Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX7V Review

4.5
August 10, 2011 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

18 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 James Waugh

I really don’t understand the camera companies moving to 16MP. The full size images look more like paintings and there is no way of getting detail back that is ‘smudged’ in the first place. I don’t think the sensor technology is there yet for them to make the move to such a high pixel count. I think the only way they can help this is by offering a RAW option, so there is a chance to try and get less ‘smudged’ looking photos. If it can capture 10fps, I imagine it has a good buffer and therefore RAW capture would be possible via a firmware update.

1:42 pm - Wednesday, August 10, 2011

#2 James Waugh

I don’t understand these companies moving to 16MP. The full size photos look more like paintings and it’s difficult to get detail back from an already smudged photo. I don’t think the sensor technology is there yet to offer such a high pixel count. If they at least added a RAW option, the user would have a chance at getting a less smudged look in the photos. With an already decent buffer which allows 10fps in jpeg, I don’t see why they can’t add a RAW capture option via a firmware update.

1:51 pm - Wednesday, August 10, 2011

#3 Ricardo

These samples pictures look like impressionist art, I agree with James Waugh, no point in talk about other brands, in terms of megapixel’s war (speaking about compacts), all them apply a lot of noise reduction, eating away fine details of the images, but I think many people will not be disturb this particular.

3:09 pm - Wednesday, August 10, 2011

#4 luc

You are not intending to insult the intelligence of your readers with comments like that???
” .... Sony have been able to maintain the excellent image quality that the previous 10 megapixel HX5 offered despite the move to a 16 megapixel sensor. ...”
The image quality from these 16 Mp sensors is abysmally poor. All camera makers seems to be using the same sensor and all 16 Mp compact cameras produce the same horrible pictures even at base ISO.
Please have a look at the sample images before buying any of these 16 Mp cams.

1:28 am - Thursday, August 11, 2011

#5 WS

4.5 for the IQ of this and same score for the Olympus E-P3. Honestly? If the E-p3 scores 4.5 then this should be no more than 2.0, just look at the horrendous iso shots and the image of the eyes for example. Horrendously soft and hardly any fine detail. Those are more like water color paintings instead of images from a camera. My 2 year old Lumix TZ7 produces images that are not perfect but way better than this mess.

11:47 am - Friday, August 12, 2011

#6 Antonio Arellano

This camera can be great for first time buyers who are looking for usability and clean looking images.
Sharp looking camera that is compact and easy to travel with.

Good for everyday point-and-shoot opportunities.

Antonio A.
PCNation.com

10:25 pm - Friday, August 12, 2011

#7 Matt

The noise of the auto focus on the video renders the video useless.. cant believe this wast picked up in the review.. When I returned it, the shop owner seemed quite despondent that they were all being returned.. BUYERS BEWARE!!

8:18 pm - Friday, August 19, 2011

#8 Roger McLennan

I have carried one of these cameras to 14 countries on a 2 month extended holiday and taken 9GB of hi-res photos and a dozen or so movies.

It is great - even brilliant - except for one minor annoyance. A the top back, RHS, is the “Movie” buton. It protrudes just a whisker above the body. Occassionally you press this button by accident when gripping the camera body and suddenly you are taking movies.

Rating: 9/10
Ease of use: 10/10
Pix quality: 10/10

9:26 am - Friday, September 2, 2011

#9 Ananthasri

I have made the purchase and am just enjoying everything about it. But the irritant is the inability to prove the 3D capabilities of my camera. I will be happy if experts could help me to develop a 3D image that I have shot to be developed as a photograph that could be viewed with special glasses. Such a technology will definitely transform the art of photography to the 3rd dimension

5:54 am - Thursday, September 15, 2011

#10 Daniel Manzur

If the quality of the pictures are worse than many cheaper cameras. What is the idea of ??the note 4.5 in picture quality?

9:50 pm - Saturday, October 22, 2011

#11 claus marnix

After reading the review here on the site,I was thinking,Ok the pictures look abit of an painting at 100% view,but the truth is no one wil ever print at 100%.I like to thank the reviewer here,for his acurate reviews of any camera,I have boucht,Hi is the only reviewer thad put up pictures like the way hi do.
When you downsample the pictures to 50 or 70 % you get another fiew on the pictures,the problem is at 100% anny smal camera show some problems,
and while I have an olympus 4 Mpixel camera,the pictures from the sony HX7V are better the my old technology camera.
The only thing thad could do better is the startup speed,is abit on the slow.
but the reward is good pictures and exelent video.
panorama’s and high speed frames,the focus in resonable light is super,and while you press the ok button the camera change to continiu focus.entresting if you like to take some sport pictures.
I say for the monye $250 it is an exelent camera,afcours it is not an Dslr but the cost is not even an single lens for an dslr.
happy shooting :)

4:37 pm - Wednesday, January 4, 2012

#12 Monty Python

Took this camera to Europe and shot over 400 pics including night shots - the camera is nothing short of fantastic.  Sure you will get better shots from a SLR but for a point and shoot, it is a great camera.  i am amazed at how many people expect the point and shoot to do more than it was designed for.  Let’s get real about some of the comments.

1:35 am - Tuesday, January 24, 2012

#13 SoloRazr

Been using this Camera and I must say I am very impressed. Image and Video quality is superb. Plus the Manual Settings you can play with.

Cheers!

7:49 am - Monday, October 1, 2012

#14 Jimboi

Images are mostly soft and painting-like, video is very good except that the sound of the motor driving the lens is noticeable. There is significant delay after shooting video (when the video is being saved), and some delay in saving images. Barrel distortion is high and dissapointing.
I personally would like to sell mine at at half its price and buy a Canon (sx230hs for example).

4:16 am - Thursday, November 1, 2012

#15 elias ramli

I simply cannot find ‘forced flashed’ in the main menu.  Please help.

2:45 am - Thursday, February 28, 2013

#16 rick

This is one of the best cameras non dslr I ever used, maybe some got bad cameras my shots are amazing

9:41 pm - Thursday, March 14, 2013

#17 Aída Bortheiry

Las cámaras Sony me resultaron pésimas. Compré una en 2011 y otras en 2012, las dos me fallaron desde el inicio, pero no conseguí asistencia.La preimera era DSC-W380, funcionaba mal el zoom, al inicio fallaba en forma intermitente, hasta que a los 3 meses, dejó de funcionar. La segunda, wera una DSC-HX7V, falló desde el inicio el flash en forma intermitente y después de algunos meses no funcionó más. Las dos las tengo guardadas. Pena… La verdad, ni siquiera uno sabe como actuar, porque los services demoran meses en informar cuanto sale arreglarlas y al final dicen que apra importar los repuestos tampoco hay previsión de tiempo.

8:17 pm - Tuesday, July 2, 2013

#18 Fernando Filipe

No function black and white?

11:34 am - Tuesday, October 22, 2013

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, review, wide-angle, 16 megapixel, test, sony, travel-zoom, travel, 1080i, 10fps, travel zoom, 10x zoom, GPS, 25mm, cybershot, panorama, 3D, Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX7V Review, hx7, hx7v, dsc-hx7v, dsc hx7v

Tracker Pixel for Entry