Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ40 Review

5.0
March 26, 2013 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

110 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Spiridon

Since TZ-10 is the best point and shoot in the market.
Nice review,thanks.

7:44 pm - Tuesday, March 26, 2013

#2 Dave

Your review mentions that the image stabilization has 2 modes of operation (besides “OFF”) but the link to the specs indicates that image stabilization can either be simply ON or OFF.

At a local dealer I took similar photos of a distant building with my ZS7 at maximum 12x and with the dealer’s ZS30 at maximum 20x.
I then cropped each photo on my computer heavily to get a closer building detail at the same size on my screen for comparison.  The ZS7 crop was clearly far superior which really surprised and disappointed me.

9:15 pm - Tuesday, March 26, 2013

#3 rk

Dave
compare zs30 at 12x zoom instead of 20x when comparing zs7.

1:44 am - Wednesday, March 27, 2013

#4 mono

Hi

I would like to know which is better the panasonic TZ40 or the sony HX20V ? I am not interested on GPS or wifi, just on quality

thanks

5:59 am - Wednesday, March 27, 2013

#5 oll

TZ40 , HX20W or WX300 ??

6:33 pm - Wednesday, March 27, 2013

#6 Dave

rk

Actually I did do the comparison you suggested too.

Of course I had the ZS7 at its maximum 12x when I took its photo.  Then I set the ZS30 to (approximately) 12x (judging by the little zoom scale as I activated the zoom) and took its photo #1.  Finally I zoomed it fully to its 20x setting and took its photo #2.  It turns out (by viewing the exif data later) that photo #1 was just under 12x but close enough for my purposes.

I then cropped all three photos heavily to show the same area of detail on a building - the ZS7 photo and photo #1 from the ZS30 much more heavily cropped than photo #2 of course.

As to the ZS7 photo-crop and photo #1-crop it is a close call.  Some areas of ZS7 photo-crop look better to my eye and some areas of photo #1-crop look better but overall I think I would take the ZS7 shot. 

Comparing the ZS7 crop and the photo #2-crop is no contest.  The ZS7 wins by a mile.

I had high hopes for the ZS30 as a replacement and perhaps I will get the opportunity to do more tests before I reject it out of hand.  My tests were pretty quick and limited since I was dealing with a ZS30 at the dealer’s store. But I really wanted the advantage of the longer zoom.  If I have to throttle it back to 12x to get a comparable photo to the ZS7, there is no point making a change.  It’s other features are not that important to me.

I wonder if there are any differences between the European TZ40 and the North American ZS30 that they do not advertise.  I saw the comment about a printed manual.  I doubt we will get that in North America and even the ZS7 came without such a printed manual.  I wonder if there are slight firmware differences as well?

8:14 pm - Wednesday, March 27, 2013

#7 Jeff

It would be nice to see a Panasonic V Sony test to confirm the best current camera, then throw in something like a TZ10 as well, so we can see if there’s actually been any improvement that might justify an upgrade.
So maybe TZ40 v Sony HX20? v TZ10

9:08 pm - Wednesday, March 27, 2013

#8 Paul

My wife just bought one of these and in intelligent auto cannot seem to get it to take a decent looking picture.  They’re dim, slightly blurred, generally looking like something you’d be disappointed if your phone camera produced.  Movies also seem awful, lots of motion blur and losing focus if there’s the slightest motion from a previously still object.  This camera gets great reviews everywhere but I wonder if you have to be an expert at the various settings to achieve anything with it as the auto mode seems useless.

1:09 pm - Friday, March 29, 2013

#9 Andy

HI all,
i’m new to this so please bear with me, I need a compact with long zoom for holiday snaps etc but also one that is responsive, I take snaps of horses on the move over fences etc, my current TZ7 seems good but is a little slow and I miss the action, likewise when taking snaps of pet / kids/ bikes.
I like the look of either the TZ40 or Sony HX20, would these be better than my current camera?

1:38 pm - Friday, March 29, 2013

#10 Alex K

Does anyone? know if manual Apperture and Shutter control available in movie mode?
I will buy or not buy this camera depending on the ability to manual control apperture,shutter,exposure in video mode, so an answer from someone who can accurately confirm this would? be much appreciated!

2:18 pm - Sunday, March 31, 2013

#11 Sam

DMC-ZS7/TZ10 has an option in its menu called “Picture Adjustment” where it allows the user to adjust 1)contrast 2)sharpness 3)saturation 4) Noise Reduction

Hi Panasonic. If the DMZ-ZS25/TZ35 has this option, I think it would be a great camera

3:31 am - Monday, April 1, 2013

#12 moeskoetie

crap….much noise in the pictures.

11:38 am - Thursday, April 4, 2013

#13 Gijs

The Panasonic DMC TZ-40 is a great camera. It’s my third, first the TZ-1, the second a TZ-7 and now the TZ-40. All of them awesome cameras What I find extremely annoying that with every new model, battery types change. New batteries don’t come cheap. With the first two models I had, Panasonic supplied the camera with an external battery charger. Not so with the TZ-40, you have to recharge the battery inside the camera and that’s not very convenient. It seems that Panasonic doesn’t bring an external battery charger to the market, at least customer service answered me that the charger is not yet on the market. I asked when it would be launched, they replied that they couldn’t say anything on the subject, they didn’t know.

12:57 pm - Thursday, April 4, 2013

#14 Rudi

Own a larger ZF150 and also have had a TZ7 for a few years; versatile little camera, but don’t expect much in dim light. Watching the TZ40 closely as it seems like a nice upgrade, both in zoom and sensor… but in camera only battery recharging is a turn-off. Always carry a spare….

12:06 am - Friday, April 5, 2013

#15 Bonnie

How do you charge battery inside the camera.

8:47 pm - Saturday, April 6, 2013

#16 Gijs

There are 2 ways to charge te battery: 1. connect the adapter (supplied with the camera) to the power grid and the camera, 2. connect the camera with a cable to a computer.

11:22 am - Sunday, April 7, 2013

#17 Byran

Independent reviews seem to be average for TZ40 - does any one know how it compares to the LX7?

2:20 pm - Tuesday, April 9, 2013

#18 reamor

Like Gijs, I was disappointed that the battery couldn’t be charged externally. If anyone hears that Panasonic or an independent dealer is bringing one out I would love to know. I agree too about batteries. I now have 6 redundant batteries from previous models.

4:53 pm - Wednesday, April 10, 2013

#19 Fulvio

any time-lapse photography features on the TZ40?

6:16 am - Wednesday, April 17, 2013

#20 Mr.G

I seem to toggle between Lumix and Sony snap cameras every few years. I generally find the Panasonic better overall , but Sony better battery life.
So far it has been Panasonic TZ3 > Sony HX5 > TZ40, and am considering HX20.

I’ll probably toss a coin.

4:29 pm - Wednesday, April 17, 2013

#21 KM

Love everything about this camera except one huge flaw: when you take motion pictures / videos, the last second or so is automatically trimmed off. I checked with the manufacturer and that’s the default design. What a shame. You need to manually delay clicking the button by about a second if you don’t wanna miss the last chunk of the video!

10:52 am - Friday, April 19, 2013

#22 Theo

Is the TZ40 much better than the TZ30? I ask because the TZ30 is MUCH cheaper now compared to the TZ40. Half price! Is it TZ40 worth the money compared to the TZ30?

9:33 pm - Tuesday, April 23, 2013

#23 Graham

This review appears to be heavily cut and paste from the TZ10 without any research or checking. The TZ40 doesn’t support multi-aspect shooting nor does it have the picture adjustment mode of sharpness, contarst, saturation and noise reduction. The out of camera images are very soft and need unsharp mask applied and at f3.3 wide open the lens is very soft - especially the corners, you need to drop to f5.6 for overall sharpness

6:25 pm - Friday, April 26, 2013

#24 Peter

Just returned from the Red Sea with my new TZ40 and Im very impressed. Protected in a DiCaPac case to keep the sand and water out I got some fantastic photos and movies. Definitely recommend it as a perfect travel camera.

8:49 am - Tuesday, May 7, 2013

#25 JT

I know this might be splitting hairs.  But since the price is only $20 differnet between the 2.  Which one does anyone think is the better camera.  Panasonic Lumix ZS30 / TZ40 or the Sony Cyber-shot WX300?  I know the WX300 is smaller and lighter.  It also might be faster.  But it seems the ZS30 / TZ40 has better quality Images.  Any suggestions or info?  Thank you.

11:10 pm - Tuesday, May 14, 2013

#26 JT

Also, Is the ZS30 / TZ40 doing better in reviews because of a few features or actually better pictures?

11:12 pm - Tuesday, May 14, 2013

#27 JT

Or are some extra options what is pushing the ZS30 / TZ40 over the WX300 and not image quality?  Any suggestions or info?  Thank you.

11:39 pm - Tuesday, May 14, 2013

#28 Graham Houghton

I’ve done a lot of image testing with the ZS30/TZ40 and Panasonic took away the color adjust facility after the TZ10. Out of camera standard mode jpegs are soft, Vivid more are over sharpened and the IResolution actually kills fine detail, not enhances it. I think a lot of these reviews are not impartial anymore and the marketing hype becomes whats published rather than the actual performance of the camera. The TZ10 had far better image quality IMHO

7:28 am - Wednesday, May 15, 2013

#29 eagle1effi

Just searched for a good and small all purpose camera. I use the TZ-41(in Europe) since 6 weeks and captured about 7.000 items (photos and videos)
I am very happy. All features are impressive!

The iA mode is very cool, every new scene will be pre-autofocused without using the half click!

I suggest in AE P mode to preset - 0,66 EV.
This set wil be fixed until you change it!

ps
For crisp sharpness macros i created a C1 preset.
Fixed to 1/250 sec or higher and all camera transformations set off!
You can configure three more “C2” presets!
Check photos on Flickr.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/eagle1effi

 

 

8:41 pm - Tuesday, May 21, 2013

#30 Rachael

I just bought the tz40 a few days ago and am still trying to figure out all the wifi capabilities. It wasnt exactly easy but now that I’ve figured it out I will write it down. I was able to transfer the photos to my ipad/iphone via a manual wifi connection but I was not able to transfer via the NFC tap which all the reviews rave about. I believe apple does not support this feature which is very disappointing as I bought this camera for my upcoming holiday for that purpose. Does anyone know if this is something apple is working on and will be available in the future? I think the advertising on this so called smart wifi camera was a bit misleading in that respect. Otherwise I am finding it to be a great little camera. Its quick and sharp and easy to navigate. I find the touch screen a little unresponsive though so I dont use it much. Also, can someone tell me is using the MP4 video capture just as good as AVHCD? I find MP4 easier to work with but I am not sure if its as good as AVHCD, reviews tend to be a bit mixed on the subject. Thanks!

9:42 pm - Wednesday, May 22, 2013

#31 dario

Hi!
I have a TZ5 now. I am thinking to switch to TZ40.
The main problem for me is about the battery/battery charging. I do not find original BCM13 in store and a fake BCM13 it is difficult to find.
I am not sure what to do: canon sx280hs or tz40?

someone has found an external battery charger now?

9:47 pm - Tuesday, May 28, 2013

#32 Gijs

See for a charger at: http://www.chargers-mall.com/dmw-bcm13-panasonic-camera-charger.htm

Note that I don’t know anything about the quality of the chargers

11:23 am - Wednesday, May 29, 2013

#33 cromartie

Hi Gijs, thanks.
I am from Europe, anyway will give a look.
The problem now is find the batteries…
even on panasonic shop are not available!
probably we have to wait…tz40 is really new.

12:16 pm - Wednesday, May 29, 2013

#34 Gijs

for batteries see: http://shop.panasonic.nl/DMW-BCM13/DMW-BCM13E,nl_NL,pd.html?cgid=LUMIX ACCESOIRIES&pmin=0&start=6

12:29 pm - Wednesday, May 29, 2013

#35 Ron Proctor

I have the same concerns as Rachael. I cannot use the NFC function on the TZ40 with my Ipad. Rachael if you have any info. on linking the Ipad to the TZ40 I would appreciate any help you can provide.
All I want to do is send photo’s from my camera to the Ipad wirelessly. I am currently using an SD reader that works perfectly, but makes the WIFI camera pointless.
Not impressed with the idea of joining Lumix Club just to see my pictures in the wrong place.

7:33 pm - Saturday, June 1, 2013

#36 Rachael

Hi Ron
You can transfer photos manually via wifi to the ipad or iphone. I had to download the full manual from the panasonic website to figure it out.
-on the camera turn the wifi button on and select new connection
-select send images stored in camera
-select smartphone
-select direct
-select manual connection
-now go to your ipad and in settings go into wifi and you will see the TZ40 pop up, select this wifi and enter the password that your camera gives you
-the camera will now say its connect and to start the smartphone panasonic image app
-on your ipad open the panasonic image app
-your camera should then say it is connected to the ipad
-on the camera you can now transfer photos in single or multi transfer. so far i havent figured out how to send multi without having to tick every single photo which is annoying. its tricky to begin with but when you do it a few times you remember the steps.
as far as i know the new iphone model coming out might have the NFC feature but its not guaranteed.
good luck!

6:36 am - Thursday, June 6, 2013

#37 Ron Proctor

Rachael,
So easy! Wow!,
To get send multi photo’s you select a photo then press disp,
Then select your next photo then press disp and so on, then send the photo’s.

I cannot thank you enough, I downloaded the manual into the book site, but could not work out what to do.
Am I glad we have the Photography Blog site, and thank you editor for alerting me to Rachael’s response.

Editor, do you know why Ipad does not work with the NFC facility on the Lumix TZ40?

12:31 pm - Thursday, June 6, 2013

#38 Ron Proctor

Rachael,
Just read your note again, sorry! You are already aware how to pick photo’s by selecting one at a time.
Shows you why I needed help.

12:48 pm - Thursday, June 6, 2013

#39 Neil Gutteridge

I own a tz30 which I find great for a do it all compact camera.My wife recently purchased a tz40 on the strength of the performance of my camera and could not be more disappointed. We have done a lot of comparison tests between the two cameras and have found that the tz30 produces much cleaner looking photos.Photographs taken at maximum telephoto clearly show that panasonic have made a mistake by adding more pixels….details are poor to say the least in comparison to the older model.We also do not like the on/off button which is easily pressed while using the camera and also the less quality feel overall.What a shame…..we were looking forward to great things from this new camera but all we have is new features that are really just gimmicks and poor picture quality.My wife has now ordered a tz30 which in my opinion is still panasonics flagship model.

8:18 am - Thursday, June 13, 2013

#40 Ron Proctor

Now that I can download TZ40 photo’s into my Ipad for viewing. I found that the results were very poor, blurred,mainly.
However, I have since changed my picture size on the camera from e-mail size to maximum and getting full use of the 18M.
The results on Ipad are a great deal better.
You get fewer available photo’s,but with a decent size memory card this should not matter.

3:58 pm - Thursday, June 13, 2013

#41 victoriadave

I found that the zs20 (tz30) and the zs30 (tz40) both had a much softer focus than the zs7 which I own.  Some comparison shots at http://www.flickr.com/photos/davecaptures/sets/72157633101998343/

Not that the zs30 used at 12x zoom gave a better photo than when shot at 20x zoom after each was heavily cropped on the computer to give a similar image size on screen.  The ZS7 did the best job in my opinion.

5:19 pm - Thursday, June 13, 2013

#42 marx

where are these nice pictures?? http://www.garnek.pl/emx40/a

blurred !!!!!

11:13 am - Wednesday, June 26, 2013

#43 Ron Proctor

Does anyone have an answer on how to minimise the glare on the screen when trying to take photographs on the tz40 ?

8:02 pm - Wednesday, July 3, 2013

#44 Paul

Avoid this camera, GPS is of minimal use and WiFi didn’t work as I spent hours trying to connect to PC, printer, etc with no joy. Camera is so slow during these operations. Might as well pull out the SD card or plug in the cable. Not sure why they didn’t use Bluetooth as it does all the handshaking etc without a lot of fiddling around by the user. Better, just go ahead and buy an camera without all the bells and whistles or just buy an SLR.

10:46 pm - Friday, July 5, 2013

#45 Antonio

Hi all,

I’m divided between the TZ40 and Sony DSC-WX300. I’ve read hundred of reviews, but still not decided about image quality. And which one has the best automatic mode for taking pictures only on the weekend, vacations, etc, without having to change much settings and having much knowledge of it? Which is the best point-and-shoot camera?

10:57 pm - Monday, July 8, 2013

#46 Roberto El Choo Choo Fingus Dingus

Guys,


I really need a camera that can take a steady load of hot sauce. L like to film the ladies when making urinates. I want it to be able to fit in my shoe. I found this type of camera easy to use under the cubical doors and is easily stuffed in air vents above toilets.
Can I have one for free.
I will do anything to have one. PLS in need dis!

Love

Roberto El Choo Choo Fingus Dingus

4:29 am - Tuesday, July 16, 2013

#47 David

Hi,

I have a Japanese tz40 and it is not possible to change the language to English as the settings do not include any other language different than Japanese. Does anybody know if it is possible to install the firmware of the European version or any other alternative solution to change the language? Thanks

2:17 pm - Saturday, July 20, 2013

#48 Gijs

@ David,

This link might be helpful

7:43 am - Monday, July 22, 2013

#49 Gijs

@ David: This link might be helpful: http://panasonic.jp/support/global/cs/dsc/download/TZ40_TZ41_ZS30/index.html

7:53 am - Monday, July 22, 2013

#50 Belle

Please share what happens if you use the English firmware update on your Japanese camera. I have the same situation..!  I called Panasonic, who just repeatedly apologised and said there was nothing they could do. :-(

5:39 am - Tuesday, July 23, 2013

#51 pierre

tengo la TZ 40desde 1 mes.Cliente nikon de toda la vida en condiciones de luz normal no veo diferencia con el 7000 de nikon en jpeg. Para viajar es una maravilla la unica cosa no encuentro el cable HDMI-mini para ver las fotos en la T.V. Si alguin tiene una idea gracias Un saludo de Tenerife

6:46 pm - Tuesday, July 23, 2013

#52 nancy

i want buy a charger from http://www.chargers-mall.co.uk/lumix-dmc-tz40-panasonic-battery-charger.htm, some one could give idea, thanks very much!

8:35 am - Thursday, July 25, 2013

#53 Mike

I can’t decide between the TZ40 and Sony HX50. The Lumix edges it on features but the 30x Zoom on the Sony is a big plus. Whats the betting that the next Lumix TZ will have a 30x Zoom?

6:55 am - Monday, July 29, 2013

#54 Gijs

@ Mike: If you’re interested in a “big"zoom, go and have a look for the Canon PowerShot SX50 HS or the Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX300. Both 50 times zoom and bit more expensive too

11:50 am - Monday, July 29, 2013

#55 Mark

HI
I am ready to invest in a new compact camera, I think I have done my research, and the TZ40 is topping the list, like the WI-FI option, but being able to take good pictures in low lights a reasonable zoom and continuos shooting are my main wish list with a budget of maximum £300 ish is there anything else I should be considering before buying the TZ40

Thanks Mark

4:30 pm - Wednesday, July 31, 2013

#56 Ron Proctor

Mark,
Before buying a TZ40 take a look at the DMC - LF1.
The LF1 has a view finder and would make taking photos in bright sunlight a lot easier.
The wi-fi is a waste of time and the NFC feature does not work on Ipad tablet.
I do not know why Panasonic still advertise NFC works on tablets.

5:12 pm - Wednesday, July 31, 2013

#57 Jed

#53: Mike. I can answer. Bought the HX50, for the zoom and wi-fi features. I had an HX20V which took fantastic pics, so thought the HX50 would be far better.

Outcome (for me), HX50V pics were terrible in comparison; 100% crop was wishy washy and blurred, lots of noise… too many pixels on a small sensor.

So I just swapped it for a TZ40, and it’s like chalk and cheese, brilliant quality.

For otehrs NFC is only on certain new phones S3 and S4 . I have the S4 and couldn’t get it to work, why, I put new long life battery in it, and guess what the NFC chip is in the Samsung battery. So if you get long life, get ones with NFC built in (available). iPhone 5S will have it. Not 5 and earlier

1:53 pm - Wednesday, August 14, 2013

#58 Stephen

Works fine on any Android tablet with NFC, works fine on any Android phone with NFC.

Wifi direct works great for me as well - sorry to hear that idevice support is not as good but they can advertise it works with tablets - just not apple ones because they don’t have NFC.

11:17 pm - Wednesday, August 21, 2013

#59 scarlett

Panasonic NV-M20 Battery Charger
http://www.2deals.net/Camcorder-Battery-Charger/Panasonic/Panasonic-NV-M20.html

3:48 am - Monday, August 26, 2013

#60 Paul Amos

Very disappointing camera.  It promises much but fails to deliver.  I purchased this camera for my wife for an overseas trip.  The worst feature is the screen, even when set to brightest setting with screen luminance on, it is almost impossible to see in bright sunlight, especially with sun glasses on.  Many cameras suffer this problem but my Canons are much better in this regard.  Zoom is also ridiculous.  You can’t hold this camera steady at full zoom and get a sharp shot.  Too many megapixels for the sensor size results in low quality images.  Finally menu structures are convoluted and illogical.  It was too much to expect for the money I suppose.  This camera, like many others from other brands with similar specs it is just a marketing exercise for people who don’t know better.  I’m suprised I fell for it.

1:58 am - Sunday, September 22, 2013

#61 techster

David, Belle, or others:

Did you have any success updating the Japanese TZ40 firmware into English for the menus?

Please let us know.

5:56 pm - Monday, September 23, 2013

#62 Gijs Nebbeling

Here you find firmware updates and instructions: http://panasonic.jp/support/global/cs/dsc/download/TZ40_TZ41_ZS30/index.html

8:39 am - Tuesday, September 24, 2013

#63 Belle

Techster - Still waiting for someone else to try…! Not brave enough to be the first!!

11:47 am - Tuesday, September 24, 2013

#64 kohc

Tried the firmware upgrade. Camera was upgraded from v1.0 to v1.2. Still in japanese. Problem remains unsolved. Any insider feom panasonic willing to provide any key combinations to unlock the camera?

1:30 pm - Sunday, October 6, 2013

#65 techster

Thanks kohc. That’s very helpful and saves me a bunch of wasted time and money. From my experience, Panasonic will not help with this, unfortunately.

2:36 pm - Sunday, October 6, 2013

#66 shabu

Kohc, David, Belle: Can your TZ40 Japanese version record and play NTSC?

9:14 pm - Thursday, October 10, 2013

#67 Rick

Appreciated reading all of the comments about the ZS30/TZ40. 
I’ve been pretty pleased with the quality of the photos and, in general with the ease-of-use of the camera’s features. 
I’ve had some challenges getting the wifi feature to work.  As has been pointed out, Apple devices do not have the NFC feature.  Transferring files wirelessly from the camera to my iPhone and iPad is now a snap.  Several steps required but otherwise works great.

Hoping someone can advise on how to transfer files wirelessly from the camera to a MacBook??

1:58 pm - Saturday, October 12, 2013

#68 miles

like the GPS on this camera, better than the one on the Samsung WB850F.

5:22 am - Friday, October 25, 2013

#69 Lizzie

Recently bought a Panasonic lumix tz40 digital camera. Took it with me to great ocean road on a sunny day. Could not see what I was aiming at. It was a completely black screen.

Is there anything on the market to shield the screen from the sun or any advice as to what I can do in these situations please

5:06 am - Saturday, November 2, 2013

#70 Dave

Lizzie,  Just a long shot…  Were you wearing polarized sun glasses and holding the camera in the portrait orientation?  The camera screen on my ZS7 is polarized and it is fine in landscape mode, but when I rotate the camera into the portrait orientation the screen goes black.  I have to remember to remove the sun glasses.

6:10 am - Saturday, November 2, 2013

#71 Lizzie

I did have on prescription glasses with transitional lenses but the screen was completely black that I did not know really what I was aiming the camera at. My husband had a go and he had the same happen to him. He does not wear sunglasses.  I had the camera in the landscape mode.

The salesperson who sold me the camera certainly don’t tell you tinis may happen!

9:48 am - Saturday, November 2, 2013

#72 Niki

I bought Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ40 camera a few days ago but its menu is only in japanese. Has somebody tried to wipe that 1.2 firmware and installed version 1.2 that is on the panasonic website?
The manual for this camera does not have the whole menu and explanation of every single symbol and line in it.Please help me how to deal with the japanese menu!Thank you.

9:04 am - Saturday, November 16, 2013

#73 techster

Hi Niki,

This is the original question I had, so please let me know if you try it and what happens.

2:38 pm - Saturday, November 16, 2013

#74 Anna

I have taken video on my tz40 which is playing on the camera but when I take the memory card out and put it in my computer it says it’s empty please help

2:36 pm - Friday, November 22, 2013

#75 MaxTurc

I just bought a Lumic DMC-TZ40. Just realised it is in Japanese. I’m really interrested if someone was able to change from japanese to english !!!!!

11:05 pm - Sunday, December 8, 2013

#76 techster

try flashing the latest firmware update into it visa instructions given and let up know if it works after that

7:57 am - Monday, December 9, 2013

#77 Robertty Wong

I find the TZ40 GPS displayed on the captured images extremely helpful. It really helps in recollections of places/countries visited over time. But that exclude travels around China where GPS is prohibited.
However, the problem is, during transfer/download of captured images to computer/external memory device, the GPS information displayed on the captured images is EXCLUDED. The instruction menu has zero information on this issue. Any help from other TZ40 users to overcome this issue is much appreciated.

4:14 am - Tuesday, December 24, 2013

#78 Helen

Can the battery for TZ10 be used for TZ40?

4:33 am - Monday, December 30, 2013

#79 Sandra Smith

Can anyone tell me what the “P” item is for on the wheel on the top of the camera. I’ve been using the intelligent auto but the image don’t seem as clear as when I turn it to “P”. I’ve tried all of the others (such as M for manual)etc. Thanks!

1:31 am - Tuesday, December 31, 2013

#80 Leighton

I have a problem with the battery life. From fully charged to flat in 4-5 days with the camera turned off. I have the GPS feature off so there must be something else draining the battery, any Ideas?
Thanks

1:14 am - Tuesday, January 21, 2014

#81 Lorraine

The Zs20 if my third Panasonic camera.  I have been very pleased with my pictures but my ZS10 -16 zoom has marks on the pictures.  I have been very careful with my camera keeping it in it’s case when not in use and not using in bad weather.  My new camera I bought last year Zs20 now had a small mark in pictures.  This is internal and not on the lens.  Anyone else with this problem?  I am looking for a new compact with 20x optical zoom but am scared to try Panasonic again.  Any suggestions for a small camera.  I have a larger camera already.

11:10 pm - Thursday, January 30, 2014

#82 Leighton

Re the problem with battery life I posted above.

I have since found out that you need to tune ON the flight mode as this then prevents the wifi and other signaling features to be turned off. This seems to have stopped the battery drain.

5:51 am - Friday, January 31, 2014

#83 Larry King@History of the Camera

I need a compact with long zoom for holiday snaps etc but also one that is responsive, I take snaps of horses on the move over fences etc, my current TZ7 seems good but is a little slow and I miss the action, likewise when taking snaps of pet / kids/ bikes.

3:02 pm - Saturday, February 1, 2014

#84 Jo

Did U solved the Language problems guys ?

12:22 pm - Monday, February 10, 2014

#85 G. Fois

Anna, the movies now stay in \private\avchd\bdmv\stream folder, no more with the photos in \DCIM folder.
The files with .MTS extension can be changed adding .MPG at the sufix name if you have any trouble to view in mediaplayer. If you record movies at full resolution, you must use a SD card rated for high speed, like C10! C4 didn’t work!

11:42 pm - Monday, February 10, 2014

#86 G. Fois

Sandra Smith - P stay for Program! The camera select shutter and aperture but give you more freedom in all other settings than IA. IA let you very few options to select. I usually stay in P or even in A (aperture priority) but you must understand all the camera functions (read and understand manual) and master some basis about photo camera setting. Pay some hours of study and you’ll get awesome photos!

11:52 pm - Monday, February 10, 2014

#87 Ugo

Hi I bought this camera in asia but the only language that i can chose is english or asiatic ones.
i want to know if the change of language setting on this camera is possible or not i’m italian. thanks

7:45 am - Friday, February 21, 2014

#88 Nick

Hi,
I’ve bought a Panasonic DMC-TZ40 camera. It supports japanse language only.
I would like to know whether I can replace japanese by english.

7:31 pm - Monday, February 24, 2014

#89 Josy Knup

To the Editor
I just joined your Forum today and enjoy
reading up on the Panasonic sz 30/40

I guess the following post slipped through the screening and NEEDS TO BE REMOVED ASAP!
Unprofessional and offensive posts is not what I expect to read on a serious Forum.

#46 Roberto El Choo Choo Fingus Dingus
4:29 am - Tuesday, July 16, 2013
I do expect confirmation when removal is done.
Thank you

Regards,
JK

5:22 pm - Tuesday, February 25, 2014

#90 Felix

HI
I am very interested in this TZ40, as i had two previous models in same series.
I need to know if this camera is any good to take great pics of the “northern lights”  or is the canon SX280 better?  i need a camera with diving capabilities as well and zoom.
Or any other suggestions?
Regards
Felix

10:35 pm - Monday, March 3, 2014

#91 Alan Le Goff

Ref TZ40. WiFi connection: I can display the photos from the camera to the iPad.  How do I then save them on the iPad?

11:16 am - Friday, March 7, 2014

#92 Robert Wong

I refer to my request for assistance/advice as posted here and referred to in #77 dated 24th Dec. 2013. To date, unable to obtain any advice. Could Panasonic people provide some assistance/advice? Much appreciated.

2:05 am - Saturday, March 8, 2014

#93 twent

It is a nice camera, but I have two problems with the camera:
1. it sometimes takes a long time to turn off, and I need to take the battery out in order to restart it.
2. the cable for charging it is very difficult to find easily in commerce and needs to be ordered separately if lost or miscplaced. It is a great pity they did not use very simply a regular miniUSB for this.

3:45 pm - Thursday, March 20, 2014

#94 jesseryjhon

For your <a >canon camera battery</a> shopping why not you prefer ArihantDigi- Its the only website serves all kinds of photography accessories.

11:19 am - Friday, March 21, 2014

#95 canon camera battery

For your canon camera battery shopping why not you prefer ArihantDigi- Its the only website serves all kinds of photography accessories.

11:20 am - Friday, March 21, 2014

#96 Vivien

I agree with Lizzie it’s all guess work when taking photos in the sun, I definitely miss the view finder I had on my other camera. Has anyone a solution?

5:16 pm - Thursday, March 27, 2014

#97 Paul

I have the same issue re Japanese only and firmware upgrade not doing anything as it’s already running 1.2 (ie latest), so keen to hear of anyone working out how to resolve this. Thanks

1:43 am - Saturday, April 5, 2014

#98 Stuart

Why is the rival Canon the old SX 260 and not the current SX 280, which Photographyblog.com reviewed to be a significant upgrade?

2:43 pm - Saturday, April 19, 2014

#99 Ron

Note that with all compact zoom cameras, when the lens extends it creates a vacuum inside the lens. That sucks dust into the camera which always gets onto the little fingernail-sized sensor, causing an annoying dark blotch on the image. There is no way of removing dust. I tried cleaning it by opening the back with jeweler’s screw drivers and was successful, but it’s very difficult and takes a long time and a magnifying glass. The instructions for opening all cameras are on he Net.

3:13 am - Sunday, April 20, 2014

#100 Ugo

Ciao Ho comprato questa macchina fotografica in Asia, ma l’unica lingua che posso scegliere è quella inglese o quelle asiatiche.
vorrei sapere se è possibile il cambio di lingua su questa fotocamera anche in italiano. grazie

10:44 pm - Sunday, April 20, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 1080p, wide-angle, wi-fi, manual, travel-zoom, travel, lumix, touch screen, 24mm, 10fps, touch, 18 megapixel, nfc, wi fi, 20x zoom, gps, PASM, dmc-tz40, tz40, Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ40 Review, zs30, dmc-zs30

Tracker Pixel for Entry