Sony A58 Review

4.5
May 20, 2013 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

53 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Neil

What’s going on with this website? it used to be really good, but since you change the look of it, it just doesn’t work properly! It’s harder to navigate, Plus the number of reviews has gone down, and nowhere near as comprehensive.

4:49 pm - Monday, May 20, 2013

#2 N.Markatos

It is indeed more difficult to navigate,presumably because of the cookies.

5:37 pm - Monday, May 20, 2013

#3 OrionsLinedotCom

I quite like the new layout. Looks much cleaner and is easier to navigate. Using the Firefox browser.

10:19 pm - Monday, May 20, 2013

#4 Dev.c

For the same price should i get the A58 with the 18-135mm kit lens or the Nikon D5200???

5:32 am - Tuesday, May 21, 2013

#5 Chris

To Dev.c

I would go for the Sony as this I believe gives you the option of using Carl Zeiss lenses. I use Carl Zeiss on my Hasselblad and Contax RTSII. They are simply the best lenses in the world, better than Leica (although all the Leica fanboys will howl with derision) and I have used quite a few.

Go for the Sony.

2:11 pm - Tuesday, May 21, 2013

#6 Giklab

To me it seems that this sensor is as good as or better than Sony’s 16Mp sensor. And that is with the light-eating mirror. I can’t wait to see its non-SLT performance.

4:42 pm - Tuesday, May 21, 2013

#7 Deburau

Are you shure that the camera has a remote sensor? I tried one for the A57 and it was not working on the A58. And looking at the Sony site comparing the two, this is one of the differences between them.

6:28 pm - Tuesday, May 21, 2013

#8 Brian

Chris, are you kidding?  Do you think if someone could afford Zeiss glass (let alone the disgustingly priced Hasselblad cameras), that they would even be considering the a58 vs. Nikon d5200?  Dev C, unless you alredy have Sony compatible lenses, I would personally go with the Nikon d5200.  It definitely has the upper hand with IQ.  Compare ratings, features, and decide for yourself.  But please don’t listen to Chris.

3:23 am - Wednesday, May 22, 2013

#9 Chris

Brian,

Considering Nikon lenses are not that good when compared to the incomparable Zeiss, Leica and Canon L. If Dev.c wants to tie himself into an ‘average’ system then go for it. Over the years I have used hordes of lenses on hordes of cameras both film and digital, professionally as well.

I should have made it quite clear Brian that the Sony gives the ‘option’ of using Zeiss as a FUTURE upgrade path.

It’s best to have just one absolute quality lens instead of a plethora of mediocre ones. By the time you actually realise this you would have spent more on ‘ordinary’ Canon, Nikon and unspeakable third party lenses. You’ll see!

Save up your money, do your self a favour and bolt on one premium prime lens.

The Zeiss option is a long term plan and not short term shortsightedness.

10:41 am - Wednesday, May 22, 2013

#10 Brian

My point (which I probably didn’t make clear) is that if one could afford Zeiss glass, then they probably aren’t looking at an entry level DSLR (regardless of manufacturer).  I suppose the Zeiss option is one he should consider, but put it into perspective with your budget.  One would assume that if high end lenses were an option, then a higher end body would be more appropriate.  As far as “unspeakable third party lenses”, I find that my Tamron 17-50 f2.8 is a great, reasonably priced lens.  I cannot afford to pay two to three times as much for a Zeiss lens, and could never justify that expense for (in my case) a hobby.  Camera snobs will swear up and down that unless it’s high end, it’s crap.  Don’t believe it.  Skill and technique will beat high end gear any day.

5:07 pm - Wednesday, May 22, 2013

#11 Mare

I’m pretty new to the photography. I bought NEX-5n, which is a great camera, but if I would buy another camera, that would be D7000. The main reason is lack of TTL for external flashes (something a58 users will have to deal too) and the lack of OVF.

2:07 pm - Thursday, May 23, 2013

#12 ferrera

Who said A58 has no TTL flash?

8:06 am - Monday, May 27, 2013

#13 Chris J

Mare,

I bought the A58 and I can confirm it does do TTL flash as well as a mode called ADI.

I went with the Sony over the price comparable Canon and Nikkon cameras because after trying the EVF on the Sony, the optical viewfinders on the competition seemed like a serious regression. I’ve bought the Sony 50mm f1.8 prime lens and have taken some of the best shots of my life.

4:48 pm - Thursday, May 30, 2013

#14 gautam lakra

If I had a choice , then I would go for a average body and a high end lens than the other way around !

3:07 am - Tuesday, July 2, 2013

#15 azlan

The most important is to master the basics of phography. Know the camera well and learn from other masters. Learn from their pictures. It is always the person behind the camera. Each camera has its own strengths and weaknesses. THe most important is the picture. Visualization, light, composition,  foreground and background, the subject…all play important roles in making a good photograph. Don’t fight over brands…please…A camera is the extension of our creativity. Use the camera well and be creative.

4:23 pm - Tuesday, July 2, 2013

#16 ric

Damn, what an awesome comment, AZLAN. I thought i was alone on this… dave, chris, take it easy on the lens mark discussion, it’s rare one photographer taking exactly the same picture, same angle, same timing, same spirit, with two different equipments. So why such a big fuss and fight about the accessories? What’s important is the shooter and it’s idea or moment, right? Stop the fussing and the fighting. By the way, i’m buying this camera tomorrow, i’ll post something later about it. Peace

9:34 pm - Friday, August 16, 2013

#17 Frank

Hey guys! I’m a newbee! I’m planning to buy an entry level DSLR.. I’m greatly confused with the brands.. Nikon D3200 or Canon 600D or Sony A58? Can anyone suggest me 1 from this please??

4:19 pm - Tuesday, August 20, 2013

#18 Jason

@Frank

I’m not a pro photographer although I used 35mm lots of time back then, I love my Minolta SR-1S and Olympus OM10, sometimes still use it though. However choosing between D3200 and 600D, I’ll go for 600D, considering I love HDR right now, and no auto bracketing in Nikon D3200, so I’ll never buy that one, 600D and A58? Well, this is hard, but if you’re on a budget, I suggest you go for A58, it has great menu and features compare to others at the same price, I really love the DR optimization. Don’t forget you can get Minolta AF lenses for cheap. However D3200, 600D and A58 can produce great pictures, I choose A58 because of the features and cheap Minolta lenses but still good IQ. I sold my 550D because of the high price of that L lenses. Anyway, it’s up to you to decide, the most important is the person behind the camera, not the camera, camera is just a tool. Cheers.

4:41 am - Friday, August 30, 2013

#19 steve strowbridge

I have recently bought the SLT-A58 havn`t really road tested it yet but for the life of me i cant find a remote for it apart from the sony £80 or thereabouts model Amazon and Ebay have every remote except for the A58 does anybody know if any remotes are compatible with the A58.
Cheers Steve

3:20 pm - Tuesday, September 3, 2013

#20 ARYAN

MUJHE A JANNA H KI KYA ... A NIKON D3200 SE BATTER H .... AUR ISSE IMAGE KO ISKO KAISE MAI CLEAR LA SAKTA HU….... PLESE HELP ME…...

6:03 am - Saturday, September 21, 2013

#21 Paulhic

I own an a 58 and it has exceeded my expectations. A brilliant camera

10:07 am - Monday, October 14, 2013

#22 dougsinnott

There’s a lot of talk about the difference an expensive lens can make to your pictures.
Well,for my money,I have found the standard Sony zoom,as supplied with the A58,to be really sharp,and any improvement a more expensive lens might make must only be marginal,and would be difficult to spot on the average A4 print,and not all on your PC.
It’s more to with the camera’s software and sensor.
If you’re a crap photographer,an expensive lens won’t make you a good one!

9:43 pm - Sunday, October 20, 2013

#23 Josh

“If you’re a crap photographer,an expensive lens won’t make you a good one!”

And if you’re a “crap photographer” you won’t know the difference and be satisfied with the 18-55 kit lens thinking it’s just as good as a good lens.

11:58 am - Friday, October 25, 2013

#24 dougsinnott

Josh!
Get a life!
Don’t take it to heart,lighten up!
Expensive lenses don’t guarantee that a poor photographer will suddenly start producing great images,which is fairly obvious to most people.
I personally started with a Russian Zenith E 50 years ago,and I won several competitions with this fairly primitive camera,as the images were good,and todays cameras are vastly improved,as are the lenses,even the average"kit” lens is capable of great results.
The camera’s sensor,and your editing program,probably effect the final image more than whatever super duper lens you use,in my experience.

So unless you regularly want to print out wall filling posters,spend your money on some extra kit,or take your wife out!

2:05 pm - Friday, October 25, 2013

#25 dougsinnott

Steve,
I can’t find a remote switch either!
The Sony one is far too expensive,so keep checking EBay!
Meanwhile I use the self timer!

2:09 pm - Friday, October 25, 2013

#26 Paul Doherty

I am using the self timer as well but is a pain in the backside. I wish someone would bring out a cheaper lead and a cheaper ADP-MAA flash mount. Sony is ripping people off with their prices. I contacted Sony about these items as I had the a290 and was told if you can buy an a58 you can buy these 2 items. Really shocked and disappointed at Sony on this.

6:38 pm - Friday, October 25, 2013

#27 Martin

I still have my Minolta Maxxum 5000 with a Minolta AF50 and a Tamron 70-210 f/3.5-4.5 lens. They still appear to be in very good condition. My concern is if it’s worth buying a Sony a58 because they are compatible with them or should I go with someting else? One con point with the a58 is it’s plastic lens mount, but I’m thinking switching my Minolta Stainless steel mount onto the Sony…Seems pretty simple, but nothing about this on the web. I saw the a58 at Costco in Montreal for $431 with the 18-55 mm F3.5-5.6 and bag. My question is: does it worth it? or sould I go with a fresh kit? I just want to have the best bang for my bucks…Thanks!

3:41 am - Friday, November 15, 2013

#28 doug sinnott

Martin,
I wouldn’t bother changing the lens mount,you’ll mess up the camera,and find it difficult to resell,should you wish to in the future.
There’s nothing wrong with the plastic mount,it seems solid and robust enough to me.
A lot of ill informed rubbish is posted about plastic mounts on cameras and lenses,as I’ve never had any problems,and I’ve never heard of anyone else having problems either.
In normal use a plastic mount will probably outlast the camera!
As regards value,the A58 is great value for money,outperforming even higher priced cameras,and as regards fitting old lenses,why?
They’re usually bigger,and much heavier,so you’re better saving up for a modern Sony fit lens,with the advantages of quicker autofocus,and easier handling,and leave your old lens in the bag,with your old Minolta!

10:02 am - Friday, November 15, 2013

#29 Raj

I have made my research about the features and specs but still confused which one to purchase among NIKON D3200, CANON EOS600D and Sony SLT A58.
Is it that Editing a video has better output in Canon? Some recommendations and insights will be very helpful. Thanks!

6:40 pm - Sunday, November 17, 2013

#30 CJ

Love the Sony a58.  Quick, easy to use,

7:36 pm - Friday, November 29, 2013

#31 Jesse Johnson

I just Purchased the A58 for $419 after Tax here in CO.
I bought it as a Gift for my Wife for Christmas.

Is there a Lens you recommend that is AFFORDABLE (Under $400) That can Provide an EXTENDED Quality to the One that comes with the Sony A 58?

Are there Memory Cards that provide Better Quality than Others?

Lastly, She was reading that the A58 does not Record Sound on the Movie Recordings. Your Article says it Does. Clarify?

Thanks for your time!

6:46 am - Tuesday, December 24, 2013

#32 doug sinnott

Dear Jesse.,
Having used three of Sony’s “standard” lenses,the 18-70 DT lens,the old 18-55 SAM,and now the 18-55 SAM 2,as fitted to the A58,I have found them all to be sharp and contrasty,and,by all accounts,including my own experiences,as good,or perhaps better, than Canon or Nikon “kit” lenses,although most reviewers always favour products from these big two manufacturers.
Of course,like most “kit” lenses,they are of mainly plastic construction,but that helps to keep,the cost,and the weight down,and they will probably outlast you,if used properly.

You would have to look VERY closely on your PC screen to spot any difference between the Sony lenses,and much higher priced similar zoom lenses,and any difference in your prints would also be very hard to see,if at all,even with a magnifying glass,and you could use the extra money you save to buy the excellent 55-200 Sony telezoom,to complete your kit.
I can assure you that Sony lenses are great quality,and I’ve been a keen amateur for nearly 50 years,and used many different makers in that time.
Of course you can record sound on your Sony video clips,and I suggest you download the Sony User Guide from their website,which you might find useful.
Recently I read an article when an identical scene was photographed using a smart phone,a cheap compact,and a entry level DSLR with a standard zoom fitted ,and A4 prints were then made of the results.
When the prints were then shown to friends and family,no one could tell them apart!
Obviously,these pictures were all taken at the same time,in good light.
So too much is made of the supposed advantages of expensive lenses,and,for most of us,unless you’re heavily into enormous wall posters,it’s just throwing money away,certainly in my view.

Sony lenses do a great job,and the image editing program you use will have more influence on the finished product!

10:55 am - Tuesday, December 24, 2013

#33 doug sinnott

Dear Jesse,
PS
As regards memory cards,the main difference in SD cards is the “speed” at which they can operate,and the “class”,(plus the capacity of course).
For video recording a Class 10 card is recommended,and the faster the speed the better,as it helps write images quicker,and download them to your PC faster as well.
As regards quality,there’s not much noticeable difference betweeeen any of them,just avoid very cheap ones,and buy from a respected seller,as there’s a lot of fakes out there!

11:06 am - Tuesday, December 24, 2013

#34 angry

Sony Image Data Suite does NOT support Sony SLT-A58 ARW RAW format. There is NO Convertor that does. Tried Rawtherapee on xunbuntu = piss poor color but could save to tif /jpg. RawTherapee on XP SP3 and has great color but crash when try to save.

What program supports A58 ARW format???

1:41 am - Tuesday, January 7, 2014

#35 Martin

I bought the A58, but took it back since my remote could not fit with it. Just bought the A77 and absolutly love it!

2:05 am - Tuesday, January 7, 2014

#36 Marinus Vesseur

We have had the A58 for about half a year now. My wife loves everything about it except the small screen and the not-always-accurate autofocus (although I think she would find fault with most autofocus cameras). The image quality beats anything you can find in this price range, I would say and the possibility of using our old Minolta lenses remains a nice bonus.
There is one point of concern, though and that is the build quality. There is a noticable drop in quality from the A57. The plastic is really very cheap and has turned matte and spotty. The rubber on the grip is disintegrating. I am worried that this camera will not survive its first year and I would never want to expose it to a drop of rain - it seems so vulnerable.
This camera has been available for 399 with lens and that is cheap for what it can do, but if you want a camera with a more sturdy feel you’ll want to look at the A57, A65 and A77.

7:39 pm - Thursday, January 9, 2014

#37 Dhruv Bhagat

I am really confused between Sony A58 and Canon 600D. Can you please which is better?

I am so confused.. But what I see is that Sony A58 seems much more worth than that of Canon EOS 600D.

Which one should I go for?

3:21 pm - Sunday, March 9, 2014

#38 Prasanna Nandaragi

Awesome! With huge dilemma and some doubts in mind about the translucent mirror about cutting some light, I purchased this last week; I am now extremely happy for the choice I made. The performance beats my expectations!!!! Highly recommend it.

6:37 pm - Sunday, March 16, 2014

#39 Prasanna Nandaragi

I had the same confusion to choose between canon 600D and Sony A58; The BIG difference is auto focus in video mode; for me this was must! So I went ahead and purchased A58; I am quite happy. The A58 takes excellent images even in low light even beyond my expectations. I am loving this!

6:44 pm - Sunday, March 16, 2014

#40 Prasanna Nandaragi

Go for Sony A58; Its just an amzing camera. I had a terrific confusion between CANON 600D and SONY A58; Finally I settled with SONY A58 and I am extremely happy.

6:49 pm - Sunday, March 16, 2014

#41 bharathisrinivasu

This is srinivasu, Sony 58 is best camera for low
budget and quality fotos. I suggest that it is best
for midrange photographers
Thankingyou’

4:15 am - Sunday, April 6, 2014

#42 Dhanusha Somawardhana

I am using a58. i started using it before 3 months. it is beyond my expectations. it has lot of functions and gives very sensitive focus. i think this is more durable and worth buying.

10:27 am - Tuesday, April 29, 2014

#43 Dhruv Bhagat

Thank you so much guys!!

I have finally bought Sony Alpha A58. There are so many features and I am just a beginner.. Lot to explore but I am seriously loving it.. Thank you so much everyone!

I haven’t bought the 55-200mm lens yet.. Will think about it in future ;)

3:47 am - Wednesday, April 30, 2014

#44 Martin

I’m a beginner and looking at getting either the Sony A58 SLT or the Panasonic G5 MFT.

Both cameras have been reviewed on this site and the image quality is described as “excellent” for both. However looking at the sample images in particular of the bookshelf, the G5 seems equally sharp all over the image, whereas the A58 is only sharp in a small area in the the centre and gets blurry quite quickly everywhere else. 

Why is this? Is this the lens or the camera causing this? I can’t see anything mentioned about it in the review.

For example:

Sony A58: http://img.photographyblog.com/reviews/sony_a58/photos/sony_a58_02.jpg

Panasonic G5:
http://img.photographyblog.com/reviews/panasonic_lumix_g5/sample_images/panasonic_lumix_g5_02.jpg

I was leaning towards the A58 until I’ve compared the images - now I’m not sure.

Any advice would be very helpful. Thanks.

1:04 pm - Saturday, May 24, 2014

#45 Kal

Martin,
Take the sample images here with a grain of salt. I looked at both cameras and settled for the Sony A58. I use it for wedding photography. My two most important criteria: image quality and low light performance. Best to view both camera images on Flickr or PixelPeeper. They would give you a better idea of images capable with these cameras.  One more thing - the Sony a58 is a crop sensor camera and the Panasonic is micro four thirds.

8:37 am - Sunday, May 25, 2014

#46 Arnold Khunkhoma

sony is best a58

2:19 pm - Friday, July 4, 2014

#47 Oscar

I have a Sony a58 and this is what i get out of it.
http://www.oscarphoto.squarespace.com/

6:23 am - Sunday, July 6, 2014

#48 George

I bought an a58 to replace my very reliable old Sony alpha. First big no no, is the plastic lens mount. I’m not sure how many lens changes that will last. I needed a sensor clean within 2 months, my old alpha had one clean in 7 years. A month later it needed another. I then got caught in the rain and though the camera got wet and packed up. The shop I bought it from, Cornwall Cameras in Truro say that it can’t be repaired due to water ingress. Ye gods my old alpha has been out i all kinds of weather. I am now left with a 4 month old useless camera. Granted the imagequality is great but this is possibly the worst camera it has ever been my misfortune to own and I wouldn’t touch one againwith the roverbial bargepole.

8:06 am - Tuesday, July 8, 2014

#49 amit

Which one to chose Nikon D5300 or Sony a58 and why?
Very confused plz some one ans the que….

7:30 am - Monday, August 11, 2014

#50 dhruv

Hey everyone,
I m really really confused between Sony a58 and Nikon d5300. Cameras.. Can anybody guide me through this.

1:47 pm - Thursday, October 9, 2014

#51 viruss

sorry for disturb…how to pause recording when taking a video..pls guide asap ..tq very much

5:22 pm - Thursday, November 6, 2014

#52 NJ

I am really confused too… Between sony a58 and nikon d5300. Price between both is fine for me. I’m not a professional, it’s for the pure fun of it, but still I work with image editing and 3d, so I want the best between the 2. I read so many applauses to Sony that I feel very confused…
Help?!

5:45 pm - Saturday, November 8, 2014

#53 jai tanwani

My priority is professional videos so I am confused between d5200 ans a58 please tell me which is better for videos

5:42 pm - Saturday, November 22, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, review, 1080p, hdmi, video, movie, sony, 2.7 inch LCD, RAW, DSLR, 1920x1080, 20 megapixel, EVF, alpha, 8fps, 5fps, JPEG, slt, test. tilting, a58, Sony A58, slt-a58

Tracker Pixel for Entry