Sony Cyber-shot DSC-H400 Review

April 9, 2014 | Mark Goldstein | |

Your Comments

36 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 f

no full zoom sample pics????????

2:30 pm - Wednesday, April 9, 2014

#2 Mike

Funny that it performs so badly. On paper you would think it would outperform something like the Fujifilm S11000 or something - http://versus.com/en/sony-cyber-shot-dsc-h400-vs-fujifilm-finepix-sl1000

All the specs are just for marketing though! Bah.

2:53 pm - Wednesday, April 9, 2014

#3 moeskoetie

very bad pictures, to much noise

3:31 pm - Wednesday, April 9, 2014

#4 Rob Mac

Still using a CCD in 2014! It needs a BSI CMOS sensor with a brighter lens. No wonder it’s noisy.

1:51 am - Thursday, April 10, 2014

#5 Dave

Shouldn’t be on the market, after seeing what the pictures look like I’m glad I have a Canon. Pictures like make you think twice about any Sony cameras

3:07 am - Thursday, April 10, 2014

#6 Patrick

I honestly think that you shouldn’t give equal weight to the different scoring categories, when calculating your average scores. It’s not all about the imaqe quality, of course, but surely the images are what matters most in the end? A camera that hardly can take a decent picture shouldn’t be awarded with an ‘above average’ final score, regardless of build quality, features or ease-of-use.

1:00 pm - Thursday, April 10, 2014

#7 Boogie

Sony wants to be on the top of megazooms. It doesn’t matter quality, the most important thing is number x63 he he…
What a waste of money.

5:44 pm - Saturday, May 10, 2014

#8 Manoj

hehe u gud alone,hola equipa masterende cola mas tiraque tomme kirching

2:35 pm - Tuesday, June 24, 2014

#9 Dave

The pictures aren’t so good…Can you please review the Sony cybershot DSC-H300??

5:47 am - Friday, July 25, 2014

#10 Josh

When are u gunna review the h300?

9:32 pm - Wednesday, August 27, 2014

#11 Mick

Just brought this camera.
All I can say is, what a mistake.

It is awful

8:05 pm - Saturday, August 30, 2014

#12 MR.Tomahawk

I don’t understand Sony’s thinking behind the release of this camera.Is it worth it to endanger the brand name just to catch a few kids and amateurs who are going to be impressed by the 63X..Shame on you Sony for this camera….

11:40 am - Friday, October 24, 2014

#13 Vicky

At the start of this review it is stated that this H400 Sony bridge camera has a Carl Zeiss lens. It DOESN’T. If it was a CZ lens it would say so on the lens and it doesn’t, it says ‘Sony Lens’. This is why this camera is a lot cheaper than the Sony X50 (which has a lower zoom but a CZ lens). How appalling that someone paid to write professional camera reviews hasn’t even noticed this model does not have a CZ lens. It makes his entire review unworthy of being posted, let alone read.

10:29 pm - Thursday, October 30, 2014

#14 Ben

I recently bought this camera, and by reading all of this comments I see that before choosing a camera u need to decide on what you are going to use it. I tried to take pictures very close to things but it does not work very well. I think this camera was made to take distant and wide pictures. Also you have to know when exactly push the shutter, its hard to focus: but it works very good for me.

4:59 pm - Thursday, December 4, 2014

#15 Ann

I took a chance on a Sony product and bought this camera….BIG MISTAKE.  The only way to take a close picture is by utilizing the panoramic function to piece together a shot.  It is only good for distant shots.  And, forget about night photos.  I went through every function and feature on this camera and could not get one decent night, winter photo.  That sealed the deal for me. This camera is just so poor on many levels.  The processor is ridiculously slow it is frustrating.  This haphazard Sony cannot even compare to my canon powershot DS 1000.  What a sad piece of work from Sony.

1:27 pm - Monday, December 22, 2014

#16 Mike

First of all - it is NOT a beginners camera - that is for sure. So I’m guessing that those who are disappointed with theirs haven’t really learned how to use it to it’s full advantage yet?

First, get out of AUTO. Using it in manual or A,S mode will start to make the camera shine. Use low iso’s whenever possible and do not set the camera to auto iso. Use a tripod if you can at full zoom - don’t expect to use it handheld at the full setting without a tripod or a high enough shutter speed. I have just taken some very good images of the moon at full zoom setting. I used a tripod and underexposed by a few stops using manual mode. The detail in the moon and the visibility of the craters are quite outstanding. Something that would not be possible using a dslr unless you were to spend thousands on a huge lens. Yes, the camera does have limitations, just like ANY other camera. It is not quite a do it all camera but it is a very useful one when you get to know it properly.

1:10 am - Monday, December 29, 2014

#17 Ben

Agree with you Mike, it is a great camera, you have to know how to use it. I have also taken pictures to the moon and closed pictures using a tripod and they look great.

1:55 am - Monday, December 29, 2014

#18 James

I’ve just received this camera as a present and i’m impressed so far.  I agree with Mike and have also taken some excellent pictures of the Moon without even using a tripod and with very basic settings.  I don’t for a second believe that it is as bad as some of the above reviews.  I have been involved in surveillance utilising different cameras so speak from a level of experience.  I look forward to investigating further

10:32 pm - Monday, December 29, 2014

#19 Lorene

Is it serious publishing a review about a super-zoom camera WITHOUT showing a single sample at the longest zoom focal lenght (1550 mm)?

It’s not serious, nor professional.

The quality of this website is more and more degrading.

 

12:05 pm - Tuesday, January 6, 2015

#20 Tanya

Need some help??  I love my Sony Cybershot, but I can’t figure out how to take a good moving shot?  My daughter just started horse back riding & none of the pictures turn out…they are also blurry. Can someone please help??

12:23 am - Wednesday, January 21, 2015

#21 Louise

Hi Tanya

Message me and I will try and help with this,

Many Thanks

1:11 pm - Sunday, February 1, 2015

#22 Mick

I will stress once again.
If you are considering buying this heap of junk, don`t

2:50 pm - Sunday, February 1, 2015

#23 Tanya

Hi Louise,
I’m not sure how to message you personally.  But other then not taking the best pictures of moving objects, I love my camera…it takes beautiful outside pictures.  But if there is a trick to taking action pictures I would love to know what they are.
Thanks
Tanya

3:32 am - Tuesday, February 3, 2015

#24 Tanya

Hi Louise,

I’m not sure how else to message you, but I would love some help.  I love my camera, it takes great picture except for action ones.  So any help you can give would be great.
Thanks
Tanya

3:37 am - Tuesday, February 3, 2015

#25 Louise

.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

Hi tanya.

My email x

2:40 pm - Wednesday, February 4, 2015

#26 Phillip

I have this camera and Im confused with all the negative comments?

Are there some settings people just cant find??

3:32 pm - Wednesday, February 4, 2015

#27 Aleksandra

Phillip ! Could I get some advices from you? :) Email me on .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) please , as I got this camera last week and I’m new to the whole photography subject so would mostly appreciate some advices ! MAny thanks xx

3:40 pm - Friday, February 6, 2015

#28 David

My last camra was Canon SX50 bridge I added a 67mm ring and then a tulip and filters .I see threads on this400v can i add ring which is 55mm and somehow use my 67mm filters

2:59 pm - Saturday, February 7, 2015

#29 Tonja

Can someone help me please, I just got the Sony H400 camera today, and just started playing around with it, The problem I’m having is when I’m on manual mode, I can’t see anything on the view finder or the screen, it’s just black, but I just guess and take a pic and then it will show up, the pic I took. But when I put the setting on Auto mode I can look thru the view finder and the screen, and I see what I’m wanting to take a pic of. I hope this makes sense, and hope someone can help me. Is there a setting I’m missing, or is this camera messed up? Thanks in advance…

2:47 am - Sunday, February 8, 2015

#30 Tonja

wanted to also mention I can look thru the view finder and the screen on back and look at the tv or computer screen and can see it, but if I look on the floor at my dog or cat, I can’t see them, it’s just black.

3:44 am - Sunday, February 8, 2015

#31 Ben

I think it might be broken, better check it on your warranty. When I bought mine, it worked perfectly when I first turned it on.

5:34 am - Sunday, February 8, 2015

#32 benmart

i am gonna buy h400 today somebody help to start with proper mode

1:10 pm - Friday, February 13, 2015

#33 Phil Edwards

After reading as many reviews as possible (and especially taking into account all the negative ones) I still went ahead, took a chance and bought a Sony DSC-H400. (I already own an old Sony HX1 - and this camera had received some bad reviews due to its “noisy” pictures). I must say that after using the Sony H400 for three days, I’ve found the images excellent! I use the full manual setting, and on a bright day, make sure I turn the exposure compensation to minus 0.3. I also set the ISO to 80, and use 4:3 x 20m or 16:9 x 2m. I also set the zoom to “smart” which only allows an optical zoom figure based on the mega pixel size you choose. I’m finding the quality of the images very, very good. Very little noise (nothing like the noise level on my HX1 (but I clean this up with “neatimage” anyway. The Sony H400 is a very easy camera to use. Handling is great, and one is not “faffing” about adjusting lote of controls as on some other cmareas. Auto focus is a bit slow - but all you need to do is either hold the camera still, or use a tripod. The frame shooting rate is very poor, but once focus has locked on (and you can lock focus on an object near to the bird etc you are going to photograph), then keep the shutter half pressed, then fully depress to take the shot. I’m impressed with this camera. I think (as another reveiwer above commented) people need to give the camera a chance to show whatit is capable of - and use the manual settings!

Phil Edwards.
North Wales.
UK

11:34 pm - Thursday, March 5, 2015

#34 Big time mob

Sony H400 is a bad camera?? If it is…then why my images (taken using sony h400) were accepted on major microstock agencies and have been downloaded 5-68x??

6:44 pm - Tuesday, March 17, 2015

#35 Phil Edwards

I just cannot understand why “Photography Blog’s” reviewer (Mark Goldstein) gave the Sony H400 such poor ratings across the board. (also, he is incorrect in saying that images can be sharpened “in-camera.” (I have not found this facility on the Sony H400 - but would be grateful if anyone could point out where it is in the camera’s menu!

I’ve had the camera for three weeks now, and I continue to be amazed at the quality images it produces - even handheld at full 63 zoom! I find all one has to do is put the camera on “auto,” compose your shot and the camera will produce a great shot, almost every time. Phil Edwards. North Wales. UK

10:32 am - Wednesday, March 18, 2015

#36 Phil Edwards

OH! The Sony H400 also does NOT have the “Carl Zeiss” lens. It has Sony’s own branded lens.
Phil Edwards.North Wales. UK

10:37 am - Wednesday, March 18, 2015

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, review, 3 inch LCD, wide-angle, test, 720p, beginner, sony, super-zoom, 24mm, super zoom, 20 megapixel, cybershot, panorama, evf, viewfinder, electronic viewfinder, super, h400, 63x zoom, dsc h400, dsc-h400, hx400, Sony Cyber-shot DSC-H400 Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry