Sony A390 Review

3.5
September 13, 2010 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

14 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Vic

Before buying this check out the A580 review

9:38 pm - Tuesday, February 15, 2011

#2 Russell

This camera will really give good(?) photographic results only in manual mode, so dont buy it for any point and shoot use. The camera doesnt justify better quality lens (C.Z.), they are overkill for its abilities. It might have use as a not too high quality entry level camera to teach/learn manually setting before shooting.

I own it and I really wish I had the spent the small difference for Canon or Nikon. I do not recommend this camera.

12:06 am - Wednesday, March 30, 2011

#3 Alex

I love it for the price it gives excellent pictures!Enough to play with for sharp loveable shootings.

7:31 pm - Wednesday, May 4, 2011

#4 Matt

Amazing camera in my opinion, Easy to use, good quality photos, what more could you want?

11:53 am - Monday, June 13, 2011

#5 kamarms

I bought this camera about 1 month ago… this is the cheapest DSLR with 18-55mm lens in Malaysian market RM1699 (US$560). Even though this camera does have any built-in editing functions or video recording function, it takes some good photos. So far, as a beginner in dslr, I love the camera so much. But I still use my DSC-HX1 for video recording.

http://kamarms.blogspot.com/search/label/(CAMERA SONY A390)

4:42 am - Friday, July 1, 2011

#6 kamarms

You include a very nice review. But, I am not sure whether you should compare Sony A390 with Nikon D5000 and Canon EOS 550D. I don’t they are direct competitors of Sony A390.

In Malaysia, the prices are: A390 (RM1699), D5000 (~RM1800+/-) and 550D (RM2299).

Maybe A390 can be a rival to Nikon D3100 (RM1759) and Canon 1110D (RM1699)

What do you think? Just my humble comments.

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1578033

4:46 pm - Thursday, August 4, 2011

#7 jon kish

I didn’t want or need another video cam. The 390 after checking out many sites and their sample photos of Nikon and Canon are no better, in instances not even close to picture quality. It appears that if you are to take photos Nikon or Canon will give you better pics instantly. They live on an old reputation, and they both are a little shaken by the relatively new kid on the block. My 390 with its movable view screen allows me to set the camera on the ground, without having to do it myself. It’s a great camera and don’t compare it to Nikon and Canon who have to bring out a new model every 2 or 3 months making your new Nikon obselete as you walk out the door of the camera shop. Too much Canon and Nikon hype. They can stick a high price on a lens because it bears their name. I owned a Nikon FM a classic but nothing great about its photos it took .Well its case was metal was about the sum of it’s features.Photos are as good as the person who took them what ever brand and how it is used, It is only a tool to use to express an idea or moment, or how well you can use it. A cheap throw away in the right hands can be a wonderful pic and a very expensive Nikon will not make you a photographer

1:03 am - Saturday, September 24, 2011

#8 Blut00

I bought my A390 less than 5 months ago with 18-55mm kit lens. I added a used Minolta 100-200 and then a Tamron 18-200mm. In good light this camera takes fantastic photo’s but it all goes horribly wrong in low light. Auto ISO goes to 400 and then you’re on your own jumping to 800, 1600 and finally 3200. There is a good reason for Auto ISO stopping @400, above this level the noise is horrendous and if you switch on the ‘long exposure/high ISO’ noise reduction your picture will be butchered beyond recognition.
OVF is very small and makes manual focusing difficult. Articulated screen is useful sometimes but hinders access to the OVF all of the time.
I almost upgraded to an A65 to solve my ISO problems but took a leap of faith and switched to an EOS 60D only this weekend.
I have mixed feelings about the A390, but the constant work at manual settings to overcome the ISO performance has thought me a lot about photography. I’ve shot over 6000 pictures with this camera and have lots to enjoy and post with pride.

10:55 pm - Monday, November 21, 2011

#9 vijendra

I think A390 is a wonderful camera in that price. We don’t have to compare each and every thing as some things are user based also. I think if you are new to photography, you can try this and you will be happy about your experience as it will not cost you as high as any nikon or canon camera.
It can be used for your home purpose, I mean as you go out on a tour and take pictures from a simple camera, you can use A390 sony camera and you would be delighted to see some fine photographs.
http

4:28 pm - Wednesday, January 18, 2012

#10 jon kish

vijendra,  As we learn and grow in the course of photography. I still believe the 390 to be a fantastic camera. but moving on I have chosen it to become my wifes camera and I have moved to the Sony 580. I will always be loyal to Sony, not Nikon or Canon

10:41 pm - Wednesday, January 18, 2012

#11 Hussein Sheikh

Sony a390 is an excellent camera both for beginners into SLR photography as well as professionals.

What i like most about it is:
  i) The ability to perform well on various situations with just the internal flash.

  ii) With my experience, i have not witnessed any re-cycling time like, what you often get from other SLRs especially, the Canon family. This means you won’t miss an action as you won’t be waiting for it to get ready. It is always ready for action.

  iii) The sliding LCD which gives you comfortably various angle positions.

  iv) On screen guide which is very helpful for beginners.

What i don’t like about it is:
  i) You get less time from its fully charged battery compared to other SLRs. That means you have to have extra batteries on standby whether you shall be using it for a few hours or the whole day.

  ii) Not a very correct White Balance function.

8:21 am - Sunday, March 25, 2012

#12 kilo

Well I purchased this camera about one year ago.
Pros:
1. great pictures
2. ease of use

Cons:
1 Get white background on some pictures taken at the same time as others/
2. BIG problem, spots on pictures. Even after following recommendationsfrom the manual, they will not go away.  I sent it to sony for repair on warranty, and they sent it back saying they cleaned it and it was ok.  Well the same day I went out and took pictures and there was two dots, not so clear but there,  It just kept getting worse and worse so I sent it back to them , costing me shipping charges again,  I just talked to the service dept on repair and they said it was dust again/  They said that It was my fault that the camera was not cleaned good enough, well I did clean it according to their ionctructions in the manual and no luck dots even got worse.  Now they will not do more, sending the camera and I am almost sure there is more that dust. 
3.  I would NOT recomment this camera and would give it a -1.
If anyone has had such a problem , I sure would love to know, so write it in this blog.

Sony Canada says the camera is fixed with their cleaning, what I say, is what are they using sandpaper ?

1:41 am - Wednesday, April 25, 2012

#13 fred hutchings

Just purchased one, and one feature I like is the absense of video capability. If I want video, I’ll use a cam-corder. Adding video adds $$$ to the price.  Of course I also prefer prime lenses to zooms and love my Leica M2…  Sony kit lenses are not the best anyway.  They stay in the closet.  Dated? maybe - but happy with it. This is my second Sony DSLR. I have about worn the paint of an Alpha 100.

7:28 pm - Thursday, May 24, 2012

Entry Tags

review, sony, 2.7 inch LCD, 14 megapixel, DSLR, tilting, alpha, a390, Sony A390, dslr-a390

Tracker Pixel for Entry