Sony Cybershot DSC-HX100V Review

4.5
June 28, 2011 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

210 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#101 Mike

I’m an ammature. I just got this camera and I love it! I have 2 problems that I’m still trying to figure out how to fix. 1 is when I try to zoom in and focus on objects roughly 5feet away it seems impossible to get a clear picture and 2 when I adjust the shutter speed, the lighting gets all messed up so whenever I try to take a slow shutter spot, my picture comes out white. Any idea how to fix this?

12:09 am - Friday, September 9, 2011

#102 Mike

Sorry. Thought my post didn’t go up the first time..

12:21 am - Friday, September 9, 2011

#103 Ravi

@ Mike.. Ya it gets too bright wen u keep shutter speed at 30s or even at 8s. this mode, i think is to take pics at low light, like to get the shot of a road traffic where u get just the light trails and not d cars..

11:19 am - Sunday, September 11, 2011

#104 Len48

I’ve just purchased this camera after taking a look at what was out there and read reviews by professional advanced photographers who do reviews of camera equipment on the Web.
I’m quite pleased with the camera on a whole for its design and user use. Of course it would be silly to compare this with a higher end dsl camera with a bigger CMOS chip, costing much more. I have previously owned the first Hx1 so I am familiar with what Sony is trying to accomplish with this series. I’ve now jumped forward with this camera based on its working capabilities, being a great travel camera and video camera all in one, without having to attach a different lens or flash as it may be. I know its not going to take stunningly professional quality pictures and it shouldn’t be expected to do so at its price point either. Where this camera I believe stands up better that the other prosumer compacts is the Carl Zeiss lens. I strongly encourage anyone who’s in the market for this class of camera to take a serious look at it, keeping in mind what purpose your going to use it for and its marketable price point against the other manufacturers. The easy to read and ease of making adjustments within its menu system is something else worth noting.

8:23 pm - Monday, September 12, 2011

#105 Peter Lewin

Hello

I wish to select my still shots for professional processing. However, the Sony PMB software does not appear to offer this option.
Previously I stored my shots in Windows and it was simple to order prints online, or create a disc, etc.
If PMB will not allow this, then how can I upload from the HX100V to my pictures file in Windows?

Thanks.

12:41 am - Tuesday, September 13, 2011

#106 mike

Ravi.. thank you for your help.

6:31 am - Tuesday, September 13, 2011

#107 Fabio

To Mike
  The focusing issue is because you are using too much zoom, the minimum distance that you can get a focus depends on how much zoom you’re using, and that happens with all cameras and lenses, move back or zoom out.  I have a filter adapter that I use for protection with UV and closeup filters, that’s a solution to use more zoom and at the same time get closer to the object. 
  The bright scenes with slow speeds can be solved by using the lowest possible ISO and the ND filter that this camera incredibly provides, it’s a rare feature that is used to overcome those situations, it’s in the menu if you’re not in auto mode. There are limits, and beyound that a real neutral density filter is necessary, they are made in many models that will cut the light and allow longer exposures even in bright sun.

5:12 pm - Friday, September 16, 2011

#108 Rupesh

Can anyone explain me how to use manual mode.
I tried to increase iso, shutter speed, aperture value by rotating job dial button but nothing was happening, Can someone tell me this step by step.

5:50 pm - Saturday, September 17, 2011

#109 Fabio

To Rupesh
Just press the dial to select the function and then rotatate it to adjust. It`s really confunsing till you learn how to to it, but it`s a very fast way to adjust the main settings.

12:15 am - Sunday, September 18, 2011

#110 Rupesh

I bought Sony HX100V Camera two days back, I am unable to use macro mode, Is there any manual macro mode in this camera? Its available in Nikon P500 but unable to find in this camera.

Can someone advise me, thanks in advance.

6:12 pm - Sunday, September 18, 2011

#111 Fabio

To Rupesh
This is one just one more of the things that makes this camera superior , there`s no macro mode as well as no evf button , it`s automatic.  Just get close to the object untill you get focus. I suggest using max 2x zoom , you will get great results.

6:55 pm - Sunday, September 18, 2011

#112 Rupesh

Thank you Fabio, God bless you..

10:43 pm - Sunday, September 18, 2011

#113 Subhro K Basu

I want to buy this model. But thinking about it’s battery life. According to Sony if once recharged it’s lithium ion battery can help taking about 410 shots or for 205 minutes. Is their claim true? May you, who are using this one, highlight upon it’s actual capacity? How many still shots or video clippings of what duration can be taken if this battery is recharged once?

4:22 pm - Friday, September 23, 2011

#114 Ravi

@Subhro K Basu : Since this displays digitally the remaining time, it goes up and down. Once u fully charge it u will get 290+mins of battery life. Once u start takin pics , say after 10pics it will show 279mins, then again 282mins and like that. I have never used my full battery life but nearly 3/4th of it. i have taken 200+pics at a go and i still had 75mins battery remaining. i am not sure if u can take 410shots but u can increase efficiency by turning of GPS and using EVF instead of LCD whilst takin pics.
hope this helps

4:33 am - Sunday, September 25, 2011

#115 daniel

I’m trying to decide between this and the Panasonic FZ150.  I’ve been shooting with a Panasonic FZ28 and love the image quality (but want HD video).

Online reviews seems to indicate (fairly uniformly) that the FZ150 takes a better photo than the Sony, but if the quality is close then I might lean toward the HX100 so I can take advantage of the sweep panorama mode.

Anyone have thoughts between the two?

4:21 pm - Sunday, September 25, 2011

#116 daniel

I’m choosing between the Sony HX100 and the Panasonic FZ150.  Reviews seem to show that image quality is better with the FZ150, but (I think) it lacks the sweep panorama function that I really want.

Also, does anyone know if iMovie is now capable of handling the HD video files from either camera?

Finally, is the Sony worth the drop off in image quality?

2:39 pm - Monday, September 26, 2011

#117 Rupesh Ghate

How to focus background and defocus the front object, is it possible using any setting in this camera

3:18 pm - Sunday, October 2, 2011

#118 Speert

I have this camera and I am really happy with it.
I have some pics I made with this camera on my site. The zoomfunction is brilliant.

12:48 pm - Wednesday, October 5, 2011

#119 Speert

When you click on my name you get a demonstration of what this zoom can do.

12:52 pm - Wednesday, October 5, 2011

#120 Ravi

@Rupesh: Click the center button, it is for selecting d focus, then a white square which runs around will appear, move ur camera so that the square is over the subject u want to focus and place d camera close to the object u want to defocus, and click….

2:30 pm - Sunday, October 9, 2011

#121 Nambi

How to change iso ? i didnt get the settings

11:43 am - Monday, October 10, 2011

#122 Dev Malya

Dear Team,

Let me know that, whether zooming sound and operating sonds captured during video shoting or not?

plz help me to know this..

10:29 am - Tuesday, October 11, 2011

#123 Fabio

Just got a Canon SX40 today. Image quality is really good and can be compared to my Canon T3 wich has a big sensor. Very good job Canon. But if image quality is slightly better than Sony Hx100 and Hx9 , the rest is inferior. Awfull LCD, small and low resolution, inferior controls, no auto evf and macro ( wich is also inferior), movies are inferior, panoramas are very diificult to produce. All that and the many burst modes that Sony models have makes them still a better package.

5:16 am - Thursday, October 13, 2011

#124 Graham Edwards

My current camera is a Sony DSC-HX1 and I embed GPS data using a stand-alone Sony GPS-CS3.  I can read it using Apple’s iPhoto.  I have read a review which says that the data embedded using the inbuilt GPS on the HX100V can only be read using the PMB software (available only for Windows).  Please can someone confirm that this is NOT the case.  I want to buy the HX100V but the GPS is critical because I live half in Scotland and half New Zealand and travel a lot (thus often forgetting where I have taken a photo!).

12:57 pm - Friday, October 14, 2011

#125 Shawn

I have not much talk in regards to fps or burst mode, does this camera really do this at full res?

1:44 pm - Saturday, October 15, 2011

#126 ARUN

It is great camera with good features.If you buy you will love it.

4:43 pm - Monday, October 17, 2011

#127 Hari

I want to buy a new super zoom and confused between dsc hx 100v and fuji hs20exr. can any of the expert over here help me to decide which one is the best

6:01 pm - Wednesday, October 19, 2011

#128 Fabio

To Hari
I`m not an expert but had both models and the Fuji model can produce good pictures and excelent macro, looks like a DSLR with many controls but it`s slow to operate and the mechanic zoom ring makes it impossible to get a decent zoom in movies, stabilization is almost non existant and it`s big and heavy,  you love it and you hate it. The HX100 can do everyrhing the Fuji does and much more, it`s smaller , lighter has much more features and movies are perfect, image quality is also very good, I sold the Fuji and kept the Sony. Maybe you should also consider the new FZ 150 and if you can wait Fuji will release a super camera by december, a bridge with larger sensor 2/3, and high resolution evf .

10:19 pm - Wednesday, October 19, 2011

#129 abhey

i have been using this cam and noticed that pics by it having size 1.2mb to 3mb at iauto, 4:3, 16mp, is that okay with my cam or i need to visit service center?

6:23 am - Saturday, October 22, 2011

#130 jean

HELP!  I’m looking for a new camera to take pics of my grandchildren (mainly).  The problem I currently have is shutter lag.  When I finally get a smile from them, and take the picture, the image is so delayed that I usually end up with a turned head or worse.  I’m considering the HX100V and the Canon EOS T3.  How easy is the t3 to use? Would the HX100V be able to capture the picture I want?

2:29 pm - Sunday, October 23, 2011

#131 zebarnabe

jean,

Most of modern cameras have very low shutter lag, often your reaction time is far bigger than the time it takes to the camera to start taking a photo.

However, there is the focusing time, in most cameras you can minimize it with pre-focusing the frame by half press the shutter button and full press when the right moment arrives.

Basically, the image acquisition time = exposure time + focusing time + shutter lag.

If you are aware of this already, then I suggest you ask to try the camera in a store. Some review websites explicitly test shutter lag, you can search for them.

As far as I can tell, shutter lag in Sony HX100V, or other modern bridge camera is really low, but photo to photo times vary greatly depending on the shoot mode.

Check some smaller cameras like Sony HX9V or Canon SX220/230 HS, if you don’t need the massive zoom, you will thank for the portability they provide.

If you really need/want quality, specially to print A4 or A3 without issues, then T3/1100D is a fine entry level choice… However if video is in your mind, you may want to check 600D as well.

BTW, Some camera take shots BEFORE you fully press the shutter button allowing you to choose the one you see fit. Just remember to half press the shutter button (even mobile phones have it)

Good luck!

8:26 pm - Sunday, October 23, 2011

#132 Fabio

To Jean
  I have both cameras, the T3 and the HX100v, there’s no shutter lag, focus with the Sony is extremely fast and accurate. If you use flash mode with red eye prevention then there will be a lag because the flash will blink to close the eyes iris.
  I do not recomend DSLR for movies, specially with children, focusing is very poor, and high quality movies demands a steady subject or carefully manual focus.
  The Canon T3 is very easy to use, it’s fast and produces high quality photos , the level of details of the skin and eyes cannot be matched by small sensor cameras and when I’m taking pictures of my grand children indoors is my favorite.
  I think that a killer combination is the Canon T3 + Sony Hx9. The HX9 is the pocket version of the HX100V and is my favorite camera for general shooting, it’s small, fairly easy to use, fast, has lots of features and produces perfect movies. Stills are very good and you will probably be happy with them, but I miss the quality of a DSLR, the pocket size is very important for me.
The HX100V has more zoom and some extra features but image quality is as good in the HX9. By the way I had the Canon SX230 but I din’t like it because of focusing issues and widescreen LCD, wich is great for video and awfull for photos.
  I don’t think you will find everything in a single camera, I’m very happy with this combo, for those moments I know I need the extra zoom I carry the HX100V, if I’m shooting people in a party or indoors, I take the Canon T3, for everything else including movies the HX9V with it’s outstanding 16x lens is more than enough.

1:57 am - Monday, October 24, 2011

#133 raj bhagwat

i purchased hx100v 3 days back can anyone tell me that why there is reddish background when ever i capture any type of image in it….??

8:42 pm - Friday, October 28, 2011

#134 Kennyb

Consumer Reports magazine was not enamored with the image quality of this camera: “This Sony may have one of the longest zooms in its class, but its middling image quality and high price tag make it less desirable than most superzooms. It has some unique features (it can shoot 3D photos and panoramas) and claims to have longer battery life than most in its class. But if image quality is your top priority, consider another superzoom.”

In the superzoom category, it gave much higher ratings to the Nikon Coolpix P100 and L20, the Canon SX30 IS, and Panasonic DMC-FZ40. (Since the review, some of these models have been replaced with newer ones—FZ45, SX40)

5:40 pm - Sunday, October 30, 2011

#135 Ravi

Any possibility on whether video recording can be paused and then restarted???

8:49 am - Tuesday, November 1, 2011

#136 Shubham Verma

Purchased Nikon P500…..really awsome cam…superb colour enhancing and backlighting ....just negative point is its not-so-sharp focus.

5:54 am - Friday, November 4, 2011

#137 nobodeuno

Picture quality will certainly not be as good as a low end DSLR….but the real fun of this camera is it versatility while retaining a decent IQ in the right hands.  The video is superb IMO.  For the price I think it does what it is designed to do “bridge the gap”  I don’t always want to carry my DSLR’s and this gives me decent alternative and is a very fun camera to use.  Go here for a few examples.


http://www.flickr.com/photos/64478804@N06/sets/72157627879494945/

2:27 pm - Sunday, November 6, 2011

#138 Pranab

I have gone to buy Nikon P500, but after knowing the features and advantages of Sony HX100V and the look OMG, I really can’t resist myself to buy it…..

No doubt this is far above FZ100, SX30 IS, p500 and HS20..

1:11 pm - Friday, November 11, 2011

#139 zebarnabe

Pranab,
I would check FZ150 as well… But yes, HX100V and FZ150, while not DSLRs, are probably the best ultra zoom bridges of the moment… SX40 IS missed the point by upgrading only the sensor (and while it is quite good, the rest is the same).

2:47 pm - Friday, November 11, 2011

#140 Namit

Hi All,

Though the comments are mostly in favour of Sony HX 100V, it is a bit costly as compared to Nikon P 500 or Fuji FS 10. What should be the second option (taking Price as one of the parameters): Nikon P 500 or Fuji FS 10. Please mention the order of preference and Pros and Cons of both.

Many Thanks to the Bloggers.. This Blog is really amazing!!

9:27 pm - Saturday, November 12, 2011

#141 aji

in photos taken by my dsc hx 100v camera, close range, there is change in shape in left and right sides, why it is so? how can i fix it? can anybody help me?

7:00 am - Sunday, November 13, 2011

#142 Hx200v

Hx100v is a réal lovely camera
Nevertheless Some enhancement should be intrduced in thé NeXT version :
- video effet : diorama as panasonic GFX or Olympus PEN
- video AVCHD should be the only format peposed (see canon H.264)
- canon Still have thé advantage for those who Wang to capture vid for slowmotion postprocessing ( tape Canon and slomotion on YouTube to see all thé capabilities of canon 550d)
- 1080p or 720p @ 60fps should be proposed @ H264 as canon do ( not only avchd)
- tilting screen should be full a rotation system

11:22 am - Sunday, November 13, 2011

#143 Jaga

Still images are good.Video quality is horrible.Steady shot not works perfectly .Lot of Blur while video rec even for slight movement.Audio capture is not at best.Earlier version was good for both Still & Video.

8:34 pm - Sunday, November 13, 2011

#144 kerri

Hi, I have an Eos DSLR but am looking to purchase a smaller camera for travel. Most important thing for me is speed - both start up and shutter lag. I have been using a smaller canon and it’s so slow, quality of photos is fine but just not worth the wait any more.  Any thoughts on which is better - Nikon coolpix 7000 or the Sony dsc? Also what about wide angle shots? Have looked on some sites that have comparison tables but don’t always trust their details.
any advise greatly appreciated. Kerri

9:26 am - Thursday, November 17, 2011

#145 seela

Excellent camera with carl zeiss lens, 10frames/second at full resolution,I.S with the lens
and finlay good pictures.

Best camera in its category

9:25 am - Friday, December 16, 2011

#146 lan vu

i got it next week. It the best camera.

7:01 pm - Saturday, December 17, 2011

#147 Ravi

Does Anybody know if video recording can be paused????

2:24 pm - Thursday, December 22, 2011

#148 K.Selvakumar

I got this camera a couple of months back. It is just fantastic. It is probably the best in its category. I have taken some classy photos with this camera. Results are good in most situations. Ideal camera for any serious amateur. Colour reproduction is not perfect at times but the overall results make up for that.
If you are interested you can view my pics at
https://picasaweb.google.com/108317194361135343616/DropBox?authuser=0&feat=directlink

7:22 pm - Tuesday, December 27, 2011

#149 A. Oaktree

Hello Fabio,

I can’t quite make up my mind between the Sony HX100V camera and Nikon P500, and since you seem to have used/tested them both extensively, I wonder if you could help me decide.

Here’s what I’m looking for:

- A bridge camera with superzoom, mainly to shoot live music concerts (photos and videos). So I need something that has that quick/ready-to-use quality of a point & shoot, and also captures well moving subjects, frequently in very low light conditions.
- Something that can consistently produce very good quality photos and videos alike for digital/online display mostly (webzines, blogs, YouTube, Vimeo…), instead of more traditional media like prints or TV screens.
- I have two Apple computers, running on Mac OS X Leopard and Snow Leopard respectively, and it seems that the Sony AVCHD video format isn’t supported by neither QuickTime nor iMovie.

Which one of these cameras would you recommend, given that the price tag is also an issue here?

Thanks!

1:07 am - Wednesday, December 28, 2011

#150 Fabio

Hi Oaktree

  The Nikon P500 ( like the little sister S9100) has 2 major flaws, focusing and stabilization, and in my opinion there’s no comparison with the HX100, in wich the movie format can be changed to MP4 and it provides very good quality.
  There’s a better choice for what you want and it’s the Sony HX9V, it’s a pocket HX100 with same sensor and software and if you want to use in concerts the small size is necessary , since security usually does not allow cameras that have a professional look like super bridges. I have both and the only time I use the HX100 is when I need more zoom ( very rare) and the EVF, the HX9V has a 16 X zoom and it’s outstanding stabilization makes perfect movies. This little jewel has won many awards including one here, It’s hard to get now since is backordered but is worth every cent.

2:11 am - Wednesday, December 28, 2011

#151 A. Oaktree

Hello Fabio,

Thanks so much, you’ve been really helpful!
I don’t really have a problem with that since I usually have a photo pass and/or attend concerts where over-zealous security isn’t an issue. And when in the pit people tend to give you dirty looks if you’re carrying any semblance of compact camera, no matter how great it is. :)
I have a Nikon DSLR, an awesome camera that I hate using at music shows, because it’s bulky (I like to pack light when attending a show) and morose, with the interchangeable lenses and all the adjustments when using the manual mode, which sometimes ends up costing me that perfect photo…
So I guess I’ll throw in the extra money and go for the full package, superzoom and EVF included.
Just one more question, is the quality loss significant between the MTS and MP4 formats?

Cheers!

3:43 am - Wednesday, December 28, 2011

#152 Sara H

I am an athlete and I really like the no blur settings…however when using the High bursts, is there a way to have it be long burts in shorter seconds other than the settings available?

7:11 pm - Wednesday, December 28, 2011

#153 rishi

Hi,
pls help me which camera is better nikon p90 or sony hx100v.

2:59 pm - Monday, January 9, 2012

#154 Ian B

I’m pretty disappointed with this camera - particularly the extremely slow buffer to SD card transfer speed. In single shot mode it takes about 5 seconds to clear after every shot - even in “advanced sports” option - and there is no way to stop it from displaying the image after the shot. You simply cannot take consecutive sports action shots. In “burst mode” the focus and exposure settings are fixed on the first image so if the subject is moving towards you rapidly then forget it - plus it takes about 15 seconds to clear the buffer. If Sony can have 10 full res shots in the buffer at one time then they could do better with individual shots - at least delaying the transfer until 10 individual shots had accumulated and permitting the camera to function. I suspect this is a deliberate hobble to push people towards more expensive cameras - but they should make this limitation clear to people. I’m annoyed with Sony for doing this. They have destroyed a good camera with hobbled firmware. If anyone knows how to hack the firmware then please got to work on it!

10:26 am - Wednesday, January 11, 2012

#155 Fabio

To Ian (#154)

  I would like to disable the display after each shot too but there’s a solution, take the picture and immediately press the shutter half way, it won’t display the picture and will be ready for another picture, you can take about 1 shot per second this way. The sports mode is just to improve the focus with moving objects and you can take consecutive shots faster with the above procedure .
  If you use some scene modes and the AUTO plus it will take longer to clear because the camera actually took up to 5 or 6 shots and then blend them into one single shot, recommend the nightshot without tripod, very nice.
  BH shows the HX100V as discontinnued !?!?!

12:29 pm - Wednesday, January 11, 2012

#156 Ian B

Thanks for that Fabio - when I get onto a straight forward program mode then this does manage about one image per second wtih a very rapid focus. The image is still displayed but only very briefly. In “Advanced Sport” mode it’s about one image every three seconds due to the focus hunting - which is a bit ironic. I can’t get it to completely stop displaying the image after the shot - but I’d imagine this is what happens to you too.
It’s mad! Avoid continuous shooting (burst) and “advanced sports mode” if you want to use the camera for sports. I feel a bit better though knowing that I can get a focused shot per second. That’s more reasonable.

5:24 pm - Wednesday, January 11, 2012

#157 Ian B

Another issue I have is that the adjustment lens ring is not mechanical - it’s just another electronic switch. If you take a single shot and keep your finger half way down so as to get rapidly onto the next shot - then you need to coordinate this with a complete release of the shutter button straight afterwards because when it re-focuses you can’t use the zoom - even with the lens ring. When these cameras are reviewed the “continuous shooting mode” should be described as a “limited fixed parameter burst mode” The fixed parameters include focus, exposure and zoom. It’s practically impossible to get all of this to work at one shot per second with this device. I put a class 10 SD card in and the “ready” time after a 10 shot burst dropped to around 9 seconds from 14 with a class 6. Sony had told me it would make no difference! Can’t see any difference with the single shots though. I don’t see how Sony couldn’t have extended the buffering to 10 “single ” shots and made the interval between single shots much shorter and less tricky. If anyone out there can hack firmware then there’s probably a job for you there!

1:40 am - Tuesday, January 17, 2012

#158 Pravin

HI,
plz. help me.
I am confused,Which is the best camera for all kinds of photography? I want super Macro, Clear image, HD video and super telephoto with PS camera.

2:01 pm - Friday, January 20, 2012

#159 zebarnabe

Pravin,

There is no such thing as the best camera for all kinds of photography…

You have to do compromises, HX100V has an awesome image quality for its class, however I would look at Panasonic FZ150 for something with faster in focus and shooting.

If you want smaller with a bit less zoom you can pick a travel zoom camera… it costs nearly half of a bridge camera…

If you want a step up from that in image quality you can try the brand new Fujifilm X-S1. Problem is that it is a very new, and expensive, camera (problems might arise).

Nikon V1 or J1 provide a P&S experience while having a very high image quality for their size. You can buy several lens to fit your need. The problem is that the system is not mature enough in market.

Micro Four thirds cameras might be a good bet as well as they provide a P&S experience while having more advance modes if your wish to explore them… Obviouly, and like Nikon 1 System, lens are expensive.

IMHO, Panasonic FZ150 is the best balanced bridge camera.

Likewise, in travel zoom segment, Canon Powershot X220 HS looks really good.

Obvious no camera is perfect…

5:35 pm - Friday, January 20, 2012

#160 Ian B

To Pravin,

I think this is the camera you are looking for - but you have to accept compromises with it. The small sensor permits it to be compact - but creates other natural limits. I can’t carry half a ton of gear around with me so this works for me. I was just a bit disappointed at the limitations of the buffering to card transfer and absence of continuous adjustments during burst shooting.

I contacted Sony to ask if a faster class 10 SD card would make a difference over my class 6 and they replied “NO”. It does make it faster though - even in “single shot” mode although the difference is not so obvious there. Most people will not be affected by this issue - it is an issue for me because I need to photograph skiers coming towards me! At least the images I do get (one per second if I don’t try to re-zoom) are in focus and good.) The video and lens stabilisation are excellent so altogether it’s an incredible package at a very low price. It would have been fantastic if they had continuous focus, exposure, zoom and visualisation during continuous shooting - but I guess that will eventually filter down from the top SLT model and will be my next purchase in a few years time. The camera is great though and outside of this specific requirement it is impressive.

2:30 pm - Saturday, January 21, 2012

#161 Pravin

To zebarnabe and Ian B

Thank you very much zebarnabe and Ian B
for kindly guidance.

12:12 pm - Monday, January 23, 2012

#162 Pravin

To zebarnabe and Ian B

Thank you very much for kindly guidance.

12:15 pm - Monday, January 23, 2012

#163 Rob D

Hey All,

I recently took some pictures at my nephew’s basketball game.  I have a Canon 7D with the new Canon 70 - 200mm 2.8 ii ...one advantage of not having kids. 

My brother-in-law loved the pictures and now wants a camera that he can use for basketball, plays, gymnastics…so basically indoor activities.  So low light, stop action, high FPS burst that won’t break the 4 college fund accounts.  Hoping to keep the budget around $500 - $770 USD.

I came across the the Sony HX-100 and thought it might fit his needs.  Does anyone have experience with taking pictures at a basketball game?  How does it perform in low light AF?  I know they won’t match my pictures but will they be good enough at the High ISO that he’ll be generally happy? 

I appreciate any insight or other model recommendations you can give me.

Thanks in advance.

8:09 pm - Wednesday, January 25, 2012

#164 claus marnix

Finalee an camera thad work like it supose to do.
good high iso shots,bright lens at wide,good image qality,good viewfinder,great lcd,exelent stabilization,and usable in low light.
and Finalee one thad work when you zoom to max.
The smearing at 100% view are indeed some what disturbing,but better then the noise of the FZ100
abit downsampled the pictures are bright have good color.and no noise.
Pitty there is no raw mode.But you can lower the noise reduction,but gain noise then.
all in all an exelent camera.
marnix.

12:17 pm - Saturday, January 28, 2012

#165 Neo

This camera is a gem.

8:35 am - Saturday, February 4, 2012

#166 Ian B

The camera is let down in action photography by a poor buffering system. It can’t shoot continually and adjust any parameters simultaneously - so if an object is moving towards you at 50 km per hour for 50m away you will get one shot only with precise focusing no matter what mode you use. I don’t think there is any camera in this price range that is any better though and it is outstanding value in many other ways. I just wish it didn’t have this fundamental problem. I wouldn’t recommend it at all for action photography.

11:08 am - Sunday, February 5, 2012

#167 claus marnix

Ian B
just press the ok button for an few temes then the camera jump to continiu focus.
Set the camera on high speed 10 frames a sec.

This allow you to folow the subject.
Afcours you have to see thad the subject stay withing the viewfinder range.
Try it it is easy :p

1:10 pm - Sunday, February 5, 2012

#168 Ian B

Claus - you misunderstand. Once you press the shutter button and hold it down there are no more adjustments made - the focus does not track the subject - the exposure setting does not adjust. I assume that you are referring to the “tracking focus” - which is pretty useless for action photography anyway as you don’t have time to set it up normally - it’s only useful if an object is likely to move off-centre unpredictably and you have the time to set it up - plus if the object is quite close and not too small. Tracking stops the moment you hold down the shutter button. The predictive focus in sport mode is only good for one shot too - and you can’t access predictive focus in any other mode - and that closes off the “tracking focus” option plus it “hunts” so badly that you risk missing even your single shot. The camera is in effect very badly designed for action photography because they have put a cheap memory/buffering system in it. It’s probably a hardware limitation rather than firmware. It’s just bad news that they don’t make any of this clear and they fool people into thinking they are buying a good action photography camera. It would probably have cost them next to nothing to have used better technology here as they are using in their hybrid cameras. I won’t buy another bridge camera until this sort of issue is properly addressed in future. Saying that I’m quite happy using the camera within it’s limitations now that I’m clear about them. The 2 Mega pixel stills taken from HD video are remarkably good and that is all I personally need for pure action shots for multimedia purposes. This camera would however disappoint a semi-pro action photographer.

10:47 am - Thursday, February 9, 2012

#169 claus marnix

Ian.
Afcours it is not perfect.
It is no Dslr,it track down your subject Aslong the object is in the viewfinder.
Ones it is of screen the camera need time to focus again,I think it is not an problem with the sony HX100V
But every camera included the panasonic FZ100 have thad problem,also the P500 do it to.
If you need better tracking I am afraid you have to buy an dslr.
As none of the superzooms do an great job.
The best thing you can do is not hold to long in prefocussing,and use the 10 frames a second.

For sport pictures I am also afraid none of the superzooms do an great job,atleast high iso is better on the HX100V then on the panasonic FZ100
so you get an little better pictures,and focus is faster on the HX100V to.
But yes you are right,none of the superzooms give speed as an dslr.
Claus.

3:15 pm - Thursday, February 9, 2012

#170 Adarsha Chatterjee

Its a WOW!!!!!!!!!

5:55 pm - Thursday, February 9, 2012

#171 Rob D

Thanks all.  After more research and your input, he’s decided to look into a more advanced system.  Body and exchangeable lenses.  Price has become much less of an issue vs IQ and flexibility. Take care.

6:57 pm - Thursday, February 9, 2012

#172 Ian B

Well, I need a camera that can take action pictures of skiers - usually coming towards me - and this camera unfortunately can’t handle the job. I’m accepting video stills as a compromise. It’s just frustrating when it won’t do the main job you really want it for. I can’t carry loads of bulky lenses and I need powerful telephoto. Some day a bridge camera will exist that will do the job - but it isn’t this one. Even the Sony hybrid cameras can do it so I’m frustrated they couldn’t (or wouldn’t) go all the way with this camera.I’m not going to carry around a stack of interchangeable lenses (once again) - been there - done that. This camera would be great if it wasn’t for this problem - but it’s a really big problem if you do action photography - it effectively cripples the camera.

7:45 pm - Thursday, February 9, 2012

#173 Fabio

To Rob D
 
  If I may sugest an excelent alternative, the Fuji X10 is an outstanding camera for low light situations, has a larger sensor than the HX100 and a 28 -112 mm 2.0 to max 2.8 aperture, ISO performance is excellent with ISO1600 being quite good. The qualiy is the same as an entry level DSLR if not better (my opinion), and some internet reviews consider the X10 superior to 4/3 cameras with standard lens , only those bright pancakes can beat it, but they are prime lenses and zooms are too dark, so ISO must be increased.
  If the max 112 mm is enough for indoor use it’s a great choice.
  I carry a Sony HX100 for the fast focusing , excelent dinamic range ,zoom and movies, a Canon G12 because it’s fast to use (no lens cap) and to keep in a pocket and the Fuji X10 for portraits, low light and general shooting. My DSLRs are collecting dust, I don’t use them anymore.

4:34 am - Friday, February 10, 2012

#174 claus marnix

It is not going to work for ski action.
I suggest you narrow down,and for example you get an nikon D60 and an tamron 70-300 this scheap lens around 100 dollar will take mush better action pictures.
You only need one lens just one.
And use this one for you action pictures,the rest you can shoot with your HX100V

9:28 am - Saturday, February 11, 2012

#175 Suren

how to shoot movie in dark room from DSC HX-100V? Is there any setting?I know flash is not working for Movie section?

8:50 am - Friday, February 17, 2012

#176 Vikram Viswanathan

For sports shooting: If you have daylight, shift the dailer to Shutter speed priority mode, set min of 1/2000 speed, and start shooting.

11:28 pm - Friday, February 24, 2012

#177 Ian B

Vikram - it makes little or no difference from any of the other modes - still have to remove your finger from the button after each shot - still have to use single shot mode - still trouble zooming while doing all of this and the same buffer transfer lag as in other modes. Might work a bit when following something moving from left to right but doesn’t when trying to follow something moving fast towards you - which is the standard test for such issues. Sony fails to make this negative point clear and so does the review in this blog and any other review I’ve seen. They are quick to promote this function when it actually is in a camera so you have to infer by its absence that it just isn’t there. It’s dishonesty on Sony’s part really however you look at it because they know a lot of naively hopeful people will be fooled. It would be a great camera if not for this   fundamental limitation in function. The next generation of cameras will not have this problem. I’m not going down the SLR trail again and carrying all that expensive junk around with me so I make do with the frustrating limitations of this technology.

6:30 pm - Monday, February 27, 2012

#178 MauraBV

Am thinking of purchasing this camera prior to an upcoming family trip to Istanbul.  I am new to anything other than a compact point and shoot and this camera seems to be a good entree into something slightly more high-end with better photo quality and video capability.  Reviews look great and I was ready to make the purchase when I came across this blog with comments that it is not compatible with iPhoto and iMovie.  Is this still the case?  Being a Mac user, this may be a deal breaker for me.

Any feedback on this issue would be greatly appreciated.  Great and helpful blog, by the way.

8:32 pm - Monday, February 27, 2012

#179 Tim

Hi All,

i have baught my HX 100V a couple of months ago, it works pretty good with super zoom,

I am not a proffessional photographer and i just wanna take some close up shots of flowers, birds and my GF face.

Can i add Reynox DCR-2025 PRO High Definition 2.2x Telephoto Lens,

Will it make any difference in IQ?

please advise me,

thank you,


Tim

7:19 am - Wednesday, March 7, 2012

#180 Vinay

Yemmm!! Fentastic Camera!!
Really amaizing picture quality

2:03 pm - Thursday, March 15, 2012

#181 Rick

I have both the hx100 and also a Sony A580.  They are different cameras.  The 580 carries a 18/250 lens which is longer than any SLR lens I previously had and the equal at wide angle, so that lens will seldom come off unless I want to use my old Minolta f/1.4 50 mm lens for portrait.

The hx100 is great for general purpose, but will be limited by noise at high ASA by the physics of the small sensor.  Still, Sony has done an amazing job on that issue for such a small sensor. It will reach out farther to catch the bird in the tree with its longer zoom

The 580 is a classical konica/minolta/sony SLR with lots of weight and super optical and other performance.  You have to be willing to go the extra dollars to get there and then to lug it and a heavier mini-tripod around.

On an upcoming trip I’ll give my wife a pocket point and shoot and the HX100.  I’ll take another pocket camera and the 580.  She will get some pictures I can’t and I’ll get some she can’t.

I like both, but for different reasons.  There are compromises in any sensor size and advantages as well.  Small sensors work well for long zoom, while large ones are much better from a noise standpoint, even at normal light.  The weight goes up rapidly with the sensor size and the zoom range goes down unless you want a lot of optical problems.

3:40 am - Friday, March 16, 2012

#182 Rajeev

Great reviews…. much impressed. Planning to get one SONY hx100 in couple of months..

7:14 pm - Monday, March 26, 2012

#183 Federico

Does this camera allows you to handle the zoom manually (Such as in Fujifilm HS10/HS20) ?

Pls your response the sooner the better…

Thanks and Greetings

Fed

8:09 pm - Monday, April 9, 2012

#184 Fabio

Yes, but it’s not mechanical, it’s electronic, very smooth, great for movies the only drawback is that you can’t zoom if shutter is half pressed, but in general is better than Fuji’s

8:57 pm - Monday, April 9, 2012

#185 Federico

Thank you Fabio!

10:43 pm - Monday, April 9, 2012

#186 Neil

I hv purchaged this camera 15 days back because i cannt wait for new hx200v.Image quality and zoom is really awesome but difficult to undestand full control.

6:47 pm - Friday, April 13, 2012

#187 David Heane

Have just bought the Sony DSC Hx100v. Excellent results. Have only one minor iritation with it.
The beep is too loud bearing in mind that what ever you press it “beeps”. This can be off putting in a room full of people. I can guess why
Sony has made it so loud, but instead of providing hobson’s choice of on or off, could they not have just limited it to an autofocus beep?

11:28 pm - Friday, April 13, 2012

#188 shantanu

PLEASE HELP..!!!
hi, i am a beginner and i am confused between SONY HX100v ans Canon HS40x.
-price diffrence is marginal
-sony has more features of faded background, paranoma sweep etc.
-cannon has better picture quality..

please suggest which one to buy. it wil really matter to my purchase.
as i found your blog the most reliable one after my 1 month of research

1:32 pm - Thursday, May 3, 2012

#189 Doug

Shantanu, I do not see the Sony as an inferior picture to the Canon, esp in the superzoom field.  Sony features a Zeiss lens and that is usully quite special.

2:46 pm - Thursday, May 3, 2012

#190 Ian B

The Sony is a great camera and the video is stunning. There are only image issues when looking at the images at 100% on your computer. If this is a really big issue for you then you can try the HX200V which has an improved sensor and image quality but otherwise is the same camera. Sometimes the image quality of the HX100V bugs me but not often.In general the creative potential of the camera is shockingly good.

6:11 pm - Thursday, May 3, 2012

#191 david heane

Help! I have problem with sweep pan on SonyDSC HX100v camera. On Wide it sweeps horizontally and vertically ok. On HR mode it only sweeps vertically. I cannot get it to sweep horizontally.

5:43 pm - Friday, May 4, 2012

#192 Fabio

Hi David
  Don’t worry, your camera is working ok. When in HR panorama you need to keep the camera in the up position and sweep in to the right or left, it will create a horizontal panorama.

12:10 am - Saturday, May 5, 2012

#193 RON

” Alternatively you can change the in-camera sharpening level. “

I have open of these cameras.
Where is the ‘in-camera sharpening’ function?
Thank you.

2:31 am - Thursday, May 24, 2012

#194 Jason

I highly recommend this camera, or the HX200V 100%.
Worth every cent….

8:08 pm - Monday, May 28, 2012

#195 zani87

Hello,

I’d like to buy a camera, and I’m a beginner, but would like to learn more with manual settings. I hesitates between entry level dslrs and bridge cameras, and realised bridges are more affordable for me (without the need of buying proper objectives as well)
I went through many-many reviews, but I still can’t decide.
So i would like to ask your opinion on wchich one’s the best! smile.gif


My requirements for the camera:
Price should be among 300-470$ (though prices here in Hungary are more than in the USA)
Manual settings (mainly interested in manual focus, preferably with ring on the lens barrel)
Sharp and nice colorful images with as low noise as possible
min. 12 MP
good (full)HD video

I was considering Sony Cybershot DSC-HX100V (456.32$ here), Fujifilm FinePix HS30EXR (481.15$ here), Canon PowerShot SX40 HS (466.43$), and other Nikon bridge cameras (like Nikon Coolpix P510 (452.63$), which has manual focus, but without ring, and others that don’t have manual focusing at all..)

Thank you very much for your help!! smile.gif

6:41 am - Wednesday, May 30, 2012

#196 David Heane

The Sony HX100v is an excellent camera in its marketplace, arguably the best in overall performance. However if your are a newcomer to photography and want to learn more about manual settings I would advise you to plump for the Canon 550D which offers the beginner a much more encouraging learning curve. The HX100v has some
really interesting features not least the panoramic sweep mode but the 18megapixel Canon offers superior allround quality backed by superior overall instruction. Money better spent.

1:50 pm - Wednesday, May 30, 2012

#197 Rich walker

I am just about to buy the HX100V. However i see the HX200V is about the same price using a cash back offer in the UK.

Should i choose the 200 for the extra features or has the IQ deceased as many commenters elsewhere think?

Thanks in advance for any responses.

8:39 am - Friday, July 13, 2012

#198 Fabio

To Rich
  By all means get the new one, specially if price is very close, the HX100 is very good but the HX200 is even better, no decrease in quality at all, some people who never had the chance to use the camera imagine that megapixels increase is equal to image quality decrease, what counts here is the combination of sensor , processor and software, the lens are the same.
  Everything is improved , even low light performance and the new paint HDR is incredible, for me is worth the price of the camera, It takes a lot of work to get this effect that DSLR users love so much, take a look

http://www.flickr.com/photos/53212405@N08/7174450990/in/photostream

  Since it’s packed with everything you can imagine it takes some time to master but the 2 auto modes are excellent, the only thing I miss is a hotshoe and portability, that’s why I ordered a HX30 , same sensor , software and 20x zoom, it’s the pocket HX200 .
  Go for the HX200 , you won’t regret.

1:34 pm - Friday, July 13, 2012

#199 Kamal Gupta

Could some body help with 1. Playing videos on PC on SONY’s PMB- my experience, very poor quality 2. Making std quality DVD using PMB 3.Any other media player which could play the videos anywhere close to HD TV- GOM is my only success with results poorer than PMB.

3:53 pm - Saturday, July 14, 2012

#200 Rich

Fabio,

Thank you I took your advice and got the HX200V. There are so many things good about the camera.
For trembling people like me, the stabiliastion is great and the speed of focus and shutter also. These were all the things i liked on my F717.

I have found that DSLR such as Olympus E410 and Panasonic G2 are just not focus fast and stable enough for me to get pictures I wanted. So for example in a 1000 shots i have 3 blurred with the sony, a blur rate of less than 1%. The G2 gave me about 20% blurred pictures, the olympus 10%, Fujifilm f70EXR about 15% and Kodak z915 about 5%.

I found the grip too large for my hand, and at the end of day it was quite sore. The EVF was also uncomfortable without a rubber eyepiece and positioned and too small.

In respect to IQ, I am not impressed. Fujifilm F70EXR indoors daylight at iso 400 is better than than Sony iso 100 in daylight. Instead of taking photos whilst filming (excellent quality video btw) i took screenhots from video at 1900x1080 which were far superior to those in camera.

But i am returning the camera because there are missing pixels in the EVF. I also had memory card errors using a brand new 32gb Samsung SDHC Class 10 card. One time I even got the dreaded C:13:01 - looks like has not resolved the firmware issue since 2002.

This error cost me my lovely F717 and stopped me buying any sony products for the last 8 years. If sony could solve this and put all the latest technology into the body of a f717 with a better sensor, rather than producing a broad substandard range for marketing purposes, they could become the market leader between the future phone and DSLR markets when point and shoot is dead.

11:21 am - Sunday, July 22, 2012

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, review, 1080p, wide-angle, 16 megapixel, test, sony, super-zoom, 10fps, super zoom, tilting, GPS, cybershot, panorama, 3D, 30x zoom, 27mm, super, dsc hx100v, Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX100V Review, hx100, hx100v, dsc-hx100v

Tracker Pixel for Entry