Sony Cyber-shot DSC-H400 Review

3.5
April 9, 2014 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

20 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 f

no full zoom sample pics????????

2:30 pm - Wednesday, April 9, 2014

#2 Mike

Funny that it performs so badly. On paper you would think it would outperform something like the Fujifilm S11000 or something - http://versus.com/en/sony-cyber-shot-dsc-h400-vs-fujifilm-finepix-sl1000

All the specs are just for marketing though! Bah.

2:53 pm - Wednesday, April 9, 2014

#3 moeskoetie

very bad pictures, to much noise

3:31 pm - Wednesday, April 9, 2014

#4 Rob Mac

Still using a CCD in 2014! It needs a BSI CMOS sensor with a brighter lens. No wonder it’s noisy.

1:51 am - Thursday, April 10, 2014

#5 Dave

Shouldn’t be on the market, after seeing what the pictures look like I’m glad I have a Canon. Pictures like make you think twice about any Sony cameras

3:07 am - Thursday, April 10, 2014

#6 Patrick

I honestly think that you shouldn’t give equal weight to the different scoring categories, when calculating your average scores. It’s not all about the imaqe quality, of course, but surely the images are what matters most in the end? A camera that hardly can take a decent picture shouldn’t be awarded with an ‘above average’ final score, regardless of build quality, features or ease-of-use.

1:00 pm - Thursday, April 10, 2014

#7 Boogie

Sony wants to be on the top of megazooms. It doesn’t matter quality, the most important thing is number x63 he he…
What a waste of money.

5:44 pm - Saturday, May 10, 2014

#8 Manoj

hehe u gud alone,hola equipa masterende cola mas tiraque tomme kirching

2:35 pm - Tuesday, June 24, 2014

#9 Dave

The pictures aren’t so good…Can you please review the Sony cybershot DSC-H300??

5:47 am - Friday, July 25, 2014

#10 Josh

When are u gunna review the h300?

9:32 pm - Wednesday, August 27, 2014

#11 Mick

Just brought this camera.
All I can say is, what a mistake.

It is awful

8:05 pm - Saturday, August 30, 2014

#12 MR.Tomahawk

I don’t understand Sony’s thinking behind the release of this camera.Is it worth it to endanger the brand name just to catch a few kids and amateurs who are going to be impressed by the 63X..Shame on you Sony for this camera….

11:40 am - Friday, October 24, 2014

#13 Vicky

At the start of this review it is stated that this H400 Sony bridge camera has a Carl Zeiss lens. It DOESN’T. If it was a CZ lens it would say so on the lens and it doesn’t, it says ‘Sony Lens’. This is why this camera is a lot cheaper than the Sony X50 (which has a lower zoom but a CZ lens). How appalling that someone paid to write professional camera reviews hasn’t even noticed this model does not have a CZ lens. It makes his entire review unworthy of being posted, let alone read.

10:29 pm - Thursday, October 30, 2014

#14 Ben

I recently bought this camera, and by reading all of this comments I see that before choosing a camera u need to decide on what you are going to use it. I tried to take pictures very close to things but it does not work very well. I think this camera was made to take distant and wide pictures. Also you have to know when exactly push the shutter, its hard to focus: but it works very good for me.

4:59 pm - Thursday, December 4, 2014

#15 Ann

I took a chance on a Sony product and bought this camera….BIG MISTAKE.  The only way to take a close picture is by utilizing the panoramic function to piece together a shot.  It is only good for distant shots.  And, forget about night photos.  I went through every function and feature on this camera and could not get one decent night, winter photo.  That sealed the deal for me. This camera is just so poor on many levels.  The processor is ridiculously slow it is frustrating.  This haphazard Sony cannot even compare to my canon powershot DS 1000.  What a sad piece of work from Sony.

1:27 pm - Monday, December 22, 2014

#16 Mike

First of all - it is NOT a beginners camera - that is for sure. So I’m guessing that those who are disappointed with theirs haven’t really learned how to use it to it’s full advantage yet?

First, get out of AUTO. Using it in manual or A,S mode will start to make the camera shine. Use low iso’s whenever possible and do not set the camera to auto iso. Use a tripod if you can at full zoom - don’t expect to use it handheld at the full setting without a tripod or a high enough shutter speed. I have just taken some very good images of the moon at full zoom setting. I used a tripod and underexposed by a few stops using manual mode. The detail in the moon and the visibility of the craters are quite outstanding. Something that would not be possible using a dslr unless you were to spend thousands on a huge lens. Yes, the camera does have limitations, just like ANY other camera. It is not quite a do it all camera but it is a very useful one when you get to know it properly.

1:10 am - Monday, December 29, 2014

#17 Ben

Agree with you Mike, it is a great camera, you have to know how to use it. I have also taken pictures to the moon and closed pictures using a tripod and they look great.

1:55 am - Monday, December 29, 2014

#18 James

I’ve just received this camera as a present and i’m impressed so far.  I agree with Mike and have also taken some excellent pictures of the Moon without even using a tripod and with very basic settings.  I don’t for a second believe that it is as bad as some of the above reviews.  I have been involved in surveillance utilising different cameras so speak from a level of experience.  I look forward to investigating further

10:32 pm - Monday, December 29, 2014

#19 Lorene

Is it serious publishing a review about a super-zoom camera WITHOUT showing a single sample at the longest zoom focal lenght (1550 mm)?

It’s not serious, nor professional.

The quality of this website is more and more degrading.

 

12:05 pm - Tuesday, January 6, 2015

#20 Tanya

Need some help??  I love my Sony Cybershot, but I can’t figure out how to take a good moving shot?  My daughter just started horse back riding & none of the pictures turn out…they are also blurry. Can someone please help??

12:23 am - Wednesday, January 21, 2015

Entry Tags

hd video,hd,3 inch LCD,review,wide-angle,720p,test,beginner,sony,super-zoom,24mm,super zoom,20 megapixel,cybershot,panorama,evf,viewfinder,electronic viewfinder,super,h400,dsc-h400,hx400,Sony Cyber-shot DSC-H400 Review,63x zoom,dsc h400

Tracker Pixel for Entry