Samsung NX3000 Review

August 14, 2014 | Mark Goldstein | |

Your Comments

19 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 dan

So it’s a dumbed down version of a good camera.
I wont be buying it.

3:17 pm - Thursday, August 14, 2014

#2 Keinpri Vater

It’s a really nice Camera with a very good image quality. A good package for a lot of users for a more than fair price.

5:59 pm - Thursday, August 14, 2014

#3 Jonathan

Any mirrorless without a built in flash is just 2 years behind. NEX 5N (3 years ago) didnt have built in flash, or EVF, then NEX 6 and A6000 have both. Come one Samsung stop lagging behind… the NX3000 is a great ‘could’ve been’ 2 years ago, no good these days!

7:21 am - Friday, August 15, 2014

#4 Jeremy

Maybe the NX3000 is a good camera for what it is, buty ou can still find the NX300 for under $500. I hope consumers do a little research before they buy the NX3000.  The NX300 offers so much more.

2:59 pm - Friday, August 15, 2014

#5 Sean

The NX3000 is now available for £199.00, which is a stonking deal.

6:52 pm - Monday, October 6, 2014

#6 Nik Morris

I noted that you mentioned the EM10 external microphone being comparable, I beg to differ. I have an NX EM10 microphone, I have an NX2000 and NX3000 and while the microphone works perfectly well on the NX2000 it does not work on the NX3000. The 3000 completely fails to detect it and so ignores it, even after upgrading the firmware on the 3000. I have contacted Samsung in the Netherlands and UK but neither have responded to me as yet. Other than this I am pleased with the bargain 3000 I got, though other than the jolly useful flip screen there is little effective difference between them. Given the microphone issues on balance I prefer the 2000.

11:12 am - Thursday, November 6, 2014

#7 Kathy

Almost never needs a flash. This jewel can pick up light sources like no other camera I’ve used. I love using it. Photo quality is unmatched by a camera in this class. I’ve been amazed and so have my friends.

5:07 pm - Saturday, November 15, 2014

#8 chris

I have just bought this camera and am very pleased with it. I’m sure there are better cameras but not for £200. I’m fairly new to ILC’s… can i add filters and hoods to the included 16-50 lens? I might be being dumb but i cant see a thread on it.

4:31 pm - Tuesday, December 16, 2014

#9 chris

The review states the nx3000 has a self cleaning sensor. I have had mine for a few weeks and already noticed 2 specs in bright images. I can’t find any options in the menu for the self cleaning…. Can somebody confirm this model has the feature? I hope the review wasn’t copy and pasted from the nx300!

11:14 pm - Thursday, January 1, 2015

#10 Simon Murray

Is it just me- or does the SUPPLIED Lightroom 5 software not recognize/convert the RAW files…!!??
Why supply software which doesn’t recognize the said cameras RAW files…!!?? #angry

9:55 pm - Sunday, January 4, 2015

#11 chris

Simon Murray, as new cameras are released the support for their raw files is added to lightroom in the updates. update the software online and it will work with the NX3000 raw files : )

4:52 pm - Tuesday, February 3, 2015

#12 Simon Murray

Thanks Chris… I actually downloaded an Adobe RAW-DNG converter- which lightroom would then recognize.
Indeed, I’m sure an update would solve the issue also… :)

10:37 pm - Tuesday, February 3, 2015

#13 StephenCWLL

Can you buy different lenses for this camera? I.e. one that adds more zoom?

4:13 pm - Saturday, March 7, 2015

#14 Simon Murray

StephenCWLL- An 18-200mm lens is available- though not cheap..! If you forgo the wide angle, a 55-200mm is also available- at a much more reasonable price.

5:27 pm - Saturday, March 7, 2015

#15 Axel

the NX 3000 is on sale here in germany. I bought it in MediaMarkt (a Discounter) for 220€ including a 8GB SD and i dont regret it. Its taking great pictures and the accu last forever.

1:37 pm - Monday, March 30, 2015

#16 IOANNIS BITIS

Does anybody know the range of the Nfc or the wifi? I need to put the canera onto a photographic pole in 6.5m high. Will be possible to be connected with my phone in order to control it? thank you!

4:53 pm - Wednesday, May 20, 2015

#17 jeffrey

While this article states the cameras’ usb connection can be used with a remote shutter cable, it can’t.

I contacted Samsung about this and they confirmed. I’m very disappointed about this.

8:40 am - Sunday, May 24, 2015

#18 Oscar

It seems that Samsung have omitted the sensor clean function on the NX3000. Unfortunately this is a crass error in the review and completely misleading. This is a very important feature for most people that use interchangeable lens cameras. Reviewers need to check the camera before posting a review.

4:31 am - Monday, July 6, 2015

#19 Kelly

Although the article claims
“while on the right is a plastic cover that houses a HDMI port for connecting the NX3000 to a HD television or monitor and a USB port. The latter port can be used as a remote socket for use with the SR2NX02 remote shutter release.”

The SR2NX02 Samsung Shutter release is NOT compatible with the NX3000 and indeed there seems no way to use the port as a DIY Shutter Release either.

The NX3000 is ISO 200 (rather than the claimed ISO 100. This can be proved in PASM modes, where ISO 100 is NOT available. The camera in Auto will tend to bump up the ISO in order to keep a level par between noise, shutter speed and aperture value, and as a result will hardly ever take photos at ISO 100 {An extended ISO rather than the base ISO 200].

Overall the camera is fair but really let down by proper delivery and now that Samsung have pulled out of the Digital Camera market in EU/UK, a really poor choice for continued support.

2:00 am - Tuesday, February 2, 2016

Entry Tags

hd, review, samples, photos, compact, 1080p, test, images, compact system camera, preview, wi-fi, mirrorless, csc, camera, wireless, wifi, full hd, touchscreen, 20 megapixel, nfc, 3 inch, 5fps, nx3000, Samsung NX3000

Tracker Pixel for Entry