Sony A37 Review

5.0
June 27, 2012 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

70 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 JS

I agree, a great small camera but some pics are
little soft.

5:10 pm - Wednesday, June 27, 2012

#2 SharpEdward

just as Jason implied I am impressed that you able to get paid $4756 in a few weeks on the computer. have you seen this link(Click on menu Home more information)  http://goo.gl/r9KuA

12:48 am - Thursday, June 28, 2012

#3 yudhir

Movie recording mode - AVCHD   1920 x 1080 (50p recording, 28 Mbps, 50i 24 Mbps, 50i 17 Mbps, 25p 24 Mbps, 25p 17 Mbps, 25p 12 Mbps)

Please verify: 50p 28 mbps? is this true?

5:07 am - Thursday, June 28, 2012

#4 ink cartridges

Very affordable price and best camera for new starter photographers because contain very user friendly features.

7:35 am - Thursday, June 28, 2012

#5 AlphaUser

@yudhir

http://www.sony.co.uk/product/dsi-body/slt-a37#/TechnicalSpecs

9:58 am - Thursday, June 28, 2012

#6 Abaregi

I would recommend this camera to everyone that want to take the step up to dslr typ cameras.

The value is great compared to the Canon and Nikon entry range.

In house VR and EVF

5:27 pm - Thursday, June 28, 2012

#7 yudhir

@alpha user
Then i should say “i am impressed”

5:39 pm - Thursday, June 28, 2012

#8 Trev

Great review. I was about to purchasing the Lumix GF5 but think this review has convinced me the A37 is the one to go for.

1:21 pm - Monday, July 2, 2012

#9 NOK

Nice review. Your article has convinced me to buy this camera instead of the A57. Sony has come a long way and has made tremendous progress in SLT cameras.

5:50 pm - Wednesday, July 11, 2012

#10 someone

Really great entry-level camera! ;)

3:14 pm - Saturday, August 25, 2012

#11 Barney Stinson

Can anyone tell me if this takes Lexar sdxc cards or not?

9:58 pm - Wednesday, September 12, 2012

#12 Mitchell F Martin

i have a minolta 7000 maxxum, and i really like it. but i’ve been thinking about buying a digital camera, to make it less of a hassle to upload pictures to the internet. this seems like the perfect camera for my budget!

9:28 pm - Thursday, October 4, 2012

#13 Vikrant

I bought this camera and love every bit of it. Although I miss the ability to take pictures while video shooting. Overall I’m very satisfied with the buy, very user friendly and excellent handling.

6:40 pm - Thursday, October 11, 2012

#14 Peter B

A very nice camera and very easy to use with buttons placed in sensible places and an Fn comprehensive menu better than the Nikon D5100.
Although an entry level camera, the number of user friendly features belong on a mid range DSLR.
Jpegs are highly detailed and landscapes are fabulous in Scene mode. Just add a +2 to charpening. The only down side is a rather low resolution LCD which in all honesty is not that bad and is still easy to read. Think of all the lovely Konica/Minolta lenses you can also use.

10:14 am - Tuesday, November 27, 2012

#15 Agil

Consider myself as intermediate hobbyist not a prof photographer I have been using Pentax Mz-60 35ml film (still perfectly working and I love it) since 2002 then I had Fuji S20 Pro (CCD gone recently). I bought A37 and not regret. Best camera (for starters and serious hobbyists) and I love it. Even much better then D3100 and EOS 1100d ( I had a chance to play with EOS for a day).Colour gamma is the best +  very low level of noise, perfect to shoot on the fly (stabiliser works like sharm) + fast shooting (I live not far from Silverstone cannot wait for F1 ?), sharp images (take raw and process – and it it very sharp, on jpeg from camera you will get it a bit soft but many people will not notice that). I always wanted to experiment with night photography (and I love how the camera shoots on 30 sec -perfect). Despite it is consider as entry level camera it has a very big potential !!! Sony created this camera (despite of the fact its SLT) taking into account all futures of D3100 or Eos 1100d + added extra! Honestly, my personal opinion it is much better! Oh, I am person who prefer photos rather then catching movies but I am very impressed especially with manual setting how this camera record HD movie as manual focus is very good (but you need to get used to it)! So, for shure you do not need a camcorder with this camera at all! On 32gb you will get nice 3 hour of Full HD - which you can consider then for serious editing but it is not for me ?). I will recommend this camera to anyone who wants to start in digital photography! Well done Sony!

2:37 am - Thursday, November 29, 2012

#16 Ken

The camera is great.  It takes much better pictures than Canon models costing twice as much.  The color and focusing in the pictures are much more accurate coming out of the camera.  The files coming out of the Canon always need photoshop.  This camera will amaze both new and experienced photographers.

10:51 pm - Tuesday, December 4, 2012

#17 Peter B

Most cameras will show ‘soft’ out put at default.

Nearly all the tests conducted by P Blog show this. Just dial in some in camera sharpening. The beauty of the A37 and A57 is you can carry out all adjustments while up at the eye. The various functions brought up by the Fn button and AEL button when selected are some of the best I have used and are much more useful than some other well known cameras I could name.

The 18-55 kit lens really shines and in my opinion is probably the best [optically] kit lens currently available on any DSLR.
This camera would suit the beginner and pro a like and a very nice kit can be built up fron Sony and Konica/Minolta AF lenses.

I find nothing wrong with its Jpegs and they are very colourful,detailed and sharp with surprisingly little noise at least up to ISO 1600.
No wonder EphotoZine gave it Entry level DSLR camera of the year. To me it goes beyond entry level and it really is a camera that will be what you want it to be!

Peter B

10:08 am - Wednesday, December 5, 2012

#18 varun

@Peter B

would you recommend this over an olympus e pm 1(14*42 mm + 40-150 mm) combo? they are similarly priced over here.

i would like to hone my photography skills and would love some advice on the matter.

i also have the option of going for the sony nex 5(not the 5N which isn’t available here).

7:20 am - Friday, December 14, 2012

#19 Peter B

Varun

I much prefer the Sony A37 over the Olympus. It has so much more to offer and is much easier[in my opinion] to use than the EMP-3. You have the choice of an EVF or LCD to choose from and the number of excellent lenses from Sony, Minolta, Sigma and Tamron is a bonus.
Its small light and takes excellent pictures.
There are quite a few features in the camera that the Olympus doesn’t have, thus it has the potential to be and excellent system camera.


Hope this helps.

1:44 pm - Friday, December 14, 2012

#20 varun

@peter b

thanks!!!

i was torn between the two. but as the sony a37 came with 18-55 lens only, i doubted its versatility. also, what about the nex 5? i have heard some pretty good things about it.

i am not planning on becoming a professional photographer. but i do enjoy taking pictures.

thanks again for the advice!!!

7:31 pm - Friday, December 14, 2012

#21 Peter B

Hi

I cannot advise you on what camera to buy, the NEX-5N is a compact system camera and the A37 is a DSLR type camera. They both take great pictures,
but its how they feel and operate in your hand which should be the deciding factor.

There are some very good zooms from Tamron and Sigma that go from 18-250 + that can be used on the A37, so the standard 18-55 kit lens does not have to be the deal breaker.
I suggest you do a bit more market research and hold the cameras before you decide.If you like a very thin camera that you have to hold at arms length the compose the picture then the NEX-5N is for you. If you like a camera that you put up to your eye then the A37 is for you. Its your choice.

9:57 pm - Friday, December 14, 2012

#22 varun

@ PETER B

thank you!!!

10:51 am - Saturday, December 15, 2012

#23 Matthew

In some review i found that sony SLT users have complains about the translucent mirror. They say that the mirror is dust catchy and when you try to clean it, it get damaged.

Does any one noticed this problem yet??

Another thing turns me off is its LCD and body. Body is made up of cheap plastic material. i dont know why sony is trying to save cost on LCD and body.

3:37 pm - Tuesday, December 25, 2012

#24 Peter B

Matthew
I suggest you reserve judgement on how ‘cheap and plastic’the body is until you have handled and taken a few pics with the camera. Sony bodies have been much improved and strengthened since earlier models and I would say now its no better or worse than its rivals.

As for dust on the mirror, this will possibly happen eventually as it does on the sensor of any camera and it can be cleaned with a blower/canned air jet or special camera vacuum system. Much of this depends as other cameras do on how often you change lenses and in what kind of enviroment.
It is recommended just like sensors not to touch the surface as you run the risk of scratching or marking it. These jobs should be left to a pro camera technician.

They increased the EVF definition over the A35 which is pretty good now but the LCD is not as high as the old A35. Its no big deal as far as i’m concerned, they had to save money some where if you consider what a bargain price the camera is.

I suggest if you have all these doubts, then look at other cameras which may fit your criterior and cause you less concern.
Remember, there is no such thing as a perfect camera.

9:25 am - Thursday, December 27, 2012

#25 Matthew

@ Peter B

Actually i want to buy a DSLR, i am confused with a 37 and Nikon D3200. i know a37 having lots of positive points which is attracting me, but i am still confused. i really like a37 and i am more toward to buy a37.
peter- can you share some unedited shots taken by you (i guess you have a37). because the sample i have seen on web sites they are less sharp at 55mm, sharpness at 18 mm is good.

12:11 pm - Friday, December 28, 2012

#26 Peter B

Unfortunitley, I have not mastered posting pictures on a forum site.

The Sony SAM 18-55 Kit lens is one of the sharpest of any kit lens, even Canon and Nikon kit lenses are behind in performance. However,you will get the best performance and sharpness from any of the excellent Sony prime lenses which will make the best use of the sensors superb definition.

I recommend you look at these review sites.
They all give the A37 5 Stars.
Expert reviews
CNET.CO.UK
Photography Blog [obviously]
Ephotozine
MAC World
Digital Photography School
Test Freaks

Most cameras will produce soft images at default settings as these sites will tell you. A little in camera sharpening or PP will fix it.
Look at the pictures on the Digital Photography School review, they are superb.

I really don’t think I can help you any more, its now down to you.

1:44 pm - Friday, December 28, 2012

#27 AJS JR

Bought this camera for its sweep panorama abilities and low light hand held abilities.. Having a Sony dsc-hx9v and a dsc-hx7v….many of the same advanced features that are on these point & shoots…especially in camera HDR…I wanted to see what gives with Sony DSLR’s. 

I went to Sedona for two weeks in December…sun and then some snow…lots and lots of beautiful long lasting sunsets. I felt like this little A37 DSLR gave me a great new amount of versatility due to many of its point & shoot special features except it would be put down on a large sensor this time… 


Though I have a few Nikon DX2S’s, Canon 40D with the f1.2 50mm lens,  I ended up using this Sony nearly all the time. 

Cleaning the sensor on this camera is the simplest of any DSLR I have ever had.

  I used a Polaroid filter quite a bit but you have to be careful when doing a panorama sweep with one attached since it will give you an uneven blue sky. 

Fuji and Canon have quite a few bridge cameras out right now but I would argue this camera is light and priced in the bridge camera range.

  I would buy this Sony A37 instead of Fuji or Canon bridge cameras and with the 18-55mm kit lens. 

I was thinking about buying cine lens made by Rokinon/Samyang lens and getting an external mic for doing video.  Anybody do this yet? 

The fact is that bridge cameras still use a small sensor compared to a true DSLR like this Sony so that is another reason to consider this camera before you buy a bridge camera.

  The only gripe I would have is that the flip out LCD does not articulate to the side at all and you wonder WHY a company would go through the trouble of putting a partially articulating LCD on a camera after all these years!!  Just do it right the first time!!!!

The other issue I have with this camera (not a gripe} is dealing with a circle or spot when the camera is pointed towards the sun…you can expect some flare but more like a spear of light rather than a circle.  I was able to mitigate this by angling the camera but it was unusual to get a perfect circle in the camera center rather than an angled spike of light….don’t know if this has something to do with my technique, the kit lens, or the new translucent light transmission used in this camera and/or a combination of all three?  I might be the only one to have had this center circle spot flare?  I had never seen this type of sun glare resulting in a centered circle in any camera I have ever used. Has anybody else experienced this type of circle or spot caused by sun glare on this camera?

The battery life on this camera is excellent.

  In short, this camera feels like a Fuji or Canon bridge camera but it is a true DSLR.  Plus this Sony has all kinds of cool features you would find in the Sony point & shoot line.

  Though some people on here say this is a good beginner DSLR model, that is nonsense.  This a fun camera to augment my much heavier and more complex Nikons. 

The whole thing is the image you have in your mind to catch…...and if you have a camera that is fun to use and can do things your much more expensive cameras might not be able to do, then why not sling one of these along as well? 

You are not out a lot of cash…you might not EVER buy another Sony DSLR (in my case I just have mostly Nikon lenses and only have the Canon DSLR due to the fact Nikon does not make an F1.2 50mm auto focus lens). I can still use T-mount lenses on this Sony A37. 

The U.S. Air Force used to have small jet trainer named the T37 that was even used as an attack aircraft not just a trainer and it was called the A37!!  This little Sony A37 is a big surprise and no wonder this site gave its highest rating. 

Again…you might be a Nikon or Canon only person and don’t want to start down some new mount (actually old mount) path. I considered that as well as I pondered this camera and then thought..what the heck…why not? It had all the fun features on those two Sony point & shoots that I love. 

This A37 camera will go with me everywhere from now on since it gives me a whole new array of tools that I would not have without some effort on my tried and true giant Nikons.  This A37 is not for fast moving sports shots…but that is why I also have my D2hs’s, D1h’s, and D1’s. 

The images I took in Sedona and around Flagstaff and Winslow and Tuba City came out great with the A37 ....I used it in conjunction with my Nikons so this is not an either/or proposition.  Just another tool in the holster you can pull out when you don’t want to go to the tripod…..in camera HDR…in camera automatically stitched panoramas…hand held low light ease of use.

  Give it chance if you think your photography needs these tricks available to you at times…This Sony A37 will bail you out..It is fun to use as well.  Sorry this is not a scientific report.

1:19 pm - Saturday, January 12, 2013

#28 Peter B

I totally agree with your comments about the Sony A37. I have a Nikon D5100 with an 18-105 DX and 16-85 DX, [they weigh a ton],a Panasonic G3 with a few lenses, and my old Olympus E-510 & 450 which I won’t sell for nostalgic reasons.

Every time I go out to shoot landscapes I reach for the Sony. Its simply the best,easiest and lightest DSLR I have ever used. Every thing you need to know and adjust is on the EVF and all the buttons are ergonomically placed which is more than I can say about the D5100.

Picture quality is as good as any Canikon costing twice as much.
I got my A37 so I could use some of the Konica/Minolta AF glass, and I now use my KM 17-35 F/2.8 and a KM 24-85 AF for most of my landscape work. I don’t bother with the Sony lenses as good as they are because of the price.
I could quite easily build an enthusiasts system round the A37 at a budget. I remember the USAF A37. There is some spectacular scenery in the places you mentioned although I have not been there myself.

Peter B

2:18 pm - Monday, January 14, 2013

#29 Andy Hutchinson

Hi.

We have just bought a Sony A37 and have found that we can’t get a cheap and straight forward wireless trigger for it. You have provided a link to one, thanks, but the smallprint on that page said it needs an “optionally available” adaptor. Can you recommend one, please?
Thanks for your help. Great review, by the way!

12:00 pm - Wednesday, January 30, 2013

#30 Peter B

Andy
Not sure what to suggest as I don’t use that facility on the camera, so have no experience. Your best bet is to ask your local dealer or ask a camera shop on line or by phone such as Park Cameras, there are many camera shops i’m sure can help,so give them a ring.
Pete

9:22 am - Thursday, January 31, 2013

#31 Rachel F

Hi Peter! I’m not an entry level photog, but I’m by no means professional. I take photos for an action sports website and I am looking to for a DSLR that takes clear continuous photos for action sports like surfing, skateboarding, snowboarding etc. I was looking at the Sony a57 and a37 ... is this camera good for someone who is a bit more experienced and for sports photography?

11:56 pm - Tuesday, February 19, 2013

#32 Peter

Hi Rachel

The Sony SLT cameras are probably the best of the DSLR’s for movies. Mainly due to the high continuous frame rate speed and no mirror to flop out of the way. The A57 [shortly to be replaced by the A58] is in my view the one to go for as it has a slghtly bigger body and thus easier to hold taking moving pictures. Having said that and from what you say is your subject matter, ‘action sports’ surely a ‘high end’ cam corder would be more suitable? Also don’t forget, that for long periods of picture taking with a DSLR, the sensor can over heat and it will require resting for a while to cool down. Hope this helps.

Peter

9:26 am - Wednesday, February 20, 2013

#33 Tariq

How does A37 compare with Lumix DMC-FZ200 in:
_Noise above ISO 800
_HDR control
_Quality of 1080p recording
_Clarity of macro shots.
(Above paramters are the ones I care most)

I plan to replace my old Powershot S2-IS with the one recommended by most of you.

9:19 pm - Sunday, February 24, 2013

#34 Peter B

Hi

I have never used a DMC-FZ200, so cannot comment
However, if you read DPReviews on this camera it will answer all your questions. You will also notice in the noise tests in the review that noise from ISO 800 is pretty crappy. In my view there is no comaparison between the Sony A37 and the Panasonic DMC FZ200.

9:27 am - Monday, February 25, 2013

#35 Matthew

yes Peter is right. DMC-FZ200 and a37 are different cameras. DMC-FZ200 falls in category of highend point end shoot digital cameras but the a37 is a SLR or SLT category camera. The sensor size of a37 is much bigger than DMC-FZ200, so it will result you really good pictures.

9:34 am - Monday, February 25, 2013

#36 Tariq

Thanks Peter and Matthew. Since your response, I’ve done a little research over that large sensor of Sony SLT A37. Images from this camera are far superior to those from FZ200, which has a small sensor. Looking at the video samples, though, A37 video appears to be grainy whereas FZ200 video is crisp. Anyone with a different view on this? Can anyone opine on HDR in both the cameras?

5:31 am - Thursday, February 28, 2013

#37 Linda C

My husband just purchased this camera for my birthday - lucky me! I haven’t used an SLR camera since, well, before they were DSLRs and I’m a bit lost. Any suggestions on a book or website that might help me get up to speed on all the bells and whistles? I can’t wait to get started ... the battery is in the charger.

7:20 pm - Thursday, April 4, 2013

#38 Peter B

Hi Linda

Congratulations on your new camera, This thread is not really the best place to start offering advice, Learn what all the different camera functions do. Press the Fn button to bring up all the functions and look at each one in turn.

It might be better if you E Mailed me. I give admin permission to supply my E Mail address to you, if that’s how you would like to procede.

Other than that simply playing with the camera is probably the best learning curve and you will probably flatten the battery a couple times doing it, I did.
To get you started, use P [Programme Mode] and you can then adjust your shutter speed and aperture by turning the control wheel while looking through the view finder.
Cheers
Pete

8:21 am - Friday, April 5, 2013

#39 Peter B

Hi Linda

Forgot to say, you might find joining the Web site forum, photoclubalpha.com useful.

Its a chat and advice room for all things Sony cameras. I found it very helpful.

Pete

1:03 pm - Friday, April 5, 2013

#40 Linda C.

Thanks Peter for the forum link. I will check it out. Since I am old school I was hoping there was some sort of DSLRs for Dummies book that you might recommend to help reacquaint me with terminology, etc.

4:11 pm - Friday, April 5, 2013

#41 Andy Hutchinson

Hi Linda and Pete, I got a really good book via Ebay specifically on the Sony A37 by David Busch. this is a link to it http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/David-Buschs-Sony-SLT-A37-Guide-to-Digital-Photography-David-Bus-9781285185583-/390549779658?pt=Non_Fiction&hash=item5aee94b4ca

Regards to you and Pete, who helped me earlier this year.

Andy

4:17 pm - Friday, April 5, 2013

#42 Peter B

Thanks Andy, Busch is quite well known for his camera books etc. Should prove very helpful for Linda.
Linda, the terminology is much the same as you once used on the old film SLR cameras, with a few additions and a few new words, the basics still remain.
I’m quite disappointed that Sony are dropping the A37 and A57 for just one new entry/middle camera, the A58, which has a 20mp sensor. Never saw the need for anything more than 16mp.

Pete

Pete

4:53 pm - Saturday, April 6, 2013

#43 darren

how do i use my flash whilst recording on sony a37

8:59 am - Saturday, April 20, 2013

#44 darre

as i permanent light for recording

9:13 am - Saturday, April 20, 2013

#45 bijesh kumar

sir

the camera is great   ....but   i wish to use zooming   lens but i don’t no which lens is most suitable in a 37   ...i have to   wish wild life photography bird photography   kindly   help to choosen????

12:53 pm - Tuesday, April 30, 2013

#46 bijesh kumar

the camera is great   ....but   i wish to use zooming   lens but i don’t know which lens is most suitable in a 37   ...i have to   wish wild life photography bird photography   kindly   help to choose about that????

12:55 pm - Tuesday, April 30, 2013

#47 bijesh kumar

the camera is great   ....but   i wish to use zooming   lens but i don’t know? which lens is most suitable in a 37   ...i have to   wish wild life photography bird photography   kindly   help to choose about that????

12:56 pm - Tuesday, April 30, 2013

#48 Peter B

Without knowing what distances you aim to shoot at, I would look at any of the Alpha mount lenses from Sigma,Tamron,Sony and the older Konica Minolta. An 18-270 might be a good place to start, but you will need to go to your local store to see what zoom fits your needs and at what distances you will be shooting at??
If you are doing all your trading on line, then it might help if you have a photographer friend to advise you.

1:28 pm - Tuesday, April 30, 2013

#49 bijesh kumar

whats the different between SAL lens SAM lense

11:54 am - Thursday, June 20, 2013

#50 Peter B

SAM = Smooth Autofocus Motor

SAL = Basically is ‘Smooth Trans Focus’

This information is readily available on the NET and the Sony Web site!!!

7:41 am - Friday, June 21, 2013

#51 Elchin

good camera for beginners as me. it has lots of functions.i think its better than nikon d3100 or canon 1100d. you can take great pictures with this camera.
there are some photos i have uploaded (i will be glad if you post comments about photos)  http://www.flickr.com/photos/62934202@N04/

1:51 am - Monday, June 24, 2013

#52 Peter B

Elchin

Excellent pictures and typical Sony colours, which lens? Up to about ISO 1600/3200 the A-37 is hard to beat, it has the same JPeg engine and processor as the NEX-5N, which seems to win high acclaim for IQ. Although sold as an entry level camera, the functions and button placements are far superior to Nikon 3200/5200 [only Pentax is better] thus the A37 could be all things to all people, a PP for the beginner or a versatile bit of kit for the enthusiast with the options of some pretty high class glass such as CZ or Tamron.
It may be of interest to you to join PhotclubAlpha forum.

Pete

7:06 am - Monday, June 24, 2013

#53 David

I’ve been researching camera’s heavily recently as I need a new hobby, I know quite a bit about photography as my uncle is a professional show photographer and I have often helped him out. I am also a student so am on a low budget.

I read that you Peter own both this camera and the g3 which are the 2 cameras I’m really interested in,
I will mostly be using it to take landscapes when I walk my dog or go cycling so I really would like it to be light and compact which I know the panasonic excels in I also may be taking some action shots for my various sports commitments, I was basically wandering how much better is the sony, is it wort the extra weight, becasue I really like the quick autofocus of the panasonic

Sorry for the long post,

David

11:51 pm - Sunday, July 14, 2013

#54 Peter B

David

Have you considered a high end ‘bridge’ camera such as the Lumix FZ200, It gets a very good review and may be this will be better to cart round for your walks and cycling. I prefer my Sony A-37 to my Panasonic G3, its just easier to use up at the eye. I hardly use my G3 these days. The A-37 with kit lens is smaller and lighter than most other DSLR’s. Would you want to carry a DSLR and may be a couple of lenses for your jaunts or a Bridge as I suggested. Your call.
If you are determined to get a G series camera, go for the G5.
Peter

7:02 am - Monday, July 15, 2013

#55 David

I have looked at bridge camera’s but I just really want the higher quality photo’s from an slr type camera, I was just wondering how much better the sony is or should I save for a 600D or something, to be honest I guess the weight doesn’t matter to much. Another thing is that I cant upgrade my sony in the future as they are discontinuing slr’s so I’m worried any lenses will go to waste?

9:49 am - Monday, July 15, 2013

#56 Peter B

Firstly I’n not sure where you heard Sony are discontinuing DSLR/SLT cameras as they have said the ‘A’ mount will continue but probably in a mirrorless format, nothing wrong in that as all A mount lenses will still work. I’m a member of the Sony/Minolta forum ‘Photoclubalpha’ and there has been much debate as to where Sony are going in 2014. Read some of the threads.
Look at the review of the A-37 in Ephotozine then look at the test picture of Thorsby hall then crop it/close up. I have not seen better definition or colour or highly defined brick work in cameras costing £1000+.

OK, you have now made yourself a bit more clear as to what type of camera you want. Canon are always a good bet as are Nikon and Pentax. The 600D is OK as is the 650D to a point but anything later than that is a waste of money in my view.
The earlier 550D got the highest marks in my book and that would possibly be great for land scapes. If you need a tilting LCD, then later models might fit the bill.

Pentax would be my second choice to Sony. Just read the reviews, much better value and easier to use than Canikon.
I think if you wish to correspond on this subject, this is not the place to do it.
E mail me. I give admid permission to supply my e.mail to you if that is how you would like to procede.

Peter

10:20 am - Monday, July 15, 2013

#57 David

It would be good if we ciould wxchange emails, and take this conversation elsewhere :D

10:51 am - Monday, July 15, 2013

#58 Eddie

Hi Peter, I have enjoyed reading your comments here and have found them extremely helpful. In your opinion which do you think is now the better buy between the A37 and the A57 considering there is only £30 difference between them both, £349 and £379 respectively?

Eddie

10:03 pm - Sunday, August 4, 2013

#59 Peter B

Hi Eddie

Very kind of you to say so, Although in my opinion and this review site that the A-37 was a best buy and editors choice, currently they are both a steal, but value for money must be a A-57.
Its an upper entry level/mid range enthuiasts camera with more than enough features to satisfy demanding photograpers, but I could say the same about the A-37, its more down to body size really.
Get the 57 but don’t hang around as they are being snapped up. The kit lens 18-55 is superb, just read the Photozone review.
Send me your e.mail address if yo wish to discuss this further.
Cheers
Pete

6:20 am - Monday, August 5, 2013

#60 Eddie

Appreciate the swift response Pete, I would love to discuss this further with you. You can contact me at .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) and I will reply to you.

Cheers
Eddie

3:33 pm - Monday, August 5, 2013

#61 sheree

Hi I just brought the Sony A37 and love it but am looking to buy a new lens. Can you please recommend the next size lens to buy? Want something with more zoom. Also just to make sure I have this right, can I buy any brand lens with the capabilities for the Sony A37? Cheers

12:28 pm - Monday, September 9, 2013

#62 Peter

Hi Sheree

Look for a Sony 18-135 as there are some good deals around, great lens and I have been very happy with its performance. If you want longer reach then check out the Tamron and Sigma 18-200/250/275 in Sony Alpha mount.
Hope this helps
Peter B

6:57 am - Tuesday, September 10, 2013

#63 SV

I have the opportunity of buying a second hand A37 or A55 as a backup for my A77. Both are more or less the same price and in mint condition. I know about the “flaws” of the A55 (heat while filming e.g.) so I wonder: which one should I choose? A lesser screen quality does not really bother me, it’s the picture output quality that counts essentially.

1:22 pm - Tuesday, September 10, 2013

#64 Peter

Hi SV

As you probably know, the A-37 is an entry level camera but has features and performance that would make it very much an enthusiasts camera if you so wished. The A55 is a superb bit of kit, but the A37 has a later sensor, the same sensor as the NEX-5N and some say IQ as good. You also have a bit more user noise control than the 55, although like all Sony’s a bit pathetic compared to other cameras. Of couse its now discontinued as is the A-57, The A58 replacing both models. I would rather not make comment on the A58.
My choice would be the A37 as its a little gem, but then others may not agree. Of course, as you might know, focussing has improved a bit since the intro of the A77
As with all Sony’s, a good quality lense will get more out of the sensor. I also believe that Jpeg out put on the A37 is as good as the NEX-5N, which is much improved from earlier Alpha cameras.The lowish reso on the LCD does not bother me and the EVF is great to use.
Hope this helps.
Peter B

 

2:32 pm - Tuesday, September 10, 2013

#65 André

After reading lots of comments here in the past, I decided to buy the A37 as my first DSLR camera. Now, I must say you were absolutely right. After testing my friends cameras and comparing picture quality, I am so happy to have chosen the A37.
The battery is almost endless, the image quality is superb for its range and it is very easy to use (although it lacks a dedicated button for picture effects). And, above all, the one thing I really appreciate on it: its size; its body is very small compared to others, which is excellent in terms of portability.

I recently invested some money on a Sony SAL 18-250mm lens, which has proved itself a pearl. You may travel with nothing else and you are still going to be able to shoot a nice variety of pics.

The one thing I don’t get: is it a A37 fault that you cannot use the exposure compensation with Manual mode or is it something common to entry-level DSLRs? Or am I just being dumb?

Best regards,
André

9:56 am - Friday, September 20, 2013

#66 Peter B

Hi
You are right EC is not available in Manual mode, but because you are in manual mode gives you the opportunity to adjust exposure to your preference using the manual settings for shutter speed and F/stop.
Although it nice to use Manual mode [sometimes], I much prefer to use either AP or P, both these modes give you control over shutter speed and F/stop plus exposure comp.

Just a word of praise for the A37, Its too good to just leave on auto or on a scene mode, learn how to use the various exposure options and settings rather than letting it do it all for you. However there will be times when a fully auto programme is the best option for a particular ‘moment’if you see what I mean.
Peter

12:41 pm - Friday, September 20, 2013

#67 André

Thanks Peter!

I guessed that, but was not quite sure. In fact, in the beginning I was trying to use always Manual, but after reading a bit here and there I realized that this wasn’t the best decision. Now I’m preferably using AP and SP and getting better results. As ACDC would say “It is a long way to the top!” Full Manual isn’t the best option for every situation (kind of a newbie discovery, I know…)

Regarding Auto and Scene selection modes, I’ve not been using them. I think I must focus on the more “technical” ones first, in order to master that. Now I’m trying to see the differences between the metering modes. Let’s see…

Best regards,
André

8:01 am - Thursday, October 3, 2013

#68 Rob

Hi, I am looking for a backup/second body to carry in my kit. I have the alpha a65 but would like a backup that can produce comparable quality, would this be it or the a57?

10:41 pm - Monday, December 23, 2013

#69 Peter B

Rob, the simple answer is both will do what you ask. However, the A-57 is the same body and lay out as you 65 so will feel more familiar. Photo quality from the 37/57 is the same, excellent! If room in your kit bag is tight for a second body, go for the 37.
Hope this helps.

8:50 am - Tuesday, December 24, 2013

#70 Rob

yes, I was leaning towards the a37. Size is nice and compact . And the budget does play a role. Thks

6:39 pm - Tuesday, December 24, 2013

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, review, 16 megapixel, test, hdmi, video, movie, sony, 2.7 inch LCD, RAW, DSLR, tilting, 1080i, EVF, alpha, 7fps, JPEG, slt, a37, Sony A37, slt-a37

Tracker Pixel for Entry