Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX60V Review

4.0
April 11, 2014 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

43 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Anastasescu Andrei

In the Rating & Conclusion , you wrote “The Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX400V is a very incremental update of last year’s HX300 model” and “The HX400V’s 20 megapixel sensor provides excellent results from ISO 100-400,” but the review is about HX60v.. please corect the page. Thank You

10:14 pm - Friday, April 11, 2014

#2 Joe Prete

Well,
Obviously Mark made a mistake there, the previous model was the
Sony DSC-HX50v, and I didn’t read it myself, but I think it was just the Processor that was updated and NFC added, but it’s pretty much the same camera as it was, and it should have also been listed with “Main Rivals” too. I think the Panasonic TZ60, Canon’s SX700 HS and Nikon’s S9700 are also in the same range as the HX60v but I think Sony wins this one again as well. If it were a contest, who can build the most fragile Flash assembly, it would be the Coolpix S9700 and
don’t forget, SONY has an auxiliary (EVF) Viewfinder available!
And in Mark’s defense, he has been working 7 days a week, and he has posted several Previews, and Reviews ahead of many other web sites. To achieve this extra work, Mark does bring some cameras home, and reviews them while he’s sleeping, and that explains the little crusty stuff in the corner of the lenses. What do you think he’ll do with this years “Waterproof” Cameras? Sorry Rubber Ducky!
… Joe Prete

12:11 am - Saturday, April 12, 2014

#3 Zari

Joe, I saw some pictures with Canon SX700 HS and they are better than this crappy photos… I’m curious about full review.

6:08 am - Saturday, April 12, 2014

#4 MarioV

Generally, the Sony 20MP superzooms look good at normal screen size.  But look terrible if you zoom in to see a bit more detail or try to crop.

At its worst, you’ll see this -
http://img.photographyblog.com/reviews/sony_cybershot_dsc_hx60v/photos/sony_cybershot_dsc_hx60v_26.jpg

ISO 1250 is not that high ISO and the lighting conditions werent that dim at 1/250 sec.
You can see the distorted faces even at normal screen size and its scary if you zoom in.

This is where Sony needs to pull its socks up.

6:39 am - Saturday, April 12, 2014

#5 Joe Prete

Mario V,
I see it here, and I’ve seen it before too. Most Sony customers don’t not even know about it, because they have no reason to “Peep” into an image that otherwise looks fine. Sony can get away with this in a $400.00 camera, but it stopped me from buying their $1300 RX10. Imagine spending that money, (on a short zoom camera) and finding out that up close the images look like an oil painting?  As Zari pointed out, in this case, the Canon images do look better. Sony tech support didn’t have an answer for me, except to ask “why, are you going to blow the image up that large?” Obviously I’m not, but it bothers everyone that finds out about it. But they won’t even open up an inquiry, because I don’t actually own a camera with this phenomenon!
... Joe Prete

2:37 pm - Saturday, April 12, 2014

#6 MarioV

Hi Joe
“why are you going to blow the image up that large?”
That’s a fair question. 

For me, firstly, its not about wanting perfect pixels, its about getting the most out of an image. I like to get inside an image - see as much detail as to what is going on - that means zooming into it.

Secondly, not every capture is the perfect composition.  Sometimes we need to crop an image. Now I dont expect perfect crops at 100% - thats for larger sensors, but I expect to be able to crop some of the image and be left with a decent quality photo.

Now, you cannot crop the photo that I referred to. Its quality is already shocking so cropping it is out of the question.

4:04 pm - Saturday, April 12, 2014

#7 Joe Prete

Hi Mario V,
I give you credit, it’s not easy to be that critical with every sensor, because like the image that you pointed out, any kind of pixelation effect can vary between exposures and individual sensors. In fact, a sensor that does well in one camera may not necessarily do as well in another camera. There are many variables. I will still recommend the HX50v/HX60v for the average shooter because it’s adequate at the level that they need it to be, and most will never even notice this effect, but feedback such as yours will help those with similar needs and interests. Some might even like the effect! I will definitely look for your input, because it’s that kind of feedback that keeps the manufacturers on their toes. Too many returns of one model will be noticed, and rectified. Look at the release of the Nikon D610 within a year of the D600, and at a lower cost with some enhancements.
NOTE:The UK English spelling is Pixellation. The U.S. is Pixelation.
  … Joe Prete

8:31 pm - Saturday, April 12, 2014

#8 Snope

“This is a sample video from the Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX60V camera at the highest quality setting of 1920x1080 pixels at 25 frames per second.”

It´s not the highest quality setting, that would be 50 frames per second with 28MB. I don´t see the point why you don´t upload 50p videos.

4:52 pm - Sunday, April 13, 2014

#9 Joe Prete

Snope,
We appreciate the contributions, but your video did not attach, we only received the words.
Can you type out the URL so we can have a look?
Thanks,
… Joe

10:08 pm - Sunday, April 13, 2014

#10 stephennic

Hi Mario,
I like the Nikon p600 for pixel peeping its pretty good, I say its equal to the canon sx 50 and sx700.
Cheers
Steve.

11:44 am - Monday, April 14, 2014

#11 Joe Prete

Stephenic,
Are you sayin

1:21 pm - Monday, April 14, 2014

#12 Joe Prete

Stephennic,
Are you saying that the P600 doesn’t suffer from this effect at all?
or is there a specific image that we should look at? I don’t think that you’ve studied all the images from the P600 already, have you?  This would be some good information to know! Thank You!
Yes, the SX50 HS has become sort of a measuring stick for others.
... Joe Prete


1:44 pm - Monday, April 14, 2014

#13 Snope

“We appreciate the contributions, but your video did not attach, we only received the words.”

Where did you read that I said I have a video? The reviewer should have uploaded one in 50p quality, not in 25p.
Also who is “we”? You shouldn´t talk for others as I presume you don´t talk in majestic plural.

4:13 pm - Monday, April 14, 2014

#14 Joe Prete

A bit more info.:
A search of other so called Reviews, showed that they are barely a Preview, so this seems to be the best that is available at this early date. The HX60v is actually not yet available, but there are units out there, (most likely coming from overseas) one appearing in a 90 second video clip (Also called A Review) Where, or how they were bought so early is unknown, as it’s not even on the US Sony site yet. If anyone has such an urgent need to get the camera, they most likely will be among the early “User Reviewers” It’s not exactly a camera of the year candidate, so I would suggest, wait until there is more information available, unless money is no object, but it could be a disappointment. It is, as I said, very similar to the prior model, the DSC-HX50v, so it seems to be a very good camera, but it’s not among the best. I like the strength of the pop up flash, their design, as usual is impressive. Reviews done here, are usually all done in the same process, even using the same subjects for the sample images. That gives readers a uniform review, so for most, it helps them to evaluate each camera for themselves. Of course there is always another view. For me, the Rating could be better, like a (%) Percentage, rather than a possible 5 stars, because many times they   look similar to other cameras. Maybe buying at a retailer that has a fair restocking fee is best for those who want an exact performance, to what they expect. For those looking for more info- Sony UK site appears to have it in stock, but the transaction will not complete for me, the site goes down as I hit the “Buy” tab. There is Specifications at Sony Asia,  http://www.sony-asia.com/product/dsc-hx60v  However, there is no Price, and no BUY tab. Their specifications look complete, very neat and well organized, and the product images are excellent. They do not show the Auxiliary EVF, & the online Manual seems to be a Quick Guide.  I have been told by Sony that an EVF will be available, and that is the only disappointment on their site (for me) NOTE:The cameras listed on Amazon show a sellers in Japan, and prices from $480 to $718 Shipping to the US shows 32 Days! By that time, I’m sure they will be easy to find. Good Luck!
… Joe Prete

8:52 pm - Monday, April 14, 2014

#15 MarioV

Joe, you use a lot of words without actually saying anything. You should be a politician.

1:12 am - Tuesday, April 15, 2014

#16 Joe Prete

Mario,
Verbose is the word you were looking for!
… Joe

1:44 am - Tuesday, April 15, 2014

#17 stephennic

Hi,
To clarify what I said earlier. I have looked at the Nikon P600 zooming it to 100% and blowing the picture up and it was as sharp as canon sx50 on the same photos.
Cheers
Steve.

2:58 am - Tuesday, April 15, 2014

#18 stephennic

Hi,
Just to clarify what I said before. When I compared the Nikon P600 with the Canon sx50 it was as sharp and detailed even when I blew the photos up. 
Cheers
Steve.

3:28 am - Tuesday, April 15, 2014

#19 Craig

I purchased the Sony HX60V at Dixons Heathrow T1 for £259 yesterday, the build quality is awful compared to my old HX9V, the plastic dials & buttons seem slightly loose/wobbly.

3:54 pm - Wednesday, April 16, 2014

#20 kotsomouras

“During video recording you can take a 15 megapixel still image by pressing the shutter button, or alternatively grab a still from your video footage during playback”.
I try to do this with my hx60v but i can’t take or grab a still image can anyone help me with this?

1:18 pm - Thursday, May 8, 2014

#21 steve

kotsomouras, I tried to do this (take a shot during video recording) on my mother’s new DSC-HX60V, as I can do it on my old dsc-hx50v.  I couldn’t get it to take a shot either on the 60v.  Hopefully someone can tell us the “trick”.

4:55 am - Sunday, May 11, 2014

#22 House Music All Night Long

Stills are not available during filming in 50p/28M. Maybe that’s the problem some of you had?

6:51 am - Tuesday, June 3, 2014

#23 polo

“During video recording you can take a 15 megapixel still image by pressing the shutter button, or alternatively grab a still from your video footage during playback”.
Also have that problem.
i have tried with all video settings without any result.
Where Is the trick ?

3:48 pm - Thursday, June 26, 2014

#24 MM

Great review. One question - The review states:
“During video recording you can take a 15 megapixel still image by pressing the shutter button, or alternatively grab a still from your video footage during playback.”

Can someone please advise how to do either of the above? Nothing happens when I press the shutter while filming a movie. Also, how can I grab a still from the video during playback? I can’t seem to find a way to do it.

7:55 pm - Friday, August 1, 2014

#25 steve

“During video recording you can take a 15 megapixel still image by pressing the shutter button, or alternatively grab a still from your video footage during playback.”
Tried every video setting.  No luck.

11:53 am - Saturday, August 2, 2014

#26 Rinu

Can anyone suggest a best compact camera below $300. . .

12:21 pm - Saturday, August 30, 2014

#27 Joe Prete

Rinu,
The Panasonic LX7 is due for it’s replacement within weeks, so the price may very well come down to that level. It has been as high as $595.00 and as low as $295.00 (that’s what I paid)  Where are you located? That may have an impact on what you can buy.
… Joe

4:45 pm - Saturday, August 30, 2014

#28 Rinu

Joe,

I am from India ,kerala.

6:27 am - Tuesday, September 2, 2014

#29 Joe Prete

Rinu,
What Photography shop. or Supplier are you using? If you have the name, or the URL, I’ll take a look at it for you.
… Joe

6:38 am - Tuesday, September 2, 2014

#30 Joe Prete

Rinu,
I see QRS and one or two others. Tell me, at about Ru18000 are you considering a memory card, and a case? Other than that, a Blower and a Micro Fiber cloth are about all you will need. Both can usually be bought (in the US) for about $10.00, a card like 16GB class 10, and a case would cost about $15.00 each. These will be needed regardless of which camera you buy.  Just let me know if you need this room in your budget, it can be $30.00-$40.00 extra.
… Joe

7:00 am - Tuesday, September 2, 2014

#31 Karen Sandler

I have had so many problems with this camera that I am about to get a refund. The camera takes 7 seconds or more to process indoor shots with moving images (ie a wedding). The only way to get shots that are not completely blurred is to use the anti-blur setting. By the time I had taken one shot, everyone had disappeared! Useless. I lowered the resolution, but it had no effect on the processing time. John Lewis could not help me.
I swapped this from a Panasonic Lumix TZ20, which was brilliant, but useless in low light.

5:05 pm - Tuesday, September 2, 2014

#32 Joe Prete

Karen,
Please slow down. What speed memory card are you using? What settings are you using, for ISO & Picture Mode? How long have you had the camera? Was it bought at the store, or on-line? Have you called Sony Tech support? Please fill us in so we can help you. It sounds like you should have already asked for some help. If you did make a return from an on-line purchase, you would most likely need to get an RA Number (Return Authorization) before you send it back, but if you want, let us try to help you first. I don’t know what settings you are using, what speed memory card, or if it’s defective. Weddings should be shot with a camera that has been tested, but you may have had low light situations, which this camera may not handle well. Let’s take this one step at a time.
… Joe

10:55 pm - Tuesday, September 2, 2014

#33 Karen Sandler

Okay, the answers. I bought this from John Lewis, in the store itself in mid July this year. It was sold to me by an employee who used to own his own camera shop. It is actually an HX50 not 60, but, as he told me,it is virtually the same camera, other than the bluetooth - it has the same functionality, lens and processor. John Lewis will take it back within 90 days and they are encouraging me to do so. However, the shots I did get were good, it was just so incredibly slow!
The memory card is a Sony 8gb 40MBs and was supplied by Sony with the camera.
The settings I used are either on Auto, which caused the over/under exposure, in outside/inside conditions, or on a specific scene mode, which is anti-blur indoors. No other mode would stop the appalling blur in internal, but not low light - it was daylight with windows in the building, but the sujects were moving. I could not get anything resembling an image without this. I tried lowering the resolution, but this did not help at all.
I am a long-time user of the Panasonic Lumix, but would not know what to change the Sony for? The Canon 700 HS has very limited functionality and I wasn’t keen on the Nikon equivalent. That just about leaves me with the Lumix TZ60.

5:11 pm - Friday, September 5, 2014

#34 Joe Prete

Karen,
If the retailer is encouraging you to return it, you should do that. It is a good camera, but if this much time went by, and you are not happy with it, more time will not help any. Most people would want the chance to try a new camera, and I think that’s what you should do too. If you were satisfied with Panasonic I would stay with their cameras if at all possible. The menu will be easy to learn. You spent good money on the Sony, and the same money will go far with Panasonic too. Please tell me what your main subjects are, so we can see what suits you the best. I will review the specs of the TZ20 and the HX50 to see what you were comfortable with, and what current models are most similar. I think you should buy a current model if at all possible, it will be worth it in the long run. That is a very generous offer by John Lewis, I think you should do it as ASAP. The truth is, many people wrote to me with similar issues, and most of them were also coming from another brand. You’ll be starting the warranty clock back at the beginning, and that’s a very good idea!
I will watch for your reply.
… Joe Prete

10:59 pm - Friday, September 5, 2014

#35 Karen Sandler

Thank you for your help on this.
I went into John Lewis today and changed the camera for a Panasonic Lumix TZ60. It seemed to be much better and captured shots of moving people, at full zoom, in the basement of the store, with no problem.

I cannot recommend John Lewis highly enough, if you are in any dooubt about a camera purchase. It is standard policy to swap or refund within 90 days - even if you just don’t like it.

4:41 pm - Saturday, September 6, 2014

#36 Joe Prete

Hi Karen,
Yes, that was my first choice and, that was my last post of the day yesterday, but it seems to be delayed (or lost) in the moderation process. It happens. The Panasonic Lumix TZ60 is known in the US as the ZS40. Your full model number is DMC-TZ60. I urge you to go to the web site http://www.panasonic.com/uk as they have a great deal of information, and some video demonstrations. It’s the fIrst camera to appear, as you choose Consumer Products > Digital Cameras

I am sure that you will feel right at home with the Panasonic system and their Tech Support is excellent, on-line, or by (toll free) Phone. If you have any other questions, feel free to write me by email at .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) or you can contact the site here, at the numbers or email found at the bottom of any page, click on the “About” tab - Please mention that we spoke in this review section.  There is also quite a bit of information (by Phone) and on line at http://www.johnlewis.com They are one of the most preferred retailers!

This camera has won several Awards and it has become a favorite of many shooters already. Please learn to use the EVF (Electronic View- Finder) for those times when it’s too bright outside, or when want to concentrate on your Composition. It’s one of my favorite features!
If you’d like to brush up on your skills, please click the “How To” link on the Header of this site, or contact me for some other links.
As you follow the guide, start with the basic, Full Auto, and try to master one feature at a time. I am sure you that will do fine with it.
Good Luck with your new camera Karen! … Thanks for writing.
Kind Regards,
… Joe Prete

10:16 pm - Saturday, September 6, 2014

#37 JC vd Westhuizen

7:55 pm - Friday, August 1, 2014
 

#25 steve   .

“During video recording you can take a 15 megapixel still image by pressing the shutter button, or alternatively grab a still from your video footage during playback.”
Tried every video setting.  No luck.
Dear Joe
I have the same problem,please help,thanks.
jc

11:15 am - Thursday, September 11, 2014

#38 Joe Prete

JC,
I’ve checked the specs and I don’t see this feature at all.  Sony also says it is not a feature of the DSC-HX60v, but give Mark a chance to respond. It wouldn’t be the first time that a feature was found that wasn’t thought to exist. I don’t have access to this model but I requested an HX50v to check myself. I believe these functions are the same in both models. Hopefully Mark will post his reply here.
… Joe Prete

10:22 pm - Thursday, September 11, 2014

#39 Joe Prete

Guys,
Mark is looking into the issue, I assume he has to get another copy of the HX60 camera, but it has been a very busy 24 hours with the new releases, so please be patient. I will reply as soon as there is a definitive answer. (Btw, this should cover grabbing clips of playback too, from a few of the email questions I received).
… Joe Prete

6:49 pm - Friday, September 12, 2014

#40 Koushik Ranjan Das

I purchased one DSC HX60V on 29.08.2014 and carried it inside my camera bag with other SLRs to my trip to some of the isles of Andaman & Nicobar Islands, India on 1.09.2014. During my 6 days short trip this particular camera helped me a lot to get some amazing photographs at places with legal problem in taking pics. In standard daylight, even in cloudy day I got unexpected results. But tell me how to take still frame out of movie playback. Also tell about appropriate Optical or digital viewfinder and it’s availability. FDA-EV1MK or FDA-V1K which one will synchronize this DSC HX60V? Thank you.

3:23 pm - Saturday, September 20, 2014

#41 Carol Petersen

Just bought a Sony DSC-HX60V.  Took a number of photos at night at Sydney Harbour, on the playback menu they looked stunning but when I downloaded 90% of them were all blurred.  Please can you tell me what is the best setting to use for night photos with i.e. Opera House lights on its on and then people standing in front with the Opera House in the background.  I was so disappointed as these were photos taken for my friend as momentoes.  Please help.

5:20 am - Friday, October 10, 2014

#42 Fabio

I downloaded all the photos: never seen anything so bad ... even the pictures of Sony wx350 are most beautiful of these ...
The wx350 unfortunately has edges soft and blurred, otherwise it would be perfect (for me).
In your opinion what is the compact superzoom (preferably no more than 20x) with BEST PICTURE, regardless of price?
Thanks!!

3:56 pm - Saturday, November 1, 2014

#43 Joe

This video I made this evening bringing moon nearer using 30x zoom HX60V

8:20 pm - Thursday, November 27, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, review, 1080p, wide-angle, test, wi-fi, wireless, sony, wifi, travel-zoom, travel, 24mm, 10fps, 20 megapixel, travel zoom, GPS, nfc, cybershot, panorama, 30x zoom, 720mm, hx60v, Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX60V Review, dsc hx60v, dsc-hx60v, hx60

Tracker Pixel for Entry