

I started out with the tz6 which in its time was oay. Then went for the tz7 which again was a fairly good camera. (except for the niose in the focus ring when the camera was setting on a subject) Niosy to say the least. Now i have got the tz30 and to now i find it great…(for a pocket camera) And thats what it is! Easy to carry no multitude amount of lenses no big camera bag to hump around. No big flashgun to place/setup and wiat for charge. No filters to screw in.
These do what you want, see something take it out of you’re pocket and shoot.Not they are not as good as a £1000 dlsr but who cares they do the job they are made to to do, and do it well.
Have a look here to see a couple of test pics i did some macro some in teli mode.

http://s282.photobucket.com/albums/kk277/kenjin005/Lunix tz30 test pics/

9:35 pm - Saturday, September 15, 2012

#82 becky

The TZ30 is VERY VERY DISAPPOINTING.
I bought the TZ5 4 years ago, my first digital camera, the photos came out very very sharp, and I was very happy with it, and a lot of my friends commented on the sharpness of the photos, my niece bought the same camera because of that.  Unfortunately, the TZ5 died, and I had to buy another camera, that’s why I immediately bought the latest, TZ30.  What a failure !!!!
I wish the TZ5 still on the market.  I will buy another one of it.

2:30 am - Sunday, September 16, 2012

#83 Maria

Would anyone be so kind to confirm whether the battery for the TZ30 is the same as the TZ20? I have to return my TZ20 due to a manufacturing fault and I had already bought recently a new spare Panasonic battery for it.  Was wondering if the spare battery will be valid for TZ30.

And my other question is:

When viewing pics on PLAY mode, does the viewer rotate photos on the TZ30? As it didn´t on the TZ20…

Thank you very much for your advice!
Have a lovely day
Maria

1:30 pm - Monday, September 24, 2012

#84 kev

Maria
I had the tz7 now the 30 and the battery fits the charger and works fine so i would think the 20 would work also.

2:43 pm - Monday, September 24, 2012

#85 Naveen Roy Jose

HI,
I agree with the comments of “#68 Fabio ” The panasonic TZ30 is a decent camera for the price. Zoom, built quality and GPS is very good however the main function i.e, image quality suffers especially inthe low light there is lot of noise and images aren’t clear. The battery drains fast too.

4:04 pm - Thursday, October 4, 2012

#86 Naveen Roy Jose

HI,
I just bought this camera and compared it with few other from Canon and Sony. The price point for this camera makes it a decent buy. The zoom is great, GPS effective, built quality good and a nice design. However the camera suffers at taking photos. The image quality is good at bright lighting conditions but as the light fades (night, dark rooms etc.) the image quality decrease. There is a also a lot of noise visible in dark conditions, especially at ISO higher than 400. The battery tends to drain quickly too. Hence do compare the camera with the competition before purchasing this one!!

4:35 pm - Thursday, October 4, 2012

#87 Erik

Very difficult. Still not sure wich one to buy, the Panasonic TZ30 or Canon 240 HS. Both have something. The pana has more features and is smaller then the Canon. And in a lot of expert reviews the pana is the best superzoom compact camera of this moment (okt 12)

http://snapsort.com/compare/Canon-SX260-vs-Panasonic-TZ30

8:49 am - Friday, October 19, 2012

#88 Fabio

Snapsort comparisons must be taken with a ton of salt, very misleading , they never touch the cameras . For someone who really used the cameras the conclusions are ridiculous.
    A reason to buy the Canon Is the 24p movies that has “that film look ” , they never shot a movie with both cameras, movies in Panasonic are much superior. In another point they mention that macro is better in Pana, that makes you think you can take macros with the Canon, and it sucks in that . Macros with the Panasonic are excellent.
    The Canon is soft and produce chromatic aberrations, Panasonic is excellent.
    Focus in Canon is slow and imprecise if you compare with the extraordinary focus system of the Pana, and there’s a touch screen that allows you to change focus point instantly and even take the shot at the same time.
    Low light is better in Canon, but nothing extraordinary. Panoramas are stitched in Canon, uselless.
    I had both cameras, the Canon was a big disapointment, the Panasonic a great surprise but my favorite is the Sony HX30V, has good llow light performance, fantastic and usefull shooting modes like tone mapped HDR, movies are excellent, stailization, Wi Fi works like a charm and it’s great to share your photos with your friends and family right after taking the photo. It’s fast in operation and focus, lens sharp, and the photos are really alive in color and contrast. My problem with the Pana was handling, could’nt get a grip in the zoom lever, it’s too smooth for me.
  That Snapsort site is so absurd that they rated the HX20V 92 points and the HX30V 84. , they are exactly the same camera but the HX30V is WiFi and costs about the same, go figure that.

2:57 pm - Friday, October 19, 2012

#89 jane seymour

I bought this Camera to go on Safari in South Africa.  i was taking better pictures than the guys with Professional Cannon EOS 5d.  The Zoom is amazing creating detailed shots of stuff you only see through binoculars.  I was catching eagles high in the sky,  lions on rocks aways in the distance, baboons on the run, hippo’s jaws stretched open and when i got down to western cape, Great white sharks under water. I was on holiday with a bunch of people and all swore they were purchasing the camera when they got home.

I know nothing about photography and all i did was point and click. You can’t ask for much more than that.

3:59 pm - Saturday, October 27, 2012

#90 Aleksandra

Since my pentax optio v20 died I’ve been looking for just a simple compact camera. I have looked for almost 3 years now and all I bought was just a crap. Now when I see some new camera model I just look for sample images and I must say tz30 has the best pictures from all simple cameras I have seen. Similar to my old pentax. I have Sony Cyber-Shot dsc-w750 (terrible colours), Pentax optio s1 (a joke), Samsung wb150f (I gave it back to store coz this camera took pictures worse than my old sony ericsson phone- I am not kidding). The only good camera we found with bf was Canon sx40hs (really good colours, perfect megazoom)- we chose it after watching thousands of sample images of all known megazooms. Still, I am looking for something small for me, but for my sake- how come they produce so much useless stuff. I really do not care about all those tests. I just want good picture quality coz this is for normal user the most important thing. I feel that tz30 can be my next good camera. I really desagree with comments that those sample images are bad. They ain’t. Believe me. You haven’t seen bad pictures then.

11:51 pm - Wednesday, November 7, 2012

#91 John C Cussons

After much reading and deliberating, today I went out and bought a TZ 30. I thought I was going to have a lot of fun with this camera, clearly an upgrade from my old TZ 8 I have carried and used all over the world.  I liked the review and I also liked the specifications of the TZ 30 which I thought was going to be the perfect travel camera for me, et al. Not so – I must surely hold the all-time record – my ownership of the TZ 30 from purchase to return was just 39 minutes. I was absolutely disgusted when I opened the box and saw that the charger was linked via USB cord directly to the camera. It does NOT have a dedicated battery holder linked independently to the charger. As a TRAVEL camera, I want to carry a second battery and I normally set out in the morning with a fresh battery and leave my second battery on charge in the hotel room or wherever. On my return I can swop if need be as by now the second battery is fully charged. So I will have my camera with me 24/7. But not so with the TZ 30 – one has to leave the camera unattended whist plugged in to charge the battery. I ask Panasonic with tears in my eyes – just how dumb can you get????? Even WITH a second battery, one cannot charge without leaving the camera unattended….as in a hotel room, where a lot of theft takes place. Also, as I was the Inca Trail with my TZ 8, I had two fully charged batteries and this worked well for me. When I returned the TZ 30 I was told by the manager that one could always charge via one’s computer….on the Inca Trail….yeah right…. So I give my own star rating for the TZ 30 – for a TRAVERL camera, it gets a FULL five star rating for having one of the dumbest features of all time…….

6:27 am - Sunday, November 25, 2012

#92 John C Cussons

I also forgot to mention that many of the places one travels to – in particular exotic places, often the power supply is suspect and usually with power surge. So if is unfortunate succumb to power surge whilst charging the TZ 30 it is good bye camera – for keeps. In Bolivia this was often the case and many times, I had my charger with battery dangling from someplace obscure as all too often, the wall plugs were positioned in the most ridiculous places. I doubt if one could do this with the TZ 30….besides we now have yet another issue of wear and tear on the camera rather than just the charger which is easy to replace.

8:41 am - Sunday, November 25, 2012

#93 Fabio

Charging in the camera is now standard in Nikon and Sony too, it’s really annoying but a wall charger costs about $10,00 and it’s very easy to find, some cameras are using micro USB that are very common in cell phones and that may help charging it in some situations , for example, I have a Sony HX30v that uses the same charger as my HTC , I can charge it while driving.
    Another thing that’s becoming common is no printed manual, that’s annoying too, Sony even has the the manual and the software already in the camera memory and so they save paper and CD.
  If that’s is such a problem be advised that your choices in the 20x zoom pocket cameras are very narrow, Fuji or Canon, both much inferior to this excellent Panasonic or Sony.
  A wall charger should be provided but almost no camera comes with a case or memory card, we always had to buy them, they are just expanding the line of accessories, good for them and for camera shops.

3:06 pm - Sunday, November 25, 2012

#94 Gary

I am currently on holiday using this camera. The images it is taking are brilliant.
For a novice non SLR user you cannot go wrong, just point and shoot.
I bought the best camera I could afford, this is it.
Fits in my pocket, fits in 1 hand and I can upload the images to my digital album.
Comes with charger. Had to buy a case and memory.
All in all, I have had no problems with this COMPACT POINT AND SHOOT NON SLR INEXPENSIVE camera.

5:08 am - Tuesday, December 4, 2012

#95 fastpoose

Brilliant camera for personal use. $250 aus! A steal..! Had the old TZ30 for 5 years brilliant for all uses inc video, unfortunately got the CCD black screen of death. But 5 years is fine in my opinion for constant use with young family.

Panasonic are now the leader in quality price driven personal cameras.

11:22 am - Saturday, December 29, 2012

#96 Dee

i bought this camera as a backup to a Nikon professional DSLR - Unlike the DSLR kit - I can pocket this one everywhere ...  photography is also about having the camera handy when opportunity strikes.

TZ30 ... It’s an absolute gem - best camera by far for the price point and near perfect pictures unless really low light.

Sure it can’t get good bokeh like a dslr can - but then no other compact can either.

I

11:38 am - Sunday, December 30, 2012

#97 Yarg

I finally got to play with a Canon SX260 to compare it to the TZ30. I had difficulty choosing between the 2 when I bought the Lumix. Both are comparable but the canon still has a very clunky interface. I had the previous canon model and spent too much time trying to remember how to do this and that. The Tz30 scene and quick menus are great. Despite the comments that have been posted the Canon has similar visible noise and low light performance. Both are great cameras. The canon seemed to start up a lot quicker than the lumix, the Tz30 is better as a video camera.

BTW on the subject of chargers. I bought a universal charger and this acts as an external charger for the battery and is a lot cheaper than a specific model/make charger. It also charges anything with a removable battery such as mobiles, tablets, DS’ even AA’s. It also can be used in a car so at the end of the day it’s a better option

10:16 am - Monday, December 31, 2012

#98 Bev

I have been using this camera for 6 months. It’s easy to use, quick response and produces excellent results. A bit iffy in very low light indoors. I also have a Canon EOS DSLR which I hardly use now. The panorama mode is astounding for such a small camera. Performed brilliantly on holiday; the walk through the siq (alleyway/canyon) at Petra has challenging light and colour conditions but it coped brilliantly.  Zoom stabilisation excellent. So glad I bought it.

8:20 am - Wednesday, January 2, 2013

#99 Kostas

i have read all the reviews about the 20x pocket cameras. i was between tz30 & hx20.
i owned before a tz7 which was very good camera but it had a lot of noise handheld indoors. i thought that the sony hx20 might be better but i finally didnt get it beacuse i had to wait 2 weeks to get it cheap so i went for panasonic again.
the camera takes alot better photos than the tz7 indoors using the handheld night mode or not. the starry sky mode is not there but the pictures using the night mode are the same quality. it has better stabilizer and lower noise i think because the cmos sensor. i thought that i would be using the a/s/m modes but i always use the iA and scene modes for fast and great results.
i dont care that i didnt get the sony cause the tz30 has everything i was hoping. dont be fooled by the tests that say it has alot of noise. its a better camera than tz7.

8:28 am - Tuesday, January 29, 2013

#100 Craig

Thanks guys for the comments and advice, I pulled the trigger on a Sony HX30V after reading all the comments. Can’t wait to get stuck in to it!

8:16 am - Saturday, February 2, 2013

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 1080p, wide-angle, beginner, 14 megapixel, manual, touch-screen, travel-zoom, travel, touch screen, lumix, 24mm, touch, prosumer, 20x zoom, PASM, dmc-tz30, tz30, zs20, dmc-zs20, Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ30 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry