Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ8 Review

4.0
March 1, 2010 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

112 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#101 Sam Norris123

i think this is a very good camra because allthough it dose not have an adaptal lense it can take very good pin point shots and it has a very easly usabal manual exposer.
good quialty movie is also quite good.
and i do like the aperture priorty for quick exposer’s.

8:51 pm - Wednesday, September 28, 2011

#102 Janet

Being quite ignorant in these matters and dubious about shop assistants who try to sell you extras, does one really need a SDHD card or will the SD card ( from our exisitng camera) work as well?
Thanks

8:10 am - Tuesday, October 4, 2011

#103 paying attention sometimes

Janet

I’m not Sure SDHD cards are. I’m thinking that Might be interchangeable with SDHC (HC- High Capacity memory)  Those are nice to get for this camera.  But no you do not have to.  You probably want to get at least a 2GB, & at least class 4 or 6, memory card.  I have this camera, at 12 mega pixes each picture is quite often taking up 5.2MB, 4.6MP for each picture.  So it can eat up a “small memory card” quickly. Also if your shooting video on it that is going to eat up more memory.  And its for the video that you want to get the speed/CLASS up to at least Class 4 or Class 6.  Video will not work right on a Class 2, ( orunmarked?) Card.  The Higher Class/speed probably the better the video will work. the higher speed can sometimes also help it record snap shots/pictures possible a bit faster and maybe with a little bit less batter use. I picked up a 16 GB Class 10 memory card for mine.  It will hold Allot Of pictures and video.  If your not going to shoot any video, you really don’t have to worry about that stuff so much.  those 16GB class10 memory cards do not cost that much these days, Especially if you are in the USA and pic them up the day after thanksgiving, at the big sales.  Also, If You are not going to blow up/print your pictures beyond ” “8x12” ” or 8"x10”, just set your camera to the 5MP quality.  it will save memory on your card and let you get more shots on the memory card.  You WON’T notice any difference in picture print quality.  And I think that camera when set to 5 MP can stretch some more optical zoom in?  And the shots will not eat up as much space on your computer, and you can work on them easier.  And you can fit more shots onto a CD .    I think if you look in the ” operators Manual CD” some where it will give you an idea how pictures or/And how much movie space you can fit on different sized memory cards.

11:53 pm - Tuesday, October 4, 2011

#104 Janet

Many thanks. A really helpful answer ( and yes, I did mean SDHC )

8:34 am - Wednesday, October 5, 2011

#105 Grant Cassils

All of a sudden my TZ3 won’t save to the memory card. Only to the internal. Have not dropped the camera. Tried different card. Tried formatting the card. No better.

8:39 pm - Sunday, December 18, 2011

#106 Keith Lloyd

Have you tried downloading an image from your PC to the TZ3 using a USB cable? Give it go and let us all know how you get on..Another you SD card I am led to belive must not be any larger than 2GB. A normal cheap 2GB SD card will suffice nothing fancy i.e. XDHD SD or what ever just a simple SD card 2Gb or less….Another thing I have just thought of, are you by chance using a Micro card in a SD converter….?

9:38 pm - Sunday, December 18, 2011

#107 Euge

Hi - take it that you’ve Formatted the card **IN** the camera? Sometimes cards formatted by another device don’t work - infrequently - but it happens.
Otherwise - any foreign object in the card slot? Paper, fluff, etccc…

9:38 pm - Sunday, December 18, 2011

#108 John Good

I bought the TZ8 after a lot of research and I have not been diasppointe, it feels good, handles welll and produces excellent pictures throughout the focal lenght range. The one thing I don’t like is the toggle switch for going from shoot to review mode on the LDC display, a push button would be much handier.

7:20 pm - Saturday, January 7, 2012

#109 Digital Camera Review

I enjoyed using this product. As a beginner it was my 4 year old son who took some great pictures with it without any effort. That says it all for all beginner’s out there. The product is well balanced and worth the price tag. The optics is best quality as in any Digital camera and build quality is good. Thank you so much for sharing this blog :)

If you have time you can also visit this site that I managed to surf in:
Digital Camera Review

4:19 am - Saturday, March 10, 2012

#110 Paul Edwards

If you doubt the TZ8 can take great pictures - have a look at these!

http://www.flickr.com/photos/lupinoweb/4473304998/in/photostream/

3:21 am - Monday, June 18, 2012

#111 Paul Edwards

I do think this is a great little camera. Takes better pics then my fuji HS10 bridge camera. Very little shutter lag and a great burst mode (includes burst with flash too though slower) I use the ‘Transcend’ SDHc memory card 16GB series 10 and you can get them for around £15 GBP on http://www.amazon.co.uk presumably same with amazon.com too. my fav setting is P program mode and max400 ISo , this means the camera will select any ISO between 80 and 400 - could be 160 or 230 for example - but it wont go above the grainy 400iSo setting.

Im intending to get either a TZ20 or better still TZ30 when I have spare cash. Its great to have a small pocket-able high quality camera which you can just take with you without camera bags etc.PE

11:35 am - Saturday, August 18, 2012

#112 angelina

After I and my lover spent about 4 years together, my boyfriend told me that we can not be together. and already We were making ready ourselves to get married this year and I was very happy and absolutely ready to marry him. this breakup started when he went a little far from the city where I live, a year before. He found a good job out there. And he promised me to come back in one or two years. In the mean time, I found a job around his place (we take it as a good opportunity for us to start living together) but the company I worked for resist to leave me since I am a responsible person in the company. They offered me a very nice salary increment with huge responsibility of work. Then I told to my boyfriend I preferred to stay where I live and work, since, he has not a plan to live there forever. He was very upset at the moment… and ignored me totally. I tried to contact him but I can’t. Following so much effort he sends me a message saying “our relationship is over”. I never expected such a thing to happen, so I got sick. Even after so much begging he allow me to see him, but told me the same thing that it is over. I asked him the real reason. He said, you never listened to me, you never gave me credit, and you disrespected me…..and so on. I never noticed such a thing in our relationship before, so I got shocked and couldn’t say a word in front of him. For me our relationship was perfect. And I really love him. I want to be with him. I send so many letters saying I’m sorry, I tried to contact him but there is no reply. I did everything to attract him and live with him forever but nothing was going through. so I needed a help on how to get my lover back. I had the feelling that he still loves me, though he did not say a word. I needed help seriously. I thought it will never possible to get him back and be the happy couple again? so when I read testimonies about .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) I contacted him and he told me that my case is a simple one to solve, so after his consultation and casting of his spell my boyfriend emailed me telling me he was sorry for all that he did to me, that he is ready to marry me now, I was shocked, I never believed that GREAT Dr.UNOKO could make such thing to happen with his spell, today I am getting married to my boyfriend, and I will never forget this spell caster I will always talk about him anywhere I go angelina hocombe. Via +2348103508204

12:06 pm - Monday, February 3, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 720p, 12 megapixel, 2.7 inch LCD, manual, travel-zoom, travel, lumix, panasonic, 12x zoom, dmc-zs5, tz8, dmc-tz8, Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ8 Review, zs5

Tracker Pixel for Entry