Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX9V Review

5.0
June 15, 2011 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

230 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#101 bryv

It is not an “essential"camera as it was the case two years ago with the Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ7. The color are not very good and the full hd does not appear very much different. Side by side, the Lumix color of the video are much warmer than for the Sony. On the other side, the photos are a little better with the Sony. I am a bit desapointed. Instead of “essential” il will say it is recommended, not much than that.

8:51 pm - Thursday, September 22, 2011

#102 dekidd

OMG. this is a very bad review about this camera . You can see from all example pictures, even with 100 ASA tons of smearing and no sharpness at all. 

But it is a great video Cam . Don´t buy if you are looking for quality pictures. Buy Sony HX9 instead of a bulky overpriced video cam. The hx9 video mode will give you HD movies in a 600-1000 euro cam corder price range quality.
Picture = NO/  Video = YES triple A !

1:00 pm - Thursday, September 29, 2011

#103 Jerome

Image quality seems to be clearly below that of comparable model from Canon SX230HS. However video is pretty good and so is the battery life with a slightly better zoom range.

6:32 am - Friday, September 30, 2011

#104 Brian

Re posting by dekidd and Jerome

To clarify your postings, do you actually own a DSC-HX9V ?

If you do own a DSC-HX9V, what test conditions would replicate your posting advice ?

9:05 am - Thursday, October 6, 2011

#105 Taylor

Sony really topped themselves with this one.

6:59 am - Monday, October 10, 2011

#106 sari28

the only VIDEOcamera (!) that is able to take horizontal pannig with out jumpiness!! never seen a better VIDEOcamera (panasonic tm900 fails in panning, 700dollars). wow!

(bad at night)

5:10 pm - Tuesday, October 11, 2011

#107 rachit dave

Guys, i have one question of the quality of JPEG still images, why the DPI is 72 only ??(FYI :: check the metadata of your image—right click and property) does it affects the quality , how to improve DPI in camera settings..Sony please give us a new firmware…compression is too much on this device.

12:33 pm - Sunday, October 16, 2011

#108 Sam

Hi,

I am looking for a good digital camera , which i can use to take pictures in low light as well and picture quality will be impressive. Would anyone plz suggest me which one i should buy ? is it ok with HX9V ??

9:32 pm - Sunday, October 16, 2011

#109 Abdul

Hi all,
so confused about sony Hx9 ?? I help u: )
Me and my cousin bought compact camera after a long time research (mine sony hx9 and my cousin canon sx 230)
1.outdoor shot:sony won with sharp and crystal clear with no CA..canon noticble CA.
2.Indoor flash closeup:canon won,nice detail and colur.Sony over cooked too bright.
3.indoor/dark area distance object: sony won, all the object visible powerful flash .canon no : (
4.indoor with out flash:canon won,detail and colour grt superb.sony less detail colour less: (
5.Fun:canon have lots of creative but no use..we can do this in system using free software..
sony grt awsome panamora,defocus(my favourite looks profesional),3d.etc etc
sony won : )
5.Video: sony won

conclusion: All the camera have good and bad..
Sony hx9:dont worry about chromatic abrevation in outdoor shot.canon CA problem.
sony hx9 s superb if u use the setting perfect..
moreover learn photoshop,its help to look and make ur photo professional..

Sony HX9V essiential

9:27 am - Monday, October 17, 2011

#110 rachit dave

i would like to say, when you see the pics on camera LCD the red color is very very intense but when you transfer it on hard copies or your computer they show quite a good images….some times you need to take manual images by keeping the color in Real mode. also if you decrease the saturation that would be good..i believe that sony ####ed up some sharpness and color in AUTO modes but when you get your settings right it works great..!! and bout video..what to say..as good as handy cam….its the best in category…lets hope sony gives a new firmware for this device….hoping to get a new firmware desperately..

11:32 am - Wednesday, October 19, 2011

#111 sari28

video: the best videos that I see on the world.
much better than pana tm900 (very bad!).
the only VIDEOcamera that takes very good panning (better than the broadcasters!). *astonished*

photo: not good. better the coolpix 8MP.
this sony has too much NR and you cannot reduce the NR setting. this is pity. otherwise this sony would be the best product. sony will not release the fw, otherwise all the people will purchase this sony and the next year nobody will purchase other products!

7:20 pm - Wednesday, October 19, 2011

#112 sari28

the best panning I have seen. better than panasonic tm900.

NR too high. not customizable.

7:22 pm - Wednesday, October 19, 2011

#113 Manpreet

I was planning to buy either of Nikon S9100 or S8200 or Sony HX9V. Looking at the reviews of S9100 I have dropped the idea to buy Nikon S9100. Can anyone of you share reviews of S8200 compared to HX9V. Also I have seen few of pics clicked from HX9V and they look great on a LED connected via HDMI.

12:17 pm - Thursday, October 20, 2011

#114 sari28

The pics from hx9v looks good on a tv set full hd 1920x1080 and if you print them on a paprer A3.
in their original size the look bad (or crop 100%, a reflax needed for this purpose). her eyou mat want to save and resize the fotos at 10MP. very good. 16MP is too hight.

the best video I have seen! awesome VIDEOcamera: horizontal panning and stabilizer is wonderful.

panorama (autostichting) at 43MP wonderful.

sorry I dont have the review you are looking for :-(

2:43 pm - Thursday, October 20, 2011

#115 Sam

I bought 3 cameras in almost the same period looking for a replacement of my favourite Canon G11 which my daughter loved to have. I ended up buying DSCHX9V, the 3rd camera. It can zoom in and out when videoing and takes very good movies. It can fit easily on my pocket. Not bad photos on low light, but really takes great pictures indoor.
The 16x zoom is great. You need to learn the best mmode specially indoor. I highly recommend this camera which is great for travelling and unexpected occasions.Very handy.

10:47 am - Tuesday, October 25, 2011

#116 HOWIE

Sony great for animals,landscapes and people, without too much telephoto, in good light. Once you up the telephoto faces get smeared around the nose and eyes making them look like they have skin disease. My wife’s left eye completely disappeared in one photo. Other people look like zombies!
This is due, I have read, to too much NR and it cannot be modified. For me, the Canon SX220 gives overall better still images (CA comparable and fairly minimal)even if the Sony focus is marginally quicker.
Video quality is similar and very good in both cameras, but files smaller with Sony-though Canon much faster to react when switching to video mode from still image modes, using the red recording button.

11:32 am - Tuesday, October 25, 2011

#117 CHFels

I beg to differ about the Canon 220HS / 230HS and chromatic aberration (CA):  from the test images at Imaging Resource and other places (including the review here), it is clear that CA is much worse on the Canon.  That’s why I crossed it off my list.  Any straight dark line against a bright background turns into Mace Windu’s lightsaber.  Horrible - you can even see it at 1024x768 size on some photos.

11:56 am - Tuesday, October 25, 2011

#118 sari28

you may want to resize the fotos to 10MP.
cropping 100% looks bad, but for this purpose you should buy a reflex.

foto on tv set 1920x1080 are wonderful.
noise artifact: on pc, by cropping…

canon: better fotos in manual mode.
sony : better fotos in auto mode.

sony vs canon for video: 10:1

12:33 pm - Tuesday, October 25, 2011

#119 HOWIE

I preferred to test the two cameras myself for CA and found no discernible difference. Also, this from Photography Blog Review:
‘The Canon Powershot SX230 HS handled chromatic aberrations excellently during the review, with limited purple fringing present around the edges of objects in certain high-contrast situations.

6:41 pm - Tuesday, October 25, 2011

#120 Lee

Hiya….

Just a quickie….

Does the video function have a super slow motion mode?

I can’t find out anywhere!

Thanx :-)

4:45 pm - Thursday, October 27, 2011

#121 sari28

no it doesnt.
postprocessing needed for slow motion ;)

4:48 pm - Thursday, October 27, 2011

#122 shaun

I am a beginner.Can anyone tell me why,in the sample picture of the red ice cream van,the window frames are pixelated when the thumbnail is enlarged.Then, when enlarged again on the window frame, the image is resolved smooth as in reality.I thought images were meant to be more pixelated the larger the image?

3:05 pm - Sunday, November 6, 2011

#123 Rod E

I don’t usually comment but felt compelled to as the HX9V is such a great camera. The stills are brilliant but the HD video is even better. I’ve made some great videos with footage shoot on my HX9V and edited on Sony Vegas Movie Studio HD.

7:30 pm - Wednesday, November 16, 2011

#124 BryV

I want to modify my review after using this camera intensively. The photos are very goog and the zoom is amazing. For the vedeos, it is also very good after all. The negative point is that it takes about 3 to 4 seconds before it start after pushing the button. The main problem is that the .mts format is not taken in charge by final cut pro and it is very difficult to manage. But this is an other problem and is the fact of Apple not of Sony.
So, It is a very camera.

3:18 pm - Friday, November 25, 2011

#125 Andrea

Why the hx9v is TOTALLY unable to mantain the focus in lowlight/by night?? why??? :-(

12:34 pm - Monday, November 28, 2011

#126 Brian

BryV- if you are looking for a cheap video package to process the AVCHD from the HX9V into DVD or HD video quality, I can recommend Sony Vegas Movie Studio HD Platinum 11.
Andrea - I have many still photos and video taken with the HX9V in very low light and often no flash(eg concerts and caves)with generally excellent focus results.I use my camera in the P mode and set the ISO of the camera to produce the best image - the lower the ISO the better, the camera takes good photos up to ISO 400 and usable photos up to ISO1600 - ISO3200 produced noisy/grainy results.This is not a professional camera however it is capable of producing very good results - even in low light but not in near no light - few cameras can. What is typical of the lighting situation that you are attempting to photograph and are you trying to take photos of movies ?

2:23 pm - Tuesday, November 29, 2011

#127 Andrea

If you have the Oppo, Simply rename the file MTS from hx9v into .MKV. copy it into a pendrive or burn it on bd-r disc (multisession allowed).very fine!

it is pity that the hx9v dont work by night :-( very very bad. video = always defocus :-(

6:45 pm - Tuesday, November 29, 2011

#128 Andrea

Brian,

thank you for your replt, but
look here please
http://www.youtube.com/user/djandreaa

6:48 pm - Tuesday, November 29, 2011

#129 Andrea

Brian
http://youtu.be/8GCeLA7duHE
at 3:36 :-(

6:49 pm - Tuesday, November 29, 2011

#130 Andrea

//youtu.be/8GCeLA7duHE
here 3:36

defocus.

6:51 pm - Tuesday, November 29, 2011

#131 Andrea

on youtube .../8GCeLA7duHE
3:36. defocus

6:53 pm - Tuesday, November 29, 2011

#132 Andrea

video, lowlight.

if you see light (by night) the focus is unpossible :-( all the video looks so.

6:56 pm - Tuesday, November 29, 2011

#133 Andrea

Brian this is the scenario:

movie
http://img829.imageshack.us/img829/4118/dsc0060631.jpg

this is nex.
the video with hx9v wasvery bad with this light :-(

7:03 pm - Tuesday, November 29, 2011

#134 Eileen Harbin

I have a Sony handy cam and it does not upload and play on my IMAC. I have to use converters for sound and picture to work it is a real hassle. Does the HX9v have the same problem? Have 10.7 version on my computer

7:56 pm - Tuesday, November 29, 2011

#135 Brian

Andrea - I think that you will find the answer to your question in the respective camera image sensor sizes - the HX9V=28.5sq mm, the NEX=365 sq mm - a difference of 12.8x in favour of the NEX. A camera with a larger image sensor has better light gathering properties. You are comparing a compact camera with a large zoom range with an intermediate (APS) format camera - with the penalty of larger lens size and limited zoom range per lens. Can the accelleration of a 4 cylinder car be compared with a V8 ?. The DSC-HX9V has room for improvement however comparisons should be measured against other 1 2/3” sensor cameras.

3:29 am - Thursday, December 1, 2011

#136 Andrea

Thank you Brian for your reply. You are right.

Perhaps it may be better setting the hx9v not to Video mode, but to Scene mode: Panorama, to get better video in lowlight?
(I have to take some videos by night for Xmas ;)

thanks.

1:29 pm - Thursday, December 1, 2011

#137 Andrea

ok. hx9v can take wonderful videos at the day (not by night, very bad) better than pana sd800!
hx9v: wonderfull active staedy and awesome panning (better than professional models). better than m43.
by night: only the cv560/cw700 is wonderfull, but during the day at the sun very bad “well” effects.
obvioulsy the perfect camera dont exist, otherwise the business ... ;)

1:18 am - Wednesday, December 7, 2011

#138 Andrea

but it is pity that sony dont want to release a new firmware for hx9v… :-( e.g. better handlig the NR in the fotos, very very aggressive…
16MP is nonsense! better 10MP, or? ;)

1:21 am - Wednesday, December 7, 2011

#139 Andrea

sorry, I wrote “well” instead of “wave” effects. sorry.

11:41 am - Wednesday, December 7, 2011

#140 Rick

Great images and movies and a very intelligent piece of technology. Too bad it is so small. I missed several photo ops because I couldn’t find the on/off switch in time. I wish they made this camera a size larger.

3:12 am - Friday, December 9, 2011

#141 BlueCollarCritic

I just wanted to thank Phtographyblog.com for the great work done on camera reviews.  This is a tremendous help to us camera illiterates who are looking for a good X type of camera and are at the mercy of the camera shops and big box retailers who we know are paid (or given some kind of incentive) to push specific models and brands on customers regardless of whether that model is the one the customer should actually get. 

Had my wife and I used PhotographyBlog.com when deciding on the last camera to buy we probably would not find ourselves looking at another camera so soon. 

Thanks!

6:00 pm - Monday, December 12, 2011

#142 minimum1986

Hello.

Is it better to take fotos of Xmas tree with the HX9V or with Coolpix 8800 raw?
Thank you.

9:44 pm - Monday, December 12, 2011

#143 Bryan

The DSC-HX9V software PMB is incompatible with macintosh computers. This was not made clear before I bought it, which is very naughty but can anybody suggest alternative software or another method for allowing me to manipulate my video material using this camera?
Bryan

8:21 pm - Thursday, December 15, 2011

#144 Chris

The video compatibility with a Mac is a disaster.

I have been using the Canon Image Browser to automatically download photos shot with my Sony onto my Mac laptop. But the movies stay on the media card and don’t download automatically.  They are .mts files and are buried in a file in the folders PRIVATE/AVCHD/BDMV/STREAM.

If you erase everything you shot on a given day without first moving these .mts files to your computer, you will lose your movies…

I wanted to import my movies into Final Cut Pro 7 and this is the only way I’ve found to do it without buying conversion software:

Firstly, shoot in the 60i setting,not 60p

After shooting is completed:
A. connect camera to Mac computer
B. drag the STREAM folder with all the .mts movies to your desktop
C. disconnect the camera
D. download (if you don’t have it) and open the free application Handbreak
E. navigate to .mts files on your computer and import all the movies using Handbreak’s default settings (you can create a cue to do all of your unconverted movies)
F. PROCESS the .mts files via Handbreak—this will yield .m4v files which iMovie can read—it will not read the .mts files..
G. open iMovie
G. open the .m4v files - you can now watch / edit the movies you shot with your Sony camera
H. go to “SHARE” / “EXPORT USING QT”
I. under “Options”:
  -leave at H.264
  -compressor set to “best”
  -change size to “1920 x 1080”
J. resulting files will have a .mov extension and will be usable by FCP7

Very time consuming!

This really needs to be dealt with by SONY as does the lack of ability to shoot timelapse via setting up a remote/programmable capture…

8:51 pm - Thursday, December 15, 2011

#145 christian

Hi Bryan,

Bought software from Bigasoft for the same reason (imac owner).
I think it was 20-30 usd. Pretty effective.

Christian

9:04 pm - Thursday, December 15, 2011

#146 Andrea

Question:

sony has stated that she will fix the issues with the NEX-5N. ok.
why sony will not fix the focus issues of the hx9v?? why?? please tell me why!
even at the evening, if you take a video with small light (e.g. xmas tree or light along the street).
why??
I am the one and only man of the world who see this issue?

why NEX-5N will become a fix and this sony dont??? why??
have you a perfect focus au the evening/night if you take a video with light bulbs/incandescent light??
this behaviour is shameful.
(or I am the only man who is unable to mantain the focus..may be…may be…but you can see a lot of YT videos token with hx9v bynight…).

12:00 am - Friday, December 16, 2011

#147 Brian

Andrea : You have vented your frustration with Sony on a number of occasions in this forum which provides a usefull medium for genuine owners or prospective owners to discuss their problems. Have you taken any real action by writing to - and seeking answers from - Sony. Sony has customer feedback sites in most countries for prople who can place a coherent intelligent case for consideration. You may also wish to declare your agenda.

6:49 am - Friday, December 16, 2011

#148 Andrea

Thank you for your reply.
Yes, I wrote to Sony US, Germany and Japan. and I worte in te forums (not english forums).
With nex I was more lucky (a lot of people are not happy), but with hx9v…no answer from sony (therefore I think that the most of users are happy). I dont understand why “my” hx9v is unable to focus when she see a light bulb…
when you take a video with hx9v at the daylight (i.e. NO light bulbs) she is the best “video"camera, better than the more expensive prosumer cameras, very good steady active! the best panning I have seen (better than DVB HD tv!)

10:42 am - Friday, December 16, 2011

#149 Andrea

but Iknow that you should to but a fotocamera for the day, an fotocamera for the night, an videocamera for the day and a videocamera for the night, but…. ;)

10:44 am - Friday, December 16, 2011

#150 xnirgina

Set the focus to manual and play with the focus approximate. Thats how I come up with the situation. Not an exact solution of course.

11:21 am - Friday, December 16, 2011

#151 Uncle Gare

I’m glad to see that you named the Sony HX9v Compact Camera of the Year. In 2011, I bought and returned the Canon 230 (noisy pics), the Nikon 9100 (focusing issues), and the Panasonic ZS10 (noisiest of them all) and was so glad to find the Sony.  As far as point and shoots go it truly does everything very well. Picture colors are superb, the video quality makes a camcorder obsolete (image stabilization is best I’ve ever seen), and focus is lightening fast at all telephoto lengths. I love that I can take snapshots during video with no effect on the video playback. Best of all, it does all this and is barely noticeable hanging off my belt everywhere I go, so I never miss a shot!!!

6:20 pm - Friday, December 16, 2011

#152 Fatherof5ive

“i noticed no observation about image quality for sports ans landscapes, nor about slow access to viewer. I find each of these disappointing”

What sport(s) were you trying to take pictures of?

I ask because I’d like to take pictures of outdoor soccer (various field sizes) and indoor basketball.

Have you settled on a different camera that satisfies your needs (sports and landscape IQ)?

I’m going to try out the Nikon S9100 because it’s $100 less expensive than the HX9V and I’d probably be more willing to go up to the price range of the FZ150 if I’m going to spend more money.

9:14 pm - Friday, December 16, 2011

#153 Ryan

I own this camera. It’s good, but it is sooo slow!!!! Navigating around the camera and in and out of viewing shots you just took is painfully slow!!! Maybe sony will fix this in a firmware update

1:57 am - Saturday, December 17, 2011

#154 Ryan

Oh…. And the pop-up flash is in a terrible location. My finger always blocks it and there is no other good place to hold the camera.

2:16 am - Saturday, December 17, 2011

#155 galaka

just wanted to know how dis cam stands in front of fujifilm finepix f500exr? which one is better? by means of picture quality and performannce? im lookin for compact cam with highest optical zoom! can anyone suggest me?

8:45 am - Saturday, December 17, 2011

#156 Andrea

@Ryan:

Sony will not release a new firmware for hx9v because the sony engineers thnik that she is perfect, i.e. she dnot need newer firmware :-(

11:47 am - Saturday, December 17, 2011

#157 Fabio

I totally agree with Uncle Gare (#151 comment). Regarding difficult focus in low light in movie mode my tests didn’t show that even in very dark streets with light poles, I used the movie mode in the dial, that may help. The flash position is the best because keeps the flash light as far from the lens as possible and that prevents red eyes, that is the position of most of the top compact cameras, the problem is not the camera , so change the way you hold the camera, because that will be the standard.
  ISO performance is irrelevant in a camera that has so many photo stacking modes, it takes 3 or more pictures very fast and transform then in a single picture with very little noise and at high speeds, much higher than the speed that you could get from a Canon S95 or even the Canon T3, I made the tests and guess what? The HX9 can take photos at 1/30 sec in the same situation that the Canon can at 1/5 , of course the Canon picture is blurred. That’s why my camera is always at 100 ISO, if the situation demands higher speeds just use one of the special modes or swicth to the very good AUTO + mode.
I don’t consider this camera slow, only the first time you go to picture view it takes some time , all the rest is fast enough, but of course multi burst features take some time to process, but nothing extraordinary considering the final results.
This camera (as well as the big sister HX100V) has a really agressive noise reduction processing and that shows when you zoom in , more than other cameras, but is the picture supposed to be seen at 100% zoom ? will you always print a 40 inch picture? I did and it looks great from 10 feet away. The pictures are beautifull and full of life even in a 42” led screen and that’s more than satisfactory. I’m quite sure that a Van Gogh picture seen at 100% zoom will look weird too.

7:57 pm - Saturday, December 17, 2011

#158 Fabio

I was trying to buy 2 more HX9 at BH and they show it as discontinued. Amazon shows only one seller for US$429,00.
  What is going on ??? The camera is new and is a success even won some compact camera of the year prizes. Couldn’t find any information about a new model and Sony store still sells it. Any information about this matter is appreciated.

4:05 am - Sunday, December 18, 2011

#159 Andrea

@Fabio:

perhaps is my sony hx9v a defective model.
youtu.be/aJymRp0pRdo
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8GCeLA7duHE

and this is not sony ;)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vu8Ow4DtTss

12:38 pm - Monday, December 19, 2011

#160 Marg

According to your review there are several flash functions, including Force Flash ... I can only find on and off! Any suggestions? Have I missed something?

1:12 am - Tuesday, December 20, 2011

#161 Uncle Gare

Marg (# 160) the flash modes are limited in auto… I normaly shoot in P mode, which gives you more control over camera functions.  For example, slow syncro does a nice job of lighting subject and background.

4:04 am - Tuesday, December 20, 2011

#162 Andrea

Hello.

I would be very grateful to you if you may want to congratulate me on my wonderful video with hx9v.
https://www.wuala.com/Telesilleo_PraxilleoII/Video/?key=HI4CmGROnyIO

evaluation:

sharpness: this is not important…
focus: perfect! 5 stars!
smoothly zoom: perfect! 5 stars!

what do you mean about my video?
very very good ;)

professional reviews tell that the sony is perfect and that she dont need any upgrades. I say the same thing ;)


what is your mark in my video? from 1 (very bad) up to 10 (excellent)
my evaluation is 10!

(I tried the default Movie mode => yellow becomes white,
and SCN: all seven modes).


PS: Please send me your video of your xmas tree with hx9v. Thanks a lot in advance.

10:01 pm - Tuesday, December 20, 2011

#163 Debbie

I have just bought this camera but am considering taking it back. The downloaded photos look just awful. 159KB per photo or thereabouts. Way too much compression. Using the PMB software, does anyone know how I can download these photos without compression, or at least down to 3 to 5 MB per photo, NOT the Kb images I have got so far. What’s with the compression anyway? Surely there should be a RAW format? I didn’t ask about this at the shop because I assumed - clearly wrongly - that this would be an automatic feature on a camera that apparently is compact camera of the year. I could have taken better pictures with a cheap camera from the market, AND downloaded them with a lot less compression than these photos. I can’t believe it. SO disappointing!

4:10 pm - Sunday, December 25, 2011

#164 Brian

Debbie - have you tried using Windows Explorer to download your photos ? If not, connect the camera to your PC USB port, the On/Off LED on the camera will illuminate - press the On/Off button again and the camera screen will display USB Mode - the camera will appear at the bottom of your PC drive listing - when opened up, the photos are displayed in date directories as to when the photos were taken. Photos can be copied either by directory or individually. Stored photos are in .jpg format and usually between 2Mb to 5-6Mb and movies in AVCHD format. If you are not familiar with selecting bulk files/photos, left mouse click on 1st file/photo, hold down Shift key then left mouse key on last file/photo - this highlights all the selected files - then right mouse click and select copy - then paste to required PC directory - done. I always use Windows Explorer to manage my camera downloads.

4:02 am - Monday, December 26, 2011

#165 ephi

Why is it that in most of the stores that camera is “out of stock”?
Any production problem?

11:53 am - Monday, December 26, 2011

#166 Jan

Sony has come on strong with its line of cameras over the past couple of years.  Mirror-less dSLR and the NEX 5n.  Sony seems to be taking it’s commitment to the camera buyer seriously.  Since Sony owns a very small part of the market now it will be interesting to see how they cut into the Canon and Nikon market.

11:58 am - Saturday, December 31, 2011

#167 jkorpi

Prefer that you don´t compare Old Canon SX220 to Sony Hx9 because that Canon model is really old one.

What you should take in comparability is Cannon power Shot s100.. Its way better than SX220 and its in the same category with Sony.
http://snapsort.com/compare/Canon-S100-vs-Canon-SX220-HS

Comparare Cannon power Shot s100 and Sony Hx9v
http://snapsort.com/compare/Canon-S100-vs-Sony-HX9v

11:26 am - Friday, January 6, 2012

#168 CHFels

jkorpi, you couldn’t be more wrong.  The Canon SX220HS and the Sony HX9V are direct competitors in exactly the same class, with the Sony being more expensive because (a) it’s more popular, and (b) it has GPS.  The Canon SX230HS (only sold in some markets) is even closer - it has GPS.  And the SX220HS came out in March 2011, one month AFTER the Sony.

By contrast, the Canon S100 (recent release) is half a year newer than the Sony, has a much more restricted zoom range (5x instead of 16x), has a larger sensor with fewer megapixels, and shoots RAW.  It’s an “enthusiast” model, selling for a premium price, and is not a direct competitor to the HX9v in anybody’s mind.

8:51 pm - Friday, January 6, 2012

#169 Uncle G

CHFels # 168 You are absolutely correct and your comments were perfect!

9:25 pm - Friday, January 6, 2012

#170 jyppiest

The real size of the MP4 videos format is 1920x1080 (1.77). The announced size 1440x1080 (1.33) is false.
Why didn’t you see that in your tests?

11:14 am - Tuesday, January 10, 2012

#171 CHARMAINE VERBEEK

I still remain torn after months of reading reviews.  Want the best point and shoot to take travelling that I can put on automatic that takes the clearest photos in overall any light situations.  Do you recommend the Sony HX9V or the Canon SX230

Thanks for the help

1:40 am - Monday, January 16, 2012

#172 Pennywis3

@CHARMAINE

Same here, read like 100’s of reviews, still don’t know what to buy :)
Also the SX230 and the S9100 cost about 270 euro’s here, while the HX9V is 340 euro’s.
I realy don’t know if its worth the difference in money, i just want sharp indoor/outdoor pics.

7:28 pm - Monday, January 16, 2012

#173 Fabio

To CHARMAINE VERBEEK and Pennywis3

  Since I had the Sx230 and the Nikon S9100 and currently have the HX9V, i think that my opinion can help.
  The Nikon S9100 is a bad camera that succeded a wonderfull camera , the Nikon S8100, focus is a problem and blurred pictures are the norm at long zoom. stabilization is also a problem, it’s interesting that the it is now much cheaper than the less featured Nikon S8200, it’s also a lottery to get a good copy of the S9100, mine was a good one did not froze like others.
  The SX230 is a camera that is good if you don’t do macros, focusing is almost impossible in macros . The flash is very annoing, poping up every time you turn the camera on, the LCD is 16:9 wich is good for movies but if you want to use standard formats for pictures like 3:2 or 4:3 then you get only a small 2 inches LCD to compose, simply ridiculous, as well as battery life.
  The HX9V is a wonderfull (but not perfect) camera that focuses fast and perfectly, has outstanding night modes that stacks a series of photos to create a single one and has the stabilization of a tripod, shooting movies with it is like using a steady cam, the problem is to find one as it is either backordered or discontinued as well as Sony HX100V, that is really starnge cause there’s no sense in discontinuing such sucssesfull products without new models being released.

12:42 am - Tuesday, January 17, 2012

#174 mohamedelarosi

hey guys
i got this camera 2 months ago and i took lots of gr8 pics, but i have a problem most of the pics taken from the sport mode using burst are out of focus, does anyone experienced this problem too???

8:46 pm - Tuesday, January 17, 2012

#175 Fabio

Hi mohamedelarosi
 
This is really a great camera but has some secrets, for instance the flash usually demands white balance to be changed to flash, it’s not automatic , weird !
  Sports mode is not the best choice for burst mode, use P and burst mode of your choice. If pictures are still blurred try to change settings in M mode adjusting speed and ISO in order to freeze the motion. If the object is moving towards you, then the burst mode may not work because autofocus is locked in the first shot, that’s challenging even for DSLRs.

9:24 pm - Tuesday, January 17, 2012

#176 Steve

I purchased the Sony DSC-HX9V several months ago, and I’ve got to say it’s the best compact i’ve had to date. All my pictures have turned out pin sharp and haven’t found anything bad about it yet.

6:10 pm - Wednesday, January 25, 2012

#177 Andrea

@steve:
even with videos by night?

1:05 am - Thursday, January 26, 2012

#178 Brian

Andrea - even with videos by low light/night !!! Learn how to use your camera - you will be surprised !

7:14 am - Thursday, January 26, 2012

#179 Andrea

this were a miracle!! ;)

an entire forum
http://www.hwupgrade.it/forum/showthread.php?t=2313166&page=141

with “professional” user. they are unable too to set the camera in the right mode to get video by night. the last post asks if it is possible to set the focus manually because by night the focus is ok, but if the camera sees light bulbs…
I tried in SCN mode too…
this were a miracle hehe :)

11:38 am - Thursday, January 26, 2012

#180 fire

i think this website should use 10 points for rating. And they often overrate the image quality. This camera definitly not having 4.5 points for image quality, i would give it 3.5/10 or 7/10.
But who knows, maybe this is all about cheap cameras, then the rating is OK…..

6:14 pm - Tuesday, February 7, 2012

#181 Andrea

...until today nobody explained the settings to get the videos by night in focus….

6:18 pm - Tuesday, February 7, 2012

#182 Csaba

Hi All,

if someone is ‘here’, can you please help me?
does hx9v have a ‘built-in’ black and white shoot option? i could not find any info for this.

i love black n white pictures but do not want to create them from full color shoots in my computer afterwards.

if it has a black n white mode, can it be used continuously for each scenes and for the defocused background option also?

many thanks for your help!

11:51 am - Thursday, February 9, 2012

#183 Backpacker

I’m an avid hiker/backpacker looking for a compact digital camera with excellent image quality for outdoor landscape photography in a variety of light conditions, from low light to sunny high contrast. Wide angle is more important to me than high zoom. Movie mode is not essential; still image quality trumps everything. Maybe I need RAW mode, but I don’t want to pay a lot more for features unimportant to me.

Given my priorities, perhaps a travel zoom is not what I’m looking for—but my search led me to the HX9V. My head is spinning with all the choices and conflicting reviews, so I thought I’d reach out to the knowledgable folks in this forum for suggestions and advice. I’m not willing to spend much more than $400; I don’t know much about manual controls, but am willing to invest some time and effort to get the most out of a camera and the scenery I hike miles to reach.

5:29 am - Friday, February 17, 2012

#184 dawing

I use it the same way. Excellent: video, sound/ good: image, zoom,/ do not like: slow, too small power button, poor dust protection, rather complicated menus,

7:30 am - Saturday, February 18, 2012

#185 Christian

Hi backpacker,

I have the Hx9 and it´s very versatile with its long zoom. Goes from 24-384mm. I really like the HDR feature that let´s me take pictures with low light. Also the 1080/50p is great, the best movie/panning in any compact for the moment. However I read some interesting things about the Canon s100. if the zoom range is less important compared to the wide angel. ( from24-120mm) Read the review here or at Dpreview:-)
just my cents from a happy amateur user

7:04 pm - Saturday, February 18, 2012

#186 Sheba

Great reviews for Sony DSC-HX9V I want super zoom. Is this camera ok for beginners?

8:24 pm - Tuesday, February 21, 2012

#187 Uncle Gare

Sheba # 186 this cam is perfect for beginners.  Auto mode is excellent and there are many scene modes to choose from.  You will be amazed with the quality of your pics and videos!  As with any new camera, be sure to spend some time with the electronic user guide and practice how it performs under different conditions so you know what to expect when you’re ready to take that perfect shot!

1:07 am - Wednesday, February 22, 2012

#188 Brian

Backpacker and Christian - I have used this camera extensively touring China and much of Australia - it has produced excellent movies and stills with the odd still being out of focus. I have not used the camera’s Auto settings but set the camera up to a quasi auto mode as below
Shooting Mode   - “P” - Program
ISO         - 100
Sharpness     - + (ie On)
Color Mode     - Real
Color Saturation - Standard
Contrast       - Standard
In very low light, manually adjust the ISO setting for best results.
With this setup, the camera will be forced to use ISO 100(to produce an image with the least “grain”) and adjust the shutter speed & aperture automatically.
This camera has a great wide angle and zoom range - much greater zoom would be difficult to maintain stability or locate a subject. Absence of a OLED screen is the real drawback for full sun photography - hope a new replacement model will address this issue.For backpacking, I would recommend a 64Gb SD XC Class 10 Card and spare batteries - can buy through ebay - hope this helps.

2:14 am - Wednesday, February 22, 2012

#189 Backpacker

After further research I went with the Canon S100 (which has been on my radar for a few weeks). It was more than I wanted to spend, but appears to be the best pocket-size camera for me. It can be used as a P&S but also has manual controls and can shoot in RAW.

I’m heading to southwest Utah in a few weeks (never been there) and am really looking forward to some excellent hiking and hopefully some great pics.

2:55 am - Wednesday, February 22, 2012

#190 Fabio

I was a very happy owner of a Sony HX9v, but with time I decided I had to move on in the pursuit of the “perfect camera”, what for me must be small and easy to carry in my bike rides. I sold my HX9 and acquired a Nikon P7100, not what I expected, sold it in 2 weeks, then I got a Canon G12, better than Nikon but pictures are so flat and lack life, sold it too. I got a Fuji x10, that’s an excellent camera with DSLR quality and incredible low light performance but macros are not that special and size is a problem for me , but I’m keeping this one. Yesterday I bought another HX9 and now I’m happy again, what a wonderfull camera ! Really essential.

10:20 pm - Friday, February 24, 2012

#191 Dreamspinner3

I currently own a Canon PowerShot SD1100 IS which has 3x optical zoom.  I’ve been a dedicated Canon user for years but the reviews on the Canon PowerShot SX230 don’t seem that great to me & the annoying flash popping up all the time would bug me.

I would like to get a compact superzoom camera that takes nice pictures inside & out—people, pets, landscapes, wildlife.  I would also like to learn how to use the manual shooting options that any camera has to offer.

I’m assuming I’d be very happy going from Canon PowerShot SD1100 IS which has 8MP to the Sony Cyber-Shot HX9V or is their a better camera out there?  I’d like 12x zoom or better if possible. 

Thanks.

11:45 pm - Friday, February 24, 2012

#192 Lschre

Strange that hardly any review comments om Photo’s that have been taken with the flash. My Sony HX9V makes terrible flash-pictures of faces. The colors are red an the contrast is terrible hard. In the display these Photo’s appeare to be very light, with faces looking white and red.
Nice for taking pictures outside, terrible for flashphoto’s inside.
A small solution is to make these photo’s in the P-modus and putting the WB on ‘flash’.

12:18 pm - Saturday, February 25, 2012

#193 kevin

You mention a “drive mode button” in your review but I cant find any other reference to it.  Where is it?

10:42 pm - Wednesday, February 29, 2012

#194 Jen

After much research, I finally decided the Sony HX9 was the camera I wanted (compact camera with big zoom that provides good quality images). Unfortunately, I researched what’s coming down the pike, and came across references to the Nikon Coolpix S9300, the Canon PowerShot SX260 HS and the Panasonic Lumix DMC-ZS20, all of which have bigger zooms, more features and are supposed to be available later this month. However, no useful reviews are available yet. I decided to wait and see.

This morning I came across the Sony for $299 (Canadian dollars), and full $100 cheaper than it was last week.

Hence the dilemma… Do I wait for something I’m not sure will be much (if any) of an improvement, or go for what seems to be a good deal?

Any advice?

3:07 pm - Friday, March 2, 2012

#195 Jenben

After much research, I finally decided the Sony HX9 was the camera I wanted (compact camera with big zoom that provides good quality images). Unfortunately, I researched what’s coming down the pike, and came across references to the Nikon Coolpix S9300, the Canon PowerShot SX260 HS and the Panasonic Lumix DMC-ZS20, all of which have larger zooms and new features, and are supposed to be available later this month. However, no useful reviews are available yet. I decided to wait and see.

This morning I came across the Sony for $299 (Canadian dollars), and full $100 cheaper than it was last week.

Hence the dilemma… Do I wait for something I’m not sure will be much (if any) of an improvement, or go for what seems to be a good deal?

Any advice?

3:32 pm - Friday, March 2, 2012

#196 mark0alex@hotmail.com

Im interested in this camera but i want to know the real fps video record because some web pages and videos on youtube apears 60p and in the sony oficial page says 50p.

Many thaks to any that answers my question

9:55 pm - Monday, March 5, 2012

#197 RANJAN

HI ALL,
CAN ANY ONE ENLIGHTEN ME AS TO HOW I CAN SEE THE VIDEOS WITHOUT BUFFERING.MY PC HAS XP PROFESSIONAL & ONLY 1 GB RAM.
WILL INCREASING THE RAM RESOLVE THIS PROBLEM?
CAN I RECORD VIDEO’S BEYOND 25 MINUTES AT A STRECH?
I FULLY AGREE ABOUT THE UNUSUAL QUALITY UPON USE OF FLASH .

7:09 am - Saturday, March 17, 2012

#198 Jerry

Interesting to real all the comments re image quality. For those championing the Nikon S9100, what’s the point in having ostensibly superior image quality, if what you mostly get - as a result of a very poor auto-focus system (check out some of the Internet discussion groups) - is consistently out-of-focus shots? From what I’ve read, there is a serious flaw in the Nikon S9100 focussing, and Nikon doesn’t seem to care one bit. (Don’t get me wrong, I own a D700 and love it, but I’m not so confident about Nikon’s care and love for the point-and-shoot end of the market).

2:52 pm - Monday, March 19, 2012

#199 Fabio

To Jerry

  I had the Nikon 9100 before I got the HX9 , because of the excellent Nikon S8100 ( I was a Nikon guy too). It was a big mistake, focus was very problematic, and mine came even with a dirty sensor ( nothing big but it was there). The Sony HX9 is a wonderfull camera, focus is fast and precise , if you don’t get the right focus, anything else is useless. But now it’s been discontinued, hope that the new models bring only improvements.

1:59 pm - Tuesday, March 20, 2012

#200 Jerry

Hey, Fabio! Thanks for that. That’s great to hear - about the HX9V (not your bad luck with the 9100)! My daughter recently broke her point-and-shoot, and stole my Powershot, which I used as a backup (and which she has always coveted!). :) I was looking for an inexpensive good replacement point-and-shoot. The discussion here has made up my mind. I just picked it up on eBay for a great sale price. I was somewhat surprised by the results of a comparison of travel zooms done by dpreview: they scored and recommended the 9100 alongside the Canon for picture quality (and overall). But judging by the test pictures, I have to say side-by-side the HX9V looked better than the Nikon to me, and as good as the Canon.

2:36 pm - Tuesday, March 20, 2012

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, review, 1080p, wide-angle, 16 megapixel, test, sony, travel-zoom, travel, 24mm, 10fps, travel zoom, GPS, cybershot, panorama, 3D, 16x zoom, hx9, hx9v, dsc-hx9v, dsc hx9v, Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX9V Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry