Serif PhotoPlus X5 Review

December 23, 2011 | Matt Grayson | Software Reviews | |

Serif PhotoPlus X5Filter Gallery

There's loads to do in Serif Photoplus X5's filter gallery. It's designed to let you have some fun with your pictures. The picture you choose is loaded into the space on the left while the filters are set out on the right. The panel is divided into 2 sections with the filters on the top and fine tune adjustments can be made on the bottom. What filter you use will determine the sliders that appear on the bottom.

Serif PhotoPlus X5Cropping

There are the usual features there such as blur, noise and distort but there are also more interesting options such as edge and artistic. The artistic option will change the make-up of your picture according to the type you choose be it Impressionist, Expressionist, Munchist, Old Master, Watercolour or Pencil. Interestingly, Van Gogh has his own filter which is most probably down to his unique style. We had initial problems loading the filters in because the system ran out of memory which was frustrating when the rendering got all the way to the end only to be met by an error code. However, we closed the picture down, reloaded it and it worked fine.

Serif PhotoPlus X5Spot Repair

This overload of information could cause problems if you prefer to upload multiple files to work on. Just like the noise sliders, the art filter sliders are very basic. There are 2 on the Van Gogh option for Scale and Colour. It seems the scale slider adjusts the size of the paint strokes. We recommend starting at around 20 and playing around with it from there. This option seems to work best with subjects of solid colour such as postboxes or sunflowers.

Serif PhotoPlus X5Red-eye Removal

The colour slider does make an adjustment but it's very slight unless you go from one end of the slider to the other. The lower end of the scale gives an effect more akin to the impressionist movement while the top end gives definite differences in colour through the strokes which gives a much stronger display of strokes, akin to Van Gogh's later works such as The Starry Night.

Serif Photoplus X5's art filters need a lot of processing power. Even after we shut down our other programs and only had X5 running, it took a long time just to preview the filter. It also has to load each amendment you make so just trying a filter on a picture can take around 5 minutes. The computer we tested this on has 2Gb of RAM. Interestingly, we found that if you don't wait for the changes to be made and simply click OK, it doesn't add them but still shows in the history bar as having the filter applied.

Conclusion

On the surface, Serif PhotoPlus X5 appears to be a very easy to use program and there are some elements that have been simplified in order to not confuse the layman. However, Serif have cleverly hidden the fine tuning away in the Photo Fix window so if you do need it, it's there.

We can see how people who just want to play around with their pictures would be happy with the basic level of access though. So is this a program designed for the beginner? One would think so but the addition of the Photo Fix window and RAW file conversion suggests otherwise. That's something that serious photographers tend to get into, but it can also be there for potential photography enthusiasts to grow into.

There are some issues that need addressing. One way we test the intuitiveness of any equipment is by seeing how easy it is to use without the need for instructions or help functions. We had to contact Technical Help to deal with one problem because the online help didn't have the explanation.

The overall performance of Serif Photoplus X5 is very good. Loading a picture in using a drag and drop is ultra fast and changes made in the Photo Fix window were instant. We enjoyed using the art filters although the digital effects do take a lot of processing power. We can see that they'd look good printed onto some canvas, though we'd like it that once it's loaded in the filter, the amendments would be instantaneous. That way, we'd be less bothered waiting a while for the final processing. It would mean loading in the picture in low resolution which isn't a problem for other programs. The Watercolour example took around 5 minutes to load as a preview and a further 7 minutes to load it onto the final image after accepting it.

For around £70 Serif Photoplus X5 is certainly not a bad program, but bear in mind you can get Corel Paint Shop Pro for less than this and that's a full editing suite. While Serif Photoplus X5 does a lot, it seems to be marketed more as a tagging/import/editing suite.

3.5 stars

Ratings (out of 5)
Features 3.5
Ease-of-use 3
Value for money 4

Entry Tags

review, photos, test, photo, software, photoshop, application, program, manage, edit, paint shop pro, serif, organise, windows, xs, photoplus, Serif PhotoPlus X5, Serif PhotoPlus X5 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry

Your Comments

79 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Jamie

Very good learning techniques. We have sent our Charleston Wedding Photographers to many editing and training classes. Its good to get refreshers on new technologies. Sometimes you have to teach old dogs new tricks of the trade.

2:33 pm - Tuesday, December 27, 2011

#2 Christian

I’m using the previous version (X4). After your test, would you say the new version is worth the upgrade?

5:08 pm - Sunday, January 1, 2012

#3 paket wisata

amazing,

2:15 am - Tuesday, September 17, 2013

#4 paket wisata murah

so artistic…

3:30 am - Thursday, November 14, 2013

#5 Home

Great tips and reviews.This will definitely be very useful for me.

2:36 am - Tuesday, March 18, 2014

#6 Troy

Photos were shot using raw at a high mega pixel how do I shrink the quality down to put on a disc so that I could print pictures in 4x6 format. I’m using serif photo plus X5.

11:23 pm - Tuesday, May 13, 2014

#7 Tempat Wisata

I love the review, good for me to edit some travel photo.

12:38 pm - Friday, August 15, 2014

#8 Paket Wisata Pulau Tidung

thanks for this share

Pulau Tidung

2:43 am - Monday, September 22, 2014

#9 Yoshiewafa

Wonderful photos, I’m studying to be a photographer and edit like this is very helpful.

11:44 am - Thursday, October 9, 2014

#13 belajar forex

Thanks so much for your nice tips. Very helpful!

1:15 pm - Thursday, October 16, 2014

#14 zero eror

Hey I just wanted to say that I really enjoyed reading your blog. You have good views, Keep up the good informative info.Good Quality and very informative Blog! Keep post!
ijen crater tour | Model Baju Korea Terbaru | belajar bisnis online | lowongan kerja surabaya | surabaya store | trend model terkini | cara agar hidup sehat | informasi teknologi terbaru saat ini | industrial vision | pusaka wanita

10:44 pm - Saturday, November 1, 2014

#15 Yoshiwafa

How to design a very nice place, I happened to be in the mood to learn my photographer and weak in his photo editing. very nice.

9:10 pm - Sunday, November 9, 2014

#18 josepakuda

great and nice review i will bookmark here klik yuk cin | jasavoteplus | jasaoptimasigplusnetajib | votegplus | click for more info here | jasaoptimasivotegoogleplus

2:31 am - Sunday, February 22, 2015

#19 lando

really nice and clean informative right here
canopy-bagus

3:18 am - Friday, March 13, 2015

#21 KlikOffice

I know for sure many readers of this article and many are giving appreciation for your writing. I say many thanks for this. if deign please read my article about and also some of my other work. thank you.

6:44 am - Wednesday, April 22, 2015

#23 TUNA ASAP

jasa seo | pasang iklan murah | mnc play media

8:50 am - Thursday, April 30, 2015

#24 BAJU GAMIS

Nice info…
Bunga Papan Surabaya | Tuna Asap |<a >Otaji</a>

12:18 pm - Monday, May 18, 2015

#25 tuna asap

May be I ger learn in here…thank you…

2:33 pm - Monday, May 18, 2015

#26 cingcarileung

many thanks for you :)
because has been post this great article
klik disini aja
click here for detail
read more
ini loh informasinya
informasi lengkap klik disini
click here
really nice information
boom informasinya didieu

9:35 am - Wednesday, May 20, 2015

#28 naga poker

Absolutely fantastic posting! Lots of useful information and inspiration, both of which we all need!Relay appreciate your work.

10:02 am - Friday, July 10, 2015

#29 poker online

This is good site to spent time; I just stumbled upon your informative blog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed reading your very well written blog posts. I will be your frequent visitor, that’s for sure.

10:06 am - Friday, July 10, 2015

#30 Dewapoker

Very interesting thanks. I believe there’s even more that could be on there! Keep it up.

10:11 am - Friday, July 10, 2015

#31 togelsingapura.org

This is a really good read for me, Must admit that you are one of the best bloggers I ever saw. Thanks for posting this informative Information.

11:28 am - Friday, July 10, 2015

#32 Jual bibit

thanks infonya . Memang Bisnis Jual Bibit ini akan sgt menjanjikan kedepannya
Tetapi pen jual bibit belum banyak. Contohnya bibit jahe merah , bibit kroto , bibit kelapa kopyor di pasaran permintaannya masih tinggi.

Selain bibit diatas ada juga bisnis jual bibit tanaman yg juga masih sangat besar
karena, bibit tanaman ini selalu di cari baik untuk reboisaasi atau lainnya.

10:54 am - Friday, July 24, 2015

#35 bibit jahe merah

thanks for article

Bibit Jahe Merah
Penyiangan Jahe Merah
Budidaya Jahe Merah

11:50 am - Saturday, August 1, 2015

#36 Penangkal Petir

CV Barka Abadi Sejahtera berada di Jakarta & Surabaya melayani jasa ahli pemasangan penangkal petir  murah yang bisa kita simak artikel & videonya di penangkal petir | penangkal petir | penangkal petir | penangkal petir | penangkal petir | penangkal petir

1:48 pm - Sunday, August 2, 2015

#37 baju gamis

Every blog is telling something and i found new experience here than try Penangkal Petir

3:11 pm - Tuesday, August 18, 2015

#38 Jual bibit

thanks infonya Bisnis <a >jual bibit </a> ini sangat menjanjikan kedepannya.
Hal ini lantaran permintaan <a >bibit tanaman </a>ini masih sangat besar.
Selain itu, <a >bibit tanaman </a> ini juga selalu di cari baik untuk reboisaasi atau lainnya. tetapi pen <a >jual bibit </a>belum banyak. seperti <a >bibit jahe merah</a>, <a > bibit kroto </a>, <a >bibit kelapa kopyor </a> di pasaran permintaannya masih tinggi.

3:49 pm - Tuesday, September 1, 2015

#39 Jual bibit

“thanks infonya Bisnis Jual Bibit  ini sangat menjanjikan kedepannya.
Hal ini lantaran permintaan jual bibit tanaman ini masih sangat besar.
Selain itu, bibit tanaman ini juga selalu di cari baik untuk reboisaasi atau lainnya. tetapi pen jual bibit belum banyak. seperti bibit jahe merah , bibit kroto , bibit kelapa kopyor di pasaran permintaannya masih tinggi.

3:51 pm - Tuesday, September 1, 2015

#40 Pulau Tidung

Menikmati indahnya pemandangan alam di dasar pantai wisata pulau tidung nan eksotik

3:54 pm - Tuesday, September 1, 2015

#41 Lagusatu.com

Photos were shot using raw at a high mega pixel how do I shrink the quality down to put on a disc so that I could print pictures in 4x6 format. I’m using serif photo plus X5.

=> Laguost.com<br>
=> Video-Mp3.Info<br>

6:11 pm - Thursday, September 3, 2015

#42 tempat rekreasi bogor

Thank you for another fantastic posting. Where else could anyone get that kind of information in such a perfect way of writing? I have a speech next week, and I was looking for more info ;)

3:10 am - Tuesday, October 20, 2015

#43 tempat wisata di bogor

You should write about the model/version on the blog. You can expose it’s perfect.

3:11 am - Tuesday, October 20, 2015

#44 tempat wisata di bogor dan sekitarnya .

I really appreciate the kind of topics post here. Thanks for sharing us a great information that is actually helpful. Good day!

3:13 am - Tuesday, October 20, 2015

#47 Pasang Banner

Wonderful post

Online Tools - TV Online - Radio Online - Tips SEO Blog - Cara Membuat Blog

4:55 am - Saturday, October 24, 2015

#48 www.inilahresep.com

Thanks for nice article, so complete.

7:40 pm - Wednesday, October 28, 2015

#49 www.inilahcara.com

Sometimes I come back here and found this useful post.

7:41 pm - Wednesday, October 28, 2015

#50 www.inilahmanfaat.com

Wow, well done!

7:44 pm - Wednesday, October 28, 2015

#51 www.inimotorku.com

Really nice share, buddy!

7:47 pm - Wednesday, October 28, 2015

#55 Pulau Seribu

Amazing.. nice article..
<a hreff=“http:www.pulauseribu-resorts.com”>  pulau seribu </a>

5:50 pm - Wednesday, December 9, 2015

#56 Kambang

download images

9:46 pm - Wednesday, December 9, 2015

#58 <a href='http://wisatamana.com' title='Wisata

Very love the review, good for me to edit some photo. Thanks for sharing us a great information that is actually helpful. Good day!

6:12 am - Monday, December 28, 2015

#59 Cara Membuat

cara membuat dan resep, informasi lengkap tentang tips dan trik,

2:11 am - Tuesday, December 29, 2015

#61 john ken

now im know more of photoplus x5,

11:40 pm - Tuesday, January 12, 2016

#63 Konveksi Kaos Jaket Surabaya

nice tips , thank

11:53 pm - Tuesday, January 12, 2016

#64 tempat wisata di bandung

nice tutoarial, this is very informative!

6:32 am - Wednesday, January 13, 2016

#66 lyle

private investigators johannesburg
seo johannesburg

1:21 pm - Thursday, January 28, 2016

#68 Koveksi Serabaya

very nice tutorial

bikin grosir kaos seragam sekolah murah

4:41 am - Friday, January 29, 2016

#69 Pulau Tidung

Thanks for taking the time to talk about this, I feel fervently about this and I take pleasure in learning about this topic. Please, as you gain information, please update this blog with more information. I have found it very useful. There have to be charging stations everywhere.

4:23 pm - Tuesday, February 9, 2016

#70 Budi

Great Post is Great People Buddy XOXO…

Meriah sekali berada disini bersama kami selku maerketing dari Afrakids yang akan memberikan anda kenang kenangan yang indah disaat dunia sedang membutuhkan sosok yang seperti ini Reseller Afrakids I think it is a right post. ocpfsd1 ocpfsd1 writes: Hey what a brilliant post I have come a cross and believe me I have been searching out for this of post for past a week and hardly came across this Agen Afrakids. Hello Guys I am a beginer in many areas and like what you have done. I believe a set of plans is available, and would like to get them whenever they come out. I am looking forward to making this my first real project after working on home repairs and remodeling Toko Baju Anak Muslim Afrakids.

Today is a good day because i found this site very great and many information to be learn buddy Toko Afrakids. Mabarita labella rusta… I hope our style is so unique compared to other folks I’ve read stuff from. Thanks for posting when you’ve got the opportunity, all of you in helathness Baju Afrakids.

Hello everybody.. thank you fir share this one… It will can be great article like mind Kaos Afrakids will be get right answer just only this site will be bookmark yet Baju Anak Afrakids .  I found this site at google search engine. Thank you for sharing about article. Uderstand hard work like this article almost need a good mind just Kaos Anak Afrakids and you can believe langsung bisa comot karena kandungan akamnya sangat mengusi dihati. Just let you know how about Baju Anak Muslim Afrakids is beautiful wearimg for you dude. saya suka dengan artikelnya, apalagi di indonesia kayu merupakan sumber daya terbesar mungkin di dunia. kalo mau mengenal indonesia bisa di mulai dari pulau seribu dimana juga ada Kaos Anak Muslim Afrakids style is so unique compared to other folks I’ve read stuff from. Thanks for posting when you’ve got the opportunity, Guess I’ll just book mark this site: Agen Afrakids Surabaya.

melihat di kolom menu Pulau tidung Traveling dengan harga yang beragam yang anda bisa pilih sesuai dengan jujet anda pribadi , Pulau Tidung sangat cocok untuk berlibur dengan teman. Tidung Toko Afrakids Surabaya.

4:30 am - Thursday, February 18, 2016

#72 vimax

trimakasih indah banget gambar2nya moga bisa nambah pengalaman ah

8:36 pm - Friday, April 1, 2016

#73 Iklan Gratis

I think it is a right post. ocpfsd1 ocpfsd1 writes: Hey what a brilliant post I have come a cross and believe me I have been searching out for this of post for past a week and hardly came across this

4:48 pm - Tuesday, April 19, 2016

#74 Lowongan

thanks for information

4:19 am - Friday, May 6, 2016

#75 Wisata Indonesia

Thanks for taking the time to talk about this, I feel fervently about this and I take pleasure in learning about this topic. Please, as you gain information, please update this blog with more information. I have found it very useful. There have to be charging stations everywhere.b

4:21 am - Friday, May 6, 2016

#76 Wisata Indonesia

thanks for your sharing guys

4:22 am - Friday, May 6, 2016

#77 World Cheap Travel

Amazing. it’s very good technique.

8:09 am - Saturday, May 7, 2016

#79 Olar

Thanks for taking the time to talk about this, I feel fervently about this and I take pleasure in learning about this topic. Please, as you gain information, please update this blog with more information


Games Android Latest Version | Download Game Apk | Kebacut.com

3:58 pm - Friday, July 8, 2016