Sony A7 Review

5.0
December 5, 2013 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

9 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Yaj

Quoting the first sentence of the review: “The Sony A7 is the world’s first 35mm full-frame compact system camera (along with the A7R that was launched at the same time).”


No, neither the A7 nor the A7R is the first full frame interchangeable lens digital camera+system.


That first would be the Leica M9, released in the fall of 2009.

(I don’t want to read a peep about auto focus here.)


9:37 pm - Thursday, December 5, 2013

#2 Willi Müller

Sorry for translation in english by Google translator.

The recordable pictures in their test should be testimonials about the sharpness of the camera - you published blurred images (example picture 26, 31), usually you used fairly closed iris values ​​that show only limited the power of the lenses due to increasing light diffraction at the aperture blades - anything - so I think - quite carelessly shot and also very unprofessional to see how powerful the camera / lens combination is. Please use a tripod. Examples with full aperture, as examples in the first third aperture range (ie, 4 to 5.6) in order to achieve better performance with the lenses. Sorry for my strong language, but I find it a shame that their otherwise good side shows such examples.

7:46 am - Friday, December 6, 2013

#3 ian

Has Sony updated the firmware on this/NEX’s yet to allow setting of a MINIMUM shutter speed .. if not then its still a nightmare using manual lenses on these cameras !

Sony typically (NEX) allows the shutter speed to fall to 1/60 sec before ISO’ing up so if you are using manual primes then in anything other than bright light its a real pig to avoid motion blur

i guess on the A7 in FF mode you dont have the 1.5x crop so at least the issue isnt as bad as on the NEX

Come on Sony get your ass in gear and firmware update the NEX/A7 for this !

5:37 pm - Tuesday, December 10, 2013

#4 radissimo

@Yaj:

The key word is Compact System Camera (CSC), which Leica is not

5:44 pm - Tuesday, December 10, 2013

#5 Tony

What do you people really think about this camera???

I’ve seen a few sample images and compared them to the same image shot with a Canon Eos 5D MkIII and with a Nikon D610.

The result is that the images of the Alpha7 had more noise most noticeable from ISO 3200 and on…(in RAW).

For the price it has, the only advantage it has over a Nikon D610(and Canon 6D) is the 300gr weight difference and its size.

You can have very good lenses on any of them, for less money.

Heck! Not having image quality in mind even the OMD EM1 might be a better choice.

I’ve even heard some people talk about focusing problems with the A7.

I’d like to know what Photography blog and its readers have to say about all of this, because on the other hand it does look like a great camera.

5:29 pm - Wednesday, December 18, 2013

#6 Charlie

First, thanks for the great review. You did a great job, and the review has been helpful. Secondly, I am trying to figure out certain features of the a7, and the manual is utterly useless. I realize you are quite busy, but I at my wits end! How does one use the face registration AF?! Does it only work in certain modes?! I can’t find any instructions that actually help. Really, all of my questions relate to the interrelationship of the many different focus settings - facial recognition, focus tracking, adjustable focus points - nothing Sony provides gives me any help on how these different settings work and/or work together. If you can point me in the right direction, that would be brilliant! Thanks again!

11:36 pm - Saturday, January 25, 2014

#7 Philippe Metras

Using non native manual focus lenses is not a nightmare ,as Willy Müller wrote. With S mode and AutoIso.You can set easily speed and aperture.

A good additional battery and charger cost 15 Euros.The issue does not deserve to be mentionned. 

6:47 am - Thursday, February 20, 2014

#8 DR25

This camera is awesome! The creative options seem endless especially when you use a lens adapter.

Right now i’m hooked on manual focus with my Canon 50mm 1.4 mounted with the Vitrox adapter.

The results speak for them self.

http://bit.ly/1roHVsV

http://bit.ly/1pgvJqH

6:26 pm - Friday, September 26, 2014

#9 mikael

Totally awesome camera. Amazing ISO performance.
Chinese batteries are less than 10 bucks / each :O)

4:00 pm - Thursday, October 9, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, review, 1080p, test, compact system camera, wi-fi, wireless, sony, mirrorless, RAW, wifi, nfc, 24 megapixel, full-frame, panorama, 5fps, CSC, evf, viewfinder, 60p, 24p, 55mm, carl zeiss, a7, moire, Full Frame, low-pass filter, olpf, optical, fe lenses, FE, oled, 2.5fps, Sony A7 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry