Sony Cyber-shot DSC-H400 Review

April 9, 2014 | Mark Goldstein | |

Your Comments

52 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 f

no full zoom sample pics????????

2:30 pm - Wednesday, April 9, 2014

#2 Mike

Funny that it performs so badly. On paper you would think it would outperform something like the Fujifilm S11000 or something - http://versus.com/en/sony-cyber-shot-dsc-h400-vs-fujifilm-finepix-sl1000

All the specs are just for marketing though! Bah.

2:53 pm - Wednesday, April 9, 2014

#3 moeskoetie

very bad pictures, to much noise

3:31 pm - Wednesday, April 9, 2014

#4 Rob Mac

Still using a CCD in 2014! It needs a BSI CMOS sensor with a brighter lens. No wonder it’s noisy.

1:51 am - Thursday, April 10, 2014

#5 Dave

Shouldn’t be on the market, after seeing what the pictures look like I’m glad I have a Canon. Pictures like make you think twice about any Sony cameras

3:07 am - Thursday, April 10, 2014

#6 Patrick

I honestly think that you shouldn’t give equal weight to the different scoring categories, when calculating your average scores. It’s not all about the imaqe quality, of course, but surely the images are what matters most in the end? A camera that hardly can take a decent picture shouldn’t be awarded with an ‘above average’ final score, regardless of build quality, features or ease-of-use.

1:00 pm - Thursday, April 10, 2014

#7 Boogie

Sony wants to be on the top of megazooms. It doesn’t matter quality, the most important thing is number x63 he he…
What a waste of money.

5:44 pm - Saturday, May 10, 2014

#8 Manoj

hehe u gud alone,hola equipa masterende cola mas tiraque tomme kirching

2:35 pm - Tuesday, June 24, 2014

#9 Dave

The pictures aren’t so good…Can you please review the Sony cybershot DSC-H300??

5:47 am - Friday, July 25, 2014

#10 Josh

When are u gunna review the h300?

9:32 pm - Wednesday, August 27, 2014

#11 Mick

Just brought this camera.
All I can say is, what a mistake.

It is awful

8:05 pm - Saturday, August 30, 2014

#12 MR.Tomahawk

I don’t understand Sony’s thinking behind the release of this camera.Is it worth it to endanger the brand name just to catch a few kids and amateurs who are going to be impressed by the 63X..Shame on you Sony for this camera….

11:40 am - Friday, October 24, 2014

#13 Vicky

At the start of this review it is stated that this H400 Sony bridge camera has a Carl Zeiss lens. It DOESN’T. If it was a CZ lens it would say so on the lens and it doesn’t, it says ‘Sony Lens’. This is why this camera is a lot cheaper than the Sony X50 (which has a lower zoom but a CZ lens). How appalling that someone paid to write professional camera reviews hasn’t even noticed this model does not have a CZ lens. It makes his entire review unworthy of being posted, let alone read.

10:29 pm - Thursday, October 30, 2014

#14 Ben

I recently bought this camera, and by reading all of this comments I see that before choosing a camera u need to decide on what you are going to use it. I tried to take pictures very close to things but it does not work very well. I think this camera was made to take distant and wide pictures. Also you have to know when exactly push the shutter, its hard to focus: but it works very good for me.

4:59 pm - Thursday, December 4, 2014

#15 Ann

I took a chance on a Sony product and bought this camera….BIG MISTAKE.  The only way to take a close picture is by utilizing the panoramic function to piece together a shot.  It is only good for distant shots.  And, forget about night photos.  I went through every function and feature on this camera and could not get one decent night, winter photo.  That sealed the deal for me. This camera is just so poor on many levels.  The processor is ridiculously slow it is frustrating.  This haphazard Sony cannot even compare to my canon powershot DS 1000.  What a sad piece of work from Sony.

1:27 pm - Monday, December 22, 2014

#16 Mike

First of all - it is NOT a beginners camera - that is for sure. So I’m guessing that those who are disappointed with theirs haven’t really learned how to use it to it’s full advantage yet?

First, get out of AUTO. Using it in manual or A,S mode will start to make the camera shine. Use low iso’s whenever possible and do not set the camera to auto iso. Use a tripod if you can at full zoom - don’t expect to use it handheld at the full setting without a tripod or a high enough shutter speed. I have just taken some very good images of the moon at full zoom setting. I used a tripod and underexposed by a few stops using manual mode. The detail in the moon and the visibility of the craters are quite outstanding. Something that would not be possible using a dslr unless you were to spend thousands on a huge lens. Yes, the camera does have limitations, just like ANY other camera. It is not quite a do it all camera but it is a very useful one when you get to know it properly.

1:10 am - Monday, December 29, 2014

#17 Ben

Agree with you Mike, it is a great camera, you have to know how to use it. I have also taken pictures to the moon and closed pictures using a tripod and they look great.

1:55 am - Monday, December 29, 2014

#18 James

I’ve just received this camera as a present and i’m impressed so far.  I agree with Mike and have also taken some excellent pictures of the Moon without even using a tripod and with very basic settings.  I don’t for a second believe that it is as bad as some of the above reviews.  I have been involved in surveillance utilising different cameras so speak from a level of experience.  I look forward to investigating further

10:32 pm - Monday, December 29, 2014

#19 Lorene

Is it serious publishing a review about a super-zoom camera WITHOUT showing a single sample at the longest zoom focal lenght (1550 mm)?

It’s not serious, nor professional.

The quality of this website is more and more degrading.

 

12:05 pm - Tuesday, January 6, 2015

#20 Tanya

Need some help??  I love my Sony Cybershot, but I can’t figure out how to take a good moving shot?  My daughter just started horse back riding & none of the pictures turn out…they are also blurry. Can someone please help??

12:23 am - Wednesday, January 21, 2015

#21 Louise

Hi Tanya

Message me and I will try and help with this,

Many Thanks

1:11 pm - Sunday, February 1, 2015

#22 Mick

I will stress once again.
If you are considering buying this heap of junk, don`t

2:50 pm - Sunday, February 1, 2015

#23 Tanya

Hi Louise,
I’m not sure how to message you personally.  But other then not taking the best pictures of moving objects, I love my camera…it takes beautiful outside pictures.  But if there is a trick to taking action pictures I would love to know what they are.
Thanks
Tanya

3:32 am - Tuesday, February 3, 2015

#24 Tanya

Hi Louise,

I’m not sure how else to message you, but I would love some help.  I love my camera, it takes great picture except for action ones.  So any help you can give would be great.
Thanks
Tanya

3:37 am - Tuesday, February 3, 2015

#25 Louise

.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

Hi tanya.

My email x

2:40 pm - Wednesday, February 4, 2015

#26 Phillip

I have this camera and Im confused with all the negative comments?

Are there some settings people just cant find??

3:32 pm - Wednesday, February 4, 2015

#27 Aleksandra

Phillip ! Could I get some advices from you? :) Email me on .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) please , as I got this camera last week and I’m new to the whole photography subject so would mostly appreciate some advices ! MAny thanks xx

3:40 pm - Friday, February 6, 2015

#28 David

My last camra was Canon SX50 bridge I added a 67mm ring and then a tulip and filters .I see threads on this400v can i add ring which is 55mm and somehow use my 67mm filters

2:59 pm - Saturday, February 7, 2015

#29 Tonja

Can someone help me please, I just got the Sony H400 camera today, and just started playing around with it, The problem I’m having is when I’m on manual mode, I can’t see anything on the view finder or the screen, it’s just black, but I just guess and take a pic and then it will show up, the pic I took. But when I put the setting on Auto mode I can look thru the view finder and the screen, and I see what I’m wanting to take a pic of. I hope this makes sense, and hope someone can help me. Is there a setting I’m missing, or is this camera messed up? Thanks in advance…

2:47 am - Sunday, February 8, 2015

#30 Tonja

wanted to also mention I can look thru the view finder and the screen on back and look at the tv or computer screen and can see it, but if I look on the floor at my dog or cat, I can’t see them, it’s just black.

3:44 am - Sunday, February 8, 2015

#31 Ben

I think it might be broken, better check it on your warranty. When I bought mine, it worked perfectly when I first turned it on.

5:34 am - Sunday, February 8, 2015

#32 benmart

i am gonna buy h400 today somebody help to start with proper mode

1:10 pm - Friday, February 13, 2015

#33 Phil Edwards

After reading as many reviews as possible (and especially taking into account all the negative ones) I still went ahead, took a chance and bought a Sony DSC-H400. (I already own an old Sony HX1 - and this camera had received some bad reviews due to its “noisy” pictures). I must say that after using the Sony H400 for three days, I’ve found the images excellent! I use the full manual setting, and on a bright day, make sure I turn the exposure compensation to minus 0.3. I also set the ISO to 80, and use 4:3 x 20m or 16:9 x 2m. I also set the zoom to “smart” which only allows an optical zoom figure based on the mega pixel size you choose. I’m finding the quality of the images very, very good. Very little noise (nothing like the noise level on my HX1 (but I clean this up with “neatimage” anyway. The Sony H400 is a very easy camera to use. Handling is great, and one is not “faffing” about adjusting lote of controls as on some other cmareas. Auto focus is a bit slow - but all you need to do is either hold the camera still, or use a tripod. The frame shooting rate is very poor, but once focus has locked on (and you can lock focus on an object near to the bird etc you are going to photograph), then keep the shutter half pressed, then fully depress to take the shot. I’m impressed with this camera. I think (as another reveiwer above commented) people need to give the camera a chance to show whatit is capable of - and use the manual settings!

Phil Edwards.
North Wales.
UK

11:34 pm - Thursday, March 5, 2015

#34 Big time mob

Sony H400 is a bad camera?? If it is…then why my images (taken using sony h400) were accepted on major microstock agencies and have been downloaded 5-68x??

6:44 pm - Tuesday, March 17, 2015

#35 Phil Edwards

I just cannot understand why “Photography Blog’s” reviewer (Mark Goldstein) gave the Sony H400 such poor ratings across the board. (also, he is incorrect in saying that images can be sharpened “in-camera.” (I have not found this facility on the Sony H400 - but would be grateful if anyone could point out where it is in the camera’s menu!

I’ve had the camera for three weeks now, and I continue to be amazed at the quality images it produces - even handheld at full 63 zoom! I find all one has to do is put the camera on “auto,” compose your shot and the camera will produce a great shot, almost every time. Phil Edwards. North Wales. UK

10:32 am - Wednesday, March 18, 2015

#36 Phil Edwards

OH! The Sony H400 also does NOT have the “Carl Zeiss” lens. It has Sony’s own branded lens.
Phil Edwards.North Wales. UK

10:37 am - Wednesday, March 18, 2015

#37 Inga

Anyone know if there is any remote shutter for this sony DSC H400 as I am strugling to get one - in fact seems is impossible and to work with close-up shoots is really needed.

11:30 pm - Friday, March 27, 2015

#38 Ben

Inga, to take close up shoots i have tried everything, and i manage to take very good shoots. All you have to do is DONT use the zoom, just put the camera the closest you can to the object, and with good light, WITHOUT flash, and it will focus right and the shoot looks pretty good, I took a shoot out of my sister’s eye and it looks so cool on the pc, while zooming in. I think that to use this camera you need a lot of patience, something that not everyone has, and then say its a shitty camera…good luck!

3:27 am - Saturday, March 28, 2015

#39 Inga

Thank you Ben.
The problem is, I have to work with this camera taking photos of small objects in a close range and its really slow focusing, as well blurry if I manually press the button,even if its fixed on a tripod, seems that there isnt a solution for this camera and £180 has been wasted…
I bought it because of the 63x zoom, but that is another useless feature, as it doesnt work on a close range.
Shame i cannot ask to return it for a refund - the time has gone, as I never thought I will even think of returning!!!

10:21 am - Saturday, March 28, 2015

#40 Phil Edwards

Tanya,

I don’t know of a remote shutter release for the Sony H400, however, you could try to find a screw on attachment which allows you to physically press the shutter (via an extension wire) without touching the camera’s shutter button.

On the matter of “close up fucussing,” after reading yours and the other chap’s comments i picked up my Sony H400, went straight outside into my back garden (even though it is a very windy day here in North Wales (UK)), put the camera on “auto” mode and took a couple of close up shots of some tiny flowers. I put the lens that close that the flower was in the shadow of the lens. I have just come back in house and loaded pics onto computer. They are both sunningly clear and crisp! I can only conclude that you both must have cameras which are faulty in some way! Kind regards, Phil Edwards. North Wales. UK.

11:59 am - Saturday, March 28, 2015

#41 Phil Edwards

Sorry I put incorrect name in previous comment. My comments are meant for “Inga” and “Ben.” Please accept my apologies.

Phil Edwards. North Wales. UK

12:01 pm - Saturday, March 28, 2015

#42 Phil Edwards

Dea All,

I have now found one flaw in the SonyH400’s focussing! It does sometimes have difficulty (in the “Auto” mode anyway) focussing on moving aircraft at high altitude! (not that anyone would be taking many shots of such things!).

In all other respects, I find the Sony H400 to be a great bridge camera.

Phil Edwards. NorthWales. UK

1:55 pm - Wednesday, April 8, 2015

#43 quel

Same issue with tonja.
The manual mode doesn’t show anything but when we shutter, it shows an image. ;(
Is it really broken? Other modes are working very well. Sony h400 camera is my first ever camera. So i dont know if the issue is natural or it is really a problem.

5:02 pm - Thursday, April 9, 2015

#44 Phil Edwards

Dear “Quel,”

The only time your Sony H400 may not show an image (either on the screen, or in the viewfinder)before you press the shutter, is becuase you may have the camera shutter speed set to high (say 1/2000th of a second - and the light conditions are poor.

However, as you are saying that after you press the shutter button and the camera takes the shot, an image is shown!

I can only think that you may have a fault with your camera.

Kind regards,

Phil Edwards
North Wales. UK.

10:05 pm - Thursday, April 9, 2015

#45 Graham

Just bought this Camera now and am really pleased so far, the zoom is amazing.
Took me an hour to find the button to lift the flash.
Also there is no instruction manual in the box is this normal.

Graham

9:32 pm - Friday, April 24, 2015

#46 Bryan

ABOVE ALL….....! Im very impressed with this camera. But the only thing is “Hard to capture tiny object” just that. I never regret buying this camera. Thanks to Sony. And most importantly, For those who disadvantage this camera will never find what they really deserve about the quality. I could say.

4:20 am - Thursday, May 7, 2015

#47 Dave

Hi,
Is it possible to take ‘Light Trail’ shots with this camera?

5:41 pm - Monday, June 1, 2015

#48 mike

Hi. I have just brought one of these cameras to take pictures at an airshow.
I cant believe how slow the focus is and there doesnt seem to be a manual focus like caneras ive used.
Is it possible to take pictures of moving jets with this camera or am i wasting my time?
Also when you hold the button down to take burst shots its sooooooo slow. I mean the planes will be gone before it takes a pic.
Also 63 x zoom is ok but if its a distant object your taking a pic of it just never seems to ficus correctly on it.
HELP me!!!

4:03 pm - Monday, June 8, 2015

#49 Ben

Hi mike, i doubt you can take good pictures out of a moving object like planes. Its true that the focus is very slow, but I think thats what we get. If taking pictures of planes in movement is what you are going to do, try returning the camera and buy another one specially for that activity. Maybe Im wrong, because I have not a lot of knowledge, but all I can say is that to manage this camera you need a LOT of patience, and learn how to adjust its numbers. Check this guy on youtube, he explains everything you need to know about photography from zero,
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCFrmZQhRSVgnCreE0mM2QQg

3:00 am - Tuesday, June 9, 2015

#50 mike

Update.
I took my sony back and exhanged it for panasonic fz72 and wow what a difference.
Only 199.99 quid and its alot better.
Faster and better focus. Sport mode. Lots more settings.
Takes burst shots too.
I cant find a thing wrong with it!

10:40 am - Thursday, June 11, 2015

#51 Date

I bought the DSC-H400 ...was not impressed with at at all ..only good thing was it’s 63x optical zoom ..I took it back and paid for the more expensive HX400V what a difference it made ..totally happy now .

12:21 pm - Thursday, June 11, 2015

#52 Bob J

I LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

3:16 am - Sunday, June 28, 2015

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, review, 3 inch LCD, test, wide-angle, 720p, beginner, sony, super-zoom, 24mm, 20 megapixel, super zoom, cybershot, panorama, evf, viewfinder, electronic viewfinder, super, h400, 63x zoom, dsc h400, dsc-h400, hx400, Sony Cyber-shot DSC-H400 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry