Pentax K-x Review

5.0
October 28, 2009 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

138 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Matt

Wow, an essential rating!
As I may be getting my first DSLR soon, this camera needs serious consideration.
It’s such a pity that Jessops don’t sell Pentax anymore as they are the only camera shop I can get to easily.

6:19 pm - Wednesday, October 28, 2009

#2 bigpeeler

Essential! I actually got a little chill on the back of my neck when I saw that rating. I then went back and re-read the review and ended up shaking my head in agreement. Kudos to Pentax for putting out such a quality instrument.

6:56 pm - Wednesday, October 28, 2009

#3 Greg

The only negative I’ve heard so far is the lack of AF points highlighted on the viewfinder. Is this a hindrance to most?

8:37 pm - Wednesday, October 28, 2009

#4 Palette

Just a big thanks for this and all of the excellent reviews (and news).  THANKS!

11:11 pm - Wednesday, October 28, 2009

#5 Combat Wombat

It looks like Pentax have finally got back to being Pentax, and thank the gods for that! It all went wrong with their first autofocus camera and hasn’t gone right until now.

When you look back at how impressive (and indeed cheap) cameras like the LX, ME Super, 67 and the old warhorse the K1000 were it’s depressing to look at some of their more recent output. Indeed I owned and loved some of those cameras I listed. It’s heartening to see that they can still do it.

Now all they need to do is apply the same attitude to the rest of the range. Especially down at the entry level because Pentax were always great at being able to bring something near to pro-quality to the entry level cameras. In particular the ME Super and K1000.

11:47 pm - Wednesday, October 28, 2009

#6 Milan

Big thanks .All of the excellent reviews .Thanks

12:00 am - Thursday, October 29, 2009

#7 Ella

Thank you, so much for all your hard work and great reviews.))) Got a little question for you guys, I’m debating about my New Years gift))) What would you recomand “Pentax Kx” or “Sony a - 500 ... If you got any information on “Sony” would love to see it ...))) Thank you so much in advance ...

12:22 am - Thursday, October 29, 2009

#8 Ilya

@Combat Wombat  

I digress. K10D was an amazing bang for the buck when it happened.

However this “entry level” camera is something even more amazing. I`m “downgrading” my K10D for it.

12:23 am - Thursday, October 29, 2009

#9 Alain

Wow. The K7 has been getting such mixed reviews, especially in regards to its high-ISO performance. The Kx seems to be the superior camera in this regard. I’m shooting with the K10D now also, but the Kx has me very excited. Honestly, if Pentax stuck the Kx sensor into the K7, I would buy it in an instant. I could care less for the reduced HD video quality… DSLRs exist primarily to take pictures, not movies!

1:27 am - Thursday, October 29, 2009

#10 Yianni

This is arguably the best entry level DSLR on the market right now.

It’s feature packed and has the new Sony sensor which seems to be fantastic at high ISO.

The only issue I’ve seen is a problem with certain rechargeable batteries. A few people seem to have issues which is a little concerning.

I’ve heard reports of some people using the popular Sanyo Eneloops and experience issues with battery life and the camera showing battery low and shutting down even if the batteries have charge. I’m not sure if a firmware upgrade can fix the issue.

Here in Australia the Kx 18-55 kit can be picked up locally for $739 AUD which is £405 at the moment which is a great price.

Go Pentax!

Cheers

4:31 am - Thursday, October 29, 2009

#11 Tony Jenner

All very well and Pentax - justly renowned for its strong clunkers, the old Spotmatic in particular - is to be congratulated. However. Is it strong? Can it survive the rigours of field work? Or is it just another plastic party-goer?

5:53 am - Thursday, October 29, 2009

#12 Tony Jenner

All very interesting and Pentax - justly renowned for its solid clunkers, particularly the Spotmatic and its luvverly lenses- is to be congratulated. And it’s good to see the big boys - Nikon and Canon - cop a bit of a kick around the nether regions. However. Is this new offering from Pentax strong? Can it survive the rigours of field work? Or is it just another plastic party-goer? With digital, seems to me all bets are off when it comes to brand loyalty. Nikon and Canon might be well advised to forget gimmicks and produce a strong box, with an optical viewfinder, a depth-of-field button, some sort of light meter, a shutter button, a metal lens mount to which can be attached a chunk of quality glass and a thin strap. And a written guarantee that the shutter will work - every time. Pretty much like an early Leica, really ...

6:29 am - Thursday, October 29, 2009

#13 vitamines

It seems the KX is available in 100 different colour cobinations, at least in Japan.
AA Lithiums are much lighter than normal AAs and probably lighter than any rechargeable battery pack.
Looks like an interesting addition to the Pentax line-up.

6:47 am - Thursday, October 29, 2009

#14 Tony Jenner

Vitamines: Thanks for that vital info. It’s just what I have always craved - a camera in my choice of colours. Basically, black. Question is: Do I wear it, or use it to take pics?

7:55 am - Thursday, October 29, 2009

#15 qwer

@Tony Jenner

why do colors bother some of you? do you want yours black? okej, you have your choice, i want mine green, is there any reason why i should prefer black too? black is boring.

“Do I wear it, or use it to take pics?”
both, of course! don’t you?

10:56 am - Thursday, October 29, 2009

#16 Tony Jenner

Er, qwer. Have you ever found yourself in the outback of Australia, 45C to 50C in the shade. And a job to do. Taking pictures, archival, shooting RAW. Stone shearing sheds, bleached human bone ... colour of the camera is not an issue. But the camera must work. Under all conditions.

1:02 pm - Thursday, October 29, 2009

#17 qwer

no, i haven’t been there, but if i would, i will be much more happier with a blue camera.

well actually i think you are right, color doesn’t matter, everybody should have the pink one… with the yellow grip :D

1:48 pm - Thursday, October 29, 2009

#18 Maria

Hi,
I am planning to buy myself a new camera (light, entry level DSLR) and I am currently contemplating between Pentax K-x and Canon 500D. Since I am no professional photographer, thought to ask for opinion here on which one to get?

2:47 pm - Thursday, October 29, 2009

#19 Johnny

@Tony,

I am choosing white because I plan to be taking the camera outdoors a lot and white will prevent the camera from heating up too much in the sun.

Also perhaps easier to take candids of people on the street.

4:45 pm - Thursday, October 29, 2009

#20 cori

i would pull the trigger right now if i could find a blue one with the 55-300mm f/4-5.8 ED Lenses included, I only find the black one.

4:58 pm - Thursday, October 29, 2009

#21 Sky_walker

“this little DSLR actually feels quite impressive, ” - not at all. I’ve tested one K-x and if feels like Alpha 330 - cheap, uber-small DSLR - hate that. :/

5:21 pm - Thursday, October 29, 2009

#22 Palette

@ cori.
Blue (and red) are said to be avail “in November”.  The multi-colored limited edition goes on sale (Japan only) Nov. 2.  I wouldn’t expect the blue or the red until after then.  You can sign up for an availability email alert at B&H.

Note that the 18-55 lens comes the same color as the camera body.  The longer lenses do not.

Is the 55-300 lens worth $200?  Is it worth $100 more than the 50-200?  (Thanks.)

5:27 pm - Thursday, October 29, 2009

#23 CloneWarrior

Mark - Your review starts off saying “best quality setting of 1280x720 pixels at 30fps” but then later says 24fps. About this CMOS-sensor camera, the review says, “anti-static coating on the CCD helps repel dust…high speed, vibrating CCD-shift mechanism…a sticky pad at the base of the CCD”.  Also, the review errantly mentions the K-7 in many places:
“works with almost any lens that you attach to the K-7”
“When you turn the K-7 on”
“the K-7 offers a Hyper Program function”
“There are some notable drawbacks to the Pentax K-7’s video mode.”
“The K-7 can be set to Auto Aperture Control”
“Handholding the K-7D and shooting video is very difficult”
Lastly, the product images were shot from much too close and contain massive distortion - should have been further away and used a telephoto lens to take these shots.

6:49 pm - Thursday, October 29, 2009

#24 Alain

Is there really an expectation for an entry-level, sub-$650 camera to do serious field work? I would expect the K7 or K20D to be the preferred model for someone wanting that sort of camera. I think the Kx should be acknowledged for what it is, not for what it is not. I wouldn’t expect a Toyota RAV4 to be a good offroading vehicle, but I would expect the Landcruiser to be. That’s how I view the Kx and K7. Kx = Cheap and capable within reason for its price.

8:35 pm - Thursday, October 29, 2009

#25 Johnny

@Sky_walker  

That’s odd, I find the D5000, XSi, XTi, and A330, A300, A230, etc. to feel like absolute toys with their small thin grips. 

The K-m and K-x feel to me a lot more solid with the grip - I’ve held one with a 70-200/2.8 and it felt a lot better than the other brands with smaller lenses.

10:02 pm - Thursday, October 29, 2009

#26 Linus

Thank you for all your hard work!
Something to mention is that we fans in China did some comparison between K-X and K-M which shows K-M has more close to pentax-like color, and K-X seems neutral (mixed with Canon and Nikon) and seems to overexposed a little with the same ISO/shuttle/aperture and focus.

11:30 pm - Thursday, October 29, 2009

#27 jackmaddy

Just picked up K-X and I am totally blown away.  Granted I am new to SLR’s but was torn between this and the Canon 500D/T1I.  And at the end of the day I went for the underdog and so glad I did.  The Canon felt cheap to me and I did not like the menu system and some of the reviews where mixed, not a bad choice but the k-x just has so much going for it and its bleeding edge as it was only just realeased a couple weeks ago! 

To answer a few questions for folks..

1.  Not having the view finder points is nothing. You can hear the camera beep when in focus and also there is a ton of icons in the viewfinder, one of which shows you when your in focus, its not in the center of the viewfinder, but right at the bottom and glows when focused. 

2. As the the batteries, I have been using the supplied lithium for 3 days now, taken a few hundred pics and many videos..still at 100 percent on the battery guage.  I just now purchased Rayovac Hybid which are as good as if not better than Sanyo Eneloops. However I have yet to charge them up/try them out and hoping they work well.

3. This review suggests there is no autofocus when taking video…this is not the case at all atleast for me, it certaily does autofocus.  The down side there as is the case with any DSLR with video, you pickup the lens movement on the microphone. So your better off just using manual focus anyays if you plan to record sound, but there is an option to mute while recording which is cool too.

4. I got the kit with both the 18-55 and also 50-200mm and have to say they are both very high quality lenses for sure.  The picture quality is fantastic and I am new to SLR’s so yet to explore all the manual settings.

5.  I have read through most ofthe manual and will admit I dont understand most of it..the manual is excellent its just that the SLR terminoligy is new to me.  But thie K-X offers so many features its silly so I will be playing with it for a long time to come.  I do think the auto-photo setting is fantastic though.  Allows anyone to pickup and shoot pics right away.  The ability to autodetect iso and phases is really cool!

Anyways, if you have any doubts whatsoever, I can tell you for the $700 I spent on the k-x with 2 lenses, you cant go wrong.  And this was a big purchase for me too especially these days with the economy being what it is..but I feel it was money very well spent and the camera will not be obsolete in a year.

3:33 am - Friday, October 30, 2009

#28 charu

fan of pentex from k1000 era. feel sad that this camera company is no more powerful as it was. and indian fan do believe that it is due to management’s lack of vision.

pentax has every thing an indian can like but company does not sell their dslr here.

9:05 am - Friday, October 30, 2009

#29 Mario

I bought a DSLR a few weeks ago and was also considering the K-x. The lack of focus-point visualization in the viewfinder, however, put me off. I hardly considered the K-20, as they are quite a good deal now, but finally went for the Nikon D5000, which is lighter and has also very good image quality.
Just my 2c.

11:29 am - Friday, October 30, 2009

#30 Combat Wombat

@Ilya

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t think Pentax’ recent output has been poor. It just hasn’t been what Pentax were been traditionally known for.

They often made cameras which had the necessary features to produce high quality images at a lower price than the competition. It wasn’t that they somehow managed only to select the necessary features and leave off the unnecessary stuff. It wasn’t just the entry level either. The LX was a top quality camera costing less than the competition’s equivalents. When AF came along they seemed to lose their direction.

Funnily enough when you hear the management talk today they suddenly seem to be talking like the Pentax of old.

11:44 am - Saturday, October 31, 2009

#31 Kozuch

There is a fatal flaw in your RAW ISO comparison shots. It seems like you used either the accompanied jpeg thumbnail from raw file or way too big compression for the already from raw converted jpegs, because the samples show notable compression artefacts :(.

6:38 pm - Saturday, October 31, 2009

#32 Peter

Does any one have experience using older Pentax lenses ( A or M or K lenses ) with the K-x or K-7?

9:51 pm - Saturday, October 31, 2009

#33 Andy

@PETER: You can use all Pentax lenses (K, A, M, F, FA, FAJ, DA) and all M42 lens (with M42 adapter).
All works perfectly…

11:19 pm - Saturday, October 31, 2009

#34 Funky Monkey

@Andy

And 645 and 67 lenses with an adaptor.

8:15 pm - Monday, November 2, 2009

#35 Peter

I am interested how the ‘pre A’ lenses behave on the camera.  It is my understanding that the camera lacks the mechanical linkage that would typically open the diaphragm on the lens.  Does that mean the M and K lenses need to use stopped down metering and focusing? or am I not interpreting this correctly?  Thanks.

12:07 am - Tuesday, November 3, 2009

#36 Johnny

You need to use stopped down metering and manual focusing.  You focus and whatnot wide open, and push a button in M mode to get a shutter for the aperture you selected.  You can also trap-AF on these lenses, which is quite nice.

5:47 pm - Tuesday, November 3, 2009

#37 Steven

Reviewer, PLEASE rectify the error in camera model as mentioned by Clone Warrior. It leads one to believe that you weren’t sure which model you were testing. It behooves you to be clear.
Readers, I keep seeing this being compared to SLRs in the 1000 USD range, which is unfair, don’t you agree? Apples to apples should be weighted to price range as well.
My question is, would you choose this over the Panny GF1, and if so, why?
Thanks.

7:14 am - Friday, November 6, 2009

#38 C

Yianni: About the battery issues - couldn’t it be cos they’re using bad batteries, they should have quite high mAh. I think that this choice of batteries makes this camera so attractive (And of course the price) when compared to Canon 500d for an example.

4:55 pm - Saturday, November 7, 2009

#39 Dave

The review complains that you can’t change shutter speed during video recording. Umm…think about that one for a second.

4:52 am - Sunday, November 8, 2009

#40 dsag

@Dave

think about what? it records 24fps, so you have a possible range from 1/6000 to 1/25.

if you cant change it… which is the default fixed speed?

10:04 am - Tuesday, November 10, 2009

#41 a.c

I bought this camera last Sunday…I’ved research , which camera has everything…I’ved checked all Electronic shops here at Illawarra…and I have seen at Warrawong, DSLR on sale ...thier price in Australian dollar 777.00…with 18-55mm lens…. Pentax cameras,I thought it’s made in Japan….a mistake, it’s assembled in Philippines…at first I was worried , might not be good camera….but when I’ved tried taking some photos….I was really satisfied and happy with my Pentax Kx ...got a an excellent shots ( I’m not a Profi but I fell like (LOL) with my photos…sample of my images visit…..http://starlight50.multilpy.com
  Unfurtunately pentax did’nt supply an ac- adopter & video cable in the box….I also bought sandisk extreme 111 memory card ...8gb and get more warranty for 3 years….
    Making video clips is also excellent , very good quality….in Photography so many creative programs…..many things to learn…..but I love learning things…I’m 59 years old ...and I want to make my brain busy… learning the new technology…it’s really interesting
    Now Pentax Kx have 5*****stars
excellent DSLR .....those who purchased this camera have fun ......

4:26 am - Wednesday, November 11, 2009

#42 Aaron

First off have had this Camera for a couple weeks now and its great!

My only issue and question to anyone that can help is regarding recording video at 720p:
I am unable to record the highest level video (3 stars at 16x9) for more than a few seconds and it just stops recording.  I contacted Pentax and their support was pretty clueless, polite but clueless non the less. If I down grade the quality to 2 stars then records does not stop after a few seconds.  I did change back to 3 star quality and 4x3 and that too does not encounter the stop after few seconds of recording bug.  Has anyone one else experienced this issue with highest video recording at 16x9 wide screen mode?  Please please let me know as I think this is a bug and hopefully can be corrected with firmware updated.

2:51 am - Saturday, November 14, 2009

#43 Alain

Aaron:  Though I think it MIGHT be an issue with the camera, I am more inclined to think it is an issue with your memory card. Either has a flaw, or it may not be fast enough to handle the highest video quality. Try the camera out with a different card, or just buy a new class 3 SDHC card, which is the minimum speed you’d want for reliable HD video.  luckily, memory cards are pretty cheap nowadays.

6:39 pm - Saturday, November 14, 2009

#44 Aaron

Thanks for your response…do you even own the camera?  That was my first question was to have someon respond who actually owned it…Yes, I have tried a 2 GB, 4 GB and even 8 GB card all different brands with the same issue.  As metinoed if I set the video to 2 Star quality there is no problem or 4x3 no problem either..its almost as if the camera cant process video at 720p at 16x9, which ironically is the default setting!

2:02 pm - Sunday, November 15, 2009

#45 Howard

Aaron: You need a class 4 SDHC card. class 4 rating means the card can sustain a minimum write speed of 4MB/s. Both my Pentax K-x and Canon TX1 can record HD@720p and they both “choke” on any SD card with a rating lower than class 4. when you record at a lower quality(ie 2 star) there’s less data to write to the card so it doesn’t “choke”.

3:54 pm - Monday, November 16, 2009

#46 Aaron

Thank you Howard. That makes a lot of sense for sure, I dont believe there any specific requirements on class 4 SDHC listed anywhere.  I have several different SDHC cards and non indicate class 4 on them so will assume they are not.  Sounds like a good suggestion and I will have to pick up class 4 to test.  Will be sure to post my results.

2:18 am - Tuesday, November 17, 2009

#47 Aaron

Actually, I was able to tell, I have 2 Class 6 (would think better than class 4) Transcend MicroSDHC 4gb and 8gb cards.  I also have a 4 GB Kingston that appears to be a class 4, which meets or excceed your suggestion.  The only thing I can thing of is that fact they are MICROSD with an adapter, but they should be plenty fast enough.

Henry, what kind of a card are you using as I would be willing to purchase that card if it works.

2:24 am - Tuesday, November 17, 2009

#48 Howard

Aaron: Class 6 should be more than enough. the class rating is identified by a logo that looks like a “C” with the class number in it. but then again where i live we have lots of fake products. so what i do is test the SD card by copying a large file(ie 1GB) to the SD card, time it and calculate the actual write speed. make sure your card reader is fullspeed USB2 connected directly to a fullspeed USB2 port on the PC(don’t use USB hub).

If its a class 6, its 6MB/s write speed minimum, shouldn’t matter if its a microsd form factor.

10:01 am - Tuesday, November 17, 2009

#49 AJ

hi
can any one tell me how low(price) it can go ? i am planning to buy on Christmas

11:58 am - Friday, November 27, 2009

#50 GEOFF

The review here says the Pentax K-X cannot be plugged into a digital TV because it does not have a digital outlet.  Any owners verify that for me?  I guess to show HD vid clips on TV you have to take out the SD card and put it into another player device?

2:12 pm - Sunday, November 29, 2009

#51 Jonathan

Geoff, thats basically right.
The camera can be plugged into TV composite video connection (although cable not provided) but this is not high definition. I have not tried this yet but would prefer to plug in my SD card into our Blueray/DVD player anyway.

1:01 am - Monday, November 30, 2009

#52 Jason

can any one tell me how low(price) it can go ? i am planning to buy on Christmas

11:28 am - Monday, November 30, 2009

#53 Steven

I’m debating between the KX and the G11. A friend has just given up DSLR for the more compact G11, claiming it will? perform just as well as a DSLR (i say slow continuous shooting mode and shutter lag notwithstanding), and that IQ will not suffer, especially in low light situations. Is it all about lenses with DSLRs? can the G11 match the KX with 18-55mm lens? Same DOF, HDR, options….etc etc?
Thanks.

2:56 pm - Monday, November 30, 2009

#54 Jonahtan

Pentax have release firmware V1.01 for the K-x.
Have installed it and it appears to be helping with the battery issue. Will test further and report back.

8:15 pm - Thursday, December 3, 2009

#55 Jonathan

I can confirm the firmware 1.01 seems to make a big difference to my camera. I have just shot over 400 shots and downloaded them on a 2000mA NiMh batteries and they are still going strong. Indicator has now gone orange but still going.

4:49 am - Sunday, December 6, 2009

#56 Jeff

Jonathan - How can you tell what version of firmware the camer is running?

8:38 pm - Sunday, December 6, 2009

#57 Jonathan Wilson

Jeff,

Switch on while holding down the Menu button. Might need to have an empty memory card - not sure.

9:15 pm - Sunday, December 6, 2009

#58 Jackmaddy

Funny thing I am seeing with the 1.01 fimrware, seems like it takes longer for the auto preview on the lcd after taking a picture. Unfortunately does not address my issues with HD video only writing for a few seconds on a class 6 SD card. Also wanted to add, I was in disney and took some fantastic pictures.  Unfortunately, I lost about 300 picturs that got corrupted.  Not sure if the issue was with the 32 GB Generic SD Card I have, or the camera itself.  I just picked up a Sandisk ULTRA 2 16 GB card that writes at 15mbs and I can now do 720p HD VIDEO without any issues, so I suspect the issue was my card (i posted about this problem on this forum)  Anyways, I dont see anything particularly earth shattering with the new firmware..beyond the slower lcd viewing of pictures. Also want to mention, I do believe the battery power management has been improved and less flakey.

2:28 am - Monday, December 7, 2009

#59 Henry

I ordered the camera online, and it arrived after just over a week.  Since I have not used an SLR digital camera before, it took a while to figure it out (have owned Me Super since the 1980s, and a Samsumg Digimax for a few years, and have taken thousands of photos over the years).  The strange thing was that from the start, not all the shots took, but usually only between 1 and 3 out of 4, and often only in one run (either it worked several times, or it did not work at all).  I thought that I may not have used it correctly, and reset it to default settings.  After that, it only took shots in-doors, but not in sunlight—resulting instead in a black screen and image.  I called Pentax, and they told me that I should return the camera right away, which I did.  Not sure whether I should give it another try, though…

5:29 am - Saturday, December 12, 2009

#60 TJ

I bought this camera about 3 weeks ago (partly based on this review), instead of the Nikon 5000 and Canon Rebel Xsi I was also considering. I am EXTREMELY happy with my choice!

Everyone seems to be mentioning problems with battery life. Once I received the camera, I inserted the batteries that came with it. I have been playing with the camera a LOT, trying to figure it out, taking lots of pictures, taking some videos… and now 3 weeks later… i STILL have the same batteries in it.
The only time I seemed to have problems with the battery life was when using Live View. The battery indicator turned red. So I simply turned off the camera and turned it back on again and used the viewfinder instead. The battery indicator returned to showing full.

All that to say, if you are avoiding this camera simply because of the battery life issues that some have noted, I really think you should reconsider. This camera is GREAT. And as I said, its been 3 weeks with the same batteries. Pretty amazing if I don’t say so myself.

5:58 am - Saturday, December 12, 2009

#61 martin smaling

I just received my Kx and i am very dissapointed, because the pictures are not sharp (using te Tamron 18-200mm lens, even when sharpness is set to maximum My Lumix FZ28 and TZ4 produce much sharper and brighter pictures. Can the Tamron lens be the cause of the unsharp pictures ??(unsharp in autofocus mode and manual focus mode)

Another point is battery life. My brand new Duracell NIHH 2650 mah batterys were exhausted within a few minutes, but fortunately the new firmware V1,01 solves the battery problems

Greetings,

Martin from Holland

2:45 pm - Sunday, December 13, 2009

#62 Mark

@martin smaling
Maybe you have a bad Tamron. Their quality control is not exactly good.
Try taking the same shot with your Pentax kit lens and the Tamron. Then compare. If the Tamron looks soft, get it exchanged.
Good luck.

11:11 pm - Monday, December 14, 2009

#63 Martin Smaling

Hi Mark, tnx for your comment. The strange thing is that everything looks bright and very sharp in the optical viewfinder, so perhaps the lens is not the problem after all. I contacted the store and the told me that they got back a lot of DSLR’s of different brands from first buyers who use a good compact camera, due to dissapointing image quality of their entry level DSLR. Very stange I think!

6:49 am - Tuesday, December 15, 2009

#64 jackmaddy

I have the k-x with 18-55, 50-200 and Quantarary 70-300 I picked up on Ebay for $30!  All 3 lenses take fantastic pictures!  Just my 2 cents, I think either you lens, camera or settings are faulty.

1:36 pm - Tuesday, December 15, 2009

#65 DrDom

@martin smaling

I had a 18-200mm Tamron on a Pentax K100D that gave reasonably crisp pictures between 18 and 135mm and then more and more soft to 200mm, it’s normal. A 12 mpix sensor needs even better lenses if you are claiming for the optimal quality.

It’s usefull to know that compact cameras are set by default to give oversharpened picture, and may be you are used to this kind of looking. DSLR’s are set to a lower amount of sharpening to give place for post processing. If it is not your lens, it may be that.

9:27 pm - Tuesday, December 15, 2009

#66 Martin Smaling

Well, i like the sharpness of my FZ28 but low light performance of the KX is a lot better. So now I must decide keeping the Kx or send it back to the dealer…

7:52 pm - Wednesday, December 16, 2009

#67 Jonathan Wilson

Martin,
I have had a few compact / bridge cameras and I find the K-x to gives sharper images provided the photographer has the focus correct and appropriate aperture.
Focus is more important with an DSLR because the camera is capable of providing a narrow depth of field and it is easy to get it wrong. Auto focus often tries to compromise focus where is thinks it should be. I tend to use spot focus quite a bit for this reason.

10:32 pm - Monday, December 21, 2009

#68 Martin Smaling

Hi Jonathan,

I ordered the sigma lens and the kit lens because test on the web show that these lenses provide sharper images as the Tamron lens..
I will try spotmetering

Thanks ,

Martin

6:11 am - Tuesday, December 22, 2009

#69 Eddy

Martin,

The picture straight out of mine Kx are also not that sharp, even with the sharpness set on the maximum in the camera but when I sharpen them in Picasa or in an other foto program they look OK.
I have the Sigma 18-50 mm Macro f 2.8 lens.

4:06 pm - Wednesday, December 23, 2009

#70 Martin Smaling

I just received the Sigma 18-200 lens and pictures look a bit sharper than with the Tamron but still less sharp compared with my compacts (partialy caused by the dept of field). But low light performance is great and allows me to shoot pictures which aren’t possible with my compacts. So it depends on the situation which camera I prefer to use…. By the way, I directly installed the new firmware because the Kx’s batterylife was very short using the old firmware…

Seasons greetings,

Martin

10:09 am - Thursday, December 24, 2009

#71 Eddy

I have also a Fuji F31FD which is praised for its good picture quality by the reviews and I was at the beginning disappointed with the pictures, they were unsharp.However after sharpening in Picasa they look perfect. The Pentax is for me the same story, sharpen the pictures in Picasa and they are just fine.
The overall picture quality of the Pentax is better than my compact specially for the color accuracy and the high ISO performance.

11:09 am - Thursday, December 24, 2009

#72 Ajaya

Guys Great News.. Finally the DPREVIEW’s Review for K-X is out chk out the Final Conclusion:
http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/pentaxkx/page29.asp

As you can see it is “HIGHLY RECOMMENDED” :)
It is the Best DSLRs for 550$ Budget ..

AJ

11:13 am - Thursday, December 24, 2009

#73 Ontario Explorer

Amazon has a good deal on the pentax k-x with 2 lenses.

In case anyone is interested then Pentax K-x 12.4 MP Digital SLR with 2.7-inch LCD and 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 AL and 55-300mm f/4-5.8 ED Lenses (Black) is for 644$

I do not know how to post links here, but using this link will give you the offer (copy/paste in browser url).

http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/detail/-/B002OEBTCS/ref=ord_cart_shr?_encoding=UTF8&m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&v=glance&tag=ontarioyourst-20

The catch is that it says that it will ship in 1 month. On the other hand based on shipping statistics it may be shipped in 10 days or less.

12:34 am - Saturday, January 2, 2010

#74 R4i卡

This is my first dSLR purchase and I am really happy about my choice.
I read several reviews and settled on this fabulous genius camera.

5:33 am - Saturday, January 2, 2010

#75 Niamert

I am considering my first DSLR and thought I was ‘sold’ on a Canon XSi. Until I found the Pentax. I need to do some more research, but it sounds like the K-x might be the winner!

People having trouble with memory cards should know that the *cheap* class 6 cards are vastly outperformed by a name-brand class 4. They are also probably a lot more reliable with your irreplaceable memories. I’ll try to save $10 somewhere else and not skimp on a memory card.

8:54 am - Tuesday, January 5, 2010

#76 Carrie

I just got my Pentax K-X.  I am a beginner SLR camera user, and I really like my camera so far!  The manual is really easy to read and follow (I have NO IDEA what all these settings do!!!)  You can choose to point and shoot as well, if youre like me and need to follow the learning curve.  The only complaint I have is that it takes 4 AA betteries!  I played with my camera for about 2 hours and KILLED a pair of lithium batteries! Don’t even bother with cheap no-name batteries, they won’t even let you take a picture.  I have a charger and rechargeable batteries, but I have resorted to carrying an extra 2 sets so I don’t run out of power.  There is an optional power AC adapter that plugs into the wall, I will be ordering that asap.
Other then that it’s a great first time camera!

1:10 am - Thursday, January 14, 2010

#77 jackmaddy

You may want to update to the latest firmware to help with any battery issues. I used the supplied lithiums for nearly a week and no issues even with the original firmware. I have a couple of sets of the Rayovac Hybrid batteries and they work great!  The external power cord is a waste if you ask me and very expensive.  All this allow you to do is power on if you output video/pics to a tv (no hdmi or hd here) or if you decide to pull pics off the camera/memory card.  I would recommend skipping the power cord and just pulling the sdcard to xfer pics to your camera.

2:11 am - Thursday, January 14, 2010

#78 Steven

Jackmaddy is right, Carrie. I got mine about 3 weeks ago, and the rep had installed the firmware to all K-X models in the shop already. The supplied Energizers are still going strong after all that time, with about 30 minutes of use every day, if I were to average it out. Bar still showing full charge.
Ordered some Sanyo Eneloops online, and suspect battery issues will be non-existent, given how good the stock batteries are lasting.
Enjoy your new toy!

6:30 am - Thursday, January 14, 2010

#79 Martin Smaling

Hi Carry,
                                I have the KX for a few weeks now, and I like the camera evere day more! At first I was a little dissapointed about the less sharp pictures compared with my Lumix FZ28. But handling, low light performance, speed and features are great.
If you install the new firmware V1.01 from the Pentax website, the battery issue is solved and you can shoot hundreds of pictures with 4 AA NIMH 2500mAh batterys, and keep shoting even when the battery indicater is red

Goodluck,

Martin

6:34 am - Thursday, January 14, 2010

#80 Carrie

Thanks!!!  I shall try that!  : D

6:15 pm - Thursday, January 14, 2010

#81 Carrie

Call me CRAZY…I have attempted to install the firmware that you wonderful ppl have told me about, but it WON’T load!  So this is what I’m doing…
1.  Download file, saved to my desktop.
2.  Follow SIMPLE steps on readme file. (I am doing it with the batteries and camera hooked up to my computer)
3.  Follow instructions on truning camera on and hold menu down.  This brings up a folder.  I then copy the kx…firmware into the folder.  It doesn’t do anything.  I try to turn the camera off then on again, this folder just comes up, and it doesn’t load.
Now, I know what you’re thinking, but I’m pretty computer LITERATE!  Any ideas of what the heck I’m doing wrong???

1:49 am - Friday, January 15, 2010

#82 Jonathan Wilson

Carrie,
The camera can’t be plugged into the computer to update flash. Must put file on to root of flash card folders, then disconnect camera from PC and then do power on with menu thing.
The camera being plugged into PC puts it in a different mode altogether.

1:58 am - Friday, January 15, 2010

#83 Carrie

Oh and I do extract the file once in the folder…then the player thing comes up…after that I’m hopeless…

1:59 am - Friday, January 15, 2010

#84 Carrie

Jonathan thanks for the help, but I do not have a card reader, therefore I need the camera connected th the PC to load the file no? 
In the readme file it says nowhere to unplug the camera before turning on the power while holding the menu button…
Do I understand correctly?

2:05 am - Friday, January 15, 2010

#85 Jonathan Wilson

No you can use the PC / Camera to put the file on the card (after extracting the file on your PC first).
But then Power off camera, unplug PC lead, and repower camera holding menu button.

2:13 am - Friday, January 15, 2010

#86 Martin Smaling

Hi Carrie,

If you are not sure and expecting problems: here in Holland you can send the camera to the Pentax servicecentre and then they install the new firmware, free with no costs. Maybe that is possible in your country too??


Martin

6:39 am - Friday, January 15, 2010

#87 Martin Smaling

Carrie,

Do you have a friend with a cardreader? Than it is very simple. Copy the file on an empty formatted SD card. Put the card into the camera. Switch on camera while pressing the menu button at the same time (Camera must be unplugged from your PC!). Installing new firmware starts and will take a few minutes. After that switch off camera and remove the SD card with the new firmware

goodluck!

Martin

6:52 am - Friday, January 15, 2010

#88 Martin Smaling

Carrie,

Just one more remark: be sure to copy the new firmware directly on the SD card(is called in the root)and NOT in one of the folders created on the SD card by the camera!

Goodluck,

Martin

7:15 am - Friday, January 15, 2010

#89 Carrie

THANK YOU
      THANK YOU
            THANK YOU!!!!

I got it!!  I was putting the file in the folder….silly me!!!  : P   Thanks again for all of your advice!!!

6:47 pm - Friday, January 15, 2010

#90 Martin Smaling

Great Carrie! And you are not silly. When I am updating an electronical device here(TV DVD Camera, etc)then sometimes it works, but not always!

Good luck

Martin(The Netherlands)

9:38 am - Saturday, January 16, 2010

#91 Overheat

I just purchased one of these last night - found it at a bargain price of £200 and couldn’t resist.  Really looking forward to getting it and even more so now after reading your comments.  This will be my first DSLR purchase and I’m looking to get an 85mm f1.4 MF lens to go with it - I can’t wait - I will post my results and my thoughts about this camera as soon as I get it!  :)

3:58 pm - Wednesday, January 27, 2010

#92 juan

RE: overheat..£200? where did you find that…sounds like a deal!

6:01 pm - Wednesday, January 27, 2010

#93 Zain

I am realy confused, i have three options for my first dslr but it really boils down to 2. I am getting:
1) Pentax Kx.
2) Olympus E-450.
3) Canon rebel XS. All these cameras are for £290 but the canon is second hand, the Pentax is without warranty for some reason but hasnt been used while the Olympus comes with a 1 year warranty and is brand new. The olympus would seem like the rational choice but i have read so many reviews on the Kx and all of them claim this to be the DSLR everyone should have, should i go for it or should i go for the safer option olympus (just because it has a 1 year warranty). Keeping in mind this would be my first dslr. any help would be appreciated. thank you.

12:17 pm - Saturday, February 13, 2010

#94 Carrie

I have the Pentax K-X and love it!  I too looked at the Canon Rebel x-s and Olympus, but decided to buy the Pentax, I have no regrets so far! It is my first SLR camera as well.  One thing to consider is if it has a lens package with it, does it come with a zoom lens as well as the 18-55mm lens?  Its a definate plus to get the two lenses.  Hope that helps!  The warranty issue is a tough one tho!!  :(

11:06 pm - Saturday, February 13, 2010

#95 Geoff

Choosing an entry level DSLR bcomes a matter of preference in the end - the technology of all the major brands is extensive and good quality - not much between them.  Buying a new camera without a warranty overrides whatever preferences you might have, I believe.  Get the camera with the warranty.  If you get sold on the Kx by reading the excellent reviews it gets, then go buy a new Kx with a warranty!

1:45 am - Sunday, February 14, 2010

#96 Steven

@Zain: What, no warranty? Why not? Can it not be purchased directly from Pentax, then? My take on warranties is that it is perhaps worth the gamble. I think all 3 cameras you mentioned would easily live out the year hassle-free.
I spent HOURS (I really mean months) researching, and had read reviews on all 3 of the cams you mentioned, and many more. In the end, I kept coming back to the K-X.
Thankfully, the analysis paralysis cleared up, and I got my butt into the shop and came away with the K-X, and 2 lens kit.
I couldn’t be happier (it must sound like I write ad copy for a living….but no).
It’s solidly-built, quick, loaded with options. The other 2 felt plasticky in my hands.
Hope that helps.

3:29 am - Sunday, February 14, 2010

#97 Michael

From the second I saw the preview of the K-x back in October I was hooked. The day that it came out I went to B&H to get it. Best decision I have ever made. As a first time DSLR owner I am very happy. I love photography and this camera so much now that I decided to start a Pentax K-x blog to talk about it.

Check it out at http://www.kxuser.com.

I’m trying to post as frequently as possible and since the k-x is geared towards newbies, like myself, it has beginner information.

Anyways, the k-x is a great starter camera.

4:53 am - Wednesday, February 17, 2010

#98 Ludmilla Salonda

Pantex has always been my camera of choice ever since I took photography at uni back when they were just SLRs. Bought my first DSLR some years back, Pentax *istD. For a student the price then did set me back a bit. Great that the prices are much more afforable. Has any one used the *istD model and the Kx? Check out come on my picasaweb album

cheers

8:25 am - Friday, April 2, 2010

#99 Peter Nurse

I am unable to use lenses from a Pentax ME. I fit the lens to the camera. The next stage is to set the focal length but this line of the menu is greyed out. Has anyone else experienced this?

7:44 pm - Friday, April 2, 2010

#100 Jonathan

Hi Peter. Have you set the option in Menus “Enable use of Aperture ring”?
There are some very good pointers on shooting older lenses on Beginners forum at PentaxForums (http://www.pentaxforums.com)

11:54 pm - Friday, April 9, 2010

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 12 megapixel, beginner, 2.7 inch LCD, DSLR, prosumer, pentax, 4.7fps, k-x, Pentax K-x Review, kx

Tracker Pixel for Entry