Sony A7R Review

5.0
December 4, 2013 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

9 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 meh

Slow to focus, VERY FEW lenses, terrible shutter sound…

I’ll get one after a 3rd generation is released.

Early adapters will regret this.

11:39 pm - Wednesday, December 4, 2013

#2 wd

I had a nex 7 but lack of firmware upgrades and quality lenses, coupled with continually bringing out new bodies, drove me to Nikon.  Doubt this series will be any different. Can’t build a system around constantly changing products.

12:42 am - Thursday, December 5, 2013

#3 jake

no regret so far here , I sold my D800E after I got this one.
btw, thanks PB for your excellent works.

3:04 pm - Friday, December 6, 2013

#4 David

Any idea what the image dimensions are for a sweeping panorama with the a7R?

4:16 pm - Tuesday, December 10, 2013

#5 cm

I got one and tried out with my Leica lenses,Is a good try but in term of image quality,Still unmatched with D800E , viewfinder can’t use inside studio under low light.terrible. For fun okay, not for pro job.I dont really like to use it with adapter and other lenses..dark finder for focusing,no AF, no auto exp..not my type..missed chances of good shot,the electronic finder still not good enough., unless you shoot mountain and sea.Well, just my opinion and experience.SOny, keep it up.

11:16 am - Saturday, December 14, 2013

#6 George

Anyone try it with Canon lenses? How slow is the focus? thinking of adding this as my second camera body for my wedding photography paired up with my EF-L 16-35 f2.8 Wedding Photographer Toronto

9:43 pm - Sunday, December 15, 2013

#7 Rhea Jackson

It doesn’t worth for this price. It is expensive as well. You would miss the in build flash and external battery charger in it. And its loud shutter is not well suited for photography in my opinion.

9:20 am - Thursday, December 19, 2013

#8 Frank Stanton

Thank you for the review. I’m a little confused. If the A7R is full frame, why did you use a 55mm lens? Isn’t that telephoto length. Did you mean 35mm? Isn’t that the standard for film and full frame? Thanks.

2:46 pm - Monday, January 20, 2014

#9 Frank Stanton

Disregard my previous comment. I wonder what is the purpose of a 55mm lens in the group of lenses available for this full frame camera?

2:51 pm - Monday, January 20, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, review, 1080p, test, sony, wi-fi, RAW, wireless, wifi, 35mm, full-frame, panorama, nfc, viewfinder, 4fps, evf, 55mm, a7r, carl zeiss, 24p, Full Frame, moire, 60p, 36 megapixel, low-pass filter, olpf, 35mm lens, optical, oled, FE, fe lenses, 1.5fps, Sony A7R Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry