Sony Cyber-shot DSC-RX100 III Review

June 16, 2014 | Mark Goldstein | |

Your Comments

35 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Glen

Sony certainly seem to have raised the bar recently, releasing some pretty awesome camera’s in a number of different categories.  The only problem is I won’t spend circa £700 on a compact.

5:50 pm - Monday, June 16, 2014

#2 Mike

Seriously…an ‘essential’ rating. 4/5 for value for money.
Well I suppose your ‘review’ was money well spent by $ony.
This will be DOA just like the PS Vita.

7:04 pm - Monday, June 16, 2014

#3 Hugh

The 24-70mm lens is a deal killer for me. The old 24-120mm is more versatile even if slower.

7:15 pm - Monday, June 16, 2014

#4 Tinall

This is what the Canon G1X or even G1X II should have been.  Sony is on a roll and still has no direct competition with Canon still trying to guess what they should come up with and are behind the curve.

Nikon and Panasonic will soon have a 1” compact camera so competition is growing…mainly Sony, though also along with Fuji, Panasonic, and Nikon are the drivers while Canon and Olympus are in the backseat.

7:32 pm - Monday, June 16, 2014

#5 Steve

Ahhh Mike, don’t be doom and gloomed :-(

It will be ok, now go take your brand new RX100 III and start taking pictures. :-)

7:40 pm - Monday, June 16, 2014

#6 Fraz

@Hugh that is the Canon S100 lens you are comparing with the older RX100 is 28-100 so the new rev III is wider but shorter and faster

8:19 pm - Monday, June 16, 2014

#7 malleus

Mike is probably just a pissy Canon fanboy.

8:47 pm - Monday, June 16, 2014

#8 Mary

Hugh, what are you talking about? The RX100 I or II never had a 24-120mm????

10:44 pm - Monday, June 16, 2014

#9 derek

I enjoy the reviews, and with the electronic viewfinder added to the Sony, it seems like a neat camera. But I’ve never figured out how image quality is evaluated to provide consistency across reviews. Is the methodology published on the site somewhere? The 5 given here seems high, so I guess it must be relative to snapshot/compact cameras, and exclude other sub full-frame sensor cameras.

3:36 am - Tuesday, June 17, 2014

#10 Philbert

Plucked up the courage and raided the bank to put my order in - due for delivery Thursday. Just hope it’s not a big expensive mistake. I’m not a good photographer, but just enjoy taking good quality photos even if the composition isn’t great. Have a Nex5N with the EVF but it seems to spend most of its time with the 18-55 and is not quite what you have in your pocket for that magic moment. Hoping this will do the job, but UK price is certainly eye watering @ £699.

7:14 am - Tuesday, June 17, 2014

#11 Marc

The portrait picture shows that the RX100 M3 has the same focus issues as the RX100 “M1” and the RX1R. It focuses on the side of the image (ears) instead of at the eyes (even if you focus with one central focus point). It seems to prioritize on long vertical lines, i.e. focuses on the contrast difference between the face and background.

I would have loved if Sony would have adapted their focus strategy.

10:44 am - Tuesday, June 17, 2014

#12 Rob

Decided to purchase the RX100 Mark I. It can already be bought for as little as 350 euro’s. On it’s introduction the RX100 was hailed as a secondary camera for those who don’t want to carry around with their DSLR’s all the time, but still want to make excellent pictures. Due to the price drop, while the camera itself is still one of the best out there, it has actually become an interesting buy for those who are buying a first camera and feel that image quality and compactness are the two main criteria.

11:54 am - Tuesday, June 17, 2014

#13 Michael Kaplan

It is great that you put out the review and early but there are a lot of mistakes. I can see that your review was taken from the older models and duplicated but you need to go through it again as there are many errors. One example is “The Sony DSC-RX100 III has fast maximum apertures of f/1.8 at the 28mm wide-”... this is incorrect. It has the f/1.8 at the 24mm wide. Most mistakes that I see are in the lens range.

5:49 pm - Tuesday, June 17, 2014

#14 uzevla

Bunch of non interesting and already know points in this review.
Try to be a bit more professional and engaged and tell us if they fixed all the weak points in previous rx100 models: 1. flash recycle speed so people with kids can use this camera.
2. Lens corner and mid sharpness at different apertures/focal lengths. There is some funny guy here that is missing the versality of 100mm. On a lens that cant resolute past few mpix past 50mm. Duh. Just give us some details on this lens sharpness on 70mm.
3. Min/max Iso, aperture and shutter speed settings, so we can use this camera like any other enthusiast p&s.

1:41 am - Wednesday, June 18, 2014

#15 Warren Lyons

Great pocket camera but lousy $800.00 camera

12:13 pm - Wednesday, June 18, 2014

#16 ian drury

Gradual evolution from Sony with this Mk III but at a cost…...£700, ouch that’s pricey, too steep for me to even consider.
I’d like to see / read a real long term user review /test to get real feedback on how this works for most of us average users.
Any chance of PB doing this ?

10:23 am - Thursday, June 19, 2014

#17 Philbert

Just received it and had a quick play. Hate to say it, but it feels worth the £700. Just comparing it to my Nex 5N and it does everything that does and more in a good solid package that fits in the pocket. Just a bit fiddly, but I don’t think it will take long to get used to. Time to give it a whirl.

12:42 pm - Thursday, June 19, 2014

#18 Frans

Looks like a great pocket-cam, but I would like a few things added for the price.
- built in grip, which could also make room for a beefier battery
- external battery charger included
- add an HDMI cable to the box too
- touch screen with touch interface comparable to Leica T
- maybe make the screen fully articulated
- better located tripod mount, so you can attach a small quick release plate for a tripod without blocking the battery compartment door
Otherwise, change NOTHING! (OK, a lower price would be nice ;~)

12:32 pm - Friday, June 20, 2014

#19 Dennis

In “Ease Of Use” there’s a mistake: “...the ability to choose from 30 - 1/12000th second shutter speeds ..”. It’s not 1/12000th second, of course, but 1/2000th second!

Otherwise a respectable review of a camera for stills and video, features and performance of which are quite astonishing. In the film era you would not even have dreamed of such a thing, compact and capable!

4:17 am - Sunday, June 22, 2014

#20 Yiannis

A friendly word of caution to British potential buyers of this marvelous camera. As good as it might be, it is not worth £700. It’s worth $800(the US price which does not include VAT) + the 20% VAT you have to pay in the UK. That is 800/1.7 = £470 without VAT and with VAT that should be 470 x 1.2 = £565. NOT £700. This is a typical strategy of companies, they try (and apparently succeed since they keep on doing it) to make a lot more profit from their initial UK/European customers than they do with their US customers. For some reason Sony and all the others want to charge you more than they charge the Americans for the same product.

You don’t believe me? As an example check the prices of the RX10 which has already been on the market for 6 months. Initially they tried to do the same (i.e. charge a lot more than USDPrice /GBPUSD exchange rate x 1.2 (VAT)). Check now at amazon US and amazon UK and you’ll see it’s $1300 and £880. Divide 1300/880 = 1.47. Divide 800/700 = 1.14 for the RX100III suggested prices. A rip off of about 30% that if you wait out and don’t bite, will go away in a few months. And you should do that if you can, so that Sony and the rest get the message and stop treating their UK/European customers as if they’re stupid rich.

2:48 pm - Sunday, June 22, 2014

#21 Mac Jackson

It would be useful to take the same shot with different f stops to show the depth of field, for example on the picture of the leaf. This looks to be a good camera, it has everything that I need, viewfinder adjustable screen and small size. Pity about the price. I am still waiting for the ideal camera.

9:35 pm - Monday, June 23, 2014

#22 Paul

I was told today (June 28, 2014) by Sony (1 877 865-7669) that the accessory grip model AG-R1 is NOT compatible with the RX100M3.  Further, this accessory has been discontinued. The new leather case, (Sony LCJ-RXF/B at $84.99) has been designed to be compatible with all three RX-100 models. It appears to have a modest bulge on the right-hand grip side.

6:27 pm - Saturday, June 28, 2014

#23 Paul

Correction: There doesn’t appear to be a bulge on the new camera case (Sony LCJ-RXF/B at $84.99). There is a detailed look at it by TheDigitalDigest on YouTube at
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CbUILVyBXoM

8:34 pm - Saturday, June 28, 2014

#24 Pedro

Awesome specs, terrible price.

It will sell well but if it was $600 Sony would do better.

Even $600 is pusing it when there are bigger sensor, interchangeable lens camers to be had for $400, like Fuji XA-1, or for that matter Sony’s own mirrorless cams.

8:17 pm - Sunday, June 29, 2014

#25 vvv

@Pedro
Rare stupid comment; interchangeable camera won’t take any picture without a lens. Maybe you lived under the rock for last 100+ years, but for any camera system, lenses go easily up to 1000$ for something that’s not even at pro level.
If Sony put lens that’s worth 600$ into the system they sell for 800$ guess what…

On the other hand, when they put 20$ lens into a 600$ camera (sony pz 16-50 on e.g. nex6), then you must have lived under the rock if you are ever to buy that.

4:18 am - Monday, June 30, 2014

#26 jill

Just saw it for AUD $375.58

5:59 am - Friday, July 4, 2014

#27 Allan Templeton

I have the Panasonic DMC-FZ1000 Bridge-Cam which i must say is superb, especially in the picture quality dpt, it is rumoured that the 1” sensor used in it is supplied by Sony and is in fact the exact same sensor as is used in the RX100-MKIII, seemingly Panasonic were so impressed by the RX100-MKIII`s sensor and asked Sony if they could purchase/use the Sensor in their forthcoming new model FZ-1000 Bridge-Camera, soon talks took place,Sony agreed,and thereafter an agreement/deal took place for supply of the Sensor to be provided to Panasonic, please dont hold me personally to account on this story, but thats what i did read somewhere on one site reviewing the FZ1000.

11:42 pm - Thursday, October 9, 2014

#28 indysteve

RX100 M2 has less image noise. RX100 M3 is too heavy handed on the NR. G1X M2 for my money

12:17 am - Friday, December 5, 2014

#29 Eric Bogan

No proper audio! No way to add a mic. You are stuck with the sub par internal mics. So great video and crappy sound. I could do with out the flash and EVF. Give ma a mic input and headphone jack if you are going to include video. I have the MII version and at least it allows you to ad the Sony mics. I would have hope the new version would improve on the audio side. Oh well maybe the next version.

I also see no real improvement on the photo side of things. My MII version takes great stills. And if Sony puts out a firmware update to the XAVC-S codec the video will be even better than it is now.

8:37 pm - Tuesday, December 9, 2014

#30 Moz

The price is stupid doe,s sony think we are nitwits, there are a lot of cameras better than this at a lot better price

2:26 pm - Saturday, December 20, 2014

#31 Rakib

you can see it…....
clippingpathexperienced

1:59 am - Wednesday, December 31, 2014

#32 maggie

Got this camera 2 weeks ago. Tired of lugging around DSLR and lenses, and this sounded like an ideal back up. I LOVED the camera, super lens, fast focusing, light weight and relatively easy to set up. Here, the happy story ends.Took some images at the ocean, and some macro shots of flowers. On previewing the shots, there were black diagonal areas top right and bottom left.Useless images!Called Sony , but since I did not buy directly from them, there was nothing they could do! Went online and read some negative reviews. Biggest complain was the infamous black images in the corners. THEN, someone got it right. The shutter was not opening all the way when the camera was turned on! One person said that he had to move it back with his fingertip! One does not expect this from a $800 camera, from Sony. Sadly, I packed up the camera and sent it back.I am really upset, because this is a fabulous little camera. Has anyone else encountered this problem, and if so, what was the solution.

10:50 pm - Friday, May 15, 2015

#33 Michel Savage

BEWARE. All these reviews don’t pay any attention to the camera’s solidity. How long will it last? Will Sony respect its warranty? I had a RX100, which broke twice. It was just out of warranty, and the repairs were at extreme costs. These cameras are (I believe) built in China. They are not made to resist high humidity, changing temperatures, shock, etc. Be very careful of what you read in reviews - that’s only part of the story. Usage over several months means a lot more.

9:08 am - Sunday, July 5, 2015

#34 PeterL

I am sure that Sony could have reduced the price by another $100, because $800 is too much. Yeah, the camera is nearly flawless. Its just great. Surely, there are minor issues here and there, but you cannot find a single competitor which would challenge this SONY camera. Lack of competition means “we can set any price we want”, and that is really bad. I still dream about it. Amazon and Hardware.eu still sell it for this price. Maybe, in a couple of months the SONY RX100 III will be less costly, because the fourth edition is already on the market.

2:43 pm - Friday, January 15, 2016

#35 Moose Borrowdale

Just bought one new for £408 ($593). An Australian import I think via an eBay shop. But it’s still typically £570 in the UK. It is expensive, but I wanted something I can put in my pocket that gives me decent quality and this is the best one for the price. I can live with it’s quirks; it looks good, feels good, takes excellent photos for the size and does just about everything I could ask for. Obviously I would have preferred a little smaller, 8mm - 1200mm at f/1.0 through its full range and full frame but maybe that will be the M5. I don’t need the M4 video so this one was the best value for me. No point being picky, its an excellent camera. I’m a Fuji convert but their pocketable cameras don’t compare unfortunately. So, I’ve only had it two days but I’m sold and glad I chose it. I had a Canon S110 before that, but the quality was not quite up to the mark. Can’t wait to get shooting.

5:29 am - Thursday, February 11, 2016

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, review, 3 inch LCD, 1080p, test, wide-angle, wi-fi, wireless, sony, wifi, tilting, 24mm, 20 megapixel, 10fps, nfc, f2.8, tilt, cybershot, panorama, f1.8, evf, viewfinder, 3x zoom, tiltable, 24p, selfie, 25p, 180 degrees, rx100 iii, xavc s, 50Mbps, dsc rx100 iii, dsc-rx100 iii, Sony Cyber-shot DSC-RX100 III Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry