Samsung NX200 Review

4.5
November 29, 2011 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

40 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Isyst

This review confirms my perception of NX200. It is a great system with an excellent lens park. Actually NX200 is the most pocketable ASP-C camera in the market, because it has 3 excellent pancakes 16mm-20mm-30mm.

9:23 pm - Tuesday, November 29, 2011

#2 Low Budget Dave

I will be interested to see some comparisons with the Sony NEX 5n.  This seems to offer similar features, and to suffer from similar limitations.  Unless Samsung offers a camera that clearly beats out Sony in some way, I am just as likely to buy the Sony. 

Slightly less awkward controls?  Not really a clear victory.

Slightly more pixels?  Meh. 

I would be interested in hearing more about the autofocus speed and accuracy.  Right now, neither Sony nor Samsung appears to be making much progress in this area.

9:27 pm - Tuesday, November 29, 2011

#3 Dinko

How is shutter lag on this thing? I have a NX10 which I’m extremely happy with for still landscapes… but almost a year after buying it, I’m yet to take a single non-blurry shot of any object in movement. The thing focuses on the right subject and rather quickly… but by the time the NX10 takes the shot, the subject has moved on, resulting in a blurry mess.
That’s the main reason I went with a m4/3 for most things… even crazy-fast squirrels are in perfect focus.

2:29 am - Wednesday, November 30, 2011

#4 Dainas

god the rating system here is worthless, how can this thing (while granted not a bad camera) garner the same recommendation as the Nex 5N? As far as I can tell all this is a fat 5N with a slightly higher pixel and usable lens count, a significantly higher pricetag, but with no EVF option and soundly inferior IQ.

3:58 am - Wednesday, November 30, 2011

#5 james

dainas- well the 5N did get a slightly higher IQ score and value score. i don’t see what your point is. a fat 5N? it’s hardly that much bigger, and the NEX system only has one pancake so it doesn’t even matter that much. higher pixels is a good thing IMO since the noise performance seems to be better than the 5N from 100-3200. what makes you say it has soundly inferior IQ? it sounds like you’re just unreasonably offended that it received a similar score to the 5N.

6:18 am - Wednesday, November 30, 2011

#6 Bhupinder

Please just explain ..why this bloody Nikon 1 is on rival list? How much money Nikon paid u to promote this useless camera? Do u know many people will just buy Nikon just thinking its an alternative to this APS-C size sensor?

8:58 am - Wednesday, November 30, 2011

#7 Jos

Remember though that the NEX system has poor lenses (the 16mm pancake gets 1 out of 5 stars for optical quality, whereas the Samsung 16mm gets 3 out of 5 stars). The NEX may be great camera but as a system it falls short due to the poor lenses available for it (optically quality) and these cam’s (NX200 & NEX) are only as good as the glass in front of the sensor. I think the IQ of the NX200 is better than the NEX 5N but I think its due to the better optics in the lens. Check out the lens reviews for each cam on SLR gear and photozone.de I had a NEX 5 which I bought with the pancake lens as I wanted to carry it around with me, but the IQ was really poor (except for centre of the frame) so I was happy to get rid of it (it fell and broke).

10:13 am - Wednesday, November 30, 2011

#8 Stist

Why there are always sony trolls when we speak about Samsung NX…? Actually we can see the same thing at smartphone and pad forums. You must admit that Samsung made a huge progress in CSC market. Samsung has an excellent and not expensive lens park, and now offers very well built NX200, which can match the rivals. Of course it has some shortcoming, no camera is ideal indeed. But they are not critical (huge RAW files, no EVF, no tilt screen). I guess the most important feature of NX200 is it’s IQ before ISO3200. One can see that at low and middle ISO NX200 outperforms NEX-5n.
Besides excellent low ISO performance and more MP, NX200 also distinguishs by the availability of very good 3 pancakes, which makes the system very portable and light.

11:06 am - Wednesday, November 30, 2011

#9 Low Budget Dave

It is hardly “trolling” to compare this to Sony 5N.  The two cameras are very similar, almost identical.  The Sony 28mm might not be as good as the Samsung 30mm, but you have to admit they are very similar.

For better or worse, the strengths and weaknesses of the Sony 5N are well known.  On first glance, the Samsung version appears to be the same size, offer similar lens selection, similar IQ, similar flash options, similar viewfinders, similar strengths, and similar weknesses. 

Sony uses software to adjust for lens distortion in the 28mm, which is why the lens receives a pretty low ranking.  It is not clear from the early reviews if Samsung uses software correction or not, but judging from the size of the pancake lenses, I am guessing that they do.  I don’t think you can make a pancake 30mm for a sensor this size without distortion.

I like the control layout on the Samsung, but I have not handled the camera, nor seen enough samples to know much else about it.  Does the traditional control layout make up for Sony’s tilting touchscreen?  Hard to say until you use it.

Does the image quality make up for the extra $200 you have to pay?  Hard to say until you see a good comparison with the 5N.

Is the video as good as Sony?  No idea.

I am sure future reviews will go into much more detail on these questions.  But the early reviews don’t tell me enough to make me run out and buy it.

12:08 pm - Wednesday, November 30, 2011

#10 Ian

The latest firmware update to the NX200 adds the AEL button functionality.

Also you get the detachable flash with all of the NX200 kits, this isnt an extra.

I have had this camera a few weeks now and I am extremely pleased with it.

A lot has been mentioned about the camera being slow to write files to the SD card.

JPG’s are instant, RAWS can be slow if you have a slow SD card due to the 50mb size per RAW.  Pop in a fast SD and you wont notice and slow response.

7:33 pm - Wednesday, November 30, 2011

#11 mhike

Already owning Samsung, I can attest to abysmal RAW write times.  It wouldn’t be terrible if they made hardware that could take advantage of the fast cards out there, but even a faster card will not net any greater write times.  40-50+ megs per file is simply insane.

7:58 pm - Wednesday, November 30, 2011

#12 Daniel

How do you work out 6 seconds when you save the SRW.
My camera does not do it so long.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vuptF6riVWw
Long time is after taking a series
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LMyKX6GbICM

9:24 pm - Wednesday, November 30, 2011

#13 jake

I am a NEX7 and 5n user but kinda interested in this thing but this thing is just simply too ugly.

And this one looks useless even at ISO400, still the NEX7 is the best ILC.

but none of these ILCs still cannot replace my Alpha 900.

2:52 am - Thursday, December 1, 2011

#14 andy clad

Over priced, over priced, over priced. Not worth the money.

4:18 am - Thursday, December 1, 2011

#15 Hans Benndorf

I simply don’t take photographs like a sleepwalking gameboy
fanatic ( no viewfinder, not even optional! ), no matter how good or bad this camera may be. And then these insane file sizes and
glacial Raw writing speeds! Why on earth would a moderately
serious photographer would take pictures at arms lengths with a
20mp pocket cam ( It takes considerably good shooting discipline
even with a viewfinder ). Samsung may have good lenses. I am just
waiting for them to come up with a better body.

12:16 pm - Thursday, December 1, 2011

#16 Hans Benndorf

I don’t shoot 20mp pocket cams like a sleepwalking game boy
fanatic at arms lengths ( no viewfinder, not even optional ) no
matter how good or bad the camera may be. These insane file
sizes and glacial RAW writing speeds making for a rather dismal
photographic experience, for me at least.

12:47 pm - Thursday, December 1, 2011

#17 peetr

Hey there, Mr.Goldstein. Can you please tell us, where did you find this smart shoe for EVF on THIS (NX200!)camera? Thanks much…

4:09 pm - Thursday, December 1, 2011

#18 Actualist

Samsung NX200 is a perfect compact camera with nice pancakes, where is NEX-5n are for those old guys who can’t abandon their old manual lens.

1:18 pm - Friday, December 2, 2011

#19 Daniel

,

1:27 pm - Friday, December 2, 2011

#20 NocturNalis

This looks to be one of the more attractive cameras coming out right now but I’ve still got my eye on the Nex7, gotta love that EVF! What I’m really waiting for is the NX20 which is really going to give Sony some competition. As nice as this one is, I don’t think it’s going to make a significant dent in Sony’s sales. About the review, I’m confused why you say in almost every review that the OOC jpegs are soft. This is not the case at all with this one, the jpegs look over-sharpened to me and the ones you sharpened have way too much sharpening artifacts. I would recommend turning sharpening down and not increasing it like you say to do.

2:56 am - Monday, December 5, 2011

#21 NocturNalis

I’m surprised that you say the jpegs are too soft. It looks to me that they are over-sharpened if anything. The images you sharpened in Photoshop are way too sharp and show a lot of artifacts. Perhaps showing a sharpened RAW conversion would be a nice addition. Speaking of RAW, why are these files so large? The large RAW files would be reason enough to get the NEX5n or Panny GX1 instead. Still though, it looks like a really nice camera!

3:01 am - Monday, December 5, 2011

#22 MikeHu

Raw means “staight off the sensor” and at 20MP with a 14/16bit luminance depth/pixel i.e. 2 bytes/pixel that gives 40MB, that is why the file size is large. If you want compressed files use the JPEG settings; if you want pure images, put up with the raw format and be prepared to accept large files. Just remember, more MP means larger files!

11:33 am - Monday, December 5, 2011

#23 Daniel

Hello,
If You are interested in not for test pictures, here is my Flickr folder with NX200 shots:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/didmyself/sets/72157627822053437/

11:41 am - Monday, December 5, 2011

#24 NocturNalis

Oops, looks like I double-posted, thought that my first one got deleted. @ Mike, so you are referring to the color depth? Do you know if it’s 14 or 16 bit? I thought that only medium format was providing 16 bit color (luminance) depth. Still though, 14 bit color is very nice and should be better than any with only 12 bits. I know it will give larger files but these look to be even bigger than ones coming from the A77 at 24 MP. Anyway, it still looks like a winner from Samsung and may end up being my next camera as Samung’s lens are so nice compared with Sony’s.

2:26 am - Tuesday, December 6, 2011

#25 Jos

Sony lenses are junk and any ilc is only as god as the glass in front of the sensor…as a system the NEX falls short sure to inferior quality lenses as seen in review after review especially the 16mm pancake (1.5 stars out of 5 for optical quality on photozone.de & similarly rubbish on slr gear.com).

6:46 am - Tuesday, December 6, 2011

#26 jimm

this review makes me trust photographyblog’s reviews less. the flash does come with the nx200, and there is no evf option. the AEL button is also optional as a customizable button choice. the fact that these have already been mentioned and still aren’t corrected makes me think photograpyblog is not that reliable. but that’s ok…i generally skip to the image quality section since photographyblog gets reviews out quickly, and then i wait for other sites to offer more comprehensive reviews.

11:21 pm - Wednesday, December 7, 2011

#27 no BS

what a load of utter BS @jake is talking about. don’t even bother posting if you are a Sony troll.

6:35 pm - Saturday, December 10, 2011

#28 Low Budget Dave

Yep.  The art of trolling is really lost.

5:59 pm - Sunday, December 11, 2011

#29 Daniel

There is new ACR 6.6 it support NX200
http://www.adobe.com/support/downloads/detail.jsp?ftpID=5312
SRW after converting to DNG is about 15MB.

12:04 pm - Tuesday, December 13, 2011

#30 NocturNalis

@ Daniel, that makes this camera way more attractive now. 40+MB per RAW file is totally unnecessary. All camera makers should use DNG by default but the ability to convert them over to DNG is a good start. Thanks for the info!

1:23 pm - Tuesday, December 13, 2011

#31 Daniel

@NocturNalis
Yes!!
I must convert now about 1900 SRWs :D and import again to LR.

2:02 pm - Tuesday, December 13, 2011

#32 billzilla

This article has a few errors - mainly image processing does not completely lock up the camera between shots (you can still take more images until the buffer is filled) and the processing time is going to vary considerably on your SD card.  AEL is in the latest firmware and the compact flash is not sold separately.

Dave, the NX cameras beat out the Sony in one clear way - native lenses.  The Sony selection is very short on primes and the average E-mount sharpness/clarity is lower than Samsung in this regard.  I personally don’t like the NEX line.  Control/ergonomics sacrificed for the claim of smallest body, mediocre UI.  IMO, the only real claim to fame for NEX is their clean higher ISO (which IMO looks slightly processed even in RAW).

The 20MP NX has sufficient MP advantage to cancel out the 5N higher ISO advantage, at least for most applications.

7:41 am - Sunday, January 1, 2012

#33 Jos

Billzilla, agree on the lenses, Samsung has a much better selection and the optical quality is better than the sony standard e mount lenses (especially the 16mm pancake which is not great wide open),  But the high iso shots of the 5N are brilliants (over processing…no way) this is borne out by EVERY review yet on the 5N, so yes it has the edge at higher iso’s over the NX200 but bare in mind the 5N’s high iso shots are better than the NEX 7 (due to higher megapixel count on same size sensor). But IQ of the NX200 is great and matches the NEX’s up to about iso 1600, from 3200 up the 5N is better but then again the 5N’s low light performance is rated better than ANY other APS-C DSLR on DPReview, so its a bit of an unfair comparison I guess. The NX200 high iso shots are good, better than most, just not as good as the 5N.

8:31 pm - Sunday, January 1, 2012

#34 gary harvey

Personally after my experiences with the NX100 I wouldn’t touch another Samsung camera as I believe they cannot be relied on to deliver the ‘goods’ and this is just a worked up version of the NX100 to my mind. Although retired from doing company photography one of my hobbies in retirement is photography and I boughtan NX100 5 months ago. It is a tremendously frustrating camera which simply cannot be relied on to take a picture in either poor lighting conditions or in strong light with high contrast such as winter scenes with bright areas and dark shadows. The red ‘can’t focus’ squares regularly come up and the shutter button simply doesn’t work. The green focus assist beam seems to make no difference even in a small room. I have to fall back on one or the other of my pocket cameras a Fuji F200EXR or even a little £70 Kodak M320 which have no problems focusing and taking acceptable shots in the same situation were this sad example of a product fails time after time. Samsung should be ashamed of selling such a bad product and once bitten twice shy as they say.

11:18 pm - Tuesday, January 3, 2012

#35 camerman

Being a samsung nx owner, I can say this cameras lack of viewfinder or accessory for one is a big no no…and I won’t buy it. Also, the design of the camera looks like it was done by some accountant bean counter at Samsung’s csc division.
    As for the Sony 5n fanboys..give it up. Every review is subjective to a certain margin. If the reviewing sees from his tests that the Samsung nx200 is as good or almost as good as the 5n then let him have his day, he did the work after all, didn’t he? Just cause on this site the Samsung gets a favorable review as like the sony doesn’t mean that the Sony is a bad camera. Why do people want comparisons that they themselves have a fixed answer to in their head already?
      If you like your sony 5n better, then buy it and use it. You don’t need every single reviewer online to agree with you to make your opinions valid , do you? I bet everyone here complaining about the good reviews the nx200 got most likely never even bought or used the nx200.At least the guys here have the camera and actually used it, so don’t you think their opinions should hold some weight? again, if you guys think the Sony’s better than go buy it, love it, enjoy it, marry it..whatever.It’s like some people who feel the need to go around making sure that what they like is better than something else or else they feel somehow it makes them feel insignificant. come one people. get over yourselves. this is a camera review buy people who have actually USED the cameras.Just cause the nx200 gets a good review as the Sony 5n doesn’t mean the Sony 5n isn’t any good.
      the nx200 at my local camera store is going for just 599 now, so one things for sure, it’s cheaper than the sony.also, there’s a guy with a blog called soundimageplus who’s reviewed the nx200 and said it’s got a really good sensor as well…and has said it’s the best sensor csc “overall”. But hey, I’m different, the nx100 sensor was good for me, high iso were not so great, but 1600 film is even worse. There is no perfect sensor, if you’re waiting for a perfect sensor before you can shoot, then you won;t be shooting photos until your in a coffin.

6:56 pm - Friday, January 20, 2012

#36 none

even at iso 100 the image quality is still low, why did you give is a 4.5?

11:02 pm - Wednesday, February 22, 2012

#37 Gary Cook

Can somebody explain why the dslr crowd keeps insisting this camera must be held “at arm’s length” because it lacks an eye-finder?  I don’t:  6 inches is fine. You’re showing your age.  Get your eyes tested: bifocals are wonderful.

11:59 pm - Tuesday, March 27, 2012

#38 tem00

Just bought this.  It is a wonderful camera and I come from using Hassy MF gear in the 80’s.  This thing is FUN, plus great image and build quality too.  Great for aerials.  Capture One and Aftershot Pro pull a lot from the raw files.  Even the kit lens is sharp.  Samsung is my choice now.

8:52 pm - Sunday, April 15, 2012

#39 TestingCamera

This is a great camera and IMO beats the Sony NEX-7 in the image quality dept. Sony images always have a watercolor feel to them; I don’t know why. Anyway, Samsung is on the right track with the NX series and best thing of all, they do not cost a bomb. I can’t wait to check out the NX1000.

9:57 am - Friday, June 1, 2012

#40 sajid

hey,
i dont see any DC IN in this camera.
poease correct me.

3:39 am - Monday, February 11, 2013

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, compact, review, 1080p, csc, dslr, micro four thirds, 20 megapixel, samsung, APS-C, 7fps, compact system, AMOLED, i-Function, i-Fn, nx 200, nx-200, nx200, Samsung NX200 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry