Pentax K-5 II Review

4.5
November 19, 2012 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

59 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Low Budget Dave

Pentax has the ability to make a great camera at a great price.  Dollar for dollar, this seems to match up against any of the Canon and Nikon offerings. 

Also, I am guessing this was a pretty easy review to prepare.

8:14 pm - Monday, November 19, 2012

#2 JoePrete

ISO 512,000, WHO DO THEY THINK THEY’RE KIDDING? They take a decent camera and turn it into the biggest joke yet in the industry!

What a stupid thing to do with what looks like a decent camera. Can’t these companies see how stupid this is getting?

... Joe Prete

9:01 pm - Monday, November 19, 2012

#3 Paste

Why does the sample images open at modem speed when opening them individually? plz speed this up because it’s very annoying.

9:23 pm - Monday, November 19, 2012

#4 Jimbo

Thanks for the review, but I felt it was a little lacking in the autofocus areas. I think at most it was called “snappier”. Most of this camera, by your own admission, is exactly like the K-5, so a bit more time spent on the differences, namely the new autofocus, would have been appreciated.

10:50 pm - Monday, November 19, 2012

#5 Vesa V.

Maybe ISO 512000 is a printing error; must be ISO 51200?

11:34 pm - Monday, November 19, 2012

#6 JoePrete

Yes Vessa,
Thank you, I put an extra zero, just like Mark did in the review, in my haste to complain and in disbelief, I made a mistake. It’s ISO range should read 100-25,600 With an extra high at 51,200 BUT the point is still the same.

The noise at 12,800 is probably pushing the limits but to add a 25,600 as a high and an extra high at 51,200 is insane. I feel very sorry for people that believe these claims. The idea of adding a High setting should have been stopped, because that lead to an EXTRA HIGH setting. These settings lose their meaning when they play with the numbers like this.

Like Mark said, the High that NIKON set should have drawn the line. Who is Pentax to start changing the standards. ISO stood for International Standards Organization and it was originally to rate film speed. This is getting out of hand. It needs to be stopped.
... Joe Prete

1:33 am - Tuesday, November 20, 2012

#7 Hans Benndorf

Good review. Seems to be an impressive pro DX camera. I am using a Nikon D300s at the moment but there is no pro DX camera on the horizon from Nikon or Canon (the D300 sensor is 5 years old). The K5II is also a lot smaller than the competition and that may eliminate the need for a quality compact system (for me). More info on the AF system would been useful as somebody pointed out before, especially ‘focus tracking ability’. Cheers, Hans

2:05 am - Tuesday, November 20, 2012

#8 JoePrete

The NIKON D300 sensor may be old, but it still keeps up with the best of them. It’s more the processor that matters, but all of this is really overkill.
... Joe Prete

2:23 am - Tuesday, November 20, 2012

#9 JoePrete

To #3 Paste, maybe it’s stuck! .. Sorry… just kidding!

2:27 am - Tuesday, November 20, 2012

#10 Terry

Just so you know JoePrete, the ISO range is the same as the original K5, so you’re about 2 years late in complaining about that.  Besides, having it there as an option is better than not (since you could just not use it), as long as you don’t really expect it to be anything close to usable.

5:37 am - Tuesday, November 20, 2012

#11 JoePrete

You’re saying that the same ISO settings were there on the original release? I don’t remember reading that, but this camera wouldn’t have even caught my eye if I didn’t see Mark doing a review on it. I think that these settings, giving false expectations to people who may not know better is what gives this industry a very bad reputation, and they shouldn’t get away with it. That is what the standards are for in the first place. They defeat the purpose. It just shouldn’t get passed the I.S.O.
... Joe Prete

5:53 am - Tuesday, November 20, 2012

#12 Zilther

My Canon G10 has an ISO 1600 setting that makes 51200 on the K5 look fantastic.  The quality is horrible, yet I’m grateful it is there because I use that setting all the time.  In B&W mode, in dark bars, at night, the files have a coarse, film-like grain that I prefer very much to not getting the shot at all.

I would be very, very happy if my D3x went above ISO 6400, and also below ISO 50.  More options = more flexibility, more creative opportunities, noise be damned!

7:00 am - Tuesday, November 20, 2012

#13 fng

Pentax should refund my K-7.

7:03 am - Tuesday, November 20, 2012

#14 RegBrown

I agree with Zilther. I want companies to offer ISOs at 50 and lower. It’s not just about the pixel quality; I accept that 200 ISO today is probably as sharp as 100 ISO two years ago. But the ISO is the third part of the exposure triangle and having higher low-end ISOs reduces your flexibility.

I also agree with the gist of the other comments - more info needed on that improved autofocus system. It could be the deal maker.

11:27 am - Tuesday, November 20, 2012

#15 lolwut

@JoePrete:
You’re like the definition of a brandfag.
Totally mad because Pentax is pulling more out the same Sony sensors. And having more options is never a bad thing in my opinion.

Btw, have a look at the ISO Performance of the Fuji X-Pro1 compared to a Nikon Full-Frame-Camera…

11:38 am - Tuesday, November 20, 2012

#16 JoePrete

@lownut,
Sorry for your condition. The Fuji EXR Cameras are great, for Bridge cameras. They just wouldn’t cut it in the real world. I use the D3s and the D700’s daily, my partner Hank uses the D3X and the D4. The D800 that we bought is collecting dust. If you’re happy with this little Pentax, by all means, go ahead and buy it.

I’m sure you’ll get good use out of it. It does seem that the International Standards Organization (ISO) exists in name only, and doesn’t regulate anything. Before we went Global, the (ASA) American Standards Association did police the manufacturers. That may have been before your time. By the way, you do know that I just watch these reviews to get people to start writing in, don’t you. It’s just a bit of a mixer to get things going. This Pentax does seem like a good entry level DSLR, but it will take them time to recover. That’s what RICOH was for. They sell way more office copiers than cameras though. Good luck to you.
Nice job Mark,
... Joe Prete

6:46 pm - Tuesday, November 20, 2012

#17 JoePrete

Digital Photo Magazine didn’t even mention the ISO on this camera!
... Joe Prete

8:51 pm - Tuesday, November 20, 2012

#18 andy clad

Hi all. Ive been a Pentax user for years and own a K5 Mk1. Its a really great camera. I’m very happy with the button layout and metering etc. The screw focus on the lenses can be a bit loud and the auto focus can hunt a bit until the focus assist led comes on. But that’s only in a near dark room.
Only other niggles are sometimes colours can bleed over if the settings are pushed to hard especially blue on red. Generally though Excellent JPEGs and RAWS. 
For me, the K5 Mk2 isn’t enough of an upgrade.
Pentax is a good brand. Its up to the individual. If your in the mix for a new DSLR, the Pentax is a great camera for stills, but not so hot for video, so be aware of that before you part with your money. I predominantly use a Pentax DA 50m F2.4 prime. Even when the sun sets, I’ve only needed to push the ISO to 1600. I own many of the older Pentax A and M lenses. You can pick them up for 20 quid on auction sites and they produce some stunning pics and a great introduction into understanding what to do with a lens. I would advise to treat some of the comments written above as crap.

10:09 pm - Tuesday, November 20, 2012

#19 JoePrete

Andy,
I remember when the Pentax K mount was THE camera for students wether in High School, College or in Photography school. If you wanted to learn the right way, you bought the Pentax. Now they can be bought for pennies on the dollar. Just look at KEH camera Brokers. It just seemed like they couldn’t keep up when cameras became more digital, than optical. If a company needs a lens, there are plenty of third party suppliers, like Panasonic found an excellent lens to make them very competitive. JVC never made the lenses for all those camcorders, but they are excellent lenses & Camcorders.

It does sound like you are putting up with your K5 MK I. You’re not alone, you get use to the camera and then you wont feel the difference until you try something else. Maybe it will wind up being a back up camera. I still have a D300 & D200 that work fine, but they don’t keep up with the newer technology. I will tell you that you shouldn’t have to make excuses for your camera.

Just in your message above, you say it’s a great camera, then a couple of sentences in your listing things that you’re putting up with. With so much competition, maybe it’s time for something new. One thing that’s better than reviews is actually using it first.
Maybe renting it first for a week or two will give you the real information, what matters to you! I try not to buy until the Firmware updates come out. Let them work the bugs out first. The rental fees are not bad. I’ve rented lenses that I only need for a one or two time use. I hope the next one works out well for you. Take a look at dp review also. Good Luck Andy,
... Joe Prete

1:26 am - Wednesday, November 21, 2012

#20 trail camera, outdoor camera

Hi there! The camera is so nice and comes in a highly rate.

4:28 am - Wednesday, November 21, 2012

#21 JoePrete

PEOPLE,
I don’t know if you realize this because I never hear any comments about it, but if you look at the Header for these cameras, you will see “Videos” which will bring you to youtube.com video reviews of each camera. Please, make use of it, you may get a better impression of the camera, if you see it in action. #9 is the video for this one.
...Joe Prete

4:44 am - Wednesday, November 21, 2012

#22 JS

Well done, Pentax!!!

5:16 pm - Wednesday, November 21, 2012

#23 andy clad

Joe, I’m more and happy with my Pentax and certainly NOT putting up with it.
No camera is perfect. Above are the only niggles I’ve found. I’ve had the honor of owning many a Pentax camera and enjoy having an alternative to the others. I’ve also worked out in the field with other brands too. Pentax is the reliable friend I always go back to, along with my lovely Olympus XZ-1.
Maybe you’re not aware that their actually are some people out here in the world who know what they’re doing.

9:21 pm - Wednesday, November 21, 2012

#24 Peter Harris

joe joe joe joe joe iso iso iso

2:16 am - Thursday, November 22, 2012

#25 JoePrete

Andy,
I’m glad you’re happy with it despite your complaints. I use the Nikon D700 & THE D3s on a daily basis. I can’t complain about either one. Especially the D700, it handles just like the D300 that it was modeled after. I do use Nikon’s Wrist Grips on all of them. They make the D700 with the MD10 fit like a glove. I’ve never felt a camera that balanced so well for me. To read your post it sounds like you would have a few things different on the camera. Well, to each, his own! Have a Happy Thanksgiving,
... Joe Prete

3:11 am - Thursday, November 22, 2012

#26 JoePrete

“REST IN PEACE”
Kodak scientist and inventor of the “BAYER RGB FILTER”
Dr BRYCE BAYER has passed away at age 83, one of the Fathers of Digital imaging,  ironic that this comes after Kodak has reached the end of the line, a film company that couldn’t make it in a market that it helped to create. His inventions helped to pave the way for cameras that we use every day. These days 83 seems too young.
Our little disputes don’t seem too important when you look at the bigger picture. ... Joe Prete

3:48 am - Thursday, November 22, 2012

#27 JoePrete

I’ll say one thing for Pentax, they’ve done a nice job on their web site at http://pentaximaging.com/products/elements Their 645 is starting to look like my (film) Mamiya 645PRO but their Digital is a lot more affordable than all the other brands.

At the top, it does say Pentax Camera a Ricoh Company
... Joe Prete

4:27 am - Thursday, November 22, 2012

#28 Alexander Evensen

I’m a bit confused about the video comments in this review. Hard to start? You change to video mode, click the shutter button to start and then to stop. The shutter button also does the AF unless I’m mistaken, just like on my K-5.

Is it hard to switch from Sv to Av for taking pictures? Or from M to Bulb? I don’t see where the hard part is. Is video a magical mode that need to be able to start much faster than just taking a picture?

@JoePrete:
As said earlier, the K-5 also has these ISO settings, and Pentax isn’t lying any more than other brands these days when it comes to max ISO and how useful it is.

The K-5 II/IIs isn’t enough of an upgrade for me as I have the K-5. But I’m considering the K-30 for a second body as it’s weather sealed like the K-5/II/IIs, but has better video and is better for manual focus with live view and focus peaking (will be used with an LCDVF). But I’ll wait for the next announcement from Pentax first as I believe a camera above the K-5 II/IIs is coming with the 24 megapixel Sony sensor that has all these things in one body.

10:40 am - Thursday, November 22, 2012

#29 JoePrete

Alexander,
That’s fine, the other’s who commented on the extra ISO settings “they don’t have to be used if you don’t want to, but it’s better to have them just in case, even if it will show the noise” (Forgive me if it’s not word for word, I couldn’t find it now, but that was the point)

The thing is, Nikon, Canon and Fujifilm settings can all be used for acceptable photographs. Also, to save a photo that there isn’t enough light for, you can also use the under/over exposure adjustment, or set it to a slower shutter speed, or in the case of NIKON, you can use the D-LIGHTING in camera processing function that is done easily on the rear LCD. I’ve come to rely on Nikon, but I’m sure Canon has a similar tool. In the end you can also try to save it with your post processing software.

As far as the function of this camera, the others that wrote in should be able to explain it because they use it and as ANDY said, he has no problems at all with the Pentax Camera. like you said, there is not that much different from this camera and the previous model. I agree with that statement, from what I read.

Also, as I commented before, Mark Goldstein who does these reviews links them to Youtube reviews that he doesn’t do, but he picks out acceptable ones. It’s #9 in the review contents list. Watching the video’s may answer your questions. I hope that helps you Alexander. You can try at dpreview also.

Of all the Photographers that I know, I can’t recall one that shoots Pentax Like the others, they make Optical and Medical equipment as well maybe even Binoculars too.. That’s why they were obtained by RICOH, to save the Photographic division. I hope they succeed. I looked, I have one k mount manual SLR and one Film Zoom “IQ160” I hate to see a company with such a history go under.
Good Luck,
... Joe Prete

11:45 am - Thursday, November 22, 2012

#30 JoePrete

@Alexander,
Like I said, I use NIKON, Fujifilm an Canon G1 X (and the new SX50) I don’t even know anyone to ask about Pentax. They may have like 1% of the Photo market for all I Know. You might try to use a NIKON, CANON or Fuji so you’ll know what their ISO performance can do. I’m not sure why anyone would seek out this brand, unless they already have Lenses. Hopefully after the holiday, one of the other guys will write in again to help you. You should have asked them when they were writing in.
... Joe Prete

12:09 pm - Thursday, November 22, 2012

#31 Alexander Evensen

About the sensitivity: For the K-5, not sure about the K-5 II/IIs, you only have from ISO 100 to 12.800 available until you turn on expanded sensitivity. With it on, the range is from 80 to 51.200.

The highest sensitivities on the K-5/II/IIs is there if you absolutely have to get the shot. And from the max ISO shots I’ve seen on the latest Canon AND Nikon cameras, that’s all those settings are good for there as well.

Here are three images I took now to show how ISO 12,800, 25,600 and 51,200 looks with no post processing except noise reduction and sharpening:
- https://www.dropbox.com/sh/x17y0qahf28lfr2/kdFqD_axCB

I only shoot manual, so EV adjustments is just me adjusting the exposure manually. Pentax does have something like D-Lighting, call Hightlight correction, and you get a minimum of ISO 160 then (double ISO 80 which is the absolute lowest you can get on the various K-5 cameras). But sometimes the only way is higher ISO, then it’s nice to have that, so why not have it? It’s better than nothing.

1:17 pm - Thursday, November 22, 2012

#32 JoePrete

Alexander,
I only see two shots and they’re outdoors of a pond and some trees (outside, even at night, a tripod will work!) I already said one of you made the point that it’s better to have the extra settings. for those just in case times. You can get a noise full image, better than no image at all. (Those are snapshots b/t/w)

(Yes, it is, better to have a gun, and not need it, then to need a gun and not have it) 

Of course I can’t say for the Pentax, I teach Photography as well, but the Public school system is following the Colleges and Private Photography schools, in starting from the beginning. I’m glad because that’s what I would have done if it was my decision. But still, there are kids (Middle school) that can’t even afford a basic Pentax Kmount to learn on, so I end up paying for them myself.

(do you read any of my postings, reviews or comments) Every one knows me, wether they love me or hate me, they all know me. I shoot Professionally and use a pair of D700’S and a D3s,
my partner uses the D3X and the D4. The D800 did not appeal to me at all. The new D600 looks like trouble as well. The D3200 is great for women and kids that just want good images and they want the camera to do all the work for them. 

If Pentax has caught up to the Biggies in the industry, they have done it very quietly. Also, they would have gone Bankrupt if Ricoh hadn’t stepped in. btw Ricoh is much bigger in office copiers than they are cameras, but I hate to see these companies that we’ve known for so long, just go under (ie. KODAK) I’d rather see a merger or a takeover that keeps the name alive (ie Ricoh/Pentax, Polaroied etc.)

I’m not really sure why you had to post again, when I already admitted that it was a good point that one of you made about having he extra setting there in case it’s needed, and if it works good, all the better. I am very happy for you, but all the DSLR’s are Nikon and the Compacts are Canon, Fuji and Panasonic.

I use Nikon, but I can still say that the Canon technology is unbelievable, (ie. G1 X) it is equipment, not a religion. Please sir, in the future, do a little checking around before sending a barrage of posts because you feel that you need to make your point. Just reading the posts above, you could have found out that this was not necessary. I was just doing a little system maintenance today, I was not planning on working. Have a Happy Thanksgiving,
... Joe Prete

6:21 pm - Thursday, November 22, 2012

#33 JoePrete

Alexander,
The third one popped up now. Dude, these are JPEGS taken at late Daytime, Dusk, maybe even the morning. I see the outdoor light on, but this couldn’t be what you saw, when you thought it was to be a Photograph! I hope it isn’t what you saw when you took these shots. I hope your “Creative side” didn’t SEE this. If you had set up the Tripod, you could have taken a longer exposure. You really should have left well enough, alone!

If this is an example of the Pentax, you are in a different world than the rest of us. Don’t put these JPEGs on your site, people will run, not walk away! I hope you’re friends that wrote in have some better examples of what you’re trying to tell me. Sorry, but you may have more problems than your camera. I’m in this 40+ years now. I’ve got to go, okay.  Just end it now!
... Joe Prete

7:28 pm - Thursday, November 22, 2012

#34 DZOR

can you please clarify which camera was reviewed K-5 II or K-5 IIs ( without AA filter)?

9:21 pm - Thursday, November 22, 2012

#35 Doop

That Joe fella eh? What a funny little thing he is!!

11:15 pm - Thursday, November 22, 2012

#36 Alexander Evensen

First off: The images are, like I said “three images I took now to show how ISO 12,800, 25,600 and 51,200 looks with no post processing except noise reduction and sharpening”. So no, they’re not something I took on a photography trip or something like that. It’s not a pond btw., it’s my window wide open.

If you check the EXIF info, you’ll see that the image are from just after mid day (almost 14:00). They’re taken in raw, opened in Adobe Camera Raw (latest version), adjusted white balance, opened further to Photoshop where I did noise reduction with Neat Image, then resized down to the resolution you see there, and sharpened. No contrast adjustment or anything else except what I wrote here.

Why chose this brand? They have fantastic image quality, for APS-C; no other brand beats them. They have fantastic lenses, and unlike others, you can have a full set of prime lenses from wide to moderate tele, and it’s extremely small in size (the small size is the point I’m making here). And they’re very good for the outdoors as even the basic model (the Pentax K-30) is very well sealed.

I’ve used both Canon and Nikon, the biggest models, and yes, the biggest models are faster, have better ISO performance, but they’re pro models that cost many times more, and they’re full frame, so comparing them isn’t really fair. If Pentax comes with a fullframe later on, then you can compare it to the other fullframe cameras. It’s kinda like saying Skoda is a bad brand to choose, cause they don’t make supercars.

1:16 am - Friday, November 23, 2012

#37 Tom

@Joe Prete: You are very confused. Not only about ISO. Give us a break, please.

FYI, the K-5 II leads the DxOMark table for APS-C cameras and beats a number of full-frame models as well. It has one of the best ergonomics available and while the AF isn’t the best for fast sports action it is exceptionally accurate and handles -3EV. Go and find such a package anywhere else.

2:06 am - Friday, November 23, 2012

#38 H. MONETTI

Reading the above review: ISO is good from 80-800, Becomes apparent at 1600 and begins to smear at 3200, very smeared at 6400 I guess that says everything that we need to know. They’ve been doing these review for a long time, I trust them. If anything, I think this review was more forgiving than all of the others. It’s only a beginners camera, anyone can see that. They can paint any number they want on there. It is what it is. IMO, it’s not much of a change from the last model.

5:37 am - Friday, November 23, 2012

#39 H. MONETTI

All these guys arguing over nothing, The word is that Ricoh is just clearing out the stock and they want to start from scratch anyway.
I wouldn’t really invest in these unless you want to stay with it for the long run. If you think it’s that good then get them while they’re here Ricoh’s management made that clear from the start. At least they are being honest about it. Happy Thanksgiving weekend.

8:00 am - Friday, November 23, 2012

#40 Jure

VERY IMPORTANT

It is very important to tell that old Pentax lenses with MF work almost fast as “new” AF-lenses. There is a trick by Pentax (K10, K20 ...) & Samsung (GX10, GX20).

When using MF-lens do not turn camera-switch on MF - leave it on AF. Than press photo trigger, hold it down and turn the focus ring on lenses. At the best focus camera automatically takes a photo. With a little exercise you can take photos as fast as with AF.

I have a few Pentax old but perfect MF-lenses (besides new lenses) & I use them almost every day without problems.

6:14 pm - Friday, November 23, 2012

#41 Zap

Pentax have noise reduction on raw over ISO 1600. Let’s hope the AF is better than the K-5 which sucked in low light

2:01 am - Saturday, November 24, 2012

#42 Mark Taylor

Whoa, JoePrete. If you are going to rag on Pentax for providing an extended ISO setting up to 51,200, then presumably you should rag four times as hard on Nikon for providing boosted ISO settings up to 204,800 equivalent on the D4, a setting which, judging by the samples on this site, produces images far more horrible than anything the Pentax K5 ii is capable of. It only seems fair.

12:33 pm - Sunday, November 25, 2012

#43 Mark Taylor

Whoa, JoePrete. If you are going to rag on Pentax so hard for having an extended ISO setting up to 51,200 then presumbly you should rag on Nikon four times as hard for having boosted ISO settings up to 204,800 on the D4. A setting which, judging by the ‘image quality’ samples on this site, produces results far more horrible than anything the Pentax K-5 ii is capable of. It’s only fair.

12:41 pm - Sunday, November 25, 2012

#44 Clive Sourt

JoePrete “Just end it now!”

Yes please, Joe ... bugger off. Thanks.

11:44 am - Friday, November 30, 2012

#45 David T

Does Joe Prete work for Nikon? If he is so anti Pentax why is he on this site commenting? I have been using Pentax DSLRs since the K100D with excellent results. By the way, I bought my first SLR 44 years ago. I also have photographed low light wedding receptions with my K-5 at 10000 ISO with no flash with very acceptable results. It was based on internal noise reduction settings and Topaz Denoise. I use two Pentax cameras, one with flash and one without. Great results with both.

8:05 pm - Tuesday, December 11, 2012

#46 Alex

Please check position of images in section “Shake Reduction”.

9:08 am - Wednesday, December 12, 2012

#47 H. MONETTI

I took another look at it to see what all the fuss was about. The guys at the shop were glad to let me look at the Demos. They put 5 of them in stock, and opened one each up for demos. The sales so far, to date-0 Not even one. They only showed the Demo 3 times, and all three thought it was from the 80’s Ugly, odd looking old beast.

Trying to be open minded, I checked the ISO. It’s a real JOKE. At 1600 it was turning bad. ISO 3200 maybe, if there’s nothing else to shoot with, colors bleeding into each other, Even for this money, it should have been useable. There, the price I thought they’d take something off the top. They took off $200.00
I said let me try it at 6400, They said we’ll take off $300.00 with no more testing. No, I had to try, what a mess! completely smeared.

Nothing I could ever even put my time into. In clear Daylight, The colors were bleeding into each other, it looked like a kids kindergarten painting class. Very hard to believe it’s this bad.
And we tried both models one I think had the A.A. filter, they were equally bad. Sorry to say, but very, very bad!
The box like look of the body, the cheap plastic, I thought it should do something good. The price, I said, no more. I wasn’t going to get involved in this mess no matter how cheap it is.

There were two models of the same camera, one without the low pass filter, it made no difference. No wonder this is the only model they make, I think they’re going for the mirror-less kind
of camera. maybe they’d do better making those, all lens cameras. With or without the filter I hope Ricoh can salvage something here. It’s sad really, to see a good company fail like this. Hard to imagine, years ago they built them solid, strong, and most of all, precision! Where, oh where did it go? And I saw early models too, they didn’t fix anything!

11:14 am - Thursday, December 13, 2012

#48 Tom

@H.Monetti: You are a picture book troll. The K-5 II(s) has class leading sensor performance. Scoot over to DxOMark and see how the K-5s lead the APS-C ranking. Your attempt to badmouth the best 16MP sensor in existence is just ridiculous.

6:39 am - Friday, December 14, 2012

#49 Jurgen

Some of these comments are absolutely ridiculous. I shoot professionally with Pentax k5’s and the quality is fanatastic. My images are gracing magazines, adverts, boardroom walls and many home walls. It always amazes me to see the arrogance of certain brand users, after all what are we really trying to do? We are after capturing beautiful shots. The Pentax K5 does that incredibly well in often trying conditions. The only complaint here is why it is not spoken of more as a professional or semi pro camera! I have just sold off the last of my Canon gear after seeing that the K5 outperformed my Canon 7D constantly in terms of image quality.

Owners of the Pentax K5 can be proud.
Jurgen

12:25 pm - Wednesday, December 19, 2012

#50 Py

Joe, your a stuck up donkey. You are probably one of those people who tout around thousands of dollars worth of gear and still don’t take good pictures. Pentax is hands down the best bang for your buck. Their cameras preform spectacularly in all condition, and their lenses are pretty good too. Honestly, I don’t ever know what to say to people like you…what a loser.

3:17 am - Wednesday, January 2, 2013

#51 H. MONETTI

Well Py,
I can see that they really mean business judging by how many Full Frame DSLRs they DON’T make!!! And you must be a very serious Photographer yourself with your APS-C camera. How many DSLRs do they make now? 2 or maybe even 3 now. WOW, HOW DO THEY EVER KEEP TRACK OF THEIR INVENTORY??? Oh yeah 1, 2, 3.

Getting bought by Ricoh was the best thing that ever happened to them. I can’t wait to buy a Pentax COPY MACHINE! HA HA HA

Why don’t you go back to your friends at dp you idiot! Py…
Hank

5:04 am - Wednesday, January 2, 2013

#52 Paul Asahi

I Guedes that Mr. Joe pretty and Mr. H. Monetty are the same person.  They’re stupid and and poisoned comments are exactly the same after traced a simple profile of them. He is pissed off because spend a lot of money and now realize that his gear is behind a much less expensive yet better equipment.
I teach photography and work with many diferent cameras, but mine own camera is a PENTAX.  I coult stand here spending time and patience taping on the smartphone the reason why is better than yours (imho), and the long pentax history even before the invention of the pentaprism, but I really don’t give a sh&€t for your opinion. Feel sorrow for you mister.

12:22 pm - Thursday, January 3, 2013

#53 H. MONETTI

Paul Asahi,
Was your family part of the company? Of course you may be too young to remember this, but the company was originally named Asahi Pentax. In fact there are still some cameras that bear that name in my old camera collection!

The only things that bother me about Pentax is that they only make (3) APS-C bodies. They may be fine, but I shoot Full Frame, so they may be of good quality, but the small sensor is of little use to me. Don’t give me a reason to mock their company and I won’t, fair enough?

The other thing is the 645 that they make has the worst warranty and Tech support of any medium format camera company. Even on their site, they don’t show the lenses or their prices, but every where you look is the warnings “NOTICE: This Camera is not returnable under any circumstance unless it is faulty” and it is also posted many times “Where and how to send the 645 in for repair” (They make it seem like it’s not if, but when) It has a good price, and I imagine it takes good images, but those warnings do not make a buyer feel secure. It sounds like “Faulty is expected”.

I hope that they survive the Ricoh buyout, but both companies seem more interested in the higher profit Compact camera business. Most Camera companies do make their real money on compact cameras, so I can’t blame them, but it would be nice to have a Digital 645 that most people can afford. Years ago, most people that studied Photography started with a Pentax K mount.

If my name was ASAHI I would probably have a Pentax too. But you must realize the limitations, especially now that cameras are “Electronics” rather than Optical companies. That opened the door for Sony, Panasonic, Samsung and so many others. I picture Canon and Nikon saying “remember the good old days” Fuji won the battle anyhow!  I imagine you teach in a different language, because your English does need some polishing.

One other thing, can you please refrain from saying that I am someone else. My name is on my drivers license, nobody else, just me. And here in America, we have the right to free speech. 
You don’t need to waste your time following people around to stir up a debate. You say Pentax is the Best. That’s fine with me!
Good Day,
Hank

8:26 pm - Thursday, January 3, 2013

#54 Kornel Lehocz

ISO 80-100 images from this camera look amazingly clean for a crop sensor.

3:57 am - Saturday, January 12, 2013

#55 Florin

I would like to explain to JoePrete why you need a 51200 ISO. When shooting in very low light you can use a ISO 51200 with a lower shutter speed to frame your image. After framing switch ISO to a lower value and raise your shutter speed to take the final image.
Is a free lesson Joe.

9:40 pm - Saturday, January 19, 2013

#56 H. MONETTI

Florin,
Can you set to that ISO on a Full Frame Pentax also?
Let me know about that, ok?
Hank

4:19 am - Sunday, January 20, 2013

#57 H. MONETTI

Hey Florin,
While waiting to hear about the FULL FRAME Pentax, I can’t help but wonder why you guys take two months to respond to a comment!! Joe hasn’t even said anything to you. He hasn’t even been on this page since November. Anything comes up here, he gives it to someone else to respond. A rare event, anyhow. Does it takes that long to sink in, or to think of a response. You guys are strange. Ok here, Pentax cameras are the best cameras in the whole world!!!
OK, are we good now? 
Hank

6:08 am - Sunday, January 20, 2013

#58 Lewis

While the sensitivity of 51,200 iso will produce very noisy photos by normal photographers, the feature could still be useful for surveillance work (ie police, military, gum shoes etc

3:30 am - Thursday, March 14, 2013

#59 Eon

Well what al lot of controversy over a camera, I sold my Nikon d7000, canon 60d, & Canon XSI they are all good cameras.  Got a Pentax K-5 and really like it, It’s true it does have soul…...

7:19 pm - Monday, June 24, 2013

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 1080p, 16 megapixel, full hd, DSLR, prosumer, pentax, dustproof, freezeproof, digital SLR, 7fps, k5 II review, Pentax K-5 II Review, k5 II, k-5 II

Tracker Pixel for Entry