Pentax MX-1 Review

4.0
February 18, 2013 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

10 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Sara

Funny how it looks so similar to a Leica.

8:42 pm - Monday, February 18, 2013

#2 Jay

In sensor size, lens F-stop, layout it looks like a Ricoh, oh wait Ricoh bought Pentax.


This is an extension of an already existing Ricoh line of small advanced Ricoh cameras—now with the Pentax name.

1:13 pm - Tuesday, February 19, 2013

#3 Alvin

I am a long time Pentax supporter starting from the ist to the k-x to the k-30. When I first saw this, I thought great, I can dump my xz-1 and carry just one flash on holiday and use it between my dslr and my advance compact. But sadly, no. There is no hotshoe for this, so no flashgun, no evf. Also while there is the wired remote option for the k-30 and xz-1, it is only ir for this?

2:07 pm - Tuesday, February 19, 2013

#4 Steve

I’m really interested in this camera, and almost certainly Pentax will come out with a firmware update to address the slow RAW processing(at least I hope).

That said, the lack of a hotshoe for flash is a serious flaw in thinking and may be enough to keep me from getting this.  I already don’t expect this class of camera to sport an EVF, as much as I’d like one, but the lack of a hotshoe is almost unforgivable.

But, am I willing to forgive this time?  Time will tell…..

8:23 pm - Wednesday, February 20, 2013

#5 Raoul

The RAW images presented in this review have a depth of 12 bits.

Steve, what’s a “the slow RAW processing” ?

3:13 pm - Thursday, February 21, 2013

#6 Steve

@Raoul - The review seemed to indicate that the wait time between shots taken in RAW was a little longer than he would have liked to have seen.  I remember that the Nikon P7000 suffered from this, and they fixed it with a firmware update so that the wait between shots sped up.  If there is a problem here in terms of wait time between shots taken in RAW(and I’m not sure whether there really is), then I assume Pentax will address that in a firmware update to speed things up.

6:14 pm - Friday, February 22, 2013

#7 Alvin

Steve, the camera will not sport a EVF (like the Olympus XZ-1/2) but a add on will be good. Sadly Pentax does not seem to be interested in even an add-on EVF, it is also not an option for the K-01 or the Q.

11:42 am - Tuesday, February 26, 2013

#8 El Gordo

Is this a Pre Sample? Or is this a Final Camera? If yes, then is the Image Quality realy terrible for this Price Class and the Promisses of Pentax. I hope, that you will have the Fujifilm X20 soon for a Review, so that i can compare it.

2:18 pm - Monday, March 25, 2013

#9 Kenneth Cheung

The auto lens cap will be a nice match with MX-1.

6:01 pm - Tuesday, April 30, 2013

#10 scarlett

Pentax Digital Camera Battery Charger
http://www.2deals.net/Battery-Charger/Pentax.html

2:09 am - Wednesday, September 4, 2013

Entry Tags

hd video, compact, review, photos, samples, images, 12 megapixel, test, video, movie, 1920x1080, compact camera, 1080i, 4x zoom, pentax, retro, f1.8, premium, 4x, advanced, pentax mx-1, Pentax MX-1, mx 1, mx-1, mx1

Tracker Pixel for Entry