Pentax K-50 Review

4.5
September 16, 2013 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

7 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 M.

I don’t know what to say… I downloaded one of the library Raw images. While colours are pleasant, the barrel distortion is horrible, as well as the lack of sharpness at the borders (not to mention the corners). Even at the centre, the images are quite soft. And the JPEGs are overprocessed and noisy at 400 ISO. Definitely one to shoot Raw, needs better lenses.

11:03 pm - Monday, September 16, 2013

#2 dan

Never found Pentax noisy but then i never shot raw with mine. Have to completely agree about the lenses, i have never been impressed with their general lens quality.  I always ended up buying Sigmas. Really hoping Ricoh can improve the lens lineup (give me some more Q lenses Ricoh!).

8:54 am - Tuesday, September 17, 2013

#3 Steve

This is effectively a more subdued looking k30, which is an excellent camera and offers great value for the price. If you put a good lens on it the image quality is really stand out. I often use the Tamron 17-50 f2.8 lens on my k30 and am amazed with its performance.

9:46 am - Thursday, September 19, 2013

#4 Best DSLR Camera

detail post I hope K50 willbe my next one

7:43 pm - Thursday, September 19, 2013

#5 Tord S Eriksson

My wife’s K-30 is an amazing update of my K-x, and this is just a step further! Far better than my old K-5, that really didn’t produce the images it should!

10:10 pm - Tuesday, February 4, 2014

#6 Sophocles

I’m going to buy a K-50. Does anyone know if my Pentax-A 35-80mm fits in K-50’s body?

7:46 pm - Tuesday, March 25, 2014

#7 Tord S Eriksson

Pretty sure it will fit, but better ask someone at Pentax!

10:33 am - Wednesday, March 26, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 1080p, 16 megapixel, full hd, DSLR, prosumer, pentax, dustproof, digital SLR, freezeproof, 6fps, Pentax K-50 Review, k-50, k50, k50 review

Tracker Pixel for Entry