Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX9V Review

5.0
June 15, 2011 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

230 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#201 Sergio

I bought an HX9V in Jun 2011 and I canĀ“t help to say it has been one of the best buys I’ever done!

Wonderful pictures (even in low light conditions), superb video quality, long lasting battery life and very intuitive controls.

In some indoor conditions it is true that colours are a little bit red, but it is a matter of being patience when setting the different options of the camera.

The new 2012 model (Sony DSC HX20V) announces a 20X zoom and 18 megapixels… perhaps not enought to justify an expected much higher price.

11:32 am - Wednesday, March 21, 2012

#202 Jerry Dohnal

I went out on the weekend to play around with the camera. So far I’m very happy with the performance. I’ve posted 2 shots in my flickr stream (more to come).

http://www.flickr.com/photos/jaroslavd/6871409392/in/photostream

http://www.flickr.com/photos/jaroslavd/6871425782/in/photostream

3:07 pm - Monday, March 26, 2012

#203 Bill

My pictures with the DSC-HX9 camera are distorted at the edges, with people appearing wider than they actually are. Is there some way to fix this?

1:20 am - Tuesday, March 27, 2012

#204 Jerry Dohnal

Bill, without seeing an example of the distortion you are talking about, it’s difficult to say. Generally you will get some distortion when shooting at the widest setting (24mm). Whether or not it’s acceptable depends on the subject. For people you may want to step back and zoom in a little. Narrower focal lengths are more commonly used for portrait photography.

10:10 am - Tuesday, March 27, 2012

#205 Bill

Jerry,
Thanks so much for your comments. May I contact you by email to send you some examples? I would greatly appreciate it to know whether the problem is my photography or a defective camera. My email is .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address).
Bill

11:51 am - Tuesday, March 27, 2012

#206 Levent Bey

To Bill,

Your camera is not defective mine is also same. Wide angel causes that distortion. So you pay a lot for the camera and get abnormal faces and weird geometrical glitches. That’s why I hate my camera. If you shoot a dinner with your family you’ll get eclipse glasses, fat faces. If there’s a TV on background it will also look weird.
If you step back and zoom to 1.5x:
1- You disable the wide angle and it seems ok
2- ISO level will increase so you’ll see more ISO noise.
Conclusion:
Wide angle is a kind of ****.

3:16 pm - Tuesday, March 27, 2012

#207 Scallywag

Levent Bey

You clearly don’t understand optics.

Obviously wide angle distorts, as does telephoto by flattening or foreshortening.  That’s why portraits are usually taken around 135mm equivalent.

The “wide angle” you complain about will inherently distort the photo but allow you to get a landscape photo that you couldn’t step back far enough to take with a standard lens.  The same with your dinner shot.  So you either accept the distortion or take it at a “non distorting” aspect of around 50mm equivalent and lose half the room.  Or get a bigger house.

The point is, YOU have the choice whether or not to use the wide angle offered on your camera, it isn’t compulsory, and just a couple of years ago most point & shoots started at 35mm so the distortion wasn’t so noticeable as the new ones at 24mm.  All the new models are similar now, so try to understand the physics of it rather than say wide angle is ****

9:43 pm - Tuesday, March 27, 2012

#208 Andrea

ohhhhh wonderfull!
I remained without words ;)
finally!!!

the hx20v resolves **all the issues** with hx9v: all!!!

fotos:
- NR rewritten (in the past you did need to resize 16MP to 10MP otherwise you got aquarellen as in the painting) no more aggressive NR, due to too hight sensor
- no artifacts until 800iso.
(despite the 18MP)

[[[the one and only criticism:
**occasionally** when you take fotos of the sun you may get red flare, as by the professional machines. occasionally. workaround: set 2x zoom in the foto ;) ]]]

videos:
no jumpiness in the zoom in/out
stabilizator during zoom (as were a steady cam)
stabilizator without zoom too, amelioraments.
25mm instead of 24mm => no distorsions!! and super panning (but panning was good with hx9v too)
zoom 20x
macro 1cm (astonished) ;)
micro usb cable (no more sony cable!)
the same battery

=> excellent SHARPNESS by night (fast as the **cx730**!!!!!!! much better than pana 800!!!!)
=> and….finally…. resolved the ***defocus in lowlight*** now the focus looks excellent by night too.

this is the PERFECT compact camera (I think that this is not a compact ;) ))) and a fast professional videocamera!!!

congratulations to Sony for the excellent job. all the issues of hx9v has been fully resolved + a lot amelioraments.
I guess that it will be not possible to get other amelioraments in the future for a “compact”.

4:36 pm - Wednesday, May 2, 2012

#209 Brian

Andrea - yes it is good to see the improvements to the Sony DXC-HX9V in the new HX-20V, however there is still room for inexpensive improvements.

There is an urgent need for a better LCD - the existing LCD is almost impossible to use in full sunlight - LCDs in many marine GPS units (eg Raymarine) have much better full sun capability - not to mention the excellent HTC mobile screen which is an OLED.
With the camera having excellent movie capability, I use large storage cards (64Gb) and would like to see USB3 functionality as a standard communication medium. USB2, although still widely used by camera manufacturers, should be consigned to obsolence as downloads using USB3 is MUCH quicker and laptop manufacturers are increasingly offering USB3 as a standard - and USB3 is backwards compatible with USB2.

4:07 am - Friday, May 4, 2012

#210 Andrea

Hi Brian.

you are right.
in full sun light, ok, it is very hard to use the lcd display.

I have a class 10 32GB and I put the card into the pc directly (seen as internal hdd). my pc doesnt have usb3 support.
but you are right, usb3 is good.

the hx20v is wonderful, and I think that the video (low light too) are comparable with the cx730 (!).
=> criticism:
the zoom 20x (different mechanic, better stability staedy active) sounds louder than in the hx9v (zzzzzzz), please set the volume of the microphone to LOW.

I am very happy with this juwel :))))
thanks.

9:34 pm - Sunday, May 6, 2012

#211 George Streissguth

Thank you very much. Is there a non-glare cover or shield available for the LCD in full sun?
Do you have a comparison/recommendation between the Sony HX20V, the Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ30 / ZS20?
I’d also like to compare these to the slightly more expensive (and larger) Nikon Coolpix P510 and the Sony HX200V. Do you have a personal favorite?

12:41 am - Tuesday, May 8, 2012

#212 Najla

Am about to buy a camera this month and am really stuck on which one to buy. I like editing my photo’s so scene mode/effects is important to me as well as gps, zoom, quality.

Am stuck between the:

Sony HX9V

Nikon S9300

fujifilm finepix f600

please can someone help me out by choosing one of these three for me- which would you recommend.

2:37 pm - Thursday, May 10, 2012

#213 Vinod Kumar

I brought SONY HX9V in November 2011. It is a good Camera with a lot of features

The Camera works good in daylight , but at night it somehow adds its own colors after processing. When I went to buy SONY camera at Croma Store, I tried the CANON as well.  I focussed the CANON Camera on an Orange color wall ,and the image was same as the Orange color wall.

When I shot the same Orange color wall with the SONY Camera, it added some of its color during processing and the Orange color wall came up as somewhat “red color” in the image. I could see the difference in image captured by SONY and CANON. Here CANON really stood better than SONY, but I was bend on taking the SONY based on its features

The sweep panaroma, HD recording all are quite good

The battery costs around 2500 Rs , if you are planning to buy a second battery for backup on long tours

A 16GB memory card of SONY costs 5000 Rs, Since it was too costly, I brought a Transend 16 GB card for 1500 Rs. I still have the 16 GB memory card in my camera and it works good.

SONY provides 4 GB of external memory card when you buy the SONY camera

I didn’t try the 3D feature

So if you are planning to buy a camera and want natural colors then go for CANON, but if you want a camera which can take decent pictures and has a lot of features then go for SONY.

2:03 pm - Monday, June 11, 2012

#214 Fabio

For more natural colors use R (real) in color modes , if using flash, change the white balance to flash, white balance can be fine tuned to match any situation. I sold my HX9 to get the new Canon SX260 and I regret that, Overall the HX9 is a much better camera , Canon still can’t make a sweep panorama ! the new models are even better and I intend to get the HX30 as soon as possible, the new HDR modes are fantastic, hope it performs as well as my HX200 but in a pocket size because that’s exactly what happened with the HX9 /HX100 cameras.
  The problem with these top of the line compact cameras is that they are so full of features that it’s not easy to get the best from them, you really need to know the camera and photography ,  even with Auto modes from Sony being the best sometimes only manual mode will get the picture you want.

2:31 pm - Monday, June 11, 2012

#215 Sveyo

Guys, the HX9V was an excellent camera and it may be still is for some, but it seems that the DSC-HX10V makes everything just a bit better, that’s why it is my current N1 pocket camera.

12:34 am - Friday, June 15, 2012

#216 Lori

I initially was excited about purchasing the Canon SX260.  I have a Canon A470 and I’ve really liked it, except the zoom just isn’t enough.  My old camera was a Minolta Maxxuum which I really loved, but it’s too big to carry around!  So when I rec’d the Canon as a gift, the Minolta hasn’t come out of it’s bag!
Now it’s time to upgrade, but should I consider this Sony?  Video isn’t really important, the zoom and clear pics is.  Anyone?

1:05 am - Tuesday, August 7, 2012

#217 Fabio

To Lori
If you read my comment #214, my experience with the SX260 wasn’t very good, and I regret selling my HX9 to get the Canon, I sold it and got the new Panasonic ZS20, a very good camera , liked it very much, but when I tried the new HX30v I sold the Panasonic and now I’m happy.
  The new Sonys HX20v and the HX30v are the same camera, only wifi is added in the HX30v and I strongly recommend it over the HX9,  many improvements were made, outstanding macro, scene modes, HDR modes, better resolution and image quality, a much better flash, zoom and high quality digital zoom, better low light performance too. I dare to say it replaces my HX200, don’t feel the need to carry a big camera anymore. It’s more expensive, but worth every cent. Good luck !

2:26 am - Tuesday, August 7, 2012

#218 Stilian

I myself like the Cyber-Shot DSC-HX10V as the ultimate travel zoom camera. Of course it is not perfect and the older model HX9V performs better in some occasions. I also like the Canon SX260 as a good alternative to Sony’s cameras. Here is one of the good Sony DSC-HX10V reviews http://forconsumers.blogspot.com/2012/05/sony-cyber-shot-dsc-hx10v-review.html

9:22 am - Tuesday, August 7, 2012

#219 pankaj bhatti

awsome camera for video…I have made short films on it…this is the link if you want to preview quality

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XGNhvOcJCZM&feature=youtube_gdata_player

7:57 am - Sunday, October 7, 2012

#220 HX9V

The camera has very high resolution, so it is very important.

6:43 pm - Wednesday, January 9, 2013

#221 hx9v

the camera has very high resolution. so, it will help professional photographers to get the detailed image.

6:55 pm - Wednesday, January 9, 2013

#222 Neil

-
I recently put this together using HD footage from the
HX9V. For the ease of use, size and price I think the
camera is superb, best point and shoot I’ve used lately.
-
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=crYh2jyTmVc
-
Definitely recommended.

5:04 pm - Wednesday, January 30, 2013

#223 Ana

this camera is awful. I bought her in less than a year and I already had to take her twice into sony’s office. Apparently the big zoom has a handicap and when you open it some dirt can enter. for me happen twice and in the last time they cant fixed her. I’m gonna try have a refund.

1:36 pm - Saturday, February 16, 2013

#224 Janet

I bought the DSC-HX9V in December 2011 because of the reviews. I was concerned that many photos were blurred, but assumed it was because I was not used to it and it would get better as I acclamated. Unfortunately it did not and now it needs repair because it’s stuck on ‘turn the power off and on again’. This happened when I needed it most, at the birth of my grandson! I have also own a DSC-W80(since 2007)and it still works also I own a Sony SR200 Handycam. I am deeply disappointed in this camera. Unfortunately I relied on my prior experience with Sony’s quality and I did not purchase the extended warranty. I have never understood why you need to worry that an expensive camera would malfunction after only 14 months. Has anyone dealt with an issue like this>

1:42 pm - Sunday, February 24, 2013

#225 Brian

In reference to Janet’s comments.
I have had a DSC-HX9V and a DSC-HX20V. The DSC-HX9V was a very good camera and produced in focus images most of the time. Do you press the shutter release button half way to focus before pressing all the way to activate the shutter ? If you rush a shot by pressing the shutter release button fully (without a distinct pause to permit the camera to focus) this would result in blurred/out of focus images. Having stated this, you could have a fault. I hope your Sony service experience is better than mine in Australia - terrible !
I have had my DSC-HX9V and DSC-HX20V in for faults - I strongly recommend that prospective Sony camera buyers purchase an extended warranty as it is highly likely that it will be needed.

2:02 am - Monday, February 25, 2013

#226 Gulyopapa

Exept video quality this is a crap ... very bad IQ, very bad WB, very hard NR, very noisy pictures even at ISO 100, etc
I got one for 18 month but I will sell it soon ...
The review is lieing concerning IQ excellent !!!
IQ is POOR !!!

7:54 pm - Tuesday, March 26, 2013

#227 Mat

Please could some one suggest an ideal sized case for a Sony Cyber-Shot DSC-HX9V Digital Camera. I am needing something that is robust, in the past i have used Crumpler though am struggling to find something as solid and bomb-proof in a small enough size. Any help would be great as I am unnecessarily battering my camera!

1:50 am - Wednesday, July 3, 2013

#228 Tim Quigley

Just found one in a pawn shop for $125.00. I’ve got mostly Sony DSLRs and several of their bridge cameras like the R1 and F828, too. Still use them all along with my 16MP Sony DSLRs. But this camera is a mind-blower. It’s awesome..fun..professional results in a tiny form package. I had to increase the image sharpness in camera as it’s just too soft straight out of the camera. But other than that..it’s amazing. The thing that is so different about it for me is all the fun programs it does so easily like Smile/Face Detection..Panorama and so many others. My shooting style gets very free with this camera. Get one if you can.

6:15 am - Monday, August 5, 2013

#229 Trevor Goodman

Is it possible with this camera to retrieve a video that has been deleted in error?
Comments would be appreciated please
Thanks

6:12 pm - Thursday, September 5, 2013

#230 Robert Butler

This is a great product but has a MAJOR flaw in that it has no view finder.

This makes using it outside in strong sunlight virtually impossible, as you do not see exactly what you are shooting.

I will never, ever buy another camera without an optical view finder.

7:23 am - Monday, April 14, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, review, 1080p, wide-angle, 16 megapixel, test, sony, travel-zoom, travel, 24mm, 10fps, travel zoom, GPS, cybershot, panorama, 3D, 16x zoom, hx9, hx9v, dsc-hx9v, dsc hx9v, Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX9V Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry