Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX200V Review

4.5
April 17, 2012 | Gavin Stoker |

Your Comments

141 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 alex

The same little sensor with a lot of megapixels into….this is a gadget for those who want to have fun not for advanced amateurs or serious photographers….when i look at crop images almost puke…the noise reduction is far too strong!Sony disapointed me with all latest hx series in term of photo quality…at least you obtain an excellent camera for movies!All is just marketing!and these are not 4stars image(rating of 3.5 imho)somebody agree?

2:05 pm - Tuesday, April 17, 2012

#2 Iulian

For sure I will buy one, is first on my list, but for the moment is not available in Romania.

After a lot of google seems to be perfect for me: picture zoom quality, HD movie, ease of use.

Come back after I have it.

3:11 pm - Tuesday, April 17, 2012

#3 JS

An insane product for insane people!

4:14 pm - Tuesday, April 17, 2012

#4 JOE PRETE

Question for the Author Gavin Stoker,
Please tell us, did CARL ZEISS CO. build the lens for SONY, or is the lens built by SONY using a ZEISS FORMULA and and ZEISS APPROVED GLASS.

Seeing the name usually implies that it is approved, but not built by Zeiss, But seeing a RED T* I think would indicate that the ZEISS Co. did build the lens, it’s something you would only see on a Pro grade camera. I only recall seeing the Red T* Glass/Coating on an actual Zeiss built optic. Looking at this camera, I wouldn’t doubt that the lens may be built by the Zeiss Co.  Very nice review by the way.

8:14 pm - Tuesday, April 17, 2012

#5 Yoco

At the 100% crop all images are to much smudged,they looks like watercolor paintings, and not a photos, with another words they were over processed.

That is a consequence of to manny pixles.

So, very pure IQ for such expensive camera.

Nikon P510 and Canon SX40 HS are still the low in the bridge area.

9:07 pm - Tuesday, April 17, 2012

#6 Oswald

This is a nice review, however I should say it is not as complete as other reviews such as the review for the Nikon P510.

The review lacks more testing and photo samples of the different features of the camera such HDR, filters, panorama mode,etc.

11:24 pm - Tuesday, April 17, 2012

#7 cho

I used to own the HX1 and I had a ton of fun with the said camera.

I am now using a Lumix FZ150 and in comparison with this, I think Sony is focusing on nothing but trying to win the “numbers game”.

18MP on a small sensor? Why? Panasonic and Canon has been keeping the MP count at around 12MP to minimize noise and improve overall image quality. Even most m4/3 camera are only at 16MP range ... and those have much bigger sensors. I can’t blame them though, a lot of people still believe that higher MP = better image quality.

There’s still no RAW support, no ext flash hotshoe, filter thread etc. A camera at this price range is expected to have those built-in.

I still think Lumix FZ150 and Canon SX40 are the ones most people should consider buying. But that’s just me.

12:03 am - Wednesday, April 18, 2012

#8 JOE PRETE

Yoco, These are thumbnails, once clicked, opens up to a full size image. Twice clicked, I would assume is what you are referring to, look at the woman, 4th up on the right. You can count her eye lashes, her eye brows and even strands of her hair. It is at ISO 100, but it’s impressive for a plastic Bridge camera.

The glass is for real no matter who actually built it. If you look at the aquarium, yes those are a mess, worse than a water color painting. Click on some of the others Yoco, maybe you’re only looking at high ISO? This must be the response from the HX100V from last year. That one didn’t rate very well. I think someone was just asking for GPS a few days ago, maybe this is what she needs.

Oswald, the review has all ten features that they put into all the reviews. If it seems different it may be that it’s a different reviewer. This one is by Gavin Stoker. He did take several photos of the camera itself (it does look like it’s been through mill) but at least you can see what you’d be getting. At $469. it would be matched against the Fujifilm HS30 EXR, Nikon P510 and the Canon Powershot SX40 HS Did I leave anyone out?

I think it compares pretty well, but I do wish the Reviewer would respond to our questions. They leave us here to make all of the   comparisons between ourselves. We don’t have the camera, so he’s got the advantage. Also, it doesn’t look like it was used carefully, this camera has been around. This website would do better to add a follow up to address the questions. I guess Oswald is correct then. I apologize Oswald.

1:30 am - Wednesday, April 18, 2012

#9 JOE PRETE

I left out the Panasonic DMC FZ150 from the comparison. Actually, that may be the best one of all. How could I forget Panasonic?

2:21 am - Wednesday, April 18, 2012

#10 hb

Still need to wait..

Waited 1 more year coz’
Canon SX30: Motor noise & SX40HS was about to launch
Sony HX100V: Though still some features about to add by sony in next launch which will beat SX40HS
Panasonic FZ150: Too old with less Opti zoom
Nikon P500: Poor Image Quality
Canon SX40HS: My Exp. said me don’t buy 1st cam by company with new processor, so waiting for next product with digic-5 & it looks so plasticy with big buttons, like kids toy..

N NOW Sony HX200V: Thinking why it’s painting photographs.. Look at LION’s Mouth in sample images..!!

10:08 am - Wednesday, April 18, 2012

#11 vitaminos

I fully agee with alex, the picture quality is disapointing for a camera for that price. Even my sh220 makes better images with its 12mpx.
This camera is a toy, an expensive toy. The only positive for this is the big zoom. Better buy an used dslr for this price.

12:46 pm - Wednesday, April 18, 2012

#12 JOE PRETE

Well I’m glad I’m not in sales, you keep waiting and your missing more pictures every day. Also, are you really going to blow up your plastic Bridge camera pictures cropped and up to 4 X 6 Feet? I guess you need some real Pro grade equipment. What is it that are you photographing?

I shoot with Full Frame NIKON D700’s (2) and I still have the D300 and D200 (no video for me) I use the DX for the additional 50% focal length. But the D700 FX are full frame. I’ve made huge enlargements, and I don’t think the lions mouth would be that large. I do have close to $20,000.00 in lenses so that may effect the quality. (that’s spread over many lenses, you can spend that much on just one lens, take a look at Nikon & Canon catalogs)

I also shoot film with the NIKON F4S and FM2, so my lenses fit all six bodies. I use a MAMIYA 645PRO (Motor Driven and Auto exposure, but manual focus) I only have four lenses for the MAMIYA (wide angle to medium telephoto) I use that for Portrait Photography.

At the time I started, and with the equipment that I bought, we never had any of this kind of talk. And Digital surpassed film quite a while ago. I do some reviews, and I try to help out the younger people in the field, but you guys are worrying about things that will most likely never even happen.

Fuji built the X S1, a bridge camera that costs $799.00 I don’t think there’s much of an improvement, but they must have built it with you guys in mind. Try not to lose sight of this, “it’s the Photographer that takes the picture, not the camera”. What kind of pictures are you taking, that all the cameras in your price bracket are not good enough for you? (what is your hourly rate?)

At the pace you guys are going, your portfolio will take 30 years to complete. The crew over at dp know the specifications for every camera produced. Maybe you should see what they think of the situation. They reviewed this camera first, and they probably had it for quite a while. If you go there, just make sure that you post in the right section, they are very critical.
Good Luck, I hope you guys find what you’re seeking.

3:06 pm - Wednesday, April 18, 2012

#13 Alex

Sony just want to make profit regarding our little knowledge about what really mean a Photo!(or at least a good photo).They give us the same shit with little improvements with every’‘new’‘product!it’s just marketing for the rich people to get even richer!this shit little sensor and stupid noise reduction(which i think should dissappear or at least having a button to cancel it) should be use at maximum 5Mp!So i have 18mpx but how the hell i could make crop because mpx are alot thanks God!crop with this?no way!the samples talks themselves!and with some simple software you can reduce or make’‘disappear’‘noise image…so in that situation what could you do?just accept the reality!better buy a sh real camera!my opinion!

3:27 pm - Wednesday, April 18, 2012

#14 Simon

I think this Sony’s IQ is pretty impressive given it’s 18mp sensor.
One of the downsides of viewing at 100% on a high mp count camera is that you’ll be viewing the image at a ludicrous level- way beyond what 99% of us would ever consider printing.
View them at monitor size- or even twice that- and the IQ still holds up well,with pretty decent levels of detail- even at iso 800…

3:46 pm - Wednesday, April 18, 2012

#15 Sokhoomora

What the hell?!!!
Highly Recomend this piece of shit?!!!
What’s going wrong with you PHOTOGRAPHYBLOG???
Received a big bunch of money from SONY????
Highly Recomend what?
LOTS OF NOISE?
LOTS OF CHROMATIC ABBERATION in edges?
LOTS OF COLOUR INFRINGEMENT?
AND LOTS OF USELESS SILLY MEGAPIXELS ON A TINY CRAP SENSOR?
I’m so disappointed with you PHOTOGRAPHYBLOG…
So SORRY…

8:03 pm - Wednesday, April 18, 2012

#16 Teg_j

The comments here really show how much we need a better way of comparing sample photos. I fully agree that the 1:1 blow ups look rather disappointing.  However, at 1:1 those images enlarged far more than equivalent pictures from a 12mp camera.  What we really need to know is how those 18mp shots look at the equivalent magnification. What we need is an in-between blow-up size (maybe equivalent to 10mp at 10mp)and for all shots to be available to view at that same magnification.  Then we can really judge the trade-off between quality, pixel count and noise suppression.  This as well as the full 1:1 views, obviously - we all love a bit of sneaky pixel peeking, don’t we?

9:49 pm - Wednesday, April 18, 2012

#17 JOE PRETE

After this childlike display and terrible language, I really doubt that they’re even going to let people post here. Everyone was able to control themselves, liking the product or not, the display of vulgar language most likely ruined it for everyone else. For me, I’m much older, I’m just trying to help the less experienced people, the newer Photographers, some who really depend on the comments and advice following each review.

It was nice writing to most of you, I didn’t mind putting in the time to help almost all of you. The sad thing is, once a comment is made, it will live for ever somewhere on the internet. Even after those comments are removed from here, they’re already on the servers and will turn up on some ones web search. If I was the moderator, I would have verified that people use their real name, and a real web address would be required to post. I’ve got to notify Mark now, so this is good bye. Good luck guys.

11:23 pm - Wednesday, April 18, 2012

#18 JOE PRETE

one comment for those that can’t control their own language, you should know that anyone can be traced, from their IP Address to the computers serial number, No one is untraceable!

11:32 pm - Wednesday, April 18, 2012

#19 Warren Lyons

Based on several readers’ comments, some still regard bridge cameras as “toys”  Nonetheless there is a real market for “toys”  The same 18 year old boy who would prefer a cheaply made muscle car over an similarly priced entry model Lexus.  You can’t burn rubber with a 6 cylinder Lexus and you can’t get up close to that MILF in her bikini 100 yards away with an Entry DSLR and its puny kit lens

4:06 pm - Thursday, April 19, 2012

#20 Ann

Joe,

Thank you for your helpful and detailed view. Some of us are just seriously trying to choose a camera and the rude and ignorant comments by some on this site are unacceptable. When and if they do find a camera they approve of, I doubt they will ever be able to see the beauty in anything they photograph. They are just too plain stupid.

12:27 am - Friday, April 20, 2012

#21 Yoco

I am disappointed with all this new cameras, because there is no IQ in the first plan at the most of producers but some other commercial demanding. That is run for money and in this blind war everybody lose. Customers with bad IQ, and also producers which lose that customers. I will like to buy a new camera, but my 8 years old 3 MP Olympus make better photos like most of this new ones.
I am checking every new p&s camera, compare IQ, and Fuji, Sony and new even Panasonic make cameras with to much over processed pictures to avoid noise. It will be better to put less pixels onto their senzors, but market is still to blind that buy this things. So until peoples will buying their products only because more and more pixles that long IQ will suffer. Canon made right step with new SX class last year, decreased Mp form 14 on 12 and I hope that they will stay on this line.

1:25 pm - Friday, April 20, 2012

#22 rider_ind

Hence, this is camera has nothing much for low-light or night photography. So, should I go for previous HX100V which I’m getting 15% cheaper and much more pixel density?

2:33 pm - Friday, April 20, 2012

#23 Matt

Hi,


  I actually own this camera.  I have taken beautiful pictures with it and have been complimented on their quality in all sorts of lighting conditions.  These comments came from the photography shop which printed my photos when i asked for their honest comments and criticism.  There were a few that didn’t take well, but overall I got a lot of compliments on the slr type quality.  I’m not a professional photographer, but I am learning a lot.  This camera is capable of taking wonderful photos in low light and in bright light applications.  I would recommend it for a family who likes to travel.  As this is why my wife and I bought it.  If i wanted a professional camera I would spend a lot more than $479.  Keep your comments in perspective of what classification you are reviewing.  I feel tgis review was an accurate one.  The author could have went through more detail but this was sufficient.

1:31 pm - Saturday, April 21, 2012

#24 iulian

Finally I put the order, idiots from online shop forgot to announce me that they have it now on stock. Few days so I have it. :)

Price: 458 euro

I’m not o proof. Till now I own also a Sony, DSC V1, and I get thousands of very good quality with that camera.

After a 3-4 years I hope to enjoy to make a next step to a DSLR camera, but till then I hope this HX200 to not disappoint me.

6:54 am - Sunday, April 22, 2012

#25 Warren Lyons

Considering the number of comments posted on Reviews of bridge cameras, they are not just for “stalkers”.  A large portion of PB readers either own one, are going to buy one, or wish they had bought one.  IMHO, perhaps the best critics of these cameras are their owners.  Pro reviewers only have so much time with each individual camera, while owners have all the time in the world and the most incentive to get the most out of their camera

1:31 pm - Sunday, April 22, 2012

#26 PRANAV KUMAR

Hi guys,

Nice discussion and reviews for beginner like me. After few years I want to move to a DSLR camera.However i am still not able to decide between nikon p510 vs sony dsc hx200. Can anybody provide the final verdict, so that i could close my deal.

1:33 pm - Sunday, April 22, 2012

#27 Yoco

Joe Prete, just look that painting here and you will understand, what I am thinking:

http://img.photographyblog.com/reviews/sony_cybershot_dsc_hx200v/sample_images/sony_cybershot_dsc_hx200v_28.jpg

That woman was snaped at cca 1 meter with flash, so there is very small amount of noise, but any other photo with higher ISO (over 200) because too much noise suppression most of the photos are looking like a painting.

6:17 pm - Sunday, April 22, 2012

#28 CHFels

I understand the frustration of those who pixel-peep and are appalled at the painting-like nature of the photos at full zoom (which is not to say that I approve of bad language or insults - that is just childish, to be ignored). 

Of course we never need to print at 2’x3’ sizes, and viewing at full zoom on a computer screen is pointless because you see only 1/10 of the photo.  So you can argue that the extra pixels don’t do any harm, for real-world purposes.

But actually they *are* doing harm:  they’re keeping us from having *genuinely* better sensors in compact cameras.  Imagine if all the engineering brain-power was being focused on making better and better 1/2.3”, 10mp sensors, instead of on packing more and more pixels onto that tiny size and somehow trying to get a few photons to tickle each pixel?  The point is that our pictures could be getting better and better - *at the same viewing size* - e.g. better low-light ability - but instead, they are at best staying the same.  (And many times they fail to even stay the same; e.g. Panasonic’s 14mp cameras were uniformly worse than the similar 12mp models they replaced.)

That said, I completely agree with Teg_j : some photography review site, like this one, should offer a tool to view photos at a fixed number of pixels, resizing down the higher-mp camera images so they can easily be compared to those of different (esp. older) models.  I’ve seen bloggers do this, and the results can be surprising:  some modern cameras’ outputs, scaled down to 5mp, does not compare well with e.g. the native 5mp photos of an old Canon (at least at low ISO)

CHFels

6:11 pm - Wednesday, April 25, 2012

#29 iulian

Weather is bad, two pictures at home.

http://img577.imageshack.us/img577/5519/dsc00077b.jpg

http://img98.imageshack.us/img98/3637/dsc00081vh.jpg

6:13 pm - Wednesday, April 25, 2012

#30 iulian

So, because now I have this camera I can say that is awesome, really is 5 stars for me, for my needs.
Now I need to learn how to make pictures, Saturday I have the opportunity to make a lot of pictures (baptize a child).

Next week I’m back with samples.

6:23 pm - Wednesday, April 25, 2012

#31 rider_ind

Should I buy this one or get HX100V, that is costing me 25% less than HX200V?

6:26 am - Thursday, April 26, 2012

#32 JOE PRETE

lulian, Very important. Find out ahead of time if FLASH is allowed in the church, tempal, chapel or similar. Also, at all times, do not fire flash at babies eyes. There should be caution in the manual. the chapel will have it’s own rules. Make sure you follow them. Okay

6:39 am - Thursday, April 26, 2012

#33 Iulian

Ok Joe, thanx, I will follow your advise.

What I make in my first samples is one painting made from a old picture with DSC V1 with a white angel wing attached.

Now I expect the proof guys to make some comments.

From my amateur opinion quality is OK. Laptop view is nice, 23” monitor is not perfect, but I like it.

9:59 am - Thursday, April 26, 2012

#34 Fabio

I recently had the Nikon P500, Fuji HS20 , Canon SX40 and Sony HX100, in bridge models not to mention Nikon P7100, G12 , Canon SX230 , Sony HX9, Canon T3 and Nikon D500.
Even though 100% view is not good in Sony’s , when you look at them in a 23” LED screen they look great and full of life, in my opinion better than others and I think that’s because Sony is very sharp, maybe that’s on top of the qualities of a good picture, if you don’t get the proper focus you get nothing most of the time.
Sony is fast and sharp, with it I can get pictures of bees in flowers and they don’t wait, they are always moving, fast, sharp and almost perfect resolution.
My ultimate test in bridge cameras is trying to read the brand of the lock of my kitchen door at night from 25 feet away, never did until the HX200, digital zoom at 120x is very impressive, stabilization is also very good.
I have too the new Canon SX260 and digital focus at 39x is sharper than optical at 20x (go figure that !) technology is advancing, so 18 mp in small sensor may sound crazy if we think the old way, new processors are doing wonders.
What is amazing in this camera are the special effects, multi burst appeared in Sony HX1, got much better in the HX100 and now they improved it with not simply handheld night shot or HDR but HDR with tone mapping (3 levels)  , I don’t need to take a DSLR with tripod and then work in the computer to get those amazing surreal images, I just press one button and see the results immediatelly, I also have black and white HDR ( that I will use a lot), the illustration mode (also 3 levels) is amazing , gives a beautifull cartoon like image that I intend to use a lot with my grandson.  Art is one click away with this camera.
  The zoom/focus ring is more responsive and camera is faster now
  My bag has now the HX200 , a Fuji X10 (extraordinary camera for low light and general shooting) and the Canon SX260, that I will sell and buy the new Sony HX30 that I expect to be very similar to the HX200. No camera can do it all but 2 years ago I gave up DSLR and lenses and have been looking for a lighter bag that could cover most of my needs from macro to long telephoto, low light and portability (pocket size is sometimes essential)and action with excellent quality, I feel that I’m almost there.

5:17 pm - Thursday, April 26, 2012

#35 JOE PRETE

YOCO, I see what you’re saying. The painting is at least as good as the photo from the review. Good eyes to notice that!

LULLAN, Your photos show determination. The second one took quite a while to download on my macbook, That’s the penalty of too many mega pixels.

Both of you show determination, and that’s a very important quality to have. I think if you can carry a camera every day, you will find pictures that you never knew existed. It’s not so important what camera you use, just that you know it’s settings well and it’s comfortable to carry.

1:32 am - Friday, April 27, 2012

#36 JOE PRETE

Fabio, Why are you so fixated on specifications? Pick a camera you like, and sell off the rest before their value drops to nothing. I would have liked to have a Nikon P7100, but I already had spent $500.00 on the Canon G9. So the G9 is my pocket camera now and I have to live with that. The New Canon (G X1 I think), it has a sensor SIX times bigger than the G9.

I’m just happy that I bought the D700’s They’re still in production (that means they have to offer parts and repair for the 7 years after production ends) There’s no Video, and I’m happy with that. But it’s a real workhorse of a camera!  I have a D100 that just sits in the box. Sometimes you buy too soon, but at some point you have to say ENOUGH! and you buy one and stick with it! Remember though, it’s you that takes the picture, not the camera.

1:53 am - Friday, April 27, 2012

#37 Fabio

Hi Joe
  Thanks for the wise comments, that’s what people should do but I work with photography and buy and sell cameras , so I have the chance to spend some time with them and I also make filters adapters to some models including the Sony HX100 and the new HX200 , just to mention they are not the same, the lens diameter in HX200 is smaller than Hx100, so I need to have the cameras to test the adapters.
  About the P7100 , I was very disappointed with the low light performance, for me the G12 is better, but none can match the outstanding Fuji X10, that camera makes me feel I’m a pro, amazing results and adjustments. Sold today the Canon SX260,good but not what I wanted,I also had the opportunty to test the G1x , as it’s usual with Canons focus is not the best, it’s slow but images are great when it nails it, the deal breaker for me is the poor macro , G12 is way better in macro mode.
  Your comments are always interesting and I’m sure they help us all, but let me respectfully disagree with that commom statement that it’s the photographer that takes the picture , not the camera.
  Photography is a highly technical activity, it is now and it has always been, it’s also an artistic activity, so the composition and adjustments of the camera along with the passion and tecnhical knowledge is up to the person , but the camera must work properly , with fast and precise focus, correct colors ,good defocus control, good low light performance , resolution and adjustments that can turn the photographers ideas into reality . If not true why the best photographers buy Hasselblads that cost 20,000 dollars ? Or 8,000 for Leicas , or 6,000 for a Nikon D4 body, not to mention lighting gear. These equipments can turn their ideas into reality
As I said above the Fuji X10 makes me a better photographer, a Sony HX200 does that too when I’m shooting bees and flowers with the excellent macro and fast focus, I can’t do the same with many other cameras, so I need the right equipment to the task.
  Thanks a lot and keep posting, your comments are always welcome.

5:06 am - Friday, April 27, 2012

#38 JOE PRETE

Why thank you Fabio, The wedding we have scheduled for this Sunday, is it okay to shoot now that I have your approval? I’m sure the Bride & Groom will be relieved!

I was wondering, is there much of a market shooting bees and flowers now? Even using the Nikon R1 focusing stage & bellows and close up lenses like the Nikon 105 2.8 Micro Nikkor, I was never able to sell a photo like that. It was fun to play with, but very expensive to produce. Tell me if they are selling now, because I have hundreds of high quality images that, even through the Stock Photo Agency they only had an occasional sale

4:36 am - Saturday, April 28, 2012

#39 Fabio

To Joe
  I don’t care if there’s a market for bees and flowers pictures, don’t think there’s a market too for my grandsons pictures, I shoot them for my pleasure and I want my pictures to look very good to me.
  Don’t understand why you need my approval to do anything with your private life, good luck with the Bride & Groom , did that for some time and it’s not an easy job.
  I tried to be very polite and honest in my other comment but it seems that you think that I was being sarcastic, I wasn’t.

6:41 am - Saturday, April 28, 2012

#40 Warren Lyons

I can certainly relate to Fabio and his “hoarding” of cameras.  In the 3 years I have been in the hobby, I have owned a Nikon P80, Canon SX 30, Canon SX40, and Kodak Z990 bridge cameras, along with Olympus and Panasonic Micro 4/3, and an assortment of cheap P&S cameras.  IMHO, bridge camera users are the most likely to upgrade frequently.  Those using throwaway P&S will keep their kodak as long as they can post on facebook, while those investing thousands in high end equipment wait until it becomes totally obsolete or there needs change.  Knowing this, Canon, Nikon, and Sony make enough improvements on a yearly basis to entice an upgrade from last year’s model, while at the same time, holding back enough as to not cannibalize sales of entry DSLR bodies and lenses

3:23 pm - Saturday, April 28, 2012

#41 JOE PRETE

Warren,
Sounds like you have their strategy down pat. It does seem accurate and they always have an update ready. For every $6000.00 camera they sell, they sell over a thousand inexpensive compact cameras.

8:07 pm - Saturday, April 28, 2012

#42 Aatman

hi everyone, am a dental surgeon and an avid amateur photographer and started taking pictures with film, then my mobile and last being cheap point and shoots. now that i am a dental surgeon i am looking for a higher end camera. i will be taking pictures of patients and the restoration work that i will be performing on them. also i click a lot of pictures at home and also when my family is on a vacation, so i narrowed down to a super zoom rather than a dslr. i have a budget of upto $500. please advise me whether i should go in for the HX100V or the HX200v, or the canon SX40? or an entry level dslr. i am not too much into photoshopping my pictures and use them as they are.
thanks a lot

10:06 pm - Sunday, April 29, 2012

#43 Fabio

To Aatman

  I buy and sell cameras and some customers have the same needs as you, we usually recommend a DSLR a dedicated macro lens and ring flash, that costs a lot of money. I also recommend bridge cameras for the job because they are usually very good in macro, HX100 is very good , HX200 even better for macro and you can use zoom in macro, Sony has auto macro , no need to press any button, just get close and zoom in up to 2x , very good. Canon is not as good in macro, so I do not recommend. May I suggest another model, Fuji HS20 is excellent in macro , you can zoom in and it has filter thread (58mm) , the zoom is not motorized and the lens barrel is much more robust, you can add a cheap ring led light and you will get a very, very cheap and effective macro setting that is perfect to what you need , also small sensor cameras have greater depth of field and so more focued areas than DSLRs. Fuji HS20 is cheaper now because of the new models HS25 and HS30, I can’t say anything about then but I believe the macro remains as good.
  If Sony HX200 lens barrel wasn’t so delicate ( at least it looks that way) I would recommend it with a filter adapter and ring light but I’m not sure if the extra weight could damage it with time.

10:53 pm - Sunday, April 29, 2012

#44 Aatman

Thanks a lot for the prompt reply. your reply has been very thorough and what can i say.. very educating(if that is the correct word) :) thanks.. i will check out the Fuji HS20 and compare it with the Sony HX100V at a shop nearby.
just one more thing.. between the above two cameras which is better for outdoor shots and shots inside a well lit to low lit room for pictures of my friends and family?
thanks again

12:14 pm - Monday, April 30, 2012

#45 Aatman

Fabio,
thanks a lot for your prompt reply. am glad finally someone with some experience in cameras and photography has understood what i am lookin for and replied. thanks again. just one more thing, between the sony and fuji cameras, which one is better in taking outdoor pictures and pictures of friends and family inside a normal to low lit room? for some reason am in favour of the sony hx100v/200v but am still open to discussion.
thanks

12:21 pm - Monday, April 30, 2012

#46 Fabio

Hi Aatman

  For my personal use I carry a HS200 and a Fuji X10 exactly for indoor shots because it has better sensor and brighter lens . The new Sony is much better at high ISO but noise is there , not a big problem for general use because even at high ISO the picture remains sharp, there are many low light modes and it’s a very funny camera to use, the art effects are amazing, I’m using them a lot, video is also excellent as well as stabilization, both much better than Fuji’s HS20.
  The problem for your profesional use is how to light the subject with the HX200 , how to fix a ring light in that lens, I make filter adapters for the HX200 and HX100 that allow fixing the ring light but the extra weight scares me, I may be wrong and the lens can deal with it but I’m not willing to test it.
  The Fuji HS25 /30 has also low light modes and seems to have a good high IS0 performance, I didn’t try them yet but the pictures I saw at Flickr show that the macro mode is still very good. Also in Fuji you can add not only the ring light without problem but an external flash, I use a cheap (US$12,00) small flash with a bouncing head in my Fuji X10, if I’m indoors with a low ceiling I bounce the light and get much more natural shots without that hard direct flash light.
  It’s hard to get one camera that does it all the way we want, that’s my quest too and never found it. If it was just for dental work the HS20 with ring light would do, but to do all you want maybe the new HS25/30 is the best for you .

2:40 pm - Monday, April 30, 2012

#47 JOE PRETE

DR. AATMAN,
If you do a google search for “Digital Cameras For Dentistry” you will find a selection of about SIX cameras that Dentists prefer. There are photos of each camera and as FABIO had said, they have Ring lights or Close-up Flash units. I wouldn’t skimp on it or expect to use a plastic Bridge camera especially if it’s a business expense and can be a deduction on your taxes. Speak to your accountant. Years ago, Yachica made a camera called “The Dental Eye II” and that camera wasn’t taxed because it was a medical supply. Check the cameras in that category to see if the same rules apply.
Just a note:You should learn how to do a search yourself, so you don’t have to depend on other people to do it for you!  Joe Prete

5:51 pm - Monday, April 30, 2012

#48 JOE PRETE

Here’s an FYI, When doing a Google search, look carefully at the top 3 or 4 entries. There’s a very faint shaded area that is square or rectangular shaped, completely covering the first few entries. As that area is boxed, it’s a little easier to see, but the shaded part is very light. All the listings above that line are “paid advertisements”, the area below are actual search results. As I’m sure you know,  all the entries on the right are paid advertisements as well.

6:28 pm - Monday, April 30, 2012

#49 Aatman

Thanks Fabio and Joe Prete.
Fabio your replies are quite useful and i will take all that you said into mind before i go in for a camera.
actually i will be starting my post graduation soon and will setup my practice after that… thats when i will go in for a decent dslr:)
right now i am in search of a camera to do it all but like you said there is no such camera:) wil go in for what you suggested. thanks agaim.
Joe Prete thanks, your answer is really professional and i will keep all that you said in mind before i set up my practice. i did infact try to search just like you said but since that wasnt helpful i came to proper photography sites like this to get help from established photographers like you all as i just dont wanna click photos of patients:)
i have decided will go in for a super zoom now and have all the fun with it and learn more of photography and lighting techniques and later on settle in for a decent dslr. thanks all of you

8:44 pm - Monday, April 30, 2012

#50 Aatman

Joe Prete.. yup am quite aware of the search results and all. thanks again :)

8:46 pm - Monday, April 30, 2012

#51 JOE PRETE

Mr Aatman, The first sentence of your message said you’re a dental surgeon. I could tell that you grammar was off, but I thought maybe english wasn’t your first language so I didn’t say anything. I do hope that if, and when you do become a dentist that you expect to spend 4 or 5 times the budget (as a starting figure) that you set for the toy camera that you want to play with now. The Plastic Bridge camera is what this is about, not a surgeon’s camera. I already know why that was mentioned, as do all the readers and Fabio too so just, save it!

You actually should have mentioned only the Bridge camera in your request, because when people write in looking for help, one or more of us try to get the answers that you need. So in this case, I hope you understand that you need two very different cameras, and in no way can one take the place of the other. Your sentence “now that I am a dental surgeon” was not true and didn’t belong here at all. Also, there is no “moving up” to a bridge camera. They are at the bottom, so there would be no vertical movement at all.

When I did a simple google search, and opened up the first reply that came up, I would have thought that you either didn’t have a computer, or you were just looking for attention. Now I see that, that was the case. Maybe Fabio had the time to talk toys with you, but there’s no telling who would have answered the question. But in any case, now that you are “The boy who cried wolf” I would be a little more careful about what questions are asked.  Just remember, once you write it on line, it will always be there, somewhere on the servers and if you become a dentist, one of your patents will one day uncover the post while poking around, maybe to see where their dentist came from.

As far as Bridge cameras go, you will always find that some people swear by them, and some people swear at them. There will never be one camera that everyone loves. It’s always a compromise, so pick the features you want, and look for one that matches it the best. There will always be something that you wish was different. It’s not a very hard task to accomplish.
I hope what you learn here, you can use when you search for a Real camera. You may want to try dpreview. ... Joe Prete

3:31 pm - Tuesday, May 1, 2012

#52 Aatman

mr. Joe Prete.. i don understand why are you being rude for no reason? yes English isn my first language.. and ok maybe i did confuse you with my doubt as to which camera should i go in for because i was thinking maybe one camera could suffice all my needs. and i am aware of the amount of money people abroad spend on cameras.. well thats not the case here in india.. even dentists here dont use top of the line cameras cause we dont feel the need for them.
as for your clarification i am already a dental surgeon and will be starting my post gradutaion soon, guess you got confused cause maybe the education system in your country is a little different than ours and most people there dont go in for post graduation. well i know all this doesn bother you… Fabio got my point and am glad he could help and you tried too but in a different way.. guess our frequencies didnt match.. no problem.. thanks anyway.. i had to write this becuase i just didnt understand why you got offended and were rude.

8:18 pm - Tuesday, May 1, 2012

#53 Aatman

and Mr. Joe Prete.. i just dont see the reason as to why would i look for attention on a photography blog site??? just doesn make any sense.. maybe you are the one here with some issues.
and ‘now that i am a dentist’ was maybe just out of excitement because i recently graduated or maybe i did want to indicate i will be takin pictures of patients too… but when it got clear to me that different settings require different cameras i was just discussing ‘plastic bridge cameras’ with Fabio. i dont find the reason for the ‘Photographer inside you’ to get offended. grow up, and be open to all kinds of people around you. if you didnt get i meant in my first post maybe you shouldn have replied.
thanks anyway

8:32 pm - Tuesday, May 1, 2012

#54 Fabio

Hi Aatman

  If any of your future customers find your questions here they will now that you are someone who seeks knowledge , no one knows everything and you are a dentist not a professional photographer , you want to do the best you can with the resources you have, I’d be proud to have you as my dentist.
Mr . Joe Prete said that “it’s you that takes the picture, not the camera” but now he’s trying to convince you that bridge cameras are plastic toys and that you need to get a DSLR or your career will be ruined. Obviously he hates bridge cameras , so I don’t know why he’s posting here.
  We should be using our time to post about the HX200 and other bridge cameras, so I spent a very pleasing day riding my bike and taking pictures with this Sony, now I don’t think that I can live without a camera that does tone mapped HDR with just one click , it’s so much fun and results are very good, it’s a new world. I did HDR before but they demanded a tripod and computer work, now I see the results immediately, that single feature is worth the price of the camera, macros are also very good.
  By the way , my first reflex camera was a Nikon Ftn in 1969 , and I love bridge cameras, If I had with me a DSLR with kit lens I could never get the pictures that I took today.

7:21 am - Wednesday, May 2, 2012

#55 iulian

Best picture:
http://img851.imageshack.us/img851/8926/dsc00215ja.jpg

Outdoor:

http://img831.imageshack.us/img831/5917/dsc00159e.jpg

Indoor:

http://img441.imageshack.us/img441/6508/dsc00177j.jpg

This camera is not perfect, red eye reduction is not working, you need to do this manual after shoot. In some picture there is a lot of distortion in the corners. But maybe I don’t know how to set this camera.

Regarding macro, from 1 or 2 cm I try to shot my mouse, no chance for make a clear picture for logo. Also I try to shot my speaker logo (gold letter - Panasonic) with zoom. No chance to make a clear picture.

8:20 am - Wednesday, May 2, 2012

#56 Warren Lyons

With all of the bantering between Joe Prete and Aatman, One thing is for sure; the eternal conflict between bridge camera and budget DSLR is alive and well.  Based on the numbers of comments on both the Sony and the new Nikon, the bridge cameras seem to be getting the better of it.  Though I am not a dentist, I have had 3 solid years of experience with this type of camera, and IMHO, it would serve Aatman’s needs perfectly, for both personal and professional use.  In fact, for his dental practice, a small sensor camera might be at an advantage.  Unlike people portraits or flowers with a shallow depth of field/blurred background is desireable, for technical subjects, be it dental work, circuit boards, or the inner workings of my sailboat winches, a deep depth of field with everything in focus is preferable.  This is where the small sensor shines.  While their low light sensitivity might seem like a disadvantage, in a well lit dental office, taking macro shots of dentures and implants, merely putting the ISO at 400 or so, would enable the dentist/assistant to get a clear shot at close range without using the flash and annoying his/her patient

4:40 pm - Wednesday, May 2, 2012

#57 Aatman

Mr. Julian, your pictures were really good(atleast i thought so). about the red eye reduction and the distortion i will check it out soon. thanks for your inputs.

Mr. Warren Lyons, thank you. what you said is exactly what i thought before i zoomed in on a bridge camera. i have actually taken decent or ok pictures with my simple point and shoot during my college days. with these bridge cameras giving us little more control over the settings am sure i can do better photography.
thanks a lot.
thank you everyone.. soon i will get my bridge camera(mostly the sony) and start posting my pictures up here. :)

9:47 pm - Wednesday, May 2, 2012

#58 zebarnabe

Image quality is not that bad guys, at least when compared with the other bridge cameras, it is just… a bit pricey.

For ppl checking the comments section I suggest you go to the Image samples and compares some at different ISO and focal lengths values with other cameras before making your judgement (also, do you really need 30x zoom?). This camera is not perfect (I wouldn’t buy it for example), but is not that bad as some ppl might say.

6:55 pm - Thursday, May 3, 2012

#59 Aatman

Mr Fabio, thank you very much for understanding exactly what i meant and for the very kind words. it would be an honor to have you as my patient:) and what you quoted from Mr Joe Prete’s post made me wonder too as too why was he so actively arguing his point here and disagreeing to whatever we discussed. the only reason i put up my query here was because i was enquiring about bridge cameras and not pitting them against dslrs.
anyway.. thank you so much.. i hope to get my camera soon and start taking great pictures with it and might post them up here too:)
thanks

6:58 pm - Thursday, May 3, 2012

#60 Yoco

Here one can find very objective review:

http://www.dcresource.com/reviews/sony/dsc_hx200v-review/page-0,3

10:02 am - Friday, May 4, 2012

#61 sonstar

I have recently bought this camera and I’m really quite impressed. After years of lumping the suitcase
full of lenses with my Film SLR I wanted something more portable and it certainly is. Its fast, the image quality is good. And I dont expext SLR results. Digital is still a long way behind film in Quality. We still blow up our slides and view them on the wall after all. Kodak and Fuji are making low ISO slide film again. If I want that kind of quality I can get my K1000 out of its case.
The Sony is fun and flexible. I use it at 10mp. Theres no law that tells you to use the full 18.1 after all! I dont intend printing any larger that 10 x 8’s and to be honest most of my photo’s are just candid family shots for the web.
I paid AU$469 which is much cheaper than the mentioned competition and three times cheaper than
a decent DSLR two lens kit.
My only complaint is the manual. A little “how to” and less labeling of parts would be most welcome! this is the reason I’m reading reviews at all. To learn how to use all the features.
BTW it does have a sport mode which the review didnt mention and having the more useful modes on the dial and the 3D and less used modes in the menu would make things easier for an oldie like me!

4:01 am - Saturday, May 5, 2012

#62 zaosan

It would be interesting to see sample shots at reduced (10-12mp), reasonable for the sensor size resolution.
It appears some cameras get better results when used at resolutions less extreme for the size of their sensor. Here is an example of a direct competitor of Sony:
http://www.cameralabs.com/reviews/Fujifilm_FinePix_HS20_EXR/

(see section:Fujifilm FinePix HS20 EXR shooting modes)

9:39 am - Sunday, May 6, 2012

#63 HB

Yeah, take a look at
http://www.sonyhx200v.blogspot.com

A new post with incredible sample images, different test results, other reviews and much more..

And the Image quality seems much promising..!!

11:56 am - Monday, May 7, 2012

#64 zaosan

Thanks HB, but no info about samples resolution is given and the direct comparison of the same shot at full/reduced resolution is still the detail I’m looking for.

12:42 pm - Monday, May 7, 2012

#65 iulian

@zaosan 10 mp samples, no zoom, iAuto mode:

http://img401.imageshack.us/img401/5817/dsc00159ks.jpg

http://img710.imageshack.us/img710/6219/dsc00160tj.jpg

1:13 pm - Monday, May 7, 2012

#66 Bee Jay

Ok the image processing is rather strong, the images maybe over sharpened; common it has to be said on Sony compacts & bridges. But for the price you do get very decent 800ISO images & 30X zoom. Not bad for the general enthusiast.

11:27 am - Thursday, May 10, 2012

#67 Fabio

This is a great camera, it seems that it’s not selling as well as the HX100 , even being much better. My personal adjustments is (when possible ) ISO 160 , noise reduction to - and aperture mode to 6.3 . The scene modes like HDR and night shot w/o tripod can produce excellent pictures , I always carry a Fuji X10 that’s outstanding , but the HX200 can get very close to it..  Macro is algo excellent.
  The artistic modes like tone mapped HDR , B/W HDR , watercollor and illustration are worth the price of the camera, but it seems that no one is using them !
  Flickr has a few but very good exemples of what this jewel can do. By the way, the new Ipad has the best display ever, my pictures are much better is the new retina display.

8:14 pm - Saturday, May 19, 2012

#68 Mustafa

Sony is ruining that “Carl Zeiss” brand. This camera’s samples are really not good. like water painting. Even HS20 is better than this..

8:19 am - Wednesday, May 23, 2012

#69 Fabio

The lens on this camera is excellent. Quality of the pictures has been improved from something that was already very good (HX100). Low light is very impressive, and I’m comparing it with my Fuji X10 that really gives DSLR quality.
  This lens is sharper than my Nikon 70-300 VR that costs more than the HX200.
  Sharpness must be set to - , you may use some sharpening later in the computer, but very little , most of the time sharpening does not improve the quality, that’s how good pictures are.
  I never liked posting my pictures,, but with this camera photos are so good that I’m posting them on Flickr almost every day.
  Reviewers don’t have time to really know the new generation of small sensor cameras and all the scene, effects and settings that they have, it’s much easier to review a DSLR where all you need to do is to play with the basic settings. Most of the time you will get much better results than reviewers, so check what real users are getting, just google “flickr hx200” and you my find some of my own exemples.

12:09 pm - Wednesday, May 23, 2012

#70 Ste

Fabio you’re a plonker.

5:39 pm - Monday, May 28, 2012

#71 HerHaliCanYakar

if this images quality from 5 to 4 point take than i don’t know which machines have 2,3 points and how can you say about Canon S100 photo quality is 4.5 too ? HX200V image quality must be 3, Canon S100 - 4 and for example m43 systems have 4.5 point !

2:45 pm - Tuesday, May 29, 2012

#72 Mythune Jennifer

Now, my brother is a Sony freak—- so to speak. Digital camera, mobile phone, laptop, even the house phone. Can you dig that? Tried his Cybershot 220 nd guess what, it gave my own Canon Powershot, a run for it’s money. Hurrah.

11:56 pm - Monday, June 18, 2012

#73 Avinash

Guys…i need a help from you…
i got a Sony DSC HX200V camera..
Can i get a video tutorial of manual focusing and background defocusing using the ring attached to the camera…
Please help me as fast as possible…

4:32 am - Saturday, June 23, 2012

#74 zebarnabe

Avinash,
I don’t own the camera, but I just read the manual.

Set the camera to MF (Manual Focus) by using the switch in the lens barrel, to use it, there is a button FOCUS on top on the camera grip, when you press it the image on the screen gets magnified assisting you on the focusing when you rotate the ring.

To defocus the background you can use Aperture Mode (the A mode in the mode dial on top of the camera) or Defocus Effect in the menu for shooting.

Defocus Effect is a software processing trick, it blurs the image in the areas that the camera perceives as being out of focus, might suffer from some artifacts or it might blur focused areas (or not blur out of focus ones). Because it works by software, it might need the control of focus to perceive the focus areas, thus it could mean it is incompatible with manual focus, only way to know is to try it out.

Aperture Mode is a optical control feature. Low F-number means big aperture that implies more blur for out of focus areas. However the camera has a tiny sensor, meaning a very large depth of focus, to achieve blurred backgrounds you may have to either shoot close subjects (usually implying small subjects) and/or at big focal lengths (more zoom = bigger focal length). This method works in any camera with Aperture Mode, using Manual Focus shouldn’t be an issue.

Hope it helps, good luck :]

6:34 am - Saturday, June 23, 2012

#75 tony tech news

what a new innovation in the camera by sony

1:44 pm - Wednesday, July 4, 2012

#76 Candice

Hi

I saw in the sample pictures that there were pictures of fish- are these photyos taken underwater using a waterproof case?

I also see there is no dedicated underwater scene so what setting would be best to take underwater shots while snorkling with this camera?

Also, what size and type waterproof casing would I need to buy- I have found some DiCAPac ones with the largest being the WP-H10. would that one fit this camera and the Carl Zeiss Vario Sonnar T*?

Thanks,

12:23 pm - Thursday, July 5, 2012

#77 Candice

Hi

I saw in the sample images that there were photos of fish- are these underwater photos taken through a waterproof case?

I also see that this camera does not have a dedicated underwater scene mode. What settings or mode would I use to take underwater pictures while snorkling?

Also, what waterproof case would fit this camera? I have found some DiCAPac ones (In South Africa) with the largest being the WP-H10 but it does not specifically state that it fits this sony camera but does fit the Sony HX1 and Canon G2/3/6. Would this case fit this camera and the Carl Zeiss Vario Sonnar T* lens?

Thanks,

12:28 pm - Thursday, July 5, 2012

#78 Arvind

Hello all,

I just want to say that dont go for higher resolution, go for 2 MP - 16:9, and you will get the best images on ‘SONY HX 200v’.

I tried it and it worked…....

2:57 pm - Thursday, July 5, 2012

#79 zebarnabe

For the ones saying that go for lower resolution that images will be better, you can resize them on the computer with better results…

Pixel by pixel is obvious that smaller resolution will look better (unless the camera doesn’t do pixel binning / oversampling), if you resize the image to, let’s say, 9MP AFTER applying some light unsharp mask filter to the original, the image will look a lot better on those 9MP than just resizing (depends on the noise levels and the strength of the filter), even though it won’t has the same level of detail.

If you take a photo at 2MP you cannot recover the detail that wasn’t recorded, you’ll regret it if you print a photo at A4 or A3 size, but if you just want to print in small sizes that will actually allow you to take more photos on the same memory card… Though, a cheap 8GB card holds more than 1000 full resolution photos…

At 6MP one can print in A4 size without much trouble (unless that ISO is putting lots of noise)

Hope it helps, happy shooting.

3:15 pm - Thursday, July 5, 2012

#80 JAMES

dear joe,
which is the best bridge camera,sony hx200 or lumix fz150
pls help me

2:12 pm - Monday, July 9, 2012

#81 zebarnabe

That depends .... IMHO .... FZ150

1:02 am - Tuesday, July 10, 2012

#82 Arvind

Hello,
I purchased sony hx200v, and now I think that it was a wrong desesion by me…......
Now can you please tell me how to shoot with this camera…..
Is there any filter for a better result….
I am thinking of acromatic lens filter….....
Will it be good for hx200v…

Did I purchase a wrong camera…

1:22 pm - Tuesday, July 10, 2012

#83 JAMES

Hallow arvind,
how is the picture clarity of sony hx 200v?
Like is an oil paint?
Is the picture clarity is better than lumix fz150?

4:14 pm - Tuesday, July 10, 2012

#84 zebarnabe

No filter will improve sharpness

4:41 pm - Tuesday, July 10, 2012

#85 JAMES

HALLOW SEBARNABE;;;

;;That depends .... IMHO;;

what is IMHO?

11:40 am - Wednesday, July 11, 2012

#86 JAMES

That depends .... IMHO

what is IMHO?

11:43 am - Wednesday, July 11, 2012

#87 zebarnabe

IMHO stands for In My Humble Opinion, meaning that, I think FZ150 is a better camera than hx200v. (that doesn’t mean fz150 is perfect, nor that hx200v doesn’t have strong points)

3:39 pm - Wednesday, July 11, 2012

#88 Richard FP

Well, having been through the mill with cameras over the past couple of weeks, I’ve finally plumped for the Sony HX200V. I started off with buying a Lumix FZ150 and the rubbish focus and washed out look of pictures put me off almost straight away. It was returned. I then went up-scale and got a Lumix G3 - Excellent SLR-alike pictures, but because all those DSLR functions are buried in a smaller body, you have to delve through five menus to get to anything useful like a digital zoom setting! The G3 is a very fast, excellent camera when it comes to taking pictures, but is supplied with a crappy 14-42mm lens. It was returned. So, I took a chance on a Lumix TZ30, which turned out not to be worth three times more than my Nikon S6200 compact which is excellent. On the plus side, the TZ30 takes very good pictures with no loss of quality on 20x zoom. Impressive. But beware the HDR function if your subjects are moving - Pieces of cars can appear in completely the wrong place, etc!

So, onto the Sony…

I love it. Yes, a bridge camera is always going to be a compromise - The larger lens is always going to better most compacts, but the still small sensor is never going to keep up with a CSC or DSLR…

But this Sony excels. Outdoor images taken in good light are terrific with little to no noise or distortion. Even indoor images are excellent at the 18mp setting. Like most digital cameras, performance starts to fall down at dusk, but the Sony still produces respectable images, even managing to churn out a good image at ISO 12000 in almost pitch black conditions, save for street lighting.

Where the Sony really puts it’s boot up the arse of the super zoom bridge-based competition is the “clear view” digital zoom technology. You really can do handheld shots at 60x zoom with total clarity. This is one clever camera! Add to all this the clever dual purpose control ring, amazing 50fps HD video and everything else this beastie can do and you have one hell of a bridge camera.

So my verdict? Small sized 18mp sensor or not, this machine outperforms a Lumix compact system camera in pure image quality, smashes the super zoom competition with it’s clear view digital zoom (which really does work!) and is the most satisfying all round camera I have used in years.

Yes, I hanker after the amazing still image quality of a Canon G1X, but the significantly lower price tag and performance/feature set of this Sony is hard to beat.

Highly recommended.

Richard.

7:56 pm - Saturday, August 4, 2012

#89 Richard FP

Having owned both the Lumix FZ150 and the Sony HX200V, I can safely say that the Sony is by far the better product. I found the FZ150 to be wanting in the autofocus department and the colours the sensor/software produced were washed out and dull.

I also tried the Lumix G3 CSC which was an excellent body supplied with a cheap and rubbish 14-42mm lens.

The Sony bridge outperforms both of them. Not only is the Sony festooned with features and tricks, it’s easy to use and intuitive. What’s more, the image quality is excellent for a small sensor camera. Also, the “clear view” digital zoom is astounding. No other bridge can produce perfectly good quality hand held shots at 60x zoom.

An excellent product!

8:09 pm - Saturday, August 4, 2012

#90 xalberichx

the images look like paintings, too processed, not raw, too mp, shit quality.

6:42 pm - Saturday, August 11, 2012

#91 Todd

I am not sure why some posters are making rather silly posts about the poor image quality of this camera. I won its predecessor, the 100, and the image quality is excellent. Fabio (with whom I corresponded both before and after my decision to get the 100 last August) gave excellent advice, as he has here as well.

My question to Fabio (and others who have owned both the 100 and 200) is, do you think the 200 is good enough for me to sell the 100 and purchase the 200? Is there that much difference in quality? I don’t care about more megapixels, but some of the other new features intrigue me.

And for anyone considering either the Sony HX100v or HX200v, they are both excellent cameras, well worth the money. The video quality of the 100 is simply amazing, and the photos are wonderful. And this comes from one whose other camera is a Canon T2i with an excellent 17-85 lens as my main lens. The Sony is a very convenient camera that I use at least as much as my DSLR.

5:49 am - Sunday, August 12, 2012

#92 Richard FP

Yes, as we all know, in low light most digital camera pics do degrade & develop noise. In the case of the HX200V, it’s the HDR which cuts in on auto modes when it detects backlighting which causes the slight watercolour effect. But this can be avoided by using the program auto mode. Have a look for “OutToPlayJazz” on Flickr. Some of the shots I’ve put up there show how excellent this camera is.

7:51 am - Sunday, August 12, 2012

#93 Mike

To Joe Prete. Joe, it’s like a breath of fresh air to read your postings & comments & I do mean that sincerely. I despair at the negative comments of the ‘hyper critics’ & wonder if they actually get any pleasure from photography or are constantly frustrated in their search for the ‘perfect’ camera, which of course does not exist. I sold my DSLR & lenses a short while ago, tired of lugging around a large camera bag & the often occurring dust on sensor issue when changing lenses & bought a bridge camera (shock/horror!). I am amazed & delighted at the resulting pictures. Is it perfect, no it isn’t. Does it have some shortfalls, yes it does. Overall I love this bridge camera & carry it many more times than I did the DSLR & certainly get as much if not more enjoyment from it than I did my expensive DSLR. Thanks again Joe for your words of wisdom, I find it comes with age & experience, I have the age & some experience!

2:29 pm - Sunday, August 12, 2012

#94 siddharth

i have already bought this camara and it it so so so good and its video quality is amazing

7:42 am - Monday, August 20, 2012

#95 isavelis

I’ve owned this camera for thre months now and still don’t know if I like it or hate it. I’ve read so many nice comments on this product that sometimes I think I’m doing something wrong while shooting. Once I download my photos some come out “nice” but once you look at them closer they look like some Claude Monet paintings!! Skin looks so weird. I’m also fighting with colors. VIVID setup gives oversaturated dark colors, NORMAl setup gives you washed dull colors. No crispy and bright images so it’s really disappointing having to post-process all my photos to make them look better. Video is amazimg and pictures taken from the video look incredibly much better than normal photos. I know many people would recommend getting a DSLR camera if I want picture quality. I already own one but saved money to buy something that might be practical as well as effective. Now, I feel kind of lost. Any suggestions?

11:06 pm - Thursday, August 30, 2012

#96 John Doe

Joe Prete started out as a guy who was trying to share words of wisdom and keep things in perspective. But somehow he just came across as a condescending elitist prick.

Taking everyone’s comments in the most negative manner possible, regardless of how sincere they wrote it and telling all those amateur photographers or anyone enquiring about the camera to just buy something, anything and stick to it - of course it’s fine for your needs, you’ll never be as good as him anyway so why waste your time, money, and energy trying to strive for something better for yourself?

Spent more time picking on people than actually discussing the camera. Forever returning to his favourite photography quote “it’s the photographer that takes the pictures not the camera” nonsense.

Maybe he has a fear of amateurs getting good and impacting his business as he appears to be all about the money - clearly trying to sell all his images in any and all formats possible - only he’s allowed though so i’d think twice if I was you about buying a camera - best stick to your smart phones camera eh?

If I was to choose a photographer to do some work for me, I’d rather choose any other of these beginners on here than him purely based on his attitude.

A real discredit to photography, indeed humanity and the irony is, as he points out - his comments will forever live on…I just hope someone who comes across him for some work finds this and see’s his attitude for what he is before booking him.

(yes clearly I have to much time on my hands. For starters I read the long review, then all the comments, and then took the time to write this comment)
Apologies as I have nothing constructive to add about the camera or photography, but I guess this is the beauty of a comments board.

2:39 am - Tuesday, September 4, 2012

#97 AJ

to those who give a massive -ve comments here, i have a suggestion for all of you. Why don’t you built yourself a camera, that’s suits yourself since you are seems like a very expert men in photography. LOL

11:53 am - Thursday, October 4, 2012

#98 Mahua Narayan

Hi
I just recently brought the Sony Cybershot DSC-HX200V.
I am interested in Clicking close shots - Macro shots. Can anyone help me with the setting as I am not able to get the information anywhere.

I appreciate anyone’s help.

Thanks

5:40 pm - Sunday, October 7, 2012

#99 AJ

Hi Narayan
To shoot macro, you can choose Auto i+, or Auto so the camera will automatically detect the macro..as the lens focused on the subject, the macro icon will appear on the lcd screen..that’s the simple way to shoot macro..best way to get a good macro is not to zoom to the subject but move your camera close to the subject..if want some thrill, you can use manual mode where you can set manually the aperture, ISO, shutter speed..1 think that i know about this camera is that, it will detect automatically the macro..for more detail info, you can visit this site:

http://www.sony-asia.com/microsite/cybershot_userguides/DSC-HX200V/eng/contents/02/index.html

hope this will help you mate..

2:16 am - Monday, October 8, 2012

#100 Mahua

Thanks AJ for your immediate response. I will definitely visit the site and study the working of the Camera.

Thanks again

4:36 pm - Monday, October 8, 2012

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, review, 1080p, wide-angle, test, sony, super-zoom, 10fps, tilting, super zoom, GPS, 18 megapixel, cybershot, panorama, 3D, 30x zoom, 27mm, super, hx200, dsc hx200v, Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX200V Review, hx200v, dsc-hx200v

Tracker Pixel for Entry