Samsung Galaxy Camera Review

4.0
December 10, 2012 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

31 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Kurt

Hey Guys…“Recommend” with this Imagequality??? and this price???

Are you crazy??? Is this a Joke?

This is not Cam, this is a Shame for Samsung. And the Price is a nightmare.

4:30 pm - Monday, December 10, 2012

#2 JS

A toy for kids.

4:54 pm - Monday, December 10, 2012

#3 Dan

Its a good looking camera. I wont be buying one myself, but the possibilitys for an android based camera are huge! Intresting stuff.

11:37 pm - Monday, December 10, 2012

#4 Kurt

@Dan

Which possibilities? to play a game? do you need a £399,- cam with bad picture quality to play games or to upload your photos to facebook?

In this price class exist 1st class cameras with this function.

if you have to change the akku, you have to wait for a reboot of a android device. this is not realy funny.

Everything would be different, if you could make a phone call with this androidcam. In this case would this be realy interesting - except the weight.

This is a toy for rich people who like to carry a heavy camera with poor picture quality with it and also have a smartphone.

9:22 am - Tuesday, December 11, 2012

#5 Dan

Kurt

Your right, the cameras rubbish but the idea is great. There is no reason you can’t bolt android onto an SLR. Its not about apps it means you can upgrade the OS to how you like it. Look at the improvements when people hacked the Panasonic GH2. Most cameras makers don’t bother to update their cameras, but this can open it all up. It is also open to greed and abuse by manufacturers, as they can charge for improved features.

11:47 am - Tuesday, December 11, 2012

#6 Jan

@ Dan

Upgradability doesn’t seem to be a feature a lot of people are asking for – least of all the manufacturers, who want you to but a new camera model every year.

Hobbyists and the ones who instantly want to share their photos are using their camera phones, and this Samsung camera doesn’t seem to offer a lot beyond what the latest phones can do.

And as for Android on SLRs, I can’t really see that either. The audience that are still buying them (and that haven’t switched to smaller interchangeable lens system cameras) don’t want to concern themselves with the latest gadget functions on their cameras. And as for upgradability, they’d probably rather upgrade to the next camera model with the latest sensor before they want an OS upgrade (above the usual firmware upgrades).

2:28 pm - Tuesday, December 11, 2012

#7 zebarnabe

@Kurt: completely agree.

@Dan: The concept of having an customizable OS is great indeed, however while having apps on a camera is nice, if you don’t have good pictures to start with, it really doesn’t matter.

Another thing is, hacking the ‘camera’ for better quality, even if possible (because camera drivers are most likely proprietary), the hardware is mostly like limited by itself.

Currently many manufacturers start adding WiFi/Bluetooth remote control to camera setup, image transfer and even remote live view that works in both computer and mobile phones.

If they could make this ‘camera’ slimmer, reduce the megapixel count and probably zoom, they could make a camera phone with decent image quality and actually useable as both a phone and a camera at an acceptable price.

There are much better cameras in some phones, for almost 500€ you can get something a lot better (regarding camera) in the phones section.

4:12 am - Thursday, December 13, 2012

#8 Donna

Can’t transfer straight to ipad? HUGE FAIL

8:12 pm - Thursday, December 13, 2012

#9 Zick

Samsung Galaxy Camera: What’s the point? [One more angle]
I was looking for a cheap MID, like a 7” tablet, on a cell phone-company plan—the likes of S3 or Note or OneX were better factor for pocketability, but out of price range. Then I realized the G-cam hit the stores, and went for some hands-on experience: the 4.8” screen is pretty much enough for my browsing [AND email] needs, and—guess what—costs the same as a 7” tablet in the plans!  >  So, ta da!, I get the P&S camera for free—no extra cost! I’d rather see it slimmer, but it’s more pocketable than a tablet [in terms of (gorilla) glass breaking], and besides, I still have in the closet all those leather belt-bags from when cell phones were a different form-factor [I kinda miss that going-for-the-gun movement].
Also, no one of you guyz thought of using this camera for video streaming? Like, on Ustream, Livecast, etc. Somebody is probably already working on a G-cam optimized video-streaming uploader.
On the other hand, the thing that does bother me at this point is the constant getting-out-of-focus while zooming, as well as the JITTERS that are obvious when the zoom extensions move (forward or backward) and hit the mechanical limits—it all STAYS on-the-record. Tell me what to do about THAT? Just don’t say I should first zoom, and then shoot. [As the jitters are more pronounced at wider angles, it could also be that the image processor is not on par for smoothly recalculating 30fps of the greater number of objects in the wider picture. – A possible improvement is, obviously, to use the zoom from 4 to 21x, instead of 1-21x.] The other pain-in-the-ass defect has not been solved in HDV video either—and probably won’t be by any upcoming G-cam upgrades: the video pan movements are more than noticeably rickety! I gave up on that one, but still have to ask: does anyone have any tips?
Zick

8:28 am - Tuesday, December 18, 2012

#10 chandra

I bought this and I really love this. The picture quality is great! and the best part is that the images can be instantly uploaded on to the cloud, it has all the facilities of a high end camera and lots of user friendly options. It has everything, except perhaps a phone attached to it (samsung could have done that, as there is I believe a segment of market who would go in for a all in all system even if it a bit heavy)
Good job samsung!

4:55 am - Saturday, December 29, 2012

#11 OnSeaside

Interesting comment comparison between those who bought and those who did not. We did and it is truly amazing. Yes it is expensive, but that is the price the early adopter pays. We love the camera and we have not even started to understand all it can do.
The quality is astounding just as a camera, let alone the features it has.
I hope the price comes down and cannot wait to see the future direction of this market. Too bad Kodak is no longer around to see what is happening to the market they started.

11:41 am - Saturday, December 29, 2012

#12 vinod

I bought this camera and i really surprised to have a such good functioning keys. its amazing and very easy handle,having great quality of pictures as compares to any other camera. easy to share and easy to capture the pics. it is so easy that any one can handle the camera such child above 3 years.the price of the camera is too high otherwise it would have very good market for samsung galaxy camera .......

9:42 am - Monday, December 31, 2012

#13 Dai Davies

Please can someone give me ‘simple lay guidance’ on how I could download photos off my recently acquired Samsung Galaxy camera ( a Birthday present) onto i-photo on an Apple Mac?

8:04 pm - Wednesday, January 2, 2013

#14 Dai Davies

Please can someone give me simple guidance on how I might download photos off my Samsung Galaxy camera onto i-photo on an Apple Mac?

8:08 pm - Wednesday, January 2, 2013

#15 ElementsElectronics@eBay

@Dai Davies

You’ll probably need to use the Kies software to transfer photos. Here is a link:

http://www.samsung.com/in/support/usefulsoftware/KIES/JSP

2:34 am - Thursday, January 3, 2013

#16 Dai Davies

Thanks for the suggestion, I downloaded the Kies software and I got an ‘Unable to to find software on your PC that can recognise your device’ note. It then went on to say I cn download and install PC Kies etc. which I had just done.
All and any further advice or guidance appreciated.

3:17 pm - Thursday, January 3, 2013

#17 abulfathi

@dai davies….

You can using apps…DROPBOX…download from playstore for android and appstore for apple…you need to create an account and you can have the picture on both your galaxy camera and apple device…

7:39 pm - Wednesday, January 9, 2013

#18 Andyy

Im not buying it, instead i will take the same money and put it towards a Canon T4i, that has same upload ability to internet, touch screen, and instantly has way more upgrade capability than most people’s pocket change can allow for. Seriously people, go check the sample images of the Canon EOS 650D (also known as the T4i) at http://www.dpreview.com/galleries/reviewsamples/albums/canon-eos-650d-review-samples
There is no comparison actually.
Nice attempt by Samsung, but no, too pricey for the low quality.

10:09 pm - Friday, January 11, 2013

#19 Greg

These are now selling for AU$400 or £265 in Australia. Still expensive when compared with compact cameras like the Canon Powershot S100 (AU$279), but cheap enough to tempt me. As someone else mentioned earlier, it doubles as a compact tablet and e-book reader. I don’t plan to buy a sim card. I’ll use my phone’s portable hotspot instead if there’s no wifi available. Photo quality looks good enough to leave my SLR at home most of the time.

5:21 am - Monday, January 21, 2013

#20 FotoGal

I received this camera a week ago.  I dislike it.  It is bulky, clumsy, the wi-fi does not always work, even in a Starbucks or wi-fi connected hotspot.  It has jammed up on me more than twice and actually froze while in the midst of taking pix.

Transfering pix from the camera to either a Mac or a PC is just about impossible.  What is the point of this camera?  It is not user friendly.

The screen is large, yes… But it is not worth the trouble or the price.

2:40 pm - Tuesday, January 22, 2013

#21 Alex

I’ve also tested the Galaxy Camera… even performed a scratch test :) Check out how it performed here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7gSf6G-PAt0

1:46 pm - Saturday, January 26, 2013

#22 Carla

I work for many different mortgage companies and different companies require different things. My question is…can you turn the date stamp on and off. Some companies require it and some do not want the date on the pics. If I can turn the date stamp on and off I am definetly going to purchase one, but no one seems to know the answer to my question, not even the at&t store reps.

12:31 am - Wednesday, February 6, 2013

#23 Dave

@ Carla

Yes you can turn the Date Stamp off (I think it’s off as factory default). The settings allow: Date & Time On; Date On; All off.

You can also use any other Android photo App, and not the default, in case you have a preference.

7:30 am - Wednesday, February 6, 2013

#24 jose kerginaldo de paula

One thing can be said with certainty: Samsung was daring to launch the Galaxy Camera. IQ and other things do not come in question, but can you imagine a Galaxy Camera with excellent image quality? At least this revoluciony.Is what Samsung intends to be.And in part it well succeeded.

2:43 am - Sunday, February 10, 2013

#25 bachchan singh

very nice camera, i used it bt there is so many features which is unknown for us…i learn it that how to use it properly from http://www.mycitydial.com/samsung-galaxy-camera

10:26 am - Sunday, March 31, 2013

#26 swastik

plz suggest me which camera to buy.samsung galaxy or  
sony cybershot dschx200v.. ?

5:46 am - Wednesday, April 24, 2013

#27 Darren Blinkhorn

Im considering the samsung very seriously. Never seen a camera like it.
Also looking at making money using photography and thought about this:

http://bit.ly/photpcam

9:51 pm - Monday, June 3, 2013

#28 Gail

Suddenly camera refuses to crop or show the videos…help!

1:19 pm - Sunday, November 24, 2013

#29 Gail

How to view photos on TV?

1:21 pm - Sunday, November 24, 2013

#30 tatinka 777

DROPBOX !!!!!! Yes!!!! ITS work!!!!!
Transfer the pictures from Samsung Galaxy 2 to Ipad!!!!!
You have to download Dropbox to samsung galaxy camera and to Ipad

3:36 am - Sunday, September 7, 2014

#31 Walt

I never put a password in my camera and it worked fine for several months.  Now it is asking me for a password (which I never supplied), waits a second and then shuts off.  Useless at present.

11:54 am - Sunday, November 30, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, compact, 1080p, hdmi, camera, wi-fi, wireless, manual, travel-zoom, travel, travel zoom, GPS, smartphone, wi fi, 23mm, 21x zoom, 21x, 4g, 3g, sim, 16.3 megapixel, 4.8 inch LCD, Galaxy Camera, Samsung Galaxy Camera Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry