Sony A55 Review

4.5
February 17, 2011 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

28 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 ExRNsnapper

If you like the sound of this camera but would prefer a traditional DSLR then the Sony A580 is exactly that. A traditiona DSLR version of the A55.

11:37 pm - Thursday, February 17, 2011

#2 Frank Stanton

Regarding some of the wide angle shots of the bridge and city skyline, I was impressed with how clean and sharp the pictures seemed for the most part, except it seems like the bottom of the frame was slightly softer than the top or even the edges. I never noticed that on a photo before.

5:53 am - Friday, February 18, 2011

#3 NORMAN SIMPSON

I BOUGHT ONE NEEDED TO KNOW WHAT QUASI ISO WAS.
THE ONLY PLACE FOR IN DEPTH INFO WAS HERE AT PHOTOGRAPHY BLOG WELL DONE.
CAMERA SUPER PHOTO’S FAST STILL TRYING IT OUT WORTH THE MONET I THINK

7:46 pm - Saturday, February 19, 2011

#4 flanon

Frank - that is due to the lens. A higher quality (more expensive) lens would fix that problem

9:17 am - Sunday, February 27, 2011

#5 Don

PSE 8.0 won’t read the a55 RAW files. Says it is the wong type of file. Tried formatting card in camera. No help.
Any suggestions?

1:15 am - Friday, March 4, 2011

#6 Alan

Pity that the 2 second delay or the remote (with
the wireless trigger - bought separately), are not available when using the HDR setting.
Pressing the shutter button when the camera is on a tripod can cause shake - and the steady shot function should be disengaged.
Perhaps the steady shot function should be left on?

11:56 am - Sunday, March 6, 2011

#7 Michael Hurley

Does the Sony A55 have a cable release function?

My main usage would be landscape/tripod/cable release.

I am a Minolta Dynax 404si 35MM film user and I am very impressed with the review of the Sony A55.

Possibly enough to consider “going digital”.

An obvious bonus appears to be the option of utilising my existing Minolta AF lenses.

Michael Hurley

11:28 pm - Thursday, March 10, 2011

#8 Alan

No, the Sony A55 does not have a cable release and I expect that is true of all modern digital cameras.
Do not dispair! It is easy to select a time delay of 2 seconds or, the wireless remote, (bought separately - £5.99 from Amazon).
The only time when these functions are not available is when the camera is set to HDR. This was my gripe because if HDR is set then you should be using the camera on a tripod.
Just go for it Michael - you will be amazed at the quality of these cameras.

10:48 am - Friday, March 11, 2011

#9 Michael Hurley

Alan,

Many thanks for the reply.

Me thinks I will further investigate the Sony A55 option, although I am still reluctant to retire my film camera (Minolta Dynax 404si). Possibly use both !!!!!!

Michael.

3:53 am - Saturday, March 12, 2011

#10 Tim

I’ve had this camera now since Christmas, replacing my Minolta Dynax 7D. I love it!! OK the viewfinder is very grainy but usable. The 10 FPS is awesome, I’ve managed some excellent shots of the kids playing Hockey/Rugby.

If you are thinking of using it as a video recording machine, I would say don’t. I tried it on one occasion to record the speeches at an 80th birthday party and the camera shut itself down due to overheating after about 5 mins.

The GPS takes a few minutes to actually work out where it is, and don’t forget to go outside to get the correct co-ordinates!! To give you an example of what I mean, I was in Inverness and the photo’s thought they were in Redbridge, London. That was after taking 5 photo’s outside. So if you are on Safari, make sure that the GPS has updated itself.

Overall, for this price, I’d give it 9.5 / 10.

5:37 pm - Tuesday, March 22, 2011

#11 Mike

I bought one earlier this year and love it. I am still learning different aspects but overall the quality is superb at this price. Why pay an extra £2k for a Canon 5D mark II? Anyway I cant afford it!!

6:04 pm - Friday, April 22, 2011

#12 nkalu

Your reviews for both the Sony DSLR a55 and a580 are great and helpful. Based on your reviews I have narrowed my buying options to Sony, having eliminated the Nikon D5100 and the Canon T3i. But I am much more confused about which one of the Sonys’ to buy, that is the a55 or the a580. Both of them have great and almost features.

7:10 pm - Monday, May 23, 2011

#13 Alan

The advantage of the A55 against the A33 are well documented. If you want to save £100 go for the A33 and then spend £106 (Amazon), for the Tamron 55-200mm lens. (88 - 320mm 35mm equivelant). Tamron is part owned by Sony and it seems this is an identical lens to the Sony badged one. A great lens regardless of the budget price.

10:00 am - Tuesday, May 24, 2011

#14 Chris

I used to use the minolta 404si and still use now and again, then I got a sony dsc 200p, and more recently a olympus sp 590uz, I love the optical zoom for night sky photography, would any of you reading this know if a 500mm lense on the a55 sony, would give me the same amount of magnification as the olympus? muchos graciasin advance

8:16 pm - Saturday, June 18, 2011

#15 slt-a55vl

This camera has some really unique features like Quick Live AF view ,3D Sweep Panorama Camera Mode,Translucent Mirror Technology which makes this really good choice in that price tag

6:53 am - Monday, June 27, 2011

#16 BILL

After alot of research and reading yours and other reviews I decided to order the a55 today. It will be delivered on Friday. Had trouble making my mind up on a33,a35 or a55 so will see what happens.

1:39 am - Wednesday, July 6, 2011

#17 Elie Boujaoude

Hi Chris,

The SP-590 has an optical zoom lens equivalent to 26-676mm.The crop factor here is 5.62 because the sensor is only 1/2.3”

The Sony A55 has an APS-C sensor, and a crop factor of 1.5, meaning that the effective focal length of any lens, when mounted on this camera, is 1.5X the actual focal length.

This means that a 500mm lens mounted on the A55 camera renders the effective focal length of 750mm.

8:27 pm - Monday, July 18, 2011

#18 Martin

My old Alpha-300 is broken. So I’m looking for something new. However I want to use old batteries and CF cards. Looks like I can’t because Sony changed design of new models.

9:31 pm - Thursday, August 25, 2011

#19 Ladislav Ezr

In terms of overall build quality & image quality who is the winner? The Canon 600D? Sony A55? Or maybe Panasonic G3? (I do not care about video…)

What about the 70% light only for the sensor? Is it noticeable?

11:20 pm - Friday, August 26, 2011

#20 Cat1

Hi, looking to upgrade from a Sony A390 (I find noise a problem, especially with studio portraits) sick of Lightrooming every picture. I notice the A55 has a different sensor. Anybody used this camera for studio portrait work? Thanks.

8:26 pm - Wednesday, September 14, 2011

#21 Anand

I’d like some expert advice….
I’m very confused between the Canon 550d, the Nikin d5100 and the A55.. Almost everyone I met recommends canon or nikon. However I’m impressed with the A55 reviews
Another factor is I’ve got three excellent Minolta lenses (28mm, 50mm and 70-210) which are compatible with sony… But a55 costs a tad higher than the 550d and the d5100…
Also I’ve heard lenses of sony are costlier than its counterparts…. Do help me out

9:38 am - Monday, September 26, 2011

#22 Anand

I am confused bewteen the A55, the canon 550d and the nikon d5100..
Almost everyone I’ve met gives the go-ahead to nikon and canon
a-55 costs a tad more than its counterparts..

Also i’ve got 3 excellent minolta lenses (28mm, 50mm and 70-210) which i can put to use with the a55 and not its counterparts…

Also i’ve heard sony lenses r difficult in availability and they cost a lot..
So need help on this one

9:45 am - Monday, September 26, 2011

#23 Redi

Hi Anand,
I was confused too :) But at the end I bought a Canon 600D, because of the poor Sony EVF. :)

6:45 pm - Monday, September 26, 2011

#24 Anand

so wht do u advice me?
i’ve already got 3 lenses, which means that if i buy the a55 i’ll hv 4 lenses with me which almost completes my kit….
on the other hand if i buy a canon i’m going to waste these lenses… unless i find a suitable adaptor, still it’s not going to work on auto focus, it’ll be either manual or aperture priority…

5:45 am - Tuesday, September 27, 2011

#25 Redi

Then buy the A55. 4 lenses are real game changer :)

6:01 am - Tuesday, September 27, 2011

#26 Jhun

Help me…I have problem with my Sony A55 in low light…any advice?

12:38 am - Saturday, February 16, 2013

#27 Constance

Hi wondering how to adjust, the pictures are very dark

11:13 pm - Monday, May 27, 2013

#28 Dawn

I bought my A55 in Jan 2011 and I am now looking into trouble shooting a major problem.  In June I noticed that the camera while shooting would turn dark and the shutter would freeze up. It happened again a few weeks ago and finally this past weekend it happened and now my camera is dead.  I tried changing batteries, I tried keeping the shutter button down for a minute while turning on the camera with a fully charged battery,,,,nothing.
I thought this might have been from over heating, but the last time I used it was not hot and had only taken a few photos…......anyone have any suggestions?  Thanks

3:07 pm - Thursday, October 17, 2013

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, review, 16 megapixel, hdmi, sony, DSLR, 1080i, 10fps, tilting, alpha, slt, slt-a55, a55, Sony A55

Tracker Pixel for Entry