Sony Cyber-shot DSC-H200 Review

3.5
July 23, 2013 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

18 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Riccardo

I think that “above average” is a “little” too much for this camera.
Passing over the noise at ISO400 (good CCD can reach it without noticeable noise) the lack of a real Macro mode is unbelievable!!! And from my perspective is enough to say it’s Under the Average..

My fujifilm SL300 and Olympus SP600Z can focus at 2cm and 1 cm respectively!

I’m rather disappointed by the latest Sony bridge cameras

7:16 pm - Tuesday, July 23, 2013

#2 Mad Hungarian

If Sony think that this strategy will save their a*s, then they are wrong. They can keep this Chinese monstrosity.

11:45 pm - Tuesday, July 23, 2013

#3 James

Seriously, when are Sony going to realize that megapixels don’t sell anymore? Just focus on quality and features!

12:33 am - Thursday, July 25, 2013

#4 Mark

You people are such n00bs. You complain about a budget camera being poor quality. What the f*ck do you expect for less than £200??
Jesus, grow the f*ck up you retards!

10:46 am - Thursday, July 25, 2013

#5 David

Nice build quality, nice looking camera, very easy to use, attractive price,
But; As an another user has commented no Macro Mode (for close up images) which is very disappointing! Overall not a bad camera considering the 20mp and long range zoom, images could be better especially in low light, in daylight pretty good (if you set functions manually such as ISO, Appature is a little limited though) This camera is ideal as a general holiday / outing ect for the novice user as idiot proof functions but not for advanced user, I would rate 3.5 Stars out of 5 overall as the low purchase price I think will make it attractive.

7:17 am - Saturday, July 27, 2013

#6 Eon

Well,  I am hoping Dyson will decide to revolutionize cameras soon,  just like the vacume cleaners & fans etc.

4:48 pm - Monday, July 29, 2013

#7 Barb

Well, I just purchased this camera, for the zoom and 20mp, and I’ll tell you, for the price it can’t be beat.

11:30 pm - Wednesday, September 18, 2013

#8 Bolsy13

It does have a macro mode. Camera has to be in auto for that feature to come on. I’ve taken some excellent close ups with this camera. Maybe you should take a look at your picture taking skills and not leaking to much notice of the spec and numbers. For the price this camera can’t be beaten.

7:34 pm - Tuesday, September 24, 2013

#9 Monica

Hi, I am an extreme novice so to some of you this may be stupid question, but how well does this camera take action shots?  Or should I look at something else?

6:01 pm - Monday, November 18, 2013

#10 Raul

I used this camera now for 1 mounth(457 shots) and i whant to step in and tell U all that for 185 euros is the best camera on the market keep in mind its not a dslr its a everyday use camera. cheear and good job sony for a very stylish camera.

3:43 pm - Saturday, November 23, 2013

#11 Kenny B

Seriously…..... If you go for the cheapest camera due to your budget, why would you expect a top class, all bells and whistles camera? This is an excellent camera that also looks expensive and is clearly robust and IS above average, for the price!
It does everything it says on the box so what more did you expect?
4 STARS without reserve, well done Sony!

3:02 pm - Wednesday, December 18, 2013

#12 ABHAY RAMESH V.K

is there in other cam better than this model on this price range any pls Help me to buy one

5:05 pm - Wednesday, December 25, 2013

#13 Léonie

Good quality for a low cost and beginner !

1:28 am - Monday, March 3, 2014

#14 AlduinFirst

I purchased this camera 7 days ago, and must say not bad at all for $130. It has some limits like at low light, but u CAN NOT BUY any camera at this price and expect to be like product that cost $600 or more. But for this price superb product there is no other close to it.

9:47 pm - Monday, March 3, 2014

#15 joe lingane

This model will not show up as a drive in Windows 7 64 bit but here is a workaround- start in safe mode and the camera drivers will then install and be there when you boot up in normal mode.

11:42 pm - Sunday, May 11, 2014

#16 Graeme Waddell

I purchased this camera in canada on holidays from Aust worked for 2 days and now im home sony want to charge me $169 to repair it The warrantyhere in australia does not cover it not a happy client

4:25 am - Thursday, May 15, 2014

#17 mohamed o'neil

I used this gear to create some photographs n sell them on corbis macrostock, and i have earned $1724. But i prefer using nikon l820 to create some nice bokeh. Couple weeks ago i took a pic of my latina’s tattoo using 8mpxl compact cam n uploaded it to microstock and it’s been downloaded 113 times. The point is…i got no problem with any cams n got no time to compare compact, mirrorless, dslr. To me..every cam is cool

2:19 pm - Saturday, May 24, 2014

#18 Josh

Review the h300 pleeeeaaaase!!!

9:30 pm - Wednesday, August 27, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, review, 1080p, wide-angle, test, beginner, sony, super-zoom, 24mm, super zoom, 20 megapixel, cybershot, panorama, 26x zoom, super, h200, dsc-h200, hx200, Sony Cyber-shot DSC-H200 Review, dsc h200

Tracker Pixel for Entry