Serif PhotoPlus X5 Review

December 23, 2011 | Matt Grayson | Software Reviews | |

Introduction

Serif Photoplus X5 is a photo editing suite that not only edits, manages and organises your pictures, but it can also convert RAW files and merge HDR images. Featuring new filters and an improved user interface, Photoplus X5 looks to be suitable for the low traffic photo editor looking for a budget alternative to Adobe Photoshop. Priced at £71.48, Serif Photoplus X5 is available for download from the Serif website here.

Serif Photoplus X5 can be either downloaded from the Serif website or bought as a hard copy CD which adds a small shipping charge to the price. We downloaded from the website which is a straightforward process and only takes a few minutes. Installing is also a standard affair and if you've ever downloaded any other software, it goes through similar motions.

Serif PhotoPlus X5Start

Once everything is ready, double clicking on the icon launches the application. A window that looks spookily similar to Photoshop appears on the screen with a smaller welcome window offering lots of things to do before you start. In fact, it reminds us also of Corel Paintshop Pro because there's a “How To” section on the left side next to the picture editing tools. Any of these options can be clicked into for tutorials and samples. Serif Photoplus X5 is an upgrade from a previous version, so we'll concentrate mainly on what is new in this version.

There are plenty of new things to do in Serif Photoplus X5. Some of the more interesting features include PhotoPlus Organiser, Photo Projects, visible current layer, improved and faster blending as well as adjustments for vibrancy, saturation and contrast.

Serif PhotoPlus X5Organiser

The Organiser opens in a different window and is well thought out. The left side is split into two tabs for organising and adding metadata. Pictures have to be imported first and it's not as straight forward as it looks. In fact we had some problems with it. At first the program wouldn't recognise any of our folders as valid import folders. We duly trawled the help sections and troubleshooting on the Serif website but ended up having to contact the Technical Department which works on a ticket system. We were contacted 1 day later with a response and they said that the import button is for retrieving pictures from a device. To import from a hard-drive, you have to choose the option Include Folder in Organiser located at the top of the file folder. Not the most intuitive description but we soon had loads of pictures loading up from our external hard-drive.

As we said previously, the left side of the window has a lot of tools similar to Photoshop or GIMP. The right side is just like Photoshop with a histogram, adjustments, layers, history and channels trays as well as others. Maybe it's because of the similarity in appearance that we kept trying to use all the Photoshop short cuts such as shift - control - E to flatten layers or shift - control - S to save as. Neither of which work. Not that it's detrimental but we were surprised to see that save as doesn't have any short-cut.

However, there are many short-cuts across the top of the window. There's a direct button to the Organiser as well as the Filter Gallery and the PhotoFix window which we really like. In this window there's a bunch of preset effects - 10 in total - for you to add to your pictures. A portrait is used as an example and we concur that this is the best type of picture to use simply due to the choice of filters on offer. To the right of the preview window, there's a whole host of custom additions you can make to your pictures and this is where Serif Photoplus X5 comes into its own.

The layout is similar to other tagging/editing systems so there's nothing new but compared to the filter gallery, it works like lightning. Adjustments can be made using typical features such as curves and sharpening (which is very accurate and sympathetic to the shot) as well as a few more creative features such as lens vignetting and chromatic aberration adjustment. It's a great window and we wager that when using this system, you'll do 90% of your work in there.

Serif PhotoPlus X5Masking

There's also a mask area which is very precise and easy to use. It employs a similar green area to Vertus Fluid Mask which makes it easier to see what you've masked and what you need to do or remove. We like the Photo Filter area and think it's possible that it saves the program from simply becoming one of the other many tagging/editing programs on the market today.

Serif PhotoPlus X5Noise Reduction

There are plenty of dedicated programs that can deal with stuff such as noise reduction or HDR merging so it's worth knowing how good Serif Photoplus X5 is to see if it can standalone on a computer without having to stuff up your hard-drive with multiple programs. Noise reduction works very well. We prefer the layout to Photoshop because it has a larger default preview window but noise manipulation is very basic. If you want a comparison to the original, a split screen can be added by clicking the icon at the top of the page.

We pumped it up to 100 pixels to see how the program handled it at full power and although it did well at removing colour noise, it also removed the colour in the subjects eyes. Being able to set the colours to remove would be more advantageous. Performing the changes takes a few moments which isn't all that bad - it's literally a matter of seconds - but is noticeably slower than Adobe. But then it's a massive price difference and this is a key point to remember.

Removing the colour noise left us with salt and pepper noise and it's this lack of features that let's the noise removal area down. We couldn't get rid of this black & white noise which is a shame. We opted for a setting of about 25 pixels to get a decent balance of noise reduction and colour retention. Looking at other more used features such as sharpening, it has a similar range of options to Photoshop. You can add a standard amount of sharpening, sharpen more, sharpen edges and there's an unsharp mask. In standard, it looks OK depending on if you've reduced noise before or after the sharpen. We recommend before to get the best results.

Entry Tags

review, photos, test, photo, software, photoshop, application, program, manage, paint shop pro, edit, serif, organise, windows, xs, photoplus, Serif PhotoPlus X5, Serif PhotoPlus X5 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry

Your Comments

79 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Jamie

Very good learning techniques. We have sent our Charleston Wedding Photographers to many editing and training classes. Its good to get refreshers on new technologies. Sometimes you have to teach old dogs new tricks of the trade.

2:33 pm - Tuesday, December 27, 2011

#2 Christian

I’m using the previous version (X4). After your test, would you say the new version is worth the upgrade?

5:08 pm - Sunday, January 1, 2012

#3 paket wisata

amazing,

2:15 am - Tuesday, September 17, 2013

#4 paket wisata murah

so artistic…

3:30 am - Thursday, November 14, 2013

#5 Home

Great tips and reviews.This will definitely be very useful for me.

2:36 am - Tuesday, March 18, 2014

#6 Troy

Photos were shot using raw at a high mega pixel how do I shrink the quality down to put on a disc so that I could print pictures in 4x6 format. I’m using serif photo plus X5.

11:23 pm - Tuesday, May 13, 2014

#7 Tempat Wisata

I love the review, good for me to edit some travel photo.

12:38 pm - Friday, August 15, 2014

#8 Paket Wisata Pulau Tidung

thanks for this share

Pulau Tidung

2:43 am - Monday, September 22, 2014

#9 Yoshiewafa

Wonderful photos, I’m studying to be a photographer and edit like this is very helpful.

11:44 am - Thursday, October 9, 2014

#13 belajar forex

Thanks so much for your nice tips. Very helpful!

1:15 pm - Thursday, October 16, 2014

#14 zero eror

Hey I just wanted to say that I really enjoyed reading your blog. You have good views, Keep up the good informative info.Good Quality and very informative Blog! Keep post!
ijen crater tour | Model Baju Korea Terbaru | belajar bisnis online | lowongan kerja surabaya | surabaya store | trend model terkini | cara agar hidup sehat | informasi teknologi terbaru saat ini | industrial vision | pusaka wanita

10:44 pm - Saturday, November 1, 2014

#15 Yoshiwafa

How to design a very nice place, I happened to be in the mood to learn my photographer and weak in his photo editing. very nice.

9:10 pm - Sunday, November 9, 2014

#18 josepakuda

great and nice review i will bookmark here klik yuk cin | jasavoteplus | jasaoptimasigplusnetajib | votegplus | click for more info here | jasaoptimasivotegoogleplus

2:31 am - Sunday, February 22, 2015

#19 lando

really nice and clean informative right here
canopy-bagus

3:18 am - Friday, March 13, 2015

#21 KlikOffice

I know for sure many readers of this article and many are giving appreciation for your writing. I say many thanks for this. if deign please read my article about and also some of my other work. thank you.

6:44 am - Wednesday, April 22, 2015

#23 TUNA ASAP

jasa seo | pasang iklan murah | mnc play media

8:50 am - Thursday, April 30, 2015

#24 BAJU GAMIS

Nice info…
Bunga Papan Surabaya | Tuna Asap |<a >Otaji</a>

12:18 pm - Monday, May 18, 2015

#25 tuna asap

May be I ger learn in here…thank you…

2:33 pm - Monday, May 18, 2015

#26 cingcarileung

many thanks for you :)
because has been post this great article
klik disini aja
click here for detail
read more
ini loh informasinya
informasi lengkap klik disini
click here
really nice information
boom informasinya didieu

9:35 am - Wednesday, May 20, 2015

#28 naga poker

Absolutely fantastic posting! Lots of useful information and inspiration, both of which we all need!Relay appreciate your work.

10:02 am - Friday, July 10, 2015

#29 poker online

This is good site to spent time; I just stumbled upon your informative blog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed reading your very well written blog posts. I will be your frequent visitor, that’s for sure.

10:06 am - Friday, July 10, 2015

#30 Dewapoker

Very interesting thanks. I believe there’s even more that could be on there! Keep it up.

10:11 am - Friday, July 10, 2015

#31 togelsingapura.org

This is a really good read for me, Must admit that you are one of the best bloggers I ever saw. Thanks for posting this informative Information.

11:28 am - Friday, July 10, 2015

#32 Jual bibit

thanks infonya . Memang Bisnis Jual Bibit ini akan sgt menjanjikan kedepannya
Tetapi pen jual bibit belum banyak. Contohnya bibit jahe merah , bibit kroto , bibit kelapa kopyor di pasaran permintaannya masih tinggi.

Selain bibit diatas ada juga bisnis jual bibit tanaman yg juga masih sangat besar
karena, bibit tanaman ini selalu di cari baik untuk reboisaasi atau lainnya.

10:54 am - Friday, July 24, 2015

#35 bibit jahe merah

thanks for article

Bibit Jahe Merah
Penyiangan Jahe Merah
Budidaya Jahe Merah

11:50 am - Saturday, August 1, 2015

#36 Penangkal Petir

CV Barka Abadi Sejahtera berada di Jakarta & Surabaya melayani jasa ahli pemasangan penangkal petir  murah yang bisa kita simak artikel & videonya di penangkal petir | penangkal petir | penangkal petir | penangkal petir | penangkal petir | penangkal petir

1:48 pm - Sunday, August 2, 2015

#37 baju gamis

Every blog is telling something and i found new experience here than try Penangkal Petir

3:11 pm - Tuesday, August 18, 2015

#38 Jual bibit

thanks infonya Bisnis <a >jual bibit </a> ini sangat menjanjikan kedepannya.
Hal ini lantaran permintaan <a >bibit tanaman </a>ini masih sangat besar.
Selain itu, <a >bibit tanaman </a> ini juga selalu di cari baik untuk reboisaasi atau lainnya. tetapi pen <a >jual bibit </a>belum banyak. seperti <a >bibit jahe merah</a>, <a > bibit kroto </a>, <a >bibit kelapa kopyor </a> di pasaran permintaannya masih tinggi.

3:49 pm - Tuesday, September 1, 2015

#39 Jual bibit

“thanks infonya Bisnis Jual Bibit  ini sangat menjanjikan kedepannya.
Hal ini lantaran permintaan jual bibit tanaman ini masih sangat besar.
Selain itu, bibit tanaman ini juga selalu di cari baik untuk reboisaasi atau lainnya. tetapi pen jual bibit belum banyak. seperti bibit jahe merah , bibit kroto , bibit kelapa kopyor di pasaran permintaannya masih tinggi.

3:51 pm - Tuesday, September 1, 2015

#40 Pulau Tidung

Menikmati indahnya pemandangan alam di dasar pantai wisata pulau tidung nan eksotik

3:54 pm - Tuesday, September 1, 2015

#41 Lagusatu.com

Photos were shot using raw at a high mega pixel how do I shrink the quality down to put on a disc so that I could print pictures in 4x6 format. I’m using serif photo plus X5.

=> Laguost.com<br>
=> Video-Mp3.Info<br>

6:11 pm - Thursday, September 3, 2015

#42 tempat rekreasi bogor

Thank you for another fantastic posting. Where else could anyone get that kind of information in such a perfect way of writing? I have a speech next week, and I was looking for more info ;)

3:10 am - Tuesday, October 20, 2015

#43 tempat wisata di bogor

You should write about the model/version on the blog. You can expose it’s perfect.

3:11 am - Tuesday, October 20, 2015

#44 tempat wisata di bogor dan sekitarnya .

I really appreciate the kind of topics post here. Thanks for sharing us a great information that is actually helpful. Good day!

3:13 am - Tuesday, October 20, 2015

#47 Pasang Banner

Wonderful post

Online Tools - TV Online - Radio Online - Tips SEO Blog - Cara Membuat Blog

4:55 am - Saturday, October 24, 2015

#48 www.inilahresep.com

Thanks for nice article, so complete.

7:40 pm - Wednesday, October 28, 2015

#49 www.inilahcara.com

Sometimes I come back here and found this useful post.

7:41 pm - Wednesday, October 28, 2015

#50 www.inilahmanfaat.com

Wow, well done!

7:44 pm - Wednesday, October 28, 2015

#51 www.inimotorku.com

Really nice share, buddy!

7:47 pm - Wednesday, October 28, 2015

#55 Pulau Seribu

Amazing.. nice article..
<a hreff=“http:www.pulauseribu-resorts.com”>  pulau seribu </a>

5:50 pm - Wednesday, December 9, 2015

#56 Kambang

download images

9:46 pm - Wednesday, December 9, 2015

#58 <a href='http://wisatamana.com' title='Wisata

Very love the review, good for me to edit some photo. Thanks for sharing us a great information that is actually helpful. Good day!

6:12 am - Monday, December 28, 2015

#59 Cara Membuat

cara membuat dan resep, informasi lengkap tentang tips dan trik,

2:11 am - Tuesday, December 29, 2015

#61 john ken

now im know more of photoplus x5,

11:40 pm - Tuesday, January 12, 2016

#63 Konveksi Kaos Jaket Surabaya

nice tips , thank

11:53 pm - Tuesday, January 12, 2016

#64 tempat wisata di bandung

nice tutoarial, this is very informative!

6:32 am - Wednesday, January 13, 2016

#66 lyle

private investigators johannesburg
seo johannesburg

1:21 pm - Thursday, January 28, 2016

#68 Koveksi Serabaya

very nice tutorial

bikin grosir kaos seragam sekolah murah

4:41 am - Friday, January 29, 2016

#69 Pulau Tidung

Thanks for taking the time to talk about this, I feel fervently about this and I take pleasure in learning about this topic. Please, as you gain information, please update this blog with more information. I have found it very useful. There have to be charging stations everywhere.

4:23 pm - Tuesday, February 9, 2016

#70 Budi

Great Post is Great People Buddy XOXO…

Meriah sekali berada disini bersama kami selku maerketing dari Afrakids yang akan memberikan anda kenang kenangan yang indah disaat dunia sedang membutuhkan sosok yang seperti ini Reseller Afrakids I think it is a right post. ocpfsd1 ocpfsd1 writes: Hey what a brilliant post I have come a cross and believe me I have been searching out for this of post for past a week and hardly came across this Agen Afrakids. Hello Guys I am a beginer in many areas and like what you have done. I believe a set of plans is available, and would like to get them whenever they come out. I am looking forward to making this my first real project after working on home repairs and remodeling Toko Baju Anak Muslim Afrakids.

Today is a good day because i found this site very great and many information to be learn buddy Toko Afrakids. Mabarita labella rusta… I hope our style is so unique compared to other folks I’ve read stuff from. Thanks for posting when you’ve got the opportunity, all of you in helathness Baju Afrakids.

Hello everybody.. thank you fir share this one… It will can be great article like mind Kaos Afrakids will be get right answer just only this site will be bookmark yet Baju Anak Afrakids .  I found this site at google search engine. Thank you for sharing about article. Uderstand hard work like this article almost need a good mind just Kaos Anak Afrakids and you can believe langsung bisa comot karena kandungan akamnya sangat mengusi dihati. Just let you know how about Baju Anak Muslim Afrakids is beautiful wearimg for you dude. saya suka dengan artikelnya, apalagi di indonesia kayu merupakan sumber daya terbesar mungkin di dunia. kalo mau mengenal indonesia bisa di mulai dari pulau seribu dimana juga ada Kaos Anak Muslim Afrakids style is so unique compared to other folks I’ve read stuff from. Thanks for posting when you’ve got the opportunity, Guess I’ll just book mark this site: Agen Afrakids Surabaya.

melihat di kolom menu Pulau tidung Traveling dengan harga yang beragam yang anda bisa pilih sesuai dengan jujet anda pribadi , Pulau Tidung sangat cocok untuk berlibur dengan teman. Tidung Toko Afrakids Surabaya.

4:30 am - Thursday, February 18, 2016

#72 vimax

trimakasih indah banget gambar2nya moga bisa nambah pengalaman ah

8:36 pm - Friday, April 1, 2016

#73 Iklan Gratis

I think it is a right post. ocpfsd1 ocpfsd1 writes: Hey what a brilliant post I have come a cross and believe me I have been searching out for this of post for past a week and hardly came across this

4:48 pm - Tuesday, April 19, 2016

#74 Lowongan

thanks for information

4:19 am - Friday, May 6, 2016

#75 Wisata Indonesia

Thanks for taking the time to talk about this, I feel fervently about this and I take pleasure in learning about this topic. Please, as you gain information, please update this blog with more information. I have found it very useful. There have to be charging stations everywhere.b

4:21 am - Friday, May 6, 2016

#76 Wisata Indonesia

thanks for your sharing guys

4:22 am - Friday, May 6, 2016

#77 World Cheap Travel

Amazing. it’s very good technique.

8:09 am - Saturday, May 7, 2016

#79 Olar

Thanks for taking the time to talk about this, I feel fervently about this and I take pleasure in learning about this topic. Please, as you gain information, please update this blog with more information


Games Android Latest Version | Download Game Apk | Kebacut.com

3:58 pm - Friday, July 8, 2016