Sony Cyber-shot DSC-RX1R Review

4.5
July 11, 2013 | Mark Goldstein |

Your Comments

13 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 Mark

A fool and their money are soon parted.

10:00 pm - Thursday, July 11, 2013

#2 Mark

Having looked through the sample images, I honestly can’t see why this is worth more than my 5D Mk3.

9:13 am - Friday, July 12, 2013

#3 Ojojo

Isn’t that “ A fool and his money are soon elected?”, or have I got subjects mixed up?

9:41 am - Friday, July 12, 2013

#4 Steven James Gill

If nothing else it looks cool. lol

1:18 am - Saturday, July 13, 2013

#5 Leo

I like the concept. An FF sensor with a fixed lens. The first and for I admire Sony.

Now it is an very expensive camera for the happy few, a concept that used to be a standard camera. I lets me think about a Canon Canonet for example.

I miss the build-in VF.

Never hold this camera in my hands, but I am sure it will feel nice, with lots of quality. With the VF it looks cool and is a lot bigger, with the EFV it is not cool at all. The IQ is very good, but not as good as an APS-C Sigma DP2M at lower iso’s. The Fujifilm X100 has a full packet, nice VF ánd EFV. With a normal price.

Nice concept, but I am not in love :)

8:08 pm - Sunday, July 14, 2013

#6 Nigel

Good review. I won’t be replacing my RX1 with this but it’s tempting.

Mark - Your 5DMk3 comes with a Zeiss 35mm lens for $3000? If you can’t see the advantages get your eyes checked…

4:03 pm - Monday, July 15, 2013

#7 jure

Why don’t you publish prices also in €?

It is funny that anybody from EU who read tests of yours, must look for prices elsewhere. Is it so difficult to get prices in € from http://www.ebay.de ?

9:30 am - Wednesday, July 17, 2013

#8 Francisco de Jesus Fernandes

I used to do ships’ photography for some 25 years with analogue/professional Cannon equipment, but got fed up about the whole stuff, heavy, expensive, temptin for thieves, etc. Interrupted action for some 10 years and now decided to return with the Sony RX100 and the RX1. I hereby wish to say that I see so much of polemics about the RX1 but frankly speaking, this camera is exactly what I wanted, irrespectively of its price. Most people won’t be able to afford that? Clear, but don’t blame Sony. You buy what you want as long as your money allows you. Besides that, it’s simply talk, talk, talk, but completely unjustified. The RX100 is a great camera, but the RX1 is much better and that’s unquestionable when you evaluate it all!

9:43 pm - Sunday, July 21, 2013

#9 Chiraag

Francisco, for the price indeed the RX1 would have to be much better than the RX100 :)

I’m to take delivery of the RX100 II soon and looking forward to it. for the size and my budget it seems perfect.


I came here to read about the successor to your own piece of kit and it sounds like the RX1R is a very impressive beast but way out of my photographic vision!


Would you say that the RX100 is needed even though you have the RX1 at hand? Do you still like the RX100 even with its limitations compared to

1:44 pm - Tuesday, July 23, 2013

#10 Nick

I pre-ordered both new RX series cameras (the RX100m ii is a gift - aren’t I nice?). Nice summary on them both here: http://www.squidoo.com/sony-rx100m-ii-and-sony-rx1r-price-and-review

The RX1/R’s lens is why I’m getting it - if I already had the RX1 I don’t think I’d upgrade though - the only thing different is the lack of AA filter.. but seems to make a difference.

4:20 pm - Tuesday, July 23, 2013

#11 Cory

Hey Nick, thanks for that link - I got mine delivered within a week even though they were out of stock when I ordered it! Awesome.

5:16 pm - Tuesday, August 6, 2013

#12 Corey

Not sure if my previous comment posted - wanted to thank you Nick - got my camera ordered after reading through that link, and got it within a week even though they said they were out of stock when I slapped down the credit card.  Awesome

5:18 pm - Tuesday, August 6, 2013

#13 Jan

As an owner of RX1r I can tell that it is a really great camera. I enjoy night shots, landscapes even macro capabilities are good enough to love this camera as it is. It works perfectly with the EVF and that makes it stand out of compacts and it can compete with most dslrs - given the size and capabilities. It is wonderful for city photographers as no one would belive it is nealy a pro camera. I can only recommend it.

9:21 pm - Saturday, November 30, 2013

Entry Tags

hd video, hd, 3 inch LCD, review, 1080p, wide-angle, test, sony, RAW, cybershot, 35mm, 24 megapixel, full-frame, panorama, 5fps, f2, carl zeiss, Full Frame, moire, 35mm lens, low-pass filter, olpf, optical, rx1r, dsc rx1r, dsc-rx1r, Sony Cyber-shot DSC-RX1R Review

Tracker Pixel for Entry