Sigma DP2 Quattro Review

4.0
July 25, 2014 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

14 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 dan

There is a lot of people fussing over the image quality saying it’s worse that the previous ones (something about micro contrast!). I just cant see it! The image look great and the ISO is better.
Well done Sigma for not being a sheep, if I have money to burn I would buy one. I almost bought a DP2X recently, very tempted :)

2:58 pm - Friday, July 25, 2014

#2 Xpanded

“If you want a different focal length, then the wider-angle DP1 Quattro has an equivalent 28mm lens, or the DP3 Quattro has a 75mm lens.”

When were these two cameras announced?

5:47 pm - Friday, July 25, 2014

#3 Xpanded

“It takes around 10 seconds to store RAW files, although thankfully you can take another shot almost straight-away, which addresses one of our main criticisms of the previous Merrill generation.”

The number of errors in this review is shocking. You can fire away on the Merrills as well.

5:56 pm - Friday, July 25, 2014

#4 Tina Edwards

For problems holding the camera - http://www.imaging-resource.com have posted the following:

The new Sigma dp2 Quattro has a very unique design. Here’s how you hold it! (VIDEO)
demonstration
by William Brawley
posted Friday, July 18, 2014

Xpanded

“Sigma hasn’t announced availability or pricing for the dp1 and dp3 yet, but says the dp2 will be the first model available in August, for $999. The cameras will make their official debut at the CP+ camera show in Japan.”

(This article was originally posted on February 11, 2014) on http://www.digitaltrends.com website

7:12 pm - Friday, July 25, 2014

#5 mr.truth

Silly money for a silly camera, a CHEAPER DSLR will destroy it

Be ok for $399

2:37 am - Saturday, July 26, 2014

#6 Kendall Helmstetter Gelner

@mr “truth”: The real “Truth” is there is a reason the competitive cameras includes the D810 - cheaper DSLR’s have lower resolution than the DPQ.  Either the DPQ or the DPM cameras actually make for great companion cameras for high end DSLR’s, since the DPQ provides the same level of image quality and resolution with a prime lens sharper than almost anything you can buy for the main camera… it’s like having a prime with an extra body for the same price as a good prime lens.  How many other cheap DSLRs have 14-bit RAW files…

A few corrections to the first page of the review:

1) With a 95MB/s SD card (I have a Sandisk but I think any fast card would work as well) I go from pressing the shutter to review in six seconds, not ten.  If you’ve used the previous generation DP Merrill cameras, the full image saving cycle is about twice as fast.

2) “the final image is 5424x3616 pixels in size, which limits how big you can print or crop” - it doesn’t though, remember that bayer cameras produce output that is already upscaled (going from 1/2 the number of green photosites to the full output resolution) and the Foveon output is not upscaled at all.  So you can easily upscale it to bayer resolutions (around 39MP from the Quattro) for use in cropping or large prints.

3) You should probably mention the DP1 Quattro and DP3 Quattro are not yet for sale.

4) The DNG file format makes it technically impossible to store Foveon data (it was designed for Bayer raw data).

5) The great thing about the QS menu is that you can customize it by removing some feature you do not need quick access to (say crop mode) and replacing it with something you do (I have mine set up to include exposure bracketing settings to quickly enable and disable that feature).

6) Although the AF is not multi-point, it does include face recognition as one option which can be useful for people images.

7) Perhaps I missed it but no mention of there being a cable release this time around (It’s a USB cable option).

3:43 am - Saturday, July 26, 2014

#7 Jay

Nice to see the corrections.


Images that can easily be printed at 2 feet by 3 feet still at 300 ppi sure would seem cover zooming into an area and print.


Really: Try exporting from raw at double size.

Big deal, ISO 6400 is unusable, and no one expected it would be. (Don’t know about ISO 3200, but 1600 will work in some conditions.)


As Tina says above, see the Imaging-Resource video about handling this body before dismissing it.

1:24 pm - Saturday, July 26, 2014

#8 Jay

mr.truth:


Nope, not for ISO 400 and below. And it’s unclear that the D810 has better image quality than this Sigma down at those ISOs, nor better resolution.


Right DSLRs (nonSigma) have faster frame rates.

1:27 pm - Saturday, July 26, 2014

#9 vauve

Very noisy images from ISO 1600 up.

3:20 pm - Sunday, July 27, 2014

#10 Leo

I have downloaded the sample images, first worked with them in SPP 6 and then saved as 16 bit tiff. Just like I do with my Sigma DP1M,DP2M and DP3M. The images at 100 iso are soft in comparison. I never take images at higher iso with my Merrills. At 400 iso it looks to me they are the same as the Merrills, above is ugly, just like before.

In my view the higher iso’s are not better, the DP is simply no high iso camera. No big deal for me. But I am surprised that the IQ at 100 iso is worse. Soft.

11:13 pm - Tuesday, July 29, 2014

#11 Leo

Look at the loss in color, when the iso goes up, especially the greens. Even at the tumbnails you can see that. You go for the perfect image with a Sigma DP and this is far from perfect. Sharpening at 100 iso? With the Merrill you do not sharping at all, I sometimes set the sharpening in SPP at -2.

8:26 am - Wednesday, July 30, 2014

#12 Caleb Murdock

JPG processing is the Achilles heel of MOST cameras, but especially of the Sigma cameras.  It is a real shame.

Despite what the review says, I don’t see an improvement in image quality over the DP2 Merrill.  If I can scrape together the money, I intend to get the Merrill.

Also, for me, 28mm is too wide and 45mm is too narrow.  I wish they made something in between.

11:50 am - Friday, August 1, 2014

#13 Russell Dawkins

I see camera shake in the sample image of the bicycles against a blue wall.

8:47 am - Saturday, September 6, 2014

#14 Jake Sukk

Moan Moan.

All these old farts just moan all the time. So bored of it. Maybe 15 years I have seen it on these kind of sites now. Give it up.

2:02 am - Sunday, October 12, 2014

Entry Tags

review, compact, photos, samples, images, lens, camera, compact camera, f2.8, sigma, fixed, 30mm, Foveon, dp2, 45mm, quattro, Foveon X3, Foveon X3 Quattro, Sigma DP2 Quattro

Tracker Pixel for Entry