Sony Cybershot DSC-HX100V Review

4.5
June 28, 2011 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

210 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 shameem

Yess..>!!!

Finally I found the Perfect SuperZoom for me..


I am buying it in no time..

no doubt this is far above FZ100, SX30 IS, p500 and HS20..

Thank you SONY…!!!

2:35 pm - Tuesday, June 28, 2011

#2 More

More pics of hot chicks please :)

2:46 pm - Tuesday, June 28, 2011

#3 Sanket

superb camera!!!!!

4:07 pm - Tuesday, June 28, 2011

#4 Peter

I have um coming form the USA, arraive mondays

4:53 pm - Tuesday, June 28, 2011

#5 Seb

So…According to sample images only ISO100 is usable…
Well ,as for superzoom it is a great result.
Thank You for the review :)

5:59 pm - Tuesday, June 28, 2011

#6 zebarnabe

Seb, even at ISO 100 there is too much smudged details to call this a proper 16MP camera (I hope it holds it till ISO 400) >_>

It also seems to suffer from some optical issues… but I guess the pixel pitch from a tiny sensor with 16MP enhances any optical issue…

Comparing it with its rivals I would say Sony did a good job ... but it’s clear that this level of lens zoom and megapixel count doesn’t help in quality department, however the average ‘Joe’ should be pleased with it…

Dynamic range seems to be a bit reduced as well… but that is hard to tell as conditions vary greatly on the samples presented.

“Sadly there’s no support for the RAW file format” :[ I wonder why not… is just a data dump from the sensor to the card… I think it adds great value to the camera without any extra noticeable cost in the development of the camera…

6:31 pm - Tuesday, June 28, 2011

#7 Warren Lyons

In in never ending war between the entry DSLR and extended zoom camp, this new camera is a great new weapon in the latter’s arsenal.  I would buy it right now if I didn’t already have a canon sx30is.  I wish there was another alternative.  If Sony made a version of this camera with a larger 4/3 sized sensor, it would be perfect for users willing to give extreme magnification for even better image quality and maintaing the convenience of a fixed lens.  Using the same lens and a 4/3 sensor, this camera would give a 35mm equivalent range of 9.6mm, a pancake lens like wide angle to a moderate, usefull 288mm at the telephoto end.  I hope someone from Sony or Canon’s R/D department reads this post

6:38 pm - Tuesday, June 28, 2011

#8 zebarnabe

Warren Lyons,
It’s simply not possible to use a bridge lens on a 4/3 sized sensor because the image the lens cast on the sensor is just tiny…. meaning that only the very center of the sensor would get some image, while the rest would be black. This happens when you use CCTV lens on micro43 system.

If you look at Fujifilm S200EXR that has 15x on a 1/1.6” sensor or Tamron AF 18-270mm f/3.5-6.3 Di II VC LD Aspherical IF Macro *catches breath* Zoom lens for DSLRs, you can clearly see that size cannot be made much smaller than that, even if optimized for a given sensor, as physics do not allow it.

Perhaps is a new meta-material with negative refraction indexes is made :]

I think with modern technology applied (BSI-CMOS, micro lens, etc..) to a 1/1.6” sensor with 8~12MPs and a redesigned 15x lens (24-360mm) with good aperture values, an amazing IQ could be achieved on a reasonable sized camera.

But for marketing reasons, that will never be made…

9:26 pm - Tuesday, June 28, 2011

#9 Alan

Like all Sony’s, it smudges low contrast areas together so they look like a painting, not a photo.  I’m sure it’s fine for normal viewing, but I can’t stop myself from pixel peeping (wish I could), so I’ll wait and see what Canon has in store for the SX 40.  Otherwise, I’d go with the more protable SX230 HS.

10:03 pm - Tuesday, June 28, 2011

#10 Spodeworld

+1 for Warren Lyons’s comment regarding a larger sensor.  I would happily give up some range for quality…any day.  It would make for a far more compelling alternative.

10:09 pm - Tuesday, June 28, 2011

#11 Paul

To Sony and other all-in-one Super Zoom manufactures.  Please create a super zoom with CPS-C size 16MB+ sensor combined with great 36x ED optics with HDR and RAW.  You’ll sell a billion of them if priced under $800.  It can be done its only a matter of who wants to go first.  SO come on Sony…Panasonic…Nikon…Canon (Canon won’t, they’re too afraid of innovation)

10:36 pm - Tuesday, June 28, 2011

#12 You can't argue with optical physics

So you want an APS-C sized sensor with a *36 zoom? Fine, only the lens will need to cover an enormous range of focal lengths from, say, 18mm up to 648mm. Trying to do the same thing with a µ4/3 sensor would be equally impractical…in short, it’s never going to happen.

12:22 am - Wednesday, June 29, 2011

#13 zebarnabe

Paul,
I think you meant, APS-C size… there is only a problem with that…. lens would have to be… bazooka sized ... not to mention distortion… dispersion… chromatic aberrations ... and with all that glass and precision price would be unbearable :/

The closest thing you can have to that is a DSLR with the 15x zoom from Tamron :]

12:27 am - Wednesday, June 29, 2011

#14 ottoub

All images at ISO 100.  Come on Mark, make an effort.  Given that ISO 100 is mostly good to very good on this camera, you are supposed to snap a few and pick the best/worse ones at 400/800/1000 in low-medium lighting conditions at the very least.
As is, this review is very limited, which seems to be the way you prefer it to be.
As is, you are virtually saying that this camera’s IQ is fine at ISO 100, but do not bother with anything else.

12:37 am - Wednesday, June 29, 2011

#15 Paul

Ok,  I’ll give you 36x may be a problem, but Sony has already produced the NEX3/5…APS-C sensor, just do the same to an all-in-one.  APS-C provides much better resolution and the all-in-one platform, with better glass, takes away the need for interchangeable lenses.  Not a perfect solution but much better than dime size sensors with 16mp.  Hummmm…maybe not APS-C but 4/3 is more than doable.

1:14 am - Wednesday, June 29, 2011

#16 laurenz

@Alan:  funny comment saying that is typical of Sony to smudge low contrast areas.  While true that one has to put question marks by p/s cameras with 16MP cameras and 30X zoom, it is clear that this camera kicks butt on the Canon SX30, Nikon and other models in its class.

Quality is sacrificed because people will just not look at 9MP camera with 20X zoom such as the DSC HX1 when they are looking for a superzoom. 

The camera is fine for what it is supposed to do, judging from the review better than the competition, but if you’re after image quality, invest in a DSLR.

1:24 am - Wednesday, June 29, 2011

#17 SilverSurfer

Well after much ado finally picked up the FZ100, the Sony had arrived at that shop 3 days earlier, but I was leaving for a trip the next day and needed a camera per my other posts.

I was waiting for the Sony but rely on reviews as I’m new to all of this and there just weren’t any at the time and the Panny already had many.

The Panny is a good call, can’t help wondering if I shoulda waited for the Sony…..

2:32 am - Wednesday, June 29, 2011

#18 Eric

Value for money 4.5 ! The most expensive super-zoom camera without possibility of change (remote control, external flash, filters, ...). I think it’s very generous.

8:25 am - Wednesday, June 29, 2011

#19 Tina Edwards

Photorumors.com posted the following on 24.06.2011:

“There will be 3 new Fuji cameras announced around September this year…..The first camera will be a large sensor (maybe APS-C or m4/3rdish) fixed lens hybrid with a 20x zoom and weather sealing…”!!

10:55 am - Wednesday, June 29, 2011

#20 GE

@Paul

Google “Sony R1.”. It’s exactly what you’re looking for, six years ago.  I think that they sold 20 of them.

4:42 pm - Wednesday, June 29, 2011

#21 Helder Neves

Hi guys ..

Im thinking buying a camera .. im a bit confused what is the best ..

Compares the HX100V and Sony HX9V, what is the best in quality?, dont metter the zoom range .. In zoom HX100V win ofc .. I want a awesome quality without have to buy an DSLR ..


I like this 2 cameras because have awesome features!, could some1 help deciding or proposing other cameras?,

I will apreciate!

Regards,,

10:03 pm - Wednesday, June 29, 2011

#22 TonyC

I have a Sony DSLR + a few older Sony Point-&-shoot cameras as well as a shelf containing a few old Pentax & Minolta 35mm cameras. Been clicking away for some 41 years now - don’‘t consider myself an expert - but a reasonably capable photographer with a critical eye for detail. I bought the HX100V last week & have been playing around with it quite a lot. With respect to all the critics who seem to be passing judgement on this review without actually having used the camera, this is a pretty capable & efficient camera. No professional will be using it for important work, but at standard size photos the quality is excellent. The video is something really special with better quality sound than I expected from mics that are mounted on top of the camera. I live at the coast in South Africa & usually the contrast in photos can be problematic, and this is the only minor complaint that I have - you cannot fit a filter to the lens - a UV & even Polarised filter would be a great option. I managed to correct the deep blue sky effect with simple tweaking software, so even this should not dissuade potential users. This camera is going to be an excellent travel tool. I bought a generic charger & a spare battery & after 141 photos at max resolution & a few not too short videos, the first battery still had 43% charge remaining. I did not use the EV at all. PS - the Auto settings produce excellent results under most conditions so I’‘ll even allow my wife to take a few snaps at times :-). The Picture Motion Browser software is OK for transferring photos/videos from camera to PC, but like the earlier versions, it’s not my favourite. The great thing about the weight of the camera is that I can travel with my lightweight Manfrotto tri-pod again. :-)

10:12 pm - Wednesday, June 29, 2011

#23 Jack

Whats the reason for not publishing images with iso200/400/800 or 1600 as in other reviews?

It might be very likely because it is unusable! In daylight, too!? Did Sony asks for this? Isn´t the tester indepentdent?

I wonder why the tester gives such a good evaluation without judging and showing ISO400 quality?

6:28 am - Friday, July 1, 2011

#24 Bee Jay

I’ve just hunted around for some high ISO images taken with this camera, there don’t seem to be many! The ones I did find seemed to lose image sharpness & vibrancy above 200ISO. 400 seems flat and the 800 who knows? Looks like a great camera for fine weather only I’m afraid.

10:06 am - Friday, July 1, 2011

#25 Andy T

From the samples I’ve seen online of ISO images higher then 100, and taken with a retail HX100v, they are identical to the ones by Sony’s HX9. I’m not sure if they share the same sensor, but the image quality is identical.

11:37 am - Friday, July 1, 2011

#26 Peter Lewin

£400 in the UK, BUT $400 in the USA—why?

Since the quality of JPEG shots, between different cameras, does not vary—what is all the fuss about?
It would be great to be able to make prints from digital images, like the old days.

9:48 pm - Friday, July 1, 2011

#27 Warren Lyons

Thank you, Zebarnabe, for your input.  If my idea was feasible, Panasonic or Fujifilm might already have implemented it Unlike Canon, Nikon, and to a lesser degree, Sony, they have no need to worry about cannibalizing sales of DSLRs were they to make “too good” a bridge camera.  Do you think that the zoom lenses on the Sony HX100 or Canon SX30is could cover a 1/1.6 sensor, resulting in a small drop in magnification and a small increase in IQ?  Maybe another possiblity, is to increase the overall size of the lens and use a 2/3 sensor

10:32 pm - Friday, July 1, 2011

#28 zebarnabe

Warren Lyons,
In my opinion, no, the lens image circle wouldn’t cover the entire area of a bigger sensor for the whole zoom range without any modification. On CCTV used in m43, wide angle lens/range get some heavy vignetting on most of them, some zoom lens get less vignetting at telephoto range on m43.

By increasing the size of the sensor, the size of the lens you would end up with something like S100 or S200EXR (that is if the range got reduced), those have basically the size of a small DSLR with some big lens. For that, a DSLR would be better :/

The problem is: If you limit the amount of zoom to 10x to 15x, make it with some nice initial aperture (f/2.8 would be nice, f/2.0 would be excellent) and wide angle (24mm preferably), ensure good optical performance (low chromatic aberrations and distortions), slap a 1/1.6” or 1/1.7” sensor using modern technology and no more than 12MP, some good and fast camera ‘brains’, you would end up with a somewhat big bridge camera (HS10/HS20 sized) with stellar quality but that would bring little advantage over a DSLR.

It would be probably a good backup camera (specially if weather sealed), but for the average person it would be too expensive for that it offered - looking at the travel zooms
segment, there would be smaller and cheaper offers with some ‘better’ specs (like 18x zoom and 16MP). Better stuff doesn’t mean better sales.

Just as a side note: If you double the sensor size (4 times the area), retaining the same lens design would mean a volume and weight of way over the four times of the original!

1:23 am - Saturday, July 2, 2011

#29 lekhraj

Good camera with amazing features…

5:25 am - Saturday, July 2, 2011

#30 JOHN A.

At this point in time, this is the best camera on the market for this class of sensor size (1/2.3”).  And something no one seems to have mentioned is that this baby can do 60p videos at 1920x1080.  Not even DSLRs do that.  The exposure adjustment is fully available for videos and various scene modes are also available in video mode.  The image quality is great for this class.

I have owned this camera now for 3 weeks.  Last week, I took about 1 hour or more of videos during a parade and they all came out very nicely, smooth and with beautiful exposure and colour.  Even at maximum zoom, the image quality is truly excellent.

As for image quality, I have taken photos at 1600 and 3200 ISO - in low light, there is noise but no more than the Canon SX230/220 HS and much better than any of the Panasonic models.  I have tried the Panasonic DMC-ZS10 and the Canon SX220 and returned both of them.  This camera beats both cold.  The ZS10 had horrible image quality and is way over-priced for the pathetic crap it really is (no exposure control in movie mode!). The SX220 has great photo quality but noticeably choppy videos at only 24p.

Room for improvement?
(1) a more precise, less sensitive zoom lever, which allows for more controlled zooms
(2) Better software for transfers - i.e. PMB is slow and not that impressive compared to the Canon software
(3) A LCD which can flip over sideways, 180 degrees, to face the photographer would be much appreciated by many I think…

2:08 am - Tuesday, July 5, 2011

#31 Anujyoti Datta

Can I take black & white pictures in this camera?

8:05 am - Wednesday, July 6, 2011

#32 John A.

Yes, there is an option to shoot black and white in the “colour options” portion of the menu.

12:19 pm - Wednesday, July 6, 2011

#33 Warren Lyons

Zebarnabe, you are 100% right about using a 4/3 sensor with a bridge camera lens, but are you sure about a 1/6 or 1/7 sensor?  In fact, the Fuji S200exr was basically that; a bridge camera with a 1/6 sensor, resulting in a “Midi Zoom” camera with better IQ than its competitors at the cost of reduced magnification.  Based on reader comments on this camera, I think they should bring that model back. another idea might be a dual sensor camera with a 4/3 sensor for better IQ and a 1/2.3 for higher magnification.  For example, an Olympus Pen with the 14-150 zoom and a 4/3 sensor, gives a 35MM equivalent of 28MM to 300 MM.  Using a 1/2.3 sensor (crop factor of 5.6) you have range of 78.4MM to 840MM, which is equal to any bridge camera on the market at the present time.  This could be sold as a weather sealed fixed lens camera for all around use.  With interchangeable lenses (300MM giving a 35MM equivalent of 1680MM) the possibilities are endless

2:48 pm - Wednesday, July 6, 2011

#34 zebarnabe

John A.,

This camera captures video with AVCHD codec at 1920 x 1080 (50i, Interlace) Approx.17Mbps (Average bitrate)

That is not 60p ... its roughly equivalent to 25p after deinterlacing procedure.

I quite agree that the last Panasonic models are lagging behind in low light/high ISO department.

Most cameras of this segment (and other compacts as well) have no exposure control during video recording. Full manual exposure control would be quite nice (controlling frame exposure time, aperture and ISO)

I received an email of a follow-up comment, it is not shown here, but about the multi-sensor idea, it has been made already in a modular camera:
Ricoh GR Digital III ... way too expensive (not to mention the quality is not that good)

3:00 pm - Wednesday, July 6, 2011

#35 John A.

zebarbane,

No it doesn’t.  Where did you get this idea that it’s 50i?  Check the specs of the camera - it can capture 60p at 28Mbps.

I have the manual and I KNOW what it can do. Please get your facts straight before you post.

2:05 am - Thursday, July 7, 2011

#36 doug

am i right in seeing that despite this super zoom, this sony does not have remote wire or wireless for tripod use?  if so, that is hard to believe, for i tripod would be close to useless.  can someone verify or clarify?

6:03 am - Thursday, July 7, 2011

#37 John A.

Doug,

No the camera does not have remote control.  However, it is far from useless as it has face detection and smile detection.  It takes a picture 2 seconds after it detects your face.

IF you know how to compose a photo and to use a tripod with a timer, then you can take good photos with this camera though it will take more time to setup.  I see your point about the remote control but this needs to be used in conjunction with a fully reversible LCD screen that can flip to face the photographer which this camera also does not have.

But these would most likely add to its price.  I just took some really nice macro and zoom shots of my parents’ garden this morning and they came out very nicely.  So the abilities of the camera are truly amazing for this price and class.

2:48 pm - Thursday, July 7, 2011

#38 zebarnabe

John A.,
My mistake, PB lists the specs wrongly (but maybe with some reason).

It is however possible that different markets have different specs: 60/30 for NTSC and 50/25 for PAL countries.

This are the specs of the video on the sample on PB:
File:
    Format : BDAV
    Format/Info : BluRay Video
    File size : 49.7 MiB
    Duration : 15s 835ms
    Overall bit rate : 26.3 Mbps
    Maximum Overall bit rate : 28.0 Mbps
Video Stream:
    Format : AVC
    Format/Info : Advanced Video Codec
    Format profile : .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)
    Format settings, CABAC : Yes
    Format settings, ReFrames : 2 frames
    Duration : 15s 840ms
    Bit rate : 25.0 Mbps
    Width : 1920 pixels
    Height : 1080 pixels
    Display aspect ratio : 16/9
    Frame rate : 50.000 fps
    Colorimetry : 4:2:0
    Scan type : Progressive
Audio Streaming:
    Format : AC-3
    Format/Info : Audio Coding 3
    Duration : 15s 835ms
    Bit rate mode : Constant
    Bit rate : 256 Kbps
    Channel(s) : 2 channels
    Channel positions : L R
    Sampling rate : 48.0 KHz
Control Streamings:
    Format : PGS
    Video delay : -66ms

It’s technically 50 progressive frames ... even though it uses 2 frames to make one (reframe of 2 frames) this is not done using interlacing.

So… yes… I was not correct as I look at a wrongly listed spec list, however there seems to be different versions of this camera according to the markets… also while the encoding is progressive it does not give a 50fps time resolution but 25fps, the good part is that there are no interlacing artifacts!

Also, some people prefer 24/25p with 1/48 / 1/50 sec frame exposure as it gives a more cinematografic look and feel since it blur the movement on a more natural way, IDK if there are manual controls for video, but it would be nice.

Higher frame rates are good for sports though :]
Lower frame rates make it look choppy :[

Overall this camera beats the competition in most regards (specially in image sharpness and detail), but is still too expensive (give it a month or two and it should get a bit cheaper)

11:06 pm - Thursday, July 7, 2011

#39 John A.

zebarnabe,

No problem for the specs.  Yes, there are two versions of the camera - one for PAL and other for NTSC video and probably a third for SECAM also.  So the 50fps is for PAL, 60fps is for NTSC.

John

12:20 pm - Friday, July 8, 2011

#40 Jilson Thomas

Thanks for such a nice blog… Keep up the great work.

1:57 pm - Friday, July 8, 2011

#41 SonyR

@GE

The Sony DSC-R1 actually sold a little over 740,000 units, not the 20 that you thought. ;-)

5:35 pm - Friday, July 8, 2011

#42 sunfish

John A

I have the US version.
What, if any, restrictions will there be on playback, etc?

Thanks.

7:50 am - Saturday, July 9, 2011

#43 John A

It’s the same restriction as having a North American versus European TV system.  You can play the videos you take on any TV from North American and other countries which uses NTSC video format and which has HDMI connections (if you want the highest HD quality at 1920x1080 @ 60p).  YOu cannot play it back on European TVs or TVs which use the PAL video system.

12:01 pm - Saturday, July 9, 2011

#44 zebarnabe

I should add that it depends on the device, usually MPEG4 AVC is quite heavy, however decoding it for 60/50/30/25/24fps is the same job, there are differences when watching it in a 60Hz TV or a 50Hz TV. Namely frame interpolation/skipping occurs and can cause some artifacts.

However most modern LCD TV’s decode both video streamings and play it with no issues as their screens have 75Hz or more, the best is to check your TV manufacter manual for MPEG4 AVC/H.264 support (or the unit connected to the TV).

Alternatively you can always play it on a PC and output it to a TV, if the player (and the PC) used is good enough it should play the file without issues, at most some artifacts may occur if the player doesn’t correct them.

As an example both my old 26” WUXGA TV using a PC and the 37” 100Hz FullHD using network streaming from an hardrive, play either formats without any issue.

On a laptop (at least a ‘modern’ one) you should have no problem playing the file, as long as you can decode it in real time (or else it may show a ‘jumpy’ video).

3:00 pm - Saturday, July 9, 2011

#45 Rick

I just received this camera a few days ago and I’m loving it. I previously had the Nikon P500 and I was frustrated by it’s inability to focus with still photos zoomed in, especially in video mode. The video quality was not very good, so I decided it to return it and order the Sony DSC-HX100. After just a few days of playing with this camera I am amazed by the quality of pictures and video taken. It’s definitely a keeper for me.

3:42 pm - Saturday, July 9, 2011

#46 sunfish

Thank you, that’s really most helpful.

Is the JPEG file format used for making prints?
If so, then won’t the relative low quality of the JPEG (which doesn’t seem to be a problem on a PC or LED, compromise the print image, especially in large format?

4:14 pm - Saturday, July 9, 2011

#47 Doug

the pmb software is not compatible with mac os…but nevertheless any images a videos will load into i photo with connection or quitime, right?

11:10 pm - Saturday, July 9, 2011

#48 jan

i like the versatility of the ultrazoom class, i just dont see myself hauling (and buying:)) all those lenses. I am not a professional photographer but I do want to spend my money wisely, so actually the only thing I am interested in is the image quality and the amount of manual/creative options that are on the camera (so i can learn how to do it myself). I do not want anything to do with 3d or hd video recording, I am even willing to give up those insane zoom capabilities like 36x. I am asking your advise on this one, I like the sound of the Sony R1, is there something more ‘modern’ out there with a similar sized image sensor? Kindly yours, Jan.

4:03 pm - Thursday, July 14, 2011

#49 John A.

Hi Jan,

The R1 is an old model and does not exist anymore.  Even if you can find a used one from the internet, I think what you would need is something like a Sony NEX-3 or the new NEX-C3 which has the same APS-C size sensor and interchangeable lenses.  They are roughly around $600-650US on the SonyStyle site.

But if you have have a more limited budget, then the HX100V will serve you very well.  The only limitations it has that has annoyed people are: (1) it can only to 10 shots in high burst mode and then has to stop to record the images to the memory card (2) seemingly slow preview rate on the LCD after a photo is taken with no way to adjust the preview length (in seconds).

The NEX series can shoot continuous burst mode, and has the advantage of having interchangeable lenses and a much larger CMOS sensor which is the same size as the medium pro level DSLRs like the Canon EOS 60D or 7D.  However, the NEX does not have a zoom lens on it.  Sony currently makes a 16mm and an 18-55 mm NEX lens but you can buy an adaptor to use Sony’s DSLR lenses on the NEX cameras.  All this, of course comes at extra cost.

Hope this helps.

4:56 pm - Thursday, July 14, 2011

#50 Sun Shine

John A,

The R1 may be an old model but it is 10x what the NEX-5 is. If there was a good quality lens equivalent to the CZ 24-120mm on the R1 available for the NEX series then yeah…but there isn’t.

By the way, I have the NEX-5. It got used the first two months I owned it. It now collects dust and the R1 is back into regular rotation (great travel camera).

9:27 pm - Thursday, July 14, 2011

#51 John A.

Sun Shine,

It looks like a really nice camera the Sony R1.  But it does lack a superzoom lens. I was only pointing out that it would not be possible to find this camera now, that’s all. How much did you pay for it back then? Just curious.

I suppose one might “fantasize” a fixed lens superzoom like the HX100V but with an APS-C sensor.  Though this will certainly cost more than the 1/2.3” sensor version, for sure.

**JAN: the HX100V is still the best choice if you want to get a very versatile camera which gives you full manual control over exposure, white-balance, and even focus.  It’s amazing!  I just photographed fireworks last night (using my portable tripod) and they came out really nicely.

9:54 pm - Thursday, July 14, 2011

#52 dzeLL

Bought the camera a week ago. Love it!! I use it for eBay, sporting events, trips…yup I have been busy. Let the camera do the work. Point and shoot. For $399, it is a no brainer, some lenses for DSLRs will run you double that or more. This little gem can macro zoom a thread on a stitch and with a quick press of the zoom, your across the field focusing on someones’s face, no need to change lenses and miss shots or take multiple cameras with different kits. Keep it simple. In any lighting situation, this camera is quick to adjust and correctly adapt so you can capture a great picture, time and time again. They can not keep them on the shelf where I am.

9:22 am - Friday, July 15, 2011

#53 siroos

its very good camera .perfect video

7:14 pm - Friday, July 15, 2011

#54 Judy

I’m an amateur photo taker bought my first digital 5 yrs ago Kodak Easyshare Z612 and was blown away by the fantastic shots I got.  Its now having problems and I’m lvg for Switzerland soon so started researching I was convinced I was going to get the Panasonic Lumix FZ100, but couldn’t find it locally.  Picked up HX100V and have been playing with.  Local camera shop called and got in the Lumix.  Now I’m having trouble deciding.  Unfortunately if I buy the Lumix its not refundable.  Any suggestions for an amateur…..Also this GPS on the camera says its only available for one month.  Do I have to buy something to keep it active?

6:27 pm - Sunday, July 17, 2011

#55 John A

Hi Judy,

I checked the review on this website for the FZ100 and it is pretty good, but the Sony HX-100V I think is better.  The image quality of the Sony is better at higher ISOs, it can do 1920x1080 video at 60p, it has a better zoom at 27-810mm (35mm equivalent) and has a better flash also than the Panasonic.

John

10:26 pm - Sunday, July 17, 2011

#56 Doug

can you or anyone verify that in fact the new sony hv100 is NOT compatible with i-photo for video transfer?  if so, that would eliminate ternds of thousands of potential purchasers who are apple users.

4:19 am - Tuesday, July 19, 2011

#57 Doug

please verify that the hx100 is NOT compatible for video transfer with Apple I-Photo?  important question as there are likely many thousands of apple owners interested in this camera.

4:22 am - Tuesday, July 19, 2011

#58 Rick

It’s not that the HX100v is not compatible with iMovie or iPhoto for video transfer, but that iMovie does not support 1080p 60fps. I thought by upgrading to iMovie ‘11 my issue would be solved, but it wasn’t. iMovie ‘11 is still behind the times. There are workarounds for this, as the video that the HX100v takes is amazing and you don’t want to downgrade your video for the sake of compatibility.
Below is a thread that talks about this problem for a Panasonic HD Camcorder that also records in 1080p 60fps. You’ll want to follow the same steps recommended there for you Sony DSC-HX100v.
https://discussions.apple.com/thread/2380085?start=195&tstart=0
In summary, install the ClipGrab app, get the Rewrap2M4V script, and then install Perian 1.2.1 (not the newest 1.2.2 as it has a sound issue).
It took me about 15 minutes from start to finish to get it working, even after I installed the wrong version of Perian. Once it’s setup it’s easy to convert your videos and retain the 1080p 60fps format while still being able to work with iMovie, or iPhoto.

6:17 am - Tuesday, July 19, 2011

#59 zebarnabe

Nice thread, and just a note: 60p is not always equal to 60fps ... just saying ...

2:22 pm - Tuesday, July 19, 2011

#60 Ems

Hello, would you recommend this camera for action shots of pets? I have trouble deciding which ultrazoom to buy and Sony looks really good but I’m not sure if it is the right thing for me. Thank you.

8:02 am - Saturday, July 23, 2011

#61 sergio

Hi, I need some help please before buying this new camera :

I would like to know if its is possible to make slow motion video with SONY HX100V camera (post production with twixtor tools)

I mean slow motion with quality such as CANON 550D or 600D can provide.
(see : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g2kdJl02EuM&feature=related)

The setting for original footage for the CANON is supposed to be :
Shutter 1/1000
1280*720p /50fps (720progressive)

1./
Is somebody know if its is possible to set the same setting at least in the SONY HX100V for video mode ?


2./
Is it possible to tune the shutter parameter for video shooting on the HX100v ?

Thanks for your help.

10:58 am - Sunday, July 24, 2011

#62 sergio

Hi,
The SONY HX100V is liable to provide 1080 50i/50p
I would like to know if its is possible to make slow motion video with SONY HX100V camera.

I mean slow motion with quality such as CANON 550D or 600D can provide.

The setting for CANON is supposed to be :
Shutter 1/1000
1280*720 /50fps

Is somebody know if its is possible to set the same setting in the SONY HX100V ?

Is it possible to tune the shutter parameter for video shooting on the HX100v ?

Thanks for your help.

11:23 am - Sunday, July 24, 2011

#63 John A

Sergio,

No the HX100V does not have any built-in slow motion feature (e.g. like 120fps of 240fps like some cameras in its class does).  However, I know for a fact that you can use software to produce slow-motion videos from the source video files. 

There is also no setting that I have seen where you can modify the shutter speed for video.  It is fully automated based on the exposure.  However, there is exposure compensation available in video mode…

2:57 pm - Sunday, July 24, 2011

#64 sergio

Thank you verymuch for your answer John !

Those who use the CANON 550D usually only set their CANON camera to the following setting :
720p progressive at 50fps or 60fps
but with a shutter speed at least : 1/1000

Please see the following links :
http://vimeo.com/15823375

or
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P3HmUkSJH80


If you can tell me if according to you SONY HX100v is able also to shoot that sort of video

Many thanks !!!

4:20 pm - Sunday, July 24, 2011

#65 Dirk

#22 TonyC

To fit a filter to the lens - a UV & even Polarised filter would be a great option.
You can buy a Filter Adapter Tube which fit the Sony HX ( usually via E-bay).
Most of the time it is 58-74 mm size, in addition buy a ring 74-72 and you are able to use the filters you want.For me it works well.

8:21 pm - Sunday, July 24, 2011

#66 Ian

Hi,
After much consideration and taking note of comments on these sites I have purchased a Sony HX100V as a replacement for my damaged 11 year old fabulous Minolta Dimage camera.  So far it is brilliant but all the extra features on the new camera leave me confused.
As an example I inserted my old 2GB SD card which had 1500 photos on it from a recent European holiday in my new camera to see how the images appeared on the new LED screen.  Was intially only able to raise three photos and it would not let me go any further.  Later aftyer playing around I managed to get most of the photos up but not all of them and the ones that I couldnt raise came up blank sporadically through the card.  Why is this.    Also I bought a new Class 4 4GB Sandisk card in and was able to get photos off it instantly wihtout having to format it.  With my old camera all new SD cards had to be formatted before use.  Do I not have to format cards before use now on the new camera and if I do what steps do I need to follow.
A last question with regard to the mode dial on the top of the camera.  I have it set on the Intelligent Auto mode rather than A mode as was the case with the old camera.  Is this the correct way to go for point and shoot photos and if so what is the A mode used for.  With regard to Super Intelligent is this the mode that I use for taking action sports photos and night landscapes where it shoots off 6 shots in sequence and then combines them into a single image or do I have to go into the Menu and specifically set it for this.  Your advice on this would be appreciated.
Apart from the fact that I am still learning the intricacies of the camera it is marvellous and I am pleased I bought it.

9:15 pm - Wednesday, July 27, 2011

#67 John A

Hi Ian,

I was unaware that SD cards would work right out of the box.  I thought they needed to be formatted.  However, in order to minimize any recording issues, you should format any new SD card with the actual camera in which it will be used. 

As for your old SD card, it is normal that this camera has problem seeing your old photos taken with a different camera.  It will not read them or will only read some.  I hope you had transferred all your old photos to your computer and even to DVD discs already.  Otherwise, you need to buy an SD card reader (a USB connected reader).

For automatic shooting, the best setting would probably be “intelligent auto” because you can still do some adjustments with it.  The Superior Auto does even more like light adjustment etc… I don’t use either one all that much since I am familiar with photography and have experience.  But either i-auto or superior-auto would be best.  You can also use “P” -programmed mode - if you want some more control over exposure etc…

Some functions of the camera are automatically enabled in some modes and others become unavailable depending on your settings, so don’t be surprised if you suddenly see a function you saw on P for example, disappear if you use superior auto etc…

Good luck and enjoy the camera!

John

12:38 pm - Thursday, July 28, 2011

#68 Harsha

Hai,

Some of the reviews say that the picture size exceeds 18mb.  But, any picture I have snapped has never exceeded 5mb.  How can I shoot such huge images?  Also I am shooting at the highest pixel rate i.e. 16mp and still my file sizes are damn small.
Can anyone help me out to shoot ‘huge’ images?

1:01 pm - Thursday, July 28, 2011

#69 Harsha

Hai,

Some of the reviews say that the sizes of the pictures shot exceed 18mb.
All that I have been able to shoot is about 5mb and that too at highest pixel rate i.e. 16mp.
How to shoot such ‘huge’ images?
Can anyone help me out?

1:04 pm - Thursday, July 28, 2011

#70 CAN AGBABA

Harsha,

No such thing as 18MB image size on this camera.  You must have misunderstood the review.  The only way you can get a file that large is if you shoot in RAW mode but this camera does not do RAW.  After you EDIT a photo with Photoshop or Corel PaintShopt for example, you may end up with larger files, but that’s it.

1:08 pm - Thursday, July 28, 2011

#71 Ian

Thank you John for your help re formatting.  However I have been unable to locate where to format in my Sony HX100V camera.  Can you advise step by step where I should go in my camera to format the card.  As mentioned in my old cameras there were clear instructionas to how to do it and it was necessary as it would not allow me to use an SD card unformatted.  However with the new SD card that I used I was able to use it without having to format it which seemed odd and the photos that came out were amazing. 
With regard to the 1500 photos on my old 2GB SD card I had burnt them on to a CD so they are saved but still cannot work out why some of them do not show up when viewed through the new Sony camera.  Your further advice would be appreciated.

9:47 pm - Thursday, July 28, 2011

#72 Peter Lewin

So, compared to my compact point and shoot Sony, I now have a much bigger LCD screen and a huge 30X zoom.

After trying out the HX100V, I do wonder if a 15-20X zoom would have been adequate. Anything larger than this range sets up a shake in the image and it is difficult to focus and compose the shot.

Yes, I know a tripod would deal with things, but that is rarely practical.

Also, when out with the kids, etc—nowhere to store the HX100V.

Comments would be welcomed.

Thanks.

3:06 pm - Friday, July 29, 2011

#73 doug

hi ian…your comment about tripods being “not practical..”  any very long lens always does much better with a tripod or stable holding situation.  it goes with the turf… your expectations seem unrealistic.

3:56 pm - Friday, July 29, 2011

#74 Rick

Ian,
If you have the Sony HX-100V you can use the built-in camera guide simply by pressing the question mark button. From there you can either go to the “Objective Guide” or “Keyword” section and look up Memory Use or Format. This built-in guide is easy to use and should be able to answer most of your questions.

5:03 pm - Friday, July 29, 2011

#75 Ronny

Generally pleased, but images have too much red in them, especially with flash and even in “Soft Skin” Scene Mode.  Reduced saturation and contrast with a little improvement.  Any ideas?  Firmware Updates?

4:42 am - Sunday, July 31, 2011

#76 Topnut

How does this compare to the A55?

10:41 am - Wednesday, August 3, 2011

#77 Kumar

Hi friends,

Can you help me out with some points? It will be really helpful for me.

1. I am confused with 4 models.
Canon SX30is, Nikon P500, Sony HX-100V & Fuji HS20. Budget is no problem. Which is the better one?

2. Sony HX-100V has no RAW mode. Is it any problem relating to others which have RAW mode.

3. I never saw the image quality of Sony model. But saw the Nikon & Canon model. Is sony HX-100V has better image quality than this two?

4. I have the celeron processor HCL Laptop. In future, the video taken by sony model, creates any problem? means, will it play smoothly?

I am not very much technically known about these models. Please Help me out.

Thanx.

8:44 pm - Monday, August 8, 2011

#78 Peter Lewin

The optical zoom is 30X, but one can enlarge, further, the image, with the “cropping” feature.

Does one lose image quality when doing this?

Thanks.

8:58 am - Tuesday, August 9, 2011

#79 Kumar

Hi John A,

Please can you help me with #77 points???
I’m nt a pro. So other friends can help me out..

Thanks

5:56 pm - Tuesday, August 9, 2011

#80 neeraj

to,kumar
i have purchased the sony hx100v a month ago.i am pleased with the results.i had also gone for the same model inquiries as you have. but i choose the sony.
as far as results are concern it is good one.if you are not professional than go for it.no raw is neceessary only when you are professionaly going to play with the images.
images are as good as should be for a point shoot camera.do not compare with the dslrs.
hd videos need faster processor for running them.i have celeron processor in my laptop and i do face the problem with the movies as they are not running properly in celeron 1.6 ghtz .more over it requires the xp sp3 or higher version like vista or windows 7 . another thing is even starter edition will not work.
to see the hd videos you need to take them in lower resolution setting provided in the camera or should have the full hd lcd pannel t.v.
if all above things match to you definately hx100v is abest camera in point and shoot segments available uptill now. have good luck!!

4:42 pm - Thursday, August 11, 2011

#81 Kumar

Many Thanx Neeraj.
I will follow this information’s when I will compare the specs of this models. Actually I am little bit confused. So needed some help specially who used this camera.

9:36 pm - Thursday, August 11, 2011

#82 John A.

To Kumar,

Sorry for not responding as I was away on vacation…  Using my HX100V in fact!  It is the best camera in its class so I agree with Neeraj.  The Canon Sx30IS has an excellent photo quality but the Sony is almost as good and if not better in certain situations like low light.  There is a new review of the Sony HX 100V in the cameralabs website which just came out and it compares it to the SX30IS and a Fuji model also…

As for your computer, it is slow and will probably not play the 1920x1080 videos recorded in the highest quality setting of 28Mbps data rate.  But you can connect your camera directly to your high-definition TV with an HDMI cable and play the videos there to show your friends and family. 

As for RAW mode - not needed at all.  It is apparently used for editing photos after you shoot them.  But anytime you want to display your photos online in a photo competition for example, you will probably need to convert them to JPG anyways.  I just shoot in highest quality 16.2 million pixels in 4:3 format or 12 million pixels using the wide screen 16:9 format.

I did a lot of shooting during my trip to France, both videos and photos.  The image quality even in low light looks great even when blown up on my 40 inch Sony HDTV.  Sometimes, in low light (night street scenes with street lights/car lights) the auto-focus would have problem focusing in movie mode and I also noticed this when photographing (still images, not video) fireworks.  I had to use manual focus set to infinity to get the focus to work properly with fireworks but video mode does not have manual focus, so zooming out and back in usually got the auto-focus working again.

This really is damn good buy for this price range and camera class so go for it!

8:18 pm - Monday, August 15, 2011

#83 Taushif

Which would be better one among DSC-HX100V and Canon SX30 IS, mainly with respect to the picture quality?

1:05 pm - Thursday, August 18, 2011

#84 Taushif

Which would be the better one among Canon SX30 IS and DSC-HX100V, mainly with respect to picture quality?

1:09 pm - Thursday, August 18, 2011

#85 Fabio

To Taushif
  There’s no way to compare both cameras, Sony is much superior. I had the Canon SX30 and wasn’t impressed at all. Picture quality is ok but the LCD is small and low resolution, the EVF is too small to be usefull, and Canon is old school , they relly in ISO and speed to tame low light situations. Sony uses multi burst tech to create noise free images and great HDR. Focusing and stabilization are close to perfection and videos are amazing. Crisp pictures , 10 fps, the camera is fast and both optical and digital zoom are very, very good. I have been a Nikon guy for the past 40 years, but I’m sold to Sony, I even bought the pocket version of the HX100, the HX9v, they are really the same cameras, with just different zoom ranges and flashes. Buy it , you won’t regret.

5:21 am - Friday, August 19, 2011

#86 dino

I want to buy the HX100, But it is not available in the Philippines.So I just bought the Hx9v,Which is also very good and handy.HX100 is still in my wish list.

5:46 pm - Sunday, August 21, 2011

#87 Matt

Can anyone who has this camera tell me if the GPS tagging also includes compass bearing?  Also, if the compass bearing is calculated off of movements according to the GPS?  I plan on turning this thing on at the last minute, acquiring satellites, and snapping a shot. Thanks

6:32 pm - Wednesday, August 24, 2011

#88 Ed Turner

Hi

I bought the Fujifilm HS20 and was very disappointed with the picture quality although a comparison in one of the photo mags gave the Fuji the edge on photo quality, I have since sold it and bought the Sony HX100v, which in my opinion is the better of the two, by far.
It is also much more compact and lighter than the fujifilm HS20.

2:48 pm - Friday, August 26, 2011

#89 John A.

Hello Ed Turner,

It is interesting how the so-called “review” you read somehow managed to think Fuji was the best in picture quality.  I have noticed that reviews are not always accurate and in fact, have found myself thinking if some reviewers must be drunk or demented when they did the review! 

I recently tried a video-editing software which was no. 1 rated by PC Magazine (Cyberlink Power Director 9) and, JUST LIKE its previous version from several years ago which I had also tried, this version is ridiculously unstable and constantly crashes!  I read other users posting on the Cyberlink forums about the same issue and then tried the SONY Vegas Studio Platinum (trial) and it is ROCK STEADY and works much quicker than any other software I’ve tried. 

Looks like Sony is tops in MANY areas, for consumer software and video-related devices. Their cameras, TVs and blu-ray players are second to none!

Enjoy the HX100V. 

I do, however, have two issues with it that I wish Sony could have done differently:  No manual focus in movie mode and no exposure lock in movie mode.

John

3:39 pm - Friday, August 26, 2011

#90 Rick

John A,
Let me eliminate one of the issues you say you have with the HX100v.
You said there is no manual focus in movie mode. However, that is incorrect. To enable your video for manual focus, you need to do just a couple things.
1. Toggle the switch from Auto Focus to Manual Focus.
2. Turn your dial to video mode.
3. Use the menu button to change from Intelligent Auto to a specific Scene.

Now you will see that the manual focus mode is enabled and the hand no longer shows it’s disallowed. Enjoy!

6:02 pm - Friday, August 26, 2011

#91 Rick

@Matt,
The GPS info tagged within the picture shows Latitude, Longitude, Altitude, and Direction (Magnetic North).
Even with the GPS function turned off, it captures direction.

Enjoy!

6:17 pm - Friday, August 26, 2011

#92 Ravi

I am a beginner. I first considered Nikon L120, which is abt $300 in India. but it doesnt take good low light images. so i planned on gettin Nikon P500($440) or this one($490). So i wud just like to get myself clear if this camera gives good images at low light and does the flash work in video mode.. and is it worth the money..
thanks. :)

8:12 pm - Sunday, August 28, 2011

#93 $rin@th

Hi John A,

plz. help me
. I am confused with 2 models.

*Sony Cybershot DSC-HX100V
*Canon PowerShot SX30 IS

. Which is the better one?(Image Quality & zoom)
(short & sweet answer)
thanks,.........

9:16 pm - Sunday, August 28, 2011

#94 moris

Hi John A,

plz. help me
. I am confused with 2 models.

*Sony Cybershot DSC-HX100V
*Canon PowerShot SX30 IS

. Which is the better one?(image quality & zoom)
(short & sweet answer)

thanks,..........

9:18 pm - Sunday, August 28, 2011

#95 Ed Turner

I Have the Sony HX100v when I switch from auto focus to manual focus and turn the focus ring nothing happens, yet in auto focus mode I can zoom in and out by turning the focus ring, do I have a faulty switch? HELP!!!

Ed

10:38 am - Monday, August 29, 2011

#96 Ravi

@ Ed does this happen in video mode?? if thats d case,  u have to select the “scene” option during the video mode via the menu button..

10:54 am - Wednesday, August 31, 2011

#97 Kumar

Thanx John A. Sorry for late reply…..:)

10:30 pm - Friday, September 2, 2011

#98 mdrafi

I got it Guys…...I’m very happy with it.

Really a great camera, great Video, great photos (with great color and good sharpness)
and about the sharpness of the photo it’s great as long as you think it is a 12mp camera. yes, I know it’s 16mp but the quality is a bit disappointing for the 16mp, if you crop it 100% so you better crop it 80%, and it’s great to go.
Oh yes…. and great zoom with best stability.
great panorama
great macro..

I had to choose between this and P500, so I finally got HX100V

I’m very happy:D

and a special thanks to “photographyblog” for providing such a wonderful information.

2:59 pm - Monday, September 5, 2011

#99 ch13

This camera is worth every penny and then some!! Been looking at this camera for a long time, just got it and started using it right away.  It is perfect, performs even better than anticipated!  I can’t stop looking for places to take and start shooting!

Definitely Recommend!

7:05 pm - Monday, September 5, 2011

#100 Mike

Im an ammature who just picked up this camera and I’m still learning the ropes. So far I love it. I have 2 issues though. When focusing on things roughly 5 feet away it’s impossible to get the camera to focus on the object. Also, upon making the shutter speed slower or faster, the lighting gets too bright or dark to make an exposure which prevents me from making any slow shutter exposures because the pictures turn out white. Any advice on how to fix this?

11:57 pm - Thursday, September 8, 2011

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, review, 1080p, wide-angle, 16 megapixel, test, sony, super-zoom, 10fps, super zoom, tilting, GPS, cybershot, panorama, 3D, 30x zoom, 27mm, super, dsc hx100v, Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX100V Review, hx100, hx100v, dsc-hx100v

Tracker Pixel for Entry