Ricoh GXR A16 24-85mm Review

4.0
April 24, 2012 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

14 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 online backgammon

Thanks for the kind words. Not sure what’s going on with the people telling you to stay away from informational niches, ALL my niches are information based. I have no product based sites that I’m earning with. Maybe these people were never earning and might not have things set up right? Not sure what to think of that kind of logic. If it has a high CPC and high volume of traffic with a lot of ads I can’t imagine you won’t earn. Maybe stay away from gambling and other niches that might eventually be banned/go down the tubes
I hope that helps…
ts my first ever visit on this site……good information being shared here..
thanks once again.

5:36 pm - Tuesday, April 24, 2012

#2 Photochat

Great review of the Ricoh GXR camera! At this price point it seems like a really great value. Having a top end ISO setting of 3200 is a great feature.

6:08 pm - Tuesday, April 24, 2012

#3 Rick

I think the 24 mm and 85 mm photos are mixed up in the examples showing the range of the lens?

7:55 pm - Tuesday, April 24, 2012

#4 Shaun

The best thing about this camera is that it takes awesome HD video too.

10:52 pm - Tuesday, April 24, 2012

#5 Anaseb

@Photochat

Are you deluded? This is a $600 slow kit zoom, there is nothing remotely value orientated by it.

@everyone else

The fanboyism is painful here, bragging about 720p hd video as great is pretty pathetic when the Nex 5N, whose body cost less than this module, takes crystal clear .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address). Truly you lot of the Konica cultist of the digital era.

11:50 pm - Tuesday, April 24, 2012

#6 wyoming

the gxr has always been a very interesting camera in my opinion. the idea behind this sistem is unique and you can have a very flexible camera.
the pics are very nice.
but the price of all the ricoh is, as usual, too high.
with a much smaller amount of money i bought a samsung wb200 and a epl with 2 lenses.

3:51 pm - Wednesday, April 25, 2012

#7 GXRcurious

If something is “painful” to follow, coming here to read and bitch about it makes no sense at all. Speaking of pathetic, when one’s own knowledge is (apparently) based solely on spec sheets, calling other people deluded is not only dorky, but also totally unnecessary. Besides, the “value” of each item is always highly subjective. People’s needs for video capabilities are quite different, too.

Thanks for an interesting review. It’s refreshing to read about something outside the mainstream for a change. :)
Especially the lack of manual zoom ring, but also the lens blocking the light from the built-in flash unit and the apparent distortion indeed seem to be the major downsides of the unit.

However, for some reason the review seemed to overlook one key detail about the A16 unit, the fact that the Sony sensor comes without any low-pass filtering. Which sort of makes it pretty unique in its class, if there is one in the first place. Only Leica M9, and perhaps Fuji X-Pro 1 or X-100 are somewhat similar in that respect. Sort of. All of them are rather pricey.
The new A16 unit is currently the cheapest of the APS-C sensor units in the GXR range, so far.

Furthermore, the pricing of the new A16 GXR kit is within reasonable. It’s not really that much different from the other compact system cameras equipped with an APS-C sensor and a reasonable kit zoom lens. Therefore the GXR+A16 kit might actually be an interesting starter kit for new customers, compared to the two older starter kits, the P10 and S10 kits.

As for the GXR system in general, one of the key features of the GXR system is the notion that it’s nothing like an entry level Canikon DSLR, but something completely (and refreshingly) different. It’s more like a slightly eccentric cousin of the new digital rangefinder cameras, made for photographers rather than for gadget geeks.
Apart from the quirks, it’s got some handy features like snap focusing and focus peaking, it uses the Adobe digital negative as a native RAW format, there is a Leica M unit without low-pass filter in the sensor, and so on. It’s not better, just different. Not everyone’s cup of tea for sure.

Trying to explain all that to typical self-sufficient spec sheet enginerds is futile for sure but, it might be worth highlighting to the possible newcomers in each new GXR lens unit review. 
Just sayin’ :)

4:27 pm - Wednesday, April 25, 2012

#8 Peter Harris

i think this using the Sony sensor that’s in the nex 5n and C3.  The Nex is a wonderful camera and the kit lens is good with a more useable range.  You can also interchange lenses and continue to use this great sensor. e.

You can also shoot stereo 1028 hd, hdr, panoramic, anti blur and twilight.  Sounds like gimmicks? They’re not; unless the likes noise free full detail 6400 iso sounds like shoddy spec.

The Ricoh was interesting but it’s less and less so.  The nex has the same great sensor and few of the compromises presented here.  It’s small and elegant and about the same price as this module.

12:24 am - Friday, April 27, 2012

#9 tonyalfiano

i would like to have that….but for who love about photography, you can see my bloghttp://beginnerpocketphotography.wordpress.com

8:33 pm - Friday, April 27, 2012

#10 GXRcurious

Ricoh GXR + A16 kit 649 Eur (Ebay,de)
Sony NEX 5N + 18-55mm kit 629 Eur (Ebay.de)

Choosing either camera is a matter of taste. Personally I find the NEX GUI a bit too nerdy and annoying, and most of the native lenses are still mediocre at best, and the few good ones are very expensive. So it’s a great thing there are now several interesting alternatives, like the Samsung NX system, the mFT system, the Fuji X system, the Leica M system and the GXR system.
Choice is good. Something for everyone. For photographers and gadget geeks alike.

NEX/GXR/X-Pro/etc. may not be your cup of tea, but it might be just fine for someone else, who happens to have slightly different preferences and needs.

5:54 pm - Saturday, April 28, 2012

#11 Peter Harris

@gxr curious

Sure - buy what you want - lots of nice toys. 

I guess I’m saying that this is a great sensor and in this case you have exactly one lens that you can use with it.  With the nex you have many - any gui is a matter of taste and a little less clutter would be nice.

Regarding the nex lenses - the 16mm pancake is mediocre but the kit zoom and the other native lenses are good to very good.  also you can slap most any lens from any manufacturer on it. The electronic manual focusing aids (peaking and magnification) are pretty seamless and very good.

This same sensor is used by pentax (slr and mirrorless), nikon slr, and sony slr.  So choices abound.

10:47 pm - Saturday, April 28, 2012

#12 Centipede

@Peter Harris

I agree that the nex line is good, but some of your math must be a little off. The nex kit lens is an 18-55mm range with an ASP-C sensor, giving it a 35mm equiv range of ~28-85mm, almost identical but slightly less range on the wide end than the GXR A16…

With the GXR body + A16 kit being offered in many places, the GXR now doesn’t feel so expensive. Yes, ea of the 3 big sensor units are expensive, but not much different in price to the high end lenses a lot of the competition is putting out. That and the fact that the body is cheap makes the system a little less painful to purchase. I’m not delusional, tho. It is a system that’s pushed itself just out of the price range a lot of people would want.

But that said, I love my GXR and am happy taking it around with me. And I also love that Ricoh keeps adding in new features with free firmware updates rather than cranking out ever so slightly upgraded cameras every 6 months, like a lot of companies do.

One final comment: the painfully difficult to use M focusing on the A16, and the barrel distortion can both be problems. I get great pics out of it, but it does have issues.

Oh, if anyone cares to see a bunch of GXR pics, check out my blog.

12:28 am - Friday, May 4, 2012

#13 clifford read

Waiting to see K mount unit? with rotating lcd? so that I can use my prime lens.

3:06 am - Friday, May 4, 2012

#14 DCS

Declaration of personal interest - a GXR user (A12 28mm) That does what I want very well.

There is a demand for a relatively compact camera that has the capability to produce photos that can be enlarged to poster size without problems - this is one solution which is worth considering.

Plenty of others and personal taste will be the decider.

7:36 pm - Friday, November 16, 2012

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 720p, 16 megapixel, compact system camera, manual, mirrorless, csc, RAW, APS-C, ricoh, gxr, 24-85mm, a16, Ricoh GXR A16 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry