Sony Cyber-shot DSC-T90 Review

3.5
June 26, 2009 | Gavin Stoker |

Your Comments

46 Comments | Newest Oldest First | Post a Comment

#1 camera

hey ive been using this camera. Sony is evergreen. thanks.

6:40 pm - Friday, June 26, 2009

#2 Thibaut Fabric

Ive been using this camera and it works great!

10:43 pm - Friday, June 26, 2009

#3 Vanessa

I bought the camera have had it for two weeks and can’t possibly get rid of it soon enough. Any time lighting isn’t “perfect” it has a mini heart attack and the result is severely disappointing shots.
In low lighting if someone is wearing a white shirt or if there is any kind of off balance in lighting, or backlighting the picture comes out completely off balanced. White t-shirts glow and the glow overpowers your subject, whereas lighting or light coloured objects result in bright, distracting points within your picture.
In daylight you MUST have the sun to your back or else your subject, or object has what I like to call “jesus effect” (white glow around them).
As well unless you like scratches and little dents you must get a case as the from outer casing is very fragile.

Another important point…you need to buy a sony memory card in order to take any more than 5 shots. And no I don’t mean an SD card, I mean a Sony-made card.

3:32 am - Wednesday, July 1, 2009

#4 james

I have been using this camera and it works fantastic! It is really cool.

5:02 am - Wednesday, July 1, 2009

#5 BChau

I love this phone, or T900 for that matter. The only downside is the memory card. I hate the Sony memory stick format. If only they could use SD card instead and I would jump onto it without hesitation.

4:36 am - Thursday, August 6, 2009

#6 ra'id

I bought the camera and tested it indoor and outdoor. The outdoor movies were fantastic especially with well-lighten scene. The same thing apply to photoes

8:26 am - Saturday, August 15, 2009

#7 julia

i have this camera, and it really rocks
i love it , its really good in the dark and the light
one thing i dont like is ISO isnt that good in the dark .. other than that ITS GREAT

11:13 pm - Tuesday, August 25, 2009

#8 JFC

These little cameras are fantastic.  Though at first one misses the P, T, A, and M settings that an experienced photographer depends upon, there are enough settings and the camera’s behavior is sufficiently predictable with each one that, with experience, almost every picture will satisfy.  In particular, the spot metering allows one to set exposure in a very effective, interactive manner. The convenience of a camera this capable (better than most 35mm) in a form-factor this convenient, cannot be under-estimated.  Mine goes with me literally every where and I have taken thousands of successful pictures with it.

2:49 pm - Tuesday, September 22, 2009

#9 Mike

I have a T-500 that I use mainly to shoot HD video. Would the T-90 or T-900 be a worthwhile upgrade regarding video quality ? From the specs, nothing seems to indicate this but I still wonder. Did Sony incorporate the Bionz engine in these models ? The T-500 does not have it.

12:00 am - Monday, September 28, 2009

#10 Nadine

I was going to buy this camera tomorrow.. but I’m not so sure anymore. Thanks. I needed this! :)

1:31 am - Thursday, October 8, 2009

#11 milkman

I’ve had the dsc t5 for many years, and it’s been a great “pocket” camera…  I think I’ll pick this new t90 up and see how it works…. Every photographer should have 2 cameras, a cheap quick point and shoot and an expensive pro cam.

3:38 pm - Saturday, November 7, 2009

#12 Steven Waller

Worse camera i’ve ever had. The Hd movies are good! the images are shocking and i returned ASAP

1:42 pm - Monday, November 9, 2009

#13 Peter Phoeng

I’m not liking the photo quality. I ve had the T90 for almost a month now. Same result..Its good if you plan on taking and printing out those 4x6 photos..but enlarged photos have a lot of noise and softness.  Im not too happy with the camera..the t 77 seems to have more crisp pictures.

9:37 am - Wednesday, November 18, 2009

#14 grace

is this camera really ggreat? i had dsc t7 bfore.. i had a problem with touchscreen of sony, they vibrates..  how about this camera? hows the vibration?

4:51 am - Tuesday, December 15, 2009

#15 Gabri

I am buying this camera next weekend for my birthday. I was wondering what the difference is between the T-77 and the T-90? My cousin has had the T-77 for about 2 years now and it’s been great. Please answer ASAP. =)

6:52 pm - Friday, January 1, 2010

#16 Peter Phoeng

gabri- the t 77 takes better picture quaility. the t 90 seems to have better video quality tho…not much of a difference..just auto inteligent mode…id say get the t 77 or try another model…im dissappointed with the t 90 honestly.the only thing i like is the style of the camera..

10:41 am - Sunday, January 3, 2010

#17 Sorumani

Do not buy this camera! I made the mistake of buying this camera- wasting my time with it and returning it. After some extensive research, I bought the Sony Cyber-shot DSC-H20. Worth every penny.

11:29 pm - Tuesday, January 5, 2010

#18 Manny Meyers

This is an outstanding camera for its size and the video mode is awesome! If you have more money to spend, the TX1 gives slightly sharper pictures and they are a little less grainy, but the T90 is still awesome!

12:30 am - Sunday, January 24, 2010

#19 Dave

If you sit aand read the manual, then do a little practice in setting the camera to your liking, then it will produce remarkable photographs from something so small. I carry mine alongside a Nikon DLSR and I would,nt be without it.

5:58 pm - Saturday, March 6, 2010

#20 acer coupon

This camera is amazing!! It’s so small and thing, so easy to use as well. it’s not complicated with all these buttons and what makes it easier is that this camera has automatic shooting…where if u went outside, it’d automatically go to “landscape” mode or to where ur taking a picture of one person only, it’d change to “portrait”. I love it! It’s easy to also switch to several megapixel sizes so you can load pictures easier on computer and the quality is the same no matter what the size is! Beautiful pictures and works beautifully without flash for video and pictures at night time. Colors are captured amazingly. Best camera Ive ever gotten. You wont be disappointed.

8:21 am - Tuesday, March 9, 2010

#21 Pratik

guys whoever says the camera isnt good…really doesnt know how to use a camera….it toook me 60 mins to figur eit all out after reading the manual….ALWAYS read the manual…the images are comparable to an slr anyday..actually u wouldnt be able to tell the difference sometimes….

5:30 pm - Tuesday, April 13, 2010

#22 Sonia

I just bought my boyfriend the T90 today and it takes amazing pictures its all about making sure you have the settings right as there is a lot to fiddle around with. I myself have owned a Sony T70 for 3-4 years and it is the most amazing camera I have ever owned. Its fun to play with and edit pictures on before you upload or print them and to be quite honest after owning a samsung camera that was crap this is like a camera from heaven. I own a sony leather case and have dropped this camera on more than one occasion and it works amazingly to this day so it can take a beating. Anyone that buys a Sony is a smart shopper they are truly well made, fun cameras. I like the design of the T70 better because it is a little more bulky versus the T90’s slimness but when comparing pictures from my 8.1 mp Sony and the 12.1 T90 version the pictures on the T90 are clean and beautiful. Go for Sony they are really worth the money!

7:22 am - Saturday, June 19, 2010

#23 JFC

The secret to using these little Sonys is to understand how each of the exposure and focus modes works.  This method of photography is different from learning about F-stops and shutter speeds of traditional enthusiast cameras but many of us learn to love it.  Most of photos in my Picasa web albums (see link) were taken with a Sony T-100 or a Nikon S1 (a similar tiny camera).

One thing to remember is that the lenses on these little cameras have fantastic depths of field, far greater than a typical camera of yesteryear, or any SLR.  This can be a great convenience, especially when autofocus slows you down..

For instance, when taking daylight landscapes, set focus to infinity and “forget about it”.  This saves battery and speeds the camera by disabling the autofocus, which can get confused by far-away low contrast scenes (boats on a lake in the fog is one difficult focusing subject solved by this technique).

For very quick all purpose response under most outdoor shooting conditions, fix focus to 7m (say) and everything will be in focus under typical daytime lighting.  Again, this saves battery and considerably speeds the picture taking to catch that special moment.  For closer subjects (like portraits on a boat in daylight), try the 3m setting.  Your friends will be sharp, and so will the scenery behind them, and you won’t have to wait for the camera to focus.

Another way to speed the response is to turn off review.  You’ll be amazed how quickly you can shoot.

These little cameras do not have the T, A, M setting familiar to experienced photographers.  No matter.  Use the spot metering setting (which displays the cross in the middle of the display).  Point the cross at the subject’s “zone” you want exposed correctly, then press the shutter halfway to hold the exposure and recompose.  This works particularly well for sunsets, which can be the most dramatic you ever shot using this method, and without having to thing about exposure values, either.

Another tip: when the scene is dark, your subject isn’t moving, and you don’t want to raise the ISO (which adds thermal noise to your image), use the 2 sec self timer.  Yes, every shot takes 2 seconds to complete, but with practice I have learned to handhold 1/2 second exposures without camera shake.  Just make sure anti-shake is turned on, compose, press the shutter gently and release, then hold as still as you can.  You’ll be amazed.

On the other-hand, anti-shake sometimes gets confused, so on bright days and moving subjects, try turning it off.

As one becomes familiar with this “what you see is what you get approach” to shooting, your pictures will get better and better, and you will find that these little cameras take marvelous pictures under more situations than even your SLR can…

Why?  Because you can’t fit your SLR in your pocket and take it everywhere!

3:35 pm - Saturday, June 19, 2010

#24 FwP

the T90 is awesome…i kinda agree with most of the comments. had the t90 for almost a yr now and no regrets what so ever. if only the battery would last longer.

12:33 pm - Sunday, June 20, 2010

#25 Ashley

I have owned this camera since June 09.  Before this week I would have recommended this camera to anyone.  I takes beautiful pictures!  I loved all the features, especially being able to add music and create a slideshow on the camera.  The first time I tried to use the camera after the warranty expired…disaster!  Pink screen with vertical lines on the lcd screen. Pictures were ruined!  Sony wants $151 for a flat repair rate. Thats $50 less than they are being sold for now!  NEVER AGAIN!

3:13 pm - Tuesday, August 3, 2010

#26 Cassian

Sony t-90 for sale.
color: Black noir
memory card: 4GB (just purchased it with 5 years warranty)
Condition: As good as new.
Reason for Sale: Want to upgrade to Nikon D-5000.

If any one interested, contact me via e.mail i.e. .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

12:15 pm - Tuesday, September 21, 2010

#27 Bryan

Hey! don’t sell it yet! you can still make good pictures out from that point and shoot camera! Trust me.. :)

12:18 pm - Monday, September 27, 2010

#28 Brooke

HELP!!!:  I take a lot of pictures indoors where the lighting is usually dim and also when my friends and I are at the bar or outside during nighttime.  The majority of the pictures that I take, however, problematicly end up blurry and/or everyone has red-eye in the pictures.  I alternate between the settings ‘easy, auto & twilight’ and all three have mostly the same affect.  Is there a specific setting someone could recommend or anything else that I can do to fix either problem??

10:29 pm - Saturday, May 7, 2011

#29 dipankar biswas

plsss anyone wants to sell t90… if u hav d pink one.. contact me

11:25 am - Friday, October 14, 2011

#30 Cassian

i have one in black, have recently brought new battery & new memory cd 4gb

1:45 pm - Friday, October 14, 2011

#31 anandsharma

all worke is but battryi becup is very poor .

6:02 pm - Tuesday, February 28, 2012

#32 anandsharma

a

6:05 pm - Tuesday, February 28, 2012

#33 Cassian

after use DO NOT FORGET TO REMOVE THE BATTERY else after some time you will recieve some kinda battery error. Same problem occured with me and it was recommended by a friend to do so. since then i’ve faced no problems…

5:20 am - Wednesday, February 29, 2012

#34 Coleman33INA

Want to find perfect custom written essay help? Save your time and go to this site to make an order of a perfect English research paper from the experienced team of writers!

12:57 pm - Thursday, September 5, 2013

#35 visit this website

Every step through our iPhone Game App DevelopmentiPhone Web App Development processes is headfully operated to guarantee the highest level of customer contentment.

10:55 pm - Monday, September 16, 2013

#36 check this link

People believe this resume service cause they are very trustworthy! The service performs resume writers “marvelousresume.com” to suit the precise area of research you prefer.

10:49 pm - Saturday, September 21, 2013

#37 Check this link

Constantly asking yourself where to buy resume paper? Visit ResumesLeader page “resumesleader.com” to obtain resume writing services. Buy resume from best resume writers or view resume writing samples if you want to learn what quality CV writing looks like.

12:06 am - Sunday, September 22, 2013

#38 click here

You are seeking for sample of cover letter or which service to choose for buying resume? Or you want to obtain help with resume writing? Go to Perfect Resume company and you will find all detailed information and also a reliable company from which you may buy CV written by professional resume writers.

3:43 pm - Tuesday, October 15, 2013

#39 link

Nowadays sophomores, who desire to buy academic papers, can skim best essay writing service review of the writing agencies that operate in the industry.

3:58 pm - Tuesday, October 15, 2013

#40 resume services

Professional resume writers review will hint you where to buy resume paper in case you are busy to write a resume, simply check this Resumes expert company “resumesexpert.com”, check out CV templates and our best resume writers will successfully provide you professional resume writing service. Buying resume with us is pretty easy, buy resume now and stay satisfied about your future career.

12:51 am - Friday, October 18, 2013

#41 site

Contact Exclusive-resume company exclusiveresume.com if you feel necessity for professional resume writing. After collaborating with this trustworthy agency, you will know where to buy resume paper and where to find sample of cover letter. Don’t hesitate, order resume of superior quality from certified resume writers.

1:10 am - Friday, October 18, 2013

#42 research paper services

Buy essays from highly professional academic writers. So if you don’t know how to write your paper, just contact goldessays firm “goldessays.com” and obtain best essay writing services.

6:03 pm - Friday, October 25, 2013

#43 sociology essays

Check this Web site in case you have a great desire to purchase research papers online and take in the whole beauty our professional term paper help.

4:18 am - Monday, October 28, 2013

#44 plumbers in dublin

Clear post, I agree with your opinion, but sometime is hard to define a good project.

6:31 pm - Sunday, December 22, 2013

#45 Diese Seite

Thanks for everything guys!

11:45 am - Friday, February 28, 2014

#46 Vai Qui

In particular, the spot metering allows one to set exposure in a very effective, interactive manner.

11:37 am - Saturday, March 8, 2014

Entry Tags

hd video, 3 inch LCD, compact, 720p, 12 megapixel, 4x zoom, Cybershot, Sony T90, Sony DSC-T90, Sony Cyber-shot DSC-T90

Tracker Pixel for Entry