Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX5 Review

4.5
April 6, 2010 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

68 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Gabriel

Image quality of Sony HX5 (score 4.5) better than Panasonic TZ-10/SZ-7 (score 4.0). That’s right??

2:58 pm - Tuesday, April 6, 2010

#2 paul wong

The candidate as main rival from Casio should have been Casio FH 100 instead of Casio EX-H10. Casio FH 100 uses the same CMOS sensor , with better battery life , but no fancy panaromic function.
The big question is whether picture quality is better with the software innovation of Casio.

11:55 pm - Tuesday, April 6, 2010

#3 Yianni

I honestly don’t see how it can store 4.5 on image quality.

There’s a heap of noise reduction even on base ISO and it definitely produces less detail then its main rival super zooms from Canon and Panasonic.

To its credit though it does do a decent job at higher ISO due to its sensor technology.

Head over to imaging-resource.com to do a side by side comparison between the cameras and you’ll see what I mean by less detail at low ISO.

I’m starting to lose faith in photographyblog lately since a lot of reviews and rating don’t tell the full story.

4:14 am - Wednesday, April 7, 2010

#4 luis

Design 4.0
Features 5.0
Ease-of-use 4.5
Image Quality 3.5
Value for money 5.0
Cyber-shot x Handycam

7:38 am - Wednesday, April 7, 2010

#5 iedge card

The Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX5V initially seems like a brilliant camera that works supremely well. But then it goes and turns out these weirdly over-processed images. If it were an £80 budget camera, you might turn a blind eye, but it isn’t. The difference between the quality of the camera and the quality of its results verges on painful.

7:45 am - Wednesday, April 7, 2010

#6 Marco

“The candidate as main rival from Casio should have been Casio FH 100 instead of Casio EX-H10” It’s true!!!

10:04 am - Wednesday, April 7, 2010

#7 Ian Lang

Thank you Yianni, I agree 100%  Suddenly this forum has lost its objectivity. Some of the detail smearing at base iso in the sample images is totally unacceptable. How on earth you could give this expensive little box 4.5 for image quality beggars belief.

10:51 am - Wednesday, April 7, 2010

#8 Naranjo

Sorry, but the image quality is nowhere near 4.5, more like 2.5.

3:25 pm - Wednesday, April 7, 2010

#9 rimon

i buyed this camera 2 days ago, and i have no problems, other websites review also say the image quality is excellent, why here are saying that image quality is bad.

6:58 pm - Wednesday, April 7, 2010

#10 John McCormack

4.5 for image quality is a real stretch. Smearing is evident even at ISO 125 even without viewing at full size. I’ll pass on this one…

1:16 am - Thursday, April 8, 2010

#11 Yianni

rimon, no offense to you or anything but image quality isn’t the best part of this camera.

The camera has many amazing features but image quality isn’t its strong suit.

I can see more smearing and noise reduction on the Sony even in comparison to the latest review of Canon’s cheapest A495 which seems to produce sharper and more detailed images as base ISO.

http://www.photographyblog.com/reviews/canon_powershot_a495_review/sample_images/

This is from a $130 camera which is kind of sad for the Sony.

If you guys view your images on a computer monitor and make small prints then you wont notice the smearing or noise reduction. It’s only when you start looking deep down at pixel level that you see the Sony not doing so well.

Cheers

5:19 pm - Thursday, April 8, 2010

#12 FCMailman

Yianni you wrote “To its credit though it does do a decent job at higher ISO due to its sensor technology” I’m considering this camera and I need one that is small will take decent pics in the woods of animals kinda low light and at my sons basketball games which are indoors. I’m an amature.
Almost any camera would satisfy me outside in daylight with object still. Do you think based on this info I will like this cameras results ?

9:41 pm - Thursday, April 8, 2010

#13 paul wong

I have the same need. But I ordered Casio FH100, which uses the Sony sensor but Casio is superior in fast pictures and battery good for 500 to 1000 pictures. I am very happy with it.

10:47 pm - Thursday, April 8, 2010

#14 zchy

Paul for me is a great deal breaker for Casio FH100 NOT ZOOM videos. Normally Casio is the best on paper, but only mediocre in the real world.

About quality of pictures, I actually don´t know what can I believe, you can see fantastic, brilliant photos in Tom Hoots web:
Tom Hoots
http://thoots.zenfolio.com
http://www.dpreview.com/galleries/4330317199/albums

or in the forum Hx5v of Steve Digicam,  hundreds of impressive quality photos. Remember it is 10 mpx, nor 12 mpx like ZS7 or 14 mpx like Canon Sx210 is.

11:25 am - Friday, April 9, 2010

#15 Martin K-son

Images Quality ......? Where is it?
I cant understand this review,this camera is realy BAD.
Or have i get a bad ex?....No!
Look at the samples them also bad.

WHY write that it get 4,5
I give it 2,0 MAX on image quality

11:59 pm - Sunday, April 25, 2010

#16 Jez

After researching the Point and Shoot camera market heavily, I went for this camera.
The video quality is as good if not better than any other point and shoot, producing movies with good sound in 1080i. The photos are exceptional in low light, and very good in outdoor lighting, for its class. If you are looking to produce large prints in the daylight I would suggest the Panasonic DMC-TZ10 as that seems to be better only in those conditions. If you are looking for a ponit and shoot camera that for normal prints produces fantastic, accurate daylight pictures, great for typical British photos (indoor!), excellent movies and features, and that is easy and a pleasure to use, then this camera is the clear winner and worthy of the above review.

2:41 pm - Wednesday, April 28, 2010

#17 Adam T

which would you all recommend?
this sony hx5 or the panasonic tz10?
really confused, any help would be great!

2:55 pm - Wednesday, April 28, 2010

#18 Jez

It depends on what photography you are looking to do. If you want a pont and shoot then can give good advice later as at work at mo! Think about it and let me know..

3:11 pm - Wednesday, April 28, 2010

#19 Adam T

the sony sold me as i just read it does hdr photos

3:14 pm - Wednesday, April 28, 2010

#20 Ramon

I understand that image quality is the most important feature in a digital camera, but you can’t expect super quality from a camera of this size and with these kind of features.

And you really can’t pixelpeep. Combination of a lot of features is always a trade off on quality. If a 15x10cm picture comes out great than it’s good for me. If you want image quality from a compact take a Sigma DP2 or a Canon S90/G11.

Just my 2 cents

10:30 am - Saturday, May 1, 2010

#21 FCMailman

Well I went ahead and got the hx5 and some times the picture is not in focus but I always take eztra shots and the decent ones look good on my 22in samsung monitor so they must look great in a 4x6 or 8x10. I am happy with my purchase.

11:16 am - Saturday, May 1, 2010

#22 Linden

I am trying to purchase a compact superzoom. I have narrowed it down to the following:

-Nikon S8000
-Canon SX210 IS
-Sony DCS-HX5

I value image quality first and foremost and I don’t anticipate using the video feature. Could someone please let me know what they think the best choice would be?

Thanks!

8:15 am - Thursday, May 13, 2010

#23 Don

Difficult to escape where some products are made but I see it is made in China. That nation who has no concept of quality control. I still use my DSC H1 - doubt I would be if made there. I guess half the units sold will be returned, thats what happens when 12 year olds put electronics together.

5:11 pm - Saturday, May 15, 2010

#24 Linden

Don - I find it hard to imagine that “half the units sold will be returned”. Perhaps more importantly however, I would suspect that all of the major camera manufacturers use Chinese outsourcing/offshoring in the assembly of their products. Furthermore, it is not fair nor appropriate to blame the quality control of an entire nation when it is the exclusive responsibility of the company doing the outsourcing (e.g. Nikon, Sony, etc.) to manage quality control, as they are the ones benefiting by demanding the massive premiums in selling the final product (e.g. $200-$5000 cameras).

5:56 pm - Saturday, May 15, 2010

#25 Belzy

As was the case with the H20, if there’s no “A” setting on the control dial, it’s because there’s only ONE aperture used (3,5 through 5,5 depending on the zooming factor). In other words, the lens always functions (and is judged) at FULL aperture. “Selecting” the aperture in manual mode makes then no sense (no depth-of-field control possible) beyond keeping the x5.6 grey filter away to make the most out of a low ASA/high shutter speed combination.

11:12 am - Monday, May 24, 2010

#26 Keren

@Linden…. My choices came down to the same three and I’m wondering if you made a choice yet and if so, which did you go with?

9:08 pm - Monday, May 31, 2010

#27 nikhil

Hi All,

need a sugesstion. i have shortlisted Panasonic TZ 10 & Sony’s DSC HX5. please advice which camera should i go for?

rgds
Nikhil

9:50 am - Tuesday, June 1, 2010

#28 Freddie

Hi,
Ihave also shortlisted Panasonic TZ 10 & Sony’s DSC HX5.

Looking to use it for strong daylight considitons as well as night shots.

I’m leaning on DSC HX5 as it provides 1920 x 1080 video

7:24 am - Thursday, June 3, 2010

#29 Aaron

Hi All,

Also after some advice. Looking for a new camera. Previous was bought 5 yrs ago Sony T7. Really need to upgrade.  Want something that will produce great quality shots.  I go to concerts a lot and want something that will produce great shots that has a great zoom.

Have shortlisted Sony DSC HX5, Casio EX-FH100, and Canon SX210 IS.

Any advice greatly appreciated!

6:59 pm - Sunday, June 6, 2010

#30 Mark

for concerts and great zoom you should have a look at the olympus sp-600 & sp-800 15x and 30x zoom. the panasonic tz10 has a problem whit lightstreaks wish can give problems whit concert pics. the hx5 is also a good choice.

i havent desided yet wish one to buy
im thinking of these:

hx5
tz10
sp-600

11:53 am - Thursday, June 10, 2010

#31 hardy

Guys…

I had SONY DSC W5 before and thinking of HX5 now.
Somone also told me of TZ7-10 which is US version of ZS series.

Now when I see some sample pics of HX5 here, it seems good but can’t understand why a lot of people have negative review on it’s quality.

Did somone buy HX5? If yes then kindly post a link to the pics.

5:31 pm - Friday, June 11, 2010

#32 Adam

Sony HX5 vs HX5v ???!!!! REAL CHEATING!

I have ordered sony HX5v, the camera came with a hanging label named HX5v, but on camera it was written HX5.

Now HX5 model is INCOMPATIBLE GPS and HX5v is GPS compatible!

Although sony gave me HX5, they rudely used GPS mark on camera, while it has not GPS!!!

Also there is a model HX5c that has jet transfer! so the other models DO NOT have them!

So be careful of using HX5 or HX5v with cheater sony guys! I saw in your article you have mixed HX5 and HX5v a lot!

3:16 am - Saturday, June 12, 2010

#33 bob73

qualcuno sa dirmi se sony NELLA hx5 e ‘PRESENTE l’Tracking AF, Nelle schede nn e’ presente.e la Funzione flash intelligente? e la messa a fuoco Funzione pro per sfocare volutamente Il Fondo delle Nazioni Unite nel ritratto? chi mi sa rispondere ringrazio

11:15 am - Sunday, June 20, 2010

#34 Jostian

I bought the HX5V and the results are fantastic (still & video), fo rme photo quality is the most important aspect, what I did was I went to camerlalabs and compared 100% crops of the TZ10 and the HX5V (sony definitely better) and thats without using the low light modes (see the results in teh updated section on cameralabs for HX5V, VERY impressive), then I went to photographybay and opened up the reviews for the Canon S90, Lumix TZ10 and HX5V, then opened up the Gallery for each and selected photos of the same iso for all 3 (200, 400, and higher), then once each of the photos are loaded I zoomed in on each and compared, and its quite easy to see that the HX5 beats the TZ10 and even the S90 in most instances! see for yourself, in the HX5v gallery there are a few high iso photos (2000 and 3200 I think) load that photos and when you zoom in you’ll see the noise at those iso’s is better than teh TZ10 at 400 iso, and the detail is much better. go see for yourself, I was a fence sitter but those comparatives made my decision easy (and I have 2 lumix cam’s so I was actually bias towards the lumix initially). cheers

1:08 pm - Monday, June 28, 2010

#35 austo

interesting reading comments here..and helpfull, so thank you.i needed to upgrade from my cannon ixus850is ( australian model)28mm-112.i wanted a wide angle of 24mm or 25mm. and appx a 300mm zoom.. the tx10 was off my list as too many reports of noise and purple fringing on photos..now i am reading some negitive reports of sony hx5…and it only zooms to 250mm.i ended up buying a samsung wb600 24mm-360mm packed with great features inc hd vidio..big mistake !( my old samsung 1.3.mp mobile phone took better pictures..true!)unfortunatly the wb600 took mainly awfull pictures and i am returning it and plan to buy a cannon 28mm-395m)appx….a 24mm-25mm wide angle would be great but really the bottom line should be “PICTURE QUALITY” and cannon has just that over its rivals in my opinion..and its made in japan…tks

1:52 pm - Tuesday, June 29, 2010

#36 Pietie

HI Austo, I’m with Jos on this one, I went through the links he mentioned and comparedthe photos etc and I gotta say that the HX5V looks very impressive, definitely don’t see a canon that comes close except the S90 but it doesn’t hav ethe zoom or movie functionality. The canon 210iS has a 14x zoom but dcresource.com did a big group test and the 210’s photo quality was really poor, again the HX5v did very well with the best low light photos, I’d go for the HX5….

2:49 pm - Tuesday, June 29, 2010

#37 Hemant

Hi All,

I’ve been looking around on the web for a compact digital camera.
One that’s good to use for taking family pictures & good quality videos(preferably HD-720p), esp. of my 6 month old daughter, and also for occasional holiday trips.

I’m willing to spend INR 12 - 15k($200-$300).

I need one that’s got (In order of importance)
1) Good - Excellent picture quality.
2) Great HD video quality- with zoom & Stereo audio.
3) Does good in low light - For a compact digital camera.
4) Long optical zoom - 8x minimum.
5) Should support SD/SDHC (maybe SDXC too)
6) Some sort of panorama feature.(Not one of my top priorities, though )

I’m really not too bothered about GPS features.

I’m still open, but so far I’ve narrowed it down to the
SONY CYBERSHOT-H55
PANASONIC FH 20
SAMSUNG WB650,
and others available in this price range, with desired features.

I’d like one which has decent warranty too.
Sony offers 3 yr warranty in India.

Which camera would you recommend? Thank you.

7:31 am - Wednesday, June 30, 2010

#38 Ivaylo

Poor picture quality! My phone Samsung i8510 makes better photos. It’s a shame for Sony equipped with Bionz, Xmor and…...

5:29 pm - Wednesday, June 30, 2010

#39 Erwin

If you’re looking for a camera to film live music (concerts, especially rock en other high output music)? DON’T BUY A SONY HX5.
The sound is really really terrible.
We’ve bought this Sony and took it to a musicfestival. The movies are really FULL HD, but you can only watch the music by muting the sound. This soundclipping is really unacceptable.

1:50 pm - Monday, July 5, 2010

#40 Sel

Don’t blame HX5 for sound quality. You can’t even find another camera giving better result. Those small microphones are not built for receiving high intensity sound and do distort. Also because of their small size they cannot catch deep tones of music. In such circumstances you should record sounds separately by a special equipment and mix them later.

9:10 pm - Monday, July 5, 2010

#41 Erwin

The camera is to blame. I have an DSC-W150 and it sounds way better than the more expensive HX5V. I know it isn’t a camcorder and I’m used to listen to ‘less’ quality. But this camera really is a bad one. So you’re wrong and I’m right.

It’s because of this unexpected but great disappointment and the knowledge that lot’s of people want a digital camera’s to film concerts, that I posted my reaction. You’re warned.

If you buy it, use it in your back garden. Don’t use it to record music. Use a Panasonic TZ8 or 10, or the Nikon Collpix S8000 or something like that.

Watch some clips on youtube. Search for HX5V+ Live or Concert and hear for yourself.

Thanks for your reaction though

9:19 pm - Monday, July 5, 2010

#42 John McCaslin

I tried watching the sample video in the Sony HX5 review, and all I could see was a frozen, double-exposed image every 2 or 3 seconds. The video is a .mts file, and it automatically invoked my VLC Media Player software.

What software is needed to correctly view this type of file?

11:42 pm - Wednesday, August 11, 2010

#43 Jos

Hi John WMP12 to play the M(2)ts files, no problem, VLC plays .mts files but its has very poor decoding (juddery and choppy), I must say that the video quality (in decent light) from the HX5 is incredible, and the photo quality is really impressive too (I see the HX5V won a comparative test on whatdigitalcamera.com beating the Canon 210Is, Lumix TZ10 and Nikon S8000 (the image quality was close, they each got 18/20 except the nikon which got 15/20) but overall the Sony won due to its additional features and high burst rate etc (I must say the 10fps at full res is awesome, i used it on a guy doing his golf swing (amazing).

8:44 am - Thursday, August 12, 2010

#44 Chez

What a pity this model does not come with manual
focus. Zooming in during movie mode,for example, at objects like the Moon & bright Stars sends the auto-focus in a tizzy. By having Infinite focus this irritating problem could have been avoided. The manufacturers of this model must have bumpt their heads against the wall for not having this important feature.

11:19 pm - Monday, August 16, 2010

#45 john

“Adam
Sony HX5 vs HX5v ???!!!! REAL CHEATING!
I have ordered sony HX5v, the camera came with a hanging label named HX5v, but on camera it was written HX5.
Now HX5 model is INCOMPATIBLE GPS and HX5v is GPS compatible!
Although sony gave me HX5, they rudely used GPS mark on camera, while it has not GPS!!!
Also there is a model HX5c that has jet transfer! so the other models DO NOT have them!
So be careful of using HX5 or HX5v with cheater sony guys! I saw in your article you have mixed HX5 and HX5v a lot!”

i think you are mistaken. the box mine came in said hx5v, but the camera itself said hx5. mine does have the gps, i tested it out already. not only did it show the gps data on the display,  i took some pictures and uploaded them to my macbook pro and iphoto, and they were geotagged.
the hx5c is not gps or transfer jet compatible.
are you sure your’s doesn’t have gps???

2:51 am - Friday, September 3, 2010

#46 JM

When taking videos, I can review the videos (files) on the camera, but when I hook the camera up to my computer I cannot see the video files listed with the photograph files.  I took the memory card out of the camera and viewed it on an image reader, same problem.  Anyone have any ideas?

5:47 pm - Monday, October 4, 2010

#47 Nad

I was going to buy this camera, seemed perfect great ZOOM and FULL HD ! Seemed perfect!

But Those images are SHOCKING !!!!

Truly awful !

Instead I am going to go with the samsung wb2000.

11:57 am - Friday, October 15, 2010

#48 mortarake

I’ve been using one of these cameras for a month now. I nearly took it back because of the still image quality when compared with my old Sony P100. Not now though. The only problem I’ve got with it is outdoor high contrast situations. Low contrast indoor shots are superb. Low light capability is excellent, so much reduced use of flash. Up to 57X (VGA image)digital zoom with brilliant optical stabilisation so no more long lens and tripod.  Stabilised HD video that looks great on a widescreen Sony full HD TV.
I’ve found myself taking snap-decision photos I could never have managed to take before and showing them straight on the TV rather than on the laptop.
Sony have placed this little video-camera-that-does-stills for ‘future new-media photography, not ‘past ‘print-it’ photography’. Great buy for that.

3:57 pm - Saturday, October 16, 2010

#49 Daniel FP

I bought this camera a couple of weeks ago. It has great functions for still images but the reason I’m writing here is the overly aggressive noise reduction.
I don’t fathom how any camera engineer or the people from marketing dept. could ever give this awful feature a go. It really ruins a couple of otherwise good shots.
Sadly approx. 5 out of 10 pictures are smeared with NR making my kids look like someone made an oil paint of them.

So, my point is this: do not put the camera on your blacklist but make sure you try it out thoroughly before you close the deal.

11:21 pm - Friday, October 22, 2010

#50 omybuddha

anyone know if there is much differance between panasonic tz7 and tz10 ?..the tz7 is less expensive now, and any info would be great..also i see prices are much less expensive in the u.s…on on line shopping sites..anyone surgest a reputable site?...thanks in advance

6:17 pm - Sunday, October 24, 2010

#51 Gorpalm

The HX5 or the TZ10/TZ8?

Very concerned w IQ, low ISO output definitely in the TZ10/TZ8’s favour. Love the sweep panorama of the HX5 though, and the lo-light options available w the HX5. 

If we’re focusing on “what’s up front”, which camera gives the better output in real world situations?

10:44 pm - Sunday, November 14, 2010

#52 AS007

Hello,

I was wondering what is the reference for rating the cameras…..When lets say image quality is 4.5 stars,,,is that rating based in its class or the cameras that have image quality 5.0 stars..like the ones over 2.000 dollars ?!?!??!

4:15 am - Wednesday, November 24, 2010

#53 Gorpalm

Finally chose the HX5 over the Panny and Sammy rivals.  This is a great take-everywhere camera.

For a travel zoom it doesn’t have the very best picture quality at low ISO (that goes to the Panasonic TZ10), doesn’t have the longest zoom (that goes to the Samsung WB650), but I’ve found it has consistent top-notch picture quality throughout the zoom range, very useful and usable low-light capability plus fantastic modes like Hand Held Twilight, excellent video, very entertaining Intelligent Panorama, manual control if you ever want to get a little creative…

All in all a very good all-round solution.

11:29 pm - Thursday, December 2, 2010

#54 sananona

My head is spinning with all this ‘don’t buy this, buy that’ and ‘it’s great’, ‘it’s awful’.

Now looking at buying the Sony H20 used.

Does anyone know if there is duty on used cameras? Shipping from US to Canada.

What is the duty for a new camera?

Cheers

2:28 pm - Tuesday, December 21, 2010

#55 STYX

First- apologies because of my english.
What can I say.. Bought this camera for my wife, she wanted a compact. I suggested g12 (I’m a DSLR owner, I know, that picture quality depends on much things, like lenses, sensor size, and pixel density), answer was Too BIG. Then I had pain to consider - Pan TZ10, Exilim FH100 and this one.
Now - my review roundup - camera is total crap, if we are talking about shooting under low light. And there we must consider what is low light - in my case there was two 40w lightbulbs. Camera puts on (in auto mode) highest ISO possible (looks like around 450000 :D ), and the picture can make jealous every pointilist masterpiecer in the world. You put on flash - other side of world - total overexposure. That kind of pictures we can see in commercials like - before i bought this wonderful body builder, I looked like this (Michelin), now only after two days even not using it I have lost 16 pounds(straight nuclear flash). You know, what I mean..
Not tested in daylight yet, but the commercial of this cam - “outstanding low light performance”  - now I can not believe, that Sony creators have seen something good in their life..
Total disappointment. If it would be possible in our country, I would send back that “masterpiece”..
How to live with that - put on flash,  “P” mode, set ISO on 125 (lowest possible), change exposure correction -1.0 - 1.5, and try to enjoy result…
Yes, I forgot the good!!!!- The wide angle (25mm converted to analog). But that’s it..

3:28 pm - Saturday, December 25, 2010

#56 Collin

I just purchased a ZS7, and it’s epic.

1) Sound quality kills the Sony. The Sony’s sound quality is like standing next to someone with their iPod cranked up too much.
2) Picture quality is through the roof. Set noise reduction to -2 and JESUS it’s amazing how much detail is retained.

Just look at my gallery on DPReview:

http://dpreview.com/galleries/6441856516/photos

8:25 pm - Monday, December 27, 2010

#57 Gus

You should consider also the Fuji 300EXR: bigger zoom, beautiful colors, engaging creative modes. Sharpness in low light is not outstanding, but the flash is not as aggressive as I have seen in other cameras. I was divided between the Sony and the Fuji travel zooms, so far I am happy with Fuji.

12:04 pm - Wednesday, January 12, 2011

#58 Omair

Hi all. Hope all of u are in good health. i want to buy a camera but m really confused between sony hx5, cannon powers hoot sx201 IS and canon power shot sx12o IS….
I dun knw much about cameras. Can any1 please suggest which of these 3 should i go for?????

THx in advance for your cooperation.
Stay happy nad blessed

5:44 pm - Monday, February 7, 2011

#59 Shakti

Guys..
Im Looking For A Camera With Good Picture Quality & Manual Controls..
I Narrowed By Search To Sony Hx5 & Fuji S1800..
Which one is Good or if there is Any Other Camera with Good Picture Quality please Suggest.???

6:37 am - Thursday, March 3, 2011

#60 Ad Stolk

Is there a change of place of the photo’s of standard manual and hand held twilight mode in the review or are the twilight photo’s really of less quality than the standard.

9:01 pm - Friday, May 13, 2011

#61 Srdjan

I have bought the camera few weeks ago. I cant say that I am disappointed but I am not satisfied for sure. First of all camera has very big barrel distortion and this is a good enough reason not to buy it. In sunny day, pictures are very over exposed and you should try to find appropriate mode to get decent picture. At the other side, twilight pictures are excellent. Video in AVCHD mode also very good.
Finally, camera is very far for something that should be “point and shoot “.You have to know camera capabilities very very good to choose right mode for the right situation. Otherwise, forget decent pictures.

8:38 am - Friday, May 20, 2011

#62 Don

Hi people!!!

I need compact ~ this level price. Main thing to have is: IMAGE QUALITY.

what should I buy?

11:10 am - Monday, June 13, 2011

#63 Srdjan

As I said in my review, SONY HX5 is not a right choice. Few days ago I have bought CANON IXUS 220HS. CANON has slightly better picture quality which looks sharper than SONY, but again under my expectation. When you are looking the picture in LCD monitor it looks fine but if you are going to magnify the picture to see some detail the sharpness dramatically decrease and you will see a lot of noise. My advice is not to buy the camera with CMOS sensor. Maybe CMOS sensor has better low light performance but for every day pictures CCD sensor is better (this is my experience). Finally, do not buy the camera because some review said it is good or not, try it before buy it.

1:44 pm - Monday, June 13, 2011

#64 iniciator final

This post is very much informative in context. I like to admire the way you explain the topic about Sony Cyber-Shot DSC-HX5V Digital Camera.I would like to thank the author for his marvelous efforts.
http://www.electronicbazaar.co.nz/digital-camera/sony/sony-cyber-shot-dsc-hx5v-digital-camera.html

9:58 am - Wednesday, April 18, 2012

#65 Ciro Saito

My photos in the AutoInteligent position seems washed auto, have to correct the AV setting manually before shooting. How can I solve this problem?

9:46 am - Thursday, May 10, 2012

#66 Jorjeos

Hi my name is Jorjeos. i bought my camera from top end electronics. it is working fine since.

topendelectronics.com.au/sony-cyber-shot-dsc-tx30-digital-camera-orange.html

11:30 am - Saturday, July 27, 2013

#67 Daniel

I own this camera, and I continue to be impressed by it. For a point and shoot that fits in your pocket, it can do a lot…especially in low light. Obviously cameras continue to get better and better each year, but for a 2010 P&S camera this Sony surpassed my expectations by a wide margin. It blew away my older, larger Canon PowerShot S2 IS in terms of image quality.

2:03 pm - Tuesday, January 7, 2014

#68 Daniel

I own this camera, and it’s excellent for its time and for what being a point-and-shoot. I still use it occasionally as my secondary, take-it-everywhere camera, but I outgrew it a bit for primary use and moved up to a mirrorless system. Here were the shortcomings that I couldn’t really get past:

1) Little to no depth of field control. Combine the small point-and-shoot sensor with an f3.5-5.5 lens, and shallow DOF is basically impossible. If you don’t care about blurry backgrounds, then it’s not a concern…everything just looks flat. Fine for travel and landscapes but not so great for portraits.

Newer point-and-shoot cameras often have somewhat larger sensors and faster lenses. (See Sony’s own RX100 Mark II.)

2) No RAW mode. I didn’t realize how big of a deal RAW was until I got a camera that could do it. It makes a huge difference in post-processing. If you have a camera that can shoot RAW, and you’re still using JPEG only, stop it now.

If you’re the type of person who never opens a photo editing program and just uses the photos as-is, then you won’t miss RAW anyway.

3) It’s good in low light…to an extent. It ran circles around my previous point-and-shoot camera, the Canon PowerShot S2 IS, but my new Olympus E-PL5 mirrorless camera is a lot better still. That’s partly due to the larger sensor but also due to the excellent fast prime lenses available.

But, for a point-and-shoot camera circa 2010, it was a huge step up in terms of low light performance.

7:09 pm - Thursday, July 3, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, wide-angle, sony, 10fps, 1080i, 10 megapixel, 10x zoom, GPS, 25mm, cybershot, Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX5 Review, hx5, dsc-hx5, dsc hx5

Tracker Pixel for Entry