Sony Cyber-shot DSC-QX10 Review

3.5
September 19, 2013 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

14 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Bill Binns

Stopped reading after “You can’t set the ISO speed or exposure compensation manually”

I thought this may be the first Sony product I would purchase in over a decade but the lack of control (especially over ISO) is a complete deal killer. One of the benefits of the camera being attached to a smart phone should be more control and more possibilities not less.

This thing will probably be just another weird Sony product that didn’t take off. If it does sell, Canon or Nikon will make a version for photographers (not sure who the Sony product is aimed at).

2:07 pm - Thursday, September 19, 2013

#2 JJ

Bill, I agree with you, which is why im waiting to read the review of their pro version the Sony QX100. Which is supposed to have more controls then the entry level QX10.

12:08 pm - Friday, September 20, 2013

#3 Brian

I was very surprised to see a built-in flash mentioned in the review. Every other review I’ve seen says there is no flash. Is this a mistake?

7:07 pm - Wednesday, September 25, 2013

#4 Warren

I bought it, and its a huge disappointment and it is going back.  There is no manual included which discusses the differences in between Intelligent mode, Program mode and Superior Image mode.  The date/time function does not synch with the iPhone and all dates are now January, 2013.  The Play memories app is horrible and there is a huge lag time from when you press the shutter button to when the picture is taken.  SONY claims, that you hit the “RESET” button to reset to factory, but the reset button is non-existent on this model.  Over all and epic failure on SONY’s part.  Maybe they will get the bugs worked out for the 2nd generation model.

12:05 pm - Monday, September 30, 2013

#5 Marijke

Warren is right in every aspect, and still: I like ti! It is fun to play with, I do not mind the fat that I cannot set the ISO, but I also think it is ridiculous that I cannot sync the date with my iPohne. The Play Memories App is indeed below every standard, but I have hopes they will update it soon.
So please Sony: listen to the users and update the App as soon as possible!

6:36 am - Saturday, October 5, 2013

#6 Tony Dymoke-Bradshaw

It does have manual exposure compensation up to ±2 stops.
It does have a reset button, it’s in the battery compartment.

It does lag. It struggles in the presence of other wifi networks.
It’s a nuisance on an iPhone having to swap wifi networks just to talk to the phone, shame they couldn’t use BlueTooth, perhaps there’s not enough bandwidth.

It’s very light and as I carry my iPhone anyway, the extra weight to get a fairly good image in microscopic.

It’s a shame one can’t access it or even its files from a desktop machine. I can connect to it and ping it but no apps recognise it as a camera.

The macro is good.
I’m told it will only do 200 pictures per charge, we’ll see. That could be a limitation.

The manual is pretty useless. I had problems because it needed permission to access my photo album. No mention of this is given in the manual.
If you decline to allow this on first use then you have to go to your privacy settings for photos and set it to accept requests from the app.

I tried the considerably more expensive QX100 in the shop. It has a much faster lens but it’s more than twice the price. I need to see if the QX10 is as useful as I thought it would be before moving up to it.

 

2:43 pm - Thursday, October 17, 2013

#7 Don

I’ve read quite a bit here (just won a QX10 in a raffle) and from what I can see, it looks like we can sum up the entire review results in one word: BETAMAX.

7:49 am - Tuesday, November 5, 2013

#8 Brian

Why does this review mention the built in flash works well.  That seems like it is a template that is used for every review and makes me start to doubt some of the info.

3:23 pm - Wednesday, December 4, 2013

#9 Tony Dymoke-Bradshaw

Further to my previous post.
With an iPhone one has to use wifi and this flattens the battery quickly. Got to the top of a mountain and no battery left. Maybe 20 pictures.
The wifi lag is terrible. The wifi can’t cope well with other wifi networks around.
Every time you come out of the app it has to reconnect - more delay.
Takes some nice pictures but I could not possibly recommend this if it is to be used with an iPhone. With an android OS things get better (I am told). The iPhone can’t use bluetooth for anything except headphones. Not true of other platforms.

3:10 pm - Thursday, December 12, 2013

#10 The Tim Channel

There is a new upgraded app for the QX-10 that has just been released that addresses some of the issues raised here.  I can’t comment on it because I haven’t gotten mine in yet.  It’s due in tomorrow.  Even with the limitations, I couldn’t resist getting one for 144 Euro.  If I paid any more than that I’d go ahead and invest in a cheap DLSR.  Enjoy.

10:35 pm - Thursday, December 26, 2013

#11 Marijke

Yes the update of the app PlayMemoriesMobile is quite good: faster, better connection, time set ok now, and connection is stable.i am getting very attached tot t,he Sony qx 10!

8:34 am - Friday, December 27, 2013

#12 Nancy

I think this camera speaks of great potential. It’s a start. To answer a question raised, it’s clearly not aimed at “photographers”. It’s for the masses. The masses and masses and masses of humans who have smartphones. Pretty much all of them. Too bad this one, and its software, is a bit of a weak start. But the potential is huge when (not if) they sort out the performance issues. They will. Huge, I say. I promise you, everyone is chasing Sony on this one. Good for Sony. Watch your back for Samsung and Google though. Whoever nails it first, and markets it right, is going to sell a boatload.

5:44 pm - Wednesday, January 15, 2014

#13 Patricia

Totally agree that it is not for photographers.. however I do not think it is for the masses either.
This product is a good option for those in between… I love take photos but I can’t be bothered with carrying my DSLR everywhere. So I call myself as a smartphone photgrapher.

Based on that when It was time to get an upgrade on my phone.. I chose the Xperia Z1 only because of the camera quality. NOthing else. I had been an iphone person all my life and hated the idea of an android phone. (Still not convinced).

However for the camera.. it is amazing! So the QX10 is a nice addition to it. It works perfectly fine on a Xperia Z1 phone. The interface and everything that does not work on an iphone works on the Xperia.

It is a brilliant concept, it is small and compact and connects straight away. Does what it says on the box.

For those like me who are smartphone photographers this is a perfect solution.

6:56 am - Tuesday, May 27, 2014

#14 Daniel

I take DSC-QX10 for what it is a optical zoom lens to my iPhone 6 plus. I can live with the delays there is with a WIFI operated camera and I had discover how difficult it can be to use it freehand, because eye hand coordination is not trained to work through a screen on a mobile, It is our brains there is the problem with this camera and for the majority of people they don´t like to be challenge and will conclude it is the camera there is the problem.

5:14 am - Thursday, November 6, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, review, 720p, beginner, wi-fi, wireless, full hd, wifi, 10x zoom, smartphone, 18 megapixel, 10x, 10x lens, smart lens, lens-sensor module, lens camera, qx10, Sony QX10, Sony DSC-QX10, Sony Cyber-shot DSC-QX10, dsc-qx10

Tracker Pixel for Entry