Sony Carl Zeiss Sonnar T* E 24mm f/1.8 ZA Review

5.0
May 1, 2012 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

7 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Blue

Nice review.
In sample shot #20 there is quite noticable CA though, isn’t it?

9:55 am - Wednesday, May 2, 2012

#2 Goose

Sigh, there is always one that will find fault.

11:31 am - Thursday, May 3, 2012

#3 IcanCwhatUsay

I’m sorry, I’m just getting into photography. What is CA?

3:59 pm - Thursday, May 3, 2012

#4 Jchen195

CA stands for chromatic aberrations.

Basically, it’s when your photo has odd color fringing (typically green or purple) on the edges of subjects with shot with a low aperture and bright conditions.

7:57 am - Friday, May 4, 2012

#5 Drew Jones

In the section regarding “bokeh” it was witten that “Sigma” employed seven aperature blades. Sigma was involved in the lens manufacture as well?

7:20 pm - Monday, May 7, 2012

#6 Dan

The “Sigma” must be a typo. This is a Zeiss design, but manufactured by Sony.

5:14 am - Tuesday, May 8, 2012

#7 Andrew

This is a TERRIFIC lens, good enough that I just sold the kit zoom.  I originally had this, the kit lens and the Sony 50mm OSS, but the primes are vastly superior to the zoom.  The 24, however, is so good that I hunted down an old 1980s C/Y mount Zeiss T* 50mm and found that the overall “look” of the modern and vintage Carl Zeiss lenses match far better than the CZ24 and Sony 50. 

Even with the 50mm Planar in my bag (with C/Y to NEX adapter is similar size to the CZ 24) I still leave the CZ 24mm on my camera about 85% of the time.  I use this lens for everything from landscape to group portraits and find the focal length and image quality far superior to anything I’ve ever used before, on any platform.

5:40 pm - Wednesday, January 16, 2013

Entry Tags

review, photos, samples, images, wide-angle, lens, compact system camera, test, mirrorless, 24mm, wideangle, f1.8, e-mount, 36mm, f 1.8, NEX, Carl Zeiss 24mm, Sony Carl Zeiss Sonnar T* E 24mm f1.8 ZA, Sony 24mm

Tracker Pixel for Entry