Pentax MX-1 Review

February 18, 2013 | Mark Goldstein | |

Your Comments

11 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Sara

Funny how it looks so similar to a Leica.

8:42 pm - Monday, February 18, 2013

#2 Jay

In sensor size, lens F-stop, layout it looks like a Ricoh, oh wait Ricoh bought Pentax.


This is an extension of an already existing Ricoh line of small advanced Ricoh cameras—now with the Pentax name.

1:13 pm - Tuesday, February 19, 2013

#3 Alvin

I am a long time Pentax supporter starting from the ist to the k-x to the k-30. When I first saw this, I thought great, I can dump my xz-1 and carry just one flash on holiday and use it between my dslr and my advance compact. But sadly, no. There is no hotshoe for this, so no flashgun, no evf. Also while there is the wired remote option for the k-30 and xz-1, it is only ir for this?

2:07 pm - Tuesday, February 19, 2013

#4 Steve

I’m really interested in this camera, and almost certainly Pentax will come out with a firmware update to address the slow RAW processing(at least I hope).

That said, the lack of a hotshoe for flash is a serious flaw in thinking and may be enough to keep me from getting this.  I already don’t expect this class of camera to sport an EVF, as much as I’d like one, but the lack of a hotshoe is almost unforgivable.

But, am I willing to forgive this time?  Time will tell…..

8:23 pm - Wednesday, February 20, 2013

#5 Raoul

The RAW images presented in this review have a depth of 12 bits.

Steve, what’s a “the slow RAW processing” ?

3:13 pm - Thursday, February 21, 2013

#6 Steve

@Raoul - The review seemed to indicate that the wait time between shots taken in RAW was a little longer than he would have liked to have seen.  I remember that the Nikon P7000 suffered from this, and they fixed it with a firmware update so that the wait between shots sped up.  If there is a problem here in terms of wait time between shots taken in RAW(and I’m not sure whether there really is), then I assume Pentax will address that in a firmware update to speed things up.

6:14 pm - Friday, February 22, 2013

#7 Alvin

Steve, the camera will not sport a EVF (like the Olympus XZ-1/2) but a add on will be good. Sadly Pentax does not seem to be interested in even an add-on EVF, it is also not an option for the K-01 or the Q.

11:42 am - Tuesday, February 26, 2013

#8 El Gordo

Is this a Pre Sample? Or is this a Final Camera? If yes, then is the Image Quality realy terrible for this Price Class and the Promisses of Pentax. I hope, that you will have the Fujifilm X20 soon for a Review, so that i can compare it.

2:18 pm - Monday, March 25, 2013

#9 Kenneth Cheung

The auto lens cap will be a nice match with MX-1.

6:01 pm - Tuesday, April 30, 2013

#10 scarlett

Pentax Digital Camera Battery Charger
http://www.2deals.net/Battery-Charger/Pentax.html

2:09 am - Wednesday, September 4, 2013

#11 Wayne

I am tardy to the party, but….Here is my impression:

I like the camera, and will keep it. However, some problems hit you in the face right away.

1. If you are going to go with a lens cap, just go ahead and make the lens extension function manual. It is aggravating, listening to the lens repeatedly bump the lens cap when you forget to take it off. Since you already have to move the lens cap, it would be no big deal to manually extend the lens. Use the money saved to add a hot shoe.

2. No hot shoe? it seems absurd with a camera this size.

3. It is big. This is mostly due to the fact that the tilt screen extends from the body- even while folded in. The screen is implemented in such a manner that it appears it was decided to add it after the camera was already designed.

4. This camera could really use one of those multi-function rings around the lens.

All the above aside, and given that history proves we are doomed to deal with new cameras that do not include so many obviously warranted features, I love the camera. The features that are included work well, and the image quality is all, and more, than can be reasonably expected from a somewhat compact camera.

12:41 am - Saturday, April 11, 2015

Entry Tags

hd video, review, compact, photos, samples, images, test, 12 megapixel, movie, video, compact camera, 1920x1080, 1080i, 4x zoom, pentax, f1.8, retro, 4x, premium, advanced, mx 1, mx-1, mx1, pentax mx-1, Pentax MX-1

Tracker Pixel for Entry