Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX200V Review

4.5
April 17, 2012 | Gavin Stoker |

Your Comments

142 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#101 Subhodeep

overall the camera is good, specially the video quality and picture effects :) but unfortunately the image quality is too low…18megapixel sensor doesn’t work good :(
the images produced by hx200v are not suitable for cropping…which i have hated the most.
but the images looks great in its 3” lcd :P ;-)
auto-focus is superb..
camera works great in P-mode…to get great images you need to adjust the camera(sometimes it works really well)

5:23 am - Tuesday, October 9, 2012

#102 Polarbear

Crunching 18Mpix on a small sensor makes no sense. 12MP is the max, they should stick to that…now let’s see how will the new Panasonic FZ200 stack up against the HX200v in image quality…

3:11 pm - Tuesday, October 9, 2012

#103 TITAN23

LOOKING AT JOE PRETE’S REPLY TO AATMAN,PRETE MUST BE A FIRST CLASS HORSE’S ASS!!!!

3:17 am - Monday, October 15, 2012

#104 Mr.SH

Please help me buy, with reviews and all comments ,i am really confused now. ALL I CARE IS GOOD PICTURE at DAY and NIGHT .

Which one to buy among these three ?? please reply.cos i am first timer.

1. Nikon Coolpix L810
2. Nikon Coolpix P510
3. Sony DSC-HX200V

5:11 am - Tuesday, October 16, 2012

#105 zebarnabe

Mr. SH,

Just look at the samples online and see what pleases you most, if you are going to print the photos, print some samples.

If you really just want to shoot any will do, they all work, price wise might be the question, L910 is a budget bridge, as such expect over sharpened images with lots of noise, not exactly bad for the price, but it is among the worse in bridge segment. The very wide angle is a pleasant surprise though and it should allow enough quality for small prints (the over ‘cooked’ images look quite nice in small prints).

P510 behaves a LOT better… but costs almost twice the price, zoom wise you won’t use it till the end for most occasions, unless you are peeking at some detail in a building, spotting a bird or shooting the moon. The 24mm eq. wide angle might please you if you do lots of landscape photography or use the camera to capture a broad view in tight spaces.

Sony has both pros and cons, ISO wise it is close to P510 in noise, put there a lot in a camera than sharpness alone, I have a biased opinion against Sony so I’ll refrain from saying anything else.

You also have FZ200 from Panasonic, the f/2.8 constant aperture will make you forget about things getting noisy and blurred when zooming in. It has a very good video mode and it is very fast in shooting. The downside is the price, but it is a quite unique camera. It is quite a new camera, so possible issues are still unknown.

Another strong competitor is SX50 HS, ISO wise beats the competition, zoom wise it’s a beast (I think it can out resolve my telescope), it has everything to be great, but given that it is so new it is hard to tell if there are issues with it. This camera sensor with FZ200 brains and lens would be almost perfect… but we can’t have everything :/

If 20x zoom is enough for you, you might prefer a camera from Travel Zoom segment, Lumix TZ30 from Panasonic and Powershot SX240 (or SX260 if you want GPS) from Canon are quite nice ones, Lumix has a few issues in low light (not that bad mind you) and Powershot a few issues of battery (the camera isn’t gentle with the battery, but the GPS is quite hungry). You spare some change while getting something more portable.

In any case, check the samples, looks at several reviews for the cameras you found interesting and if possible try the camera ergonomics and menus in store.

Canon cameras often get the unofficial CHDK ‘enhancement’, though it is something more useful for people into photography with an old Canon camera or that just want to try unique features that would be unavailable by other means.

Good luck!

10:28 am - Tuesday, October 16, 2012

#106 Mr.SH

zebarnabe…. thank u for ur reply , gonna take ur advise and doing more research on p510,DSC-HX200V,SX50 HS… but my budget is strictly limited upto the value of sony HX200V , so i have to choose between p510 and HX200V ... looking for mainly landscape shooting , looks like i have to go with sony cos i find it better than p510 in importent aspects like iso,gps,battery life, video etc .would have love to buy FZ200 ,if i had that budget. canon is pretty impressive but lacks some good features ... looks like sony is right for me now…. is it great enough for me ? i am just amateur shooter .

5:20 am - Thursday, October 18, 2012

#107 zebarnabe

“is it great enough for me? i am just
amateur shooter.” ~Mr. SH

I’m an amateur myself (you can see some of my shots on the hyperlink for my username), but I saved enough for a micro four thirds camera and the 20mm f/1.7 pancake lens. Having the room to play with depth of field is always fun and the large sensor has improved features over smaller ones. I later got a cheap 80€ telescope and an adapter for the camera, birds and moon got much closer, carrying a 1.5m (4.9ft) lens is not fun though.

Regarding the camera, look at the samples, take care of not looking at just the pixels, but the overall aspect of the image, color and look for noticeable noise (or noise reduction) in shadow areas and clipped highlights (white areas with no color information), printing is always a good idea to test if it goes well, the major problem with samples is that you don’t know in what conditions they were taken.

Regarding video, 1080p at 24fps is not a bad thing, assuming exposure can be controlled, you can blur the movement of objects in a more natural way at that frame rate, either way, it is usually more important to have a good encoding that doesn’t break motion giving nasty block artifacts.

The only downside that is truly noticeable during use for the Sony is the less wide lens, for landscape photography it might be noticeable, however, wide angle is not bad, 27mm eq. is plenty and panorama function kindly helps in that regard if a wider shot is needed.

Remarkable points of Sony:
- Built-in neutral density (ND) filter
- high resolution sweep panorama feature
- Records FullHD 1080/60p with stereo sound and use of optical zoom, continuous AF, image stabilizer.
- Allows 13MP stills while simultaneously recording video (though not at the 60p setting)
- Manual zoom/focus ring around lens
- Good autofocus, snapy performance
- Anti Motion Blur and Handheld Twilight actually work
- HDR does a nice job
- Good battery life

Things to be aware with the Sony:
- Lots of detail smudging, even at ISO 100
- Purple fringing under certain conditions
- No RAW
- LCD/EVF hard to see in low light (though it has good definition and brightness, the shown image is dark and low in contrast)
- No manual controls in movie mode (this is a bummer)
- Ten shot limit in burst mode (you have to wait even if taking them at 2fps)
- beeps loud when pressing the buttons (turn that off in settings)

Like I said before, I don’t like Sony cameras, but if you’re happy with what you see then you’ve already made your choice :]

Good luck and have fun!

6:23 am - Thursday, October 18, 2012

#108 Mr.SH

i wish i could have bought FZ200 ..that camera seems amazing i all aspect…atleat will it be a smarter decision to choose FZ150 over sony ?? but it is discontinued now.. or what about SX50 HS ?? both of canon and panasonic captures in raw.. i could go for SX50 HS but stupid canon, no gps, no panorama ,whats the point !!!!

11:35 am - Thursday, October 18, 2012

#109 Dick Novak

Somehow, I think SONY is cheating us because they advertise that the lens is a Vario-Tessar lens, but use a Vario-Sonnar lens on the DSC-HX200V Camera. What gives? I call SONY and they just gave me a round around.

1:37 am - Friday, October 19, 2012

#110 Georg

I mostly bought the camera because of it|s Hd video Quality, which for the price of 360 Euro is superior to anything else i looked at before committing to buying that one camera. I have not been disappointed . The video quality you get is comparable to cameras in the 500 to 700 euro range. The picture quality varies, there are presets that don|t show that smudging and deliver crystal clear details. I am really happy with the camera.

5:56 pm - Monday, October 29, 2012

#111 Vini

Dear Geoge, Can u tell me about the presets to get crystal clear images. I bot this camera 2 weeks back and was impressed with the images quality until I zoomed in. Very dishearted with after seeing the crop result. It will be great if u help me out. :)

3:56 pm - Wednesday, October 31, 2012

#112 Elizabeth

I bought this camera yesterday as it was on a special. The zoom is excellent, even when the camera is hand-held. I love the extras, like for instance the illustration and partial color modes. All in all very happy.

11:40 am - Friday, November 2, 2012

#113 Sunil

Only Date is showing on photos not time is there?  Can anybody help me how can I set Date and Time to show on image clicked by Sony DSC-HX200V?

6:52 pm - Friday, November 9, 2012

#114 Shoham

Thanks for thee specs and a lots of other things. I would like to buy this camera. Thanks for the reviews and specs and the test video was good.

8:51 am - Saturday, November 10, 2012

#115 Chethan

I’m not a professional…i dont wanna be one, but i like photography as a interest, wanna click pictures that look cool macro, landscape, wildlife, birds etc…This camera is like custom made for me.I don’t wanna knw bout lenses, filters, adapters…so this camera is cool for anyone who wants to be proud of their pictures(fcorse first thank the subject)...checkout my flickr stream…

8:11 pm - Saturday, December 8, 2012

#116 Lord Julian

I used to also gasped at the horrific filtering down on the 100% crop images, water colory! Recently, I found that
* turning OFF the (ND filter) in the non AUTO modes, AND
* setting SHARPNESS to - (negative instead of standard)

will reinstate the original picture will no water coloring!

6:06 pm - Wednesday, December 12, 2012

#117 Vikrant

JOE sir…..i am eager to buy a digital camera….just confused between HX200V & H100….i just wanna buy either of it only….i am not a proffesional photographer,but want to be….so plz plz do suggest me either of these only….your suggestion is important….others also help me….thx.God bless….V’key.

5:53 pm - Thursday, December 27, 2012

#118 von

Hello,

Looking for advise and deciding between Sony HX200v and Nikon coolpix 510. My daughters are active in sports, softball and gymnastics and looking for the right camera to fit my needs. I need a superzoom and burst mode for action shots for my pitcher and gymnast.  Any feedback is greatly appreciated.

7:29 pm - Tuesday, January 8, 2013

#119 AJ

Plese consider LUMIX DMC-FZ200 since it is also superzoom (but not as super as sony HX200) but the most useful feature is the full range F2.8 which is really amazing. Sony has burst but limited burst up to 10 shots only. Plus on LUMIX DMC-FZ200, you can add fish-eye lense or pancake not like Sony.

3:09 am - Wednesday, January 9, 2013

#120 toddbeall

Hi Von,
I tried out both of the predecessors of these cameras (Sony HX100v and Nikon p500). For me I liked a lot about the Nikon, but I had major problems with focusing on the tele end. I did not have those problems with the Sony. The Sony is also fabulous for video. So I returned the Nikon and went with the Sony. From what I have heard, I don’t think the Nikon p510 is much better at focusing on the tele end (i.e., over ca. 500mm), so if that is a problem for you, I’d go with the Sony.

3:24 am - Wednesday, January 9, 2013

#121 StaceyM

Besides the difference in zoom is there any difference in picture quality between the Sony DSC-HX30v and the hx200v?

11:53 pm - Saturday, January 26, 2013

#122 Farzad

I wonder why the specifications page of this Camera HX200V is not complete! Please compare specifications of Fujifilm HS30.

10:19 am - Sunday, February 10, 2013

#123 Spider

Anybody here, ever tried for 30sec exposure and getting pictures outside in NO MOON…? If no then I would say, it’s worth alot.

6:41 pm - Sunday, February 10, 2013

#124 Paul Edwards

I work at Gatwick airport - south of London Uk - and am a regular visitor to Dixons Travel in the international departure lounge north terminal, which some of you may know sell electronics,tablets, cameras etc.

Im quite interested in the HX200 - more so then its replacement the Hx300, and have gone to have a look at it quite a few times on the way to my place of employment.

Some of you may be dismayed to learn that it is currently being sold brand new there for £219 GBP… I dont know what that is in dollars but not much more shouldn’t think .. sometimes its worth the wait and of course it makes this camera much better value for money then when it was first released, in the UK anyway.

P Edwards

4:34 am - Monday, March 25, 2013

#125 Paul Edwards

AS someone who grew up with 35mm cameras I think its a real shame that people today have to pixel peak and then run a good camera down just because of the imperfections they can see. Zoom in on almost ANY image, 35mm or digital and it will start to fall apart. The human eye fills in a lot of the imperfections in any image but there has to be a limit, especially when you zoom in tight.

I have some 35mm film taken on quite a good quality camera here - 400ASA, still lots of ‘salt n pepper noise. - in the old days we mostly stuck to 100 or 200ASA - so I’m not surprised when people see ‘noise’ at 800ASA 1600ASA or 3200ASA!! Ever layed in bed at night looking out at nothing in your room? You see thousands of fuzzy black dots - its the limit of the human eye/brain - rods and cones -and this is the same limit that cameras reach when they exceed 400ASA, even a digital camera cannot change the laws of physics the the limitations of the human eye. The cameras we have today are light years away from what we were using even as recently as the 1990s. Full automation, high quality lens and auto-focus. Photographers today don’t know how lucky they are AND you don’t even have to buy film and then pay to get them developed only to discover that half of them were no good! (you still had to pay for them!) Photography is a way of capturing a moment in time that may well never happen again… like your grandchild’s first smile. All you have to do is take pictures with whatever camera you own - it doesn’t get easier then that!

4:56 am - Monday, March 25, 2013

#126 First One On

I previously had a DSC-HX100V and have compared the newer DSC-HX200V to the Nikon P510 and I have stayed with the Sony because it is a superior camera. Very happy with the DSC-HX200V it is a great all round camera for everyday shots PLUS control in low light, fast action and creative photography.

9:24 am - Wednesday, March 27, 2013

#127 Nirav

Since last couple of days i have been doing a lot of research since i want to buy my first camera ! I have read hundreds of reviews/blogs/specifications/comparisons, etc. which were highly productive to my expectations. But what i deduce from my short experience is:

1. No camera is perfect. If you want one then build your own.
2. No camera can capture the perfect picture. That’s why its up to you to click one and show the world.
3. Consider your requirement and budget before you buy one. If any camera meets 70% of those…GO FOR IT!
4. The world is changing at a lightening speed and so is the technology. So if you think i have the best camera in the market, look around, there will always be a better one.
5. I completely agree with Paul Edwards. And thanks Paul for throwing some EQ. My daugther’s first smile doesn’t needs a SLR/DSLR to have it captured.

Finally, i am an amateur and believe in: Point - Shoot - Publish. I have no time to do post production.

SONY DSC-HX200V seems a better trade-off.

7:33 am - Sunday, April 7, 2013

#128 Brian

The Sony HX200 camera takes great photos. It’s the best camera I have owned. I have other cameras including the Canon SLR camera andnoneof them give me the greatresults this camera gives me.
If you don’t get good results then you must have the camera set up wrong, maybe with a special effect turned on.

6:10 pm - Sunday, April 14, 2013

#129 kendrickxy

About specs

HaveHDMI GPS 3D video and image and more

10:10 pm - Thursday, May 23, 2013

#130 Stacey

Does anyone have a special setting they use or maybe manual setting. Just got my camera and would love some tips.

11:23 pm - Thursday, May 23, 2013

#131 Peter

I think think this camera is great for price and quality.
I would like some help with settings, If I have the camera in single shot mode I can only take 2 shots in succession, I then have to wait about 2 seconds before I can shoot again.
I would like to just point and shoot repeatedly….Help.
Thanks

12:01 pm - Saturday, June 1, 2013

#132 Zarah

I ####### LOVE THIS CAMERA

6:11 pm - Wednesday, June 12, 2013

#133 pepe

Can someone tell me which is better to take HX100 or hx200, in which the better photos?

1:36 am - Thursday, August 8, 2013

#134 mahabub hossain

thak you sony i think it’s abeast camera for us i brought it last weak . mahabub

5:11 am - Sunday, August 25, 2013

#135 RMI-FL

Can anyone tell me if I can use a protector lens while shooting with this camera and if so which one?

1:40 am - Saturday, September 14, 2013

#136 Nasser Aghai

I am professional photographer.  I have several SLR cameras, I also have Sony HX2oo and I am very happy wih that.  The landscape photos taken by this camera are very sharp to the end of view without any noise at ISO 100.  I reccomend this camera to those who are looking for a compact camera with high quality pictures. Zeiss lens is perfectly sharp and amazing

4:53 pm - Monday, September 23, 2013

#137 TetonBonBon

I have this camera and like it a lot, although I find some actions a bit slow.  I have a question, though, and can’t find the answer anywhere.  What is the largest SD card the camera will accept?  I currently use mostly 8’s but want to try 16’s or 32’s.  Does anyone know if the camera will accept these larger cards?  Thanks in advance!

8:08 pm - Saturday, October 26, 2013

#138 Angela

Hi, does anyone know of an adapter and wide angle lens that could be used on this camera?

2:29 pm - Sunday, December 8, 2013

#139 Phil Edwards

Dear All,

I recently bought a used Sony HX200v (I already own the xcellent Sony H1/H5 and HX1 cameras). I’m struggling to get crisp photos with the Sony HX200v (despite it having the upgraded 1.1 firmware), and have not yet found the best settings. Don’t get me wrong, some images do turn out extremely sharp, but most require some form of processing on “Neat Image” - or I can use Sony’s own in camera “unsharp” mask process to sharpen up images. (I couldn’t see this facility being mentioned on any review sites). As this “unsharp” masking seems to be quite aggressive in processing images, I think I’m going to try setting the “noise” processing level to “normal” and then try applying the “unsharp mask” process. I’ll post my findings on here - it may be of help to someone else.

I’ve enjoyed reading the many comments on this camera - except the abusive ones!- and have picked up a couple of useful tips too!.

9:28 am - Friday, December 27, 2013

#140 Janis H.

I’ve had a Sony Cybershot DSC-HX200V for a few months. I’ve tried a variety of settings, but all the pictures I take come out looking “washed out”. There are never any vibrant rich colors. I am so disappointed. But am wondering if it’s something I am doing wrong? I’m an amateur photographer.  Thanks!

12:12 am - Tuesday, April 15, 2014

#141 steve

How to copy my images from internal to card?

2:47 pm - Tuesday, April 29, 2014

#142 stuart brown

sony cybershot is great when working but their customer service stinks. I have had my dschx200v just over 12 months .It will not charge now and does not recgonise my apple mini mac after doing so for the last 12 months I sent it to sony who said it would cost £117 to fix A STANDARD CHARGE no matter what was wrong so if the software in camera needed fixing I would have to pay the £117
I think that is the nearest thing to theft without breaking any law that I have come across Keep away from Sony Very poor customer service

4:05 pm - Tuesday, October 7, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, review, 1080p, wide-angle, test, sony, super-zoom, tilting, 10fps, super zoom, GPS, 18 megapixel, cybershot, panorama, 3D, 30x zoom, 27mm, super, hx200, hx200v, dsc-hx200v, dsc hx200v, Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX200V Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry