Sony A7S Review

5.0
July 2, 2014 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

16 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 -S

Nice review. Just want to point out, about the “in camera charging”; the retail, boxed A7S I received includes both an external battery charger *and* two batteries (the A7 I owned before came with no charger and one battery).

11:19 am - Wednesday, July 2, 2014

#2 Chance

“Note that the camera battery is also inconveniently charged via the USB port, rather than a separate charger, so it’s a very good idea to invest in some extra batteries.”

This is NOT an inconvenience, this is a feature I enjoy. And I don’t know about y’alls review copies, but the retail A7S also comes with TWO batteries AND an external charger. So I think the statement is false and misleading because not only can the battery be charged via an external charger, but the camera comes with the external charger (and extra battery). Please consider rephrasing.

1:49 pm - Wednesday, July 2, 2014

#3 Jacob

You’ve confused E-mount with Sony’s “E” lenses. FE lenses are also E-mount.

You’ve also mixed up the electronic first curtain shutter with the fully electronic shutter of the silent shooting mode. They’re different, and the a7S has both.

5:28 pm - Wednesday, July 2, 2014

#4 Jay

What happened to the bookcase sample shots? They used to include areas of deep shadow?

Shadow NR is important for high ISO shooting.

Crisp lines of extreme contrast between light and shadow are also helpful.

5:37 pm - Wednesday, July 2, 2014

#5 Fil

In-camera charging, and especially with just one battery, impractically renders your camera fixed to the charging power source and thus unavailable. OK, there is always some free time when the batteries can be charged, but I always prefer a standalone charger, and whenever possible, more than one battery. This means that the camera is free for use at all times.
Besides, charging gets the battery warm, and it is always better that this does not happen in a closed place (such as in the camera). Extreme cases of batery faults, fires, and explosions have been known to happen. It is safer for the camera at least, if such things happen outside the camera - especially if the camera is of the weather / water-sealed variety.

6:21 pm - Wednesday, July 2, 2014

#6 Error

Hi,

Samsple video links are broken. Could you please fix.

Regards,

12:34 am - Thursday, July 3, 2014

#7 a7s

No gold star for goldstein. This review is pretty worthless.

3:20 am - Thursday, July 3, 2014

#8 edv

@Fil, I can tell from my Sony A7 that the battery does not get very warm during in camera charging. Besides this, the safety issue you are mentioning, is a non-issue, as most electronic devices have the battery build in, f.e. laptops, elec. toothbrushes, mob. phones.
The advantage of build in charging, that is charging on the go, with a powerbank or car charger are quite handy for me and definitely does not leave the camera unavailable and 1 or 2 spare batteries are not too expensive. That’s how I come around easilly with the A7. Aparently the A7S has a seperate charger so this is a non-issue in any case.

8:19 am - Thursday, July 3, 2014

#9 Mark Goldstein

We’ve amended the review to clarify that the A7S does ship with an external charger and two batteries (our review sample didn’t), and addressed Jacob’s points too.

Videos are uploading now…

10:05 am - Thursday, July 3, 2014

#10 cynic

@a7s
I don’t suppose you see the irony of your post.

10:59 am - Thursday, July 3, 2014

#11 chc

I don’t understand why anyone will dislike the usb charge as an additional features when u still can buy a external charger for external charging.

With usb charging and a external charger,  I can charge both batteries at the same time. Also I can use PowerBank to charge the

2:10 am - Friday, July 4, 2014

#12 Error

Hi,

Sample video links 1 and 2 is fixed but 3 (1280x720 @100 fps) is not linked corectly. It exists on the server but link refers to 2. video.

Colud you please fix. BTW you can also delete my comment after you fix it.

A simple suggestion , maybe you can put a “Report Broken Link” button on sample pages as you have upload several jpg, raw an video files. It is nomal that you can make a mistake or tyring error.

Best Regards,

6:44 pm - Saturday, July 5, 2014

#13 Marius

Hallo

I have a question, how do the shooting in continuous focus,is as good as the canon 70d?.

Thanks

10:47 am - Monday, July 7, 2014

#14 Dennis

Hi

Received my a7s yesterday. For those that received theirs too, just to confirm.. what is written on the shoulder/ neck strap that came with it. Mine just says sony “alpha” 7. It didnt indicates 7"s”.

yours the same too?

and why in camera charging is not recommended:-
1) not everyone will have free time especially during heavy shooting during the day. thanks god now it is shipped with travel charger.
2) if lightning ever strikes and you dont have a lightning resistor, at most the charger is burnt, if you are using travel/ external charger. If you are using in built charger.. there goes your cam…

10:56 am - Friday, July 25, 2014

#15 Joe Prete

I found a head to head comparison of the A7s and the GH4, it’s called “Epic Shootout in 4K”  http://youtu.be/qdMypfYrKgw
There’s a link to how these cameras are compared in the video.
… Joe

7:22 pm - Friday, August 8, 2014

#16 imotta

I really enjoy to read your blog and will be waiting for your next update.I appreciate all the work you put into this site, helping out others with your fun and creative works.
Power Bank

5:36 am - Tuesday, September 16, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, review, 1080p, 12 megapixel, test, wi-fi, wireless, sony, RAW, wifi, nfc, 35mm, full-frame, panorama, 5fps, evf, viewfinder, 60p, 55mm, 24p, carl zeiss, moire, Full Frame, 35mm lens, low-pass filter, olpf, optical, FE, fe lenses, a7s, oled, 2.5fps, silent, 12.2 megapixel, 12 megapixels, Sony A7S Review, XAVC S, 4K

Tracker Pixel for Entry