Ricoh GR Digital III Review

4.5
August 20, 2009 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

23 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Frank Stanton

Pictures seem okay (although a little soft); however the edges seem to show an exagerated lean towards the middle as one sees in archtectural photography or railroad tracks (pin cushion?). I have a Canon G10 which seems to have less of this edge distration and which is, quite frankly sharper. Due to the price of the Ricoh, it might be a great service to your readers if you took a couple shots with both cameras

7:50 pm - Thursday, August 20, 2009

#2 Ken

FYI, the sensor in the GRD III is 1/1.7”, not 1/1.75”.

8:21 pm - Thursday, August 20, 2009

#3 Hashi

I think the GRDIII is a great camera. Looking forward to seeing a review here for the new CX-2

5:03 pm - Friday, August 21, 2009

#4 Peter

Pity that they did not go to a 24mm equivalent wide angle. I already have a Ricoh and am pretty satisfied but would like more than 28mm.

7:43 pm - Friday, August 21, 2009

#5 cloneroom

If we compare the Ricoh with the Canons I would still go the Ricoh.

I have the GR2, Canon G9 & G10..My G10* was a waist of an upgrade. However I use my point & shoot cameras to..well point and shoot, the Canons are just not “street cameras” despite whichever configuration you can come up with. They are a great camera for anybody other than street photography but the shutter lag is its downfall.

The Ricoh GR2 was a great camera with a few problems..the GR3 is a much improved camera and as a street shooter…AWESOME.a must.

*the Canon G11 is a point in the right direction and a much better street shooter now with the new features..size..eliminates it for me….

6:23 am - Monday, August 24, 2009

#6 raven

Small sensor always cant BOKEH….Sad…

7:56 am - Monday, August 24, 2009

#7 zab

BOKEH isn’t everything. I own a Sigma DP2, wich I’m apparantely selling right now. The bokeh is just right BUT the cam is too slow and the focallenght is way too long (equivalent to 40mm).

9:29 pm - Monday, August 24, 2009

#8 Sedentary_male

I don’t believe these images really do the F1.9 GR Lens justice.
There are better examples on the net.

10:46 am - Thursday, September 3, 2009

#9 Klein

Stay away from Ricoh.
These features seem interesting, unfortunatly, Ricoh is a very bad company if you have any problem during the warranty period; they refused to cover the fixing of the zoom that didn’t work. Not only it ruined my vacations because I could’nt take pictures, but Ricoh asked me 50% of the price of the new cam! So I advise to buy other brands such as Panasonic or Canon, where you should not face this kind of issue.

3:10 pm - Saturday, September 12, 2009

#10 Bokehmon

How do the images from the DP1/DP2 compare to the new GR? I’m seriously interested in both cameras and having a hard time choosing.

5:33 pm - Wednesday, September 16, 2009

#11 Matt

@Klein
Just read the complaints from Panasonic owners who suffered broken LCD screens, through no fault of their own and Panasonic’s ‘tough luck’ attitude towards them.

Also, the GRDIII does not have zoom, so I don’t know which camera you are talking about, but it isn’t the one reviewed here.

4:00 pm - Monday, November 2, 2009

#12 Matt

A comment to the reviewer.
I’m sure people are getting bored with ‘you could have bought a DSLR for that money’ comments.
If people *want* a DLSR then they will buy one.
Then they will have to buy lenses, and a large bag to carry everything in. That will pretty much double their initial outlay (although of course they will have a more flexible camera system).
People buy compacts because they are just that.
Photography is not all about DSLR’s.
Remember, it’s not what you have, but what you do with it.

4:04 pm - Monday, November 2, 2009

#13 Guillermo Duran

I agree with Klain.
I had several problems with dust getting into the lens which made me sent my Ricoh GR2 camera three times for repair using the one year warranty.
Now that the warranty is over, they charge more than $250 for the cleaning-replacing the lens.

Before this bad experience I had Olympus, Nikon and Canon cameras. I used all them in the same way I used my Ricoh and NEVER had any issue with dust spots.

Too bad for Ricoh because the GR is a nice camera.

10:56 pm - Thursday, November 19, 2009

#14 Jitka

Hmm… Bad luck or bad phrasing? I have broken the focus system as the lenses do not retract when the battery runs out. But the response of Ricoh was brilliant, they repaired it for free and upgraded the software. That was using the European branch though I have bought it when in USA - I only paid the postage one way.

4:10 pm - Wednesday, February 3, 2010

#15 social bookmarking services

As the architect owner of Nikon analog and digital cameras and lenses I was more than pleasantly suprised to find the Ricoh GR, with its wide angle lens (21mm 35mm equivalent) and high resolution it is the idea architects’ camera, small, matte black and discreet it is perfect for site documentation and final building presentation.

7:33 am - Saturday, March 6, 2010

#16 b14ck

I found the the GX200, the night scene is more noise. Would this be same problem?

3:31 am - Wednesday, June 30, 2010

#17 Matt68

This is the best camera I have ever owned.
It is a joy to use and the IQ is astounding.

b14ck, the GX200’s noise is it’s downfall.
This camera is practically silent.

6:23 pm - Thursday, October 14, 2010

#18 memento

hello there!

i was wondering is it worth to buy this camera now?
its almost in the half price!
i believe that the video of ricoh maybe a disadvantage against other competitors…(sony dsc hx9v,panasonic lumix, canon s95?...)
what do you think?

7:53 pm - Tuesday, July 12, 2011

#19 Sinoperture

I love how people think sensor size has something to do with bokeh or out of focus areas.  :-S

It is focal length, focus distance, background distance and then aperture.  The lens is really a 6.0mm lens.

Now my GRD3 got trashed and it is an awesome camera.  Thinking of getting another one or the GXR 28mm unit….

12:56 pm - Monday, August 1, 2011

#20 Thibaut

Hello, I just bought a GRD III and I’m really happy so far.
I had a question for this camera’s users: what do you use as “MY1”, MY2” and “MY3” settings?
I’m curious to learn how other people use it.
Thanks for your feedback!
Thibaut

9:54 am - Tuesday, September 27, 2011

#21 Malcolm

I have owned the GRIII for about 15 months and have recently been using it in tandem with an Olympus P3.  I also have a Nikon D300 which is great but too bulky for me.  The GRIII is a wonderful camera to use - it does what a camera needs to do very well.  With some practice I have been getting great results mainly with RAW capture and a small amount of post process with Apeture.  Personally I have found zoom lenses never provide the sharpness of primes and this is more true with small digital sensors.  Primes like the Ricoh 6mm are fantastically sharp where a zoom is always compromising in one way or another.  So a great camera, worth the spend and much loved already.

10:14 am - Thursday, April 19, 2012

#22 Ian

I bought one of these in February 2012 and so far over 2000 photos.  Immensely impressed with the sheer usability, range of adjustment, colour rendering and tremendous results.  Also use a Nikon D50 but end up preferring the Ricoh most of the time.  Not having a zoom lens just makes you more creative.  A real quality piece of kit.  Love it.

8:55 pm - Thursday, July 5, 2012

#23 Peter

Small sensor can still bokeh.  The problem is if set to auto, the aperture may be auto small and you get no bokeh.  Set to aperture priority and choose the right apertue you should be ok.

3:59 pm - Wednesday, July 3, 2013

Entry Tags

3 inch LCD, wide-angle, 10 megapixel, ricoh, 28mm lens, gr digital 3, Ricoh GR Digital III Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry