Ricoh CX3 Review

4.5
February 12, 2010 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

24 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 klein

Ricoh just closed its European offices and does not directly guarantee its cameras anymore. Its French agent, Vilma, refuses to repair my still guaranteed Ricoh camera which has the lens blocked in open position (letting the dust getting inside the lens). New cameras from Sony (HX5), Canon and Panasonic seem to offer much better performances and, because of the lack of guaranty from Ricoh, I would advise to avoid this camera.

8:23 pm - Friday, February 12, 2010

#2 PPL

I don’t agree with you. Ricoh cameras are garanted if you bought them in your country (not on eB..)

9:45 pm - Friday, February 12, 2010

#3 paul

my R6 lasted a year then problems with the on off switch rendered the camera nearly useless.
after an exchange (not thanks to RICOH) the new R6 after 15 months develops the same problem.
Never a RICOH for me again.
while she was working the tofo mode was not bad at all, the video mode sucked.

2:32 am - Saturday, February 13, 2010

#4 Hans Benndorf

This camera has no RAW quality mode. No manual controls.
Just another expensive gimmick toy.

6:49 am - Saturday, February 13, 2010

#5 deals lenovo

I’m glad Panasonic hasn’t released a direct update to the LX3, yet.
Because that means I only have to be angry at them for the GF-1.

1:17 pm - Saturday, February 13, 2010

#6 Mark

Still too much noise processing which gives a water colour painting effect in the photo’s.

2:46 pm - Saturday, February 13, 2010

#7 Andy

The movie-sample is missing or broken linked, i get a 404-error. Please fix this…

6:15 pm - Saturday, February 13, 2010

#8 PPL

Soon,the same 28-300 will be available for the Ricoh GXR.

http://ricoh-gxr.blogspot.com/

10:14 pm - Saturday, February 13, 2010

#9 Adam

For me it has the same problems as the CX2 (which I sent back for a Canon S90). Detail at pixel level is poor, over prosessed images and lack of sharpness.  If it had better image quality it would be a cracker.

Adam

8:48 am - Sunday, February 14, 2010

#10 Adam

And dear Photography blog IT DOES NOT take “excellent quality pictures”.  People buy on the on an acurate review.  The CX” did not take “excellent pictures” and neither does the CX3, it just handles very well.

Adam

8:51 am - Sunday, February 14, 2010

#11 social bookmarking services

Thanks for the review. Anybody has bought it ??? Should i buy it or not ??? Please help me.

9:58 am - Monday, February 15, 2010

#12 Eleanor Maw

And it’s a very boring looking camera too, no raw no buy.

5:22 pm - Tuesday, February 16, 2010

#13 Ray

I own the CX1. And I have not have any problems with it whatsoever.

I am not usually a DC person, I just need a versatile small machine for all my business travels, spy-product shots, and depending on where my business takes me really.

The Continuous shot capability was what attracted me, and later my friends. I had so much fun with it, just shooting raindrops in a pool! This function gives me a liberty that only a few product offers in the market. (and I don’t trust Casio)

My CX1 turns out to be a ‘CAT-cam’, as most photos were taken of my funky kitty. The Macro and Dynamic Range at times helped out very well.

I guess since I am more of a DSLR/SLR guy, I don’t have the same higher photo-quality expectations than most of the people commented here.  If I need a RAW taken, I would use my DSLR, or even if the subject is so important, maybe I would shoot film.

Definitely not a fan of Ricoh (dislike the gimicky product line), the CX1 gave me an experience that surpassed my expectations for a DC.  What do you expect from a tin-box with a size that fits in your palm?  All these rants on picture quality and noise!  Maybe ppl should consider the Leica S-2 instead, or no wait, that machine doesn’t do Facial/Smile/wink/feline focusing…


I have recommended the CX1 to everyone who has seen it.  I am considering buying the CX3 for the zoom difference. (maybe I will keep both!)

Thanks, just my two cents.

7:45 pm - Sunday, March 14, 2010

#14 Michael

I would broadly agree with Ray’s sensible comments - horses for courses folks.  The very idea of expecting to do RAW files is to some extent a contradiction in terms, with a camera this small and portable etc. (OK for the same price the S90 now does RAW too). I personally can’t be bothered with RAW even with my DSLR. Given that Ricohs have always had a 28mm wide lens, I have had a succession of them as P&S cameras - a G4, followed by a R2 and now a R7. I always carry it in my bag - the Canon DSLR only really goes on overseas holidays (but the R7 does too).  I have not really had any mechanical failures with any of them over in over 5 years of usage. I would normally avoid more than 400ISO with a camera sensor this small but I have lately found the 1600ISO mode in music clubs and very dark surrounds can result in some picture, rather than none. And credit where credit is due, Ricoh (who I would never have recommended for a film camera - the “cheap” hangover people seem stuck on) have specialised in just one kind of digital (in terms of the R series anyway) and just keep chipping away with minor improvements (maybe not much between the CX2 and 3 but).  I have alwsy missed the aperture/shutter priority choice but hey it is a P&S after all - and even Canon have now dispensed with rangefinders in favour of bigger LCD screens. Hey I’d like a LX3 as well but at that price hard to justify as it is near to DSLR territory.

7:41 am - Monday, April 12, 2010

#15 BG

I own a CX 3 for a few weeks,

was just lookin gofr a replacement of my 7 yr old cybershot.

red all the reviews. spec sheets i could find, of the CX 3 and all its competitors.
than the camera’s where finally available, tested Sony, Panasonic, Casio, Ricoh, none of them could match the Iq off the CX3.All other maybe can make pics with more detail, very usefull if you are a pixel peeker or a writer of reviews, but, i hope that 99.9 % of all PxS users are just like me, i want to make in a snapshot great pics, and that is what the CX3 does; great very easy to set scene modes, which make pro like compositions. Nope, happy customer here.I guess the difference is that Ricoh makes machines to make great pictures, the others make machines with great technology…

3:08 pm - Wednesday, April 14, 2010

#16 Karl

Well, after my DMC-TZ7 lens broke i was forced to buy another camera. i looked all over online and narrowed it down to two cameras : the TZ10 and the CX3.

I decided to buy the CX3 just to get a feel for a new brand, and i have to say this camera is definitely worth it. It does take “excellent pictures”. The scene modes are very fun to use and the continuos shooting at 120fps…you can waste a whole day playing with that (considering the battery will last that long).

This camera does indeed have flaws, such as mono sound and a lack of manual controls. but hey, why would you need such control over a compact camera? the auto adjustments were enough to capture some wonderful pictures.

the only thing i miss is the fact that there is no optical zoom during video recording. the TZ7 definitely wins in the video area. but besides from that, the CX3 does great.

Oh, and one more thing. if you do happen to get this camera, turn OFF the camera shake correction. somehow it will take faster and clearer pictures…

7:42 pm - Wednesday, April 14, 2010

#17 Rick

Hi Mr Mark Goldstein,

After you had reviewed both the CX3 and the Fujifilm FinePix F80EXR, which is the better camera in your personal opinion? Which would you recommend to buy, given both cameras pros and cons. 

I had read all your reviews and had shortlisted these 2 excellent cameras but am unsure which to get. Hmm… Price is not an issue for me if the camera quality is good. Hope to hear from you soon.

Thank you very much!!!

6:25 pm - Wednesday, May 12, 2010

#18 fiqqer

Whilst for me picture quality for Ricoh cameras is good the Cameras use inferior internal materials (cheap plastics) and that is why it appears there are more mechanical problems with this brand than any others.

Until the cameras are better made I would recommend to avoid.  Are there Ricoh compact camera users who have cameras going strong after 3 years?

My experience was very poor.  I only discovered why when I took the camera apart.

5:17 pm - Friday, May 21, 2010

#19 Rick

Hi fiqqer, hmm u mentioned that u took the camera apart, are u referring to Ricoh CX3 or older Ricoh model?

hmm…how does it fare when F80 is being compared to the Ricoh CX3 in terms of:

1) automatic scene function (although i have a dslr myself, I am looking for a compact where i can just point and shoot with accurate results)

2) Noise level for night shots

3) accurate colour reproduction for day shots

I really appreciate anyone’s comment on the above 3 points as I am in a dilemma choosing between F80 & CX3 and I still haven’t make my purchase yet but is going to buy soon for my holiday trip in the first week of June. Thank you everybody!!!

10:21 am - Sunday, May 23, 2010

#20 Fiqqer

I had the Ricoh R6.  I imagine all the Ricoh R range use the same casings so wouldn’t touch these again. 

I would hope and expect the more professional looking - and priced - CX range to be better made internally.  But will leave it for owners of the CX range cameras to comment.

3:09 pm - Tuesday, May 25, 2010

#21 Fiqqer

I have now been able to compare photos taken from teh CX3 to the F80.  My comments posted in the Fuji F80 thread are:

DAYLIGHT
In normal daylight the Ricoh photos seem to have more detail than the Fuji and are a bit sharper.  Colours are very good on both, with the Fuji showing deeper colours.

With very bright light the Ricoh shows the picture as you see it - with strong glare off reflective surfaces.  The Fuji dampens the glare so that much more of the image can be seen.  The Fuji shows more detail in very bright scenes.

Both control purple fringing very well.  Surprisingly so for the Fuji F80 as the F70 doesn’t do too well in this area.

MACRO
Macro mode is significantly better on the Ricoh, with better colours and more detail.

DIM LIGHTING
The Ricoh shows better images where it lighting is not too bad.  As the lighting becomes dimmer the difference becomes increasingly better with the Fuji. The Fuji shows much more details and much less noise.

FLASH
With the Ricoh it is notecable whenever flash is used. The colours become faded and thre is a lot of light reflection.  With the Fuji the light is more dispersed (less strong) and the scenes still seem to have natural lighting.

CONCLUSION
The Ricoh CX3 is the better camera for standard daylight photos and Macro use

The Fuji is better for dimmer and high contrast lighting conditions as well as for indoor photos

I already purchased the Fuji, but I have tried to be as evenhanded as I can. 

The Fuji is cheaper,

both have mono sound HD video.  The Fuji has zoomable video recording - i’m not sure about the CX3 but it was not zoomable in the CX1.

2:19 pm - Wednesday, June 9, 2010

#22 dawid

Which is better do you think?

Ricoh cx3 or Canon sx130 is ?

9:57 pm - Saturday, February 12, 2011

#23 nelly

Hi guyks would like to know if Ricoh CX3 is available in SA and where about? Please help.      Thanks

3:37 pm - Friday, July 1, 2011

#24 kat

can someone tell me what a diaroma mode is for. why would one want it.

7:00 pm - Friday, September 9, 2011

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 720p, 10 megapixel, 10x zoom, CMOS, ricoh, sensor, back illuminated, Ricoh CX3 Review, cx 3, cx3

Tracker Pixel for Entry