Panasonic LUMIX G VARIO 7-14mm F4.0 ASPH Review

4.0
December 31, 2010 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

14 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 C.Y.Leow

The BEST super-wide zoom money can buy! Especially when used on a E-P2 with internal stabilizer! I took the combination on our Europe trip early this year and I was able to hand held as low as 1/4 sec! Read about it here -http://cyleow.blogspot.com/2010/05/when-in-rome-3.html

12:31 pm - Friday, December 31, 2010

#2 C.Y.Leow

This fantastic lens is way way over priced in England! I bought mine in Singapore on our way to Europe for S$1,380.00 (after GST refund. That work out to 690 UK Pound!

12:42 pm - Friday, December 31, 2010

#3 C.Y.Leow

With due respect, how can you named two 14-140 lens as RIVAL? The ONLY rival is the Olympus Zuiko Digital 9-18mm ultra-wide angle zoom lens which is slightly less wide than the Panasonic.
Please try to compare apple with apple ;)

12:55 pm - Friday, December 31, 2010

#4 Jordan

Please, for all that’s good in the world, please stop putting the ‘35mm equivalent’ focal length on the sample images.  It’s not the focal length the pictures were taken at.  The focal length of the lens doesn’t change on the m4/3 sensor…the lens is a 7-14, not a 14-28.  For full frame shooters looking for a comparison, it has the same FOV as a 14-28 on 35mm, but it is NOT a 14-28…labeling a 7mm shot as a 14mm shot does nothing but cause massive confusion.  STOP DOING THIS.

2:10 pm - Friday, December 31, 2010

#5 Sanford

You always make a big deal of pointing out how you never use test charts but test your lenses under “real world conditions”. My question is, does the sun ever shine there? That has got to be gloomiest place on the planet! I assume it is G.B. You are not exactly a great endorsement for your tourist industry.

3:42 pm - Friday, December 31, 2010

#6 C.Y.Leow

Someone finally said it! ;)

3:50 pm - Friday, December 31, 2010

#7 mister le

awesome lens , nice review.
check out the video.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/canonmonster/4841384262/

9:58 am - Saturday, January 1, 2011

#8 Jeremy

The world looks extraordinary when viewed through this new LUMIX G VARIO 7-14mm lens. I use it and it allows photos and movies to be recorded in high resolution image quality.

4:40 pm - Saturday, January 1, 2011

#9 Henning

I’ve had the lens since it came out over a year ago. It is superb, and not really comparable to anything else. The 9-18 Olympus is not as wide, not constant aperture and not as good optically. It’s a lot cheaper, and it should be. You can get this lens for under $1000 CDN (my currency) easily, and it’s very much worh it. The only really comparable setup is a full frame Nikon with the 14-24, which has a smaller range, a bigger aperture and similar optical quality. The larger Nikon pixels will give you a better quality under most conditions, but the size and price difference is rather large. The Panasonic GH2 with the 7-14 lens will produce images that you can’t match until you spend over twice as much.

As reference, I also shoot Canons of various types, Leica M8 and M9 and lots of irrelevant stulff. Yes, the M9 with 16-21 Tri-Elmar will produce better files, but it won’t get the same angle of view and it’s not as convenient to use, and the combo costs over 6 times as much. I often use the M9 and the GH2 in combination, and there’s no real problem in that. That speaks really well for the 7-14 and GH2 combo.

8:38 am - Sunday, January 2, 2011

#10 C.Y.Leow

Sample pictures of this incredible ultra-wide on E-P2 on our Europe trip. I think the best compact to take advantage of this lens are those with in body stabilizers. Sadly Panasonic GF-1 is not one of them!

http://cyleow.blogspot.com/2011/01/panasonic-lumix-g-vario-7-14-mm-f40.html

2:11 pm - Sunday, January 2, 2011

#11 Jacob

I’m surprised that you did not mention the “grown up” Olympus 7-14 f/4! It’s awfully similar to Panasonic lens, just for the older and bigger version of the system.

Of course, it’s almost exactly twice as big, twice as heavy and twice as expensive, yet, through an adapter, it’s the only lens that offers truly comparable performance to Panasonic’s offering.

2:59 pm - Sunday, January 2, 2011

#12 zebarnabe

Good lens .... completes wide angle range for the lens kit but amazingly expensive ... 9-18mm from Olympus and 8mm fisheye from panasonic are the only rivals (if you can consider them that) of this lens…

However, if you have a four thirds adapter laying around, you have a few more options (but they are not cheaper nor small)...

3:01 pm - Sunday, January 2, 2011

#13 Sayan

Lets go to view the details of Canon 500D http://canoneos-500d.blogspot.com

10:33 am - Monday, January 3, 2011

#14 Mark Power

A very helpful review and I got a lot more information from the real world test images no matter how gloomy ( made me homesick for London, world’s best city!) than I do out of seeing test charts. I’ll have to remember not to use f22! Yes, the price is the only negative and now almost two years after its introduction, the price is slowly dropping, $888 with free shipping at B&H in New York but until some real competition comes along it probably won’t get much cheaper.

2:57 pm - Monday, September 5, 2011

Entry Tags

wide-angle, lens, compact system camera, lumix, micro four thirds, panasonic, wide angle, dmc-gh2, gh2, super wide-angle, super wide angle, Panasonic LUMIX G VARIO 7-14mm F4.0 ASPH, panasonic 7-14mm, 7-14mm

Tracker Pixel for Entry