Pentax K-x Review

5.0
October 28, 2009 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

138 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#101 Peter Nurse

Thank you Jonathan, that was just the hint we needed. It’s my son’s Kx camera and he is delighted to continue to use the lenses from his college days. We have also followed your tip about Pentaxforums

2:18 pm - Monday, April 12, 2010

#102 Peter Nurse

Following advice on this forum, my son can now use K mount lenses on his Kx. We have now realised that all three K mount lenses are operating at full aperture, no matter what aperture is set at the lens ring. I can see that the iris is closing but this has no effect on the picture taken. It is as though the camera is taking the picture before the iris has time to close. The kit lens supplied works properly. Have we set something wrongly?

1:35 am - Sunday, April 18, 2010

#103 Paul

I had the K-7 3 weeks, and I really can’t get a good JPG out of it, the noise is horrible and I’ve tried fiddling with the 3 sharp variables. Eeek. Now I’m wishing I’d gone for something else. I choose the K-7 for its beautiful feel, build and modest size I really expected quality output as standard, without a struggle. Maybe the K-X would be better, but I wanted a rugged construction. I didn’t like the build of the Nikon 5000, but it seems to perform. I now even prefer just taking out my lovely GX100 Ricoh which really can generate lovely images. Disappointed?? Just a bit.

10:38 pm - Sunday, April 25, 2010

#104 Jonathan Wilson

Peter,
What series of K Mount lenses (ie. A, M, or just K)? I have successfully used old K mount lenses but unless they are “A” series (or later) then need to “Stop down meter” with the green button.

Paul,
Have you posted on “www.pentaxforums.com” yet? There is a lot of good help available there. I have heard that the K7 ISO performance is not as good as the K-x, however there are a lot people who are saying that overall it is a better camera for someone into more advanced photography. It all depends on the persons requirements.
Also I came from an SLR (old Canon AE-1 Program) and found a surprising learning curve going to a DSLR (still learning!). Apparently this is the case for any DSLR.

11:06 pm - Sunday, April 25, 2010

#105 Peter Nurse

We are using K series lenses without an A setting on the aperture ring.  Fortunately a friend directed me to pentaximaging.com - support - self support. There is a detailed explanation (with two errors!)of how to set up the green button for stop down metering.

11:48 pm - Friday, April 30, 2010

#106 Paul

Now, my main man Richard kindly demonstrated my 2 lens’ (the Pentax WR 18-55 and Sigma 10-20) were both NOT accurately performing with my out the box K-7. Setting up the camera on a tripod and shooting close ups of a newspaper the images were not as sharp as you’d expect. So, using the liveview function you can set actually calibrate your own lens to the camera body, the K-7 up to automatically recognise up to 20 lens. Now, its a LOT BETTER.

5:33 pm - Saturday, May 1, 2010

#107 Nancy

I’m so thankful for this discussion!  I bought my K-x because I too was comparing the Rebel, Olympus, and Pentax.  By following several discussions on the web and checking review sites, I decided the K-x was the best choice.  I am a retired, former pro, and cannot and will no longer travel with anything heavy.  This camera will be perfect for an upcoming trip.

AND…thanks so much for ALSO helping me update the software from 1.0 to 1.1.  I didn’t know about the problems some people reported were happening, let alone know I could fix them.  I also didn’t realise that the update automatically gets loaded into the folder on the card, and I had tried updating 3 times without success, until I came back here and read more about it.  Then I simply moved the update out of the folder and it all went like a dream!

THANK YOU! THANK YOU! THANK YOU!  From me too!

3:36 am - Tuesday, May 4, 2010

#108 Nancy

Does anyone know what class HC card is the fastest one which is worth getting for the Pentax k-x?

I’m looking at SanDisk ONLY.

Ultra or Extreme’s 8 - 16 - 32GB.

I want room, and a card that is fast enough for video, but not too fast for this camera’s capabilities.

3:59 am - Tuesday, May 4, 2010

#109 Peter Nurse

I don’t think a card can ever be too fast. The card provided with Clifton Cameras’ package is a class 6.

11:30 pm - Wednesday, May 19, 2010

#110 matt a

best features of this “entry level” camera…it has all the right overides for custom shooting, great burst rate, adequate dynamic range and most of all, can take all KAF and K lenses going back to the 70s as the af motor is body based, unlike canon and lower end nikons which are lens based.

1:11 am - Monday, May 24, 2010

#111 matt a

I would have to go to nikon d90 to use my nikon af-d, af and manual lenses;  the d3000 and d5000 can only take the dx lenses as the af motor is in the lens, not the body.

think I’ll stick with my f4, n8008s and my canon point/shoot digital for now.

1:18 am - Monday, May 24, 2010

#112 Nancy

I knew the camera was slow when using ‘live view’, but wonder if anyone has a suggestion for how to get it to operate faster?

Just thought I’d ask.

1:21 am - Monday, May 24, 2010

#113 Mike

Thank you for all your great reviews, always informative, honest & a pleasure to read. Based on your review I have just bought the Pentax K-x twin lens kit & couldn’t be happier. I was knocked out by the quality of the camera/lenses & the range of features it offers in it’s price bracket. Now all I have to do is learn how to use it!!

2:16 pm - Saturday, June 26, 2010

#114 matt a

I’ve been “reading-up” on the k-x pentax and very impressed with it’s capabilities;  I’m an “old nikon” film system guy(fa, n8008s, etc), own an older canon p&s with overides compact digital, now considering an slr digital;  all my nikon lenses would be compable with the d90 and up models;  but, also the pentax fa, etc. lenses are compatible with the k-x.
any opinions, please.
thanks,
matt a

6:53 pm - Saturday, June 26, 2010

#115 Jonathan

Hi Matt,

The D90 by all accounts is a very good camera. I would think that if you already have some nice Nikon lenses and have the budget for the D90 then this would a great path to go down (don’t think you could go wrong). While the K-x gives the D90 a run for it money in ISO performance its still not in the same class as the D90 in many other regards.

If you don’t have Nikon lenses and a limited budget or just want something fairly small and light, then the K-x is hard to beat.

12:12 am - Sunday, June 27, 2010

#116 matt a

thanks, Jonathan;  and the d90 is nearly as good as the 300 and a cut above the entry-level pentax k-x; had in mind to continue with film as an alternative or a back-up to a dslr;  guess I’ll save up some more coins and go for the d90; my af 17-35, 28-105, 70-210,a 50 1.4 manual nikkor and a 100-300 manual focus tokina would work well, even extend the focal lenght due to the crop factor of 1.5.
thanks again,
matt

7:51 pm - Sunday, June 27, 2010

#117 Martin Smaling

Autofocus in liveview mode.
Many people have complaints about the very slow autofocus in the liveview mode. But if you select option 3(phase)in the menu, the autofocus works very fast. (mirror pops up, focus is set and mirror returns) and gives a picture on the LCD screen. Works very fast and accurate and liveview is usable now.

7:46 am - Monday, June 28, 2010

#118 Vonnarat Tangkaravakoon

I have both G11 and Kx, my first Pentax.  Kx is so much better to think both are same class.

11:56 am - Friday, July 2, 2010

#119 Elvis

Yesterday i got my first DSLR and i love it. The only thing which i am worried are many yellow dots on the LCD when i change from live view to the watching the taken photos mode. The same happens when i go back to the LV. These yellow dots are only for one second especially in low light. Also some blinking yellow dots are noticeable when the cover of the lens is on and the live view is turned on at the same time.

do you also experienced the same thing with your K-X?
thanks for reply

10:30 am - Tuesday, October 5, 2010

#120 Tony Pothecary

I bought a Pentax K-x, a couple of months ago, and all i can say is I am absulutely delighted with it, I love the flexibility ,and also the digital filers are really excellent, everyone I have showed photogrphs taken with this camera have commented on the quality of the pictures.
Nice one Pentax !!!

7:43 am - Saturday, October 30, 2010

#121 Noel

I’ve been using the K-x for almost a year now and I’m really glad I bought it. It works well with my old Tokina 28-200mm lens.  The image quality is great. The features are outstanding for the price. I was able to use it right away without reading the manual—talk about ease of use! ISO 3200 and up show obvious “grainy” look.

9:31 am - Wednesday, November 24, 2010

#122 ROB DEKKER

Ijust ditched my Canon 1000d and 450d for a Kx.

OMG…..the Pentax kicks the canons all over the town and back again for quality, specifications, fun…..Canon’s 18-55 kit lens is garbage…..

Check out website, called SNAPSORT…which compares quality….it even kicks the 550d for image quality, colour depth and dynamic range.

Also latest tests of image sensors show pentax up on top with Nikons and Canons top offerings.

Thanks for your reviews which are as always in depth and well written.

3:43 am - Saturday, December 11, 2010

#123 Lynx

How will this camera do with a 18-200mm lens on it?

1:33 am - Monday, January 24, 2011

#124 Jimmy

Looking at this to take product pictures, of clothes and shoes etc. I have a couple of hot lights, and I wondering if any body knows the quality of the white balance (bit of a novice so please ignore my ignorance). I need a camera that takes true colour good quality pics (I know a lot has to do with the bloke behind the lens)
Cheers Jimmy

10:27 am - Tuesday, February 15, 2011

#125 Bee Jay

I’m looking to buy this camera as my first DSLR as its spec and reviews seem great. I just wondered, what is the in-camera’s RAW to JPEG conversion like & is it worth using?

Cheers

11:30 am - Friday, February 25, 2011

#126 Bee Jay

I’ve just picked up a KX twin lens kit for under £400. The size of compacts, zoom range of bridges & the mix of size and quality of CSC were all concidered. In the end I went for image qulaity over focal range. I may not have the 800mm that some bridges now have, but I thought I’d go for higher qulaity over the focal range that is used most often. I’ve never owned a DSLR before so have found the functionality rather a step up from my compacts. I got the KX 5 days ago & here are my first thoughts.

Negative Points:

Autofocus via liveview takes several seconds which is usuless for moving objects.

After fitting it with 4 higher grade rechargable batteries the power button flashed red after 150 photos + 300 minutes playback. I recharged the batteries and found that it only took half the time it should have taken to recharge empty batteries, so maybe they would have gone on working a long time after displaying the empty alert.

Plus Points:

Ease of use. I only had a couple of hours to read, skim, through the manual before a whole day of shooting. I took over 120 photos, 90% correctly exposed, the other 10% was my fault. Focusing via the viewfinder is great, I shot loads of moving vehicles with the standard focusing system and all were pin-sharp. Yesterday I used my 50-200mm extra lens to take some portraits & shots of the rough sea. The light wasn’t great & I had to shoot at 800-1600ISO to keep high shutter speeds due to strong winds. The pictures were all sharp, well exposed & you could even read registration plates at over 200yards away through the seaspray.

Build quality & value for money. Looking at SLRs between & 400-500, the KX & KR are right up there. Compared to rivals they feel like quality cameras, rather than the best you could afford. Canon’s 1000D & 1100D look & feel rather basic, Nikon’s entry level options feel slightly over priced compared to rivals & Sony’s A390 looks to have a slightly lower quality of image to the others. It seems to me that buying the latest SLR is no longer so important as it used to be, waiting 6-12 months & buying a mid-range camera looks to be better than buying a new entry-level option for the same price. 

If you havn’t got lenses for other makes, Pentax are once again a credible choice. As a lover of photography in all its ways, it’s good to see Pentax back at their best & I feel proud to wear a name with such a long photographical history.

10:30 am - Wednesday, May 4, 2011

#127 Jonathan

Hi Bee Jay,

Regarding battery life -  Sanyo Eneloop (ready to use rechargeables) and definitely the way to go.

I understand they hold their voltage better as they discharge and everyone I know who has used them have reported much improved results.

I have yet to run mine out on days shooting, in fact have two sets which I swap when I need to (rather than charging them after every use).

11:20 am - Wednesday, May 4, 2011

#128 Bee Jay

Hi Jonathan,

Thanks for the advice. I’ve just checked out the Eneloops and they look like the way to go. I’m searching for a spare set of rechargables so I’ll give them a try.

Now I know that the KX shows the empty battery icon, seemingly premature, I’m going to carry on using them until the camera shuts down, as I always carry a set of lithiums just in case.

10:17 am - Thursday, May 5, 2011

#129 nala

I have just purchased a k-x, knowing it is obsolescent but swayed by the highly impressive reviews and very cheap price (Aus $600)including Sigma 18-200 lens. I also bought Sigma 50mm f/1.4, pentax 35mm f/2.4 and Tamron 70-300mm lenses but I have yet to try the last 2. Second day, disaster! I dropped it with Sigma 50 onto a concrete floor. To my amazement, apart from a few scratches, there was no significant damage! Has been taking great photos in all conditions esp with the sigma 50.I also have a Nikon D7000 and a D60. This is a much better camera than the D60 and runs the D7000,which is twice the price, very close. I just wish you could buy an adapter to use the Nikkor lenses on the Pentax.
This camera is a very sturdy and great value buy.

10:25 am - Tuesday, June 14, 2011

#130 vk

can anyone suggest the quality of photos of kx with sigma 18-200

10:43 am - Wednesday, June 15, 2011

#131 JCCREEL

I have had the x since november and is my primary camera second to my I-phone. First i got the camera in red which is always a conversation starter with other photographers i encounter wether it be at weddings or ball games and even my sisters gym meets. Second the controls are as easy to understand as any point and shoot out there to the point where i can hand it over to anyone, tell them how to change the lenses and they’re off. Third, the price is low enough where you can either spend big on your first second lens in addition to the standard 33x100mm that came with it or you can get one of the hundreds of k mount lenses out there to suit your photography needs weather it be macro wide angle telephoto action or whatever you thinnk you will need i promise there is a lens for you. I love this camera and i promise that you will too if you chose to purchase this one.

6:28 am - Wednesday, July 13, 2011

#132 Jo

What does DSLR mean?/

12:43 am - Sunday, August 14, 2011

#133 Bee Jay

DSLR stands for digital single-lens reflex. Film cameras were just SLRs. DSLRs use a mirror to reflect the image infront of the camera into the viewfinder so that we can see what we are composing. When you press the shutter release button, the mirror flips up out of the way and the image that was being reflected into the viewfinder is now let through onto the camera’s sensor. That is how you capture the image.

10:22 am - Saturday, August 20, 2011

#134 Mary

Thanks for the review!  Is there a good beginners guide for Pentax K-x 12 4 MP Digital SLR users?  Not just an easy to read instructional manual, but also something that contains general “how to” tips for better photography?

8:46 pm - Wednesday, December 7, 2011

#135 sam

I was intereted to hear reviews about the pentax Kx with 18-200 mm lens.Has anyone used it.
Is it good for school functions & in low light?
How is the image stabilisation?
Are the images sharp with this lens?
Thank you

1:40 am - Monday, December 12, 2011

#136 Mike S

I have owned the K-x twin lense package for over a year now & can confirm what a fantastic camera it is. Although it has a sophisticated menu system it is a simple & intuative camera to use. Battery life is incredible. The resultant pictures are stunning requiring little or no post editing at all. I have four other cameras, one a Leica, & I have not used any of them since buying & using the K-x.

8:31 pm - Thursday, January 5, 2012

#137 Mike S

SAM. To partly answer your question. I have the twin lense package - 18-55mm & 55-300mm lenses. Both these lenses produce sharp images, the 18-55mm perfoms well in low light but I have not used the 55-300mm in a low light situation.

8:37 pm - Thursday, January 5, 2012

#138 Simon

Hi guys, I am tempted by this camera in one hand but in the other hand i’m tempted by the Samsung NX11.

I am a complete photography noob, but I want to start off with the best camera I can afford, which just happens to be a shoot out between the two.

The pentax, although a great camera, lacks some of the more modern features of the Samsung as well as a lower MP count (I know it’s not all about the MP, but still) and the Samsung lacks some of the quality of the Pentax. In your professional opinions, which would you say is the better all round camera, also taking in to acount the Samsung being more modern, if that even makes a difference.

Thanks for any advice in advance.

12:24 am - Saturday, March 17, 2012

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 12 megapixel, beginner, 2.7 inch LCD, DSLR, prosumer, pentax, 4.7fps, kx, k-x, Pentax K-x Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry