Sony Cyber-shot DSC-RX100 II Review

4.5
August 29, 2013 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

27 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Rick

The previous model was good (I own one)and this one is better. I would love to buy it but the camera and controls are too small and fidgety, like it was made for a child’s hands. Where does a man go to buy a compact camera?

11:49 am - Thursday, August 29, 2013

#2 Blog Photos

I would really put in use those 32 gb !
—————————
http://blogphotos.eu

12:55 pm - Thursday, August 29, 2013

#3 Paul

I often look forward to Photography Blog reviews, but the lack of any high ISO sample shots makes this review useless. What were you thinking?

1:12 pm - Thursday, August 29, 2013

#4 Robo-2k

The IQ still isn’t on par with the Coolpix A, which, to me, is the best compact camera that (any) money can buy.

7:42 pm - Thursday, August 29, 2013

#5 WMU

Paul, you’re right. I miss also the various ISO ranges and do not want to see a bunch of photos with the same motives, Range and ISO. But I like the raw files for real comparisons

7:07 am - Friday, August 30, 2013

#6 Ummar

cool… looking forward to buy it. Thanks

11:04 am - Friday, August 30, 2013

#7 Cody

I got myself one of these on pre-order (http://www.squidoo.com/sony-rx100m-ii-and-sony-rx1r-price-and-review - although of course now you can buy them!) and it is phenomenal.  I’m with WMU - I too like the raw files for comparison… but I found a really great rundown of the cameras on the release video with Olivia Esperanza on the site above, and it was pretty helpful.

12:03 pm - Tuesday, September 3, 2013

#8 Snapaul

Your review product specs for the Sony RX100II is showing the same dimensions as for the Sony RX100. Surely this is incorrect, bearing in mind the added tilting sceen etc?

10:38 am - Thursday, September 19, 2013

#9 Camera Geek

Love this camera, although I find it a little small. Here’s a telling image (and feature comparison) of this camera side by side with the Canon G1X (bulkiest) and the Fuji X20 (mid sized): http://savvyreviewer.com/sony-rx100ii-vs-canon-g1x-vs-fujifilm-x20

4:54 pm - Sunday, November 3, 2013

#10 iluminator

THE FACT ON SONY RX 100 M2

5:41 pm - Monday, November 11, 2013

#11 Rob M

Just bought this camera, can say i am most happy with it. Low light performance is excellent. If anyone has any questions just ask me and i will try to answer them.

12:34 pm - Saturday, November 23, 2013

#12 zodoor

What does clear image zoom mean? optical and digital?

3:13 am - Wednesday, November 27, 2013

#13 Jeff

Im really pleased with my RX100II. Had an NEX-5 previously but found that a bit inconvenient size wise. One of the best things I’ve found with the RX100II is using the Electronic Viewfinder which makes it feel like a ‘proper’ camera. Its a bit expensive but makes a massive difference when composing an image.

11:00 am - Wednesday, November 27, 2013

#14 Dave

Clear image zoom uses a clever interpolation algorithm to gives good results (between optical and digital zoom quality) for a limited range of zoom beyond the purely optical zoom.

12:37 am - Tuesday, December 3, 2013

#15 Jay

I am considering to get either the Sony RX100II or the Olympus Stylus 1. Any suggestions?

2:41 pm - Wednesday, December 4, 2013

#16 Naveen

Is this camera enabled for wifi direct? I tried connecting it to Bravia TV using wifi direct but was not successful. Can anyone share their experience on this issue?

4:36 pm - Wednesday, December 4, 2013

#17 Giles

Just got one of these after reading the reviews. Surprisingly small and v solid. Photos look great, I paid £ 385 from a site called value basket. Very happy with it so far.

12:37 am - Tuesday, January 14, 2014

#18 manny

video question,
any recommendation to get the very best video out of this camera, should i shoot avchd and then con vert to mp4 or shoot direct mp4 for maximum quality. I know avchd get the max quality but it won’t play on my tv.

thanks
manny

2:38 pm - Sunday, March 30, 2014

#19 harihari

?

1:02 am - Monday, April 7, 2014

#20 hari

1. LCD Monitor was dark;
  at indoor, if monitor brightness set in level 0;
  is too dark; it’s hard too see detail that we
  will take.
  So we must set in level 2 (max); and it"s okay.
  And now;
  when we will take in Daylight Outdoor;
  and the Dirrect Sunlight: we can"t set up the mo
  nitor again, because level 2 is max level.
 

6:57 pm - Monday, May 12, 2014

#21 hari

2. Sony RX.100 didn’t have good shuter push button.
  We hard to hold the half press; to make focus
  lock. Suddenly they was shot as we didn’t want it.
  It’s too soo short and inconsistenly push button
  switch.
  I didn’t understand why Sony RX.100 used non qua
  lified importat part in his expensive premium
  product. ?  ?

7:17 pm - Monday, May 12, 2014

#22 hari

2. Sony RX.100 m2 used non qualified shutter push
  button switch.
  We hard to hold to make half press for focus
  locking. They often shutted as we didn’t want it.
  Too short and consistently shuter push button
  switch.
  so we can’comfort to lock focus.
  it need extra consentration.
  I didn’t understand why Sony used non qualified
  pushbutton switch for this
  Expensive and Premium Product ? ?

7:34 pm - Monday, May 12, 2014

#23 hari

2. Sony RX.100 M2 used non qualified shuter push
  push button.

7:40 pm - Monday, May 12, 2014

#24 hari

3. 5.cm minimum distance for MACRO mode.
  nothing to do with 5.cm min distance for MACRO.
  2.cm is minimum distace for ideal MACRO.
  This camera was lost for this purpose for the
  Multi purpose Premium Compact Camera.

8:41 pm - Tuesday, May 13, 2014

#25 hari

4. Non ‘CLICK’ , non RATHETING Lens RING DIAL.
  It’s need more twisty angle to turn the ring
  dial.
  It’s very not comfort.
  We lost camera grip control, cause too much
  twisty hand to turn Ring Lens Dial.

8:55 pm - Tuesday, May 13, 2014

#26 Matthias

Keep in mind the poor build quality of the Sony DSC product line! Semi pro functionality doesn’t mean good construction quality. The semi pro cameras by Canon/Nikon last way much longer. My Sony DSC-RX100 had an issue with the control wheel after only 18 months of use and Sony refuses to repair it within warranty. My other Sony DSC also had issues with the buttons.

12:20 pm - Thursday, July 3, 2014

#27 Dan

I have the olympue e-pm2 and this one.
I love the macro here much better and there are much fewer lens distortions.
In general (though you can hear some bad reviews here in the comments) I am very glad with the purchase.
Currently it is on a sale with a bag and 32GB Ultra sd for $399(refurb). I paid for it originally around the $600 (without the card and bag).
link to deal:
http://dealmacher.com/seller/sony-cyber-shot-rx100m2-wi-fi-digital-camera-32-gb-refurb/

7:18 pm - Saturday, September 13, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, review, 1080p, wide-angle, test, wi-fi, sony, wireless, wifi, 10fps, tilting, 28mm, 20 megapixel, nfc, cybershot, tilt, f1.8, panorama, tiltable, 24p, 25p, 3.6x zoom, rx100 ii, dsc rx100 ii, dsc-rx100 ii, Sony Cyber-shot DSC-RX100 II Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry