Panasonic LUMIX G 14mm F2.5 ASPH Review

4.5
February 9, 2011 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

9 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 JOSS

Eeh - just a small correction to your otherwise excellent review. The 35 mm equivalent focal length is 28 mm not 16 mm as you state.

5:32 pm - Wednesday, February 9, 2011

#2 Mark Goldstein

Thanks for spotting that!

6:21 pm - Wednesday, February 9, 2011

#3 Sanford

What is the little warning symbol on the side of the lens for?

3:25 am - Thursday, February 10, 2011

#4 zebarnabe

Sanford,

I believe it means “Do not throw to the garbage bin”... if the lens needs to go to the garbage bin because it got damaged beyond repair… you’ll need to ask Panasonic what to do with it (or read the lens manual about it).

11:08 am - Thursday, February 10, 2011

#5 Joe Kashi

You are correct about the sharpness and contrast of this lens.  It is very sharp from edge to edge by F 4.  However, geometric distortion and chromatic aberrations, both red-cyan and blue-yellow, are quite high in RAW image files and are very difficult to manually correct. 

Ultimately, I had to develop a CA correction lens profile for Lightroom 3 using Adobe’s Lens Profile Creator.  That solves much of the problem and makes the remainder of the CA much easier to correct.  There remained a fair bit of purple shading that could not be corrected using a lens profile nor in Lightroom, so I had to desaturate Lightroom’s purple channel to neutralize the purple aberration. 

Once I completed those steps, the final output is extremely sharp and shows no evident aberrations nor distortion.  Vignetting’s not much of a problem,

6:59 am - Saturday, February 12, 2011

#6 Dave W

I like this lens a lot. Works a treat on my m43 cameras. Tiny, light weight, focuses quickly and quietly.

6:04 pm - Saturday, February 12, 2011

#7 Fernando

Thanks for the thorough review and the sample images. Am going between the nokton 25 mm, waiting till it becomes available, or purchasing this lens. this encourages me in choosing the lumix if the nokton is too hard/impossible to find.

11:10 am - Saturday, March 5, 2011

#8 Alvin

I got this lens unboxed from ebay for £119 and I love it! F2.5 is great for night street shoots (as we all know, MFTs are not great at high ISO). However it does has a very bad lens flare problem, the worst I had ever seen. Also sadly it does not come with a lens hood (to protect against flare AND bumps). I came across a website suggesting using a 46-37mm stepDOWN filter adaptor. I got that and also fitted a 37mm white balance correction type of cap with a ring type (best way to describe this is the cap does not snap onto the 37mm tread but instead snap onto a short barrel that screws onto the 37mm tread). The good thing is now I have a protective lens hood (still does nothing about the flare) and the bad thing is it adds another 15mm to the length of the lens.

11:51 pm - Friday, July 6, 2012

#9 Ismael

im looking in buying this lens but want to know if it fits on a canon 550d or 600d ....or do i have to buy a mount and which one .....thanks

2:18 pm - Tuesday, May 14, 2013

Entry Tags

wide-angle, compact system camera, lumix, micro four thirds, panasonic, wide angle, 14mm, 14mm lens, Panasonic LUMIX G 14mm F2.5 ASPH Review, panasonic 14mm review