Pentax Optio W80 Review

4.0
September 21, 2009 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

24 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Glenn Fernandes

I am impressed by the design and features of Pentax Optio W80. Its great that it is a water and shock-proof camera. The design is amazing. Features are all very nice. People can enjoy recording HD quality movies at at 1280x720 pixels.

6:20 am - Tuesday, September 22, 2009

#2 Gina

All the features of the W80 have made this a great camera for our family. We use it all of the time and being the family photographer, I’m pretty much the only one who digs into all the fun features, like the filters, 1cm macro, design, etc.  Wish it had an optical viewfinder to save on the batterylife. No way does it replace our other higher-end (non-waterproof) camera and slr. But the W80 exceeds our needs when we want a worry-free camera.

3:08 am - Sunday, October 4, 2009

#3 Penelope

This looks like a better choice for me. I have an old Kodak digital cam that is a disaster to use (not simple, not many great feaures) and I’m looking for something a little sleeker, that stores more, and can stand an accident or two. Thanks for the review!

9:38 pm - Tuesday, October 6, 2009

#4 Denno

It is pretty easy to use. However the image quality I believe for a 12mpixel camera is very poor. Using the camera at night in auto with auto flash produces very grainy yellow shots in most cases. You have to force the flash On and use green mode to get bright clear shots. I had an Optio 5550 non water proof camera that was only 5 mpixels? that I dropped and replaced it with the W80 and in comparison the 5550 shots were clear non grainy. Look at something else if you need nice clear shots

12:19 am - Monday, November 9, 2009

#5 Bluemoon319

Excellent review! Thanks

3:44 am - Tuesday, November 24, 2009

#6 bridget

Has anyone had problems with scratching on the glass lens cover - - I am surprised that it doesn’t have any sort of a cover over the top ????

3:11 am - Sunday, December 27, 2009

#7 TERRY

I can’t adjust to get clear pictures, verty grainy can someone help

6:53 pm - Wednesday, December 30, 2009

#8 Renee

Great review! Thank you… But… I also have a problem, when taking a video, the sun light makes a big white line… I know we should not be aming directly towards the sun but we are going down south where the sun will be very present (hopefuly!) Which option should I work with??? Thank you for your help…:)

9:46 pm - Sunday, January 10, 2010

#9 Kevin

Image quality was very disappointing, especially in macro mode.  Camera lasted one day snorkelling, then opened the battery compartment accidentally underwater (the catch is way too easy to unlock) thereby ruining the camera. Some of the underwater pics retrieved from the SD card were quite good; however, the battery compartment cover is a serious weakness for underwater use, and image quality is not good enough for general use.

3:30 pm - Friday, February 5, 2010

#10 Chicago John

All three reviews are excellent and quite helpful—Pentax, Canon and Olympus.  Thank you.

My comment concerns the conclusion that the Optio W80 is significantly noiser. I note that of the sample images for the Canon D10, 80% of them are ISO 80 and only 11% are over ISO 200. Twice as many Pentax examples are at high ISO. 

To my eye, looking at apples-to-apples 100% crops, I’d say that the Canon is a bit better than the Pentax with respect to noise, but only a bit.  Both are, in my view, superior to the Olympus Tough 8000 in that regard.

For the intended purpose, to be used where a DSLR cannot go, I like the Optio W80 best and bought one after carefully analyzing your data.  As many others have pointed out, it offers a much better feature set. The noise factor, present in all three to some extent, won’t matter for my use in internet postings, e-mails, and digital picture frames.

12:23 pm - Tuesday, March 16, 2010

#11 Lisa

This camera is awful.  I bought it because my last camera was stolen and so I just wanted an inexpensive point and shoot that was waterproof.  I read a lot of reviews and this one seemed to be the best in my price range.  I was extremely excited to get this camera and as soon as I had everything charged and ready I was extremely disappointed.  Every picture is grainy.  It’s the worst image quality I have ever seen.

I hope that I am able to return this product because I’m extremely upset about the money that has been lost.  Tomorrow I’m going to go buy the fuji z33wp.

7:48 am - Saturday, March 20, 2010

#12 trick-l

This camera is small, very light easy to use and   has features that even some of the mid priced D.S.L.R.s don’t have. I carry it on a long strap around my neck with a tripod quick release mount on it most often. If you stop expecting it to be perfect on auto out of the box. It’s a wonderful camera. I take it everywhere always. it fits in my pocket easier than a pack of cigarettes and weighs about the same.
Yes it is noisy but if you understand all the settings and know how to use it, it will get razor sharp too. If you don’t treat it like an idiot proof point and shoot. It will produce some outstanding art work. Use the grain to your advantage it adds texture, class and the warm old-school look of FILM. The examples they show here are poor uncalibrated and un-creatively inspired You have to practice and learn how to use it. personally I think they should incorporate full manual aperture and shutter control and not even call it a point and shoot. If your going to call yourself a photographer than be one and don’t expect the camera to do all the work for you. If you want p&s snap shots use the camera in your cell phone.

4:31 am - Sunday, April 25, 2010

#13 Jason

This is the worst camera I have ever purchased! I promise you that you will regret buying this camera.  EVERY photo has noise on it.  I’ve never been so dissapointed! Read the reviews al lover and you will see other people agree.  Absolute garbage!

10:17 pm - Monday, May 10, 2010

#14 FamilyMan

This camera worked well for me and my family under all conditions. I was exited to see the HD quality videos I took of my two and three year olds girls swimming underwater. It’s a great “All Around” ready to use camera that won’t disappoint you unless you expect super professional performance for a moderate price item…

I’ve enjoyed every moment it has allowed me to capture of my family outings and events… Next, my wedding!!!

FamilyMan

5:58 pm - Wednesday, July 14, 2010

#15 magimay

I bought this camera to replace a flip video which I’d been using to take short (1,2 and 3min videos) of my grandson to email to the USA. The flip video corrupted my Macbook Pro computer and everything had to be reinstalled.  I explained what I wanted to use the camera for and the store suggested the Pentax Optio W80.  I am so disappointed, I am unable to email the videos which are only 30 secs long and I have them on the lowest possible pixels, I keep getting an error message that says the file is too large. 
Can anyone suggest a solution?

8:14 am - Saturday, August 7, 2010

#16 m1nerva

This camera works great with some playing around with the settings.  I am having a problem now however (after only 1 month).  The camera appears to take the photo, but will not display.  The software that is included cannot find the photos.  Windows explorer can locate the daily folders, but within these folders are more folders and files that are all display as “special characters.” I cannot locate one image.

8:50 am - Thursday, October 7, 2010

#17 Lyn

I like the camera but the battery life is an issue. I get only about 80 shots and the battery goes dead. I returned to the purchase place and told them about the problem. They exchanged the battery for a new (?) one but it has the same problem

4:04 am - Sunday, October 31, 2010

#18 Justina

This is a BAD camera do NOT buy it you will regret it. 2 of my cameras have leaked with water and Im going to fight for a refund because the camera is supposed to be WATERPROOF. i am very dissapointed with image/video quality its not very good at all, if you’re looking for HD this is not the place to go. Especially for night shots and concerts it sucks all the pictures come out dark. and the pictures are satisfactory when you are up close(to the stage). This camera dissapoints me and I hope my next choice of camera will be better. If anyone knows anything about the Sony Cybershot T-7 let me know because thats what I want. AGAIN, DO NOT BUY THIS CAMERA. BAD DESCISION.

9:02 pm - Friday, November 26, 2010

#19 Justina

This is a BAD camera do NOT buy it you will regret it. 2 of my cameras have leaked with water and Im going to fight for a refund because the camera is supposed to be WATERPROOF. i am very dissapointed with image/video quality its not very good at all, if you’re looking for HD this is not the place to go. Especially for night shots and concerts it sucks all the pictures come out dark. and the pictures are satisfactory when you are up close(to the stage). This camera dissapoints me and I hope my next choice of camera will be better. If anyone knows anything about the Sony Cybershot TX5 let me know because thats what I want and the reviews are mixed between great and awful. AGAIN, DO NOT BUY THIS CAMERA. BAD DESCISION.

9:10 pm - Friday, November 26, 2010

#20 Extreme

This camera is junk.  Horrible indoor pictures and the first time I took it into the water, it filled up with water.  Customer service is impossible to get a hold of and when you actually do, they are rude.  Stay away from the camera and this company in general!!!

3:47 am - Tuesday, December 7, 2010

#21 A. Guy

Um, I’m seeing alto of negative reviews for this camera….
I, on teh other hand, love this camera.  I hike, I bike, I ski, I swim, I get dirty as can be, and this camera handles it all very well!  My last Pentio died after being taken on too many hikes and outdoor adventures, and the W80 is still doing very well!  As for image quality, the macro-modes are amazing.  Fact. It’s handled the WI winters, the occaisional dunking, dropping, shaking, everything.  I love this camera, t’s the first one I’m able to take out with me and not have to think about what will happen to its well being if I jump a log, or if I cross that sream.  For the outdoorsy person, this camera is for you.

P.S.-I won a photo contest with this camera, the photo ended up being blown up and placed in a calendar. That has to say soemthing for image quality.

6:39 pm - Monday, April 4, 2011

#22 Özgün

I love this camera. Ok i admit that there are noise on photos but reducing the iso is a solution and works fine.
actually when i saw the underwater images/videos, there was a giant smile on my face and that’s enough for me to say that this camera is good!

6:55 pm - Sunday, July 24, 2011

#23 Audrey

I don’t think anyone has mentioned that there is no lens cap. 
I would have liked info on DOF.  I think it can be altered, but it’s not obvious.

11:36 am - Thursday, September 15, 2011

#24 NIKOS GREECE

AFTER 2 years of use, both underwater (spearfishing) and normal use, I’m sattisfied. The underwater photos and videos are just perfect. The only downside of this pentax is the battery and the night shots. Other thatn that, I TOTALLY recommend it.

10:09 am - Saturday, July 7, 2012

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, wide-angle, 12 megapixel, 5x zoom, pentax, waterproof, dustproof, shockproof, 2.5 inch LCD, 28mm lens, optio, Pentax Optio W80 Review, w80

Tracker Pixel for Entry