Sony A3000 Review

4.0
October 23, 2013 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

14 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Andrew

This camera’s parts are worth more than the whole.

Black 18-55mm is priced at $300 on amazon
W battery $40 on amazon

If you need these two items because you bought a body only nex or a 16-50mm kit this is a sweet deal.

12:19 pm - Friday, December 13, 2013

#2 swapnil jinnawar

I am very confused between nikon D3100 & sony ILCE 3000 ? Who is better?Please help me ?

10:34 am - Tuesday, December 17, 2013

#3 Maynard

Can I use my Minolta lens with the d3100 which I use on my Minolata 35mm 5000?

6:51 pm - Saturday, December 21, 2013

#4 Josh H

I bought this camera about a week ago, and I am absolutely loving it. Before, I had a Nikon D5100 but needed to get rid of it due to being laid off. I needed cash. Now that I am happily back in the work force at an even better job, I decided to treat myself, but I didn’t want to break the bank. I did a lot of research on this camera before buying, watched video reviews, looked at sample images, read user reviews on amazon, best buy, everywhere I could find. Every photo I have taken has turned out amazing. The first picture I took was gorgeous, and I have loved it from there. I use Aperture to edit the colors and effects and my friends love the photos, I get tons of genuinely positive comments. Also, the great thing is Amazon had it for $279, so I price matched Amazon at the store I bought it from. A $400 camera for $279…especially THIS camera…can’t beat it. Coming from a true DSLR to a faux DSLR, I am so, so, SO happy with this camera. If you’re reading this while contemplating buying this camera…DO IT!

10:50 pm - Monday, December 30, 2013

#5 april

what lenses are compatible with sony A3000? Can i use A-mount lenses and how?

8:35 am - Saturday, January 18, 2014

#6 clark321

The A3000 is really a Sony Nex in disguise, so all lens thatfit the Nex will fit the A3000. To use A mount lenses you will need an adapter.
The problem with using A mount lenses is that there is no IS. This is a real problem with longer lenses. Ive ordered a Chinese, canon to Nex, adapter with electrical connections. If it works well I looking at buying a Canon 70-300 and trying it out on an A3000.

7:12 am - Monday, January 20, 2014

#7 april

thanks clark321. can you also confirm if sony a3000 is an slr or just an slr-like type of camera. cause i would like to join the photography lesson and they require an slr cam only.

7:15 am - Tuesday, January 21, 2014

#8 Warren Lyons

From what I have heard, this model is already due for replacement.  It seems that the production run of entry DSLRs and mirrorless cameras is about as long as the average celebrity marriage.  Whatever the case, many retailers, both brick and mortar, as well as online, are “whoring” out this model at prices that are too low to resist.  Just picked up a floor sample, missing only the packing and neck strap for $180.00.  If you can look past its clumsy menus and poor instruction manual, this camera is the best sub $200 model available

5:54 pm - Wednesday, February 5, 2014

#9 marnix claus

I bought the camera today for $300
I need the lens and the extra battery , so for me this camera come for free.
and while I ad it , I took some pictures with this camera, it is not a speed demon , and yes lcd and viewfinder could be better.
But the Images it produce are great , while I have the Nikon D3200 and the Canon 600D , this camera produce just the same good pictures.
the camera feel indeed cheap, but do have a dslr feel to it, the handling is good, and super easy to use.it is just like the nex 3n 5n
Tune the camera bit and it is great.
LCD max and viewfinder max
Vivid and contrast +1 and sharpness + 1
you see a different world.

See the results here.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/marnix_claus/sets/72157641517110455/


 

6:52 pm - Tuesday, February 25, 2014

#10 Sudhanva

Hi iam looking for zoom lens for sony a3000! Please suggest.

7:24 am - Thursday, April 17, 2014

#11 Mick

The A3500 is on sale in Australia at my local camera store for AUS$299.  I understand it has a different lens to the 3000, an 18-50 without optical image stabilisation. The Australian website says the A3500 has an “Anti motion Blur mode”
Those seem to be the only differences between the cameras.  Other blogs have suggested a lack of any OSS. The way I read it the camera has some sort of inbuilt OSS and Sony calls in anti blur mode. In any case, at that price, I reckon you cannot buy a new camera with better image quality at that price.

3:17 pm - Saturday, June 14, 2014

#12 rshirk

I have bought this camera by being attracted to it price point. I had never really used a mirrorless camera before. I do like the fact that I do not hear a lot of noise when the shutter is pressed. I also like that the pictures are very clear and the quality is excellent.

I also like that the camera body is light, with a ASC sized sensor. Of course, it has flaws,as anything does. If you do your research and due diligence, you will like this camera.

I also love the pictures I get indoors(noise appears at about 3200 ISO). I will be using this camera for indoors and travel. I own a DSLR for most everything else. Although the lenses seem light, there are enough of them for any shooting situation you may come upon.

9:30 am - Sunday, June 15, 2014

#13 Gianni

Hello, I have an old Minolta Dynax 700si with some old lenses: Tamron 200-400, Sigma 70-210 and Minolta 28-80 all of them with AF and manual zoom.
Can I use these old lenses with this Sony Alpha 3000?
If the answer is yes, the AF function will work fine?
These old lenses are still good for a new digital camera?
I have found a new A3000 body (without lenses) for 150 EUR. Do you think it’s a good price?

9:41 am - Tuesday, June 17, 2014

#14 rshirk

If the lenses are an E mount, they should fit. I would consult Sony to find out. I believe that if you can find a camera for that price, you should get it. However, do your research and see what you come up with. Best of luck in your search.


11:54 am - Tuesday, June 17, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, 1080p, compact system camera, hdmi, sony, mirrorless, csc, dslr, 20 megapixel, evf, viewfinder, a3000, Sony A3000, Sony A3000 Review, electronic

Tracker Pixel for Entry