Sony A77 Review

5.0
December 13, 2011 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

46 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 RTFarT

Everything in this review makes this look like a serious camera. My biggest problem as a Canon user is the potential cost of switching. But, with arthritic hands like mine, a lighter and less bulky camera with these features could be a possibility. I look forward to hearing and reading other reviews. Thankyou Mark for a most informative review.

7:02 pm - Tuesday, December 13, 2011

#2 Jaime Baldovinos

A very comprehensive review.  Sony claims that the DX 24 mp sensor is close in image quality to the full size sensor.  Do you agree?  And in a related question is the A77 with the available Carl Zeiss lenses comparable in image quality to the Nikon full frame camera?

8:24 pm - Tuesday, December 13, 2011

#3 TT

RTFarT, Unfortunately the A77 is neither light nor less bulky. A65 is lighter though

9:15 pm - Tuesday, December 13, 2011

#4 Daemonius

Jaime Baldovinos

Its not and cant be as its still APS-C. And it has very very small pixels so it really cant compete on pixel level with any FF.

From pure IQ, I recommand A850/A900 if you want Sony (and dont need LV or movies). If you can live with APS-C, A55 or A580 is good choice as is NEX-5N (which actually can compete on pixel level with full-frames quite easy).

Otherwise regular Canikon solutions. Highest per-pixel quality has 1DMK3 for long time now (truly clean and noise free image) and D3s.

2:04 am - Wednesday, December 14, 2011

#5 Andrew

I really, really hope that Sony improves their noise reduction technology on raw files since use I those on most of work. I tried compairing Nikon’s D7000 and Sony’s A77 ISO qualities and literally D7000 smoked Sony’s Image quality.

4:23 am - Wednesday, December 14, 2011

#6 Em

What is the lense used for the sample images?
Is it the 16-50 mm f/2.8?

7:42 am - Wednesday, December 14, 2011

#7 Gary

How well would not say in the reviews of Sony, but it seems to me that Canon or Nikon is better. Maybe I did not work with Sony, but picture quality does not suit me.

8:13 am - Wednesday, December 14, 2011

#8 Jaz

THANK YOU!!! I so appreciate this site. This is the information I was looking for.I am going to buy a new camera that’s why this information is most valuable for me. london-contacts.com

8:51 am - Wednesday, December 14, 2011

#9 Geordie

I bought the a77 as a replacement for my a850 as the 850 with fast glass was just too unweildy. Taking comparitive shots with each in turn showed strengths and weaknesses in each. The a77 had a much faster focus, better colour depth and far less vibration and noise when the shutter was actuated, now that the new firmware has been installed the JPEG performance is pretty good and 1600 is very useable with 3200 ok. The a850 felt as though it would last twice as long being built like a brick outhouse and the viewfinder is far superior, the weight is its only real drawback plus it only holds 9 shots in its buffer in raw and the continous speed is on the slow side. Overall though I am very pleased with the a77 and has more features than you can shake a tripod at.

2:09 pm - Wednesday, December 14, 2011

#10 Matr0x

Essential ?! You`re joking ? I LOVE its ergonomics, and yes it has a bunch of cool new features and remarkable color, but hey ! You call it essential while it has visible noise even at ISO100 ? Unusable smeared, blurry, totally killed by processing JPEG and practically upscaled 24Mpix “detail” quality (in JPEG), that have barely more visible details then 12Mp ? With its sluggish responsiveness. With funny tiny buffer depth, only 2sec series lenghts - is it a joke ? And maximum writing speed of ~42-45Mb/s with fastest 90Mb/s UHS-I cards. A LOT of bugs that hasnt fixed yet after several firmwares released.
I have this camera and know what im talking about.

2:38 pm - Wednesday, December 14, 2011

#11 geordie

Just a few comments, Em - the lenses I used back to back were the 50mm f1.4 prime,24-70and 70-200 f2.8 sigma hsm and apo 2 x tc. The 16-50 wont work on the a850 as it is a compact sensor lens not ff compatible.
Andrew - Sony supply the image sensor for the D7000 and I still think there will be more firmware upgrades in the pipeline in 2012.
Daemonius - I can only call it how I saw it I had both cameras taking the same shots on the same day and displayed them on a 42” HD screen and there was no discernable difference, I was gobsmacked!
TT - lighter or less bulky than the a850 certainly is, just been using mine tonight and the difference between this and the a850 is huge though still has a bit of heft to it which I like. Best regards to you all and a merry christmas and loads of respect yo you and yours

12:13 am - Saturday, December 17, 2011

#12 Rustu Erata

After a long searching I decided to buy Sony Alpha A77. But when I test it I am disappointed a little bit . Actually, I loved Sony Alpha A77 except it’s “joystick” MENU Button! I felt that joystick is uncomfortable (even if my hands are a little bit smaller than average ones - my gloves size is 8). It should be more uncomfortable for someone who has average or bigger hands! According to me (I studied in Industrial Design in METU many years ago), there is some problem in ergonomic: the joystick is too high and it’s head is too narrow (even according to my smaller size hands)! Actually Canon EOS 60D and Sony Alpha A65 have better ergonomically and comfortable menu button. That’s why I will be waiting to buy this wonderful machine until that ergonomic problem is solved.

11:03 pm - Tuesday, December 20, 2011

#13 hst

excellent camera…. but very expensive… >.<”“

2:39 am - Friday, December 23, 2011

#14 Michi Marshall

I am a beginner in photography with small stature and here’s my experience with a77.  It is perfect except for the fact that it has donut shapes appearing on the pictures.  I had this problem with a55 and they exchanged it for me 3 times, but finally had to send it back to get it fixed. This happened only when I shot the photos of flying birds in the air.  Then these donut shapes appeared very clearly.  They are not visible when there are clouds or taking pictures of people or landscapes.  Another words, textured background does not show these donut images. Much to my disappointment a77 has the same problem.  So beware of buying this camera if you don’t want to spend extra $ for shipping to Sony to get repaired.  The joystick is hard to use and even with my small fingers, it is a hit and miss and frustrating.  Why they had to put the “wall” between the joystick and the LCD screen I don’t know, it’s a bad design.  When I first got the camera, the movie started recording by itself, twice.  No I didn’t hit the movie button by mistake.  It doesn’t do that anymore but now this a77 turns on the menu by itself time to time.  However, with all these problems, I still love the camera!  I love to photograph birds but have bad eyesight and bad shoulders.  So this a55 and a77 allows me to photograph birds in flight, especially with the discontinued 500mm lens by Sony as it is light weight with relatively fast auto focus. (The tracking does not work with this lens but not a big deal, although it would have been nice).  There are no other camera and lens combination out there today that allows me to photograph flying birds.  The IQ is excellent so long as I take the pictures during the day with blue sky and have the sun in the right direction.  So if there are people like me out there, I highly recommend it. a55 was very easy to learn to use but a77 is a little more complicated.  a77 definitely produces better IQ than a55.

6:06 am - Monday, December 26, 2011

#15 Elliott Landy

First of all, you do a great job in general. However for your sample images, 1. You should make it easier to download all the test shots at one time. clicking and saving on each one makes it very slow to compare. 2. You should use the same aperture of the lens for all the photos,  to eliminate the difference in sharpness at various apertures.  3. You should photograph the same scene with iso variations so we can compare. Preferably on a tripod. 4. I assume you use the same interanl camera sharpnessand noise reduction settings for all the jpgs?If so you should state this.

6:01 pm - Monday, December 26, 2011

#16 Jim

Thanks for a really comprehensive and helpful review.  I have an A77 body on order, my assumption being that the Minolta AF lenses which have worked well on my 35mm roll film Minolta 800 and DSLR A100 will be fine with the A77.  But are older AF lenses (of which I have a selection that includes the Minolta AF 50mm f1.7 and the Minolta 70-300mm AF “beercan” responsive enough to take full advantage of the A77’s very fast burst shooting?  Opinions from photography shops are divided and I haven’t yet found an A77 owner to ask, so can anybody shed light on this?

Thanks! 

Jim

7:51 pm - Friday, December 30, 2011

#17 Bruce

I have just purchased the A77 with the vertical grip and use a Tamron 18-270 lens. I have Canon and Nikon.  I agree wholeheartedly with Geordie’s comments after about 1 months use and 4000 shots. It is a heavy camera, but it suites my requirements exactly.  I studied the offerings for a year before I chose the A77 and I have no regrets what so ever. I have been a photojournalist for many years and it’s all horses for courses. I also build websites -  (72dpi) and with the casual movie function it helps to capture what I need. Remember Nikon buy a lot of Sony technology for their DSLR’s, including the new 36mp soon to be released. I have mated it with my Canon flash with a hot shoe adaptor. I have a Sony flash, but much prefer the Canon. I also shoot video with a separate Sony broadcast camera.

Good comments from everyone on this blog though.

3:11 am - Saturday, December 31, 2011

#18 ABETER DJ AND PHOTOGRAPHER

Jim- yes the MINOLTA AF lenses work wonderful with the SONY A77… however SONY says the screw drives will wear out faster with the speed of the AF on the A77. We sell MINOLTA lenses so I have shot with almost all of them. My wife shoots with the SONY 16-50 2.8 lens which is excellent but I still prefer my MINOLTA 28-135 1:4-4.5.

We have now taken over 30,000 fantastic photos with our 2 SONY SLT-A77s… including several weddings. We were also the official photographers on the Rock Legends Cruise in December where we took about 9,000 photos and a few great videos. I was really surprised at the quality of the sound from the on-board microphone, it did not clip even though I was only 10 feet from the main PA column!.

Her camera has no problems at all but mine locks up every once in a while… no biggie that a quick battery out/in doesn’t fix. It’s not worth the time to be without it to get it fixed.

We stepped up from the SONY SLT-A55s and although it does take some getting used to the ergonomics on this camera are excellent. Use your thumb for the joystick and you can zap right through the menus and program the buttons to the features you need in a hurry and you’ll be happy!

We have lots of photos and reviews posted on our site at http://www.abetterdj.net

6:22 pm - Tuesday, January 3, 2012

#19 Hipporippo

This comment is directed at Elliott Landy:

First you say that the a55 and a77 give you dohnut shapes in your photos. You then go on to talk about how great the f/8 mirror telephoto lens made by sony/minolta is for birding.

Is it possible… that the dohnut shaped bokeh is caused by your reflex lens???

There is absolutely no reason why a sensor would give you a dohnut shape. This is an optical property inherent in the reflex design and is a well documented phenomenon with the f/8 minolta/sony 500mm.

Please don’t send your camera back to Sony. Rip on the a77 for the areas it deserves it…high iso performance.

10:25 am - Saturday, January 7, 2012

#20 Rustu Erata

Hi,
After a long and detailed searching I decided to buy Sony Alpha A77. But when I test it I am disappointed a little bit . Actually, I loved Sony Alpha A77 except it’s “joystick” MENU Button! I felt that joystick is uncomfortable (even if my hands are a little bit smaller than average ones - my gloves size is 8). It should be more uncomfortable for someone who has average or bigger hands! According to me (I studied in Industrial Design in METU many years ago), there is some problem in ergonomic: the joystick is too high and it’s head is uncomfortable (even according to my smaller size hands)! Actually, for example Canon EOS 60D and Sony Alpha A65 have better ergonomically and comfortable menu button. That’s why I will be waiting to buy this wonderful machine until that ergonomic problem is solved.

12:06 am - Tuesday, January 10, 2012

#21 melvin yee

this is in response to #14 (Michi M).  I believe you have donut holes because you are using a mirror reflex lens.  This would happen with any DSLR.

4:54 am - Tuesday, January 10, 2012

#22 widmark

It seems like Sony has done a great, albeit imperfect job on the a77’s hardware, and yet crippled it with bad/buggy software/firmware.  Come on Sony, get the a77 to its full potential with a responsible firmware update!

The video stabilization issue is stunning to me.  Posters say the video on the a77 (and presumably the a65) uses software to stabilize it as opposed to the mechanical stabilization only for photo shooting.  The effect is a zoomed in image as compared to photo mode (1.5 crop factor vs 1.86 crop factor).  The a77 doesn’t appear to have an option to disable the software IS. 

I would love to have stabilization at all focal lengths available to the sensor but at the very least, have no IS with to allow video on the a77s 1.5x crop factor vs. the stabilized video 1.86x. Big difference!

Does Sony disclose that the stabilization used for video is digital/software based vs. the mechanical/optical in the a77 uses for photos? Anybody can take video files and perform software based IS which results in cropping of the image, such as with Adobe Premiere. Video IS on the a77 is the equivalent of digital zoom… why have digital zoom in-camera when you can just as easily crop your photo later to achieve the same image? Optical stabilization has been standard among all but the cheapest camcorders for the past 5 years. Folks plunking down $2K for an a77 kit are not getting what they pay for with this software IS that is not very well publicized by either a77 reviewers or Sony.

1:22 am - Thursday, January 19, 2012

#23 Adrian

Great review with in-depth details. I have been using the camera since Oct 2011 and I really like the camera. My main lens with this camera is the SONY 16-50 f2.8 lens. I shoot in RAW and wish that it would have less noise in the higher ISO settings. Anything above ISO800 gets a little noisy.

You can check out the shots at http://www.translucentmirror.com

7:17 am - Friday, February 3, 2012

#24 HarleyGriff

I made the switch from Canon to Sony about five years ago with the release of the Sony a350. Wanting to move to a more feature rich DSLR I did extensive research and liked what I saw regarding Sony and the direction they were going. After acquiring Konica Minolta’s photography technology, it didn’t take long for Sony to start making an impact. They seemed to be on the cutting edge of research and DSLR technology (Sony released the 1st really useful Live View technology). My research was confirmed when I went to a well know photography chain to look at the newest Canon and the salesperson directed me toward the Sony line. After doing a side-by- side comparison of features and image quality, I made the jump from Canon to Sony and have not regretted it one little bit!

I have been shooting with the a77 for a about a month. There was a slight learning curve as the a77 is quite an upgrade from my a350. Simply put, this is the best camera I have ever used. It was nice that it came with the newest firmware already installed (1.04). After reading some reviews I was a little concerned about the EVF but I am truly amazed at Sony’s implementation of the new technology. It is bright (even in sunlight), big and extremely helpful at obtaining the correct exposure (WYSIWYG) and I don’t have to take my glasses off to use the viewfinder.  It works well in low light as well.  Another really nice feature that I discovered, while attending a wedding, is the sheer quietness of this camera. The shutter noise of the pros cameras was distracting while my a77 was extremely quiet. Another cool feature is the “Peaking Level” menu option that is extremely useful while manually focusing the camera (for macro shots, etc.). Really cool and useful.

If I have to find something to complain about regarding the a77 I have a few points. One, the battery life could be longer. It uses the same battery as my A350 (so I have some extras) but it would be nice if Sony would develop a longer lasting battery. For some reason the GPS feature seems to suck battery life. Two, there is no “Steady Shot” button on the camera body. To use the camera on a tripod I have to go through the menu system to turn off “Steady Shot.” Not a huge deal but a button/switch would have been nice. That’s it, no other negatives from my perspective. There has been a lot of chatter about the noise level in high ISO ranges from this camera but I have not found it to be an issue in real world use. All cameras are going to be “noisy” in ISO 1600 and up. This camera has so many useful features as well as many fun options; it’s just not practical to discuss them in a short review.

Just a note of caution. . . if you are trying to make a decision about which camera to buy, keep in mind that not all reviews on the Sony DSLR/SLT cameras are unbiased. As I was researching I found that many pro reviewers (photographers, tech. geeks, magazines, etc.) were heavily biased toward the equipment they use. There are also many unbiased reviews that point out the short comings of each of the camera models. I recommend that you go to a photo store and see them for yourself and do your own side-by-side comparison. If you have lenses from Canon or Nikon it may not make since to switch. But, Sony is on the cutting edge and the future looks bright for their technology. I know I’m going to be very happy with my a77 and look forward to what is next.

As I read through the comments on this review I found that there was a lot of “nit-picking” and it was obvious who has really used this camera and who has not.  And, it is really not fair to compare an APS-C sensor with a Full Frame sensor.  Also, one must consider that Sony makes most of the image sensors and electronics for the Nikon cameras while (I believe) Panasonic makes many of the image sensors and electronics for Canon cameras.  These devises are really just little computers comprised of parts from various vendors.  What really sets a camera apart is the glass (lens) that one uses and I think you will be hard pressed to find better glass than the Sony “G” series or the Car Zeiss lenses.  You have to compare apples-to-apples in this arena as well.  It is not fair to compare a $200 Sony “kit” lens to a premium lens from Canon or Nikon.  As for the video capabilities of the a77, I think most people buy this camera for the photo features and regard the video capabilities as a bonus.  I know I do.  In fact, I have yet to even shoot video with my a77.  Yes, I’m on a soap-box and I am obviously biased toward Sony but I have done the research and actually have the real world experience with the a77 on which to base my opinion.

10:53 pm - Thursday, February 16, 2012

#25 hitizzak

I found the same thing a lot of biased comments, especially because the SLT is new and different from traditional cameras,

I decided on the A77 after looking at the Canon 7D and the Nikon d7000.

i love how one of the comments mentioned that the A77 is too small of a camera, but if you would have held one of those cameras, its actually bigger than the nikon D7000.

the deciding factor was all the additional options on the Sony, plus i rarely shoot over 1600 iso, so the low lighting is not the measure.

6:30 pm - Tuesday, March 13, 2012

#26 DrReality

I would read this review and think hard and long before buying it. Bad hi ISO results and JPEGs aren’t up to competition. Plus due to buffer its not really 12 FPS.

http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/sonyslta77

9:52 pm - Friday, April 27, 2012

#27 Holger Reichardt

We use the new A77 as a replacement for the A55 which we liked very much already. However after some testing (thanks to Amazon) we switched to the A77 und use the A55 only as backup and for activities where weight/size is an issue.  The picture quality of the new lens 16-50 2,8 together with the A77 is awesome (to a large degree because of 24MP and the integrated lens correction. This A77 is a huge step forward; all in a sudden we are able to shoot top pictures with a real brilliant great look. Pictures showing details we never have seen before in this richness. This is a great camera. It’s quite large but still not too heavy.

Sony is innovation leader, like Audi in cars.

7:02 am - Tuesday, May 8, 2012

#28 brian

I dig the camera, have had it for about 6 months but there are a few things that get on my nerves about Sony.

First, Sony customer service sucks asshole.  They are ####### rude to paying customers who come with money in hand. I regret buying this camera because of it.But, I have to live with it.

2nd: Shooting in MP4 mode reduces the image from 1920x 1080p to 1440 x 1080.  >>>(retarded)it should stay the same, just compressed to H264.

3rd: Auto focus engine is loud as ####.  Mounting a boom mic is unusable because you can hear it working.  You have to position the mic away from the camera in order to use it, and the internal mic is the same.  It picks up all internal noise.

4th: Rolling shutter effect (Jello world effect) is awful, so its hard to record video with out a tripod or steady cam with out capturing it.

The good things about this camera are:

12fps rules the world.

1920x 1080p @60p rules the world also. very crisp

Video quality when camera is on tripod is un matched. Even by Canon.

19 point auto focus is fastest I’ve ever used even in video mode.

The flip screen adds a new dimension to shooting hard to view low angles Much better then the canon eos60 screen. IMO of course.

In camera HDR is way cool too.

Internal GPS owns it.

great color depth.

nice menu navigation and lots of customizable buttons on body.

there are more things i like but these all are my favorites. 

cheers everyone.

11:02 pm - Friday, June 1, 2012

#29 ThomasNLydia Yeo

I upgraded from a A700 that I was quite happy with, giving me wonderful photos.  When I took my first pictures with the A77, the image quality blew me off, they were gorgeous! 

I am not worried about high ISO and peeping down to pixel level.  I chose A77 essentially I have great lenses to match and help the camera produce great photos.

So I believe a good camera, even those with lower megapixels, deserve good lenses.  I have a Zeiss 24-70mm, the new Sigma 18-200mm with better glass than the standard 18-250mm lens and a Sony 50mm 1.4.  These explain why I am enjoying the A77 so much

4:41 am - Friday, August 24, 2012

#30 SteveJnerChicago

I have been researching for purchase of new DSLR for a while and have decided on either the A65 or, most likely the A77. I will use for birding photagraphy, static (although not very long) and in flight. I plan on purchasing the G-series 70-400mm lens. My question is… With either the A65 or A77, Does Auto focus work if I add a 1.4 or 1.7 teleconverter to te G-series lenses?
Thanks in advance

7:33 am - Wednesday, September 12, 2012

#31 HarleyGriff

Still loving my A77 to the max!  This camera, along with my “old” Konica Minolta glass (especially 50mm 1.7 lens), takes some awesome pictures.  I still highly recommend this camera.  BTW there is a new updated firmware.

@ DrReality (#26):  The A77 is the highest rated “dslr” in its class on the dpreview.com website at 81%.  The Cannon EOS 60D comes in at 79% and the Nikon D7000 comes in at 80%. Pretty fair review from what I see!

@ SteveJnerChicago (#30):  I would reccomend the A77 as I have captured some really cool butterfly and bee shots with a 300mm lens.  As for the teleconverters, it depends on the teleconverter, itself, and the lens with which it is paired.  You really need to do your homework to determin if the teleconverter will work with your particular lens.  BH tends to carry a good selection of options and most will list the compatible lenses.  Good Luck

10:19 pm - Thursday, September 13, 2012

#32 clint

Sony are bringing out a super camera called Sony A99 .Its exceptionally fast with a super fast focus and churns out exceptionally clean photos .This camera will easily squeeze the tits of both Canons and Nikons .This camera will not be cheap .It will be around 2,500 .
Canon are also planning to bring out a camera of their own .They say it will be over 40 megapixils .But for such a high pixil rate Canon will have to sweat it out to bring down the noise levels .Even if they do manage to bring down the noise level to acceptable levels Canon will have to put a price tag of at least 6000 for such a camera .

9:29 pm - Friday, September 14, 2012

#33 clint

Sony are bringing out a super camera called Sony A99 .Its exceptionally fast with a super fast focus and churns out exceptionally clean photos .This camera will easily shred top models of both Canons and Nikons .But this camera will not be cheap .It will be around 2,500 .
Canon are also planning to bring out a camera of their own .They say it will be over 40 megapixils .But for such a high pixil rate Canon will have to sweat it out to bring down the noise levels .Even if they do manage to bring down the noise level to acceptable levels Canon will have to put a price .Which means they will folk out at least 6000 from you .

9:51 pm - Friday, September 14, 2012

#34 SteveJnerChicago

Thanks

@ HarleyGriff (#31): Just received my A77, Charging Battery. Now researching long lens options for birding. Have not even turned on this camera but love the build and feel. Can’t wait to use tonight and tomorrow with kit 18135SAM lens. this is my first “high quality” SLT. Have Nikon Coolpix P510 which can produce some fine results but got hooked on photagraphy and birding so time to get serious and grow. While the A77 has outstanding technology and capabilities, Sony has to increase lens selection, especialy thier long lens selection. Still, absolutely no regrets.

8:13 pm - Tuesday, September 18, 2012

#35 steve

been reading all comments,,sounds a gd camera A77,may update from my A700.
have lenses that work well with A700,sigma 50-500 lense.zeiss 24-70,just want to make sure they do perform well with a77.
Thanks steve

9:11 pm - Monday, October 8, 2012

#36 SteveJnerChicago

@ #35 steve, Now that I’ve been using it I am thrilled. I am using a Minolta version of the Sony SAL AF 500f80. Minolta lenes work as Sony kept the Minolta a mount when they took over Minolta so lens selection is there. my Minolta Lens AF works fast and accurate every time. Your Sigma 50-500 should work well also from what I remember reading when researching the A77. You can see my pics on flickr at SteveJnerChicago. The only thing I can say that seems not so good is the noise at higher ISO settings. I limit my ISO to 800 and lower. Keep in mind i am still a newbie to photagraphy and this camera so I still have a lot to learn but so far I am so happy. One common complaint is battery life. If you turn around the LCD so that it does not turn on, You can get well over 1000 shots. Last weekend I filled a 16G card with over 1000 shots and still had 60% battery left. Go to a camera store with your lenses and try them on an A77.

12:59 am - Saturday, October 13, 2012

#37 Philip Procter

After reading several reviews, I finally broke down and bought an a77 as a second camera to my a700. Because of the mixed comments about the viewfinder and the noise level, I bought it with a 30 day return guarantee. 30 days later and I’m definitely keeping it!

I find that the viewfinder is too contrasty. In backlite situations it tends to swamp the shadows but that can be overcome by re-positioning the view temporarily into the shadows. Not convenient or ideal but OK. Sony NEEDS to give more attention to the finder with future updates (I’m on 1.0.5). 

Once you’re used to it, the rest of the advantages of the EVF, such as previewing the DoF at normal light levels and the reduced noise from the mirror slap, are worth it (most of the time!)

Noise is def higher than my a700, but the detail is much better, too. I can use Topaz DeNoise and kill the noise and keep most of the added detail. Ultimately, after procesing, the pics are much better with the a77, just not up to a900 standards! Also, Sony’s “Hand-held twilight” mode is great at reducing ISO noise.

Not perfect, but definitely a keeper!

8:43 pm - Monday, October 22, 2012

#38 Andrew

I don’t know how you are getting such great quality images from you A77. I have pronounced noise in all of my images at ISO 100 with all of my G and Carl Zeiss lenses. If there is some secret to eliminating the noise in camera I have yet to find it.

4:21 pm - Sunday, December 2, 2012

#39 Auke

Dear Mark,
The comparison of JPEG in section “2. Image quality”, paragraph “File quality” shows the wrong pictures for XFINE and FINE. The sample for XFINE show the FINE and the sample for FINE shows the STANDARD, the samples of STANDARD and RAW are ‘fine’.
Can you substitute the XFINE sample?
Thanks.

4:13 pm - Saturday, January 26, 2013

#40 name

The sound on this camera is so bad.. It has badass noise,  I often wonder why they even bother.. Takes good pics and all, but why that crappy sound on the vid part? Common, Sony? -Are you deaf? i fear this company will let us down in the end.. Companies that fakes on the little things get ######..right up their asses in the end. Trust me.. sony wont make it.

4:57 pm - Sunday, February 3, 2013

#41 kk

its ok, but in meeting , conference taking photo the speaker in the podium come sharp image but others like siting in the dies are going to blur how can rectify this problem

10:28 am - Friday, May 24, 2013

#42 ViRuS X

Great camera with high ISO problem ,shoot in good lighting condition and you will get stunning image quality .. if you want to shoot those sunset landscapes or night photography your photo will catch noise in shadow areas even in 100 ISO.
so just try to use slow shutter speed but that won’t work for every photo idea

4:05 pm - Friday, August 9, 2013

#43 Canonian

After using canon 5d mark 2 for about 2 years. And investing about 5000 $ in canon lenses. I had to buy this camera (used one) for simply 2 good reasons

1. 12 fps ... so now I can take blurless photo of my fast moving daughter which I failed many times with canon
2. Shoot movies with peace of mind ... dont have to keep holding the focusing ring and go sharp and blur ..sharp and blur during the shoot.

PLEASE TAKE THIS ADVICE FROM ME… and ignore any book or claimed profesional site or photographers ...if you have fast moving kids dot not even look at any other camera. Nikon and canon will fail and you will miss great moments of your kids specialy when they are well dressed and you have few seconds to take the shot. Oh wait , unless you are willing to carry with you the giant super expensive 1dx or d4 !!!!

9:42 am - Thursday, September 12, 2013

#44 Toni

I’ve had this camera over a year now and loved using it. Unfortunately a few days before Christmas it stopped working (nothing happened when turning on) so I took it back to Sony where I bought it (Bangkok) for repairs. 3 days later I call them as I was told it would take 2 days and they say they hadn’t even sent it for repairs as it was still in their shop! The assistant then asks me ‘how long do you want to wait’! Very disappointing and poor customer support!

5:49 am - Thursday, December 26, 2013

#45 Stathis Panagiotopoulos

I bought this camera before 4 months.Before i had a sony a550.A77 is a very good camera.I have it with a tamron 17-50 f/2.8 and the images are very good.

5:03 pm - Tuesday, March 25, 2014

#46 Walmir Piheiro

I already own a Sony A 100, which is quite satisfactory to me. In September I’ll be in New York to buy this A 77 body; I’m taking the lens that I have here in Brazil. So finding this review was all I needed to give me complete information about this camera. The amount of features on this model is simply amazing. The review was extrimely useful to me.

3:34 am - Friday, April 25, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, review, 1080p, hdmi, sony, DSLR, tilting, EVF, 24 megapixel, alpha, slt, 12fps, a77, slt-a77, Sony A77

Tracker Pixel for Entry