Samyang 85mm f/1.4 ED AS UMC Review

4.0
November 29, 2012 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

15 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Jeff Sham

Did you really mean to score it 0/5 in all categories in your Conclusion?

4:03 pm - Thursday, November 29, 2012

#2 Vesa V.

Ratings ?

4:19 pm - Thursday, November 29, 2012

#3 Vesa V.

Ratings?

4:40 pm - Thursday, November 29, 2012

#4 JS

Red rag on fence is totally blurred…

5:28 pm - Thursday, November 29, 2012

#5 Jure

The lack of auto-focusing is no tragerdy for Pentax & Samsung owners. When I use Samyang i leave the AF/MF camera-swich on AF (!! no mistake !!). Camera do not allow shooting if focus is not perfect.  Then I hold (permanently by taking a photo) the trigger and turn the focus ring. When the focus is right, camera automaticly takes a photo - one or more photos. So ... there is no mistakes. If you want to take photos out of focus just turn AF/MF camera swich on MF.

6:15 pm - Thursday, November 29, 2012

#6 CFBSr

Any shots showing bokeh?
One the the best indicators of use of a lens like this is decent background specular lights. Having smooth, round and soft highlight often add to the effect of the image.
(Even a doughnut shaped on from a good mirror lens.)

6:41 pm - Thursday, November 29, 2012

#7 Jure

You can find many bokeh-photos of this lens in internet (f.ex.: Flickr)

7:27 pm - Thursday, November 29, 2012

#8 rob

It appears that the “Main Rivals” section of this - and other reviews on this site - has nothing (or very little) to do with the reviewed product. Sometimes, they are not even in the same category…

Perhaps “rivals” are the means to support this web site financially?

1:29 am - Friday, November 30, 2012

#9 Paul

I disagree with your comment that it is better balanced on larger full frame cameras. I just purchased this lens and use it on a D5100. For me it is very well balanced and comfortable to hold. Also, the instruction manual states the lens is optimized for APS-C cameras.

3:59 am - Friday, November 30, 2012

#10 Jure

I agree with Paul.

10:19 am - Friday, November 30, 2012

#11 byjp

i owned that one on a nx100 and can’t say that the sharpness was bad at all. i was suprised how sharp the pictures were (on aps-c) on wide open and f2 / f2.8 for this price. much better wideopen sharpness e.g. than my manual minolta md 50mm f1.2 and f1.4 lenses

4:45 pm - Saturday, December 1, 2012

#12 dj

I used one these on a Olympus EP1 (with adapter) and found the sharpness was very good wide open. Stopped down to f2 it was fabulous! Balance was better than i would have thought on the M4/3 cameras too.

6:51 am - Monday, December 3, 2012

#13 Colin Nicholls

Tempted to try one of these on a XE1 body.

8:55 pm - Sunday, March 3, 2013

#14 Paul

Update to my earlier comment. After using the lens several months I could not be happier with it. Even with manual focusing I have been using it to shot photos of my granddaughters (ages 5 girls ages 2-5) They are always on the go however the focusing ring is so smooth and responsive I am able to keep up with them.

12:54 am - Monday, March 4, 2013

#15 Aperture

what a piece of glas - Kaycee McNally

6:58 am - Friday, May 3, 2013

Entry Tags

lens, prime, telephoto, portrait, f1.4, people, 85mm, samyang, manual focus, mf, Samyang 85mm f1.4 ED AS UMC Review, 85 mm

Tracker Pixel for Entry