Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX400V Review

April 10, 2014 | Mark Goldstein | |

Your Comments

19 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 zaosan

I would appreciate if you could also rate pictures taken at the next lower resolution (10Mb), since as we know, sensors that small, produce their best at resolutions not much higher than 12Mb.
This way,in addition to your fine review, you would also help users to make the best out of their cameras.
Thanks for your reviews

10:48 pm - Friday, April 11, 2014

#2 Snope

“I would appreciate if you could also rate pictures taken at the next lower resolution (10Mb), since as we know, sensors that small, produce their best at resolutions not much higher than 12Mb.”

LOL. What are Mb? Mega-bixels, do you mumble or what?
And even if you meant MP, just resize the pics on your computer.

4:37 pm - Sunday, April 13, 2014

#3 zaosan

Right, it should read P for pixels
No, re-sizing on the computer just further deteriorates image. I’m talking about decongesting the sensor. Check it a bit.

7:44 pm - Sunday, April 13, 2014

#4 Voyager

Nope! This new sony`s picture still cant manage to beat the ageing Panasonic FZ150-200 models in picture quality, most of its sample pictures have just in my opinion far too much noise!!! test them against the Pannys pics, judge for yourselves!

11:39 pm - Monday, April 14, 2014

#5 Mark

Is it OK with the lower f stop 6.3? I mean, the other HX300 has a lower f stop 8, and I read some photography sites (Digital Photography School) and most of it uses f8 on some landscape shots.

Also, the Viewfinder does not have any Focus Points right? Does that mean it’s like in the smartphones and point-and-shoot cameras that do Auto-Focus?

Sorry guys, just new on these kinds of things. I got tormented with my aunt on selecting the following:

1. Sony HX300
2. Sony HX400V
4. Nikon D5200

I know Nikon is a DSLR and way too good for this two but I just recently thought I can save more on the other 2 Sony cameras because of it’s Wide -> Telephoto lens and the images are good. I have a macro photo from my Xperia L with an Exmor RS sensor and it has a good image and it depends on how you handle and hold the camera.

2:12 am - Wednesday, July 16, 2014

#6 Molo

Sony’s one bin which has a very grainy picture and nothing is good!Another thing I wonder what the Sony did not react to improve image !
Today there are a lot of cheaper compact camera with better image quality!
This is what Sony is doing is totally crazy and going bankrupt :(

10:01 pm - Tuesday, July 22, 2014

#7 Mr Lynn

Quote: “We are disappointed that the electronic viewfinder still only has a resolution of 202k dots, especially considering that it’s imperative to compose your photos through the viewfinder when shooting at the far reaches of the focal range. . .”

This is the same as the HX300.  But when I checked in the store, the Sony’s EVF was much brighter, clearer, and larger (seemingly) than the Canon SX50’s.  Why is that?

Given the importance of the EVF in a superzoom (and the preference of many of us to use viewfinders and not screens in all situations), I’d like to see *a comparison review of superzoom viewfinders.*  To me, that’s one of the most important factors in making a decision (downsizing from an DSLR).

1:34 pm - Wednesday, August 27, 2014

#8 AL

The sample movie link doesn’t work, could you fix it?

3:38 pm - Tuesday, September 2, 2014

#9 ndhvg

سلام
چکار کنم بخرم یا نخرم ؟

12:57 pm - Tuesday, December 9, 2014

#10 Wes

Image quality 4???I seriously need to have my eyes cheked as soon as possible…

3:54 pm - Thursday, February 5, 2015

#11 Amitava

I am quite much happy with this camera. It allows me to zoom a lot and the picture quality is good specifically the movie quality is awesome. http://amitavaghosh.co/ I posted some of my photographs.

8:44 am - Wednesday, February 18, 2015

#12 Melanie

How do you “BackGround DeFocus” on Sony CyberShot DSC HX400?

3:35 pm - Friday, June 19, 2015

#13 Mr. Anderson

I bought one few days ago. I am really liking this camera, quality pictures and videos, features are amazing, but I have a two points:

1. My camera need do a update and everything need will do on PC or MAC. The camera can’t do it this for yourself like a smart phone.

2. For share your pictures using WiFi Direct is necessary a software pre installed in each Smart Phone.

4:44 pm - Thursday, August 20, 2015

#14 birol

sony hx400v birkaç ay önce aldım.macro çekimlerde sıkıntı yaşıyorum.hedefe yeterinde yaklaşamıyorum çok yaklaşınca netliği bozuyor.versiyon güncellemesi yaptım.şuan 2.10v var üzerinde.macro modunu bulamadım.macro çekimleri versiyon etkilemiş olabilir mi?daha önceki 2.00v nunda macro çekim modu vardı.macro çekimde makina değerleri ne olmalıdır bu makina için.

10:13 am - Friday, September 11, 2015

#15 John

I have had an HX400V for about a month now and would actually return the camera if I was still able to but unfortunately am stuck with it. The image quality is rubbish, this camera can not take an evenly focused picture even when standing in front of a flat subject directly in the centre. The right side of the image is blurred, left is ok, doesnt matter what aperture of focus area selected. Seriously annoyed and can only conclude I landed a lemon, despite all the the Carl Zeiss certification hype. This one is going back to the shop under warranty. Pathetic for a new camera out of the box.

9:11 am - Monday, September 28, 2015

#16 ,,

On the other hand, the camera is capable of outstanding 1000+mm equiv shots, hand held in low light, no complaints there..

3:54 am - Sunday, October 4, 2015

#17 Mike

I researched superzoom cameras for a week before making this camera mine. No, it doesn’t have the very best pictures. But they’re quite good, usually. (Canon seemed to have better colors.) But, oh, that lovely 50X zoom! That’s the main reason for my choosing this camera, my need to get close, and my frequent inability to follow the photographer’s rule to “zoom with your feet.” I’ve missed many shots of wildlife by trying to get close. Critters don’t like that.
With this baby I’ve gotten loads of pics that previously have been missed opportunities, everything from songbirds at our feeder to ospreys across the creek from us, and close ups of poisonous snakes to alligators done without worry on my part. My handheld full zooms of the moon are almost professional quality.
Really, the biggest drawback to buying a digital camera is the same with getting a new computer- they are all outdated within a month of you taking delivery of your choice! But bite the bullet and do it anyway. You won’t regret it, if you’ve done your homework.

1:48 pm - Thursday, October 8, 2015

#18 Plutopup

Let me begin with by stating that I have owned many Sony cameras over the past 15+ years including - DSC S50, DSC F717, DSC HX1, SLT a330, DSC HX100, DSC a77 and the DSC HX400v. It would be fair to say that I have been very happy with Sony - up to now.

Three or so weeks ago my HX400v developed a E:62:10 error message - it was bought from an authorized Sony retailer complete with receipts etc. in June, 2015, 15 months before the error message started.

A Google search revealed that this is not an uncommon error and there are many reports on the internet of reports of this error in Sony cybershot cameras and a number of Sony video cameras going back to 2007.

Phoning Sony’s support centre phone number took me to Manila in the Philippines (I am in Australia) - would have been nice to be able to speak to someone locally. After a ‘fix’ was attempted I was led to believe by the support rep that the Camera would be fixed by Sony at no cost to me - I had clearly told them where the camera was purchased and the purchase date, i.e. that the camera was 15 months old.

The following week the Sony service centre in Sydney where the camera was sent told me the camera was out of warranty and that it would cost me $167.00+ to assess the problem (including one hour of labour) and that should parts be needed this will be on top plus any additional labour. This was after being led to believe by the person I spoke to in Manila that the repair would be covered by Sony. If I knew then that I would be up for the cost of the repair I would not have sent the camera from where I live in Queensland to Sydney.

I refused to proceed and had the camera sent back to me - I was not prepared to pay $167.00 plus parts for a camera which cost less $500.00 in the first place.

I write this to suggest to others that they should first check out Sony’s service arrangements where they live before buying this camera. As time goes by there are more reports cropping up on the internet of this E:62:10 error appearing on both the HX300v and HX400v cybershot cameras.

I recently started a thread on DPReview on this issue and you can visit that site to see what others have to say at: http://www.dpreview.com/forums/post/56593853

5:22 am - Wednesday, October 14, 2015

#19 Dileesh

Can anyone help me to get good resolution picture? I am getting a picture size range Only up to 1mb.image size varies from 400kb-700kb.so i cant zoom a clear image on other devices, as well as in sony. please help me to get the settings for image above 2 mb.i mean,i need good quality image even printing /zooming.

8:20 pm - Wednesday, June 22, 2016

Entry Tags

hd video, review, hd, 3 inch LCD, 1080p, test, wide-angle, wi-fi, sony, wireless, wifi, super-zoom, tilting, 24mm, 20 megapixel, cmos, 10fps, nfc, super zoom, panorama, cybershot, 3D, 50x zoom, Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX400V review, dsc hx400V, dsc-hx400V, hx400V

Tracker Pixel for Entry